
 

 

  

 

 

  
      

  

    

  

 

  
 

   
 

      

  

  

   

  
  

  
  

     
  

 

 

  

Michigan Department of State  
Application for Historic Snowmobile Registration 

Year Make Serial Number Driver's License or State ID Card No. Reg Fee 

Owner’s Name Street Tax 

City State Zip Code County of Residence Total 

First Secured Party Name First Secured Party Street Address 

City State Zip Code Purchase Date Purchase Price 

$ 

Owners of historic snowmobiles may elect to register their snowmobile as a historic snowmobile if all eligibility 
requirements are met. The registration has a one-time cost of $50 and is non-expiring. Snowmobiles registered as 
historic snowmobiles are not required to have a snowmobile trail permit. 

A single historic snowmobile decal is issued which is placed above or below the headlight or, if the historic 
snowmobile was not originally equipped with a headlight, on the forward half of the cowl above the footwell. 
Your new historic decal and registration will be mailed to you from Lansing. 

ELIGIBLE SNOWMOBILES: Snowmobiles 26 years old or older and owned solely as a collector’s item. 

LIMITATIONS OF USE: Historic snowmobiles are limited to occasional use and for participation in club activities, 
exhibitions, tours, parades, and similar uses, including mechanical testing. 

I certify this snowmobile is owned solely as a collector’s item and only used occasionally and for participation in 
club activities, exhibitions, tours, parades, and similar uses, including mechanical testing. 

SIGNATURE: X DATE: ______________________ 

To register your snowmobile as an historic snowmobile you will need proof of ownership: 

1) If already registered in your name, a copy of your registration.

2) If not registered in your name, one of the following:

a) The seller’s snowmobile registration assigned to you. Liens must be terminated.

b) A bill of sale which includes the year, make, vehicle identification number, any registration number on the
unit, and names and addresses of the buyer and seller. The bill of sale must be signed by the seller.

c) For a snowmobile valued over $2,500, a surety bond.

d) For a snowmobile valued at $2,500 or less applicant may complete an Ownership Certification.

e) A court order assigning ownership to you.

Submit your proof of ownership, this completed application, the $50 registration fee, and 6% tax (if due) on the 
purchase price or retail value to the address below. Tax is not due if the snowmobile is already registered in your 
name or you purchased it from an immediate family member. Payment can be by check or money order payable 
to the State of Michigan.

Michigan Department of State 
Internal Services Section

Lansing, MI 48918 

If you have any questions, please visit the Department’s website at www.Michigan.gov/SOS or contact the 
Customer Information Division at 888-767-6424. 

SOS-448 (04/20/23) Authority granted under Public Act 300 of 1949, as amended. 

http://www.michigan.gov/sos
www.Michigan.gov/sos
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