
2014 MICHIGAN Issued under authority of Public 
Act 281 of 1967. See instructions 
for filing guidelines.

Due Date for Calendar Year Filers

MI-1040ES Estimated Individual Income Tax Voucher
Filer’s Name(s) Filer’s Social Security No. Spouse’s Social Security No.

Address (Street, City, Stte, ZIP Code) WRITE PAYMENT
AMOUNT HERE $                              .00

MAIL TO:
Michigan Department of Treasury
P.O. Box 30774
Lansing, MI  48909-8274

Enclose check payable to “State 
of Michigan.” Write the filer’s SSN 
and “2014 MI-1040ES” on the front 
of the check. Do not fold or staple.

DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SPACE

2014 MI-1040ES, Michigan Estimated Income Tax for Individuals
NOTE: If you are married and plan to file your annual return as “married, filing separately,” DO NOT use preprinted vouchers 
containing the Social Security Numbers (SSN) or correspondence identification numbers for both you and your spouse; separate 
vouchers and payments must be submitted for each filer.

Michigan Department of Treasury (Rev. 11-13)
Issued under authority of Public Act 281 of 1967.

Who Must File Estimated Tax Payments

You must make estimated income tax payments if 
you expect to owe more than $500 when you file 
your 2014 MI-1040 return.

If you owe more than $500, you may not have to 
make estimated payments if you expect your 2014 
withholding to be at least:

•	 �90 percent of your total 2014 tax (qualified 
farmers, fishermen and seafarers use 66 2/3 
percent),

•	 100 percent of your 2013 taxes, or
•	 �110 percent of your total 2013 tax if your 2013 

adjusted gross income is more than $150,000 
($75,000 for married, filing separately).

Total 2013 tax is the amount on your 2013 MI-1040, 
line 21 less the sum of your tax credits on lines 25, 
26, 27b, and 28.

Estimated tax payments are not needed if two-thirds 
of your gross income is from farming, fishing or 
seafaring and you meet the qualifications.

Estimate filing requirements apply whether or not 
you are a Michigan resident.

Do not submit this form for any quarter that you 
do not have estimated tax due.

Payment Due Dates

You may pay in full with the first estimate voucher 
due April 15, 2014. You may also pay in equal 
installments due on or before April 15, 2014, June 
16, 2014, September 15, 2014, and January 15, 2015.

Note: You will not receive reminder notices; save 
this set of forms for all of your 2014 payments.

Where to Mail Your Payment

Make your check payable to “State of Michigan.”  
Print your SSN(s) and “2014 MI-1040ES” on the 
front of your check. If paying on behalf of another 
taxpayer, write the taxpayer’s name and SSN on the 
check. To ensure accurate processing of your return, 
send one check for each return type. Send your 
check with the MI-1040ES form for that installment.  
Do not staple your check to the form.
Send your voucher and check to:

Michigan Department of Treasury
P.O. Box 30774
Lansing, MI 48909-8274

DETACH HERE AND MAIL THE RETURN WITH YOUR PAYMENT. DO NOT FOLD OR STAPLE THE RETURN.
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