IMPORTANT! INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING YOUR FOREIGN SALVAGE VEHICLE DEALER RENEWAL

This is your only notice.

If you are renewing your Foreign Salvage Vehicle Dealer license online, you have the option to renew for multiple years. You will be prompted to select 1, 2, 3 or 4 years. To renew your license online, go to www.Michigan.gov/sos/dealerrenewal, select "Renewing Your Dealer License". You'll find the link to the online application at the top of the page. To renew online, you will need the master license number and **PIN** found your preprinted dealer license renewal application form (in the upper righthand corner) and a valid Discover, MasterCard, Visa or electronic check. Note: renewal fees are not refundable. Follow the online prompts to complete your renewal. It's simple, fast and convenient!

Additional online information:

- Questions 1 and 2 on the "Dealer License Renewal Questions Page," do not apply for your license type so please answer yes to both of these questions.
- Foreign Salvage Vehicle Dealers will need to mail in a copy of the actual license from their home state or jurisdiction.
- Question #5 on the "Dealer License Renewal Questions Page" refers to section 2 on your preprinted dealer license renewal application.

To ensure adequate processing time, return your renewal 30 days prior to expiration. By law, renewal applications cannot be accepted 30 days after expiration, and a new application will be required.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING YOUR FOREIGN SALVAGE VEHICLE DEALER AND SALVAGE VEHICLE AGENT LICENSE RENEWALS <u>BY MAIL</u>:

Please read and follow these instructions carefully. Incomplete or incorrect applications will delay or prevent the renewal of your license. Some changes in your business may require you to file additional application forms, which may be obtained by contacting the Business Licensing Section at 1-888-SOS-MICH (1-888-767-6424). All forms may be found at www.Michigan.gov/sos/dealerrenewal, select "Renewing Your Dealer License".

1. TYPE OF OWNERSHIP

If your **business entity is changing**, or has changed, *from* or *to* an individual ownership, new partnership, corporation, or LLC, this license cannot be renewed. A new license is required. You must file a separate Foreign Salvage Vehicle Dealer License application, Form AR-0176.

2. OWNER(S), PARTNERS, CORPORATIONS, LLC's

Individually-owned businesses may add or delete the name of a husband or wife without changing the type of ownership. To *delete* the name of a husband or wife, line out the name to be deleted. To *add* the name of a husband or wife, you must file a "change of owner or officer" application. Only the name of a husband or wife may be added or deleted; adding or deleting any other person requires an original Foreign Salvage Vehicle Dealer License application, form AR-0176.

Partnerships - If you have added or dropped a partner or partners and the partnership has not been dissolved and will continue to operate the business, you may renew this license. To *delete* the name of a partner, line out the name to be deleted. To *add* the name of a new partner, you must also file a "change of owner or officer" application with us. In either case, submit a copy of the amended partnership certificate that has been filed with your state. If the partnership has been dissolved, you may not renew this license. You must file a new Foreign Salvage Vehicle Dealer License application, form AR-0176.

Corporation or LLC's may add or delete the names of officers, directors, or stockholders owning 25% or more of the stock. To delete a name, line out the name of the person to be deleted. To add the names of new officers, directors, or stockholders owning 25% or more of the stock, you must also file a "change of owner or officer" application.

3. BUSINESS NAME AND ADDRESS

To show a **change of business name** when type of ownership has *not* changed, line out the business name as it appears on the renewal form. Print in the business name exactly as it has been filed with the appropriate state office. Attach a copy of the filing of the corporate name, any assumed name or fictitious or trade name for the new business name. Include a copy of your home state license showing the new name.

To show a **change of address**, line out the old address on the renewal application, print the new address below the old address and return it with the following: a copy of your home state license showing the new address and a copy of your lease or purchase agreement or right of occupancy.

4. BUSINESS DAYS AND HOURS

If pre-printed information has changed, line out the incorrect information and print in the correct days and hours. You must list specific days and hours of the week your dealership will be open for business and your records available for inspection.

5. - 7. BUSINESS AND FAX TELEPHONE NUMBERS AND ELECTRONIC MAIL (E-MAIL) ADDRESS

Complete information if blank, including area code for telephone numbers. If preprinted information has changed, line out the incorrect number and print in new information.

8. LICENSE INFORMATION CHANGES (SELF-EXPLANATORY)

9. - 12. VEHICLE AND PARTS INFORMATION (SELF-EXPLANATORY)

13. - 15. HOME STATE LICENSE INFORMATION

Enter home state license number and its expiration date; <u>attach a copy of license</u>. If you have not yet renewed your home state license, attach a copy of your current license.

16. ARRESTS OR CONVICTIONS CERTIFICATION STATEMENT

The law requires all dealers to provide information regarding arrests and convictions within the past 12 months. (New officers, partners, or owners must complete a separate application form.)

17. WORKERS' COMPENSATION INSURANCE INFORMATION

Give insurance company name and policy number. Check with your agent if you are unsure of company name and/or policy number.

18. LICENSE FEE - SELF-EXPLANATORY (Note: renewal fees are not refundable.)

19. CERTIFICATION AND SIGNATURE

Only a person named in Item 2 may sign this application.

NOTE: Effective January 1, 1995, Michigan auctions, brokers, and salvage pools will not permit you to conduct business during their sales of late model distressed vehicles or salvageable parts unless you have renewed this license AND you are represented by a licensed salvage vehicle agent.

SALVAGE VEHICLE AGENT RENEWALS: If you have salvage vehicle agents who are currently licensed, the forms for renewing the agent licenses are printed on the reverse side of the Foreign Salvage Vehicle Dealer License Renewal Application. Both the dealer AND the agent are responsible for updating the information on the agent license renewal application and both must sign the renewal application. If you do not wish to renew an agent's license, cross out the form of the agent who is not being renewed. If you have changed agents or wish to license agents for the first time, please visit Michigan.gov/SOS for an application. All forms may be found at <u>www.Michigan.gov/sos</u>, click on "Automotive-related Businesses" and "Publications and Forms." For all other questions, please contact the Business Licensing Section at 1-888-SOS-MICH (1-888-767-6424) for an application, Form AR-0188.

ALL RENEWAL FEES ARE NON-REFUNDABLE