Seat Belts, Safety Seats and
Air Bags

child-safety restraint laws, a law enforcement officer
may stop a vehicle if the driver and occupants are not
properly buckled up. Please review the information
in this chapter and obey these laws.

Click It or Ticket: Under Michigan’s seat belt and

BUCKLE UP, IT’S THE LAW!

Michigan law requires

All front seat passengers
to be buckled up
(including the driver).

All  passengers younger
than age 16 to be buckled
up, in all seating positions.
All children younger than
age 8 to be in an approved
child-safety seat or booster
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) Office of Highway Safety
unless 4 feet and 9 inches Planning

seat, in all seating positions,

or taller.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration reports
that seat belts save more than 13,000 lives each year and that buckling

up is the single most effective thing you can do to protect yourself

in a crash.
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Be responsible — make sure all passengers are properly
buckled up.

Even if the vehicle is equipped with air bags, they are not a
substitute for wearing a seat belt.

Everyone in the vehicle will be safer when seat belts are
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worn correctly — shoulder belt across the middle of the
chest away from the neck, with the lap belt worn low across
the hips, below the stomach.

Drivers exempt from using a seat belt because of a medical
condition must carry a doctor’s statement.

PROTECTING CHILDREN AND TEENS
Since the Michigan Child Passenger Protection Law was

enacted, use of child restraints and safety belts has increased, while

deaths and injuries have decreased.

However, many people use child-restraint devices improperly.
Make certain both the child-safety restraint and your child are

propetly buckled before you drive.
Michigan’s child passenger safety law mandates that:

Children are to be properly buckled in a car seat or booster
seat until they are 8 years old or 4-feet, 9-inches tall.
Children must ride in a safety seat until they reach the age
requirement or the height requirement, whichever comes
first. Children must be propetly secured in the child-restraint
system in accordance with the child-restraint and vehicle
manufacturer’s instructions and federal safety standards.
Removing a child from a car seat to nurse while the vehicle
is moving is prohibited.

Children younger than age 4 must be positioned in a rear seat
if the vehicle is equipped with a rear seat. If all available rear
seats are occupied by children under age 4, then the child may
be positioned in the child-restraint system in the front seat.
A child in a rear-facing child-restraint system may only be
placed in the front seat if the front passenger air bag is
deactivated.

Young people younger than age 18 are prohibited from
riding in the open bed of a pickup truck traveling more
than 15 mph. The law allows exceptions for vehicles used
by farmers, construction workers, the military, participants
in parades and authorized emergency and rescue personnel.
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Never hold a child on your lap or buckle a child with another
passenger into one seat belt. Always insist children buckle their seat
belts before starting the engine.

Assistance with child-safety seat installation is available at
many community agencies, such as local public health departments.
Avoid buying secondhand seats as they may not meet federal safety
standards, may not work properly, or may have missing parts or
instructions. And, if there is a recall, you may not receive notification.

AIR BAGS

Air bags are designed to provide vehicle occupants with extra
protection in a crash. Depending on the make and model, today’s
vehicles may have air bags in a variety of locations, including the
steering wheel, dashboard, roof columns and door panels. Sensors
within the vehicle determine when an air bag will deploy based on the
type and severity of the crash. For the best protection always wear a
seat belt, even in vehicles equipped with air bags. Seat belts remain
the best protection in rollover, side impact and rear-end crashes.

* A child in a rear-facing child-restraint system may be placed
in the front seat only if the front passenger air bag is
deactivated.

® DParents are encouraged to seat all children ages 12 and
younger in the rear seat of the vehicle to avoid potential
injury from an air bag in the event of a crash.

e It is recommended that drivers sit with at least 10 inches
between the center of their breastbone and the center of
the steering wheel.

e If you are pregnant, it is recommended that you wear your
seat belt with the lap portion of the belt correctly positioned
over the hips (not the stomach) and the shoulder portion
across the chest. Sit as far back as possible from the air bag;

CHILDREN LEFT UNATTENDED IN VEHICLES
Under Michigan law, it is illegal to leave children less than 6 years
old unattended in a vehicle if the amount of time or circumstances
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in which they are left poses an unreasonable risk of harm or injury.
Parents or guardians who leave their children in a vehicle under
the supervision of someone age 13 or older who is not legally
incapacitated are not in violation of the law.

Make sure your children are safe from harm if you must leave
your vehicle. And, do not forget about your pets. Pets left alone in
vehicles may also suffer injury or harm.

BUCI&&E upP
PAY UP
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