2013 MICHIGAN
MI-1040CR-S

FARMLAND PRESERVATION TAX CREDIT

WWW.MIFASTFILE.ORG

~  When e-filing your 2013 Farmland Preservation Tax Credit Claim
(MI-1040CR-5) with your Michigan Individual Income Tax (MI-
1040), you must also file a completed Homestead Property Tax
Credit Claim (MI-1040CR or MI-1040CR-2) or Home Heating
Credit Claim (MI-1040CR-7), even if you are not qualified to
receive these credits.

# E-filed returns are usually processed within 14 business days
(see page 15). Please allow 14 days before checking the status of
your e-filed return.

# 1f you have more than 25 agreements, you may not take advantage of e-filing when claiming a
farmland preservation tax credit.

A You may e-file if you are filing for Property Development Rights.

A~ Visit the Michigan Department of Treasury Web site at www.MIfastfile.org for a list of e-file
resources, how to find an e-file provider, and more information on free e-file services.

WWW.MICHIGAN.GOV/TAXES

MAILING ADDRESS. Mail your return and attachments to the address on your 2013 Michigan Individual
Income Tax Return (MI-1040).

FILE EARLY! File your return early; it will be processed in the order received. Attach all the requested
information to prevent delays in processing your refund.

This booklet is intended as a guide to help complete your return. It does not take the place of the law.



Important Information

Self Service Options

The Michigan Department of Treasury (Treasury) offers
a variety of services designed to assist you, and most are
available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

IMPORTANT: To obtain information about your
account using the Internet and Telephone Options listed
below, you will need the following information from
your return:

» Social Security number (SSN) of the primary filer
(the filer listed first on the return)
» Tax year of the return

* Adjusted gross income (AGI) or total household
resources

+ Filing status (single, married filing jointly, married
filing separately).

Internet Options
www.michigan.gov/incometax

Find the following information on this Web site:

» Current year forms and instructions

* Answers to many tax preparation questions

* Most commonly used tax forms

» Free assistance in preparing your return

* Other tax resources.

www.michigan.govl/iit

This secure Web site was designed specifically to protect
your personal tax information. Use this Web site to:

» Check the status of your return

* Check estimated payments you made during the year
» Check the status of letters you have sent to Treasury
* Change your address

» Ask a specific question about your account.
Telephone Options

(517) 636-4486

Automated Information Service

With Treasury’s automated phone system, you can:

* Request the status of your refund

* Check the status of letters you have sent to Treasury

* Request information on estimated payments

* Order current tax year forms.

While most questions can be answered by the Automated
Information Service, customer service representatives are
available from 8 a.m. to 4:45 p.m., Monday through Friday.
Assistance is available using TTY through the Michigan
Relay Service by calling 1-800-649-3777 or 711. Printed
material in an alternate format may be obtained by calling
(517) 636-4486.

MI-1040CR-5 Filing Requirements

The following forms

MI-1040CR-5:

» Schedule of Taxes and Allocation to Each Agreement
(Schedule CR-5). The Schedule CR-5 lists all your
agreements and corresponding taxes. Processing of your
refund may be delayed if the Schedule CR-5 is not filed.

must be filed with your

* Michigan Individual Income Tax Return (MI1-1040). The
MI-1040 must be filed, even if you are not otherwise
required to file this form.

* Michigan Home Heating Credit Claim (MI-1040CR-7)
or Michigan Homestead Property Tax Credit Claim
(MI-1040CR) or Michigan Homestead Property Tax
Credit Claim for Veterans and Blind People
(MI-1040CR-2) must be filed to include your total
household resources, even if you are otherwise not
entitled to these credits.

Important Reminders

Deduct all special assessments, penalties, interest, and

other non-allowable charges from property tax statements.

* Include your previous year’s Farmland Preservation Tax
Credit in federal AGI.

» Enter the most current agreement numbers on Schedule
CR-5 and also write them on your property tax
statements. If agreements have been renewed, the
expiration date will change.

» Complete Schedule CR-5 according to instructions.

» Claim only the portion of the tax bill that is qualified on
the property tax statement as agricultural. If less than
100 percent, claim the lower percentage less the school
operating taxes.

» Attach all applicable federal returns and schedules (U.S.
Forms 1040, 1065, 11208, K-1, etc.).

» List each agreement once (add multiple parcels’ taxable
value and taxes together for an agreement and list on
one line).

* The agreement number consists of three components: (1)
the first two digits represent the county code where the
property is located, (2) the middle portion is the actual
contract number, and (3) the last six numbers are the
expiration date. If the agreement has been split, it will
have a letter added after the contract numbers.

* Include the entire taxable value of the agreement
regardless of the percentage you are claiming.

* Ownership on property tax statements must match
ownership on agreements.

» Check the expiration date in the agreement number (last
six digits). Do not use an agreement number with an
expired date. If you extended the agreement, use the
new expiration date.

» Attach copies of your 2013 property tax statements that
show the taxable value and an itemized listing by
millage rate of the property taxes levied.

Where to Mail Your Return

Review your return carefully and make sure it is complete.
Assemble your returns and attachments in the order shown
on page 5 of the MI-1040 booklet. Mail your return and
attachments to the address under “Where to Mail Your
Return” on your MI-1040.




General Information

What is the Farmland Preservation Tax Credit?

The Farmland and Open Space Preservation Act (Public
Act 116 of 1974, as amended) Tax Credit gives back to
farmland owners a share of the property tax they pay on
their farmland. Farmland owners qualify for credit by
agreeing to keep the land as farmland and not develop it for
another use.

Farmland Preservation Tax Credit Qualifications

You qualify if you meet all of these requirements:

* You own farmland,

* You have entered into a Farmland Development Rights
Agreement (FDRA) with the Michigan Department of
Agriculture and Rural Development (MDARD), and

* You are eligible to file an MI-1040.
Farmland Development Rights Agreement

Through an FDRA you receive property tax relief in return
for your pledge not to change the use of your land.

Caution: The FDRA restricts development of your land.
Before making any changes to property covered under this
agreement or to its ownership, consult the MDARD. Some
changes may make your property ineligible for credit.

Property Development Right

A Property Development Right (PDR) is an easement
purchased from the landowner by MDARD on behalf
of the State of Michigan to protect development of prime
farmland.

How to Claim the Credit

Complete the forms and file them with your MI-1040.
Attach a copy of pages 1 and 2 of your U.S. Form /040 and
copies of U.S. Schedules C, D, E, F; and U.S. Forms 4797,
4835, 1065, 1120S, and K-Is if you needed to complete
them for your federal tax return. If you are not required
to file a federal return, attach a schedule showing farm
income and expenses used to arrive at net income.

Note: You must attach copies of the federal schedules that
show the income and expense of the farming operation
regardless of what kind of entity reports them (e.g., S
corporation, trust, or partnership). You must also include
the following:

* A copy of your 2013 property tax statements that show
the taxable value, an itemized listing by millage rate of
the property taxes levied, and the corresponding
agreement numbers.

* A 2013 MI-1040CR with a completed schedule of total
household resources even if you are not qualified to
receive the credit (see line 8 instructions on page 6).

* A copy of the receipt showing that your 2012 or 2013
property taxes were paid. If your property taxes have
not been paid or you do not attach your receipt(s),
Treasury will mail you a check made jointly payable to
you and the county treasurer for the county where the
property is located. (A new check payable only to you

will not be issued if you later prove that the taxes have
been paid.)

Note: If a claimant falsely specifies that the receipt
showing payment of the property taxes is attached to the
return and the property taxes are not paid before the return
is filed, all future payments of credits to the claimant will
be made payable jointly with the county treasurer of the
county in which the property under agreement is located
(Section 36109 (7)).

+ If your property tax statement includes property that is
not covered under an FDRA, you must show what
portion of your taxable value and property tax is for
land enrolled in the FDRA. Your local equalization
officer or your local assessor must give you this
information on official letterhead, if it is not detailed on
your property tax bills.

» If you farmed under a partnership, include a copy of
your U.S. Form /065 and Schedules K and K-1.

* If you farmed under an S corporation, include U.S.
Form 71208 and Schedules K and K-1.

» Joint ownerships must include a statement signed by all
owners specifying each owner’s percentage of income
and expenses.

When to Claim a New Agreement

New agreements must be approved by your Ilocal
government by November 1, 2013, for you to claim a 2013
credit for that agreement. The new FDRA is not final
until you receive a copy from the MDARD that has been
recorded at the Register of Deeds. Credit for the new FDRA
will not be allowed unless a copy of the recorded agreement
is attached to your return. If you do not get your copy
before April 15, 2014, file your return without claiming
credit for the new agreement. File MI-1040CR-5 with a
new MI-1040 and write “amended” at the top of the form
in blue or black ink for quickest processing. Do not file an
Amended Michigan Income Tax Return (MI-1040X-12).

Which Form to File

You may file one of two forms depending on the type of
farm ownership.

The following should file using MI-1040CR-5 with their
income tax return:

* Individuals who own a farm independently

* An individual in possession under a life estate with
remainder to another person

* Representatives of deceased single persons. Include
property taxes and income from January 1 to the date of
death

 Partnerships

+ Joint owners

* Limited liability companies

* S corporation shareholders, except shareholders of
S corporations who had an FDRA before January 1,

1989, and in 1991 elected to file under the Single
Business Tax (SBT) Act on C-8022



e Grantor trusts (if treated as an owner under Internal
Revenue Code (IRC) Sections 671 through 679)

* Trusts created by the death of a spouse if the trust
requires 100 percent of the income from the trust to be
distributed each year to the surviving spouse

The following should file a Farmland Preservation Tax
Credit (Form 4594):

» Estates, including property taxes from the date of death,
and farm income required to be reported on the entity's
U.S. Form 1041

» Corporations other than S corporations

* S corporations that had an FDRA before January 1,
1989, and in 1991 elected to file C-8022

* Trusts, except as noted previously.

Form 4594 can be found at www.michigan.gov/taxes or by
calling (517) 636-4486.

What to Do With a Jointly Payable Check

Take the check, remittance advice, and a copy of your
FDRAC(s) to your county treasurer(s). He or she will ask
you to endorse the check, then use the refund to pay any
delinquent taxes. Any amount left will be refunded to you.

Property Taxes That Can Be Claimed for Credit

The property taxes levied in 2013 on enrolled land can
be claimed for the 2013 credit, regardless of when they
are paid. Special assessments (those not based on State
equalized or taxable value), penalties, and interest cannot
be claimed.

Taxes on land not eligible for either the principal residence
or qualified agricultural property exemption usually are
not eligible for a Farmland Preservation Tax Credit. The
exception is rental property where the tenant participates
in the farming operation at least 1,040 hours per year. To
compute the taxes that can be claimed for credit, exclude
the school operating tax and multiply the balance by
the percentage of exemption allowed by the local taxing
authority. See example below:

Taxes levied.......ccoovveveieevecieeeeeeeenn, $2,000
School operating taX..........cccccceeveveevereenennan. $350
Principal residence exemption..................... 60%
$2,000 $1,650

- 350 x 60%

$1,650 $990 May be claimed for credit

If you have entered into more than one agreement with the
MDARD, the sum of the taxes under each agreement is
used to compute your credit. The amount of credit you will
receive is based on total household income.

Computing the Homestead Property Tax Credit

You must include your total Farmland Preservation Tax
Credit amount on your MI-1040CR, MI-1040CR-2 or your
MI-1040CR-7. Enter the amount of credit you received in
2013 on the MI-1040CR, line 16, MI-1040CR-2, line 15,

or MI-1040CR-7, line 18. Homestead Property Tax Credits
are not included in Michigan total household resources. If
you included this amount in your taxable farm income, you
may subtract it from your total household resources.

Effect on Your 2013 Taxable Farm Income

The portion of your Homestead Property Tax Credit
that is for farm buildings and land is business related. To
determine the portion that is business income, divide the
taxable value of your buildings and farmland by the total
taxable value of your property, then multiply by the credit
(see below). Your local assessor can show you how your
total taxable value was determined.

2012 Homestead
Property Tax
Credit amount

TV of farmland portion
of homestead and buildings X
Total taxable value

= Portion of Homestead Property
Tax Credit that is business income

You must include your 2012 Farmland Preservation Tax
Credit amount and the business portion of your 2012
Homestead Property Tax Credit in your 2013 federal AGI.
If you own your property as an individual but the farming
activity is operated under a partnership, S-Corp or LLC,
report the Farmland Preservation Tax Credit on your
personal return.

Was your 2012 tax refund (MI-1040, line 35) greater than
the amount of your 2012 Farmland Preservation Tax
Credit (MI-1040, line 26) plus the business portion of your
Homestead Property Tax Credit?

If yes, you may subtract on Schedule 1, line 16, the excess
refund amount you received in 2013 to the extent it was
included in federal AGI.

Land Owned by a Person Under a Life Estate

A person in possession for life under a life estate with
remainder interest to another person may claim all the
property taxes to compute the credit. However, the life
estate holder and the person(s) holding the remainder
interest may choose to divide the property taxes in the
same manner as they divide revenue and expenses. A
written agreement must be attached to each return.

Land Owned by a Partnership

Property taxes on land owned by a partnership are
allocated to the partners based on the partner’s percent of
income or ownership. All partners must use the same basis
for filing.

If the partnership files a U.S. Form 1065, the percent is
on each partner’s Schedule K-1. If the partnership is not
required to file a U.S. Form 1065, the percentage of income
is on the partnership agreement or on a statement signed
by all the partners. If no U.S. Form /065 is required, use
Part 2 to show percentage of income or ownership.



Land Owned With
Someone Other Than a Spouse

Taxes on land owned jointly are allocated to each owner.
If co-owners divide each item of revenue and expenses and
choose to allocate the property taxes that same way, they
may do so only if they attach a copy of a signed statement
by each owner. The statement must show each owner’s
share of the revenues and expenses. This requirement can
be met by completing Part 2 of MI-1040CR-5. If a signed
income distribution statement is not attached, the taxes
must be allocated equally among the owners, with two
exceptions:

¢ A husband and wife are considered one owner.

* An owner eligible to be claimed as a dependent by
another owner cannot receive a share of the taxes and
cannot claim a credit for that farmland.

Land Owned by a Limited Liability Company

Property taxes on land owned by a limited liability
company are allocated to each member in a percentage
equal to the member’s share of ownership or distributive
share of ordinary income as reported by the limited
liability company to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS).

Land Owned by an S Corporation or Trust

Taxes on land owned by an S corporation are allocated
to each shareholder based on the shareholder’s share of
the corporation’s stock. This percentage is on U.S. Form
11208, Schedule K-1. Exception: If the S corporation
had an FDRA before 1989, and in 1991 elected to file
under the SBT Act on C-8022, the S corporation must
continue to file under the Michigan Business Tax (MBT).
If the FDRA was not in the S corporation’s name before
January 1, 1989, the taxes on land covered by this
agreement must be claimed on the shareholders’ Michigan
income tax using MI-1040CR-5. These taxes must be
claimed by the shareholders even if the S corporation
elected to file C-8022 for other agreements that the S
corporation entered into before January 1, 1989.

For farmland owned by a grantor trust, if you are treated
as the owner of that trust under IRC sections 671 through
679, you must include a copy of that portion of the trust
agreement that shows you are the owner of a grantor trust
holding title to the farmland.

If the trust was created by the death of a spouse and
requires 100 percent of the income to be distributed to
the surviving spouse, you must attach a copy of U.S.
Form 1041 and Schedule K-1, if required.

Claiming a Credit on a Farm
Purchased in 2013 That Was
Already Enrolled in the Farmland Program

Your farmland credit will be processed only if there is a
farmland agreement on file with the MDARD in the same
name as your deed. You must prorate the 2013 taxes for

the period you owned the land and claim your credit based
only on those taxes.

Filed for Bankruptcy

If you are enrolled in the Farmland and Open Space
Preservation Act program and have petitioned for
bankruptcy (under U.S. Bankruptcy Code, chapters 7, 11,
12, or 13), claim your credit on MI-1040CR-5 and attach it
to your Michigan income tax return.

You must prorate your credit for the part of the year ending
when the petition in bankruptcy was filed. The trustee in
bankruptcy or the landowner as Debtor in Possession may
file a claim for the portion of the year following the date
of petition. Bankruptcy estates are also required to file a
Fiduciary Income Tax Return (MI-1041).

Transferring an Agreement

To transfer an agreement, you must show that all of the
land described under the agreement has been conveyed.
The MDARD will need a copy of the legal document
(e.g., deed, land contract) used for conveyance and the new
owner’s name, address, Social Security number, and a fee
of $25 per transfer.

For more information on the Farmland Preservation
Agreement contact:

Farmland and Open Space Preservation Unit
Environmental Stewardship Division

Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural
Development

P.O. Box 30449

Lansing, Michigan 48909

Line-by-Line Instructions for
Schedule CR-5 and MI-1040CR-5

Lines not listed are explained on the forms.

Schedule CR-5

Column A: Agreement number or contract number is found
in the lower-right corner of each agreement. The first two
numbers represent the county where the property is located.
The middle set of numbers is the actual contract number.
The last six numbers are the year of expiration, (i.e., 123113 is
December 31, 2013). The contract number retains its original
series throughout the term of the agreement. However, a
letter may be added to indicate that the agreement was split
into multiple agreements. The final six numbers change
when the agreement is reduced or extended. Always use the
contract number on your most recently recorded agreement
and attach a copy of each 2013 tax statement that corresponds
to the agreement number listed.

Column B: List the 2013 taxable value for each agreement
that you owned in 2013. The taxable value is found on your
property tax statement(s) for each parcel. The total taxable
value for each agreement must be listed; do not list each
individual parcel. You may also contact your local assessor
for this information.




Note: If the property tax statement includes taxable value
for land not covered by an FDRA, the taxable value reported
in column B must be adjusted accordingly. The taxable
value that cannot be claimed must be determined by the
local assessor’s office and submitted on official letterhead.

If the property tax statement includes taxable value for land
on more than one agreement, the taxable value reported
in column B must be separated according to land in each
agreement. The local assessor will be able to determine
what the breakdown is based on the legal descriptions of the
land enrolled under each agreement.

The entire taxable value for the agreement must be entered
in column B even if you are eligible to claim only a
portion of the property taxes because of joint ownership(s),
partnership(s), or multiple shareholders.

Column C: For each agreement, check the box if you
attached paid tax receipts for 2012 or 2013. If paid receipts
are not attached, do not check the box. If you do not check
the box, your Farmland Preservation Tax Credit will be
issued jointly to you and the treasurer for the county where
the property is located.

Note: Copies of your 2013 property tax statements must
be attached regardless of whether the box is checked
in column C. If you e-file your MI-1040CR-5, the box
must indicate whether your 2012 or 2013 property taxes
are paid (not whether they are attached to the return).
E-filers, do not send property tax statements unless
requested to do so by Treasury at a later date. However,
when e-filing, be sure to check the box on Schedule
CR-5, column C, when taxes have been paid.

Column D: Enter “I” if you are the individual owner or
co-own the land with your spouse, “J” if you are a joint
owner with someone other than your spouse, “P” if the land
is owned by a partnership, or “S” if the land is owned by an
S corporation.

Column E: If the land is owned by you and someone other
than your spouse, enter your percent of income from the
signed statement or your percent of ownership based on the
number of owners. If the land is owned by a partnership,
enter your percent of income or ownership. All partners
must use the same basis for filing. If the land is owned by an
S corporation, enter your percent of stock ownership.

Column F: Individuals enter the taxes from each tax
agreement for the portion of land enrolled under an
agreement. Joint owners, partners, and shareholders
enter only their allocated share of taxes from each tax
statement for the portion of land enrolled under an
agreement.

Note: If the property tax statement includes taxes for land
not covered by an FDRA, the taxes reported in column
F must be reduced accordingly. The amount of taxes
that cannot be claimed must be determined by the local
assessor’s office and submitted on official letterhead. The
1 percent collection fee may be included. Do not include
penalties, interest, or special assessments.

If the property tax statement includes taxes for land on more
than one agreement, the taxes reported in column F must be
separated according to land in each agreement. The local
assessor will be able to determine what the breakdown is
based on the legal descriptions of the land enrolled under
each agreement.
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Column H: Multiply line 15 or 20 from the MI-1040CR-5,
whichever applies, by the percentage computed in column G
for each agreement and enter in column H.

MI-1040CR-5

Line 5: Check the box if all of the taxes that qualify for a
Homestead Property Tax Credit are included in the total on
line 4.

Before completing line 8, read “Computing the Homestead
Property Tax Credit” on page 4.

Line 8: Enter your total household resources from your
MI-1040CR, MI-1040CR-2, or MI-1040CR-7. If you are a
part-year or nonresident, include total 2013 total household
resources, regardless of source.

Line 13: Enter amount of property tax from line 4. This
line must be completed.

Line 17: If line 17 is less than line 7, carry amount from
line 15 to Form MI-1040, line 26. If line 17 is greater than
line 7, complete lines 18 through 20.

PART 2: If you own farmland jointly with someone other
than your spouse, complete Part 2. For each agreement,
enter the information for each owner.

Partners may use Part 2 to show percentage of income or
ownership if no U.S. Form 1065 was required. All partners
must sign.

PART 3: If you had net losses from business (including
farm) after netting all business income and loss, net rental
or royalty losses, or net operating loss deductions, complete
Part 3.

Line 21: Add the amounts from:
» U.S. Schedule C (Profit or Loss from Business).

e Part II (Ordinary Gains and Losses) of the U.S.
Form 4797.

e Part II (Income or Loss from Partnership and S
Corporations) and Part 111 (Income or Loss from Estates
and Trusts) of the U.S. Schedule E.

* Include income items reported as a distributive share.

Line 22: Enter income or loss from U.S. Schedule F (Profit
or Loss from Farming)

Line 23: Total must be less than zero. If the total is

positive enter “0.”
Line 24: Add the amounts from:

e Part I (Income or Loss from Rental Real Estate and
Royalties) of the U.S. Schedule E.

* Part IV (Income or Loss from Real Estate Mortgage
Conduits (REMIC)) of the U.S, Schedule E (rents,
royalties).

e Part V (Net farm rental income or (loss) from
Form 4835) of the U.S. Schedule E.

Total must be less than zero. If the total is positive enter
(‘0"7

Line 25: Enter the lesser of your federal net operating
loss deduction (NOL) or federal modified taxable
Income (FMTI). Compute your FMTI using page 3 of
Form MI-1045.



