Michigan Department of State

Request for TR-52L Abandoned Vehicle/Vessel Bill of Sale

As the towing company, custodian or police agency designee for the abandoned vehicle/vessel described below, I am requesting the TR-52L Abandoned Vehicle/Vessel Bill of Sale form that was issued to the law enforcement agency having jurisdiction over the abandoned vehicle/vessel. The law enforcement agency has not provided the TR-52L as requested. The abandoned vehicle/vessel will be disposed of in the manner pursuant to Sections 252b and 252g of the Michigan Vehicle Code, 1949 PA 300, as amended (MCL 257.252); or Sections 80130g and 80130k, 81151, and 82161 2014 PA 549.

Vehicle/Vessel Information

Year	Make		Vehicle/Hull/Serial Identification Number		
Model	Body Style	Plate/MC Number	& State	Exp. Year	Date Taken Into Custody
		/			/ /

Towing Company/Custodian/Police Agency Designee Information

Name	Street Address
City, State, Zip Code	Telephone Number
	() -
Reason for Requesting TR-52L	

Law Enforcement Agency Information

Name	Street Address
City, State, Zip Code	Telephone Number
	() -

As the designated vehicle/vessel custodian, this vehicle/vessel will be (check one):

Subject to public auction

or

Released to a scrap metal processor

I certify the information and statements on this request are true and correct and comply with the Public Act 539 of 2008 or Public Act 549 of 2014.

X		/_/	
	Towing Company/Custodian/Designee's	Date	Towing Company/Custodian/Designee's
	Signature		Printed Name

Warning: A person who makes a false certification to a matter or thing required by the terms of this act to be certified, including but not limited to an application for any type of driver's license, dealer license, vehicle certificate of title, vehicle registration, vehicle inspection, self-insurance, personal information or commercial driver training school, is guilty of a felony.

For Internal Use Only:						
Date Request Received / /	Initials & Date					
Approved or Denied (If Denied Reason Why)						

Michigan Department of State

Request for TR-52L Abandoned Vehicle/Vessel Bill of Sale

Instruction Sheet

- 1. A towing company, custodian or police agency designee may request a TR-52L Abandoned Vehicle/Vessel Bill of Sale form from the Michigan Department of State not less than 25 days after the date of notice required under MCL 257.252a or Sections 80130f, 81151, and 82161 2014 PA 549, if the police agency does not provide the form.
- 2. The vehicle/vessel must be entered as abandoned into the Law Enforcement Information Network (LEIN.)
- 3. Requests received prior to 25 days from the date of notice will be denied.
- 4. The person applying for the TR-52L Abandoned Vehicle/Vessel Bill of Sale form on behalf of the towing company, custodian or police agency must sign and date the application.
- 5. All information must be legible and complete. Incomplete requests will be denied. Please allow 10 business days for processing.
- Form must be completed in full and mailed or faxed to: Michigan Department of State Abandoned Vehicle Unit 7064 Crowner Drive Lansing, MI 48918 Fax: (517) 636-0213