
8 Voter Registration 
and State ID Cards

The Secretary of  State oversees many areas 
involving	 traffic	 safety,	 including	 the	 teen	 driver,	
motorcycle safety and Commercial Driver License 
programs. This chapter provides information about 
two	programs	not	directly	related	to	traffic	safety	
and licensing but very important nonetheless.

Voter Registration Information
You must be registered to vote to participate in local, state and 

federal elections. Eligible residents may register at a Secretary of  
State	office.

If  you are applying for, renewing or updating information on 
your driver’s license or state ID card, you also will be provided with 
an opportunity to register to vote.

To register to vote you must be:
•	 A	U.S.	citizen.
•	 At least 18 years old on or before election day.
•	 A resident of  Michigan and the city or township where you 

wish to register to vote.
In	 addition	 to	Secretary	of 	State	offices,	 you	may	 register	by	

mail	or	at	your	local	county,	city	or	township	clerk’s	office.	If 	you	are	
registering to vote in person, state law requires you to show picture 
ID	or	sign	an	affidavit	attesting	 that	you	are	not	 in	possession	of 	
picture ID. You must register at least 30 days before the election.

If  you move within your city or township, you must change 
the address on your voter registration. If  you move to another city 
or township, you must register to vote in that jurisdiction to remain 
eligible to vote. The Secretary of  State will enclose a voter registration 
application with your renewal notice if  you are eligible to renew your 
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driver’s	license	by	mail.	To	register,	fill	out	the	voter	registration	form	
and send it with your driver’s license renewal form. If  you are already 
registered and your address has not changed, you do not need to 
mail the voter registration form supplied with your driver’s license 
renewal notice. Michigan’s mail-in voter registration form also may 
be printed from the Secretary of  State website. First-time voters who 
register	by	mail	must	vote	in	person	in	their	first	election,	unless	they	
hand-deliver the application to their local clerk, are 60 years old or 
older, are disabled or are eligible to vote under the Uniformed and 
Overseas	Citizens	Absentee	Voting	Act.

If  the address you provide on a voter registration application 
does	not	match	the	residential	address	on	file	with	the	Secretary	of 	
State, your driver’s license or state ID card will be updated to match 
your voter registration.

State Identification Cards
A	state	identification	card	can	be	issued	to	any	eligible	resident,	

regardless of  age. You may not have a state ID card and a Michigan 
driver’s license unless your license has been restricted, suspended or 
revoked.

You	 will	 need	 to	 provide	 proof 	 of 	 your	 citizenship	 or	 legal	
presence, identity documentation, two proofs of  residency and 
proof  of  Social Security number (or present a letter of  ineligibility 
from the Social Security Administration).

Your state ID card expires four years from your last birthday 
and may be renewed by mail. Under Michigan law, a state ID card is 
as	valid	as	a	driver’s	license	for	identification	purposes.

Applicants presenting temporary legal presence documents may 
be issued a state ID card that expires in less than four years.

Free ID cards are provided to those who are legally blind, 
drivers 65 or older who voluntarily relinquish their driver’s license 
and drivers whose driving privilege is suspended, revoked, or denied 
due to a physical or mental disability.
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