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#  E-filing your return is easy, fast, and secure!

A Two-thirds (over 3.7 million) of all Michigan
taxpayers choose e-file.

#  E-filed returns are usually processed within 14
business days (see page 3). Please allow 14 days
before checking the status of your e-filed return.

N Tax preparers who complete 11 or more Michigan
Individual Income Tax returns are required to e-file all eligible returns supported by
their software (see page 3).

A Free e-file is available. Do you qualify?

A Visit Treasury’s Web site at www.MIfastfile.org for a list of e-file resources, how to
find an e-file provider, and more information on free e-file services.
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This booklet is intended as a guide to help complete your return. It does not take the place of the law.



Help With Your Taxes

New for 2013

* Michigan Standard Deduction. Taxpayers who reach the
age of 67 during 2013 may deduct $20,000 for single or
married, filing separately, or $40,000 for joint filers
against all income. If you qualify for the Michigan
Standard Deduction, you are not eligible to deduct pension
and retirement benefits on the Michigan Pension Schedule
(Form 4884).

* Social Security Act (SSA) Exempt. Taxpayers receiving
retirement benefits from employment with a government
entity not covered under the SSA may take an increased
deduction for retirement benefits. See page 13 for more
information.

Self Service Options

The Michigan Department of Treasury (Treasury) offers
a variety of services designed to assist you, and most are
available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

IMPORTANT: To obtain information about your
account using the Internet and Telephone Options listed
below, you will need the following information from your
return:

* Social Security number (SSN) of the primary filer (the
filer listed first on the return)

» Tax year of the return

e Adjusted gross income (AGI) or total household
resources

+ Filing status (single, married filing jointly, married
filing separately).

Internet Options
www.michigan.gov/incometax

Find the following information on this Web site:
* Current year forms and instructions

* Answers to many tax preparation questions

* Most commonly used tax forms

» Free assistance in preparing your return

Check My
¢ Income Tax Info |

Lt Secure,
[CRREIIEW Fast,
JLonveniant

» Retirement, Pension, Interest, Dividends, Capital Gain

Estimator
¢ Other tax resources.

www.michigan.govl/iit

This secure Web site was designed specifically to protect
your personal tax information. Use this Web site to:

» Check the status of your return

Check estimated payments you made during the year
Check the status of letters you have sent to Treasury
Change your address

Ask a specific question about your account.

Telephone Options
(517) 636-4486

Automated Information Service
With Treasury’s automated phone system, you can:

* Request the status of your refund

* Check the status of letters you have sent to Treasury
* Request information on estimated payments

* Order current tax year forms.

While most questions can be answered by the Automated
Information Service, customer service representatives are
available from 8 a.m. to 4:45 p.m., Monday through Friday.

Assistance is available using TTY through the Michigan
Relay Service by calling 1-800-649-3777 or 711. Printed
material in an alternate format may be obtained by calling
(517) 636-4486.

Forms

Find tax forms using the Internet and Telephone Options
listed on this page. Commonly used forms are also available
at Treasury offices (see back cover), most public libraries,
Northern Michigan post offices, and Department of Human
Services (DHS) county offices.

Tax Forms
EEE Income Tax
L

Anytime of the night or day, go to
www.michigan.gov/taxes
and look for these icons to help find

answers to your questions!



General Information

Adjusted Gross Income (AGI)

Throughout this booklet, Treasury refers to adjusted gross
income as AGI. When AGI is asked for, copy your AGI
directly from your U.S. Form 1040, U.S. Form 10404, or U.S.
Form 1040EZ.

Tax Rate, Exemption Allowances, and Deductions
for Retirees and Seniors

The income tax rate for 2013 is 4.25 percent.

For tax year 2013, the personal exemption allowance is
$3,950 and the special exemption allowance for deaf,
blind, hemiplegic, paraplegic, quadriplegic, or totally
and permanently disabled is $2,500. See page 9 for more
information.

Retirement/pension benefits included in AGI from a
pension or an Individual Retirement Account (IRA) may
be deductible. See Form 4884 instructions beginning on
page 14 for further details regarding retirement/pension
benefit deductions based on year of birth and filing status.

Senior citizens born before 1946 may be able to deduct part
of their interest, dividends, and capital gains that are included
in AGI. For 2013, the deduction is limited to a maximum
of $10,767 for single filers and $21,534 for joint filers. See
Michigan Schedule 1 (Schedule 1) instructions beginning on
page 11 for further details regarding dividend/interest/capital
gains deductions.

Small Business Investment Tax Credit (Venture
Investment Credit)

The Small Business Investment Tax Credit (Venture
Investment Credit) provides Qualified Investors a 25 percent
tax credit over a two year period on Qualified Investments
in Qualified Businesses. To qualify, investments had to be
made after December 31, 2010 and before January 1, 2012.
Taxpayers eligible for this credit received a certificate
from the Michigan Strategic Fund Board, Small Business
Investment Tax Credit Program. The certificate must be
attached to the taxpayer’s return.

Filing Extension Granted for Military
Personnel Serving in a Combat Zone

United States military personnel serving in a combat zone
on April 15, 2014, will be given 180 days after leaving the
combat zone to file their federal and State tax returns and
will be exempt from penalties and interest. When e-filing,
service men and women serving in combat zones should
enter the words “Combat Zone” in the preparer notes. When
filing a paper return, print “Combat Zone” in ink on the top
of page 1 of the MI1-1040.

Appeals of Adjusted Refunds or Credits

Taxpayers have 60 days from the issuance of refund denials,
refund adjustments, or Treasury decisions (other than final
assessment), that may be appealed under Section 22 of the
Revenue Act, to request informal conferences.

Choose e-file Instead of Paper Returns. Get Your
Refund Fast!

E-filing eliminates many of the errors that lengthen
processing times. E-file returns are usually processed within
14 days. Tax preparers who complete 11 or more income
tax returns are required to e-file all eligible returns. Visit
www.MlIfastfile.org for a list of e-file resources, how to
find an e-file provider, and more information on free e-file
services. When e-filing, do not mail a paper copy of your
return.

Property Tax Credits/Refunds

A reminder from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS).
Michigan homestead property tax credit and homestead
exemption refunds received in 2013 may be taxable on your
2013 U.S. Form 7040. If you claimed an itemized deduction
for property taxes on your 2012 U.S. Form /040 and then
received a refund in 2013 from the State or your local unit of
government for a portion of those taxes, you must include that
refund as income on your 2013 U.S. Form [040. If you have
questions about the taxability (for federal tax purposes) of the
refunds, call the IRS at 1-800-829-1040.

What You Should Know
About Your Michigan 1099-G

If you claimed itemized deductions on your 2012 federal
income tax return and received a Michigan tax refund in 2013,
you will be mailed a 2013 Michigan 1099-G in early 2014 that
shows the amount of your 2012 refund that was issued in 2013.
The refund amount will include any amounts credited forward
to 2013 estimated tax, prior year refunds issued in 2013,
refund amounts intercepted for back tax assessments or other
debts (such as child support or court-ordered garnishments),
and any portion of a refund assigned to pay use tax or any
amount you contributed as a voluntary contribution. The
refund amount will not include homestead property tax
credits, earned income tax credits, or other refundable tax
credits claimed on your MI-1040. The 1099-G IS NOT A
BILL. Visit www.michigan.gov/taxes for more information
about your Michigan 1099-G.

A Note About Debts

By law, any money you owe to the state and other state
agencies must be deducted from your refund or credit
before it is issued. Debts include money you owe for past-
due taxes, student loans, child support due the Friend of
the Court, an IRS levy, money due a State agency, a court-
ordered garnishment, or other court orders. Taxpayers
who are married, filing jointly, may receive an Income
Allocation to Non-Obligated Spouse (Form 743) after
the return is filed. Completing and filing this form may
limit the portion of the refund that can be applied to a
debt. If Treasury applies all or part of your refund to any
of these debts, you will receive a letter of explanation.




Who Must File a Return

File a return if you owe tax, are due a refund, or your AGI
exceeds your exemption allowance. You should also file
a Michigan return if you file a federal return, even if you
do not owe Michigan tax. This will eliminate unnecessary
correspondence from Treasury.

If your parents (or someone else) can claim you as a
dependent on their return and your AGI is $1,500 or less if
single or married, filing separately or $3,000 or less if filing
a joint return, you do not need to file a return unless you are
claiming a refund of withholding.

Important: If your income subject to tax (MI-1040, line 14)
is less than your personal exemption allowance (line 15) and
Michigan income tax was withheld from your earnings, you
must file a return to claim a refund of the tax withheld.

Who Must File a Joint Return

File a joint Michigan return if you filed a joint federal return.
If you and your spouse filed separate federal returns, you may
file separate or joint Michigan returns. You may file a joint
return only with your spouse.

When to File Your Return

Always complete your federal tax return before your Michigan
return. You may file a Michigan return even if you are not
required to file a federal return.

Your return must be postmarked no later than April 15, 2014,
to avoid penalty and interest. Payment must be included with
your return. Make your check payable to “State of Michigan”
and write your Social Security number(s) and “2013 income
tax” on the front of the check.

If you cannot file before the due date and you owe tax, you
may file an Application for Extension of Time to File Michigan
Tax Returns (Form 4) with your payment. This allows an
extension of time to file, but not to pay. Payment is due no
later than April 15, 2014, otherwise penalty and interest may
apply. See page 6. If you are due a refund, you must file a
return within four years of the due date to obtain the refund.
Keep a copy of your return and all supporting schedules for
six years.

Penalty and Interest Added for Filing and Paying
Late

If you file and pay late, Treasury will add a penalty of
5 percent of the tax due. After the second month, penalty will
increase by an additional 5 percent per month, or fraction
thereof, up to a maximum of 25 percent of the tax due. If you
pay late, you must add penalty and interest to the amount due.
The interest rate through June 30, 2014, is 4.25 percent. For
interest rates after June 30, 2014, visit
www.michigan.gov/taxes or call (517) 636-4486.

Renaissance Zones

Certain Renaissance Zones, along with the tax benefits,
will continue to phase out. See instructions for Schedule 1,
line 15 on page 12.



How to Complete and File Paper Returns

Completing Michigan Forms

Treasury captures the information from paper income tax

returns using an Intelligent Character Recognition (ICR)

process. If completing a paper return, avoid unnecessary
delays by following the guidelines below so your return is
processed quickly and accurately.

e Use black or blue ink. Do not use pencil, red ink, or felt
tip pens. Do not highlight information.

* Print using capital letters (UPPER CASE). Capital
letters are easier to recognize.

e Print numbers like this: 0123456789
Do not put a slash through the zero (&) or seven (7).

 Fill check boxes with an [X]. Do not use a check mark.

* Leave lines/boxes blank if they do not apply or if the
amount is zero unless otherwise directed.

* Do not write extra numbers, symbols, or notes on the
return, such as cents, dashes, decimal points, commas, or
dollar signs. Enclose any explanations on a separate sheet
unless you are instructed to write explanations on the return.

e Stay within the lines when entering information in boxes.

e If a form is multiple pages, all pages must be filed.

* Report all amounts in whole dollars. Round down
amounts of 49 cents or less. Round up amounts of 50 cents
or more. If cents are entered on the form, they will be
treated as whole dollar amounts.

When You Have Finished

If the tax preparer is someone other than the taxpayer, he or

she must enter the business name and address of the firm he

or she represents and Preparer Tax Identification Number

(PTIN), Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN),

or Social Security Number. Check the box to indicate if

Treasury may discuss your return with your tax preparer.

Assemble your returns and attachments and staple in the

upper-left corner. Do not staple your check to your return. A

sequence number is printed in the upper-right corner of the

following Michigan forms to help you assemble them in the

correct order behind your MI1-1040:

» Additions and Subtractions (Schedule 1)

* Nonresident and Part-Year Resident (Schedule NR)

* Farmland Preservation Tax Credit (MI-1040CR-5)

» Schedule of Taxes and Allocation to Each Agreement
(Schedule CR-5)

* Property Tax Credit (MI-1040CR or MI-1040CR-2)

» Federal Schedules (see Table 3, page 59)

» Schedule of Apportionment (MI1-1040H)

» Underpayment of Estimated Income Tax (MI1-2210)

» Withholding Tax Schedule (Schedule W)

» Adjustments of Capital Gains and Losses (MI-1040D)

» Adjustments of Gains and Losses From Sales of Business
Property (MI-4797)

» Voluntary Contributions Schedule (4642)

*» Sales and Other Dispositions of Capital Assets (MI-8949)

» Pension Schedule (4884)

* Pension Continuation Schedule (4973).

If you are also filing a Home Heating Credit Claim
(MI-1040CR-7), do net staple it to your return; fold it and
leave it loose in the envelope.

Important Reminder: If you do not include all the required
attachments with your return, your refund may be reduced,
denied, or delayed. Send original forms. Do not send
photocopies.

Do not staple multiple prior year returns together.

Where to Mail Your Return

Mail refund, credit, or zero due returns to:

Michigan Department of Treasury
Lansing, M1 48956

If you owe tax, mail your return to:
Michigan Department of Treasury
Lansing, MI 48929

Make your check payable to “State of Michigan” and print
your Social Security number and “2013 income tax” on the
front of your check. To ensure accurate processing of your
return, send one check for each return type. Do not staple
your check to your return.

Do not mail your 2013 return in the same envelope with a
return for years prior to 2013; mail your 2013 return in a
separate envelope.

Important Reminders

¢ Missing pages. The MI-1040, MI-1040CR, MI-1040CR-2,
MI-1040CR-7, MI-1040X-12 and MI-1040X are multiple-
page forms. All pages must be completed and submitted
for Treasury to process the form timely.

e Using correct tax year forms. Appropriate tax year
forms must be filed (e.g., do not use a 2012 form to file
your 2013 return).

¢ Schedules received alone. If the following forms are
filed, all pages must be submitted with a completed
MI-1040:
* Additions and Subtractions (Schedule 1)
* Nonresident and Part-Year Resident (Schedule NR)
»  Withholding Tax Schedule (Schedule W) — attach a
copy if reporting Michigan withholding
*  Adjustments of Capital Gains and Losses (MI-1040D)
*  Adjustments of Gains and Losses from Sales of
Business Property (MI-4797)
»  Voluntary Contributions Schedule (4642)
» Sales and Other Dispositions of Capital Assets
(MI-8949)
* Historic Preservation Credit (3581)
*  Pension Schedule (4884)
» Pension Continuation Schedule (4973).

* Missing, incomplete, or applied for Social Security
number. If you don’t have an SSN or an Individual
Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN), apply for one
through the IRS. Do not file your Michigan return until
you have received your SSN or ITIN.



Special Situations

Extensions

To request more time to file your Michigan tax return, send
a payment of your estimated tax to Treasury with a copy of
your federal extension (U.S. Form 4868) on or before the
original due date of your return. Treasury will extend the
due date to your new federal due date. If you do not have a
federal extension, file an Application for Extension of Time
to File Michigan Tax Returns (Form 4) with your payment.
Treasury will not notify you of approval. Do not file an
extension if you will be claiming a refund.

An extension of time to file is not an extension of time to
pay. If you do not pay enough with your extension request,
you must pay interest on the unpaid amount. Compute
interest from the original due date of the return. Interest is
1 percent above the prime rate and is adjusted on July 1 and
January 1.

You may be charged a penalty of 10 percent or more if the
balance due is not paid with your extension request.

When you file your MI-1040, include on line 30 the amount
of tax you paid with your extension request. Attach a copy of
your federal or state extension to your return.

2014 Estimated Payments

Usually, you must make estimated income tax payments if
you expect to owe more than $500 when you file your 2014
MI-1040. This is after crediting the property tax, farmland,
any other refundable or nonrefundable credits, and amounts
you paid through withholding.

Common income sources which make estimated payments
necessary are self-employment income, salary, wages, or
retirement benefits if you do not have enough tax withheld,
tips, lump sum payments, unemployment benefits, dividend
and interest income, income from the sale of property
(capital gains), business income and rental income.

You may ask your employer to increase your withholding to
cover the taxes on other types of income.

Estimated payments are due April 15, 2014; June 16, 2014;
September 15, 2014; and January 15, 2015. If you are a
fiscal year filer, the due dates are the same as your federal
estimated payment due dates.

If you filed estimates for 2013, Treasury will send you
personalized forms for 2014, unless you used a tax preparer.
Do not use forms intended for another taxpayer. If you do
not receive personalized forms, use a tax preparer, or use
tax preparation software to complete your return, you can
obtain a Michigan Estimated Individual Income Tax Voucher
(MI-1040ES) from Treasury’s Web site.

Exceptions. If you expect to owe more than $500, you may
not have to make estimated payments if you expect your 2014
withholding to be at least:

* 90 percent of your total 2014 tax, or

* 100 percent of your total 2013 tax.

Total 2013 tax is the amount on your 2013 MI-1040, line 21,
less the amount on lines 25, 26, 27b and 28.

NOTE: 2014 estimates for taxpayers with 2013 AGI of
$150,000 or more for joint or single filers ($75,000 or more

for married, filing separately) must equal 90 percent of the
6

current year’s liability or 110 percent of the previous year’s
liability.

Farmers, fishermen or seafarers may have to pay
estimates, but have different filing options. If at least two-
thirds of your gross income is from farming, fishing, or
seafaring, you may:

* Delay paying your first 2014 quarterly installment
(MI-1040ES) until as late as January 15, 2015, and pay the
entire amount of your 2014 estimated tax due, or

+ File your 2014 MI-1040 return and pay the entire amount
of tax due on or before March 1, 2015.

You are considered a farmer or fisherman if you file
U.S. Schedule F or Schedule C. Wages earned as a farm
employee or from a corporate farm do not qualify you for
this exception. You are considered a seafarer if your wages
are exempt from income tax withholding under Title 46,
Shipping, USC, Sec. 11108.

Failure to make payments or underpayment of estimates.
If you fail to make required estimated payments, pay late,
or underpay in any quarter, Treasury may charge penalty
and interest. Penalty is 25 percent of the tax due (with a
minimum of $25) for failing to file estimate payments or 10
percent (with a minimum of $10) for failing to pay enough
with your estimates or paying estimates late. Interest is one
percent above the prime rate and is computed monthly. The
rate is adjusted on July 1 and January 1.

Residency

Resident. You are a Michigan resident if Michigan is your
permanent home. Your permanent home is the place you
intend to return to whenever you go away. A temporary
absence from Michigan, such as spending the winter in a
southern state, does not make you a part-year resident.

Income earned by a Michigan resident in a nonreciprocal
state (see “Reciprocal States” on page 7) or Canadian
province is taxed by Michigan, and may also be taxed by
the other jurisdiction. If you pay tax to both, you can claim a
credit on your Michigan return. See instructions for MI-1040,
line 18 and the example on page 10.

Part-year resident. You are a part-year resident if, during
the year, you move your permanent home into or out of
Michigan. You must pay Michigan income tax on income
you earned, received, or accrued while living in Michigan.

Use Michigan Nonresident and Part-Year Resident Schedule

(Schedule NR) and the following guidelines to help figure

your tax:

» Allocate your income from the date you moved into or out
of Michigan

* Bonus pay, severance pay, deferred income, and any other
amount accrued while a Michigan resident are subject to
Michigan tax no matter where you lived when you
received it

* Deferred compensation reported to you on U.S. Form
1099-R and dividend and interest income are allocated to
the state of residence when received

* Part-year residents who lived in Michigan at least six
months of the tax year may qualify for a homestead
property tax credit (see page 25).



NOTE: Out-of-state students who live in Michigan while
they are attending school are not considered Michigan
residents or part-year residents and should file as
nonresidents.

Nonresident. Use Schedule NR to figure your Michigan
taxable income. You must pay Michigan income tax on the
following types of income:

» Salary, wages, and other employee compensation for work
performed in Michigan, unless you live in a state covered
by a reciprocal agreement (see “Reciprocal States” below)

* Net rents and royalties from real and tangible personal
property in Michigan

« Capital gains from the sale or exchange of real property
located in Michigan, or of tangible personal property
located in Michigan

» Patent or copyright royalties if the patent or copyright is
used in Michigan or if you have a commercial domicile in
Michigan

* Income (including dividend and interest income) from an
S corporation, partnership or an unincorporated business,
or other business activity in Michigan

* Lottery winnings

* Prizes won from casinos or licensed horse tracks located
in Michigan. Nonresidents from reciprocal states must
also declare these prizes as taxable.

Reciprocal States

Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Minnesota, Ohio, and
Wisconsin have reciprocal agreements with Michigan.
Michigan residents pay only Michigan income tax on
their salaries and wages earned in any of these states.
A Michigan resident may file a withholding form with
an employer in a reciprocal state to claim exemption
from that state’s income tax withholding. The out-of-
state income may make Michigan income tax estimate
payments necessary. Residents of reciprocal states
working in Michigan do not have to pay Michigan tax on
salaries or wages earned in Michigan but do have to pay
Michigan tax on business income earned from business
activity in Michigan. A resident of a reciprocal state who
claims a refund of Michigan withholding tax must file a
Schedule NR along with an MI-1040.

Deceased Taxpayers

A personal representative for the estate of a taxpayer
who died in 2013 (or 2014 before filing a 2013 return) must
file if the taxpayer owes tax or is due a refund. A full-year
exemption is allowed for a deceased taxpayer on the 2013
MI-1040.

Use the decedent’s Social Security number and your address.
If the taxpayer died after December 31, 2012, enter the date
of death in the “Deceased Taxpayer” box on page 2 on the
2013 MI-1040.

The surviving spouse is considered married for the year in
which the deceased spouse died and may file a joint return
for that year. Write your name and the decedent’s name
and both Social Security numbers on the MI-1040. Write
“DECD” after the decedent’s last name. You must report
the decedent’s income. Sign the return. In the deceased’s

signature line, write “Filing as surviving spouse.” If the
taxpayer died after December 31, 2012, enter the date of
death in the “Deceased Taxpayer” box on page 2 of the
MI-1040. See “Deceased Taxpayer Chart of Examples” on
page 59, example A.

If filing as a personal representative or claimant and you
are claiming a refund for a single deceased taxpayer, you
must attach a U.S. Form /310 or Michigan Claim for Refund
Due a Deceased Taxpayer (MI-1310). Enter the decedent’s
name in the Filer’s Name lines and the representative’s or
claimant’s name, title, and address in the Home Address line.
See “Deceased Taxpayer Chart of Examples” on page 59,
example B or C.

If filing as a personal representative or claimant of a
deceased taxpayer(s) for a jointly filed return, you must
attach a U.S. Form 1310 or Michigan Claim for a Refund
Due a Deceased Taxpayer (MI-1310). Enter the names of the
deceased persons in the Filer’s and Spouse’s Name lines and
the representative’s or claimant’s name, title, and address in
the Home Address line. See “Deceased Taxpayer Chart of
Examples” on page 59, example D or E.

For information about filing a credit claim, see “Deceased
Claimant’s Credit” on page 25.

Amended Returns

If you need to make a correction to your 2012 or 2013 return,
file a Michigan Amended Individual Income Tax Return
(MI-1040X-12). If you need to make a correction to your 2011
or prior year return, file a Michigan Amended Individual
Income Tax Return (MI-1040X). If you are due a refund on
your amended return, you must file it within four years of the
due date of the original return.

Once you file a joint return, you cannot choose to file
separate returns for that year after the due date of the return.

If a change on your federal return affects Michigan taxable
income, you must file an MI-1040X-12 or MI-1040X within
120 days of the change. Include payment of any tax and
interest due.

To amend only a homestead property tax or home heating
credit, file a revised claim form and print “Amended” on the
top of page 1. Do not file an MI-1040X-12 or MI-1040X.

Net Operating Losses (NOL)

If you have a federal NOL deduction, you must remove the
federal deduction to the extent included in federal AGI
Residents accomplish this through an addition on Schedule 1,
line 7. Nonresidents accomplish this by allocating the entire
NOL deduction to Column C on Michigan Schedule NR, no
matter where earned.

A Michigan NOL deduction in a carryforward year may be
claimed on the Schedule 1, line 21.

Part 1 of Application for Michigan Net Operating Loss
Refund (Form MI-1045) is used to calculate the Michigan
NOL for the loss year and a copy must be attached to returns
to which the loss is carried forward. A separate worksheet
showing how the loss has been used in years previous to
and succeeding the loss year should always be submitted to
verify the claimed carryforward. If carrying the loss back,
Part 2 of Form MI-1045 must be filed.



Repayments of Income Reported in a Prior Year

If you had to repay money in 2013 that you claimed as
income in a previous year (e.g., unemployment benefits), you
may be entitled to a credit on your 2013 return for the tax
paid in an earlier year.

If you subtracted the repayment in arriving at AGI, no
additional credit is allowed on the Michigan return because
your income for the year has been reduced by the repayment
amount. If the amount of the repayment was deducted on
U.S. Schedule A or a credit was claimed on U.S. Form /040, a
credit will be allowed on the Michigan return.

To compute your Michigan credit, multiply the amount you
repaid in 2013 by the tax rate which was in effect the year
you paid the tax. Then add the amount of the credit to the
Michigan tax withheld on MI-1040, line 29. Write “Claim of
Right/Repayment” next to line 29.

Attach a schedule showing the computation of the credit,
proof of the repayment, and pages 1 and 2 of your U.S. Form
1040 and Schedule A, if applicable.

Use Tax

Every state that has a sales tax has a companion tax for
purchases made outside that state by catalog, telephone, or
Internet. In Michigan, that companion tax is called “use tax,”
but might be described more accurately as a remote sales tax
because it is a 6 percent tax owed on purchases made outside
of Michigan.

Use tax is due on catalog, telephone, or Internet purchases
made from out-of-state sellers as well as purchases while
traveling in foreign countries when the items are to be
brought into Michigan. Use tax must be paid on the total
price (including shipping and handling charges).

How to Report Use Tax

Use Worksheet 1 below to calculate your use tax and enter
the amount of use tax due on MI-1040, line 23.

Worksheet Calculation

Line 1: For purchases of $0 to $1,000, multiply your total
purchases times 6 percent (0.06) and enter the amount on
Line 1, or,

If you have incomplete or inaccurate receipts to calculate
your purchases, you may use “Table 1 - Use Tax” to estimate
your taxes (see the following example).

Line 1 should contain a number unless you made no
purchases under $1,000 subject to the use tax. If Treasury
later determines that you owe use tax, you may be subject to
penalty and interest.

Line 2: In all cases, if a single purchase is $1,000 or more,
you must pay 6 percent use tax on those purchases.

Example: Jacob ordered a computer from a catalog retailer
in New York for $1,437.50. Jacob also purchased items over
the Internet for less than $1,000 during the year, but lost
his receipts. He is sure he did not pay Michigan sales tax.
Jacob’s AGI is $46,500. Jacob would complete Worksheet 1
as follows:

Line 1: Jacob selects $36 from

the table based on his AGI.......... $36
Line 2: Jacob enters
$1,437.50 x 6 percent.............. $86.25

Line 3: Total use tax due .... $122.25

Jacob would enter $122 (no cents) on his 2013 MI-1040,
line 23.

Estimating your taxes does not preclude Treasury from
auditing your account. If additional tax is due, you may
receive an assessment for the amount of the tax owed, plus
applicable penalty and interest.

Use Tax on the Difference

If you paid at least 6 percent to another state on your
purchase, you do not owe use tax to Michigan. If you paid
less than 6 percent, you owe the difference.

Note: The full 6 percent use tax is also owed on purchases
made in a foreign country.

For more information, visit www.michigan.gov/taxes.

é TABLE 1 - USE TAX )
AGI* Tax
$0-310,000......ccciiviiiiiinrennen. $4
$10,001 - $20,000...................... $12
$20,001 - $30,000........c..o......... $20
$30,001 - $40,000...................... $28
$40,001 - $50,000 ...................... $36
$50,001 - $75,000........ccovee....... $50
$75,001 - $100,000 .................... $70
Above $100,000.... Multiply AGI by

0.08% (0.0008)
C AGI from MI-1040, line 10.

(
WORKSHEET 1 - USE TAX

Line 1: Itemized purchases of $0 to $1,000 x

6 percent (0.06) OR “Table 1 - Use Tax” amount...................... s
Line 2: Single purchases $1,000 or more x 6 percent (0.06)... $
Line 3: Total Use Tax Due (add Lines 1 and 2)..........cccene... $

Enter amount from Line 3 above on your 2013 MI-1040, line 23. If the
amount on Line 3 is 0, enter “0” on your 2013 MI-1040, line 23.




Line-by-Line Instructions for Individual Income Tax Return (MI-1040)

Lines not listed are explained on the form.

Line 1: Only married filers may file joint returns. Include
name and address.

Lines 2 and 3: Print your Social Security number(s).

Line 5: State Campaign Fund. These funds are disbursed
only to candidates for governor, regardless of political
party, who agree to limit campaign spending and meet the
campaign fund requirements. Checking the box will not raise
your tax or reduce your refund.

Line 6: Farmers, fishermen, or seafarers may have to pay
estimates, but have different filing options. If at least
two-thirds of your gross income is from farming, fishing, or
seafaring, check this box. (For estimate filing information,
see page 6).

Line 7: Filing Status. Check the box to identify your filing
status. If you file a joint federal return, you must file a joint
Michigan return and you generally cannot be claimed as a
dependent on another person’s tax return. Married couples
who file separate federal returns may file a separate or joint
Michigan return. If your status is married, filing separately
(box c¢), print your spouse’s full name in the space provided
and be sure to print his or her Social Security number on
line 3. If you filed your federal return as head of household
or qualifying widow(er), you must file your Michigan return
as single.

NOTE: If you are claiming a homestead property tax credit
or home heating credit and you lived with your spouse, it
may be easier to file a joint Michigan return because joint
total household resources are the basis for computing these
credits.

Same-Sex Couples Filing a Joint Federal Return. Same-
sex couples who file a joint federal income tax return must
continue to file separate income tax returns for Michigan
with each individual using the single filing status. Michigan
has defined marriage in the Michigan Constitution as a union
of one man and one woman.

Each individual who has income attributable to Michigan
and who has filed a joint return with the IRS as a same-sex
couple should separately report adjusted gross income (AGI)
for Michigan income tax as a single filer. Each individual
should recalculate their federal adjusted gross income as
if they had filed a single federal return, and be aware that
filing as single may affect the filer’s eligibility for Michigan
tax credits as well. Additional information can be found on
Treasury’s Web site.

Line 8: Residency. Check the box that describes your
Michigan residency for 2013. If you and your spouse had
a different residency status during the year, check a box
for each of you. Both part-year residents and nonresidents
must file Nonresident and Part-Year Resident Schedule
(Schedule NR). For definition of residency, see page 6.

Line 9: Exemptions. Use this line to compute your
Michigan exemption amount plus your Michigan special
exemptions.

Line 9a: Enter the number of exemptions you claimed on
your U.S. Form /040 or 10404. These exemptions are for
you, your spouse (if filing jointly), and your dependents.

Multiply the number of exemptions by your exemption
allowance of $3,950 and enter that amount in the box.

Michigan Special Exemptions. Complete the lines
that apply to you, your spouse, or dependents as of
December 31, 2013. If your dependent files a separate return,
you and your dependent may not both claim the special
exemption.

Line 9b: Deaf, Blind, or Certain Disabilities. You
qualify for this exemption if you are deaf, blind, hemiplegic,
paraplegic, quadriplegic, or totally and permanently disabled.

* Deaf means the primary way you receive messages is
through a sense other than hearing (e.g., lip reading or
sign language).

* Blind means your better eye permanently has 20/200
vision or less with corrective lenses, or your peripheral
field of vision is 20 degrees or less.

» Totally and permanently disabled means disabled as
defined under Social Security Guidelines 42 USC 416. If
you are age 66 or older, you may not claim an exemption
as totally and permanently disabled.

You may claim only one exemption per person in this
category.

Line 9c: Qualified Disabled Veterans. A taxpayer may
claim an exemption of $300 in addition to the taxpayer’s
other exemptions if (a) the taxpayer or spouse is a qualified
disabled veteran, or (b) a dependent of the taxpayer is a
qualified disabled veteran. To be eligible for the additional
exemption an individual must be a veteran of the active
military, naval, marine, coast guard, or air service who
received an honorable or general discharge and has a
disability incurred or aggravated in the line of duty as
described in 38 USC 101(16). This additional exemption may
not be claimed on more than one tax return.

Line 9d: If someone else can claim you as a dependent,
check the box, enter 0 on line 9a and enter $1,500 on
line 9d. If your AGI is less than $1,500 and you had no
Michigan income tax withheld from your wages, you do not
need to file this form.

Line 10: Adjusted Gross Income. Enter your
AGI from your federal return. This is the amount
from your U.S. Form 7040, U.S. Form 10404, or
U.S. Form [040EZ. You must attach copies of
federal schedules that apply to you (see Table 3,
page 59). For Michigan adjustments to AGI, see
Schedule 1, page 37. Instructions for completing Schedule 1
begin on page 11.

Line 17: Tax. Multiply the amount on line 16 by 4.25
percent (0.0425).

Line 18: Income Tax Imposed by Government Units Outside
Michigan. Include the amount of income tax paid to:

* A nonreciprocal state (see page 7)

* A local government unit outside Michigan, including tax
paid to local units located in reciprocal states

* The District of Columbia
* A Canadian province.



Include only income tax paid to another government unit(s)
on income earned while you were a Michigan resident and
taxed by Michigan.

For assistance with calculating this credit, an estimator can
be found at www.michigan.gov/incometax.

Attach a copy of the return filed with the other
government unit(s) to your MI-1040.

Do not include taxes paid on income you subtracted on
lines 10 through 26 of Schedule 1 (e.g., rental or business
income from another state, part-year resident wages, etc.). If
you claim credit for Canadian provincial tax, you must file
a Michigan Resident Credit for Tax Imposed by a Canadian
Province (Form 777). Attach copies of your Canadian
Federal Individual Tax Return (Form T-1), Canadian
Statement of Remuneration Paid (Form T-4), U.S. Form /116,
and U.S. Form 7/040. Your credit is limited to the portion of
your Canadian provincial tax not used as a credit on your
U.S. Form 1040.

Line 18a: Enter the total income tax paid to other
government units. If you paid tax to more than one unit,
attach a schedule showing the tax paid to each government
unit. Also attach a copy of the return(s).

Line 18b: Credit amount. If more than one government unit
is involved, compute the credit amount for each government
unit separately. Then add the individual credit amounts and
enter the total on line 18b. Compute your allowable credit as
follows:

Step 1: Divide your non-Michigan income subject to tax
by both states by your total income subject to Michigan tax
(MI-1040, line 14); then

Step 2: Multiply the amount of tax shown on MI-1040,
line 17, by the resulting percentage.

Your credit cannot exceed the smaller of: (1) the amount
of tax imposed by another government; or (2) the amount
of Michigan tax due on salaries, wages, and other personal
compensation earned in another state. See the example
below.

Example: Computing Michigan resident’s credit for tax
imposed by another state.

Hunter is a Michigan resident and has $40,000 of Michigan
wages, $10,000 of wages earned in another state, and $3,000
in interest and dividends. Hunter’s federal AGI is $53,000.
He has no Michigan adjustments (additions or subtractions)
to AGI. After subtracting his $3,950 exemption from $53,000
income subject to tax, Hunter’s taxable income is $49,050
(MI-1040, line 16). This results in a tax of $2,085 ($49,050 x
0.0425) that is reported on MI-1040, line 17. The other state
imposed $700 tax on the $10,000 Hunter earned in that state.
To compute the credit, determine the following:

Step 1: Calculate the percentage of non-Michigan income to
total income subject to tax ($10,000/$53,000) = 19%

Step 2: Multiply Michigan tax of $2,085 by 19% = $396

Step 3: On MI-1040, line 18a, enter $700, the tax
imposed by the other state. On MI-1040, line 18b,
enter $396 (the credit is the lesser of $700 or $396).
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Line 19: Michigan Historic Preservation Tax Credit.
Taxpayers eligible for this credit will have received a
certificate from the State Historic Preservation Office
indicating their eligibility. To claim this credit you must
submit all of the supporting documentation. For a list of
required forms see the instructions on the back of Form 3581.

Line 19a: Enter the amount from your 2013 Form 3581, line 9.
Line 19b: Enter the amount from your 2013 Form 3581, line 14.

Line 19: Small Business Investment Tax (Venture
Investment) Credit. See page 3 for additional information
regarding this credit.

Line 19a: Enter the contribution amount or investment
amount from the required certificate.

Line 19b: Enter the income tax credit amount from the
required certificate.

Line 20: Income Tax. Carry this amount to line 21.

Line 22: Voluntary Contributions. Contributions can be
made on the Voluntary Contribution Schedule (Form 4642).
Attach Form 4642 to ensure your contributions are applied to
the fund(s) of your choice. Contributions will increase your
tax due or reduce your refund.

Line 23: Use Tax. Enter use tax due from Worksheet 1,
line 3, on page 8.
Line 25: Property tax credit information begins on page 23.

Line 26: Farmland preservation credit applies to farmers
only. See MI-1040CR-5 instructions for additional
information.

Line 27: Michigan Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC).
Taxpayers who are eligible to claim an EITC on their federal
return may claim a Michigan EITC equal to 6 percent of the
taxpayer’s federal credit. To claim the Michigan credit, enter
your federal EITC amount on line 27a and six percent of
line 27a on line 27b.

Line 28: Michigan Historic Preservation Tax Credit.
Enter the amount from your 2013 Historic Preservation
Tax Credit (Form 3581), line 16a or 16b, whichever applies.
Attach a completed Form 3581 and U.S. Form 3581, if
applicable.

Line 29: Enter the total Michigan tax withheld (from your
Schedule W). If applicable, include any credit for repayments
under the “Claim of Right.” See “Repayments of Income
Reported in a Prior Year” on page 8.

Line 30: Enter the total estimated tax paid with your 2013
MI-1040ES, the amount paid with a Form 4, and the amount
of your 2012 credit forward (2012 MI-1040, line 34) to this
year’s tax. Do not include prior year’s refund amount.

Line 32: You Owe. If line 31 is less than line 24, enter the
difference. This is the tax you owe with your return.

You will owe penalty and interest for late payment of tax
if you pay after the due date. Penalty accrues monthly at 5
percent of the tax due, and increases by an additional 5
percent per month, or fraction thereof, after the second
month, up to a maximum of 25 percent of the tax due (e.g.,
penalty on a $500 tax due will be $125 if the tax is unpaid for
six months). See “Penalty and Interest Added for Filing and



Paying Late” on page 4. Add penalty and interest to your tax
due and enter the total on line 32. Generally, if you owe more
than $500, you are required to make estimated payments. See
special note on the following page and information about
estimated payments. If the balance due is less than $1, no
payment is required, but you must still file your return. See
“Pay” address on page 2 of your MI-1040.

Special note for people required to file estimates. You may
owe penalty and interest for underpayment, late payment,
or for failing to make estimated tax payments. Use the
Michigan Underpayment of Estimated Income Tax (Form
MI-2210) to compute penalty and interest. If you do not file
an MI1-2210, Treasury will compute your penalty and interest
and send you a bill. If you annualize your income, you must
complete and attach an MI-2210. Enter the penalty and
interest amounts on the lines provided.

Line 35: Refund. This includes any tax you overpaid and
any credits due you. The state does not refund amounts less
than $1. Mail your return to the “Refund, credit, or zero
returns” address on page 2 of your MI-1040.

Direct Deposit

First check with your financial institution to (1) make sure
it will accept Direct Deposit, (2) obtain the correct Routing
Transit Number (RTN) and account number, and (3) if
applicable, verify that your financial institution will allow a
joint refund to be deposited into an individual account.

Direct Deposit requests associated with a foreign bank
account are classified as International ACH Transactions
(IAT). If your income tax refund Direct Deposit is forwarded
or transferred to a bank account in a foreign country your
Direct Deposit will be returned to Treasury. If this occurs,
your refund will be converted to a check (warrant) and
mailed to the address on your tax return. Contact your
financial institution for questions regarding the status of your
account.

a. RTN. Enter the nine-digit RTN. The RTN is usually found
between the symbols |: and |: on the bottom of your check. The
first two digits must be 01 through 12 or 21 through 32.

b. Account Number. Enter your financial institution account
number up to 17 characters (both numbers and letters). The
account number is usually found immediately to the right of
the RTN on the bottom of your check. Include hyphens but
omit spaces and special symbols. Do not include the check
number.

c. Type of Account. Check the box for checking or savings.
When You Are Finished

Sign Your Return. Each spouse must sign a joint return. If
the tax preparer is someone other than the taxpayer, he or
she must include the name and address of the firm he or she
represents and preparer tax identification or federal employer
identification number. Check the box to indicate if Treasury
may discuss your return with your preparer.

Signing a child’s return. If a return is prepared for a child
who is too young to sign it, a parent or guardian should
sign the child’s name, then add “by (your name) parent (or
guardian) for minor child.”

Attachments. Attach all your credit claims and required
Michigan and federal schedules (see Table 3 on page 59).

If you owe tax. Make your check payable to “State of
Michigan.” Print your Social Security number and “2013
income tax” on the front of your check. If paying on behalf
of another taxpayer, write the taxpayer’s name and Social
Security number on the check. Enclose your payment but
do not staple it to the return. Checks stapled to the back
of the return may not be seen and may result in improper
processing.

The filing deadline to receive a refund for tax year 2013 is
April 17, 2018.

Line-by-Line Instructions for Additions and Subftractions (Schedule 1)

Part-year and nonresidents, complete Schedule NR (see
page 49) before proceeding.

Additions to Income

Line 1: Enter gross interest, dividends, and income
from obligations or securities of states and their political
subdivisions other than Michigan. Add this income even if
it comes to you through a partnership, S corporation, estate,
or trust. You may reduce this income by related expenses not
allowed as a deduction by Section 265(a)(1) of the Internal
Revenue Code (IRC).

Line 2: Enter the deduction taken for self-employment tax
on your federal return and for other taxes on or measured
by income, such as your share of city income tax paid by
partnerships or S corporations, or your share of the taxes
paid by an estate or trust.

Line 3: Use Michigan Adjustments of Capital Gains and
Losses (MI-1040D) and related Michigan Sales and Other
Dispositions of Capital Assets (MI-8949) only if you have
capital gains or losses attributable to: (I) an election to
use Section 271 treatment for property acquired before

October 1, 1967; (2) the sale or exchange of U.S. obligations
which cannot be taxed by Michigan; or (3) the sale or
exchange of property located in other states.

If you reported gains on U.S. Form 4797 on property
acquired before October 1, 1967, or located in other states,
adjust the gain on the Michigan Adjustments of Gains and
Losses From Sales of Business Property (MI-4797).

Enter gains from the Michigan column of MI-1040D, line 12,
and MI-4797, line 18b(2). Instructions are with each form.

Line 4: Enter losses from a business or property located
in another state which you own as a sole proprietor, a
partner in a partnership, a shareholder in an S corporation,
or as a member of a pass-through entity. If your business
is taxed by both Michigan and another state, the loss must
be apportioned. You must attach a Michigan Schedule of
Apportionment (MI-1040H).

Line 5: Enter the net loss from the federal column of your
MI-1040D, line 13, or MI-4797, line 18b(2) as a positive
number.
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Line 6: Enter the gross expenses of producing oil and gas
(subject to Michigan severance tax) to the extent deducted
in AGI. You must also subtract the related gross income on
line 19.

Line 7: Enter the amount of NOL deduction (NOL
carryforward) used to reduce AGI.

Line 8: Enter the total of the following (attach a schedule if

necessary):

+ Enter the gross expenses from nonferrous metallic
minerals extraction (subject to Michigan severance tax) to
the extent deducted in AGI. You must also subtract the
related gross income on line 22.

¢ Add, to the extent not included in AGI, the amount of
money withdrawn in the tax year from a Michigan
Education Savings Program (MESP) account, including
the MI 529 Advisor Plan (MAP), if the withdrawal was
not a qualified withdrawal as provided in the MESP Act.
You may first exclude any amount that represents a return
of contributions for which no deduction was claimed in
any prior tax year.

* Refund received from a Michigan Education Trust (MET)
contract. If you deducted the cost of a MET contract in
previous years and received a refund from MET during
2013 because the MET contract was terminated, enter the
smaller of: (1) the refund you received or (2) the amount of
the original MET contract price including fees which you
deducted in previous years.

Subtractions From Income

Note: Part-year and nonresidents, subtract only income
attributable to Michigan (Schedule NR, column B) that is not
included on line 13.

Line 10: Enter income from U.S. government obligations
(c.g., Series EE bonds, Treasury notes, etc.), including
income from U.S. government obligations received through
a partnership, S corporation, or other pass-through entity.
This subtraction must be reduced by related expenses used to
arrive at AGL

Investment companies that invest in U.S. obligations
are permitted to pass the tax-free exemption to their
shareholders. If income from U.S. government obligations
exceeds $5,000, attach a copy of your U.S. Schedule B or
U.S. Schedule I listing the amounts received and the issuing
agency. Capital gains from the sale of U.S. government
obligations must be adjusted on your MI-1040D.

Line 11: Include military and Michigan National
Guard retirement benefits here. Also report any taxable
railroad retirement benefits. Other qualifying public
or private retirement benefits must be reported on the
Michigan Pension Schedule (Form 4884) and Schedule 1,
line 25.

Line 12: Enter the gains from the federal column of
your MI-1040D, line 12, and MI-4797, line 18b(2). See
instructions for Schedule 1, line 3 on page 11.

Line 13: Income Attributable to Another State.
Nonresidents and part-year residents, complete Schedule NR.
See instructions on page 50. Attach federal schedules.
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Business income that is taxed by Michigan and another
state must be apportioned. You must complete and attach
MI-1040H. Income reported on the MI-4797 and carried
to the MI-1040D is business income, potentially subject to
apportionment.

Capital gains from the sale of real property or tangible
personal property located outside of Michigan must be
adjusted on MI-1040D.

Michigan residents cannot subtract salaries and wages or
other compensation earned outside Michigan. However, they
may be entitled to a tax credit for income tax imposed by
government units outside Michigan (see page 10).

Residents may subtract:

» Net business income earned in other states and included in
AGI, and

* Net rents and royalties from real property or tangible
personal property located or used in another state.

Line 14: Enter compensation received for active duty in the
U.S. Armed Forces included in AGI. Enter only the taxable
portion of Social Security and Military pay included on your
U.S. Form 1040, or your U.S. Form [040A4. Do not include
your total Social Security benefits.

Note: Compensation from the U.S. Public Health Service,
contracted employee pay, civilian pay, and DITY pay are not
considered military pay.

Line 15: Renaissance Zone deduction. To be eligible you
must meet all the following requirements:

* Be a permanent resident of a Renaissance Zone designated
prior to January 1, 2012, for at least 183 consecutive days

* Be approved by your local assessor’s office

* Not be delinquent for any State or local taxes abated by
the Renaissance Zone Act

* File an MI-1040 each year
» Have gross income of $1 million or less.

If you were a full-year resident of a Renaissance Zone, you
may subtract all income earned or received. Unearned
income, such as capital gains, may have to be prorated. If
you lived in the Zone at least 183 consecutive days during
2013, you may subtract the portion of income earned while
a resident of the Zone. If you are a part-year resident of a
Zone, you must complete and attach a Schedule NR to your
MI-1040. (See “Special Note” on the back of Schedule NR,
page 50.)

Certain Renaissance Zones began to phase out in 2007. The

tax exemption is reduced in increments of 25 percent during

the Zone’s final three years of existence. If you are a resident

of a Zone that is phasing out (check with your local unit of

government), you must reduce your deduction as follows:

» 25 percent for the tax year that is two years before the
final year of designation as a Renaissance Zone

* 50 percent for the tax year immediately preceding the
final year of the designation as a Renaissance Zone

» 75 percent for the tax year that is the final year of the
designation as a Renaissance Zone.



For additional information regarding qualifications for the
Renaissance Zone deduction, call the Michigan Economic
Development Corporation at (517) 373-9808.

Line 16: You may subtract Michigan state and city income
tax refunds and homestead property tax credit refunds that
were included in AGI.

Note to farmers: You may subtract (to the extent included
in AGI) the amount that your state or city income tax refund
and homestead property tax credit exceeds the business
portion of your homestead property tax credit.

Line 17: Michigan Education Savings Program (MESP).
You may deduct, to the extent not deducted in calculating
AGI, the total of all contributions less qualified withdrawals
and rollovers (compute the contributions, withdrawals and
rollovers separately for each account) made during 2013 by the
taxpayer in the tax year to accounts established through the
MESP, including the Michigan 529 Advisor Plan (MAP). The
deduction may not exceed $5,000 for a single return or $10,000
for a joint return per tax year. There are numerous education
savings accounts available from other states and investment
companies, but Michigan only allows a tax deduction for
contributions to accounts established through MESP and MAP.

Line 18: Michigan Education Trust (MET). You may
deduct the following:

* If you purchased a MET contract during 2013, you may
deduct the total contract price (including the processing fee).

e If you made a charitable contribution to the MET
Charitable Tuition Program during 2013, you may deduct
the total contribution amount. You should have received a
receipt from MET to confirm the amount. All charitable
donations will go toward providing scholarships to former
foster care students attending Michigan colleges.

* If you purchased a MET payroll deduction or monthly
purchase contract, you may deduct the amount paid on
that contract during 2013 (not including fees for late
payments or insufficient funds). You will receive an
annual statement from MET specifying this amount.

* If you have terminated a MET contract, you may deduct
the amount included in AGI as income to the purchaser.

Line 19: Subtract the gross income from producing oil and gas
(subject to Michigan severance tax) to the extent included in
AGI. You must also add back the related expenses on line 6.

Line 20: A “Resident Tribal Member” of a federally
recognized Indian tribe that has an active tax agreement
with the State of Michigan may subtract certain income
that is included in his or her “Adjusted Gross Income”
identified on line 10 of the MI-1040. Such exempt income
may include income derived from wages, interest,
and pension income. For a more detailed list, go to
www.michigan.gov/taxes and select “Income Tax” and then
“Native American.” A list of tribes’ names will be available;
click to access the tax agreement and proceed to Section IV.
If your tribe is not listed, your tribe does not have an active
tax agreement with Michigan. Non-agreement members, see
Revenue Administrative Bulletin 1988-47 for guidelines in
determining exempt income that may be subtracted on Line 20.

Line 21: Net Operating Loss (NOL) Deduction. You may
only deduct the Michigan NOL. Your Michigan NOL must

be reduced by the Michigan apportionment of the domestic
production activities deduction that was used to arrive at your
2013 AGI. You must attach Form MI-1045, pages 1 and 2 of
your federal return and all supporting schedules.

Line 22: Miscellaneous subtractions only include:

* The gross income from extraction of nonferrous metallic
minerals (subject to Michigan severance tax) to the extent
included in AGI. You must also add back the related
expenses on line 8. You must attach copies of your federal
schedules to substantiate your subtraction.

* Any portion of a qualified withdrawal from an MESP
account, including the MAP, to the extent included in
federal AGI. NOTE: Any amounts not included in AGI or
that are already deducted on the U.S. Form /040 to arrive
at the AGI do not qualify for this subtraction. Attach a
copy of your federal return.

* Benefits from a discriminatory self-insured medical
expense reimbursement plan, to the extent these
reimbursements are included in AGI.

* Losses from the disposal of property reported in the
Michigan column of MI-1040D, line 13, or MI-4797,
line 18b(2).

* Amount used to determine the credit for elderly or totally
and permanently disabled from U.S. Form 1040
Schedule R. Attach a copy.

* Holocaust victim payments.

You may not subtract:

e Pension and retirement benefits cannot be subtracted on
line 22. See Form 4884

» Itemized deductions from U.S. Schedule A

» Sick pay, disability benefits, and wage continuation
benefits paid to you by your employer or by an insurance
company under contract with your employer

* Unemployment benefits included in AGI, except railroad
unemployment benefits

» Contributions to national or Michigan political parties or
candidates

* Proceeds and prizes won in State of Michigan regulated
bingo, raffle, or charity games

* Distributions from a deferred compensation plan received
while a resident of Michigan

* Lottery winnings. (Exception: installment payments from
prizes won on or before December 30, 1988, may be
subtracted.) Include installment gross winnings as
reported on your Form W-2G, box 1, and enter on your
Schedule W, Table 1.

Lines 23C and 23F: Benefits From Employment Not
Covered by the Federal Social Security Act (SSA).

SSA exempt employment is not covered by the federal SSA,
which means the worker did not pay Social Security taxes
and is not eligible for Social Security benefits based on
that employment. Almost all employment is covered by the
federal SSA. The most common instances of pension and
retirement benefits from employment that is not covered
by Social Security are police and firefighter retirees, some
federal retirees covered under the Civil Service Retirement
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System and hired prior to 1984, and a small number of other
state and local government retirees. Federal retirees hired
since 1984 and those covered by the Federal Employees’
Retirement System are covered under the SSA.

Recipients born between January 1, 1946 and
December 31, 1952 who receive pension or retirement
benefits from employment with a governmental agency
that was not covered by the federal SSA are entitled to a
greater retirement/pension deduction or Michigan Standard
Deduction. If you or your spouse are SSA exempt this
increases your maximum allowable deduction by $15,000.

Answer the questions below to determine if you should check
boxes 23C and/or 23F.

Line 23C:
1. Was the older of the filer or spouse born between
January 1, 1946 and December 31, 19527

Yes: Continue to question 3.
No: Continue to question 2.

2. Did the filer receive retirement/pension benefits from a
deceased spouse born between January 1, 1946 and
December 31, 1952?

Yes: Continue to question 3.
No: Stop. You are not eligible to check box 23C.

3. Did the filer receive SSA Exempt retirement/pension
benefits?

Yes: Check box 23C.

No: Continue to question 4.
4. Did the filer receive SSA Exempt surviving spouse
benefits?

Yes: Check box 23C.

No: Stop. You are not eligible to check box 23C.
Line 23F:
1. Was the older of the filer or spouse born between
January 1, 1946 and December 31, 19527

Yes: Continue to question 3.

No: Continue to question 2.

2. Did the spouse receive retirement/pension benefits from a
deceased spouse born between January 1, 1946 and
December 31, 1952?

Yes: Continue to question 3.
No: Stop. You are not eligible to check box 23F.

3. Did the spouse receive SSA Exempt retirement/pension
benefits?

Yes: Check box 23F.
No: Continue to question 4.

4. Did the spouse receive SSA Exempt surviving spouse
benefits?

Yes: Check box 23F.
No: Stop. You are not eligible to check box 23F.

Line 24: Michigan Standard Deduction. Filers born in
1946, or where the older spouse was born in 1946 if filing a
joint return, are eligible for a deduction against all income
and will no longer deduct pension and retirement benefits.
The deduction is $20,000 for a return filed as single or
married, filing separately, or $40,000 for a married, filing
jointly return. The standard deduction is reduced by any
amounts reported on line 11 and any military pay included on
line 14.

If you checked either box 23C or 23F your standard
deduction is increased by $15,000. If you checked both
boxes 23C and 23F your standard deduction is increased by
$30,000.

In most cases, filers who complete line 24 should
not complete lines 25 or 26. However, if a filer is the
unremarried surviving spouse of a decedent born prior
to 1946 who also died after reaching age 65, the filer
should check the box below line 26 and may then claim the
Michigan standard deduction on line 24 and a deduction for
investment income on line 26 (if applicable).

Line 25: Qualifying retirement and pension benefits
included in your AGI may be subtracted from income.
Pension and retirement benefits are taxed differently
depending on the age of the recipient. See “Which Benefits
are Taxable” on page 15. You must attach Form 4884. If you
were born in 1946, see line 24.

Line 26: Senior citizens born prior to 1946 may subtract
interest, dividends, and capital gains included in AGI. This
subtraction is limited to a maximum of $10,767 on a single
return or $21,534 on a joint return. However, the maximum
must be reduced by the retirement pension subtraction
claimed on line 25. For assistance, see “Tax Information
for Seniors and Retirees” at michigan.gov/incometax.

General Information - Pension Schedule (Form 4884)

What are Pension and Retirement Benefits (Form
4884)

Under Michigan law, qualifying pension and retirement
benefits include most payments that are reported
on a 1099-R for federal tax purposes. This includes
defined benefit pensions, IRA distributions, and most
payments from defined contribution plans. Payments
received before the recipient could retire under the
provisions of the plan or benefits from 401(k), 457, or
403(b) plans attributable to employee contributions
alone are not pension and retirement benefits under
Michigan law, are taxable and are subject to withholding.
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Qualifying benefits include distributions from the
following sources:

» Pension plans that define eligibility for retirement and set
contribution and benefit amounts in advance

* Qualified retirement plans for the self-employed

* Retirement distributions from a 401(k) or 403(b) plan
attributable to employer contributions or attributable to
employee contributions that result in additional employer
contributions (e.g., matching contributions)

* IRA distributions received after age 59% or described by
Section 72(t)(2)(A)(iv) of the IRC (series of equal periodic
payments made for life)



* Benefits from any of the previous plans received due to a
disability, or as a surviving spouse if the decedent
qualified for the subtraction at the time of death and was
born prior to January 1, 1953

« Benefits paid to a senior citizen (age 65 or older) from a
retirement annuity policy that are paid for life (as opposed
to a specified number of years).

Qualifying public benefits include distributions from

the following sources:

* The State of Michigan

* Michigan local governmental units
counties, cities, and school districts)

(e.g., Michigan

e Federal civil service.

For public and private pension or retirement benefits,
you may not subtract:

* Amounts received from a deferred compensation plan that
lets the employee set the amount to be put aside and does
not set retirement age or requirements for years of service.
These plans include, but are not limited to, plans under
Sections 401(k), 457, and 403(b) of the IRC

* Amounts received before the recipient could retire under
the plan provisions, including amounts paid on separation,
withdrawal, or discontinuance of the plan

* Amounts received as early retirement incentives, unless
the incentives were paid from a pension trust.

Which Benefits are Taxable

Pension and retirement benefits are taxed differently
depending on the age of the recipient. Married couples
filing a joint return should complete the Michigan Pension
Schedule (Form 4884) based on the year of birth of the older
spouse. Military and Michigan National Guard pensions,
Social Security benefits and railroad retirement benefits are
exempt from tax and should be reported on the Schedule 1,
line 11 or line 14.

Who May Claim a Pension Subtraction

* Recipients born before 1946 may subtract all qualifying
pension and retirement benefits received from public
sources, and may subtract qualifying private pension and
retirement benefits up to $48,302 if single or married
filing separate, or $96,605 if married filing a joint return.

If your public retirement benefits are greater than the
maximum amount you are not entitled to claim an
additional subtraction for private pensions.

NOTE: In addition to the public retirement benefits listed on
the previous page, the private pension limits are also reduced
by the following:
+ Military retirement from the U.S. Armed Forces
(Schedule 1, line 11)

* Retirement from the Michigan National
(Schedule 1, line 11)

+ Railroad retirement (Schedule 1, line 11).

Guard

* Recipients born in 1946, do not complete Form 4884.
See Schedule 1, line 24.

* Recipients born during the period 1947 through 1952
will be able to deduct up to $20,000 in qualifying pension
and retirement benefits if single or married filing separate
or up to $40,000 if married filing a joint return. Generally,
all pension or retirement benefits (public and private) are
treated the same unless the recipient also has significant
benefits from service in the U.S. Armed Forces or
Michigan National Guard, or receives taxable railroad
retirement benefits. Recipients who deduct military
retirement benefits due to service in the U.S. Armed
Forces or Michigan National Guard, or taxable railroad
retirement benefits on Schedule 1, line 11 may have lower
deduction limits if these deductions total more than
$28,302 on a single return or $56,605 on a joint return.
See the instructions for line 8, 16 or 27 of Form 4884,
whichever applies, for more information.

* Recipients born after 1952, all pension and retirement
benefits are taxable and you are not entitled to a pension
subtraction.

For help calculating the pension and retirement subtraction,
see “Which Part of Form 4884 Should I Complete?,” page 16.

Retirement Benefits from a Deceased Spouse

Calculate the amount of deductible retirement benefits
received as a survivor of a deceased spouse based on the
birth year of the deceased spouse and the filing status
of the surviving spouse. Retirement benefits received
as a survivor generally have a distribution code of 4

on the federal Form 1099-R. The 1099-R reports
Filing Status Birth Year Retirement Benefits Retirement Benefits
Tier Deduction Limits
Single/Separate Before 1946 Tier 1 All public plus private benefits up
to $48,302 combined
Single/Separate *%1946 through 1952 Tier 2 $20,000
Sing]e/Separate After 1952 Tier 3 No deduction
*Joint Before 1946 Tier 1 All public plus private benefits up
to $96,605 combined
*Joint **1946 through 1952 Tier 2 $40,000
*Joint After 1952 Tier 3 No deduction

* On a joint return, determine the eligibility for deducting retirement benefits using the age of the older spouse.

** Taxpayers born in 1946: Do not deduct retirement benefits but you are eligible for the Michigan Standard

Deduction. See Schedule 1, line 24 instructions.
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retirement benefits to the Internal Revenue Service and it
is sent by the pension administrator paying the benefits.
Example 1: A single filer who receives retirement
benefits as the surviving spouse of a decedent born in
1947 (tier 2) would be able to subtract up to $20,000 in
qualified retirement benefits received from the deceased
spouse.

Example 2: A married filer who receives retirement
benefits as the surviving spouse of a decedent born
in 1942 (Tier 1) would be able to subtract all public
retirement benefits received from the deceased spouse and
private retirement benefits received up to $96,605, reduced
by any public benefits received from the deceased spouse.

Generally, any retirement benefits deducted as a survivor
reduce the amount of other retirement benefits that may be
deducted.

Example 3: If the filer in Example 1 was born in 1948
(Tier 2), any retirement benefits received from the deceased
spouse that are deductible will reduce the filer’s maximum de-
duction for retirement benefits of $20,000.

NOTE: Filers born after 1952 (Tier 3) receiving survivor
benefits from a deceased spouse born in Tier 1 complete Part B
of Form 4884. Filers born after 1952 (Tier 3) receiving survivor
benefits from a deceased spouse born in Tier 2 complete
Part C of Form 4884.

Line-by-Line Instructions for Pension Schedule (Form 4884)

For help calculating the pension and retirement
subtraction, see “Pension and Retirement Benefits — 2013
at www.michigan.gov/incometax.

NOTE: For purposes of this form, single limits apply to
taxpayers who are married filing separately.

Lines not listed are explained on the form.

Lines 1, 2, and 3: Enter your name(s) and Social Security
number(s). If you are married, filing separate returns, enter both
Social Security numbers, but do not enter your spouse’s name.

Lines 4 and 5: Enter your year(s) of birth. If you are married
and filing separately, do not enter your spouse’s year of birth.

Line 6: Enter deceased spouse name, Social Security
number and year of birth. If deceased spouse was born after
December 31, 1952, STOP; you may not deduct retirement
benefits from the deceased spouse. If you are filing your
final joint tax return because your spouse died during the tax
year, do not complete line 6 or check box 7B.

Note: When completing Form 4884, surviving spouse
means the deceased spouse died prior to the current tax year
(e.g. when filing a 2013 return the spouse died in 2007).
Deceased spouse benefits do not include benefits from a
spouse who died in 2013.

Line 7: If you have more than ten qualifying entries,
continue those entries on the 2013 Michigan Pension
Continuation Schedule (Form 4973). DO NOT include
benefits from anyone born after 1952, with the exception of
benefits to a spouse on a joint return.

Line 7B: For each qualifying pension and retirement benefit
attributable to a deceased spouse put an “X” in column 7B.
See instructions for line 6 above for more information on
deceased spouse benefits.

Line 7C: If an individual has multiple retirement and
pension benefits from the same Payer FEIN and distribution
code, combine those amounts on the same line.

Line 7D: List the distribution code from box 7 of the federal
Form 1099-R.

Line 7F: Include the taxable amount of retirement or pension
reported in federal AGI. If you are a part-year resident only use
the portion from the Michigan Schedule NR, line 10 column B.
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Line 8: If you or your spouse reported any retirement and
pension benefits from service in the U.S. Armed Forces, the
Michigan National Guard or any taxable railroad retirement
benefits reported on Schedule 1, line 11, these amounts
should be subtracted from the allowable private pension
deduction limits. For purposes of this line, single limits apply
to taxpayers who are married filing separately.

Which Part of Form 4884 Should |
Complete?

Using the information from line 7, complete

Part A, Part B or Part C. To determine which
part of the form to complete, answer the following
questions.

1. Were pension or retirement benefits received by a
filer or spouse (if married, filing jointly) born prior
to January 1, 1953, or were surviving spouse benefits
received for a deceased spouse who was born prior to
January 1, 1953 and died prior to January 1, 2013?

Yes: Continue to question 2.

No: You are not eligible for a pension or
retirement benefits subtraction. Do not file
Form 4884.

2. Was the older of filer or spouse (if married,
filing jointly) born between January 1, 1946 and
December 31, 1946?

Yes: Do not file Form 4884. Use Schedule 1,
Line 24 (see instructions, page 14).
No: Continue to question 3.

3. Was older of filer or spouse (if married, filing
jointly) born prior to January 1, 1946?

Yes: Complete Part A of Form 4884.
No: Continue to question 4.

4. Is filer or spouse (if married, filing jointly)
receiving benefits from a deceased spouse who
was born prior to January 1, 1946 and died prior to
January 1, 2013?

Yes: Complete Part B of Form 4884.
No: Complete Part C of Form 4884.




Amounts deducted on Schedule 1, line 11, are not deducted
again on Form 4884, and are only used to reduce the
allowable deduction for private retirement and pension
benefits. For example, if a joint filer born in 1945 received
$30,000 in retirement benefits from service in the U.S.
Armed Forces the allowable private deduction limit reported
on line 8 would be $96,605 - $30,000 = $66,605.

Line 12: If you checked either SSA Exempt box 23C or 23F
from Schedule 1, your maximum is increased by $15,000.
If you checked both boxes 23C and 23F your maximum is
increased by $30,000.

Line 15: Carry this amount to Schedule 1, line 25, do not
complete Part B or Part C.

Line 16: If you or your spouse received and reported any
retirement and pension benefits from service in the U.S.
Armed Forces or Michigan National Guard on Schedule 1,
line 11 or any taxable railroad retirement benefits reported
on Schedule 1, line 11, these amounts should be subtracted
from the allowable private pension deduction limit here. If
you have deductions on Schedule 1, line 11, also subtract any
public pension benefits reported on Form 4884, line 7 and
received by you and your spouse from the allowable private
pension limit; do not subtract benefits received from a
deceased spouse.

Amounts deducted on Schedule 1, line 11, are not deducted
again on Form 4884 and are only used to reduce the
allowable deduction for private retirement and pension
benefits.

Line 22: Do not include benefits received from a deceased
spouse (who died prior to 2013).

Line 23: If you checked either SSA Exempt box 23C or 23F
from Schedule 1, your maximum is increased by $15,000.
If you checked both boxes 23C and 23F your maximum is
increased by $30,000.

Line 26: Carry this amount to Schedule 1, line 25. Do not
complete Part A or Part C.

Line 27: If you checked either SSA Exempt box 23C or 23F
from Schedule 1, your maximum is increased by $15,000.
If you checked both boxes 23C and 23F your maximum is
increased by $30,000.

Taxpayers who were born after 1946 who are receiving
benefits from a deceased spouse who was born during
1946 should also use Part C to calculate the deduction for
retirement and pension benefits. Benefits received due to
individuals born after 1952 are not deductible.

If you deducted military retirement benefits on
Schedule 1, line 11, or taxable railroad retirement benefits on
Schedule 1, line 11, your deduction for retirement or pension
benefits received from a private source may be reduced.

To  determine  your allowable subtraction, use
Worksheet 2 below if you have taxable railroad retirement
benefits or qualifying pension and retirement benefits from
service in the U.S. Armed Forces or Michigan National
Guard and you are completing Part C of Form 4884.

Carry this amount to Schedule 1, line 25, do not complete
Part A or Part B.

Worksheet 2 for Filers with Taxable Railroad Retirement Benefits or Qualifying Pension and Retirement Benefits
from Service in the U.S. Armed Forces or Michigan National Guard and Completing Part C of Form 4884
1. Enter military retirement benefits due to service in the U.S. Armed Forces or Michigan National
Guard and taxable railroad retirement benefits reported on Schedule 1, line 11. .........ccccevn.ee.... 1. 00
2. Enter public retirement and pension benefits reported on Form 4884, line 7.........cccoeeeeeeeeneennn. 2. 00
T2V (o N [T =TT =T g Lo 2 3. 00
4. Enter private retirement and pension benefits reported on Form 4884, line 7. ............c.cc.ooee. 4. 00
5. Enter $48,302 if single or $96,605 if filing JOINtIY. .....c.ceciiiiiieriecir e 5. 00
6. Subtract line 3 from line 5. If less than zero, enter $O. .....oooo oo 6. 00
7. Enterthe smaller of [IN€ 4 0 lINE B. .......ooiiiiiiiie e 7. 00
LTV (o W [T T3 =T (o I 1 V= T 8. 00
9. Enter $20,000 if single or $40,000 if filing jointly. Higher limits apply if you checked Schedule 1,
bOX 23C OF 23F (SE€ N 11 DEIOW). ......cevveeeeeceeeeeee oot eee e s ene e n s e 00
10. Enter the smaller of line 8 or line 9 here and on Form 4884, liN€ 27 .........cooovuueiiiiiiiiieiiieeeeeeeees 10. 00
Calculation for filers with benefits from employment exempt from the Social Security Act
11. Enter $20,000 if single or $40,000 if filing JOINEY. .....cc.eeiiriiieciieeeee e 11. 00
12. If you checked box 23C or 23F on Schedule 1, enter $15,000 for each box checked. ................. 12. 00
13. Add line 11 and line 12. This is your maximum deduction for line 9 of this Worksheet. ............... 13. 00
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Scenario 1: Single filer born between 1947 and 1952 (Tier 2) with retirement/pension benefits.
Henry is filing as single. He was born in 1950 and is receiving a private pension of $25,000 with a distribution code of 7.

Step 1: After completing lines 1 and 2, Henry enters 1950 on line 4.

Step 2: He completes row 1 of line 7 by entering an X in Private for 7A, the
payer FEIN in 7C, the distribution code 7 in 7D, the name of the payer
in 7E, and $25,000 10 7F. ....ooouioeeee oottt Line 7F, Row 1....coovvvveeiennnn. $25,000

Step 3: Henry refers to the questionnaire on page 16 to decide whether
Part A, B or C of Form 4884 is to be completed.

*  Henry answers yes to question 1 as he was born prior to
January 1, 1953.

*  He answers no to question 2 because he was not born in 1946.

*  He answers no to question 3 because he was not born prior to
January 1, 1946.

*  He answers no to question 4 because he is not receiving benefits
from a deceased spouse. Based on his answers he completes
Part C of Form 4884.

Step 4: Since he is single and his total pension benefits are over the maximum  Line 27. .....cccoeevevvveienenvieneennnne $20,000
allowed, Henry enters the maximum of $20,000 on line 27 and on the
Schedule 1, TINE 25. ..cvvieiiieeeeeeeeeeeeee ettt Schedule 1, Line 25................... $20,000

Scenario 2: Joint filer with the older spouse born prior to January 1, 1946 (Tier 1) with private
and public retirement/pension benefits.

Jerry and Beverly are filing a joint return. Jerry was born in 1943 and is receiving a public pension of $40,000 with a distribution
code of 7. Beverly was born in 1946 and is receiving a private pension of $60,000 with a distribution code of 7.

Step 1:  After completing lines 1 through 3, Jerry and Beverly enter 1943
on line 4 and 1946 on line 5.

Step 2: They complete row 1 of line 7 by entering an X in Public for 7A,
the payer FEIN in 7C, the distribution code 7 in 7D, the name of
the payer in 7E and $40,000 in 7F. Line 7F, Row 1...ccooevrreinnnen. $40,000

They complete row 2 of line 7 by entering an X in Private for 7A,
the payer FEIN in 7C, the distribution code 7 in 7D, the name of
the payer in 7E and $60,000 in 7F .......c.cccccccennneicnneccnnneccnnn Line 7F, RoW 2...ccccovveuinvcurnene. $60,000

Step 3: Jerry and Beverly refer to the questionnaire on page 16 to
determine whether Part A, B or C of Form 4884 is to be
completed. They answer yes to question 1, no to question 2, yes to
question 3 and complete Part A of Form 4884.

Step 4:  They enter $96,605 on line 8 as they are married filing jointly. ....... Line 8. ..oooieeieeeeeees $96,605
Step 5: They enter $40,000 on line 9, the total of their public pension
DEINETILS. ..o Line 9. oo $40,000
Step 6:  They subtract line 9 from line 8 and enter $56,605 on line 10.......... Line 10. oo $56,605
Step 7:  They enter $60,000 on line 11, the total of their private pension  Line 11 .....ccooeviiiieiinincininnnnne $60,000
DENETILS. ..ot
Step 8:  They leave line 12 blank as it does not apply to them....................... Line 12 oo, Leave
blank
Step 9:  They enter $60,000 on line 13, the total of lines 11 and 12.............. Line 13. oo $60,000
Step 10:  They enter $56,605, the smaller of lines 10 or 13..........ccocvevvenennnene. Line 14. oo $56,605
Step 11:  They add lines 9 and 14, enter $96,605 on line 15 and carry this  Line 15. .....c.ccooeviiiieieiennennne. $96,605

amount to Schedule 1, line 25. Schedule 1, Line 25................... $96,605



Scenario 3: Married, filing separately with filer born between 1947 and 1952 (Tier 2) and
separated spouse born prior to January 1, 1946 (Tier 1).

James and Phyllis are married filing separately. James was born in 1951 and is receiving a public pension of $50,000.
Phyllis was born in 1941 and is receiving a public pension of $45,000.

Step 1:  As James is married filing separately, he completes lines 1
and 2, leaves the spouse’s name line blank, and includes the
spouse’s Social Security number on line 3.

Step 2:  James enters 1951 on line 4 and skips line 5.

Step 3: He completes row 1 of line 7 by entering an X in Public for
7A, the payer FEIN in 7C, the distribution code in 7D, the
name of the payer in 7E, and $50,000 in 7F. .........cccocvervennnnne. Line 7F, Row 1...ccovvvvviinnnn. $50,000

Step 4:  James refers to the questionnaire on page 16 to determine
whether Part A, B or C of Form 4884 is to be completed. He
answers yes to question 1, no to question 2, no to question 3
because the separated spouse’s year of birth is not relevant, no
to question 4 and completes Part C of Form 4884.

Step 5:  Since he is married, filing separately and his total pension  Line 27. ......cccoceiviniiviencnnnns $20,000
benefits are over the maximum allowed, James enters the
maximum of $20,000 on line 27 and on the Schedule 1,
TINE 25, e et Schedule 1, Line 25................... $20,000

Scenario 4: Joint filers, with the older spouse born prior to January 1, 1946 (Tier 1) who died
during the tax year with private pension benefits.

Bob and Mary are filing a joint return. Bob, born in 1944, has a private pension of $30,000. Bob died on October 15, 2013. Bob
received a 1099-R for $25,000 with a distribution code of 7 and Mary received a 1099-R for $5,000 with a distribution code of
4 for the remainder of Bob’s pension. Mary, born in 1952, is receiving a public pension of $70,000 with a distribution code of 7.

Step 1: After completing lines 1 through 3, Mary enters 1944 on line 4
and 1952 on line 5. Mary does not complete line 6 or check 7B
because Bob died during the current tax year.

Step 2: Mary completes row 1 of line 7 by entering an X in Private for
7A, the payer FEIN in 7C, the distribution code 7 in 7D, the
name of payer in 7E, and $25,000 in 7F. .......cccoeiieiiieiinieierene, Line 7F, Row 1. ..ccoovvviviiinnnnnn. $25,000

She completes row 2 of line 7 by entering an X in Private for 7A,
the payer FEIN in 7C, the distribution code 4 in 7D, the name of
payer in 7E, and $5,000 in 7F .......c.ccocooiieiieieeeeeeeee e Line 7F, ROW 2. c.ooovvviiieenne $5,000

She completes row 3 of line 7 by entering an X in Public for 7A,

the payer FEIN in 7C, the distribution code 7 in 7D, the name of

payer in 7E, and $70,000 in 7F ......coccooiieiieeeeeeeeeeee Line 7F, Row 3. ..ccovvviiiiiinnnnn. $70,000
Step 3: Mary refers to the questionnaire on page 16 to determine

whether Part A, B or C of Form 4884 is to be completed. She

answers yes to question 1, no to question 2, yes to question 3 and

completes Part A of Form 4884.

Step 4:  She enters $96,605 on line 8 as she is filing jointly ..........c..coc....... Line 8..coveevveieeeeeeeeeceee $96,605
Step 5:  She enters $70,000, her public pension, on line 9..............cccuen.... Line 9....ooovvviieieieeeeeeeeee $70,000
Step 6: She subtracts line 9 from line 8 and enters $26,605 on line 10..... Line 10.....ccciviiiieiieeeeeeee. $26,605
Step 7:  She enters $30,000, the total private pension benefits, on line 11.  Line 11 ..ccococvveirieineineeene. $30,000
Step 8: Mary leaves line 12 blank as Bob is not considered a deceased
spouse for purposes of this return; they are filing jointly. ............ Line 12...ccieiiieeeieecieee leave blank
Step 9: Mary enters $30,000 on line 13, the total of lines 11 and 12......... Line 13. ..o $30,000
Step 10:  She enters $26,605, the smaller of lines 10 or 13...........ccccvvvennee. Line 14. ..o, $26,605
Step 11: She adds lines 9 and 14, enters $96,605 on line 15 and carries Line 15......ccccoeeevivieieerierenneene, $96,605
this amount to Schedule 1, 1ine 25. ....ccooovvieiiiiiiee e, Schedule 1, Line 25. ................. $96,605
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Scenario 5: Single filer born between 1947 and 1952 (Tier 2) receiving surviving benefits from a
deceased spouse born in 1939 (Tier 1).

Alice, born in 1947, is a surviving spouse filing a single return. Her deceased husband Miguel was born in 1939 and died in
2010. Alice has public pension benefits of $37,500 and is also receiving surviving spouse benefits from Miguel’s public pension
of $69,000.
Step 1: After completing lines 1 and 2, Alice enters 1947 on line 4. Alice
is receiving pension benefits from a deceased spouse so she then
completes line 6. She enters Miguel’s full name on line 6a, his
Social Security number on line 6b, and 1939 on line 6c.

Step 2: She completes row 1 of line 7 by entering an X in Public for 7A,
the payer FEIN in 7C, the distribution code in 7D, the name of Line 7E. ROW 1. oo $37.500
payer in 7E, and $37,500 in 7F. ’ ’

She completes row 2 of line 7 by entering an X in Public for 7A,
entering an X in 7B, the payer FEIN in 7C, the distribution code
of 4 in 7D, the name of payer in 7E, and $69,000 in 7F. .................. Line 7F, ROW 2 ...ccvvvvernrennee. $69,000

Step 3: Alice refers to the questionnaire on page 16 to determine whether
Part A, B or C of Form 4884 is to be completed. She answers yes
to question 1, no to question 2, no to question 3, yes to question 4
and completes Part B of Form 4884.

Step 4. She enters $48,302 on line 16 because she is filing single. .............. Line 16...cccovevirierereeiierenne $48,302

Step 5:  She enters $69,000, public benefits received from her deceased

spouse, Miguel, on [ine 17........cccoceiiriiiiineneneeee e Line 17 oo $69,000
Step 6: Since line 17 is more than line 16, she enters zero on line 18 .......... Line 18. ..o, $0
Step 7: She leaves line 19 blank because she is not receiving private
benefits from her deceased SPOUSE. .....cceevvvevieiieriieiericieieee e Line 19....ccovivieiieieeeee, leave blank
Step 8: She enters the smaller of lines 18 or 19, she enters zero on line 20 . Line 20......ccccccveveveneninennnn $0
Step 9:  Alice adds lines 17 and 20 and enters $69,000 on line 21. ............... Line 21, .ooovviiieieiceeeeeeee $69,000
Step 10:  She enters $37,500 on line 22, the total of her benefits.................... Line 22...ccovivieieiieeeeeeeee $37,500
Step 11:  Alice enters $20,000 on line 23 as she is filing single ..................... Line 23. ..o $20,000
Step 12:  Since line 21 is more than line 23 she enters zero on line 24........... Line 24....ccocvininininieiene $0
Step 13:  She enters the smaller of lines 22 or 24, zero, on line 25. ................ Line 25 oo, $0
Step 14:  Alice adds lines 21 and 25 and enters $69,000 on line 26 and Line 26..........ccceevvevivrerrennenene. $69,000
Schedule 1, INE 25 ...oooeiiiiiecieceeeceeeeeeeee et Schedule 1, Line 25 ................ $69,000



Scenario 6: Joint filers born after 1952 (Tier 3) with retirement/pension benefits and receiving
surviving benefits from a deceased spouse born in 1944 (Tier 1).

Howard and Georgia are filing a joint return. Howard, born in 1953, is receiving a private pension of $40,000. Georgia was
born in 1955. Howard’s deceased spouse, Edith, was born in 1944 and died in 2006. Howard is receiving $30,000 in surviving
spouse pension benefits from Edith’s private pension.

Step 1:

Step 2:

Step 3:

Step 4:
Step 5:

Step 6:

Step 7:

Step 8:
Step 9:

Step 10:

Step 11:
Step 12:

Step 13:
Step 14:

After completing lines 1 through 3, Howard and Georgia
enter 1953 on line 4 and 1955 on line 5. Howard is receiving
pension benefits from a deceased spouse so he then
completes line 6. He enters Edith’s full name on line 6a, her
Social Security number on line 6b, and 1944 on line 6c.

As Howard and Georgia were both born in Tier 3 their
pension benefits are not deductible and should not be listed
on line 7 of Form 4884.

They complete row 1 of line 7 by entering an X in Private
for 7A, an X in 7B, the payer FEIN in 7C, the distribution
code in 7D, the name of payer in 7E, and $30,000 in 7F.........

They refer to the questionnaire on page 16 to determine
whether Part A, B or C of Form 4884 is to be completed.
They answer yes to question 1, no to question 2, no to
question 3, yes to question 4 and complete Part B of Form
4884.

They enter $96,605 on line 16 as they are filing joint. ............

They leave line 17 blank because they are not receiving
public benefits from Edith. ...........cccoovveieieiinieiiee

They subtract line 17 from line 16 and enter $96,605 on
LN 18, oo

They enter $30,000, public benefits received from Howard’s
deceased spouse, Edith, on line 19........ccccoceviveiinincieneeeen.

They enter the smaller of lines 18 or 19, $30,000, on line 20.

Howard and Georgia add lines 17 and 20 and enter $30,000
0N 1INE 21, oo

Since Howard and Georgia are born in Tier 3 and do not
have deductible benefits they would leave line 22 blank. .......

They enter $40,000 on line 23 as they are filing joint.............

Since line 21 is less than line 23 they enter $10,000 on
LINE 24 ot

They enter the smaller of lines 22 or 24, zero, on line 25. .....

They add lines 21 and 25 and enter $30,000 on line 26 and
Schedule 1, 1INE 25. ..oooioiiiieeee e

Line 7F...cooooiiiiiininiiinenee $30,000
Line 16....ccccoovevvieiiieene. $96,605
Line 17 oo leave blank
Line 18...cccoiviiiieciiiieeeeeae $96,605
Line 19....cccovviviiiiiiieeiee, $30,000
Line 20......c.coovevieeiiiiieeeeene. $30,000
Line 21. ..o $30,000
Line 22....ccovvivoeeeeeeeeeeeen leave blank
Line 23 ..o, $40,000
Line 24....ccoovvvivieeiiiiieeenn, $10,000
Line 25. ..o, $0

Line 26......ccoovevieeiiiiieeieennn. $30,000
Schedule 1, Line 25................ $30,000
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Scenario 7: Joint filers born after 1952 (Tier 3) with retirement/pension benefits and receiving
surviving benefits from a deceased spouse born in 1949 (Tier 2).

Mark and Nancy are filing a joint return. Mark, born in 1953, is receiving a private pension of $25,000. Nancy was born in
1953. Nancy’s deceased spouse, Eduardo, was born in 1949 and died in 2008. Nancy is receiving $35,000 in surviving spouse
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pension benefits from Eduardo’s private pension.

Step 1:

Step 2:

Step 3:

Step 4:

After completing lines 1 through 3, Mark and Nancy enter
1953 on line 4 and 1953 on line 5. Nancy is receiving pension
benefits from a deceased spouse so she then completes line 6.
She enters Eduardo’s full name on line 6a, his Social Security
number on line 6b, and 1949 on line 6¢.

As Mark and Nancy were both born in Tier 3 Mark’s pension
is not deductible and should not be listed on line 7 of Form
4884.

They complete row 1 of line 7 by entering an X in Private for
7A, an X in 7B, the payer FEIN in 7C, the distribution code in
7D, the name of payer in 7E, and $35,000 in 7F.

They refer to the questionnaire on page 16 to determine
whether Part A, B or C of Form 4884 is to be completed. They
answer yes to question 1, no to question 2, no to question 3, no
to question 4 and complete Part C of Form 4884.

They are married, filing jointly and enter the total of their
benefits from line 7 of $35,000, since it is less than the
maximum of $40,000, on line 27 and on the Michigan
Schedule 1, 1INE 25. e

Line 7, Row L...ccccvivninninennn $35,000

Line 27. .coovveeiieiieeieeeeceeee,
Schedule 1, Line 25 ...................

$35,000
$35,000

Scenario 8: Single filer born between 1947 and 1952 (Tier 2) with SSA exempt benefits.

Monique is filing as single. She was born in 1950 and is receiving a pension of $25,000 as a retired firefighter.

Step 1:  After completing lines 1 and 2, Monique enters 1950 on line 4.
Step 2:  She completes row 1 of line 7 by entering an X in Public for
7A, the payer FEIN in 7C, the distribution code in 7D, the
name of the payer in 7E, and the $25,000 in 7F. Line 7, Row L..ccccocnininincninnnne $25,000
Step 3: She refers to the questionnaire on page 16 to determine
whether Part A, B or C of Form 4884 is to be completed. She
answers yes to question 1, no to question 2, no to question 3, no
to question 4 and completes Part C of Form 4884.
Step 4: Since she is single and receiving benefits from employment Line 27........ccccocevieiiiviiiinincncnnne $25,000
that was .SSA exempt her maximum allowable pension g.pedule 1, Line 23
deduction is increased from $20,000 to $35,000. She would
enter $25,000, the lesser of her total retirement and pension E = 1950
benefits or the maximum allowable pension deduction, on 23B. .....cccccevviiiciininniinieienen, 63
line 27 and on the Schedule 1, line 25. 23C. e X
NOTE: It is important for taxpayers with benefits that were g pedule 1, Line 25 eovveeeoorer. $25.000

SSA exempt to check the box(es) on line 23 of the Schedule 1.

Scenario 9: Filer and spouse both born in Tier 2 with the older spouse born in 1946.

William and Betty are Michigan residents and are filing a joint return. William, born in 1951, is receiving public pension
benefits of $10,000 and wages from a part-time job. Betty, born in 1946, is receiving private pension benefits of $20,000.

Step 1:

As the older of William and Betty was born in 1946 (age 67 in
2013), they do not complete Form 4884 and instead complete
Schedule 1, lines 23 and 24 for the Michigan Standard
Deduction. This standard deduction applies against all income
(pension, wages, INterest, €1C.). ..oovirvrererriereerereereeeereeeeesneenes

Do not file Form 4884.



Scenario 10: Filer and spouse both born after December 31, 1952.

Scott and Lisa are filing a joint return. Scott, born in 1954, is receiving public pension benefits of $30,000. Lisa, born in 1957,

is receiving an IRA distribution (private pension) of $20,000.
Step 1:

As both Scott and Lisa were born after December 31, 1952,

they are not entitled to a pension subtraction and do not

complete Form 4884..........ccooviiiiiiiiiiieeeeeee

Do not file Form 4884.

General Information - Homestead Property Tax Credit (MI-1040CR)

The request for your Social Security number is authorized
under USC Section 42. Social Security numbers are used by
Treasury to conduct matches against benefit income provided
by the Social Security Administration and other sources to
verify the accuracy of the home heating credit and property
tax credit claims filed and to deter fraudulent filings.

Who May Claim a Property Tax Credit

You may claim a property tax credit if all of the following

apply:

* Your homestead is located in Michigan

* You were a Michigan resident at least six months of 2013

* You pay property taxes or rent on your Michigan
homestead

* You were contracted to pay rent or own the home you live
in.

You can have only one homestead at a time, and you must be
the occupant as well as the owner or renter. Your homestead
can be a rented apartment or a mobile home on a lot in a
mobile home park. A vacation home or income property is
not considered your homestead.

Your homestead is in your state of domicile. Domicile is the
place where you have your permanent home. It is the place
to which you plan to return whenever you go away. College
students and others whose permanent homes are not in
Michigan are not Michigan residents. Domicile continues
until you establish a new permanent home.

Property tax credit claims may not be submitted on behalf of
minor children.

You may not claim a property tax credit if your total
household resources are over $50,000. In addition, you
may not claim a property tax credit if your taxable value
exceeds $135,000 (excluding vacant farmland classified as
agricultural). The computed credit is reduced by 10 percent
for every $1,000 (or part of $1,000) that total household
resources exceed $41,000. If filing a part-year return, you
must annualize total household resources to determine if the
income limitation applies. See “Annualizing Total Household
Resources” on page 26.

Which Form to File

Most filers should use the MI-1040CR in this booklet. If you
are blind and own your homestead, are in the active military,
are an eligible veteran, or an eligible veteran’s surviving spouse,
complete forms MI-1040CR and MI-1040CR-2 (available on
Treasury’s Web site.) Use the form that gives you a larger
credit. If you are blind and rent your homestead, you cannot
use MI-1040CR-2. Claim your credit on MI-1040CR and

check box 5b if you are age 65 or younger; otherwise, check
box Sa.
When to File

If you are not required to file an MI-1040, you may file your
credit claim as soon as you know your 2013 total household
resources and property taxes levied in 2013. If you file a
Michigan income tax return, your credit claim should be
attached to your MI-1040 return and filed by April 15, 2014
to be considered timely. To avoid penalty and interest, if
you owe tax, postmark no later than April 15, 2014. The
filing deadline to receive a 2013 property tax credit is
April 17, 2018.

Amending Your Credit Claim

File a new claim form and write “Amended” across the top of
the form. You must do this within four years of the date set
for filing your original income tax return.

Delaying Payment of Your Property Taxes

Senior citizens, disabled people, veterans, surviving spouses
of veterans, and farmers may be able to delay paying
property taxes. Contact your local or county treasurer for
more information.

Total Household Resources

Total household resources are the total income (taxable and
nontaxable) of both spouses or of a single person maintaining
a household. They are AGI, excluding net business and farm
losses, net rent and royalty losses, and any carryover of a net
operating loss, plus all income exempt or excluded from AGI.
Total household resources includes the following items not
listed on the form:

» Capital gains on sales of your residence regardless of them
being exempt from federal Income Tax

» Scholarship, stipend, grant, or GI bill benefits and
payments made directly to an educational institution

* Compensation for damages to character or for personal
injury or sickness

* An inheritance (except an inheritance from your spouse)

* Proceeds of a life insurance policy paid on the death of the
insured (except benefits from a policy on your spouse)

* Death benefits paid by or on behalf of an employer

* Minister’s housing allowance

» Forgiveness of debt, even if excluded from AGI (e.g.,
mortgage foreclosure)

* Reimbursement from dependent care and/or medical care
spending accounts

* Payments made on your behalf, except government
payments, made directly to third parties such as an
educational institution or subsidized housing project.
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Total household resources do NOT include:

* Net operating loss deductions taken on your federal return

* Payments received by participants in the foster
grandparent or senior companion program

* Energy assistance grants

* Government payments to a third party (e.g., a doctor).

NOTE: If payment is made from money withheld from
your benefit, the payment is part of total household
resources. (For example, the DHS may pay your rent
directly to the landlord.)

* Money received from a government unit to repair or
improve your homestead

* Surplus food or food assistance program benefits

 State and city income tax refunds and homestead property
tax credits

* Chore service payments (these payments are income to the
provider of the service)

* The first $300 from gambling, bingo, lottery, awards, or
prizes

* The first $300 in gifts of cash or merchandise received, or
expenses paid on your behalf (rent, taxes, utilities, food,
medical care, etc.) by parents, relatives, or friends

e Amounts deducted from Social Security or Railroad
Retirement benefits for Medicare premiums

» Life, health, and accident insurance premiums paid by
your employer

* Loan proceeds

* Inheritance from a spouse

» Life insurance benefits from a spouse

* Payments from a long-term care policy made to a nursing
home or other care facility

* Most payments from The Step Forward Michigan program.

For more information on total household resources, visit
www.michigan.gov/taxtotalhouseholdresources.

Special Provisions for Farmers

If you received a farmland preservation tax credit in 2013,
you must include it in total household resources. You may
subtract the business portion of your homestead property tax
credit if you included it in taxable farm income.

Property Taxes That Can Be Claimed for Credit

Ad valorem property taxes that were levied on your

homestead in 2013, including collection fees up to 1 percent

of the taxes, can be claimed no matter when you pay them.

You may add to your 2013 taxes the amount of property taxes

billed in 2013 from a corrected or supplemental tax bill.

You must deduct from your 2013 property taxes any refund

of property taxes received in 2013 that was a result of a

corrected tax bill from a previous year.

Do not include:

* Delinquent property taxes (e.g., 2012 property taxes paid
in 2013)

* Penalty and interest on late payments of property tax

* Delinquent water or sewer bills

» Property taxes on cottages or second homes

* Association dues on your property

* Most special assessments for drains, sewers, and roads do
not meet specific tests and may not be included. You may

include special assessments only if they are levied using a
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uniform millage rate, are based on taxable value, and are
either levied in the entire taxing jurisdiction or they are
used to provide police, fire, or advanced life support
services and are levied township-wide, except for all or a
portion of a village.

NOTE: School operating taxes are generally only levied
on the non-homestead portion of the property and may not
be included in taxes levied when computing the property
tax credit on any portion of the home not used as your
homestead.

Home used for business. If you use part of your home for
business, you may claim the property taxes on the living area
of your homestead, but not the property taxes on the portion
used for business. Attach a copy of U.S. Form 8829 to your
Michigan return.

Owner-occupied duplexes. When both units are equal,
you are limited to 50 percent of the tax on both units, after
subtracting the school operating taxes from the total taxes
billed.

Owner-occupied income property. Apartment building
and duplex owners who live in one of the units or single
family homeowners who rent a room(s) to a tenant(s) must
complete two calculations to figure the tax they can claim
and base their credit on the lower amount. First, subtract 20
percent of the rent collected from the tax claimed for credit.
Second, reduce the tax claimed for credit by the amount
of tax claimed as rental expense on your U.S. Form 7040.
Include a copy of the U.S. Schedule E with your Michigan
return.

Example: Your home has an upstairs apartment that is rented
to a tenant for $395 a month. Total property taxes on your
home are $2,150. Of this amount, $858 is claimed as rental
expense. The calculations are as follows:

Step 1:
$395 x 12 = $4,740 annual rent
$4,740 x .20 = $948 taxes attributable to the apartment

$2,150 total taxes - $948 = $1,202 taxes attributable to owner’s
homestead

Step 2:

$2,150 total taxes - $858 taxes claimed as a business
deduction = $1,292 taxes attributable to homestead

Step 3:
The owner’s taxes that can be claimed for credit are $1,202,
the smaller of the two computations.

Farmers. Include farmland taxes in your property tax credit
claim if any of the following conditions apply:

» If your gross receipts from farming are greater than your
total household resources, you may claim all of your taxes
on unoccupied farmland classified as agricultural. Do not
include taxes on farmland that is not adjacent or
contiguous to your home and that you rent or lease to
another person.

» If gross receipts from farming are less than your total
household resources and you have lived in your home
more than ten years, you may claim the taxes on your
home and the farmland adjacent and contiguous to your
home.



« If gross receipts from farming are less than your total
household resources and you have lived in your home less
than ten years, you may claim the taxes on your home and
five acres of farmland adjacent and contiguous to your
home.

You may not claim rent paid for vacant farmland when
computing your property tax credit claim. Farmland owned
by a Limited Liability Company (LLC) may not be claimed
for a homestead property tax credit by one of the individual
members.

Include any farmland preservation tax credit in your total
household resources. Enter the amount of credit you received
in 2013 on line 20 or include it in net farm income on line 16.

Homestead property tax credits are not included in total
household resources. If you included this amount in your
taxable farm income, subtract it from total household
resources.

If You Moved in 2013

Residents who temporarily lived outside Michigan may
qualify for a credit if Michigan remained their state of
domicile. Personal belongings and furnishings must have
remained in the Michigan homestead and the homestead
must not have been rented or sublet during the temporary
absence. (See the definitions of resident on page 6 and
domicile on page 23.)

If you bought or sold your home or moved during
2013, you must prorate your taxes. Complete MI-1040CR,
Part 3, to determine the taxes that can be claimed for
credit. Use only the taxes levied in 2013 on each Michigan
homestead, then prorate taxes based on days of occupancy.
Do net include taxes on out-of-state property. Do not include
property taxes for property with a taxable value greater
than $135,000. Excluded from this restriction is unoccupied
farmland classified as agricultural by your assessor.

Rent That Can Be Claimed for Credit

Part-Year Residents

You must be under a lease or rental contract to claim rent for

credit. In most cases, 20 percent of rent paid is considered

property tax that can be claimed for credit. The following
are exceptions:

« If you rent or lease housing that is subject to a service
charge or fees paid instead of property taxes, you may
claim a credit based upon 10 percent of the gross rent paid.
Use the amount the landlord gives you and enter rent paid
on line 55 and 10 percent of rent paid on line 56, and follow
instructions.

e If your housing is exempt from property tax and no
service fee is paid, you are not eligible for a credit. This
includes university- or college-owned housing.

+ If your housing costs are subsidized, base your claim on
the amount you pay. Do not include the federal subsidy
amount.

+ If you are a mobile home park resident, claim the $3 per
month specific tax on line 10, and the balance of rent paid
on line 11.

* If you are a cooperative housing corporation resident
member, claim your share of the property taxes on the
building. If you live in a cooperative where residents pay
rent on the land under the building, you may also claim 20
percent of that land rent. NOTE: Do not take 20 percent
of your total monthly payment.

* When you pay room and board in one fee, you must
determine your portion of the tax that can be claimed for
credit based on square footage.

Example: You pay $750 a month for room and board.
You occupy 600 square feet of a 62,000 square foot
apartment building. The landlord pays $54,000 in taxes
per year. If you pay room and board in separate
billings, you must base your property tax credit on rent.

Step 1: 600/62,000 = 0.0097

Step 2: $54,000 x 0.0097 = $524 taxes you can claim for
credit

Home used for business. If you use part of your apartment
or rented home for business, you may claim the rent on the
living area of your homestead, but not the rent on the portion
used for business.

If you lived in Michigan at least six months during the year,
you may be entitled to a partial credit. If you are a part-year
resident, you must include all income received as a Michigan
resident in total household resources (line 33). Complete
MI-1040CR, Part 3, to determine the taxes eligible to be
claimed for credit on your Michigan homestead.

Deceased Claimant’s Credit

The estate of a taxpayer who died in 2013 (or 2014 before
filing a claim) may be entitled to a credit for 2013. The
surviving spouse, other authorized claimant, or personal
representative can claim this credit. Use the decedent’s Social
Security number and the personal representative’s address. If
the taxpayer died after December 31, 2012, enter the date of
death in the “Deceased Taxpayer” box on page 3.

The surviving spouse is considered married for the year in
which the deceased spouse died and may file a joint credit
for that year. Enter both names and Social Security numbers
on the form, and write “DECD” after the decedent’s name.
Sign the return and write “filing as surviving spouse” in
the deceased’s signature line. Enter the date of death in the
“Deceased Taxpayer” box on the bottom of page 3. Include
the decedent’s income in total household resources.

If filing as a personal representative or claimant for the
refund of a single deceased taxpayer, you must attach U.S.
Form 1310 or Michigan Claim for Refund Due a Deceased
Taxpayer (MI-1310). Enter the decedent’s name in the Filer’s
Name line and the representative’s or claimant’s name, title
and address in the Home Address line. See the “Deceased
Taxpayer Chart of Examples” on page 59. A claimant must
prorate to the date of death as noted in the following paragraph.

The personal representative or claimant claiming a credit
for a single deceased person or on a jointly filed credit if
both filers became deceased during the 2013 tax year, must
prorate taxes to the date of death. Complete lines 47 through
51 to prorate the property taxes. Annualize total household
resources. (See the instructions on page 26.) Attach a copy
of the tax bills or lease agreements. If filing as a personal
representative or claimant of deceased taxpayers for a
jointly filed return, you must attach a U.S. Form /310 or
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MI-1310. Enter the names of the deceased persons in the
Filer’s and Spouse’s Name lines and the representative’s or
claimant’s name, title, and address in the Home Address line.
See “Deceased Taxpayer Chart of Examples” on page 59.

Annualizing Total Household Resources

If you are filing a part-year credit (for a deceased taxpayer or
a part-year resident), you must annualize the total household
resources to determine if the credit reduction applies.
(Exception: the surviving spouse filing a joint claim does not
have to annualize the deceased spouse’s income.)

+ If you have checked a box on line 5 and your annualized
total household resources are less than $6,000 use your
annualized total household resources to determine your
percentage of taxes not refundable from MI-1040CR
Table 2, page 29.

* A senior, age 65 or older, filing a part-year credit must
calculate annualized total household resources before
using MI-1040CR Table A, page 29.

+ If the annualized income is more than $41,000 for any
claimant, use annualized total household resources to
determine the percentage allowable in MI-1040CR
Table B, page 30.

To annualize total household resources (project what it
would have been for a full year):

Step 1: Divide 365 by the number of days the taxpayer was a
Michigan resident in 2013.

Step 2: Multiply the answer from step 1 by the taxpayer’s
total household resources (MI-1040CR, line 33). The result is
the annualized total household resources.

Married During 2013

If you married during 2013, combine each spouse’s share of
taxes or rent for the period of time you or your spouse lived
in separate homesteads prior to getting married. Then add
this to the prorated taxes or rent for your marital home after
your marriage. You are only allowed to claim rent and taxes
on homesteads located in Michigan.

Filing a Joint Return and Maintaining Separate
Homesteads

Your claim must be based on the tax or rent for 12 months
on only one home. The total household resources must be the
combined income of both you and your spouse for the entire
year.

Worksheet for Married, Filing Separately and
Divorced or Separated Claimants (Form 5049)

This form can be found at www.michigan.gov/taxes.
Submit Form 5049 with Form MI-1040CR, MI-1040CR-2 or
MI-1040CR-7 if any of the following situations apply to you:

* You filed as married, filing separately, and you and your
spouse maintained separate homesteads all year. Complete
only Part 3 of Form 5049.

* You filed as married, filing separately, and you shared a
homestead with your spouse all year.

* You filed as married, filing separately, and you and your
spouse maintained separate homesteads at the end of the year.

26

Filing Separate State Returns and Maintaining
Separate Homesteads

Spouses who file separate Michigan income tax returns and
did not share a household during the tax year may each claim a
credit. Each credit is based on the individual taxes or rent and
individual total household resources for each person. This only
applies to homes located in Michigan. They each must
complete Form 5049 and provide an explanation in Part 3.

Married Filing Separately and Shared a
Homestead

Spouses who file separate Michigan income tax returns but
shared a homestead for the entire year are entitled to one
property tax credit. The credit claim must be based on the
total household resources of both spouses during the time
the homestead was shared. A spouse claiming the credit
must complete Form 5049 and include the total household
resources for both spouses. A spouse filing the credit
should also include the other spouse’s income on the Other
Nontaxable Income line of the Homestead Property Tax
Credit Claim. You and your spouse may choose how you
want to divide the credit. If each spouse claims a portion of
the credit, attach a copy of the claim showing each spouse’s
share of the credit to each income tax return. Enter only your
portion of the credit on your MI-1040CR, line 44.

Separated or Divorced in 2013

Figure your credit based on the taxes you paid together
before your separation plus the taxes you paid individually
after your separation. Complete and attach Form 5049
and attach a schedule showing your computation. For
more information or to help you calculate a prorated
share of taxes, see Michigan Homestead Property
Tax Credits for Separated or Divorced Taxpayers
(Form 2105).

Example: Karl and Cathy separated on October 2, 2013. The
annual taxes on the home they owned were $1,860. Cathy
continued to live in the home and Karl moved to an apartment
on October 2 and paid $350 per month rent for the rest of the
year. Cathy earned $20,000 and Karl earned $25,000. They
lived together for 274 days.

Step 1: Calculate the prorated total household resources for
each spouse for the 274 days they lived together. Divide each
spouse’s total income by 365 days, then multiply that figure
by 274.

Cathy ($20,000/365) x 274 = $15,014
Karl ($25,000/365) x 274 = $18,767

Cathy and Karl must each complete Form 5049 and list
income earned during the period they lived together.

Step 2: Add both prorated total household resources
together to determine the total for the time they lived
together.

$15,014 + $18,767 = $33,781

Step 3: Divide each individual’s prorated share of total
household resources by the total from Step 2 to determine the
percentage attributable to each.

Cathy $15,014/833,781 = 44%
Karl  $18,767/$33,781 = 56%



Step 4: Calculate the prorated taxes eligible for credit for the
time they lived together. Divide the $1,860 by 365 days, then
multiply by 274 days.

($1,860/365) x 274 = $1,396

Step 5: Calculate each individual’s share of the prorated
taxes. Multiply the $1,396 by the percentages determined in
Step 3.

Cathy $1,396 x 44% = $614

Karl $1,396 x 56% = $782

Enter these amounts on MI-1040CR, line 50, column A.
Cathy uses lines 47 through 50, column B, to compute her
share of taxes for the remaining 91 days.

Karl uses lines 52 and 53 to compute his share of rent. Each
completes the remaining lines of MI-1040CR according to
the form instructions.

Residents of Nursing Homes and Other Adult
Care Homes

If you are a resident of a nursing home, adult foster care
home, or home for the aged, that facility is considered your
homestead. If the facility pays local property taxes (many
do not), you may claim your portion of those taxes for credit.
You may not claim rent. Ask the facility manager what

your share is or, to determine it yourself, divide the amount
of property tax levied on the facility in 2013 by the number
of residents for which the facility is licensed. This is your
share. If both you and your spouse live in the facility, add
your shares together. If you lived in the facility only part of
the year, multiply this amount by the portion of the year you
lived at the facility.

Exception: Credit is not allowed if your care facility charges
are paid directly to the facility by a government agency.

If you maintain a homestead and your spouse lives in an
adult care home, you may file a joint credit claim. Combine
the tax for your homestead and your spouse’s share of the
facility’s property tax to compute your claim.

If you are single and maintain a homestead (that is not
rented) while living in an adult care home, you may claim
either your homestead or your share of the facility’s property
tax, but not both. Use the one that gives you the larger credit.

Single Adults Sharing a Home

When two or more single adults share a home, each may file
a credit claim if each has contracted to pay rent or owns a
share of the home. Each adult should file an individual claim
based on his or her total household resources and prorated
share of taxes or rent paid.

Line-by-Line Instructions for Homestead Property Tax Credit (MI-1040CR)

Lines not listed are explained on the form.

Lines 1, 2, and 3: Enter your name(s), address, and
Social Security number(s). If you are married, filing separate
claims, enter both Social Security numbers, but do not enter
your spouse’s name.

Line 5: Check the box that applies to you or your spouse as
of December 31, 2013, if any. If both boxes apply, only check
box 5b, unless you are claiming the Senior Alternate Credit,
then you should check box 5a.

Line 5a: Age 65 or older. This includes the unremarried
surviving spouse of a person who was 65 or older at the time
of death. You are considered 65 the day before your 65th
birthday.

Line Sb: Deaf, blind, hemiplegic, paraplegic, quadriplegic,
or totally and permanently disabled (as defined under Social
Security Guidelines 42 USC 416). If you are age 66 or older
you may not claim an exemption as totally and permanently
disabled. Blind means your better eye permanently has 20/200
vision or less with corrective lenses, or your peripheral field of
vision is 20 degrees or less.

Line 6: Filing Status. Check the box to identify your
filing status. If you file a joint federal return, you must file a
joint property tax credit. Married couples who file married
filing separate must include the total household resources of
both spouses unless you filed separate federal returns and
maintained separate homesteads. If you filed your federal
return as head of household or qualifying widow(er), file
your property tax credit as single.

Same-Sex Couples Filing a Joint Federal Return.
Same-sex couples who file a joint federal income tax return
must continue to file income tax returns for Michigan with

each individual using the single filing status. Michigan has
defined marriage in the Michigan Constitution as a union of
one man and one woman. Each individual who has income
attributable to Michigan and who has filed a joint return
with the IRS as a same-sex couple should separately report
adjusted gross income (AGI) for Michigan income tax as a
single filer. Each individual should recalculate their federal
adjusted gross income as if they had filed a single federal
return, and be aware that filing as single may affect the
filer’s eligibility for Michigan tax credits as well. Additional
information can be found on Treasury’s Web site.

Line 7: Residency. Check the box that describes your
Michigan residency for 2013. If you and your spouse had
a different residency status during the year, check a box
for each of you. If you checked box C, enter the dates of
Michigan residency in 2013.

Property Tax

Line 8: Homestead Status. Check this box if the taxable
value of your homestead includes unoccupied farmland
classified as agricultural by your assessor.

Line 9: If the taxable value of your homestead is greater
than $135,000, STOP; you are not eligible for the
homestead property tax credit. If your taxable value is
less than $135,000, enter the 2013 taxable value from your
2013 property tax statement or assessment notice. If you
do not know your taxable value, contact your local assessor.
Farmers should include the taxable value of all land that
qualifies for this credit (see instructions for farmers on
page 24). Farmers should note that the $135,000 limit on
taxable value does not apply to the taxable value of their
homestead attributable to unoccupied farmland classified
as agricultural.
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Line 10: Read “Property Taxes That Can Be Claimed for
Credit” on page 24 before you complete this line.

Line 11: Read “Rent That Can Be Claimed for Credit” on
page 25 before you complete this line.

Total Household Resources

Include all taxable and nontaxable income you and your
spouse received in 2013. If your family lived in Michigan
and one spouse earned wages outside Michigan, include
the income earned both in and out-of-state in your total
household resources. (See “Total Household Resources,”
page 23.)

Line 14: Enter all compensation received as an employee.
Include strike pay, supplemental unemployment benefits
(SUB pay), sick pay, or long-term disability benefits,
including income protection insurance, and any other
amounts reported to you on Form W-2.

Line 15: Do not include business dividend and interest
income reported as a distributive share on Form K-1. See
line 16 instructions.

Line 16: Add the amounts from:

* U.S. Schedule C (Profit or Loss from Business).

» Part II (Ordinary Gains and Losses) of the U.S. Form 4797.

 Part II (Income or Loss from Partnerships and
S Corporations) and Part III (Income or Loss from Estates
and Trusts) of the U.S. Schedule E.

* U.S. Schedule F (Profit or Loss from Farming).

* Include income items reported as a distributive share.

If the total is negative enter “0.” Include amounts from
sources outside Michigan. Attach the above federal
schedules to your claim.

Line 17: Add the amounts from:

o Part I (Income or Loss from Rental Real Estate and
Royalties) of the U.S. Schedule E.

e Part IV (Income or Loss from Real Estate Mortgage
Investment Conduits (REMIC)) of the U.S. Schedule E
(rents, royalties).

e Part V (Summary) (Net farm rental income or (loss)) of
the U.S. Schedule E.

If the total is negative enter “0.” Include amounts from
sources outside Michigan. Attach the above federal
schedules to your claim.

Line 18: Enter all annuity, retirement pension, and
individual retirement account (IRA) benefits. This
should be the taxable amount shown on your U.S. Form
1099-R. If no taxable amount is shown on your U.S. Form
1099-R, use the amount required to be included in
AGI. Enter “0” if all of your distribution is from your
contributions made with income previously included in
AGI. Include reimbursement payments such as an increase
in a pension to pay for Medicare charges. Also include
the total amount of any lump sum distribution including
amounts reported on your U.S. Form 4972. Do not include
recoveries of after-tax contributions or amounts rolled
over into another plan (amounts rolled over into a Roth
IRA must be included to the extent included in AGI).
You must include any part of a distribution from a Roth
IRA that exceeds your total contributions to the Roth
IRA regardless of whether this amount is included in AGI.
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Assume that all contributions to the Roth IRA are withdrawn
first. NOTE: Losses from Roth IR As cannot be deducted.

Line 19: Enter net capital gains and losses. This is the total
of short-term and long-term gains, less short-term and long-
term losses from your U.S. Schedule D (losses cannot exceed
$3,000 if single or married filing jointly, or $1,500 if married
filing separately). Include gains realized on the sale of your
residence whether or not these gains are exempt from federal
income tax.

Line 20: Enter alimony received and other taxable income.
Describe other taxable income. This includes: awards,
prizes, lottery, bingo, and other gambling winnings over
$300; farmland preservation tax credits if not included in net
farm income on line 16; and forgiveness of debt to the extent
included in federal AGI (e.g., mortgage foreclosure).

Line 21: Enter your Social Security, Supplemental Security
Income (SSI), and/or Railroad Retirement benefits. Include
death benefits and amounts received for minor children or
other dependent adults who live with you. Report the amount
actually received for the year. Medicare premiums reported on
your Social Security or Railroad Retirement statement should
be deducted.

Line 22: Enter child support and all payments received as a
foster parent. NOTE: If you received a 2013 Custodial Party
End of Year Statement (FEN-851) showing child support
payments paid to the Friend of the Court, enter the child
support portion here and attach a copy of the statement. See
line 27 instructions.

Line 23: Enter all unemployment compensation received
during 2013.

Line 24: Enter the value over $300 in gifts of cash or
merchandise received, or expenses paid on your behalf (rent,
taxes, utilities, food, medical care, etc.) by parents, relatives,
or friends. Do not include government payments made
directly to third parties such as an educational institution or
subsidized housing project.

Line 25: Enter other nontaxable income. This includes:

» Scholarship, stipend, grant, or GI bill benefits and
payments made directly to an educational institution

» Compensation for damages to character or for personal
injury or sickness

* Adoption subsidies

* An inheritance (except an inheritance from your spouse)

* Proceeds of a life insurance policy paid on the death of the
insured (except benefits from a policy on your spouse)

* Death benefits paid by or on behalf of an employer

* Minister’s housing allowance

+ Forgiveness of debt to the extent not included in federal AGI
(e.g., mortgage foreclosure)

* Reimbursement from dependent care and/or medical care
spending accounts

» If you are married, filing separately, include your spouse’s
income unless you maintained separate homesteads
during the year. Complete and attach Form 5049.

Line 26: Enter workers’ compensation, service-connected
disability compensation and pension benefits from the Veterans
Administration. Veterans receiving retirement benefits should
enter the benefits on line 18.

Line 27: Enter the total payments made to your household
by DHS and all other public assistance payments. Your
2013 Client Annual Statement (DHS-1241) mailed by DHS in



January 2014 will show your total DHS payments. Your
statement(s) may include the following: Family Independence
Program (FIP) assistance, State Disability Assistance (SDA),
Refugee Assistance, Repatriate Assistance, and vendor
payments for shelter, heat, and utilities.

NOTE: If you received a 2013 FEN-851 (attach a copy),
subtract the amount of child support payments entered on
line 22 from the total DHS payments and enter the difference
here.

Line 30: Enter total adjustments from your U.S. Form /040
or U.S. Form /040A. Describe adjustments to income. These
adjustments reduce total household resources and include
some of the following:

* Payments to IRAs, SEP, SIMPLE, or qualified plans

+ Student loan interest deduction

* Moving expenses into or within Michigan can be
included in “Other Adjustments” to reduce total household
resources. Moving expenses when moving out of
Michigan cannot be included in “Other Adjustments” to
reduce total household resources

* Deduction for self-employment tax

* Self-employed health insurance deduction

* Penalty on early withdrawal of savings

* Alimony paid

* Jury duty pay you gave to your employer

* Archer Medical Savings Account (MSA) deduction

* Any other adjustments to gross income included on your
2013 U.S. Form 1040

* Health Savings Account (HSA) deduction.

Line 31: Enter health insurance premiums, Health

Maintenance Organization (HMO) premiums, or other

insurance premiums you paid for yourself and your family.

Include the following premiums:

* Medical insurance

* Dental insurance

* Vision insurance

* Prescription drug plan

* Automobile insurance (medical care portion only).

Do not include any insurance premiums deducted on lines 21
or 30, amounts paid for income protection insurance (long-
term disability), long-term care insurance, or amounts paid
by an employer with pre-tax payroll contributions.

Property Tax Credit

Line 34: Multiply line 33 by 3.5 percent (0.035) or
the percentage from MI-1040CR Table 2. This is the
amount that will not be refunded. The personal
representative  claiming a credit for a deceased
taxpayer with total household resources of $6,000 or
less must annualize the decedent’s income and use
the annualized figure to determine the nonrefundable
percentage from Table 2. Then use the actual total
household resources to compute the credit. See
“Annualizing Total Household Resources” on page 26.

MI-1040CR TABLE 2:
PERCENT OF TAXES NOT REFUNDABLE
ALL GENERAL CLAIMANTS

Income % of Income
$0 - $50,000 .......coeierieieieieieenee 3.5%
OTHER CLAIMANTS *

Income % of Income
$3,000 0T 1SS .eveveveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeennns 0%
$3,001 - $4,000 .......cccevvvererreernen 1%
$4,001 - $5,000 ......ccevvrrereireernnne 2%
$5,001 - $6,000 .......cccevrvererrrenrnnne. 3%
More than $6,000.............cccveeveen.. 3.5%

*QOther claimants are senior citizens or people
who are paraplegic, hemiplegic, quadriplegic,
deaf, or totally and permanently disabled or
unremarried spouse of an individual 65 or older.
\. J

PART 1: Allowable Computation Based on
Claimant Status

Complete only Section A, B, or C, whichever applies to you.
Senior claimants who checked box 5a complete Section A.
Disabled claimants who checked box 5b complete Section B.
All other claimants complete Section C.

Line 37: Enter the percentage from MI-1040CR Table A
that applies to your total household resources from line
33. A senior, age 65 or older, filing a part-year credit must
calculate annualized total household resources to determine
the reduction percentage using MI-1040CR Table A.

f )
MI-1040CR TABLE A:

SENIOR CREDIT REDUCTION

Total Household Resources

Percentage

$21,000 OF €SS ....oorrveeeerrreerees 100% (1.00)
$21,001 - $22,000 96% (0.96)
$22,001 - $23,000 92% (0.92)
$23,001 - $24,000 88% (0.88)
$24,001 - $25,000 84% (0.84)
$25,001 - $26,000 80% (0.80)
$26,001 - $27,000 76% (0.76)
$27,001 - $28,000 72% (0.72)
$28,001 - $29,000 68% (0.68)
$29,001 - $30,000 64% (0.64)
$30,001 - $50,000 60% (0.60)
\ J

Line 42: If you are a senior claimant enter the amount from
line 38. If you are a disabled claimant enter the amount
from line 39. All others enter the amount from line 41. If
you received FIP assistance or other DHS benefits in 2013,
prorate your credit to reflect the ratio of income from other
sources to total household resources. To prorate your credit
use the information from your form to complete MI-1040CR
Worksheet 3 on page 30.

Line 43: The computed credit is reduced by 10 percent for
every $1,000 (or part of $1,000) that your total household
resources exceed $41,000. Enter the percentage from
MI-1040CR Table B that applies to your total household
resources from line 33.
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NOTE: If you are filing a part-year credit and the annualized
income is more than $41,000, use annualized total household
resources to determine the percentage allowable in
MI-1040CR Table B.

( )
MI-1040CR TABLE B:
HOMESTEAD PROPERTY TAX CREDIT PHASE OUT
Total Household Resources Percentage
$41,000 Or €SS ..cvveveevieiecireee 100% (1.00)
$41,001 - $42,000 90% (0.90)
$42,001 - $43,000 ....80% (0.80)
$43,001 - $44,000 ....7T0% (0.70)
$44,001 - $45,000 ....60% (0.60)
$45,001 - $46,000 ....50% (0.50)
$46,001 - $47,000 ....40% (0.40)
$47,001 - $48,000 30% (0.30)
$48,001 - $49,000 20% (0.20)
$49,001 - $50,000 ....10% (0.10)
$50,001 - abOVE ....ccveevveireeciieeenee 0%(0.00)
. J

Alternate Property Tax Credit for Renters Age 65
or Older

If you are a senior renter age 65 or older you may qualify for
the Alternate Property Tax Credit. Complete MI-1040CR
Worksheet 4 to determine if you qualify.

MI-1040CR Worksheet 4, Line B: Enter rent paid from
line 53 or, if you live in service fee housing, enter amount
from line 55. If you moved from one rental homestead to
another during the last two years (also see “If You Moved in
2013” on page 25), enter smaller of:

* The final month’s rent on your previous rented homestead
multiplied by 12, or
* The actual rent paid from line 53 or line 55.

PART 4: Renters

See “Rent That Can Be Claimed for Credit” on page 25.

Line 52: If you rented a Michigan homestead subject to
local property taxes, enter the street number and name, city,
landlord’s name and address, number of months rented,
rent paid per month, and total rent paid. Do this for each
Michigan homestead rented during 2013 and for each time
rental amounts changed. If you need more space, attach an
additional sheet. Do not include more than 12 months’ rent.
If you married during 2013, see page 26. Do not include
amounts paid directly to the landowner on your behalf by
a government agency, unless payment is made with money
withheld from your benefit. If you pay lot rent on your
mobile home, subtract the $3 per month property tax from
the total rental amount and enter this amount on line 10.
Claim the remaining balance of rent on line 53 and on line 11.

Line 54: If your housing costs are subsidized check box
54a and enter the total amount of rent you paid on line 55
and on line 11. Do not include amounts paid on your behalf
by a government agency. Complete lines 12 through 44 to
calculate your credit.

If you lived in Service Fee Housing, check box 54b and enter
the amount of rent you paid on line 55 and 10 percent of the
rent on lines 56 and 10 (as property taxes), and complete lines
13 through 44 to calculate your credit.

Line 57: If you lived in one of the special housing facilities
identified, check the appropriate box and calculate your
prorated share of taxes. See “Rent That Can Be Claimed
for Credit” and “Residents of Nursing Homes and Other
Adult Care Homes” on pages 25 and 27.

A. Enter amount from line 27 (FIP and other DHS benefits) ..

4 MI-1040CR WORKSHEET 3: FIP/DHS BENEFITS )

B. Enter amount from line 33 (Total Household Resources)...

C. Subtract line A from line B (if amount is a negative value,
ENEET “07)tiiuieiieieeierteettete et te e et et e et e e e beere e e renreens

D. Divide line C by line B and enter percentage here .............

E. If you checked box 5a, enter the amount from line 38.

If you checked box 5b, enter the amount from line 39.

All others, enter the amount from line 41 here (maximum
F1,200) vttt

F. Multiply line E by line D. If you are age 65 or older and
you rent your home, enter amount here and on line A of
Worksheet 4. Otherwise, enter here and on your
MI-1040CR, line 42

-
/
MI-1040CR WORKSHEET 4:

A. Enter amount from line 42 or line 44 if line 33 exceeds
$41,000, or if you received FIP/DHS benefits, enter the
amount from Worksheet 3, line F.........c...cccoovvvvviiviiiieecne.

ALTERNATE PROPERTY TAX CREDIT FOR RENTERS AGE 65 AND OLDER

J
~N

B. Enter rent paid from line 53 or line 55.......ccccoveienineencnnne

C. Multiply amount on line 33 by 40% (0.40) and enter here ..

D. Subtract line C from line B. If line C is more than line B,
EILET “07 ittt

E. Enter the larger of line A or line D here and carry amount
to your MI-1040CR, line 44 (maximum $1,200)........c...cccc.c....

-
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( TABLE 3 - FEDERAL SCHEDULES

If you file any of the following schedules or forms with your federal return you must attach a copy to your Michigan income tax return:

Schedule B or 1040A Schedule 1.........c...c........ Interest and Dividend Income (if over $5,000)
Schedule C or C-EZ .......ccconvereinnecininencenne Profit or Loss From Business

Schedules D and 4797 .....ccccoveevenieinccnennenenn Capital and Ordinary Gains and Losses
Schedule E..................... ... Supplemental Income and Loss

Schedule F.......c.covvevivineinincne ... Farm Income and Expenses
Schedule R or 1040A Schedule 3... ... Credit for the Elderly or Disabled
Form 1040NR........cooiiviiiiiiinins ... Nonresident Alien Income Tax Return

Form 2555 ....... ... Foreign Earned Income

Form 3903 or 3903-F ... Moving Expenses

Form 4868 .........ccceeeee. ... Application for Automatic Extension of Time to File U.S. Individual Income Tax Returns
Form 6198 .... ... Computation of Deductible Loss From Activity Described in IRC Section 465(c)

Form 8829 ... Expenses for Business Use of Your Home

The above schedules and forms must report the location of the business activity or the location of any real property involved. Schedules showing
rental of personal property must report where the property is being used. Attach any Schedule K-1s which support your attached Schedules D and
\E' If you do not attach these schedules, processing of your return may be delayed or your credit/subtraction may be denied. )

Deceased Taxpayer Chart of Examples (see instructions, pages 7 and 25.)

A. Joint Filers with Surviving Spouse D. Joint Filers with Personal Representative
1. Filer’s First Name M.l | Last Name 1. Filer's First Name M.l.| Last Name
John A | Brown DECD John A | Brown EST OF
If a Joint Return, Spouse’s First Name [ M.I. [ Last Name If a Joint Return, Spouse’s First Name [M.I. [ Last Name
Jane C | Brown Jane C | Brown EST OF
. . . . Home Address (No., Street, P.O. Box or Rural Route)
?.Snpg_le Filer with Personal Representative Sam W. Jones REP 123 Main St.
. Filer’s First Name M.I.| Last Name
John A | Brown EST OF o e . :
If a Joint Return, Spouse’s First Name [M.l. [ Last Name E. Joint Filers with Claimant
1. Filer’s First Name M.I. | Last Name
Home Address (No., Street, P.O. Box or Rural Route) J| ?hjl. s SN 'ﬁ Prt?\lwn DECD
. a Joint Return, spouse's First Name 1 ast Name
Sam W. Jones REP 123 Main St. Jane C | Brown DECD
C. Single Filer with Claimant Home Address (No., Street, P.O. Box or Rural Route)
1. Filer's First Name M.I.| LastName Sam W. Jones CLAIMANT 123 Main St.
John A | Brown DECD
If a Joint Return, Spouse’s First Name |M.l. | Last Name
Home Address (No., Street, P.O. Box or Rural Route)
Sam W. Jones CLAIMANT 123 Main St.
é )
WORKSHEET 5 - EXEMPTION ALLOWANCE FOR SCHEDULE NR
When One Spouse Is a Full-Year Resident and the other a Part-Year or Nonresident
Computing Amount of Exemption for Part-Year or Nonresident Income
1. Michigan Taxable Income of spouse who is NOT a full-year resident............cccccveiveneveneninienecencnnencne 1.
2. Total Taxable Income of spouse who is NOT a full-year resident..........coceveverereeienienenencncnenceeene 2.
3. Divide line 1 by line 2 and enter percentage here %
4. Michigan personal eXemption aAllOWANCE...........ccuerierieriirieieieietetete ettt ettt sb e e bt see e eneenes 4. $3.,950
5. Number of spouse’s special exemptions from MI-1040, line 9b
K 82,500ttt ettt ettt bt n ettt n sttt et st enene 5.
6. Spouse’s qualified disabled veteran exemption x $300 from MI-1040, line 9c........ccooveuneee. 6.
7. Add HNES 4, 5, AN Ottt ettt h et ne et be s s e 7.
8. Multiply line 7 by the percentage on LiNe 3.......ccevvevieriiriirieieieieieeee et ae e neeneas 8.
Computing Amount of Prorated Exemption Amount for Dependents
9. Michigan AGI for both spouses from Schedule NR, line 14B.........ccocooiiiiriiniiniineeeee e 9.
10. Total AGI from Schedule NR, INE 14A .......oovoioiiiieeee ettt eaees
11. Divide line 9 by line 10 and enter percentage here Y%
12. Multiply line 11 by exemption allowance of $3,950 .
13. Multiply line 12 by the number of dependents claimed...........ccecveeverieieieieiieieieee e 13.
14. Multiply line 11 by the number of dependents claimed who are qualified disabled veterans
(from MI-1040, line 9¢) X 8300 e 14.
15. Multiply line 11 by the number of dependents claimed with special exemptions
from MI-1040, line 9b X 82,500 .o 15.
Computing Amount of Exemption for Resident Spouse
16. Michigan resident spouse’s personal exemption allOWancCe .............ceeeeeeieiecienierieneneseseeeeeeeesieaens 16. $3,950
17. Number of Michigan resident spouse’s special exemptions from MI-1040, line 9b
X 82,500 ettt ettt sttt een e e e 17.
18. Michigan resident spouse’s qualified disabled veteran x $300 from MI-1040, line 9c ........ 18.
19. AAd 1INES 16, 17, @Nd 18 .....eoiiiiiieeeeeeeeee ettt et e vt e et e e e eeteeeeaaeeereeeaeeennas 19.
GO. Add lines 8, 13, 14, 15, and 19 and carry to Schedule NR, line 19.......ccocoooviiiiiiinniiiiieceeee 20. Y
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School District Code List (See MI-1040 or MI-1040CR, line 4.)

Michigan public school districts are listed alphabetically with code numbers to the left of the names. When more than
one district has the same name, the county or city name in parentheses helps you choose the right district. Residents,
choose the code for the district where you lived on December 31, 2013. Call your local assessor or treasurer if you do
not know your school district name. Nonresidents, enter “10000” in the school district code box.

31020 Adams Twp. 22030 Breitung Twp. 82030 Dearborn 80110 Gobles
46020  Addison 73180 Bridgeport-Spaulding 82040 Dearborn Heights 41120  Godfrey-Lee
46010 Adrian 11340  Bridgman 80050 Decatur 41020 Godwin Heights
58020  Airport 47010 Brighton 76090  Deckerville 25050  Goodrich
79010  Akron-Fairgrove 17140 Brimley 46070 Deerfield 25030 Grand Blanc
24030  Alanson 46050 Britton Deerfield 08010 Delton-Kellogg 70010 Grand Haven
05010  Alba 12020 Bronson 17050 DeTour 23060 Grand Ledge
13010  Albion 76060 Brown City 82010 Detroit 41010 Grand Rapids
01010  Alcona 11310  Buchanan 19010 DeWitt 41130  Grandville
74030  Algonac 28035 Buckley 81050 Dexter 62050  Grant
03030 Allegan 73080 Buena Vista 31100 Dollar Bay-Tamarack City 42030 Grant Twp.
82020  Allen Park 56020 Bullock Creek 14020 Dowagiac Union 38050 Grass Lake
70040  Allendale 75020 Burr Oak 44050 Dryden 59070 Greenville
29010  Alma 02020 Burt Twp. 58050 Dundee 82300 Grosse Ile Twp.
44020  Almont 78020 Byron 78030 Durand 82055 Grosse Pointe
04010 Alpena .
50040 AnI::hor Bay Hoso Byr(.m Conter 74030 East Chma' 23823 g;lilnﬁake
31010 Ann Arbor 83010 Cadillac 50020 East Detroit
06010 Arenac Fastern 41050 Caledonia 41090 East Grand Rapids 11670 Hagar Twp.
50050 Armada 31030 Calumet . 38090 East Jackson 35020 Hale.
07010 Arvon Twp. 30010 Camden-Frontier 15060 East Jordap 03100 Hamilton
20020  Ashley 74040 Capac - 33010 East Lansing 82060 Hamtramck
13050 Athens 25080 Carman-Ainsworth 34340 Easton Twp. 31010 Hancock
25130  Atherton 55010 Carney-Nadeau 23050 Eaton Rapids 38100 Hanover-Horton
60010  Atlanta 79020 Caro 11250 Eau Claire 32060 Harbor Beach
06020 Au Gres-Sims 73030  Carroliton 82250  Ecorse 24020  Harbor Springs
02010 AuTrain-Onota 59020 Carson City-Crystal 14030 Edwardsburg 13070 Harper Creek
63070 Avondale 76070 Carsonville-Pt. Sanilac 05060 Elk Rapids 82320 Harper Woods
32030 Caseville 32050 Elkton-Pigeon-Bay Port Laker 18060 Harrison
32010 Bad Axe 79030 Cass City 05065  Ellsworth 64040 Hart
43040 Baldwin 14010 Cassopolis 31070 Elm River Twp. 80120 Hartford
80020 Bangor (Van Buren) 41070 Cedar Springs 49055 Engadine 47060 Hartland
80240 Bangor Twp. 50010 Center Line 21010 Escanaba 33060 Haslett
09030  Bangor Twp. (Bay) 05035 Central Lake 09050  Essexville-Hampton 08030 Hastings
07020 Baraga 59125 Central Montcalm 67020 Evart 63130 Hazel Park
21090  Bark River-Harris 75030  Centreville 66045 Ewen-Trout Creek 73210 Hemlock
19100 Bath 15050 Charlevoix 40060 Excelsior 62060 Hesperia
13020 Battle Creek 23030 Charlotte 82070 Highland Park

68030 Fairview

09010 Bay City 31050 Chassell Twp. 63200 Farmineton 60020 Hillman
37040 Beal City 16015 Cheboygan 18020 Fareell. 30020 Hillsdale
51020 Bear Lake 81040 Chelsea 03050 Fennville 70020 Holland
15010  Beaver Island 73110  Chesaning Union 25100 Fenton 63210 Holly
26010 Beaverton 54025 Chippewa Hills 63020 Ferndale 33070 Holt
58030 Bedford 50080 Chippewa Valley 50090 Fitzeerald 61120 Holton
25240  Beecher 32040 Church 29180 Flar Rock 13080 Homer
34080 Belding 18010  Clare 25010  Flint 03070 Hopkins
05040  Bellaire 63090 Clarenceville 25120 Flushin 72020 Houghton Lake
23010 Bellevue 63190 Clarkston 20020 Forest /frea 31110  Houghton-Portage Twp.
25060 Bendle 63270 Clawson 41110 Forest Hills 47070 Howell
25230 Bentley 39020 Climax-Scotts 36015 Forest Park 46080 Hudson
11010  Benton Harbor 46060 Clinton 19070 Fowler 70190 Hudsonville
10015 Benzie County Central 50070 Clintondale 47030 Fowlerville 82340 Huron
63050  Berkley 25150 Clio 63220 Huron Valley
34140 Berlin Twp. 12010 Coldwater 73190 Frankenmuth
. . 10025  Frankfort-Elberta 58070 Ida
11240  Berrien Springs 56030 Coleman ;
50100 Fraser 44060 Imlay City

27010 Bessemer 32260 Colfax Twp. .

. 53030 Free Soil 82080 Inkster
21065 Big Bay De Noc 11330 Coloma

. 73200 Freeland 16050 Inland Lakes
62470 Big Jackson 75040 Colon i

. . . 62040 Fremont 34010 Ionia
54010 Big Rapids 38040 Columbia . ;

. 61080  Fruitport 34360 Ionia Twp.
73170 Birch Run 39030 Comstock i

L 29050 Fulton 22010 Iron Mountain
63010 Birmingham 41080 Comstock Park 27020 Tronwood
46040 Blissfield 38080 Concord 39050 Galesburg-Augusta 52180 Ishpeming
63080 Bloomfield Hills 75050 Constantine 11160 Galien Twp. 29060 Ifhpemmfv
32250 Bloomficld Twp. 70120  Coopersville 82050 Garden City aca
80090 Bloomingdale 78100 Corunna 69020 Gaylord 38170 Jackson
49020 Bois Blanc Pines 80040 Covert 25070 Genesee 58080 Jefferson (Monroe)
15020 Boyne City 20015 Crawford AuSable 82290 Gibraltar 70175  Jenison
15030 Boyne Falls 82230 Crestwood 21025 Gladstone 69030 Johannesburg-Lewiston
63180 Brandon 76080 Croswell-Lexington 26040 Gladwin 30030 Jonesville
11210 Brandywine 45010 Glen Lake

33040 Dansville

29040 Breckenridge 25140 Davison 03440 Glenn
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39010 Kalamazoo 58010 Monroe 21060 Rapid River 69040  Vanderbilt

51045 Kaleva Norman Dickson 59045 Montabella 61210 Ravenna 38020 Vandercook Lake
40040 Kalkaska 61180 Montague 30070 Reading 79150  Vassar

25110 Kearsley 25260 Montrose 82110 Redford Union 32650 Verona Twp.
41140 Kelloggsville 49070 Moran Twp. 67060 Reed City 59150  Vestaburg

41145 Kenowa Hills 46100 Morenci 79110 Reese 39170  Vicksburg

41150 Kent City 54040 Morley Stanwood 61220 Reeths-Puffer

27070 Wakefield-Marenisco

41160 Kentwood 78060 Morrice 52110 Republic-Michigamme 30080 Waldron

28090  Kingsley 50160  Mt. Clemens 50180 Richmond 64090 Walkerville

79080  Kingston 25040 Mt. Morris 82120 River Rouge 63290 Walled Lake
37010 Mt. Pleasant 11033  River Valley 50230 Warren

07040 L’Anse 02070 Munising 82400 Riverview 50240 Warren Woods

50140 L’Anse Creuse 61010 Muskegon 63260 Rochester 63300 Waterford

78040  Laingsburg 61020 Muskegon Heights 41210 Rockford 27080 Watersmeet Twp.

57020 Lake City 71080 Rogers City

38130 Napoleon 50190 R 11320  Watervliet
: 52090 Negaunce omeo 33215 Waverly
31130 Lake Linden-Hubbell 82130 Romulus
. 11200 New Buftalo 03040 Wayland Union
63230 Lake Orion 72010 Roscommon
50170 New Haven . 82160 Wayne-Westland
50120 Lake Shore (Macomb) 50030 Roseville .
. 78070 New Lothrop 33220 Webberville
11030 Lakeshore (Berrien) 62070 Newaveo 63040 Royal Oak 52160 Wells Tw
13090 Lakeview (Calhoun) Ve P:

. 17110 Rudyard
2015 N.LCE. (Ish 1 Bloomfiel
50130 Lakeview (Macomb) 32015 N.LC.E. (Ishpeming) 63160 West Bloomfield

25200 Lake Fenton

. 11300  Niles 73010 Saginaw City 65045 West Branch-Rose City

;ggzg iate;{eﬁv (Montcalm) 30050 North Adams-Jerome 73040 Saginaw Twp. 36025 West Iron County
31000 Lakewood 44090 North Branch 81120 Saline 70070 West Ottawa
£3280 oo 55115 North Central 46130 Sand Creek 38010 Western
33020 Lot 22045 North Dickinson 76210  Sandusky 82240 Westwood
44010 Lansmg 32080 North Huron 34120 Saranac 25210 Westwood Heights
20130 Lo 61230 North Muskegon 03080 Saugatuck 62090 White Cloud
Q0140 Lawionce 45040 Northport 17010 Sault Ste. Marie 75070 White Pigeon
45020 Lot 41025 Northview 39160  Schoolcraft 17160 Whitefish Twp.
29040 Les Ch 82390 Northville 64080 Shelby 58110 Whiteford
33100 Ledio W 38140 Northwest 37060 Shepherd 61240 Whitehall
81070 L;s lel 22025 Norway-Vulcan 32610 Sigel Twp. 3 (Adams) 81140 Whitmore Lake
£2090 Lineoln Park 75100 Nottawa 32620  Sigel Twp. 4 (Eccles) 35040 Whittemore-Prescott

mneotn Far 63100 Novi 32630 Sigel Twp. 6 (Kipper) 33230 Williamston
25230 Linden 11830 Sodus Tw, 81150 Willow Run
30040 Litchfield 63250 Oak Park P- ]

.. . 80010 South Haven 16100  Wolverine
82095 Livonia 61065 Oakridge

50200 South Lake 82365 Woodhaven-Brownstown

41170 Lowell 33170 Okemos $3240  South Lyon £9170 Woandotte
53040 Ludington 23080 Olivet 4 y

82140 South Redford 41026 Wyoming
63060 Southfield 74130 Yale

82405 Southgate a
1020  Ypsil
41240 Sparta 81020 Ypsilanti

71050 Onaway
23490 Oneida Twp.
51060 Onekama
46110 Onsted

49110 Mackinac Island
16070 Mackinaw City
46090 Madison (Lenawee)
63140 Madison (Oakland) 66050 Ontonagon 70300 Spring Lake 70350  Zeeland
05070 Mancelona 61190 Orchard View 38150  Springport

81080 Manchester 35010 Oscoda 73240 St. Charles

51070 Manistee 03020 Otsego 49010 St. Ignace

77010 Manistique 19120 Ovid-Elsic 19140 St. Johns

83060 Manton 32090 Owendale-Gagetown 11020  St. Joseph

23065 Maple Valley 29100 St. Louis

78110  Owosso . .
13095 Mar Lee 63110 Oxford 06050 Standish-Sterling

14050 Marcellus 31140 Stanton Twp.
67050 Marion 34040 Palo 55120 Stephenson
76140 Marlette 39130  Parchment 33200 Stockbridge . . .
52170 Marquette 80160 Paw Paw 75010  Sturgis Point. Click. File.
13110 Marshall 76180  Peck 58100 Summerfield
03060 Martin 24040  Pellston 02080  Superior Central
74100 Marysville 13120  Pennfield 45050 Suttons Bay
33130 Mason (Ingham) 64070  Pentwater 73255 Swan Valley
58090 Mason (Monroe) 78080  Perry 25180 Swartz Creek
53010 Mason County Central 24070  Petoskey
53020 Mason Countz Eastern 19125  Pewamo-Westphalia 228‘3‘8 ?ahquamenon
) awas

80150 Mattawan 17090 Pickford 82150 Tavlor S F t
79090 Mayville 47080  Pinckney 16120 Tow ecure, rast,

. . g ecumseh .
57030 McBain 09090  Pinconning 13130 Tekonsha and Convenient!
82045 Melvindale-North Allen Park 67055  Pine River 08050 Thorapple Kello
74120  Memphis 30060 Pittsford 75080 Th 1§p 28 o .
75060 Mendon 03010  Plainwell ree Bivers Free e-file is available.
55100 Menominee 82100 Plymouth-Canton ég?;g ?averse City Do vou Ua/if 2
56050 Meridian 63030  Pontiac <oom Tiiefgzim you quality :
73230 Merrill 32130 Port Hope 63150 Troy Y
83070 Mesick 74010 Port Huron WW H
38120 Michigan Center 39140 Portage 32170 Ubly w 'leaStflle'org
21135 Mid Peninsula 34110 Portland 13135 Union City
56010 Midland 71060 Posen 79145  Unionville-Sebewaing
81100 Milan 23090 Potterville 50210 Utica
79100 Millington 52100 Powell Twp. 82430 Van Buren
68010 Mio-AuSable 12040 Quincy 50220 Van Dyke

61060 Mona Shores
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Summary of Income Tax Credits, Additions, and Subtractions

Subtractions

Below is a summary of income tax credits, additions, and sub-
tractions available to taxpayers. Detailed information for each
is provided on the page number indicated below.

The following subtractions are claimed on your Schedule 1; total
subtractions are carried forward to your MI-1040, line 13. The

Credits

The following refundable credits may be claimed on your MI-1040.

The line reference follows the credit listed below.

MI-1040 - Nonrefundable Credits Page No.
Taxes paid to government units outside Michigan (18)............... 9
Historic Preservation Tax Credit (19) .....ccccoceeveevieeviiirieeiienenne 10
Small Business Investment Tax Credit (19).......ccocevvreeiennnne. 10
MI-1040 - Refundable Credits Page No.
Homestead Property Tax Credit (25) ..ccvecvveverieeeenenieieesienine 23
Farmland Preservation Tax Credit (26) ......ccccevveeeveneeneneesenenne 10
Earned Income Tax Credit (27)....ccvevvereeierienenieieiesieeeeieniees 10
Historic Preservation Tax Credit (28) .....ccccocvevvevieecirinieeniienenne 10

The following credit is claimed on your MI-1040CR-7 Home Heating

Credit Claim form.
Home Heating Credit....... See MI-1040CR-7 Instruction Booklet

Additions

The following additions are claimed on your Schedule I; total
additions are carried forward to your MI-1040, line 11. The

Schedule 1 line reference follows the addition listed below.

Page No.

Gross interest, dividends, and income from obligations or
securities of states and their political subdivisions other

than Michigan (1).....ccoceveiriienieiiirieeeeee e 11
Deduction taken on your federal return for self-employment
tax or other taxes on or measured by income (2)................. 11
Capital gains from the Michigan column of the MI-1040D

OF MIF4797 (3) vttt 11
Certain losses from a business or property located

N ANOLhET STALE (4) ..iicvieriieeiieiieeii ettt 11
Net loss from the federal column of your Michigan
MI-1040D 0r MI-4797 (5).ccveerieecineiniiieeneeenieeneereeneeeeene 11
Gross expenses from Michigan oil and gas activity (6)........ 12
Net operating loss deduction used to reduce AGI (7)........... 12

Money withdrawn in the tax year from a Michigan Education
Savings Program (MESP) account if the withdrawal was not a
qualified withdrawal as provided in the MESP Act (8) ........ 12

Refund received from a Michigan Education Trust (MET)

Loe) 1Y Lo A ) SRS 12
Gross expenses from Michigan nonferrous metallic minerals
EXITACTION (8) 1vveiieiieiieiieiieie ettt 12
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Schedule 1 line reference follows the subtraction listed below.

Page No.
Income from U.S. government obligations
(Series EE Bonds, Treasury notes, etc.) (10).......cccceveverennnene. 12
Military, Michigan National Guard and taxable
railroad retirement benefits (11) .....cccccevvvivcienieniieiieeie e 12
Gains from federal column of Michigan
MI-1040D and MI-4797 (12) c.cceoveimniinciircinecnecneeeenes 12
Income attributable to another state (13).....cccccecevcveveervreenne. 12
Compensation received for active duty in
U.S. Armed Forces and taxable Social Security (14)............. 12
Renaissance zone deduction (15) ......cocoveevecerenienieenenenieennne 12
Michigan state and city income tax refunds and
homestead property tax credit refunds (16).......ccceceveveruennene 13
Contributions made to accounts established through
MESP (17) ittt 13
Contract price for a MET contract (18) ......cccceovvveeenenennnne. 13
Charitable contributions to MET programs (18)..................... 13
Gross income from Michigan oil and gas activity (19)......... 13
Exempted Resident tribal member income (20).........ccccoueeeene 13
Michigan NOL deduction (21) .....cccceeceevierieieienieieiese e 13

Amount used to determine the credit for elderly
or totally and permanently disabled from U.S. Form 1040
Schedule R (22)..c.uiiiiiiicieeeeeeeeee e 13

Holocaust victim payments (22).........ccoeeveveeerieneseerieneseennns 13

Gross income from Michigan nonferrous metallic minerals
EXLTACTION (22) wevieieieeiieiesieeieeie ettt ettt ae e neenes

Michigan Standard Deduction (24)

Qualifying retirement and pension benefits (25). See Pension
Schedule (FOrm 4884).......coeviiiininiiiiicneieeieneseeeesie e 14

Dividends, interest, and capital gains for senior citizens (26)..14




Income Tax Page
Additions t0 INCOME......ccueeuirieriierieeieete it eie e 11
AMENAING ..ottt 7
Annualizing total household resources ...........cccccevvennene 26
APPCALS .. 3
Blind eXemption.........ccocceeriieriirienienieeieeieceseee e 9
Canadian provincial tax credit..........ccecvevverceeneeniesiennenen. 9
Deaf eXemMpPtion......c.cocvevieriieiieiecieeeieee e 9
DeECeaSEd .....ovveeiiiiiiiiiieeeee e 7, 25,59
Direct DePosit....c.cccvereerierieiierierieeie et 11
Disabled, defined...........cooovviiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiieceeee e 9
DUE date....ocveeiieiieiicieeee e 4
Earned income tax credit.......cocveveereecienieniienieeieseeee 10
Electronic filing.........ccoovevieciieienieiieieeeeceeeieee e L3
Estimated payments..........ccceceeierieniienienienienceeeee e 6
EXENSIONS ....vetieiiieiiiciiesiteieete et 6
Federal schedules..........ccocvvvienienieniiieieeee e 59
Filing requir€ments...........cceeeveeverienieenieeieeieseesieeve e 4
Homestead property........cccceeeeeevereeneenieeiienieneenieene 10, 23
INEETESE .ot 4
Line-by-line instructions ..........ccoecververueecuerveneeneniresvennnes 9
MESP ..o 12,13
MET .t 12,13
MIlItATY PAY ©eeveenreeeieieeieeie ettt ettt 3,12
Net operating 10SSes......ccvevveeeveevenveneenieeienne 7,12, 15,24
Nonresidents, income allocation........................ 7,12, 49, 59
Out-of-state income tax credit.......cocevevererereereeeerienennen. 9
Part-year residents, income allocation.................... 6, 49, 59
PeNaLtY ..ovvieieiieeeeee s 4
Pensions .....cc.eeeeeieeieiiiiiiieeeieeeee e 12, 14, 15, 16, 51, 55
Qualified Disabled Veterans exemption...........cccccecveeunennen. 9
Reciprocal States ........cevverieeciieieniieiieieeieeeesieee e 7
Renaissance zone deduction ..........c.ccecevevereeeeeenienennenn 12
Repayments of income reported in a prior year ................. 8
ReESIACNCY ..ottt 6,9
Retirement.......c.coevveeeevveeeeieeeeeieeeenns 12, 14, 15, 16, 51, 55
Rounding numbers...........ccceeevirienienieniieieeieseeeeee e 5
Small Business Investment Tax Credit

(Venture Investment Credit) ........ccooeververeerreecieneennnnnn. 3,10
School district code list.......cocererireririenenieieieienienens 60
Special eXeMPLIONS .......cccvveeierierierieeie e eee e see e 9
State Campaign Fund..........ccocevieiieiiiiiiniecceceeee 9
Subtractions from iNCOME.........c.ceverererereeierieienienienins 12
Tax credits available .........cccceceevierenenininiiieceee 62
Voluntary Contributions Schedule ..........c...cccuvenene.. 10, 57
Homestead Property Tax Credit

Alternate credit for senior citizens (renters)..................... 30
AMENAING ..cvieiiieiiieiieeiieie ettt ebe e seeens 23
Bought or sold a home ..........ccccceevieciiecienieieeeceeee 25
Cooperative NOUSING .......c.cecveieierirenieeeeeeeeeee e 25
Deceased claimant...........cocovveeveviiieieeeiieeeeeieeeeneen, 25,59
Delay paying property taX ........cceeveeeeeeveereenreereesceeseenneenns 23
Disabled, defined (line 5 instructions) ...........ccceeeervvennenne. 27
Divorced, credit calculation............ccoceeeveeeiiieieeeciereeennee, 26
DUE daAte...oovieiieeiiciiecieee e 23
DIUPIEXES. ..oevreniieeieeiieciieie e eee ettt ete et sre et eae e saeesre e 24
Farmers .....ooocvveiiieiieceeeee e 24

Index

Home used for buSIiness .........cccccveeverceenieneenieeiesiesieeiene 24
Homestead, defined...........cooovvvieieiiiiiiiiiiiieeeeee e 23
INCOME PrOPErtY..c.eeeeiieiiieiieeieeeee ettt 24
Line-by-line inStructions ..........cccceeevereerieeiieeeeseenieenennes 27
Married filing separately........ccccoeeeevvenieneenenieeieseeienns 26
Married in 2013.....ccoooiieiieieeieieee e 26
MODbile NOMES.......cocvieiieiieiieciieie et 25
IMOVINIZ .ottt ettt et s steesteeaeesaesreesseensaens 25
NUTSING HOMES ...c.vveiieiieiieieeiieeeie e 27
Part-year residents..........ccoevvevieriiecieniienienieee e 25
Property taxes that can be claimed...........ccccceeevirvereennns 24
Qualifying for a property tax credit.........cccceevverrenieennnnne. 23
RNt 25, 30
Room and board............cccoevvevieniieciiniiiieseee e 25
School district code liSt.......ccerierierienieieeieneeeeie e 60
Senior citizens, defined (line 5 instructions).................... 27
Separated, credit calculation...........cceceeeveeierienieenieennnne. 26
Service fee houSINg.......ccocvevvirierierieicieceeeeee e 25
Shared hOUSING........ccceerieriieiiiierieiee e 27
Subsidized houSING ......c.cecvirviiiiirieiieeeieceeeee e 25
Tax-exempt ROUSING......c.ccceevieriieieeieeeeie e 25
Total Household Resources defined ..........ccccocveevveiennnnnne. 23
Total Household Resources 1imits .........ccccecveeeeneenieennenne. 23
Forms, Worksheets and Tables

Forms

4642, Michigan Voluntary Contributions Schedule ....57-58
4884, Michigan Pension Schedule............................... 51-54
4973, Michigan Pension Continuation Schedule.............. 55
MI-1040, Individual Income Tax Return ..................... 31-34
MI-1040CR, Homestead Property Tax Credit Claim..41-47
Schedule 1, Additions and Subtractions...................... 37-40
Schedule NR, Nonresident and Part-Year

Resident Schedule...............ccocouvoeeieeviniiniinieneeenn, 49-50
Schedule W, Withholding Tax Schedule ...................... 35-36
Worksheets

Alternate Property Tax Credit for Renters

65 and Older........cooeeiieiieiierieeee e 30
Exemption Allowance for Schedule NR...............c.......... 59
FIP/DHS Benefits ......cccccvvverieniieiieiesieieeieeee e 30
Taxable Railroad Retirement Benefits

or Qualified Pension and retirement benefits................... 17
USE TaX 1ottt ettt ettt et et 8
Tables

Federal Schedules .........ccoevvevieniieciinieiieieeieeee e 59
Homestead Property Tax Credit........cccceveevienieneenieennnne. 30
Percent of Taxes Not Refundable (MI-1040CR) .............. 29
Senior Credit Reduction (MI-1040CR) ........ccoevvreveuvennen. 29
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Miscellaneous
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Financial Information for Fiscal Year 2012

This information is intended to provide an overview and broad perspective of the State’s financial operations. These figures were
derived from the latest Michigan Comprehensive Annual Financial Report for the fiscal year ended September 30, 2012.

State Revenues and Financing Sources State Expenditures and Financing Uses
(Millions of Dollars) (Millions of Dollars)

Financing Source Amount % Financing Use Amount %
Sales and Use Taxes $8,383.5 30.1% Education $12,559.8 45.2%
Income Tax 6,921.0 24.9% Health Services 4,585.3 16.5%
Other Revenue & Taxes 5,296.1 19.0% Public Safety & Corrections 2,399.5 8.6%
Motor Vehicle & Fuel Taxes 1,879.7 6.8% General Government 1,858.9 6.7%
State Education Tax 1,789.7 6.4% Transportation 1,844.6 6.6%
Business, Corporate and Ins. Taxes 1,612.2 5.8% Other 1,308.9 4.7%
Tobacco & Liquor Taxes 1,138.4 4.1% Economic Dev. & Environmental Reg. 1,137.3 4.1%
Lottery Profits 786.9 2.8% Human Services 1,080.8 3.9%
Total $27,807.5 100.0% Revenue Sharing to Local Governments__ 1,032.2 3.7%
Total $27,807.5  100.0%

Due to rounding, amounts in millions of dollars may not sum to totals.

Unclaimed Property

The Michigan Department of Treasury is holding millions of dollars in abandoned and unclaimed property belonging to Michigan residents. Go
to www.michigan.gov/unclaimedproperty to search for unclaimed property.

Treasury Offices

Treasury office staff do not prepare tax returns.
DETROIT ESCANABA GRAND RAPIDS
Cadillac Place, Suite L-380 State Office Building, 1st Floor State Office Building, 2nd Floor
3060 W. Grand Blvd. 305 Ludington Street 350 Ottawa Avenue, NW - Unit 17
DIMONDALE * (open 8 - 12 only) STERLING HEIGHTS
7285 Parsons Drive FLINT 41300 Dequindre Road, Suite 200
(*NOT a mailing address) State Office Building, 7th Floor

TRAVERSE CITY
701 S. Elmwood Avenue, 4th Floor
(open 8 - 12 only)

125 E. Union Street
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