The Burney Decision to Begin Driver Education

Getting a license is an important milestone for teens and parents, but being a beginning driver carries special risks. Parents are in the best position to determine when their teen is ready to begin driver education, progress to independent driving, and have increased driving privileges. Graduated Driver Licensing laws are minimums for young drivers. Parents need to determine their own additional family rules.

Traffic crashes are the leading cause of death for teens.

A teen's first year behind the wheel is critical. Graduated Driver Licensing is designed to limit teens to safer driving environments while they build their skills and gain driving experience with the goal of reducing traffic crashes.

Parents Need to be Good Role Models:

Teens mimic their parents' driving behaviors. Therefore, parents should obey all traffic laws, correct any unsafe driving habits, and refrain from using electronic devices while driving.

Parents Need to Monitor Their Teen's

Driving: It takes 3-5 years for novice drivers to be exposed to the myriad of situations they will encounter. Parents who control access to the vehicle keys and ride along with them throughout their driving experience are in a better position to monitor their driving. Various types of monitoring devices and programs are available as well that flag and notify parents of risky behaviors.

Tips for Parents:

This resource provides an outline for the Graduated Driver Licensing (GDL) and driver education process and is intended for parents to keep and refer to as their teen goes through the steps.

Parents are strongly encouraged to attend driver education parent meetings when available in their area and to read the free *Michigan's Graduated Driver Licensing: A Guide for Parents* publication and refer to it as their teen goes through the process of learning to drive.

Parents should also visit Michigan.gov/
TeenDriver for additional Michigan teen driving information such as the publications mentioned in this brochure, and additional information about GDL, driver education and how to find a certified driver education program in your area.



SOS-380 Rev. 08/2019



Keep this in an easily accessible place for reference! Also check out:



Segment 1 Driver

Education: Teens must be at least age 14 years and 8 months to begin Segment 1 driver education. The course is held over a minimum of 3 weeks, includes at least 24 hours in the classroom, 6 hours of driving, 4 hours of observation driving time, and a written examination. Parents need to communicate with their teen's driver education instructor to receive

feedback on their teen's progress. A Parent Driving Permit may be offered to allow teens to practice driving while attending Segment 1—learn the restrictions of the permit and specifics of what should be practiced.

Applying for a Level 1 Learner's License:

- Must be at least age 14 and 9 months
- · Must pass a vision and health screening
- Parent or legal guardian must accompany teen to the Secretary of State (SOS) office and sign the application form

Documents required at the SOS office:

 Proof of Social Security number, legal presence, identity, and Michigan residency, and a Michigan Driver Education Segment 1 Certificate of Completion

See list of eligible documents at **Michigan.gov/TeenDriver**



Level 1 Learner's License

Restrictions: Teens must be supervised <u>at all times</u> by a licensed parent, legal guardian, or designated driver age 21 or older. Seatbelts are required for everyone in the front seat and everyone under age 16 in the vehicle. Teens are prohibited from texting while driving and from using a hand-held cellphone while driving.

Parent's Required Supervised Driving

Time: The major reason for crashes among newly licensed drivers is inexperience. Driver education introduces teens to the mechanics of driving, but it is just the beginning of the learning process. From there, parents need to continue practice driving with their teens while they gain experience in all types of situations and

SEGMENT

conditions in order to reduce their risk of crashing. After teens are issued a Level 1 Learner's License, parents are required to log a minimum of 50 hours of supervised driving time with their teens, including 10 hours at night.

Segment 2 Driver Education: Teens must hold a Level 1 Learner's License a minimum of 3

months. A driving log must be presented showing 30 of the 50 hours of parent supervised driving time was completed, including 2 of 10 nighttime hours. Segment 2 includes a minimum of 6 hours of classroom instruction and a written exam.

Driving Skills Test: Teens must hold a Level 1 Learner's License a minimum of 6 months. Parents must present a driving log and certify the minimum required supervised driving time was completed (50 hours including 10 at nighttime). The driving skills test includes a vehicle inspection, basic controls skills test, and an on-road driving test.

Applying for a Level 2 Intermediate License:

- · Must be at least age 16
- · Must be 90 days crash and violation free
- Parent or legal guardian must accompany their teen to the SOS office and sign the license application

Documents required at the SOS office:

 Proof of Social Security number, legal presence, identity, and Michigan residency, and a Level 1 Learner's License, Michigan Driver Education Segment 2 Certificate of Completion, and a Driving Skills Test Certificate

Level 2 Intermediate License Restrictions:

Teens may drive without supervision, but they have restrictions. No more than one passenger who is younger than age 21. No driving between 10 p.m. and 5 a.m. Exceptions to these nighttime and passenger restrictions include when additional passengers are



immediate family members, when driving to or from work or as part of work, or to or from an authorized activity. No hand-held cellphone use. No texting. Seatbelts are required for everyone in the front seat, and everyone under age 16 in vehicle.

Additional family rules to consider:

No passengers, no nighttime driving, no electronic communication or entertainment devices, and require seatbelts by all in the vehicle regardless of age.

Parent-Teen Driving Agreement:

Crash rates peak during the first 6 months that teens drive without supervision, making this an essential time for parents to provide guidance, oversight, and set limits. Parents who do this have teens that are less likely to receive traffic tickets or be involved in traffic crashes. Inexperience and immaturity combine to make young drivers especially at-risk at night, after drinking alcohol, with passengers, when unbelted, and when using cellphones. Parents are strongly encouraged to visit Michigan.gov/TeenDriver and complete the sample agreement that will help to keep teens safe.



Level 3 License:

Teens must be age 17, have held a Level 2 Intermediate License for 6 months, and be 12 months crash and violation free. A new license is mailed automatically, unless the parent or guardian requests that their teen remain at Level 2. Teens with a Level 3 License have no state-imposed license restrictions.

Be sure to check out: Michigan.gov/TeenDriver

GRADUATED DRIVER LICENSING (GDL) CHECKLIST

Keep this checklist in an accessible place to help you prepare for each step of the GDL process

