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MICHIGAN DEPARTMENT OF TREASURY  

2015 TAX TEXT  

OVERVIEW 
 
The Tax Text manual is prepared by the Michigan Department of Treasury (Treasury) to assist tax 
preparers in understanding Michigan taxes and in preparing tax returns.  In addition to the 
information in this publication, updates are regularly made to Treasury’s Web site to reflect any 
changes in the tax law.  For the most recent guidance, visit www.michigan.gov/taxes. 
 
Treasury continues to review processes and services as part of the planning effort called 
Operational Excellence.  Every area of Treasury is participating in the review in an effort to 
provide better services, better technology to assist our customers, and better training for Treasury 
employees.  Review the latest information on this effort at www.michigan.gov/treasury located 
under “Inside Treasury.” 
 
As part of the effort to provide better services, Treasury is upgrading its business tax systems.  The 
Michigan Treasury Online (MTO) service is currently available for business registration changes.   
 
ADMINISTRATIVE INFORMATION 
Self-Service 
 
Treasury Self-Service offers the most easily accessible (24 hours a day, 7 days a week) and fastest 
way for taxpayers and authorized representatives to check the status of tax returns, get a summary 
of estimated payments, or ask questions about tax accounts.   
 
Treasury has stringent security measures in place for customers to access account information.  
Customers are asked to authenticate by entering a combination of shared secrets for security 
reasons (e.g., Adjusted Gross Income (AGI), Total Household Resources (THR), Household 
Income (HHI), Gross Receipts, Account/Social Security number (SSN), etc.) before information 
can be accessed. 
 
Taxpayers may choose the service they wish to access from either the Individual Income Tax (IIT) 
or business taxes page.  Additional shared secrets may be required depending on the request.  Tax 
preparers should use the Practitioner Web Services at www.michigan.gov/taxes located under “Tax 
Practitioners.” 
 
Individual Income Tax Self-Service 
 
For direct access to IIT account information, call 517-636-4486 or visit Treasury’s Web site at 
www.michigan.gov/iit.  Information available includes: 
 

• Dates of returns currently being processed 
• If and when a refund, credit claim, or energy draft has been issued for the current year 

and three prior years 
• If a refund, credit, or energy draft has been returned to Treasury, direct deposited into 

an account, or offset against a debt 
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• Estimated tax payments 
• Status of a letter sent to Treasury 
• Status of a service request related to the account  
• Tax preparation questions. 

 

Business Taxes Self-Service  
 

For direct access to business tax account information, visit Treasury’s Web site at 
www.michigan.gov/bustax or call 517-636-6925 for SUW taxes (including payroll withholding, 
pension withholding, and flow-through withholding), Michigan Business Tax (MBT), Single 
Business Tax (SBT), Corporate Income Tax (CIT) or Business Tax Registration.  Information 
available includes: 
 

• Tax payments 
• Change of address 
• Information about payments made by Electronic Funds Transfer  
• Request for additional copies of SUW returns 
• Request for additional copies of Sales Tax Licenses 
• Sales Tax License number 
• Status of a letter sent to Treasury 
• Status of returns 
• Status of a service request related to the account  
• Tax preparation questions. 

 
Tax preparers with account specific questions on individual or business accounts should use the 
Practitioner Web Service at www.michigan.gov/taxes.  The services are for tax preparers only.  
This information should not be given to others.  Call 517-373-0616 to obtain a user name and 
password.  When using the Practitioner Hotline or Practitioner Web Services, leave a detailed 
message.  If the inquiry is account specific, an acceptable online disclosure authorization is 
required by Treasury before account information will be shared.  An Authorized Representative 
Declaration (Power of Attorney) (Form 151) or written authorization may also be faxed to 517-
636-5340.  (Refer to the “Disclosure Guidelines” section). 
 
Michigan Treasury Online Services 
 
Businesses have the ability to view and update their account registration information through 
MTO.  Access to this site is gained through a state of Michigan portal.  More information on 
accessing this service can be found at www.michigan.gov/mtobusiness.  Current services include: 
 
Tax Types:  A taxpayer/representative will be allowed to view the taxes for which the account is 
registered.  Taxpayers can also register for a new tax, discontinue any or all tax types, and/or edit 
the estimated monthly payment amount (e.g., to register for a new tax, businesses simply click the 
“new” button and fill in the appropriate fields).  
 
Correspondence:  A user is able to view any outgoing mail from the Michigan Integrated Tax 
Administration System.  Users will not see any correspondence issued from other processes such 
as the Office of Collections.  Selecting the correspondence opens it in a new window in PDF 
format.  If an additional copy of a sales tax license is needed, it is now only a few clicks away. 
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Track Updates:  A confirmation or submission number is given for any submission that is made 
on the account.  Users can check the status of the item to see if it is pending or completed. 
 
New Online Filing and Payment Options in 2015 
 
SUW taxpayers will have online filing and payment options available in 2015.  These enhanced 
services are available for filing periods of January 2015 and later.  Payment history will also be 
available to assist taxpayers in managing their Treasury accounts.  Periods prior to January 2015 
will be unable to use MTO and will need to file using the prior filing method.  Users with a tax 
period that is being serviced by the Office of Collections may access account information at 
www.michigan.gov/treasury by selecting the link for Collections e-Service. 
 

Note: With the availability of online filing and payment services, preprinted SUW forms 
will no longer be generated and mailed.  For further information and updates on 
MTO, visit www.michigan.gov/mtobusiness. 

 
Income Tax Terms Used in Treasury Income Tax Self-Service 
 
Current Tax Year: The current tax year is 2015. 
 

Date Processed:  The date Treasury posted the return to its computer system.  This does not 
indicate the return has been completed. 
 
Completed:  Treasury has completed processing the return. The transaction screen will indicate what 
the taxpayer can expect from Treasury. This includes refund information and whether a refund was 
direct deposited, applied as a credit to the following year, or offset and applied to a debt. 
 
Issued:  A check or Direct Deposit has been issued.  Please allow ten to 14 business days for mail to 
be received.  Direct Deposits can take up to five days from the completed date to post to the taxpayer’s 
account. Verify the refund amount is the amount Treasury has indicated. If the refund amount is not in 
the account after five days, the taxpayer should contact their financial institution. If there is a problem 
with the Direct Deposit, Treasury will normally issue a refund check. 
 
Manual or Pending Review:  By law (Michigan Compiled Law (MCL) 205.28(1)(f)), Treasury 
cannot disclose to anyone why a return has been selected for manual review. Treasury has established 
procedures for selecting returns for manual review both to protect taxpayers and to ensure appropriate 
amounts are being refunded.  If a taxpayer’s return has been selected for review, additional time for 
processing is required. 
 
Pending Response:  Treasury is unable to complete the return without additional information from 
the taxpayer. It could take an additional 12 weeks from the date a response is received by Treasury for 
the return to be completed.  If more than 12 weeks have passed, contact Practitioner Web Services. 
 
State Debt or Third-Party Debt:  If Self-Service indicates a refund was used to pay a “State debt 
or third-party debt,” it could take three to four months (depending on the type of debt) for the refund 
amount to be applied to the debt.  The message on Self-Service will provide taxpayers with a phone 
number to call and they will also receive a letter. 
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Emergency Refunds or Hardship Cases:  Taxpayers requesting an expedited refund due to a 
hardship situation must provide documentation of foreclosure, eviction, or utility shutoff with their 
requests. 
 
Why Self-Service Might Indicate Treasury Has Not Received an Income Tax Return 
 
Self-Service may indicate an Income Tax return has not been received due to the following reasons: 
 

• SSN provided may not match Treasury records. 
 

• Taxpayer filed an amended return.  Amended returns are reviewed late in the year; they 
should be entered into Treasury’s computer system within eight weeks of receipt. 

 
• Taxpayer’s information is in the process of being posted.  The system is updated once every 

business day.  It is possible to call on Monday and find no record of a taxpayer’s return and 
then call on Tuesday and learn the return posted overnight. 

 
• It can take eight weeks for paper return information to be entered into Treasury’s computer 

system.  If the Web site or Customer Contact number does not state a return has been 
received ten weeks after the return was mailed, contact Practitioner Web Services through 
e-Service.  

 
Note: Timelines are approximate. 
 
E-Registration for Michigan Taxes 
 
One Stop is a fast, easy, and secure way to register a business for taxes in Michigan.  The site 
allows taxpayers to perform a variety of tasks involved in starting and operating a business, 
including applying for permits and licenses.  Businesses must have a Federal Employer 
Identification Number (FEIN) to register and may register for most Michigan business taxes, as 
well as an Unemployment Insurance Agency (UIA) account number, or a Sales Tax License using 
the online e-Registration application at www.michigan.gov/business.   
 
The process is easy, secure, convenient, and faster than registering by mail.  It eliminates the need 
to mail a Registration For Business Taxes (Form 518).  After completing the online application, 
taxpayers will receive a confirmation number for their electronic submission.   
 
Businesses can receive: 
 

• Sales/Use Tax license within seven to ten days. 
• New UIA employer account number within three business days. 

 
One Stop also provides additional information in the FAQs and “Resource Center” sections, which 
can be accessed by selecting these links.  There is also online help throughout the process in the 
form of content-specific help links and pop-up messages. 
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Use e-Registration when starting a new business that will engage in any of the following activities: 
 

• Sell or lease tangible personal property in Michigan to the final consumer 
• Will owe SUW, Motor Fuel, CIT, MBT, IIT, or Tobacco taxes 
• Will have employees performing services in Michigan 
• Will have employees working in Michigan 
• Submit notice of change of entity type for an existing business or when acquiring all or 

any part of the assets, organization, trade, or business of an existing business having 
employees in Michigan.   

 

Note:  A taxpayer cannot continue to use the FEIN of a prior owner; the taxpayer 
must register for their own FEIN. 

 
Do not use e-Registration to register if the business has previously mailed a paper copy of Form 
518 to Treasury. 
 
Begin the process by setting up a User Account.  Business representatives can create their own 
User Accounts enabling them to complete and store multiple applications.  Completed tax 
registration applications will be stored for viewing for 30 days; incomplete applications will be 
stored for six months. 
 

DISCLOSURE GUIDELINES 

Treasury employees are bound by disclosure laws as stated in Michigan Compiled Law [MCL 
205.28(1)(f)] and the federal penal code.  Employees of the Michigan Accounts Receivable 
Collection System (MARCS), an agency under contract with Treasury, are bound by the same 
disclosure requirements as Treasury employees.  The law prohibits the disclosure of confidential 
tax information to any person other than the taxpayer of record, unless the taxpayer authorizes the 
disclosure of their information to another individual. 
 
Acceptable disclosure authorizations are: 
 

• For businesses, adding an authorization at MTO which is accessed through the One 
Stop Web site.  

• Form 151. 
• Copy of Internal Revenue Service (IRS) Form 2848 Power of Attorney and Declaration 

of Representative if modified to reference Michigan tax return information. 
• Checking the authorization box on the Michigan income tax return(s) (only information 

on the return will be discussed with the tax preparer). 
• Written consent with taxpayer’s signature. 
• Verbal/implied consent (e.g., conference call, interpreter, translator). 
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Form 151 is available on Treasury’s Web site at www.michigan.gov/taxes, by calling 517-
636-4486, or by writing to: 
 
   Michigan Department of Treasury 
   P.O. Box 30757 
   Lansing, MI 48909 
 
Direct disclosure related inquiries by calling 517-636-4239, faxing 517-636-5340, or by writing 
to: 
 
   Michigan Department of Treasury 
   Office of Privacy and Security 
   Disclosure Unit 
   430 W. Allegan 
   Lansing, MI 48922 

 

IDENTITY THEFT 
Both the IRS and Treasury have seen an increase in the number of identity theft returns being filed 
by individuals using stolen identities or false SSNs.  Unfortunately, legitimate filers’ returns are 
often received after the fraudulent return, which can slow down the issuance of accurate refunds 
claimed by the “legitimate” filer.  Indicators of fraud are: 
 

• Upon filing, the legitimate taxpayer receives a message that the return has already been 
filed, either by letter (if a paper return is filed) or by the transmitter of an electronically 
filed return. 

 
• An original return filed by the legitimate taxpayer is processed as an amended return, 

even though the original return (ID theft return) reports different figures.   
 
• The refund return is processed as a tax due return because of a previous refund issued 

on the fraudulent return. 
 

• The legitimate taxpayer receives a refund they did not request or a letter of inquiry from 
Treasury about a return they did not file. 

 
If a taxpayer or a preparer’s client receives any indication that the original return is rejected as a 
duplicate or an amended or tax due return, please submit any information requested by Treasury.  
Treasury will request items of documentation such as W-2 statements, drivers’ licenses or state-
issued identification cards, and any information provided to the filer by the IRS to verify the valid 
return.  Do not send originals when submitting documents to Treasury for review. 
 
Refer to Treasury’s Web site for additional information at www.michigan.gov/taxes. 
 

  



7 

TAXPAYER RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES 
Treasury employees comply with Michigan law by providing: 
 

• Prompt, fair, and courteous service 
• Confidentiality 
• Timely processing of returns 
• Copies of tax returns and related documents from a taxpayer’s file. 
 

If Treasury fails to provide these services, taxpayers have the right to file a complaint. Taxpayers 
should note the name of the person they dealt with so the complaint can be handled properly.  It is 
the taxpayer’s responsibility to: 
 

• File returns on time with the correct payment (if necessary) 
• Make sure returns are correct, no matter who prepares them. 

 
The Billing Process 
 

If Treasury believes additional tax is owed, the following actions will be taken: 
 

1. A letter is sent stating the amount due and why it is due. If the taxpayer agrees with the 
amount due, it should be paid immediately. If the taxpayer has questions or is in 
disagreement with the amount due, they should contact Treasury right away using the 
address or telephone number listed in the letter. 

 
2. If the taxpayer does not respond to the letter or if their response does not resolve the 

matter, then Treasury issues a Notice of Intent to Assess.  If the taxpayer disagrees with 
the amount due, they may request an informal conference within 60 days of this notice 
(refer to The Appeals Process section). 

 
3. If an informal conference is not sought or if the Notice of Intent to Assess is upheld in 

the informal conference, Treasury will issue a Final Assessment (Bill for Taxes Due).  A 
Final Assessment may be appealed to the Michigan Tax Tribunal (MTT) within 35 days 
of the Notice or the Michigan Court of Claims within 90 days of the Notice (refer to The 
Appeals Process section). 

 
Payment of the Additional Tax 
 

1. Payments may be made at any time during the billing process. If all the taxes due cannot 
be paid, contact the Office of Collections at the telephone number on the notice to request 
an installment agreement. 
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2. Payment must be made within 35 days of the Final Assessment.  If full payment is not 
made, the following actions may be taken by Treasury (whether or not there is an 
installment agreement): 

 
• Intercept paychecks or levy bank accounts  
 
• Place liens on home, business, or personal property to protect the State’s interest 

as a creditor 
 
• Refer the account to Treasury Field staff or MARCS to actively pursue 

collection of the debt 
 
• Intercept any money the State owes a taxpayer (such as an income tax refund) 

and apply it to the debt 
 

• Apply penalty and interest for as long as there is a tax balance (all payments are 
applied first to interest, then to penalty, then to tax). 

 
Jeopardy Assessments for Extreme Cases 
 
If, at any time, Treasury believes a taxpayer plans to sell remove, and/or hide property to avoid 
seizure, a jeopardy assessment will be issued making the tax immediately due and payable, and 
lien(s) will be issued to freeze assets. This means the taxpayer will not be able to withdraw money 
from bank accounts or transfer the title of any property. If a taxpayer wishes to sell property, 
Treasury will send a representative to the sale to accept payment of the liability. The actions of 
levy and jeopardy assessment are severe.  Give prompt attention to resolving a debt when 
contacted. 
 
Refunds 
 
Income tax refund claims filed on or before the applicable due date that are accurate and complete 
are usually processed by June 1.  Interest is added to the refund beginning 45 days after the claim 
is filed, or 45 days after the due date established by law for filing the return, whichever is later. 
 

1. Taxpayers have four years from the date the original return is due to claim a refund. 
 
2. Filing a tax return that shows an overpayment is a claim for refund.  A claim for refund 

can be made on an original return, an amended return, or by filing a petition with 
Treasury. 
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3. If Treasury disagrees with a claimed refund, the taxpayer will receive a statement 
explaining the reason the refund amount is different.  For adjustments to IIT and 
CIT/MBT returns, letters will include line changes to assist taxpayers in understanding 
adjustments.  If a taxpayer disagrees with the adjustment, they may request an Informal 
Conference by writing to the Hearings Division within 60 days of the date on the notice 
of refund adjustment or denial, or seek relief in the MTT within 35 days, or file suit 
within 90 days in the Court of Claims (refer to The Appeals Process section). 

 
Refund Different Than Expected 
 

Treasury will send a statement explaining the reason the refund amount is different than expected.  
For adjustments to IIT and CIT/MBT returns, letters will include line changes to assist taxpayers 
in understanding adjustments.  If a taxpayer disagrees with the adjustment, they may request an 
informal conference by writing to Treasury within 60 days of the date on the refund statement. 
 
The Appeals Process 
 
Taxpayers are provided with several forums to appeal determinations of Treasury.  The time 
periods for exercising these opportunities are set forth in statute and the failure to timely exercise 
a right to appeal may result in the denial of an appeal without consideration of its merits. 
 
Assessments, orders, or decisions of Treasury are appealable to the MTT within 35 days or to the 
Michigan Court of Claims within 90 days of the assessment, decision or order.  The discussion 
presented here addresses a taxpayer’s appeal rights for the most common type of disputes which 
are: 
 

• Efforts by Treasury to seek additional tax (see Billing Process section), and  
• Refund denials including adjustments to refunds (see Refunds section).  

 
Informal Conference 
 
An Informal Conference is available to a taxpayer who has received a Notice of Intent to Assess 
or a notice of refund denial or adjustment.  As the name suggests, the Informal Conference is 
informal.  There is no fee and a taxpayer may be assisted by any person of their choosing by filing 
Form 151.  No form is needed if the assisting person appears with the taxpayer. 
 
A taxpayer may seek an Informal Conference by serving a written notice to Treasury within 60 
days of the date of the Notice of Intent to Assess or notice of refund denial or adjustment.  If the 
60-day deadline is near and a taxpayer needs additional time to gather information, they should 
immediately send a request for more time.  This will preserve the right to an Informal Conference.  
Additional information may be sent at a later date. 
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A written request should include: 
 

• A statement explaining that an Informal Conference is being requested 
• The taxpayer’s name 
• The taxpayer’s SSN or FEIN for a business 
• A brief explanation of the taxpayer’s position 
• Copies of any documents that support the taxpayer’s position, and 
• A copy of the notification received by the taxpayer. 

 
Written requests for Informal Conferences are received only by U.S. mail or facsimile.  E-mail 
and telephone requests are not accepted. 
 
Send the Informal Conference request to: 
 

Michigan Department of Treasury 
Hearings Division 
430 W. Allegan St. 
Lansing, MI 48922 
Fax: 517-636-4115 

 
Treasury will respond to all requests for an Informal Conference.  The response will indicate if the 
request was received within the 60-day timeframe and qualifies for an Informal Conference.  The 
response may also provide an additional explanation of the adjustment to the refund or ask for 
additional information from the taxpayer.  If the request for an Informal Conference is not made 
within the 60-day timeframe, a taxpayer will not receive an Informal Conference.   
 
Michigan Tax Tribunal (MTT) 
 
Taxpayers may appeal a Final Assessment or a refund denial or adjustment by filing an appeal 
with the MTT within 35 days of the date of a Final Assessment or a notice of refund adjustment 
or denial.  Appeal of a Final Assessment to the MTT requires that any uncontested portion be paid. 
Contact MTT at:  
 

Michigan Tax Tribunal 
P.O. Box 30232 

Lansing, MI  48909 
 

Court of Claims 
 
Taxpayers may appeal a Final Assessment or a refund denial or adjustment by filing suit in the 
Court of Claims within 90 days of the date of a Notice of Final Assessment or notice of refund 
adjustment or denial.  Appeal of a Final Assessment requires that the full amount of the assessment 
be paid and the matter proceed as a claim for refund. 
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Contact information for the Court of Claims District Office is available at www.courts. 
mi.gov/courts/coc. 
 
This overview represents the most common appeal paths for taxpayers.  For more information on 
appeals visit www.michigan.gov/taxpayerrights. 
 
Offer in Compromise Program 
 
Treasury is providing an Offer-In-Compromise program beginning January 1, 2015.  This program 
will allow taxpayers to submit an offer to compromise a tax debt for less than the amount due 
based on one or more of these specific criteria: 
 

• A doubt exists as to the liability based on evidence provided by the taxpayer. 
• A doubt exists as to the collectability of the tax due based on the taxpayer’s financial 

condition. 
• A federal offer-in-compromise has been given for the same tax year(s). 

 
To submit an offer-in-compromise, all of the following must be true: 
 

• The taxpayer must have filed returns for all tax periods. 
• The taxpayer must have been assessed and the time period for all appeals must have 

expired. 
• The taxpayer must have no open bankruptcy proceedings. 

 
When submitting an offer-in-compromise taxpayers must submit a non-refundable initial offer 
payment of $100.00 or 20% of the offer, whichever is greater, and use the official Department of 
Treasury forms and schedules found on the Web site at www.michigan.gov/oic. 
 
Treasury Reporting Requirements 
 
Treasury is required by law (MCL 205.23a(2)) to publish on its Web site a written report of each 
accepted offer-in-compromise. 
 
Treasury is also required by law (MCL 205.23a(5)) to, upon request, disclose return information 
to members of the general public for the extent necessary to permit inspection of any accepted 
offer-in-compromise relating to the liability for a tax imposed by the State of Michigan. 
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ADMINISTRATIVE DISPUTE RESOLUTION 
Treasury makes every effort to resolve taxpayer account problems/disputes at the lowest possible 
level.  If a taxpayer has been unsuccessful in resolving a problem through normal channels, they 
should contact the Office of Taxpayer Advocate.  The Taxpayer Advocate is charged with prompt 
resolution of disputes, including return problems, billing issues, and collection disputes.  The 
Taxpayer Advocate represents the interests of individual taxpayers, business taxpayers, and the 
taxpaying public in the policy and operations areas.  The Problem Resolution Office (PRO) is an 
adjunct to the Office of Taxpayer Advocate. 
 
Tax preparers receive priority service from the PRO.  They can contact the PRO by telephone 
through the Practitioner Hotline and leave a voice mail, or online through Practitioner Web 
Services.  This ensures immediate acknowledgment of the tax preparer’s inquiry.  Tax preparers 
must not give the telephone number, user ID, and password to their clients.  
 
Contact information for these areas includes: 
 

Michigan Department of Treasury 
Office of the Taxpayer Advocate 

Lansing, MI 48922 
Fax:  517-636-0640 

 
Practitioner Hotline (Not for Public Use) 517-373-0616 
Practitioner Web Services (Not for Public Use) www.michigan.gov/taxes 

 

FORMS 
Availability of Tax Forms 
 
Current and prior year forms are available on Treasury’s Web site at www.michigan.gov/taxes.  
 
Address mail orders to: 
 

Michigan Department of Treasury 
Tax Processing Bureau 

P.O. Box 30757 
Lansing, MI 48909 

 
Use personalized forms whenever possible.  Personalized forms ensure the correct account is 
credited.  Personalized forms are coded with the taxpayer’s SSN(s) or account numbers (FEIN, 
Michigan Establishment (ME), or Treasury-assigned (TR) numbers) and are specifically assigned 
to taxpayers and optically scanned.  Never copy personalized forms for someone else’s use and do 
not use prior year forms.  This can result in payments being credited to an incorrect account or the 
incorrect tax year. 
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PENALTY AND INTEREST 
The Revenue Act’s provisions for penalty and interest are as follows: 
 
 Penalties and Interest Imposed 
 Under the Revenue Act 
 (Public Act 122 of 1941, as Amended) 
 

Section 
No.     Condition Provision 

 
19(3) Nonnegotiable remittance $50 

 
21(4) Frivolous protest $25 or 25% of the tax due, whichever is 

greater 
 

23(2) Interest 1% above the prime interest rate to be 
adjusted on January 1 and July 1 of each 
year 
 

23(3) Negligence 10% of the deficiency (minimum $10) 
 

23(4) Intentional disregard of the law 
 

25% of the deficiency (minimum $25) 
 

23(5) Civil fraud 100% of the deficiency 
 

24(2) Failure or refusal to file a return 5% of the tax due for the first two months, 
then 5% per month of the tax due 
(maximum 25%) 
 

24(2) Failure or refusal to pay a tax 5% of the tax due for the first two months, 
then 5% per month of the tax due 
(maximum 25%) 
 

24(5) Failure or refusal to file an 
informational return 
 

$10 per day (maximum $400) 

30 Interest on refund returns 1% above the prime interest rate to be 
adjusted on January 1 and July 1 of each 
year 
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Criminal Penalties and Interest Imposed 
Under the Revenue Act 

(Public Act 122 of 1941, as Amended) 
 
Section 
  No.  Condition Provision 
 
27(2) False or fraudulent return or false 

statement in return 
Felony (maximum fine of $5,000, 
imprisonment for not more than five 
years, or both) 
 

27(1)(b)(c) Aid, abet, or assist another in 
attempt to evade the payment of 
a tax, or part of a tax, or file false 
claim for credit or refund, either 
in whole or in part 
 

Felony (maximum fine of $5,000, 
imprisonment for not more than five 
years, or both) 

27(3) Perjury (a person knowingly 
swears to or verifies a false or 
fraudulent return or a return 
containing a false or fraudulent 
statement, with the intent to aid, 
abet, or assist in defrauding the 
State) 
 

Fines and/or imprisonment as 
provided under the general provisions 
of the Michigan Compiled Laws.  
This may be imposed in addition to 
the provisions of Section 27(1) and 
(2) of the Revenue Act. 

27(4) Person is not guilty under 
subsection (2) but knowingly 
violates any other provision of 
the Revenue Act 

Misdemeanor (fine of not more than 
$1,000, or imprisonment for not more 
than one year, or both) 

 
Interest 
 
The interest rate for tax due and refunds is the prime rate plus one percent, adjusted on January 
1 and July 1.  Interest on refunds is computed from 45 days after the return is filed or 45 days 
after the due date of the return, whichever is later.  (Refer to the most current Revenue 
Administrative Bulletin (RAB) on Treasury’s Web site at www.michigan.gov/treasury or 
www.michigan.gov/ taxes). 
 
Waiver of Penalty 
 
The Revenue Act governs the penalty on tax due.  The taxpayer has the option to request waiver 
of penalty, and Treasury will grant a waiver if the taxpayer demonstrates reasonable cause 
existed which prevented timely payment of the tax due.  Examples of reasonable cause are: death 
or serious illness of the taxpayer or the individual primarily responsible for filing returns and 
making tax payments; extenuating circumstances (e.g., fire, theft, or criminal acts against the 
taxpayer; or misapplication of payments by Treasury).  Lack of funds or poor bookkeeping 
practices do not constitute reasonable cause for waiving penalty. 
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All requests for waiver of penalty must be made in writing and must explain why the waiver is 
being requested.  Requests for waiver of penalty should be directed to the Tax Processing Bureau 
for consideration. 
 

INTERCEPTING REFUNDS 
The Revenue Act requires Treasury to intercept any monies due to a taxpayer and to apply those 
funds to outstanding tax debts or certain other State debts.  Treasury will intercept and apply tax 
refunds, overpayments from assessments, and vendor payments.  Tax debts or money owed to 
other agencies such as Department of Health and Human Services, Department of Community 
Health, or Friend of the Court are collected by Treasury, as are defaulted student loans.  Treasury 
also receives court orders for garnishment of tax refunds, which requires Treasury to intercept tax 
refunds and send those monies to the garnishing agency.  If the taxpayer files jointly and their 
spouse is not liable for the debt, the taxpayer will receive a form which allows the nonobligated 
spouse to compute and claim their portion of the tax refund. 
 

WEB SITE 
Treasury’s Web sites www.michigan.gov/treasury and www.michigan.gov/taxes offer information 
about property taxes, unclaimed/abandoned property, revenue taxes, local governments, and 
investments.  RABs, tax forms, statutes, court cases, FAQs on a number of issues, and contact 
names and numbers may also be found by visiting the Web sites. 
 

CONTACT NUMBERS 
For answers to specific tax questions, call the appropriate number listed below: 
 
 Business Taxes (including Corporate Income Tax, 
 Michigan Business Tax, Single Business Tax) 517-636-6925 
 Income Tax  517-636-4486 
 Motor Fuel Tax  517-636-4600 
 Motor Carrier Tax 517-636-4580 
 Sales, Use, and Withholding Taxes 517-636-6925 
 Tobacco and Cigarette Taxes 517-636-4630 
 
Assistance is available using TTY through the Michigan Relay Service by calling 1-800-649-3777 
or 711.  Printed material in an alternate format may be obtained by calling 517-636-4486. 
 
For assessments, payments, and/or payment arrangements, contact Office of Collections at 517-
636-5265. 
 
Contact List on Web 
 
The Treasury Contact List is available on Treasury’s Web sites at www.michigan.gov/treasury and 
www.michigan.gov/taxes.  This list is updated as changes occur. 
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Protect Your Privacy 
 
Because the Internet is not a secure environment, never send confidential information (e.g., SSNs, 
tax account numbers) over the Internet.  To further protect taxpayers’ privacy, Treasury will not 
send sensitive or confidential information over the Internet in response to e-mail inquiries.  To 
receive a response to an account-specific issue, use the “Ask Treasury a Question” option in the 
Self-Service section of the Web site at www.michigan.gov/iit or www.michigan.gov/bustax. 
 
To ensure the privacy of account information, mail inquiries (via U.S. mail) to the appropriate tax 
or administrative division at Michigan Department of Treasury, Lansing, Michigan 48922.  Include 
complete name, address, and SSN (or FEIN for businesses). 
 
Treasury is not responsible for the misdirection or misuse of any information which may be 
transmitted via e-mail across the Internet. 
 
HELPFUL INFORMATION 
Calling  
 
Always have the letter, notice of inquiry, notice of adjustment, assessment, etc., available for 
reference.  Always read the entire letter before calling and then call the number provided.  If 
referring to a notice of adjustment that has been faxed, make sure the back of the notice is included.  
The back of the notice of adjustment includes an explanation of all adjustments to the return and/or 
payments. 
 
A phone call does not constitute a response to Treasury letters.  A valid response is mailing the 
documentation requested in the correspondence, along with any necessary explanations.   
 
When calling, please have the following information available: 
 

• Taxpayer’s name and phone number 
• Taxpayer’s TR number, FEIN, or SSN 
• Years for which taxpayer is being contacted 
• Any other pertinent information. 

 
Writing  
 
Always mail a copy of Treasury’s correspondence with the response.  This will help route 
correspondence to the proper person in a timely manner. 
 

• Include TR number, FEIN, or SSN on all correspondence. 
 

• Include daytime telephone number. 
 

• Address correspondence to the name or unit listed on the correspondence. 
 

• If mailing returns, always keep a copy.  Treasury does not mail back original returns. 
 

• Be sure to submit documentation for all the years in question, not just the years for 
which there is a liability. 
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Making a Payment 
 

• Always write TR number, FEIN, or SSN on the check. 
 

• Always indicate the type of tax and the tax year/period being paid (e.g., MBT, CIT, 
IIT, SUW, etc.).  In the event the check gets separated from the return or 
documentation, the payment can be properly applied to the account. 

 
• If submitting multiple returns for one particular tax, one check can be written for the 

total amount due. 
 

• If paying more than one type of tax, it is best to write a separate check for each tax and 
mail the checks to the address indicated on the return.  

 
• Sending a payment without some documentation could cause a lengthy delay in proper 

application of a payment. 
 
Treasury Letters 
 
Treasury sends letters to taxpayers for a variety of reasons.  It is very important for taxpayers to 
read their letters carefully and respond as directed in the letter.  Letters often include information 
on the front and back of the paper.  Some of the more frequent types of letters are: 
 

• Letter of Inquiry: sent requesting additional information if Treasury is unable to 
process a return with the information previously provided.  If a taxpayer receives a 
Letter of Inquiry, respond in writing within 30 days, sending a copy of the original 
letter and all the requested information to the address provided in the letter.  Failure to 
respond or provide all of the information requested may result in the denial or reduction 
of refunds, or additional tax due. 

 
• Letter of Explanation: sent to the taxpayer if the review of a return results in 

adjustments.  If the taxpayer disagrees with the adjustments, they must write to 
Treasury requesting a re-evaluation.  The letter must state why the taxpayer believes 
the adjustments are incorrect and should include documents to support the claim. 

 
Taxpayers should always keep a copy of any correspondence sent to or received from Treasury.  
For questions regarding a letter, call the number provided on the letter or the number for the 
specific tax involved to speak with a customer service representative. 
 
E-mail LISTSERV for Tax Professionals 
 
The Treasury Tax Professionals’ LISTSERV is a free service that disseminates mass e-mail 
messages to all subscribers.  This includes electronic communications on Treasury’s e-file 
programs and other information of interest.  To subscribe to this service or for additional 
information, visit www.MIfastfile.org and select Tax Preparer. 
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SUMMARY OF UNCLAIMED PROPERTY LAW 
Under Michigan’s Uniform Unclaimed Property Act (Public Act 29 of 1995, MCL 567.221, et. 
seq.), holders of unclaimed property are required to report and remit unclaimed property belonging 
to owners whose last known address is in Michigan.  Unknown owner or unknown address 
property must be escheated to the holder’s state of incorporation.  Most businesses, including 
financial institutions, have unclaimed property resulting from normal operations, such as, 
uncashed checks (e.g., payroll, vendor, dividends, etc.), account receivable credit balances, 
unredeemed gift certificates, dormant bank accounts, uncashed money orders and travelers checks, 
unclaimed security deposits, shares of stock and associated dividends, and contents from safe 
deposit boxes.  Businesses must file an annual holder report and remit the property to Treasury, 
Unclaimed Property Division (UPD). 
 
Who Must Report 
 
Every business or government agency holding unclaimed property belonging to someone whose 
last known address is in Michigan must report.  If the holder is incorporated in Michigan and the 
owner’s last known address is unknown or is in another state or country and the holder does not 
report under the provisions of that state or country, then the holder must report those interests to 
Michigan. 
 
What Must Be Reported 
 
Generally, tangible and intangible property belonging to another party that has gone unclaimed for 
a specified period of time is considered unclaimed property and must be reported.  The dormancy 
period for most property types is three years with some exceptions. For example, uncashed payroll 
checks must be turned over after one year of dormancy.  Government agencies must also turn over 
unclaimed property after one year of dormancy.  Visit Treasury’s Web site at 
www.michigan.gov/unclaimedproperty for more information about property types and dormancy 
periods. 
 
Reporting Due Date and Penalty for Noncompliance 
 
All items considered unclaimed as of March 31 must be reported and remitted by July 1 each year.  
Businesses that fail to pay or deliver unclaimed property timely to the State may be liable for: 

 
1. Interest at the current monthly rate of one percentage point above the adjusted prime 

rate on the value of the property from the date the property should have been paid or 
delivered, and/or 

 
2. Penalty of 25 percent of the value of the property that should have been paid or 

delivered. 
 
How to Report 
 
The Manual for Reporting Unclaimed Property and forms required for reporting can be found on 
Treasury’s Web site at www.michigan.gov/unclaimedproperty.  Free holder reporting software is 
also available on the Web to assist holders in reporting unclaimed property.  
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Noncompliance With Unclaimed Property Reporting Requirements 
 
Section 31(2) of the Uniform Unclaimed Property Act gives the State Treasurer the authority to 
conduct unclaimed property examinations (audits) to determine compliance with the Act.  
Unclaimed property audits conducted by Treasury will cover the last ten reporting years and 
penalty and interest will be assessed as a result of the audit. 
 
How Owners Locate Unclaimed Property Reported to the State of Michigan  
 
The Unclaimed Property Web site provides an option to search statewide and nationwide for 
unclaimed property.  Persons or entities may also call the UPD at 517-636-5320.  Twice each year 
the State of Michigan publishes a notice in a statewide newspaper, which provides information on 
the number of new unclaimed properties added since the last publication and how persons and 
entities can search for and claim property that may belong to them.  In addition, the UPD attempts 
to locate owners of unclaimed property through its outreach efforts.   
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INDIVIDUAL INCOME TAX 

  
WHAT’S NEW 
Senate Bill 100 of 2015 (PA 0079 of 2015) 
 
Senate Bill 100 of 2015 (PA 0079 of 2015) was signed into law June 16, 2015.  The law goes into 
effect 90 days after the adjournment of the 2015 legislative session which is scheduled for 
December 17, 2015.  The bill amends the revenue Act to delete a requirement that, in an appeal to 
the Court of Claims, a taxpayer first pay the disputed portion of a tax, including penalties and 
interest, under protest and claim a refund as part of the appeal.  The bill also allows a taxpayer 60 
days to appeal to the Tax Tribunal.  Currently, a taxpayer may appeal an assessment, decision, or 
order of the Department of Treasury to the Tax Tribunal within 35 days, or to the Court of Claims 
within 90 days, after the assessment, decision, or order. 
 
Supreme Court of the United States - Same-Sex Marriage   
 
On June 26, 2015, the Supreme Court of the United States invalidated the Michigan 
Constitution’s definition of marriage.  In  Obergefell et al v Hodges, the Court held that the State’s 
definition of marriage as  the  union of one man and one woman denied same-sex couples the 
benefits of marriage and therefore denied them the equal protection of the law under the 14th 
amendment of the United States Constitution.  As a result, Michigan now recognizes the marriages 
of same-sex spouses.    
 
As of the date of the Court’s decision, same-sex spouses who file Michigan income tax returns and 
who are married under the laws of the State of Michigan or under the laws of another state must 
claim either “married filing jointly” or “married filing separately” status on a Michigan income 
tax return.  If the spouses file a joint federal income tax return, they must also file a joint Michigan 
return.  If the spouses did not file a joint federal return, they may choose to file separately or jointly. 
 
Michigan income tax returns may be amended to claim “married filing jointly” if the same-sex 
spouses choose to do so, but the Department will not require amended returns.  If an amended 
return is filed, refunds will only be issued if the return is filed within 4 years of the date that the 
original return was due.   
 

Employer Provided Same-Sex Spousal Benefits 
 

Recognition of same-sex marriage will prevent the taxation of certain employee benefits for a 
same-sex spouse under the Michigan Income Tax Act.  This guidance does not apply to domestic 
partners or other relationships that do not constitute a state-sanctioned marriage. 
 
Prior to the recognition of same-sex marriage in Michigan, the value of the employer’s share of 
employer-provided health care coverage for a same-sex spouse was included in the employee’s 
Michigan taxable income.  In addition, pre-tax dollars used to pay the employee’s share of health 
premiums for a same-sex spouse were also added to employee’s Michigan taxable income.   
Similarly, pre-tax dollars used to fund a flexible spending account for the benefit of a same-sex 
spouse and dependents of that spouse were added to the employee’s Michigan taxable income. 
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If an employee is married to a same-sex spouse at any time during 2015, an employer should not 
withhold Michigan income tax from an employee’s wages to cover the value of employee benefits for 
the spouse.  If during 2015 an employer has been withholding Michigan tax on the value of the benefits, 
the employer should reduce withholding on the employee’s wages for the rest of the year to correct 
any over withholding.  If a reduction in withholding does not correct the full amount of over 
withholding, the employee may receive a refund of the overpaid withholding through the 2015 
Michigan income tax return.    
 
For tax years before 2015, an employee who was married to a same-sex spouse may seek a refund by 
filing an amended Michigan income tax return to deduct the value of any same-sex spousal benefits 
that were included in Michigan taxable income during that tax year.  For taxpayers with same-sex 
spousal benefits who only had Michigan wages, the value of those benefits will be the difference 
between the amount in box 1 and box 16 of a federal W-2.  If an amended return is filed, it must be 
filed within 4 years of the date the original return was due.  The return may be filed claiming either 
“married filing jointly” or “married filing separately” status. 
 

City of Detroit Individual Income Tax Returns 
 
Treasury will administer City of Detroit individual income tax returns beginning with the 2015 tax 
year returns.  Detroit returns may be e-filed as part of the transmission of the Michigan income tax 
return.  Treasury will administer City of Detroit individual income tax returns beginning with the 2015 
tax year returns.  Detroit returns may be e-field as part of the transmission of the Michigan income tax 
return.  Employers required to withhold Detroit city income tax must remit the withholding to the 
Department beginning with the 2017 calendar year.  For calendar year 2016, employers required to 
withhold Detroit income tax on compensation will continue to remit the withholding payment to the 
City of Detroit. 
 

Business, Rental, and Royalty Activity Worksheet 
 

Treasury has made available a sample worksheet titled Business, Rental, and Royalty Activity 
Worksheet (Worksheet) that allows taxpayers a means to identify the location of Michigan and non-
Michigan business activity and rental activity.  The Worksheet also allows other non-business income 
to be identified as Michigan or non-Michigan.  The Worksheet is a suggested attachment and can be 
used by those who e-file or mail their return.  The Worksheet, or any similar worksheet that identifies 
the type and location of non-Michigan business activity and income, may be attached as a PDF file to 
an e-filed return using the file name “BusinessActivity.pdf.”  The Worksheet or similar worksheet may 
also be attached to any paper filed return.  The Worksheet is not a required attachment, however 
submitting the Worksheet could reduce the need for further correspondence to obtain information 
required to process the return and avoid delays.  The Worksheet can be obtained at 
www.michigan.gov/iit. 
 

MI-1040H Unitary Apportionment Worksheet 
 

Treasury has made available a sample worksheet titled MI-1040H Unitary Apportionment Worksheet 
(Unitary Worksheet) that allows taxpayers to provide the required information when apportioning 
unitary business income.  The Unitary Worksheet, or any similar worksheet that identifies the members 
in the group and shows the combining calculations, may be attached as a PDF file to an e-filed return 
using the file name “UnitaryCalculation.pdf.”  The Unitary Worksheet or similar worksheet may also 
be attached to a paper filed return.  The Unitary Worksheet is not a required attachment, however 
submitting the Unitary Worksheet could reduce the need for further correspondence to obtain 
information required to process the return and avoid delays.  The Unitary Worksheet can be obtained 
at www.michigan.gov/iit.  
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Reminders 
 
e-Payments 
 
Individual Income Tax (IIT) filers have the option of making payments electronically using 
Treasury’s e-Payment system.  Paying electronically is easy, fast, and secure.  The available 
payment types include IIT tax payments (tax due on the Individual Income Tax Return (MI-1040), 
quarterly estimated income tax payments, and individual income tax extension payments.  
Payments can be made using direct debit (eCheck) from a checking or savings account, or credit 
or debit card.  There is no fee for eCheck payments.  Credit and debit payments will be charged a 
convenience fee (2.35 percent of the total payment for credit cards and a flat fee of $3.95 for debit 
cards) which is paid directly to the payment processing vendor.  Visit www.michigan.gov/iit for 
more information. 
 
Pension Benefits 
 
Individuals born in 1946, 1947, and 1948 who have reached age 67 may be eligible for a 
subtraction of $20,000 for single filers, or $40,000 for joint filers against all income, rather than 
solely against pension and retirement income.  (See Pension and Retirement Benefits section for 
additional information and limitations.) 
 
Individuals who reach age 62 in 2015 (born in 1953) who receive pension benefits from 
employment with governmental agencies not covered by the  Social Security Act, may be eligible 
for a $15,000 pension subtraction or $30,000 if both spouses on a jointly filed return received 
pension benefits from employment with an uncovered governmental agency. 
 

FORMS 
Individual Income Tax Forms 
 
Most IIT forms are designed for electronic scanning, which permits faster processing with fewer 
errors.  The IIT Instruction Booklet contains information on how to correctly complete scannable 
forms to avoid unnecessary delays caused by manual processing. 
 
Direct Deposit of Michigan income tax refunds is available.  Information required for requesting 
the Direct Deposit of a refund is in the IIT Instruction Booklet. 
 
Direct Deposit is only available when the State is issuing a refund and only on the first return filed 
each year.  The Home Heating Credit Program sends the credit in the form of an Energy Draft 
directly to the energy provider or to the claimant.  Only a claimant whose heat is included in rent 
should use Direct Deposit of Refund (Form 3174). 
 
Substitute Forms Must Be Approved 
 
Before releasing software to tax preparers, software developers must submit forms for review and 
receive official approval from Forms, Documentation and E-file Services.  Approvals are granted 
for one year only.   
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Substitute forms filed with Treasury that are not approved will be returned to the taxpayer. 
 
Tax forms are available on the Treasury Web site at www.michigan.gov/taxes. 
 
Mailing Addresses 
 

All paper-filed individual returns should be mailed to the following addresses: 
 

MI-1040: 
 
For refund, credit, or zero returns:  
 

Michigan Department of Treasury 
Lansing, MI  48956 

 
To pay tax due: 

Michigan Department of Treasury 
Lansing, MI  48929 

 
MI-1040CR-7: 
 

Michigan Department of Treasury 
Lansing, MI  48956 

 
FEDERAL/STATE AND STATE STANDALONE  
ELECTRONIC FILING PROGRAM 
Nearly 100 million people nationwide know electronic filing (e-filing) is the way to 
go!  Over 3.8 million Michigan taxpayers choose to e-file their tax returns.  Thank 
you for making e-file a success. 
 
Tax preparers who complete 11 or more IIT returns are required to e-file all eligible returns.  
Software developers producing tax preparation software or computer-generated forms must 
support e-file for all Michigan and City of Detroit IIT forms that are included in the software 
package. 
 
Ninety-five percent of Michigan taxpayers can e-file their State and federal tax returns.  Taxpayers 
who choose e-file will continue to receive faster refunds.  The software checks the computations 
before transmission, eliminating data entry mistakes by the filer or data capture process.  Treasury 
also acknowledges receipt of transmitted data within 48 hours from when filed or federal 
acknowledgment received, overcoming concerns of paper returns being lost in the mail or 
misplaced.  When e-filing federal, State and City of Detroit returns together, much of the same 
data is used so information is entered only once, again lessening the possibility of error. 
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There are many benefits to tax preparers who participate in the e-file program: 
 

• Expanded services offered.  E-file is a valuable addition to a tax preparer’s list of client 
services, which can mean more clients.  In addition, prospective clients can find an 
authorized e-file provider at www.IRS.gov. 

 
• Faster refunds for e-file returns.  E-filed returns are processed faster than paper 

returns.  Allow 14 days before checking the status of the Michigan e-filed return by 
visiting www.michigan.gov/iit and clicking on Check My Income Tax Info.  Clients can 
also choose Direct Deposit and have their State refund deposited directly into their 
account at the financial institution of their choice.  Clients can check the status of their 
City of Detroit e-filed return by visiting www.michigan.gov/citytax. 

 
• Improved return accuracy.  Treasury processes the same data the tax preparer enters 

into the computer.  Treasury computers automatically check returns for mistakes.  When 
easy-to-fix mistakes like math errors or missing forms are found, the return is sent back 
for correction.  The error can then be fixed and sent back to Treasury which prevents a 
simple mistake from holding up a refund. 

 
• Detailed error conditions.  Modernized e-File (MeF) business rules pinpoint the 

location of the error in the return and provide complete information in the 
acknowledgement file that is passed back to the transmitter.  MeF business rules use 
simple wording to clarify each error that triggers a rejection.  Treasury will provide up 
to ten business rule errors per return submission. 

 
• Increased customer satisfaction.  Only tax preparers and their client see the return.  

Tax information is encrypted and transmitted directly to the Internal Revenue Service 
(IRS) and Michigan.  Also, an acknowledgment is sent to verify the return was received 
and accepted for processing. 

 
• Prior year returns.  Michigan tax returns for 2013, 2014, and 2015 will be accepted 

during the 2016 processing year.  Beginning in January 2016, Michigan will begin 
accepting and processing 2015 City of Detroit tax returns. 

 
• PDF attachments.  MeF accepts Portable Document Format (PDF) attachments with 

e-filed returns.  Refer to the Michigan Tax Preparer Handbook for 1040 Modernized 
e-File (MeF) for more information on attachments that will be accepted by Michigan. 
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How Fed/State (Linked) Electronic Filing Works 
 
Tax preparers and transmitters accepted into the IRS Fed/State 1040 MeF Program may file federal 
and/or State returns together in one transmission to the IRS Service Center.  Beginning in tax year 
2015, a Michigan income tax return may also include a 2015 Detroit city income tax return for 
taxpayers who e-file.  The State submission can be linked to the IRS submission by including the 
IRS Submission ID of the federal return.  If the State submission is linked to an IRS submission 
(also referred to as the Fed/State return), the IRS will check to see if there is an accepted IRS 
submission ID.  If there is not an accepted federal return, the IRS will deny the State submission 
and a rejection acknowledgment will be sent to the transmitter.  Treasury has no knowledge that 
the State return was denied (rejected) by the IRS.  If there is an accepted federal return under the 
Submission ID, the IRS will perform minimal validation on the State submission.  The State data 
will then be made available for retrieval by Treasury.  After the State data is retrieved, it will be 
acknowledged and, if accepted, processed by Treasury. 
 
Treasury will acknowledge receipt of all returns retrieved from the IRS. The transmitter should 
receive the Michigan acknowledgment within three days from the date the return is successfully 
transmitted to the IRS.  
 

Note: The IRS recommends sending the IRS Submission first and, after it has been 
accepted, sending the state submission. 

 
How State Standalone (Unlinked) Electronic Filing Works 
 
The federal return does not have to be e-filed and accepted before e-filing the state standalone 
return.  However, the federal tax return should be computed before computing the state tax return. 
 
Tax preparers and transmitters accepted in the IRS e-file program may participate in the state 
standalone e-file program when supported by their software.  The IRS will perform minimal 
validation on the state return and issue an acknowledgment.  If the return passes validation, the 
state data will be made available for retrieval by Treasury.  After the data is retrieved, it will be 
acknowledged and, if accepted, processed by Treasury. 
 
When filing a Michigan return that includes City of Detroit forms, an error occurring in either the 
State or City forms will cause the entire submission (State and City) to be rejected. 
 

Note: All returns, whether e-filed or paper-filed, are subject to Treasury audit and can be 
delayed regardless of the acknowledgment code received.  Returns are processed and 
refunds are issued daily. 
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Who May Participate 
 
E-filing of Michigan returns is available to all individuals who have been accepted into the IRS 
e-file program and who transmit returns to an IRS Service Center.  The IRS mandates preparers 
filing 11 or more IIT returns to e-file those returns, with minor exceptions.  Michigan would expect 
any preparer e-filing federal returns to also e-file the Michigan returns. 
 

Application and Acceptance Process 
 
To participate, applicants must first apply to the IRS and be accepted.  Individuals must register 
with IRS e-Services and create a new (or revised) IRS e-file application.  Individuals can contact 
IRS e-help toll-free at 1-866-255-0654 for assistance. 
 
Publication 3112 IRS e-file Application and Participation specifies the application process and 
requirements for federal participation.  The definitions used by the IRS of the various categories 
of electronic filers, Electronic Return Originators (EROs), transmitters, or software developers 
also apply for Michigan e-filing purposes.   
 
Once accepted into the IRS e-file program, participation in Michigan’s e-file program is automatic.  
Michigan will use the Electronic Filer Identification Number (EFIN) assigned by the IRS.  
Michigan does not assign additional identification numbers. 
 
IRS regulations require paid tax preparers to use Preparer Tax Identification Numbers (PTINs) for 
all tax returns and refund claims.  Visit the IRS Web site at www.irs.gov for more information. 
 
To participate in Michigan e-file programs, e-filers must use software that has successfully 
completed the IRS and Michigan Assurance Testing System (ATS).  Confirm that the software 
chosen has been approved for Michigan and that the Michigan e-file program is operational before 
transmitting returns. 
 
If, after acceptance, a tax preparer/transmitter or software company has production problems, 
Treasury reserves the right to suspend that tax preparer or software company until the problems 
are resolved to Treasury’s satisfaction. 
 

Treasury may conduct a suitability check on applicants who have been accepted in the Fed/State 
e-file program.  Participation in the program may be denied if a company is not registered to 
conduct business in Michigan, or if there is an outstanding tax liability with Michigan. 
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A list of approved software companies is available on Treasury’s Web site.  Tax preparers are not 
required to file test returns with Michigan. 
 
Michigan Portion of the Electronic Return 
 
The Michigan portion of an electronic return consists of data transmitted electronically and the 
supporting paper documents.  The paper documents contain information that cannot be transmitted 
electronically. 
 
Electronic Michigan Returns 
 
Michigan e-file supports the following forms and schedules: 
 

Form Title 
3174 Direct Deposit of Refund 

4013 Resident Tribal Member Annual Sales Tax Credit 

4642 Voluntary Contributions Schedule 

4884 Pension Schedule

4973 Pension Continuation Schedule

4976 Home Heating Credit Claim MI-1040CR-7 Supplemental

5049 Married Filing Separately and Divorced or Separated Claimants Schedule 

MI-1040 Individual Income Tax Return 

MI-1040CR Homestead Property Tax Credit Claim 

MI-1040CR-2 Homestead Property Tax Credit Claim for Veterans and Blind People 

MI-1040CR-5 Farmland Preservation Tax Credit Claim 

MI-1040CR-7 Home Heating Credit Claim 

MI-1040D Adjustments of Capital Gains and Losses 

MI-1040H Schedule of Apportionment (e-file limited to six occurrences)

MI-2210 Underpayment of Estimated Income Tax 

MI-4797 Adjustments of Capital Gains and Losses from Sales of Business Property 

MI-8949 Sales and Other Dispositions of Capital Assets 

Schedule 1 Additions and Subtractions 

Schedule CR-5 Schedule of Taxes and Allocation to Each Agreement 

Schedule NR Nonresident and Part-Year Resident 

5118 City Resident Income Tax Return 

5119  City Nonresident Income Tax Return 

5120  City Part-Year Resident Income Tax Return 

5121 City Withholding Tax Schedule (City Schedule W) 

5253 City Withholding Tax Schedule Continuation Schedule 

 

Notes: Information from the W-2 and 1099 forms is entered in the 
software and transmitted with the e-file return.  Do not mail W-
2 and/or 1099 forms to Treasury.  All W-2 and 1099 information, 
when applicable, is required when submitting a state standalone 
return. 

 
When the following forms are included, the MI-1040 can be e-filed, but the following forms must 
be mailed to the address indicated on the form. 
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Form Title 
4* Application for Extension of Time to File Michigan Tax Returns 

MI-1045 Application for Michigan Net Operating Loss Refund 

MI-1310 Claim for Refund Due a Deceased Taxpayer  

MI-1040ES* Michigan Estimated Individual Income Tax Voucher 

 
* If the taxpayer makes either the extension payment or estimated payments 

electronically, there is no need to mail each of the identified forms to Treasury.  
 

Note: Michigan will accept e-file returns for deceased taxpayers.  If a 
U.S. 1310 is required, that data must be included within the 
federal folder of the Michigan e-file return.  When e-filing on 
behalf of a single, deceased taxpayer, with a balance due federal 
return and a refund Michigan return, the Michigan return can 
be e-filed and the U.S. 1310 or the MI-1310 (and required 
documents) included as a PDF attachment when supported by 
the software or mailed to Treasury. 

 
Following is a list of IIT forms, line references, and filing conditions where PDF attachments are 
accepted by Michigan: 
 

Form Line Description File Name Required 
State Returns  Power of Attorney POA.pdf No 

 

City Returns  Power of Attorney CityPOA.pdf No 
 

All Returns  MI-1310 MI-1310.pdf No 
 

MI-1040 18 Other State Returns OtherStateReturn.pdf No 
 

MI-1040 26 Worksheet to allow claimants to 
identify percentages they are allowed to 
claim for a farmland preservation tax 
credit. 
 

FarmlandK1.pdf No 

MI-1040CR 
MI-1040CR-2 
MI-1040CR-7 
 

10 
10 
 

Property Tax Statement PropertyTaxStatement.pdf No 

MI-1040CR 
MI-1040CR-2 
MI-1040CR-7 

22 
21 
24 
 

Custodial Party End of  
Year Statement 

FEN851.pdf No 

Schedule 1 
Schedule NR 
 

 Business Activity Worksheet BusinessActivity.pdf No 

Schedule 1 11 Claiming a subtraction of taxable 
railroad retirement benefits.  This can 
include income from the RRB-1099 
and/or RRB-1099R. 
 

RRB1099R.pdf No 

Schedule 1 22 Claiming subtraction for federal 
Schedule R but not required to include 
Schedule R with federal return. 

FedSchR.pdf No 
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Form Line Description File Name Required 
MI-1040H 12 Unitary Calculation UnitaryCalculation.pdf No 

 

5119 Part 5 Finance Director Approval 
Letter 
 

ApprovalLetter.pdf Yes 

5121 Part 3 Employer Letter and Work Log EmployerLetterAndWorkLog.pdf No 

 

Note: Michigan will accept e-file returns for deceased taxpayers.  If a US 1310 is 
required, that data must be included within the federal folder of the Michigan 
e-file return.  When e-filing on behalf of a deceased single taxpayer with a 
balance due federal return and refund Michigan return, the Michigan return can 
be e-filed and the US 1310 or form MI-1310 (required documents) included as a 
PDF attachment when supported by the software or mailed to Michigan. 

 
The taxpayer is not eligible for e-file for the 2015 tax year if: 
 

Form Line Description 

Various  Filing federal returns or forms excluded in MeF 
 

All Michigan forms 
 

 Prior year return(s) for tax year 2012 or prior. 

MI-1040 19 Claiming the Historic Preservation Tax Credit (Form 3581). 
 

Schedule 1 24 
 

Claiming both the Michigan Standard Deduction (line 24) and the 
dividend/interest/capital gain deduction (line 26) as the unremarried surviving 
spouse of someone born before 1946 who was at least 65 at the time of death. 
 
Filing and claiming the Michigan Standard Deduction on line 25 with a birthdate 
of January 1, 1949. 
 

Schedule 1 25 Claiming a pension/retirement subtraction using form 4884 when the oldest of 
filer or spouse was born in 1948 and died during the tax year before reaching age 
67. 
 

  Claiming a pension/retirement subtraction using Section C of form 4884 when the 
oldest of the filer or spouse was born January 1, 1953. 
 

  Claiming a pension/retirement subtraction using Section D of form 4884 when the 
oldest of the filer or spouse was born January 1, 1954. 
 

MI-1040CR-5 Part 2 
 

Filing with more than 25 agreements. 
 

 8 Using different total household resources than on the MI-1040CR, MI-1040CR-2 
or MI-1040CR-7. 
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Form Line Description 
MI-8949 1 Filing with more than 36 short-term capital gains/losses. 

 

 3 Filing with more than 48 long-term capital gains/losses. 
 

MI-4797 2 Filing with more than 16 sales/exchanges of property held more than one year. 
 

 10 
 

Filing with more than 13 ordinary gains/losses of property held one year or less. 
 

 19 Filing with more than 17 gains from disposition of property under Sections 1245, 
1250, 1252, 1254 and 1255. 
 

MI-1040X-12  Filing the Amended Michigan Income Tax Return  
 

MI-1041  Filing the Fiduciary Income Tax Return 
 

MI-1040H 12 Filing with more than 28 entities unitary with one another for which 
apportionment is being combined. 
 

Schedule W Table 3 Reporting Flow-Through Withholding (FTW) 
 

5121 Part 2 Reporting City Tax Paid by a Partnership 
 

 
Nonelectronic Portion of Michigan Returns 
 
The nonelectronic portion of the Michigan return consists of the following supporting documents: 
 

• Copies of other states’ returns for credit.  Copies should be retained in the taxpayer’s 
records when PDF attachments are not supported by the software. 
 

• Form MI-8453.  See the “Michigan E-file Signature Process” section of this Manual for 
more information on Form MI-8453. 
 

• Form MI-1040-V.  If tax is due on the Michigan e-file return, the taxpayer must submit 
payment using Treasury’s e-Payment system, check or money order by April 18, 2016.  
When mailing the payment to Treasury, include Form MI-1040-V.  Form MI-1040-V is to 
be used only for State e-file payments. 
 

• Form City-V.  If tax is due on the City of Detroit e-file return, the taxpayer must submit 
payment by check or money order by April 18, 2016.  When mailing the payment to 
Treasury, include Form City-V.  Form City-V is to be used only for City of Detroit e-file 
payments. 

 
• Copies of property tax bills.  Copies should be retained in the taxpayers’ records.  

Treasury may request copies to verify tax information. 
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• Form MI-1040CR-5.  Farmland returns claiming unequal distribution of property taxes 
on jointly owned land must have a distribution statement signed by all owners. Part 2 of 
Form MI-1040CR-5 may be used for this purpose.  

 
Do not mail a copy of Form MI-1040CR-5 or the signed statement to Treasury.  A copy of 
the signed statement should be retained to avoid reduction and/or denial of the credit. 
Treasury may request at a later date a copy of the signed statement to verify the unequal 
distribution claimed. 
 

• City Schedule W.  If the city allocation is less than 100 percent retain a copy of the filers 
work log and Employer letter.  

 
Michigan E-file Signature Process 
 
For Fed/State Returns: 
 

Michigan will accept the federal signature (Self-Selected Personal Identification Number (PIN) or 
Practitioner PIN).  Michigan does not require any additional signature documentation.  If the 
taxpayer chooses to complete Form MI-8453, Treasury recommends that the tax preparer retain it 
for six years.  Do not mail Form MI-8453 to Treasury. 
 
For State Standalone Returns: 
 

State standalone returns can be signed using “shared secrets” or Form MI-8453 signature 
document.  Shared secrets consist of the Social Security numbers (SSNs), previous year’s Adjusted 
Gross Income (AGI) or total household resources, and the previous year’s tax due or refund 
amount.  If Form MI-8453 is used, the tax preparer should retain a copy of Form MI-8453.  Form 
MI-8453 should not be mailed to Treasury. 
 

Notes: The AGI or total household resources and refund or tax due amount must 
be from the previous year’s return. Treasury can accept this information 
from the original return, amended return, or return as corrected by 
Treasury. 

 
 If the return is signed using shared secrets and the return is rejected because 

the shared secrets do not match, the taxpayer/tax preparer may correct the 
shared secrets information and retransmit.  There is no limit on how many 
times the return can be retransmitted in this circumstance. 

 
Volunteer Groups 
 

If the taxpayer chooses to complete Form MI-8453, it should not be mailed to Treasury.  Volunteer 
tax preparers must provide taxpayers with the MI-8453 and instruct them to retain a copy with 
their tax records. 
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Tax Refund and Payment Information 
State Tax Returns Claiming Refunds 
 
When carrying the direct deposit information from the federal return to the Michigan return, verify 
the information is correct for the Michigan return.  This is especially important when taxpayers 
have a Refund Anticipation Loan and have designated their federal refund to pay their loans.  The 
State refund should not go to pay those loans. 
 
Direct Deposit requests associated with a foreign bank account are classified as International 
Automated Clearing House Transactions.  If the income tax refund Direct Deposit is forwarded or 
transferred to a financial institution in a foreign country, the Direct Deposit will be returned to 
Treasury.  If this occurs, the refund will be converted to a check (warrant) and mailed to the address 
on the tax return.  Taxpayers should contact their financial institutions for questions regarding the 
status of their bank account. 
 
State Tax Returns with Tax Due  
 
Michigan Individual Income Tax e-file Payment Voucher (MI-1040-V).  In the event that tax 
is due on the return, the taxpayer must submit payment by April 18, 2016. If full payment of that 
tax due is not submitted by April 18, the taxpayer will receive a bill with applicable penalty and 
interest. Payments can be made by check, money order, or electronically using direct debit 
(eCheck) from a checking or savings account, or using a credit or debit card. There is no fee 
for eCheck payments.  Credit and debit card payments will be charged a convenience fee (2.35 
percent of the total payment for credit cards and a flat fee of $3.95 for debit cards) which is paid 
directly to the payment processing vendor. Visit www.michigan.gov/iit for more information. If 
the taxpayer chooses to make a payment electronically, there is no need to mail the MI-1040V 
to Treasury.  The MI-1040-V should not be attached to a copy of the return and should not be 
used for any other payments made to the State of Michigan (such as a city tax due). 
 
Michigan Estimated Individual Income Tax Voucher (MI-1040ES).  Quarterly estimated 
income tax payments must be made to the State when the taxpayer is expected to owe more than 
$500 when they file their return. A taxpayer may choose to mail an estimated payment by check 
or money order or make an estimated payment electronically using direct debit (eCheck) from a 
checking or savings account, or using a credit or debit card. There is no fee for eCheck payments. 
Credit and debit card payments will be charged a convenience fee (2.35 percent of the total 
payment for credit cards and a flat fee of $3.95 for debit card) which is paid directly to the payment 
processing vendor. Visit www.michigan.gov/iit for more information.  If the taxpayer chooses to 
make an estimated payment electronically, there is no need to mail the MI-1040ES to Treasury. 
 
Application for Extension of Time to File Michigan Tax Returns (Form 4).  A taxpayer may 
request an extension of time to file an annual return by filing Application for Extension of Time 
to File Michigan Tax Returns (Form 4) by the due date of the return along with payment of tax 
due. If full payment of that tax due is not submitted by the original due date of the return, the 
taxpayer will receive a bill with applicable penalty and interest. Extension payments can be made 
by check, money order, or electronically using direct debit (eCheck) from a checking or savings 
account, or using a credit or debit card. There is no fee for eCheck payments.  Credit and debit 
card payments will be charged a convenience fee (2.35 percent of the total payment for credit cards 
and a flat fee of $3.95 for debit cards) which is paid directly to the payment processing vendor.  
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Visit www.michigan.gov/iit for more information.  If the taxpayer chooses to make an extension 
payment electronically, there is no need to mail Form 4 to Treasury. 
 
City Tax Returns Claiming Refunds.  Direct Deposit will not be available for City of Detroit 
refunds.  All City of Detroit tax refunds will be issued as warrants and mailed to the taxpayer.   
 
City Tax Returns with Tax Due.  If tax is due, the taxpayer must submit payment by check or 
money order by April 18, 2016. The City-V should only be submitted with e-file payments and 
should not be used for any other payments to the State of Michigan.  If full payment is not 
submitted by April 18, the taxpayer will receive a bill with applicable penalty and interest on 
returns with a tax due.  Provide a prompt before the City-V is printed, or create the City-V only 
when the tax due return is e-filed through a preparer or filed online by the taxpayer. Do not attach 
a copy of the return to the City-V.  All e-file payments must be mailed to Treasury along with a 
copy of the City-V. 
 

Note: E-payments are not available for City of Detroit tax due returns. 

 
City Estimated Individual Income Tax Voucher (Form 5123).  Quarterly estimated income tax 
payments must be made when the taxpayer is expected to owe more than $100 to a Michigan city 
when they file their return.  The City Estimated Individual Income Tax Voucher (Form 5123) must 
be mailed with each city estimated payment made by check or money order.  
 

Note: E-payments are not available for City of Detroit quarterly estimated payments. 

 
Application for Extension of Time to File City Tax Returns.  A taxpayer may request an 
extension of time to file an annual return by filing Application for Extension of Time to File City 
Tax Returns (Form 5209) by the due date of the return along with payment of tax due. If full 
payment of that tax due is not submitted by the original due date of the return, the taxpayer will 
receive a bill with applicable penalty and interest.  Form 5209 should be mailed with the extension 
payment, which can be made by check or money order.  
 

Note: E-payments are not available for City of Detroit extension payments. 

 
Direct Deposit information is part of the electronic record; therefore, a separate Form 3174 does 
not have to be completed for e-file.  However, remember that the Direct Deposit information for 
the federal and State returns can be different.  This is especially important when the taxpayer has 
a Refund Anticipation Loan. 
 

Note: Treasury cannot make any changes to Direct Deposit information after the return is 
transmitted. 

 
For More Information 
 
Visit the federal Web site at www.irs.gov and Michigan Web site at www.MIfastfile.org for more 
information on the Fed/State e-file Program.  
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Assistance is available using TTY through the Michigan Relay Service by calling 1-800-649-3777 
or 711.  Printed material in an alternative format may be obtained by calling 517-636-4486. 
 

POST-FILING INFORMATION 
Mailing Addresses 
 
General income tax correspondence or returning a home heating draft for a check: 
 

Michigan Department of Treasury 
Customer Contact 
P.O. Box 30757 

Lansing, MI  48909 
 

Write “Void” across the draft and include a letter of explanation.  When returning home heat drafts, 
remind the taxpayer that the dollar amount will only be 50 percent of the returned draft and there 
will be further review of their account. 
 
Returning State of Michigan warrants: 
 

Michigan Department of Treasury 
Office of Financial Services 

P.O. Box 30788 
Lansing, MI  48909 

 
Write “Void” across the warrant and include a letter of explanation. 
 
Refer to the Treasury Web site at www.michigan.gov/treasury for more information. 
 
Amended Returns (MI-1040X or MI-1040X-12)  
 
Form MI-1040X is used to correct or amend information reported on a MI-1040, credit claims, 
and schedules for the 2011 and prior tax years.  Form MI-1040X-12 is used to correct or amend 
information reported on Form MI-1040, credit claims and schedules for the 2012 tax year and 
beyond.  When filing either form, indicate the tax year, give an explanation of the change, and 
provide any supporting documentation. 
 
If the original return was adjusted by Treasury and the taxpayer disagrees with the adjustments, it 
is not necessary to file an amended return.  Simply respond to the adjustment notice with 
documentation to support the original claim.  Treasury will review the documentation for further 
adjustment. 
 

Exceptions: When correcting a Homestead Property Tax Credit (Form MI-1040CR) when 
no MI-1040 was filed with the original claim, a MI-1040X/MI-1040X-12 is 
not required.  File the MI-1040CR using the corrected figures and write 
“Amended” at the top of the form. 
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When correcting a Home Heating Credit (Form MI-1040CR-7), file a MI-
1040CR-7 and write “Amended” at the top of the form.  An amended claim 
requesting an additional heating credit must be submitted by September 30, 
following the year of the claim. 
 
When correcting a Farmland Credit Claim (Form MI-1040CR-5), file a 
MI-1040CR-5 and write “Amended” at the top of the form.  Submit the 
amended form along with a description and any documentation needed to 
explain the change. 

 
When claiming a refund from a Michigan net operating loss carryback, do not 
file an amended return.  Claim the refund by filing an Application for Michigan 
Net Operating Loss Refund (MI-1045). 

 
An amended return is not required to change an incorrect SSN or incorrect 
mailing address.  Contact Treasury at www.michigan.gov/iit or call 517-636-
4486. 

 
An amended return claiming an additional refund must be filed within four years of the due date 
of the original return. 
 

SUMMARY OF CHANGES FOR 2015 
 

Tax Rate  4.25%
Personal Exemption  $4,000 
Special Exemption for Seniors 0 
Special Exemption for Disabled $2,600
Child Care Deduction 0 
Qualified Disabled Veteran Deduction $400
Pension Deduction 
    Single Filer 

Born before 1946: private pension limit $49,811
Born in 1946-1948: Standard deduction against all 

income 
$20,000

Born in 1949 through 1952 $20,000
Born after 1952, pension not deductible* 0

     Joint Filers 
Born before 1946: private pension limit $99,623
Born in 1946-1948: Standard deduction against all 
income 

$40,000

Born in 1949 through 1952 $40,000
Born after 1952, pension not deductible* 0

Senior Interest, Dividend, and Capital Gains 
     Single Filer (not available for senior born after 1945) $11,104
     Joint Filer (not available for senior born after 1945) $22,207

 
*Exception: Taxpayers who have reached age 62 and receive benefits 

from Social Security exempt employment may be eligible for 
a pension deduction.  See Pension and Retirement Benefits. 
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SUMMARY OF CHANGES FOR PRIOR YEARS 
 

2011 
 

2012 2013 2014 

Tax Rate    4.35%  4.33% 4.25% 4.25%
Personal Exemption $3,700 $3,763  $3,950 $4,000 
Special Exemption $2,400 $2,400  $2,500 $2,500 
Child Care Deduction $600 0  0 0 
Qualified Disabled Veteran Deduction $300 $300 $300 $400 
Pension Deduction     
     Single Filer $45,842     

Born before 1946: private pension limit  $47,309 $48,302 $49,027 
Born after 1945 and age 67 or older:     
   Standard deduction against all income     $20,000 $20,000 
Born 1946 through 1952 and age 66 or less  $20,000 $20,000 $20,000 

Born after 1952, pension not deductible   0 0 
     Joint Filers $91,684     

Born before 1946: private pension limit  $94,618 $96,605 $98,054 

Born after 1945 and age 67 or older:     
   Standard deduction against all income     $40,000 $40,000 
Born 1947 through 1952 and age 66 or less  $40,000 $40,000 $40,000 
Born after 1952, pension not deductible  0 0 0 

Senior Interest, Dividend, and Capital Gains     
Single Filer $10,218     
Single Filer (not available for senior born 

after 1945) 
 $10,545 $10,767 $10,929 

Joint Filers $20,437     
Joint Filers (not available for senior born 

after 1945) 
 $21,091 $21,534 $21,857 

 

FILING REQUIREMENTS 
Filing a MI-1040 Return 
 
An individual should file a Michigan return if they were a Michigan resident all or part of the year 
and filed a federal return.  A nonresident of Michigan is required to file a return if all or part of 
their income was earned in Michigan or was from Michigan sources. 
 
A nonresident or part-year resident must use Nonresident and Part-Year Resident Schedule 
(Schedule NR) to allocate income between Michigan and other states. 
 
Married taxpayers who filed a joint federal return must also file a joint Michigan return.  Taxpayers 
may file either a separate or joint Michigan return if separate federal returns were filed. 
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Factors to Determine Domicile 
 
A person who is domiciled in Michigan is a Michigan resident.  Domicile means the fixed and 
permanent home to which a person, wherever temporarily located, always intends to return.  A 
person may have several residences, but may only have one domicile. 
 
Domicile, once established, is not lost until there is a concurrence of all the following: 
 

1. The specific intent to abandon the old domicile. 
 

2. The intent to acquire a specific new domicile. 
 
3. Actual physical presence in the new state of domicile.  Generally, the domicile of the 

wife follows that of the husband. 
 
Factors to be considered in determining a taxpayer’s residency or domicile include where they 
keep their most important possessions, house their family, vote, maintain a club or lodge 
membership, buy automobile licenses, maintain a mailing address, bank, operate a business, or sue 
for divorce.  However, no one of these factors is controlling. 
 
Nonresident Aliens 
 
Nonresident aliens must file a Michigan income tax return if their federal AGI is more than their 
Michigan exemption allowance.  A copy of federal form U.S. 1040NR, including all schedules 
and worksheets, must be attached to the MI-1040.  A nonresident alien return is not allowed to be 
e-filed with the State of Michigan. 
 
Wages or other income received by a nonresident alien working in Michigan are subject to the 
Michigan income tax as provided for in Michigan Compiled Laws (MCL) 206.110(2).  However, 
due to tax treaty considerations between the U.S. and other countries, wages and other income 
received by a nonresident alien living and working in Michigan may not be subject to the Michigan 
income tax if the income is excluded from AGI. 
 
See Federal IRS Publication 901 for information on U.S. tax treaties with other countries. 
 
A nonresident alien must file a U.S. 1040NR.  This return reports all income received by the 
nonresident alien reduced by wages or other income that is exempted by a U.S. tax treaty. 
 
A nonresident alien is not considered domiciled in Michigan and, therefore, may not claim a 
homestead property tax credit. 
 



40 

Taxability of Income Derived Within Indian Country 
 
Where the Tribal Member’s Tribe Does Not Have an 
Implemented Tax Agreement With the State of Michigan 
 
An individual who is a resident of Michigan and has income from Michigan sources is required to 
file a Michigan income tax return in accordance with MCL 206.315(1).  This provision requires 
every person who is required to file a return under the Internal Revenue Code (IRC) to file a return 
under the Income Tax Act (ITA) if their AGI is in excess of the personal exemptions allowed under 
the act. 
 
An exception exists for an enrolled member of a federally recognized Indian Tribe/Band located 
in Michigan where the member resides within, and the income generating activity occurs within, 
the member’s own Tribe’s Indian Country (as defined by 18 USC 1151). 
 
Although the State cannot require tribal members to file a Michigan income tax return if all of 
their income is earned within their own Indian country and they meet the criteria identified below, 
it is recommended they file returns to avoid possible contact by Treasury based upon State and 
federal match programs.  A return is required from tribal members if any of the Michigan income 
is earned outside of their Indian country and/or if any of the criteria below is not met. 
 
Income can be deducted on the Michigan return if all the following conditions exist: 
 

1. Individual is a member of a federally recognized Indian Tribe or Band. 
 
2. Individual resides within their Tribe or Band’s Indian country. 
 
3. Activity creating the income in question occurs within the member’s own Tribe’s 

Indian country. 
 

Note: Treasury may require additional documentation to support the above 
assertions. 

 
The following income is subject to Michigan income tax: 
 

1. Tribal member income earned outside of the member’s own Tribe’s Indian country 
(including income earned within another Tribe’s Indian country).  

 
2. For nontribal members or tribal members not meeting the exemption criteria, all 

Michigan income is taxable whether earned inside Indian country or not. 
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Where the Resident Tribal Member’s Tribe Has an  
Implemented Tax Agreement With the State of Michigan 
 
Refer to the Frequently Asked Questions or terms of the agreement posted on Treasury’s Web site 
for details on Resident Tribal Member treatment where the member’s Tribe has entered into a tax 
agreement with the State.  See Treasury’s Web site at www.michigan.gov/taxes.  Click on Income 
Tax or Business Information on the left side of the screen, and then click on Native American.  If 
the Tribe has an implemented agreement, it will be posted at this location.  If the Tribe is not listed, 
there is no implemented agreement for that Tribe or its members. 
 
Estimated Income Tax 
 
Forms 
 
Personalized 2016 Estimated Individual Income Tax Vouchers (Form MI-1040ES) will be mailed 
to taxpayers (usually in late January or early February) who paid 2015 quarterly IIT estimates and 
did not use a tax preparer.  Tax preparers should use their clients’ personalized forms whenever 
possible.  The personalized forms help ensure the correct account is credited.  Never photocopy 
someone else’s personalized forms.  Personalized forms are coded with taxpayers’ SSNs and are 
optically scanned.  Coded information is machine readable on photocopies and through correction 
tape and fluid. 
 
Requirements for Filing and Paying 
 
Section 301(1) of the ITA of 1967 states: 
 

“Every person on a calendar year basis, if the person’s annual tax can reasonably be 
expected to exceed the amount withheld under section 703 and the credits allowed 
under this act by more than $500.00, shall pay to the department installments of 
estimated tax under this act on or before April 15, June 15, and September 15 of the 
person’s tax year and January 15 in the following year.  Subject to subsection (3), each 
installment shall be equal to ¼ of the taxpayer’s estimated tax under this act after first 
deducting the amount estimated to be withheld under section 703.” 

 
Interest is due for each quarter if no payment is made or an underpayment exists.  Taxpayers who 
have previously filed estimated tax payments, Underpayment of Estimated Income Tax (Form 
MI-2210) or were assessed in a prior year for underpayment or failure to file estimates will be 
assessed penalty as follows: 
 

• 10 percent penalty for underpayment, or 
• 25 percent penalty for failure to file estimated tax payments. 
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Failure to Make Estimated Payments 
 
Use Form MI-2210 to compute the penalty and interest on the underpayment and file with the 2015 
return.  If estimated payments are due and have not been paid or are underpaid, Treasury will 
assess penalty and interest not paid by the taxpayer.  The assessment will bill interest on the amount 
of tax that was due for each quarter.  An individual may avoid all or part of the penalty and 
interest if any of the following apply: 
 

1. An individual was not required to file a tax return for 2014. 
 
2. The individual was required to file a return for 2014 but had no tax liability. 
 
3. The amount of tax withheld plus estimated tax payments equal at least: 
 

• 90 percent of the tax due for 2015, or 
• 100 percent of the tax due for 2014 (110 percent of total tax if your 2014 AGI is more 

than $150,000 for single filers or married, filing jointly; or more than $75,000 for 
married filing separately). 

 
4. If income is not received evenly during the year, an individual may annualize their 

income to determine the quarterly estimated payments.  (See 2015 MI-2210 for 
instructions.) 

 
Annual Estimated Tax Returns 
 
An individual may file an annual return of estimated tax rather than quarterly returns.  To use this 
option, the taxpayer must file the 2016 first quarter MI-1040ES and pay the total estimated annual 
tax by April 15, 2016. 
 
Overpayments Credited Forward to Year 2015 
 
Treasury will reduce a claimed credit forward to the next year if the return is adjusted.  The 
individual will be notified of the adjustment and the reduction of the credit forward.  It is the 
individual’s responsibility to make up any deficiency that may result. 
 
e-Payments 
 
An individual may choose to make an estimated income tax payment electronically instead of 
mailing a payment with the personalized form.  Paying electronically is easy, fast, and secure.  
Payment options include direct debit (eCheck) from a checking or savings account, or payment by 
credit or debit card.  If choosing to make a payment electronically, there is no need to mail the 
MI-1040ES form to Treasury.  Visit www.michigan.gov/iit for more information. 
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Seafarers, Farmers, and Commercial Fishermen 
 
A seafarer, farmer, or commercial fisherman who receives at least two-thirds of their gross income 
from seafaring, farming, or fishing may file a Michigan annual return of estimated tax no later than 
January 15, and remit the entire amount of estimated tax with the return.  This payment date may 
be ignored if the seafarer, farmer, or fisherman files their income tax return and pays the entire 
amount of tax due by March 1. 
 
If a joint return is filed, the seafarer, farmer, or fisherman must also consider their spouse’s gross 
income in determining if at least two-thirds of gross income is from seafaring, farming, or fishing. 
 
Wages earned and other income received by seafarers domiciled in Michigan and sailing the Great 
Lakes or other waterways are subject to Michigan income tax as provided for in MCL 206.110(1).  
As such, seafarers must file an annual Michigan income tax return.  Section 46 USCS 11108 
precludes the states from withholding state income tax on seafarers’ wages; however, it does not 
prohibit states from subjecting seafarers’ wages to state income tax.  
 

EXEMPTIONS 
The number of exemptions that may be claimed is the number of allowable federal personal and 
dependency exemptions plus Michigan special exemptions.  As of 2012, no additional special 
exemptions are available for seniors or for unemployment compensation.  The child care deduction 
is also no longer available. 
 
The following chart lists the Michigan exemption allowance. 
 

 Based on Michigan 
Tax  Federal Special 
Year Exemptions Exemptions 

 2011 3,700 2,400 
 2012 3,763 2,400 (See exemption limits below) 
 2013 3,950 2,500 (See exemption limits below) 
 2014 4,000 2,500 (See exemption limits below) 
 2015 4,000 2,600 
 
Definitions of Michigan Special Exemptions 
 
Special exemptions are no longer available for seniors or for individuals receiving greater than 50 
percent of their AGI from unemployment compensation.  Only taxpayers who have one or more 
of the impairments described below may claim a special exemption.  If the taxpayer’s dependent 
is eligible for a special exemption, the taxpayer and the dependent may not both claim that 
exemption. 
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Deaf.  An individual whose hearing is totally impaired or whose hearing, with or without 
amplification, is so seriously impaired that the primary means of receiving spoken language is 
through other sensory input, including but not limited to lip reading, sign language, finger spelling, 
or reading.  [Reference: MCL 206.30(3)(a) and 393.502] 
 
Paraplegic.  An individual who has paralysis of the lower half of the body.  [Reference:  MCL 
206.30(3)(a)] 
 
Quadriplegic.  An individual who has paralysis of both arms and legs.  [Reference:  MCL 
206.30(3)(a)] 
 
Hemiplegic.  An individual who has paralysis of one side of the body.  [Reference:  MCL 
206.30(3)(a)] 
 
Blind.  An individual who has a permanent impairment of both eyes of the following status: central 
visual acuity of 20/200 or less in the better eye with corrective glasses, or central visual acuity of 
more than 20/200 if there is a field defect in which the peripheral field has contracted to such an 
extent that the widest diameter of visual field subtends an angular distance of not greater than 20 
degrees in the better eye.  [Reference: MCL 206.30(3)(a) and 206.504(1)] 
 
Totally and Permanently Disabled.  An individual who is unable to engage in any substantial 
gainful activity by reason of any medically determinable physical or mental impairment which can 
be expected to result in death, or which has lasted or can be expected to last for a continuous period 
of not less than 12 months. 
 
Support for this exemption is the receipt of any of the following types of income: 
 

• Social Security Disability benefits 
• Supplemental Security Income (SSI) disability benefits 
• Veterans’ Administration disability retirement payments. 

 
A taxpayer who does not receive any of the above income may be required to furnish a physician’s 
statement to certify total and permanent disability.  [Reference MCL 206.30(3)(a), 206.522(4) and 
42 U.S.C. 416] 
 

Note: A taxpayer who is age 66 or older may not claim a totally and permanently disabled 
exemption 

 
Example 1: Jacob is 66, but before he turned age 66 he received Social Security Disability for 

being totally and permanently disabled.  Assuming Jacob is not deaf, blind, or 
para/quadri/hemiplegic, Jacob’s exemption allowance is limited to the personal 
exemption.  He is not eligible to receive a special exemption because the normal 
retirement age of individuals born between 1943 and 1954 is 66.  Since Jacob has 
reached normal retirement age, he is no longer receiving disability income, but is 
instead considered a retired senior. 

 

Note: Although Jacob’s condition did not change when he reached the age of 66, he may 
no longer claim an exemption for being totally and permanently disabled. 
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Example 2: Judy is 67 and is deaf and blind.  She received Social Security Disability until the 
age of 66.  Judy’s exemption allowance for 2015 would be computed as follows: 

 
Federal Exemption (one x $4,000) $4,000 
Michigan Special Exemptions  2,600 

(one for blind or deaf)   
 

Total Exemption Allowance  $6,600 
 

Qualified Disabled Veteran Exemption 
 

Qualified disabled veterans or taxpayers who have a dependent who is a qualified disabled veteran 
are eligible for a $400 exemption.  Qualified veteran means a veteran with a service-connected 
disability.  A service-connected disability means a disability incurred or aggravated in the line of 
duty in the active military, naval, or air service as described in 38 USC 101(16).  The exemption 
is available to qualified veterans of any age and with any percentage of disability.  
 
Part-Year and Nonresident  
 
The exemption allowance for a part-year resident or a nonresident is prorated based on the 
taxpayer’s Michigan income subject to tax divided by total AGI. 
 
For a couple filing a joint return, if one spouse is a full-year resident and the other is a part-year 
resident or nonresident, the full-year resident is entitled to one full $4,000 exemption.  The 
part-year resident or nonresident must prorate the $4,000 exemption by the ratio of their Michigan 
income subject to tax to their AGI from all sources.  Exemptions for dependents must be prorated 
by the ratio of combined (both spouses’) Michigan income subject to tax to combined AGI from 
all sources. 
 
Example: Jack and Jill were married June 30, 2015.  Jill has two dependent children.  Jill worked 

and lived in Georgia prior to their marriage.  She continued to work after moving to 
Michigan in June 2015.  Her interest was received equally throughout the year.  Jack 
was a Michigan resident for all of 2015.  Their income was as follows: 

 
  Jack Jill 

 
Wages $56,000 $25,000 
Interest     3,000   5,000 

 
Total AGI $59,000 $30,000 
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The exemption allowance is computed as follows: 
 
Jack was a Michigan resident all year and is entitled to a $4,000 exemption 
allowance.  Jill earned wages of $15,000 in Georgia, and 50 percent of her 
interest income is allocated to Georgia. 
 

Jill’s Michigan income $12,500 
(divided by) Jill’s total income $30,000 = 42% 

 
42% Michigan sourced income x $4,000 =  $1,680 
 
Dependents - Combined Michigan source to all sources 
 

Combined Michigan income ($59,000 + $12,500)  $71,500 
(divided by) combined total income $89,000 = 80% 

 
80% Michigan source income x $8,000 = $6,400 
 
Total exemption allowance for 2015 joint Michigan income tax return is: 

 
  Jack $4,000 
  Jill 1,680 
  Dependents   6,400 
  Total $12,080 
 
Claimed as a Dependent 
 
An individual cannot claim a personal exemption if another taxpayer (usually a parent) can claim 
a dependency exemption for that person.  This is true even when the individual is not actually 
claimed as a dependent on the other’s return.  However, an individual who is eligible to be claimed 
as a dependent on someone else’s return and has an AGI of $1,500 or less is entitled to a refund 
of all Michigan tax withheld.  An individual who is eligible to be claimed as a dependent on 
someone else’s return and has an AGI of more than $1,500 is entitled to a $1,500 exemption 
allowance.  
 
A dependent who may not claim a personal exemption may still claim one or more of the special 
exemptions.  If a dependent claims a special exemption, the same special exemption may not be 
claimed on another return by another taxpayer. 
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Example 1: Carlton (age 16 and can be claimed as a dependent on his parents’ return) earned 
$6,800 during 2015.  He is considered deaf, as defined in MCL 206.30(3)(a) and 
MCL 393.502.  His AGI is $6,800 and his Michigan income tax withholding is $165.  
Carlton’s Michigan income tax liability is computed as follows: 

 
AGI $6,800 
Less: Deduction (1,500) 

Michigan Special Exemption  (2,600) 
Taxable Income $2,700 
x Tax Rate x 0.0425 
Michigan Income Tax (Rounded) $ 115 
Less Michigan Income Tax Withheld    (165) 
 
Refund $    50 

 
Example 2: Terri is 17 and can be claimed as a dependent by her parents. Terri’s AGI for 2015 

is $1,250 and her Michigan income tax withholding is $80.  Terri’s Michigan income 
tax liability is computed as follows: 

 
AGI $1,250 
Less:  Deduction (1,500) 
Taxable Income 0 
x Tax Rate x 0.0425 
Michigan Income Tax (Rounded) $ 0 
Less Michigan Income Tax Withheld      (80) 
 

   Refund $   80 
 

MICHIGAN INCOME TAX TREATMENT OF CHILD'S UNEARNED INCOME 
IRC Section 1(g)7 provides for an election that allows parents to include unearned income of a 
child on the parents’ return when the child:  (1) is under the age of 19 or the age of 24 if a full-
time student whose earned income does not exceed half of their own support; (2) has no income 
other than interest, dividends, and/or capital gain distributions; (3) has gross income less than 
$10,000; and (4) has no estimated payment or withholding made on behalf of the child. 
 
If the parents take the IRC Section 1(g)7 election, the amount of the child’s unearned income in 
the parents’ AGI is subject to Michigan income tax.  The amount must also be included in total 
household resources when computing the property tax and home heating credits. 
 

ADJUSTMENTS TO ARRIVE AT MICHIGAN TAXABLE INCOME 
The following is a list of common additions and subtractions made on the Michigan income tax 
return. 
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Additions 
 
Interest and dividend income from non-Michigan municipal obligations (add this income even if 
it comes through a fund, partnership, S corporation, estate, or trust) 
 
Capital gain adjustments (from Michigan column of Adjustments of Capital Gains and Losses  
(Form MI-1040D) or Adjustments of Capital Gains and Losses From Sales of Business Property 
(Form MI-4797)) 
 
Losses from a business or property located in another state 
 
Losses from the disposal of U.S. obligations to the extent used in arriving at AGI 
 
Taxes on or measured by income (e.g., deduction for self-employment tax) 
 
An unqualified withdrawal from education savings accounts under the Michigan Education 
Savings Program (MESP) Act if the amount was not included in AGI 
 
Amount of federal net operating loss deduction (NOLD) used to reduce AGI 
 
Refund received from a Michigan Education Trust (MET) contract. 
 
Subtractions 
 
Income from U.S. government obligations reduced by any expenses in carrying the obligation used 
in arriving at AGI 
 
Income from a business or property located in another state 
 
Compensation and retirement benefits received for services in the U.S. Armed Forces to the extent 
included in AGI.  (Do not deduct compensation received from the U.S. Public Health Service.) 
 
Pension/Retirement benefits received from the service in the Michigan National Guard to the 
extent included in AGI 
 
Pension/Retirement benefits received under the Railroad Retirement Act of 1974, 45 USC 231 to 
231v to the extent included in AGI 
 
Capital gain adjustments (from federal column of MI-1040D or MI-4797) 
 
Retirement/pension benefits (these benefits are limited and are discussed in detail in a separate 
section on Retirement and Pension Benefits) 
 
Dividend/interest/capital gains deduction for senior citizens (this subtraction is no longer available 
for individuals born after 1945) 
 
Michigan state and local income tax refunds to the extent included in AGI 
 
Property tax credit to the extent included in AGI 
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Social Security benefits to the extent included in AGI 
 
Income earned while a resident of a Renaissance Zone that was certified or renewed before     
January 1, 2012 
 
Contributions made after October 1, 2000, to the MESP, not to exceed $5,000 for a single return 
or $10,000 for a joint return per year 
 
The amount of an advance payment under a MET contract during the tax year 
 
Michigan net operating loss (NOL). 
 
Items Not Allowed as Subtractions 
 
Itemized deductions from federal Schedule A 
 
Unemployment benefits included in AGI 
 
Sick pay, disability benefits, and wage continuation benefits paid to a taxpayer by their employer 
or by an insurance company under contract with the employer 
 
Distributions from deferred compensation 
 
Lottery winnings won on January 1, 1989 or later 
 
Out-of-state gambling winnings taxed by another state (a credit for taxes paid may be available). 

 
MISCELLANEOUS DEDUCTIONS 
Income From Oil and Gas Production and Nonferrous Metallic Minerals Extraction 
 
Beginning in 2012, the subtraction of gross oil and gas income from AGI as set forth in Elenbaas 
v Department of Treasury, 235 Mich App 372 (1999) was repealed.  Individuals may now deduct 
the gross oil and gas income subject to Michigan severance tax, from AGI and must add back the 
related expenses to AGI. 
 
Beginning January 1, 2013, taxpayers may deduct the gross income and add back the related 
expenses included in AGI from nonferrous metallic minerals extraction subject to Michigan 
severance tax. 
 

RENAISSANCE ZONES 
The Michigan Renaissance Zone Act, PA 376 of 1996, permitted the designation of specific 
regions in Michigan as Renaissance Zones.  The Michigan Economic Development Corporation 
(MEDC) administers the Renaissance Zone program and conducts the zone selection process. 
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Generally, an individual living in or a business located and conducting business activities in a 
Renaissance Zone certified or renewed before January 1, 2012 will receive an exemption, 
deduction, or credit from the following State and local taxes: 
 

Individuals: Michigan Income Tax 
 Property Tax (except debt mills) 
 City Income Tax (if applicable) 
 Utility Users Tax (Detroit only) 
 
Businesses: Property Tax (except debt mills) 
 Portion of Michigan Business Tax and City Income Tax 
     attributable to business activity in the zone. 

 
No deduction or credit will be allowed if the taxpayer is delinquent in any taxes covered in the 
Renaissance Zone Act. 
 

Note: A designated zone may be located within the boundaries of a city or county, but 
there are no established zones that include an entire city or county.  Contact the 
local authority to determine if you or your client lives within the boundaries of a 
zone. 

 
Residents of a Renaissance Zone are eligible for a deduction on the Michigan income tax return 
after meeting the Zone residency requirement of at least 183 consecutive days.  Persons whose 
gross income exceeds $1 million for the tax year are not eligible for the deduction.  The taxpayer 
can deduct most income earned and received while a resident of the Zone.  Form MI-1040 must 
be filed to claim the deduction.  Once an individual has completed the 183-day residency 
requirement in a Zone, that individual should file a revised Employee’s Michigan Withholding 
Exemption Certificate (Form MI-W4) to claim exemption from Michigan income tax withholding.  
The employer should stop Michigan income tax withholding upon receipt of a revised MI-W4 and 
must forward a copy of the MI-W4 to Treasury. 
 
Zones began phasing out in 2006.  The tax exemption is phased out in 25 percent increments during 
the zone’s final three years of existence.  Check with the client’s local unit of government to 
determine if the phase out has begun.  The credit is reduced as follows: 
 

• 25 percent for the tax year that is two years before the final year of the designation as a 
renaissance zone. 

 
• 50 percent for the tax year immediately preceding the final year of the designation as a 

renaissance zone. 
 

• 75 percent for the tax year that is the final year of the designation as a renaissance zone. 
 
For information regarding the specific zones, visit the MEDC Web site at 
www.michiganbusiness.org/renaissance-zones/.  For tax questions relating to the zones, contact 
Treasury at 517-636-4280. 
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PENSION AND RETIREMENT BENEFITS 
For purposes of this section, the term “pension” will include pension and retirement benefits. 
 
A subtraction may be allowed on the Michigan return for qualifying distributions from pension 
plans.  Pension plans include private and public employer plans, and individual accounts governed 
by various sections of the IRC. 
 
The pension subtraction involves two steps.  First, the pension distribution must meet certain 
requirements to be characterized as a qualified distribution.  Second, a qualified distribution may 
be subject to a dollar limitation on the amount of the subtraction.  Beginning in 2012, the benefit 
may be further limited based on the date of birth of the retiree on a single return or the date of birth 
of the oldest spouse on a joint return. 
 
Step 1: Qualified Distribution Requirements 
 
Employer plans and individual plans each have rules for receiving pension distributions.  For a 
pension distribution to qualify for the Michigan subtraction it must comply with the specific 
distribution rules under its plan. 
 
Employer Plans  
 
Employer plans are created by private companies and by public entities.  The employer plan 
establishes the rules that govern retirement age and the pension formula for their employees.  For 
both public and private employer plans, an employee must retire under the provisions of the plan, 
the pension benefits must be paid from a pension trust fund, and the payment must be made to 
either the employee or the surviving spouse.  (Payments made to the surviving spouse are only 
deductible if the employee qualified for the subtraction at the time of death.) 
 
Although traditional employer plans are defined contribution and defined benefit plans, many 
employers use 401(k) or 403(b) plans that incorporate employee match provisions. 
 
Distributions from a 401(k) or 403(b) plan are qualified distributions to the extent that they are 
attributable to the employer’s contributions or employee’s contributions that were mandated by 
the plan.  An employee’s contribution required by the plan to elicit an employer match is 
considered mandated.  Amounts distributed from a 401(k) or 403(b) plan that allows the employee 
to set the amount of compensation to be deferred and does not prescribe retirement age or years of 
service do not qualify as pension benefits. 
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Individual Plans 
 
Individuals may also have pension accounts created under various sections of the Internal Revenue 
Code (IRC) that may or may not be part of an employer plan.  To qualify for the Michigan pension 
subtraction, the distributions must meet the requirements set forth in the relevant section of the 
IRC. 
 

• Individual Retirement Account (IRA) IRC 408 Distribution Requirements.   

 
1. 59½ or older, or  
 
2. Disability, or 
 
3. Death - Distributions after the death of the participant may only be subtracted by 

a surviving spouse, and only if the distributions qualified as a subtraction for the 
participant at the time of death; or 

 
4. Series of equal periodic payments made for life under IRC Section 

72(t)(2)(iii)(iv).  
 

Distributions from a Roth IRA are not included in AGI and are not subtractable on the 
Michigan return.  Roth IRAs are discussed in more detail later in the text. 
 

• Senior Citizen Annuity IRC 72 Distribution Requirements.   

 
1. Received from a retirement annuity policy, and 
 
2. For life, and 
 
3. To a senior citizen. 

 
For purposes of the retirement annuity subtraction, a senior citizen is defined in MCL 
206.514(1) as an “individual . . . who is 65 years of age or older at the close of the tax year.  
The term also includes the unremarried surviving spouse of a person who was 65 years of age 
or older at the time of death.” 
 
• Keogh or HR 10 Plans for the Self-Employed.  Distributions are subject to the same 

general rules for other retirement plans, usually not made until a participant separates from 
service, the plan is discontinued, or the participant reaches age 59½. 

 
The following distributions do not qualify for the pension subtraction: 
 

1. Deferred compensation plans that allow the employee to set the amount of compensation 
to be deferred and do not prescribe retirement age or years of service e.g. 401(k), 403(b), 

and 457 plans if all the contributions are made by the employee or if the employee makes 
contributions that do not elicit contributions by the employer.  
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2. Commercial Annuity Policies (unless the payments are made for life to a senior citizen) 
 
3. Premature separation, withdrawal, or discontinuance of a plan prior to the earliest date the 

recipient could have retired under the provisions of the plan 
 

4. Payments received as an incentive to retire early unless the distributions are from a 
pension trust 

 
5. Eligible distributions received by a beneficiary of the decedent except the surviving 

spouse 
 
6. Distributions that are sourced to rollovers from plans or contributions that do not qualify.  

(i.e., IRA distributions that are sourced to rollovers from a 457 plan.) 
 
Step 2: Dollar Limitations on Pension Subtractions 
 
Once it has been determined that a pension distribution has met the requirements of a qualified 
distribution set forth in Step 1, the next step is to determine if there are any dollar limitations on 
the amount of the Michigan pension subtraction.  
 
For 2012 and future tax years, new limitations on pension deductions have been added based on 
the year of birth of the retiree who is a single filer or on the year of birth of the oldest spouse for 
joint filers.  The sections that follow first discuss dollar limitations based on year of birth.  After 
the date of birth limitations have been discussed, the private pension limitations will be reviewed.   
 
Pension Limitations Based on Date of Birth 
 
MCL 206.30(8) defines “retirement or pension benefits.”  MCL 206.30(9) provides limitations to 
the deduction, depending upon the birth year of the retiree, as well as filing status and marital 
status.  Retirees are divided into three tiers based on date of birth of the taxpayer or the date of 
birth of the oldest spouse on a joint return. 
 
Tier 1:  For a taxpayer born before 1946, there are no additional restrictions or limitations to the 
deduction allowed under MCL 206.30(1)(f). 
 
Tier 2:  For a taxpayer born in 1946 through 1952, the maximum pension deduction is $20,000 
for a single return or $40,000 for a joint return.  At age 67, the deduction is no longer restricted to 
pensions but can be applied to all income.  This general deduction is sometimes referred to as a 
“standard deduction” because it is applied against all income.  Taxpayers born during the period 
January 1, 1946 through January 1, 1949 and who have reached age 67 on or before December 31, 
2015 are eligible for the standard deduction; however, the standard deduction against all types of 
income is not available to the extent the deduction for U.S. Armed Forces retirement benefits, 
Railroad Retirement Act benefits or pension benefits from Michigan National Guard services is 
claimed.  An individual is considered to have reached age 67 on the day before their birthday. 
Taxpayers who claim the standard deduction should not complete Pension Schedule (Form 4884). 
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Note: Taxpayers who file a joint return and the older spouse was born prior to 1946 (Tier 
1) are not eligible for the standard deduction. 

 
If a taxpayer receives a pension from a governmental agency that was not covered by the federal 
Social Security Act (SSA), the maximum pension deduction is increased.  The “uncovered” 
taxpayer may deduct up to $35,000 of pension income on a single return and up to $55,000 of 
pension income on a joint return ($70,000 on a joint return only if both spouses were “uncovered”).  
At age 67, this taxpayer may deduct these increased amounts as the “standard deduction” against 
all income; however, the deduction against all types of income is not available to the extent the 
deduction for U.S. Armed Forces retirement benefits, Railroad Retirement Act benefits or pension 
benefits from Michigan National Guard Services is claimed. 
 
Tier 3:  For most taxpayers born after 1952, there is no pension deduction in 2015.  However, for 
some taxpayers in Tier 3, at age 62 there is the limited deduction if a taxpayer receives a pension 
from a governmental agency that was not covered by the federal SSA.  The “uncovered” taxpayer, 
who is at least 62, may deduct up to $15,000 or up to $30,000 if both spouses were “uncovered.”   
 
All taxpayers in Tier 3 are eligible for the $20,000 single/$40,000 joint standard deduction upon 
reaching age 67. 
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INCOME TAX FOR RETIREMENT BENEFITS 
EFFECTIVE FOR TAX YEAR 2015 

 
Taxpayers born  

before 1946 
(Tier 1) 

 

Taxpayers born  
1946 through 1952 

(Tier 2) 
Before the taxpayer reaches age 67 

Taxpayers born  
after 1952 
(Tier 3) 

Before the taxpayer reaches age 67 

 Social Security is exempt. 
 
 Senior citizen subtraction for 

interest, dividends, and capital 
gains up to $11,104 for single filers 
and $22,207 for joint filers.* 

 
 Public pensions exempt. 

 
 Private pensions, subtract up to 

$49,811 for single filers and 
$99,623 for joint filers. 

 
*Subtraction may be limited if 
pension benefits are also 
subtracted. 

 Social Security is exempt. 
 
 Railroad pension is exempt. 

 
 Military/Michigan National Guard 

pension is exempt. 
 
 Not eligible for the senior citizen 

subtraction for interest, dividends, and 
capital gains. 

 
 Public and private pension limited 

subtraction of $20,000 for single filers 
or $40,000 for joint filers. 

 
 Pensions from governmental agencies 

not covered by the Social Security 
Act.  $35,000 for single filer, $55,000 
for joint filers, or $70,000 for joint 
filers if both spouses worked for an 
“uncovered” agency. 

 

 Social Security is exempt. 
 
 Railroad pension is exempt. 

 
 Military/Michigan National Guard pension 

is exempt. 
 
 Not eligible for the senior citizen 

subtraction for interest, dividends, and 
capital gains. 

 
 Not eligible for public or private pension 

subtraction. 
 
 At age 62, pensions from governmental 

agencies not covered by the Social Security 
Act $15,000 for single or joint filer or 
$30,000 for joint filers if both spouses 
worked for an “uncovered” agency. 

 

 After the taxpayer reaches  
Age 67  

 

After the taxpayer reaches 
Age 67 

(will first occur in 2020) 
 

  Social Security is exempt. 
 
 Railroad pension is exempt (see 

below). 
 
 Military/Michigan National Guard 

pension is exempt (see below). 
 
 Not eligible for the senior citizen 

subtraction for interest, dividends, and 
capital gains. 

 
 Subtraction against all income of 

$20,000 for single filers and $40,000 
for joint filers. 

 
Note: Not eligible for this income 

subtraction to the extent a 
Military/Michigan National 
Guard or Tier 2 railroad 
pension exemption is claimed. 

 Not eligible for the senior citizen 
subtraction for interest, dividends, and 
capital gains. 

 
 Not eligible for public or private pension 

subtraction. 
 
 Income exemption election: 

 
 Elect exemption against all income of 

$20,000 for single filers or $40,000 for 
joint filer, OR 
Note: No exemption for Social 

Security, Military/Michigan 
National Guard, or railroad 
pension.  No personal 
exemptions 

 Elect to exempt Social Security, 
Military/Michigan National Guard and 
railroad pension.  May claim personal 
exemptions. 
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Unlimited Public Pension Subtraction 
 
Applies only to retirees born before 1946 (Tier 1). 
 
Michigan and Federal Public Pensions 
 
Federal or Michigan public pensions are no longer totally exempt for all taxpayers.  The amount 
that may be deducted depends on the year of birth for a retiree who is single filer or on the year of 
birth of the oldest spouse for joint filers. 
 
Public pensions include benefits received from the federal civil service, State of Michigan, political 
subdivisions of Michigan, military, and railroad pensions.  If the requirements of the plans under 
Step 1 are met, these distributions may be deductible depending on the age of the filers. 
 
Public Pensions: Railroad Retirement and Pension Benefits 
 
The taxable amount of railroad pension income included in AGI may be subtracted on the 
Michigan return.  Portions of a railroad pension are reported as Social Security on the federal 
return; however these benefits should be subtracted as railroad pension, not Social Security, on the 
Michigan return. 
 
Public Pensions From Other States 
 
Michigan allows a pension subtraction for public pensions earned in other states by Tier 1 retirees 
if the other state permits a deduction, or exemption of a retirement or pension benefit received 
from a Michigan public retirement system.  To the extent included in AGI, Michigan allows the 
greater of: 
 

• $49,811 for a single return or $99,623 for a joint return for the 2015 tax year (private 
pension limits) 

OR 
 

• Amount allowed as a deduction or exemption by the other state to its residents on public 
pensions received from Michigan. 

 
For most public pensions from other states, the Michigan subtraction for Tier 1 retirees will be 
limited to the private pension limits of $49,811 or $99,623.  However, there are 14 states that allow 
a complete exemption for public pensions earned in Michigan and one state that has a higher 
pension deduction than Michigan’s private pension limits. 
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The following states allow a 100 percent deduction or exemption for their residents who receive 
Michigan public pensions.  Therefore, for Tier 1 retirees (those born before 1946), the full 
amount of the pension distribution included in AGI is subtractable on the Michigan return for 
public pensions received by Michigan residents from the following states: 
 

Alaska New Hampshire 
Florida Pennsylvania 
Hawaii South Dakota 
Illinois Tennessee 
Massachusetts Texas 
Mississippi Washington 
Nevada Wyoming 
 

For all other public pensions from states other than the 14 with complete exemptions, the Michigan 
private pension limits will be the maximum subtraction allowed for Tier 1 retirees.  For all other 
retirees the pension limitations are based solely on date of birth and there is no difference between 
a private and a public pension. 
 
Combined Public and Private Pension 
 
Applies only to retirees born before 1946 (Tier 1). 
 
An individual with a pension from both public and private sources must reduce the maximum 
allowable subtraction for the private pension by any claimed subtraction for military, railroad, 
Michigan National Guard, or other public pension distribution. 
 
Private Pensions 
 
Private pensions include employer plans and individual plans such as IRAs and senior citizen 
annuities.  The maximum subtraction allowed for a Tier 1 retiree with a private pension is adjusted 
annually by the percentage increase in the U.S. Consumer Price Index.  The maximum deduction 
for the 2015 tax year is $49,811 on a single return and $99,623 for a joint return. 
 
The following table outlines the annual maximum pension deductions: 
 

Tax 
Year 

Single 
Return 

Joint 
Return 

2011 45,842 91,684 
2012   47,309*   94,618* 
2013   48,302*   96,605* 
2014   49,027*   98,054* 
2015   49,811*   99,623* 

*Only applies to retirees born before 1946 (Tier 1).   
For all other retirees lower limits apply. 
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Pension Subtraction Examples 
 
Example 1: Combined Public and Private Pension distributions. 

 
Sam is retired and single and born before 1946.  He has a State of Michigan pension 
of $33,000 and a private pension of $18,000.  His total pension deduction for 2015 
is determined as follows: 

 
Maximum Private Pension Deduction $49,811 
Less:  Public Pension  -33,000 
Allowable Private Pension Subtraction $16,811 
 
Sam’s total pension subtraction is:  
    Public $33,000 
    Private 16,811 
 
Total $49,811 
 

If Sam’s public pension was more than $49,811, he would not be able to subtract 
any of his private pension. 

 
Example 2: Employer and Employee contributions to a 401(k) plan. 

 
Stuart’s employer established a 401(k) plan for its employees.  The plan provides 
for a 50 percent employer match of employee contributions up to the maximum 
employer match of 3 percent of the employee’s salary.  The plan also allows the 
employees to make additional unmatched contributions up to the annual percentage 
rate allowed by the IRC.  In 2015, Stuart retired under the provisions of the 
retirement plan at age 60.  At the time of his retirement, Stuart received an annual 
statement from the 401(k) plan showing total contributions of $400,000, of which 
$100,000 were employer contributions.  Stuart took a distribution of $25,000 in 
2015, the year he retired. 
 
Since the plan includes unmatched employee contributions, Stuart must determine 
what amount of the $25,000 distribution is attributed to the unmatched 
contributions.  The plan called for a 50 percent employer match; therefore, 
$200,000 of the employee contributions was required to elicit $100,000 employer 
matching contributions.  The remaining account balance of $100,000 is unmatched 
employee contributions.  The deductible amount of the 2015 distribution is 
determined as follows: 

 
$100,000/$400,000  x  $25,000  =  $6,250 (distribution attributed to unmatched 

contributions) 
 

$25,000 - $6,250  =  $18,750 (Maximum allowable pension subtraction.  Actual 
subtraction may be further limited based on the date of birth of the retiree.) 
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Conversion of Roth IRAs 
 
A Roth IRA is treated differently than a traditional IRA under the IRC.  Under a traditional IRA, 
the contributions are excluded from AGI but the distributions are taxed.  Under a Roth IRA the 
reverse occurs; the contributions are taxed and the distributions are not. 
 
Contributions to a Roth IRA are not tax exempt and are subject to the Michigan income tax to the 
extent the contributions are included in federal AGI. 
 
A conversion from a regular IRA to a Roth IRA is subject to Michigan income tax to the extent 
the conversion is included in federal AGI.  If an individual is 59½ when the conversion occurs, the 
individual may deduct the conversion as a pension deduction within the statutory limits for 
deducting pension income. 
 
A conversion from a regular IRA to a Roth IRA is subject to Michigan income tax for a taxpayer 
moving into and domiciled in Michigan to the extent the conversion is included in AGI.  A taxpayer 
moving from Michigan to another state is not taxed on the amount of a conversion from a regular 
IRA to a Roth IRA during the years the taxpayer is not domiciled in Michigan. 
 
A qualified distribution from a Roth IRA is not subject to Michigan income tax because the 
distribution is not included in federal AGI. 
 
A conversion from a regular IRA to a Roth IRA is included in total household resources in the 
year the income is included in the taxpayer’s federal AGI.  The amount of a qualified distribution 
in excess of a taxpayer’s contributions (conversion or regular contributions) must be included in 
total household resources.  A nonqualified or taxable distribution from a Roth IRA must be 
included in total household resources to the extent it is included in a taxpayer’s federal AGI.  
Investment losses from the liquidation of a Roth IRA are not allowed in total household resources. 
 

Note: All pension income must be included in total household resources except for any 
nondeductible contributions that are included in the pension distribution and any 
amounts that are rolled over into other plans.  Generally, only the taxable portion 
of the pension benefits from the 1099-R is included in total household resources. 

 
Litigation Affecting Rollover Into an IRA 
 
Magen v Dep’t of Treasury, Mich App. Docket No. 302771 (2013) held that distributions from an 
IRA are not taxable where the entire principle in the IRA originally came from a tax-free (public) 
retirement plan.  The taxpayer’s deceased husband had, prior to death, transferred his Michigan 
State University 403(b) retirement account (a tax exempt plan at the time) into a private IRA from 
which the taxpayer received distributions after her husband’s death.  Although the IRA 
distributions exceeded the private pension limits, the taxpayer deducted the IRA distributions from 
her taxable State income in 2011.  Treasury disallowed the deductions to the extent they exceeded 
the maximum private pension subtraction limit.  The court held that distributions from an IRA are 
not taxable where the entire principal in the IRA originally came from a tax-free retirement plan. 
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The impact of this decision depends in large part on the age of the recipient and how much of the 
public pension is exempt from taxation.  However, practitioners should be aware of the flipside of 
this decision, which requires Treasury to “look through” the IRA distribution to the source of any 
rollovers.  Thus previously when a taxpayer rolled a non-qualified 457 plan over to an IRA, if the 
distribution were qualified, Treasury would have allowed a subtraction up to the private pension 
limits.  Under Magen, Treasury is required to look through the IRA distribution to its source, the 
457 plan, for which no subtraction from taxable income is allowed. 
  

Note: Prior to January 1, 2012 public pensions were not subject to taxation in Michigan.  
Public Act 38 of 2011 made public pensions subject to income tax and conditioned 
eligibility for the exemption on the taxpayer’s date of birth. 

 
2015 Pension Subtraction Table for Tier 1 Retirees 
 
The 2015 deductible pension benefits are limited to the lesser of the amount included in AGI or 
the amounts shown below. 
 

Source of Pension Benefits Single Joint 

U.S. Civil Service Amount included in 
AGI 
 

Amount included in 
AGI 

State of Michigan Amount included in 
AGI 
 

Amount included in 
AGI 
 

Michigan political subdivisions Amount included in 
AGI 
 

Amount included in 
AGI 
 

Private $49,811 $99,623 
 

Public pensions  
(from other states) 

$49,811 or reciprocal 
limit, whichever is 
greater 

$99,623 or reciprocal 
limit, whichever is 
greater 
 

Qualified senior citizen retirement 
annuities 
 

$49,811 $99,623 

Public and private Limited to public 
pension or $49,811, 
whichever is greater 
(cannot exceed actual 
qualified distributions 
received). 

Limited to public 
pension or $99,623, 
whichever is greater 
(cannot exceed actual 
qualified distributions 
received). 
 

 
  



61 

1099 R Distribution Codes 
 
Recipients of a pension distribution receive Form 1099R.  There is a box on Form 1099R titled 
“Distribution code(s).”  Look in the Distribution code(s) box for the number that describes the 
condition under which the pension or retirement benefit was paid.  
 

 
 

1099R 
Dist. Code 

 

 
 
 

Description 

Is the condition eligible for 
Michigan tax exemption? 

(Dollar and date of birth limits 
may still apply) 

 
1 Early distribution, no known exception No 
2 Early distribution, exception applies No, unless:

• Part of a series of substantially equal periodic payments 
made for the life of the employee or the joint lives of the 
employee and employee’s beneficiary. 

• Early retirement under the terms of the plan. 
3 Disability Yes 
4 Death • Yes, for surviving spouse only and only if the decedent 

would have also qualified for a normal distribution under 
Distribution Code 7 at the time of death.  This may be 
subject to limitations based on the year of birth of the 
decedent. 

• No, for all other beneficiaries. 
• No, if paid as a death benefit payment made by an 

employer but not made as part of a pension, profit-
sharing, or retirement plan. 

5 Prohibited transaction No 
6 Section 1035 exchange: tax-free exchange of 

life insurance, endowment insurance, and 
annuity contracts 

No 

7 Normal distribution:  
normal distribution from a plan; distribution 
from a traditional IRA if the participant is at 
least 59½; Roth conversion if the participant is 
at least age 59½; or distribution from a life 
insurance, annuity, or endowment contract  

Yes 

8 Taxable excess contribution plus 
earnings/excess deferrals (and/or earnings) 

No 

9 Cost of current life insurance protection No 

 

DEFERRED COMPENSATION 
 
Distributions received from deferred compensation plans which allow the employee to set the 
amount of compensation to be deferred and do not prescribe retirement age or years of service are 
treated as ordinary income.  Deferred compensation distributions are usually not considered 
pension income and may not be subtracted on the Michigan return. 
 
Federal law, 4 USC 114, prohibits a state from taxing certain deferred compensation distributions 
received by a nonresident.  Therefore, nonresidents are not subject to Michigan income tax on 
distributions from deferred compensation plans as defined in IRC Sections 401(k), 457, and 
3121(v)(2)(c). 
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INTEREST, DIVIDENDS, AND CAPITAL GAINS DEDUCTION 
FOR SENIOR CITIZENS BORN BEFORE 1946 
 
Senior citizens born before 1946 may take a deduction for interest, dividends, and capital gains up 
to $11,104 for a single return and $22,207 for a joint return for the 2015 tax year.  The deduction 
is adjusted by the percent increase in the U.S. Consumer Price Index each year.  This maximum 
deduction must be reduced by the amount of deduction taken for pension and retirement income. 
 
Example:  

 Step 1: James and Joanne are married and file a joint income tax return.  James was 
born before 1946. A partial listing of their income is as follows: 

 
Pension Income $ 6,000 
Capital Gains 13,000 
Dividend Income 1,800 
Interest Income 3,800 
 

Step 2: Calculation of interest, dividend, and capital gains deduction: 
 

Maximum Deduction $22,207 
Less:  Pension Subtraction    6,000 
 
Maximum Allowable Deduction $16,207 
 

Step 3: Total interest, dividends, and capital gains =  $18,600 
 
Step 4: Use the lesser of the total interest, dividends, and capital gains ($18,600) or 

the maximum allowable deduction ($16,207). 
 
Step 5: The interest, dividends, and capital gains deduction for James and Joanne is 

$16,207. 
 

Note: The term “senior citizen” as used on the previous page, refers to a person 65 years 
of age or older or an unremarried surviving spouse of an individual who was 65 
years of age or older at the time of death.  Beginning in 2012, this deduction is 
available only to taxpayers born before 1946 or the surviving spouse. 

 
529 EDUCATION PLANS 
 
Michigan Education Savings Program 
 
MESP is administered by Treasury and managed by Teachers Insurance Annuity Association-
College Retirement Equities Fund (TIAA-CREF).  To open an education savings account, an 
individual must enter into an agreement with the program manager.  The total of all account 
balances on any beneficiary cannot exceed $235,000. 
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Distributions from the account must be used to pay qualified higher education expenses incurred 
after the account is established.  A nonqualified distribution will be subject to a penalty of 10 
percent of the distribution if no federal penalty is imposed on the nonqualified withdrawal. 
 
A deduction may be taken on the Michigan income tax return for contributions made to the MESP 
on or after October 1, 2000.  The maximum deduction is $5,000 for a single filer ($10,000 for a 
jointly filed return).  The amount deducted includes total contributions made to the plan less 
qualified withdrawals made during the tax year.  A taxpayer must add to federal AGI any 
nonqualified withdrawal from the MESP in the year of the withdrawal. 
 
Interest earned on contributions made to an MESP account may be deducted to the extent included 
in AGI.  The beneficiary of the MESP account may deduct qualified withdrawals to the extent 
included in AGI. 
 
For more information on the MESP contact MESP at 1-877-861-MESP, info@misaves.com, or 
www.misaves.com. 
 
Michigan Education Trust 
 
MET allows parents, grandparents, and others to prepurchase undergraduate in-state and in-district 
tuition for a child at any Michigan public college, university, junior college, or community college. 
 
Payments made under an advance payment contract in MET during the tax year are deductible to 
the extent they are included in federal AGI on a purchaser’s Michigan income tax return.  The 
contract processing fee may also be subtracted on the Michigan return.  Interest payments made 
on loans to finance the contract are not deductible.  MET contracts are only set up in specified 
enrollment periods. 
 
Beginning with the 2002 tax year, earnings on the qualified distributions are tax-free on the 
beneficiary’s federal and State income tax returns.  A nonqualified distribution is subject to federal 
and State income tax. 
 
For more information or contract materials, contact MET at 1-800-MET-4-KID, treasMET@ 
michigan.gov, or www.michigan.gov/setwithmet. 
 

Coverdell Educational Savings Account (formerly Educational IRA) 
 
The Coverdell Educational Savings Account (Coverdell ESA) is structured as a trust or a custodial 
account for the purpose of paying educational expenses of a designated beneficiary and follows 
the same general rules as other IRAs. 
 
The contributions made to a Coverdell ESA are not tax deductible.  The contributions are limited 
to $2,000 a year. 
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The distributions from a Coverdell ESA are tax-free if they do not exceed the beneficiary’s 
qualified educational expenses to an approved educational institution.  An approved institution is 
any accredited postsecondary educational institution offering credit towards an associates, 
bachelors, graduate level, or professional degree. 
 
Any investment earnings will accrue tax-deferred or tax-free.  However, any distribution that is 
included in AGI is taxable in Michigan. 
 

NONRESIDENTS’ TAXABLE INCOME 
The following income of nonresidents is subject to the Michigan income tax: 
 

1. Salary, wages, commissions, and other personal service income for work performed in 
Michigan. 

 
2. Income allocable or apportionable to Michigan, including portfolio income, from 

partnerships, S corporations, and limited liability companies having business activity 
in Michigan, or business or farm income from a sole proprietorship or farm located in 
Michigan.  Significant changes to the apportionment of business income have occurred 
as a result of legislative changes taking effect in 2012 and the Michigan Supreme Court 
holding that combined apportionment under the unitary business principle may be used 
to calculate an individual’s taxable income at the election of the taxpayer.  Malpass v 
Department of Treasury, 494 Mich 237 (2013).  (See Flow-Through Entities 
Distribution of Income and Losses and Apportionment of Flow-Through Entities under 
the Unitary Business Principle section for more information.) 

 
3. Rent and royalty income from real and tangible personal property located in Michigan. 

 
4. Capital gains/losses from the sale or exchange of real or tangible personal property 

located in Michigan. 
 

5. Patent or copyright royalties if the patent or copyright is used in Michigan or has a 
commercial domicile in Michigan. 

 
6. Michigan lottery, raffle, bingo, and charitable gaming winnings. 
 
7. Michigan casino winnings and winnings from pari-mutuel wagering at licensed horse 

racing meetings in Michigan. 
 
8. Distributable net income received from a trust attributable to Michigan, including 

business income and gain from property located in Michigan. 
 
Michigan has reciprocal agreements with Illinois, Indiana, Kentucky, Minnesota, Ohio, and 
Wisconsin that exempt nonresidents from income taxes imposed by each state on salaries, wages, 
and other employee compensation.  Business income and gambling income are not subject to these 
reciprocal agreements.  Business income is subject to the allocation and apportionment provisions 
of the Michigan Income Tax Act (ITA). 
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Withholding for Nonresidents 
 
PA 21 of 2003 requires nonresidents to pay Michigan income taxes on winnings from casinos and 
pari-mutuel wagering at licensed horse racing meetings.   
 
The act applies to winnings from casinos regulated under the Michigan Gaming Control and 
Revenue Act, tribal casinos where gaming is conducted under the federal Indian Gaming and 
Regulatory Act, and horse racing licensed under the Horse Racing Act of 1995. 
 
PA 22 of 2003 amended the ITA to extend the withholding requirements that are currently imposed 
on employers so that they apply to: 
 

1. Distributive share income from a flow through entity (FTE) earned by nonresident 
members 

 
2. Winnings of nonresidents reportable under federal casino law by casinos licensed under 

the Michigan Gaming Control and Revenue Act, and 
 
3. Winnings of nonresidents reportable under the federal law by race meeting licensees 

and track licensees operating under the Horse Racing law of 1995. 
 

Beginning in 2012, the withholding requirements for FTEs with individual nonresident members 
were reenacted by the legislature as MCL 206.703.  The withholding and reporting obligations of 
a FTE are discussed in detail in the Flow-Through Withholding chapter of this publication.  An 
FTE is required to furnish to a nonresident individual member information about the taxable 
Michigan portion of the member’s distributive share and the amount of withholding in some 
manner, such as in the supplemental information to the federal schedule K-1 that the member 
receives from the FTE. 

 

FLOW-THROUGH ENTITY DISTRIBUTION OF INCOME AND LOSSES 
 
Business income derived from business activity in Michigan is subject to income tax.  Business 
income can be sourced to a sole proprietorship or to an FTE.  Income received from a “C 
corporation” is not business income if it is received as wages or dividends.  Income from the sale 
of a partnership interest has generally been considered nonbusiness income attributable to the state 
of residence of the owner; however, an unpublished Michigan Court of Appeals decision held that 
the sale of a partnership interest is business income, taxable where the business activity takes place.  
Aikens v Michigan Department of Treasury	COA	#310528 (2013).  Treasury has not acquiesced 
to the unpublished decision at the time of this publication.   
 
Modifications to the apportionment of business income have occurred because of a legislative 
change requiring the use of only the sales factor beginning in 2012.  Changes to the apportionment 
of business income have also occurred as result of the Michigan Supreme Court holding that 
combined apportionment under the unitary business principle may be used to calculate taxable 
income at the election of the taxpayer.  Malpass v Department of Treasury, 494 Mich 237 (2013).  
Combined apportionment is discussed in detail under a separate heading on apportionment of 
unitary businesses. 
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Income flowing through to a shareholder of an S corporation, a partner of a partnership, a member 
of a limited liability company, or the owner of any other FTE is business income and is subject to 
the allocation and apportionment provisions of the Michigan Income Tax Act.   
 
The taxpayer’s distributive share of such income and losses shall be allocated or apportioned to 
the state where the business activity takes place using the three-factor apportionment formula for 
2011 and earlier years and on only the sales factor beginning in 2012.  The apportionment is 
computed on Schedule of Apportionment (Form MI-1040H).  Business income allocated or 
apportioned to Michigan is taxable to Michigan. 
 
A Michigan resident may subtract from AGI income that is not allocated or apportioned to 
Michigan.  Conversely, losses not allocated or apportioned to Michigan must be added to AGI.   
 
Portfolio income is business income and is subject to allocation or apportionment.  Portfolio 
income includes interest income, dividend income, royalty income, and net short-term and long-
term capital gain (loss) reported on the federal Schedule D.  Resident or nonresident individual 
taxpayers having portfolio income from a multistate partnership, S corporation, or other FTE must 
apportion this income using the apportionment formula as computed on MI-1040H. 
 
A nonresident member of any FTE doing business in Michigan must file a Michigan return to 
report their distributive income from the FTE.  The income is taxable even if it is not actually 
distributed to the member. 
 
When filing Form MI-1040H, note that the computation of the apportionment percentage is not 
the same for IIT as for Michigan Business Tax (MBT) or Corporate Income Tax (CIT).  When 
computing the sales factor, throwback sales for IIT follow Public Law (PL) 86-272 standards.  
Also, foreign sales can be included in the numerator for IIT purposes.  The IIT standard for 
determining if the taxpayer is taxable in another state uses the PL 86-272 nexus criteria.  In general, 
a taxpayer’s business must have property in another state or activity that goes beyond solicitation 
of sales to be taxable in the other state. 
 
An S corporation is permitted to own a qualified subchapter S subsidiary (QSub).  The term 
includes any domestic corporation that qualifies as an S corporation and is 100 percent owned by 
an S corporation parent, which elects to treat it as a QSub.  The assets, liabilities, and items of 
income, deduction, and credit of the QSub are treated as those of the parent S corporation. 
 
Business, Rental, and Royalty Activity Worksheet 
 
When a taxpayer has non-Michigan business activity and income not subject to tax in Michigan 
that is included in federal adjusted gross income, the taxpayer is required to provide information 
regarding that income, including the type and location of the business activity and a description of 
the income not taxable in Michigan.  A Business Activity Worksheet was created and is intended 
to aid individuals and tax preparers in providing this information and in reconciling the taxpayer’s 
MI-1040 to their federal 1040.  The Business Activity Worksheet is not a required attachment, 
however submitting the worksheet could reduce the need for further correspondence and avoid 
delays in processing the return.   
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The Business Activity Worksheet allows taxpayers to identify the location of Michigan and non-
Michigan business activity and rental activity.  It also allows other non-business income to be 
identified as Michigan or non-Michigan income.  The Business Activity Worksheet is a suggested 
attachment and can be used by e-filers or paper filers.   The Business Activity Worksheet, or any 
similar worksheet that identifies the type and location of non-Michigan business activity and 
income, may be included as a PDF attachment with an e-filed return using the file name 
“BusinessActivity.pdf.”  The Business Activity Worksheet or similar worksheet may also be 
attached to a mailed paper return. 
 
Composite Individual Income Tax Return for Nonresident Partners/Shareholders/Members 
 
Partnerships, S corporations, limited liability companies, and other FTEs can file a composite 
return for nonresident partners/shareholders/members.  The entity must have two or more 
nonresident partners/shareholders/members who participate on the composite return.  The 
composite return is ultimately filed on behalf of nonresident individuals or trusts.  FTEs may not 
file a composite return on behalf of C-corporation members. 
 
The entity must withhold income tax on the taxable distributive share of net profits reported on the 
federal schedule K-1 even if the members do not receive a distribution of income.  FTEs must 
register with Treasury and file quarterly withholding returns.  The withholding requirements for 
income tax do not affect any obligation that the entities or their members may have under the MBT 
Act. 
 
The participants can be other FTEs as well as individuals.  Individual participants who have other 
Michigan income which requires them to file a MI-1040 return may not subtract the income 
reported on the composite return, but may claim a credit on the MI-1040 for their share of the tax 
paid on a composite return. 
 
APPORTIONMENT OF FLOW-THROUGH ENTITIES 
UNDER THE UNITARY BUSINESS PRINCIPLE 
 
In 2013, the Michigan Supreme Court held that combined apportionment under the unitary 
business principle may be used to calculate IIT taxable income at the election of the taxpayer.  
Malpass v Department of Treasury, 494 Mich 237 (2013).  Treasury previously applied the unitary 
business principle to each discrete legal entity’s business operations.  The holding by the Michigan 
Supreme Court is retroactive.  Amended returns are required if business income is subject to 
apportionment and the taxpayer elects to apply the combined method. 
 
The due process and commerce clauses of the U.S. Constitution impose limitations on a state’s 
power to tax activity beyond its borders.  However, when an entity operates in more than one state, 
the task of assigning income among the various states becomes difficult.  The U.S. Supreme Court 
permits states to tax a business on an apportionable share of the multistate business based on the 
proportion of activity that took place in the taxing state.  This is known as the unitary business 
principle.  A unitary business is one that has a flow of value between its various operations or 
entities.  Factors that establish flow of value include functional integration, economies of scale, 
and centralized management. 
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Combined apportionment means that if a FTE operates solely in another state or foreign country 
and another FTE that is part of the same related or tiered structure has some or all of its activity in 
Michigan, then the income of all tiers or related FTEs must be combined and apportioned using 
the combined factors of all FTEs.  Prior to the Michigan Supreme Court ruling, a FTE with no 
activity in Michigan would have no part of its income apportioned to Michigan. 
 
Related or tiered FTEs will be considered unitary if they share centralized management, even if 
the management is from an outside source that is otherwise independent of the tiered structure, or 
if they share employee services.  Intercompany transactions should be eliminated.  Unlike 
Michigan Corporate Income Tax, there is no “water’s edge.”  
 
Treasury has made available a sample worksheet titled MI-1040H Unitary Apportionment 
Worksheet (Unitary Worksheet) that allows taxpayers to provide the required information when 
apportioning unitary business income.  The Unitary Worksheet, or any similar worksheet that 
identifies the members in the group and shows the combining calculations, may be attached as a 
PDF file to an e-filed return using the file name “UnitaryCalculation.pdf.”  The Unitary Worksheet 
or similar worksheet may also be attached to a paper filed return.  The Unitary Worksheet is not a 
required attachment, however submitting the Unitary Worksheet could reduce the need for further 
correspondence to obtain information required to process the return and avoid delays.  The Unitary 
Worksheet can be obtained at www.michigan.gov/iit. 
 

ADJUSTMENTS OF CAPITAL GAINS AND LOSSES - MI-1040D 
The purpose of Adjustments of Capital Gains and Losses (Form MI-1040D) is to exclude from 
Michigan taxable income gains and losses that are not subject to tax by Michigan.  Michigan has 
had IIT since October 1, 1967.  If a taxpayer sells property that they owned prior to that date, only 
that portion of the gain attributable to the time Michigan has had an income tax can be taxed.  
Similarly, if the gain was attributable to another state and therefore not subject to Michigan tax, it 
cannot be included in Michigan taxable income.  The MI-1040D adds in the Michigan gain and 
subtracts out the federal gain so the taxpayer is only taxed on the Michigan portion.  If the MI-
1040D computes to a loss, the federal loss is added back in the same manner as an out-of-state loss 
and the Michigan loss is subtracted.  Ultimately, the MI-1040D functions to remove the federal 
gain or loss and replace it with the Michigan gain or loss to arrive at Michigan taxable income.  If 
the Michigan gain or loss is identical to the federal gain or loss, it is not necessary to file the MI-
1040D. 
 
Form MI-1040D for the adjustment of capital gains and losses must be used if any of the 
following are true: 
 

1. Taxpayer disposes of assets acquired prior to October 1, 1967, and elects to exclude 
gains or losses under Section 271. 

 
To apportion under Section 271: 
 
Multiply gain or loss by number of months property was held after September 30, 1967.  
Then divide the result by the total number of months held. 
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2. Taxpayer has gains or losses from the sale or exchange of U.S. obligations that cannot 
be taxed by Michigan. 

 
3. Taxpayer has gains or losses from property subject to the allocation and apportionment 

provisions. 
 

Example: Robert, a Michigan resident, reported the following capital gains on his 
federal Schedule D: 

 
From sale of stock $ 9,800 
From sale of real property in 
   Phoenix, Arizona   5, 800 
Total Schedule D capital gain $15,600 

 
After preparing the MI-1040D, the $15,600 total capital gain is reported 
as a subtraction from AGI on the MI-1040, and the $9,800 capital gain on 
the sale of stock is reported as an addition to AGI on the MI-1040.  This 
removes the $5,800 gain from the sale of real property in Phoenix, 
Arizona from Michigan taxable income. 
 

NET OPERATING LOSS CARRYBACK AND CARRYFORWARD 
MCL Sections 206.30(1)(m) and (n) were enacted by legislative amendment in 1987 to provide an 
NOL deduction for Michigan income tax purposes.  Several court cases (Preston v. Department of 
Treasury, 190 Mich App 4941, 476 NW 2d 455 (1991), and Beznos v. Department of Treasury, 
224 Mich App 717; 569 NW 2d 908 (1997)) have clarified the income tax treatment of the 
Michigan NOL and NOL deduction.  In Preston, the Michigan Court of Appeals ruled that a 
taxpayer could have a Michigan NOL in the absence of a corresponding federal NOL.  In Beznos, 
the Court held that the Michigan NOL deduction was not limited to the smaller of the federal NOL 
deduction or federal modified taxable income.  In so ruling, the Court stated that the Michigan 
NOL and NOL deduction must be computed without federal itemized deductions.   
 
As a result, Treasury calculates the Michigan NOL and NOL deduction independently of the 
federal NOL and NOL deduction.  The Michigan NOL calculation is computed by applying the 
NOL provisions of IRC Section 172 to only income, losses, and deductions allocated and 
apportioned to Michigan under Chapter 3 of the ITA.  The Michigan NOL is computed without 
regard to federal itemized deductions in the year of the loss, or income and losses and related 
expenses from oil and gas production, and nonferrous metallic minerals extraction that are subject 
to Michigan severance tax.  The Michigan NOL so computed may then be subtracted in full on the 
Michigan return in the year to which it is properly carried. 
 
For tax years beginning before 2012, the allowed NOL deduction used to reduce household income 
may not exceed federal modified taxable income, or the federal NOL deduction, whichever is 
smaller.  The inclusion of the allowed NOL deduction in household income may be used to 
increase the amount of the homestead property tax credit and the farmland preservation tax credit.  
The NOL carryback cannot be used to claim a home heating credit. 
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Beginning in 2012, “household income” was replaced by “total household resources.”  Neither 
the federal nor the Michigan NOL may be used to reduce total household resources for purpose of 
the home heating credit or the property tax credit. 
 
Michigan follows the federal provisions in determining the eligible carryback or carryforward 
years.  Generally, the Michigan NOL amount may be carried back two years.  For 2008 and 2009, 
many taxpayers may qualify to use a three-, four-, or five-year carryback period in the same manner 
as provided in the IRC.  Any unused balance may be carried forward 20 years. 
 

Note: Any federal domestic production activities deduction under IRC 199 must be added 
back in calculating a Michigan NOL and also removed from the carryback or 
carryforward year. 

 
NOL Frequently Asked Questions  
 
1. Q. If a return with an NOL is filed after the four-year statute of limitations for claiming a 

refund has expired, does the taxpayer lose the benefit of the NOL? 
 
 A. The taxpayer cannot file a claim for a refund for any years that are beyond the four-year 

statute of limitations.  (Exception: If the loss year (NOL year) return is filed within four 
years of the due date, the NOL may be carried back to a year that is otherwise outside of 
the statute of limitations and a refund will be issued.)  However, the taxpayer must use 
the Michigan NOL to the extent of Michigan income subject to tax in the closed years to 
determine the amount that can be carried forward to years that are filed within the four-
year statute of limitations and before carrying forward the balance of any remaining 
NOL. 

 
2. Q. Can a taxpayer create a Michigan NOL if there is no corresponding federal NOL? 
 
 A. Yes, based on the Appeals Court decision in Preston v Michigan Department of Treasury.  

Complete Application for Net Operating Loss Refund (Form MI-1045) to determine the 
amount of the Michigan NOL.  This may occur when a taxpayer has income from other 
states or income from oil and gas production and nonferrous metallic minerals extraction 
that are subject to Michigan severance tax. 

 
3. Q. What are the implications on an NOL carryback/forward when the filing status of an 

individual changes (e.g., joint to separate or single)? 
 
 A. Year of NOL Year of Carryback/forward 

 
  Joint NOL Single or separate return filed - determine each individual’s share 

of the joint NOL and apply their share to their separate or single 
returns. 

 
  Married,  Joint return filed - apply NOL to the joint return. 
  Filing Separate 
 



71 

  Single  Joint return filed - separate individuals’ income and deductions 
and apply NOL to the individual sustaining an NOL as a single 
individual. 

 
4. Q. Can there be a difference in the amount of a Michigan NOL and a federal NOL? 
 
 A. Yes, the Michigan NOL is computed without considering federal itemized deductions as 

well as income and losses attributable to other states and income and losses from oil and 
gas production and nonferrous metallic minerals extraction subject to Michigan 
severance tax. 

 
5. Q. Can an NOL carryback/forward be used to reduce household income?  (Applies to years 

before 2012 and when computing the Farmland Preservation Tax Credit.) 
 
 A. Yes, to the extent of a taxpayer’s federal modified taxable income.  Remember, the 

federal NOL deduction is not subject to apportionment for household income purposes.  
Beginning in 2012, “total household resources” replaces “household income.”  An NOL 
cannot be used to reduce “total household resources.” 

 
6. Q. Must Form MI-1045 be filed or can Form MI-1040X/MI-1040X-12 be filed? 
 
 A. If carrying the loss back, Form MI-1045 must be filed.  A copy of the original Form 

MI-1045 must also be submitted in years when losses are carried forward. 
 
7. Q. What should be included in income reported on page 1 of the MI-1045? 
 
 A. Page 1 should reflect the Michigan portion of federal AGI.  It should not include income 

or losses from other states and it should not include gross income from oil and gas 
royalties subject to Michigan severance tax.  Beginning in 2012, do not include the 
expenses related to the gross income from oil and gas royalties.  Beginning in 2013, do 
not include income and related expenses from nonferrous metallic minerals extraction 
subject to Michigan severance tax. 

 
8. Q. Should a State or local refund be included even though it is not taxable to Michigan? 
 
 A. Yes, any state or local refund included in federal AGI should be included on page 1 of 

Form MI-1045.  It is used in the computation of the MI-1045. 
 
9. Q. Should pension income or SSI be reported even though it may not be taxable on the 

Michigan return? 
 
 A. Yes, any portion of pension or SSI included in federal AGI for the loss year must be 

included in the MI-1045 computation. 
 
10. Q. What must be sent to verify a taxpayer is a Day Trader? 
 
 A. Day Traders must include a copy of an approved 475(f) election from the IRS. 
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11. Q. Is the NOL amount allowed as a deduction to household income for years before 2012 
and for the Farmland Preservation Credit the same as the amount computed on page 1 of 
the MI-1045? 

 
 A. No, the NOL deduction allowed in household income is limited to federal modified 

taxable income or the federal NOL deduction, whichever is less. 
 
12. Q. What documentation is necessary to support an NOL claim? 
 
 A. A copy of the federal return for the loss year, a copy of the completed federal 1045 (if 

applicable), the state of location for any claimed business losses on federal schedules, a 
copy of any attachments indicated on federal schedules, K-1’s, Adjustments of Gains and 
Losses From Sales of Business Property (MI-4797), MI-1040D, and Schedule H must be 
submitted to verify any apportionments. 

 
13. Q. How is a carryforward documented in a succeeding tax year? 
 
 A. A copy of the original MI-1045 prepared for the year the loss was incurred and a copy of 

the worksheet showing how the loss has been used in previous and succeeding years 
should always be submitted to verify the claimed carryforward. 

 
Tips for Filing 
 
1. When completing Form MI-1045, exclude income and losses from other states in Part 1. 
 
2. The main concerns when reviewing a return with an NOL deduction are determining if:  
 

• The allocation and apportionment provisions of the ITA have been complied with 
 
• For years before 2012 and for the Farmland Preservation Tax Credit, the NOL 

deduction has been correctly limited to federal modified taxable income in the schedule 
of household income on the refundable credit claims (e.g., homestead property tax 
credit).  Beginning in 2012, the federal NOL is not part of total household resources. 

 
3. To claim a refund from a carryback of a Michigan NOL, complete and file Form MI-1045.  If 

any of the refundable credits are affected by the NOL carryback, a copy of the revised credit 
claim form must be attached.  Form MI-1040X/MI-1040X-12 is not required to be attached 
to Form MI-1045. 

 
4. To expedite processing, include copies of pages 1 and 2 of a taxpayer’s federal income tax 

return and all supporting federal tax schedules when an NOL deduction is claimed for both 
the year of the loss and the year it is carried to.  If the information is not attached, Treasury 
may write to the taxpayer and request copies of these schedules. 
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5. When listing an NOL deduction, specifically identify the amount.  Many times a notation is 
made, such as miscellaneous deductions, which includes other items (e.g., jury duty, directors’ 
fees, etc.) that makes it impossible to determine what amount the taxpayer is claiming as an 
NOL deduction.  Beginning in 2012, a Michigan NOL deduction is reported separately on the 
Schedule 1 and is not included on the miscellaneous subtractions line with these other items. 

 
6. Be sure to attach a calculation of the amount of all NOLs included in the NOL deduction 

claimed on the Michigan return. 
 

7. For years before 2012, enter allowable NOL deduction on line 25 on the property tax form 
MI-1040CR as other adjustments to income and write “NOL” on the line. 

 
8. A taxpayer may create a federal NOL when AGI is greater than zero, which will result in a 

Michigan NOL deduction in the pre-2012 schedule of household income only and for the 
Farmland Preservation Credit.  Itemized deductions may not be used to create a Michigan 
NOL deduction for Michigan taxable income purposes. 

 
9. Casualty losses, employee business expenses, and other itemized deductions classified as 

business expenses for federal NOL purposes may create or contribute to a Michigan NOL 
deduction for pre-2012 household income purposes only and for the Farmland Preservation 
Tax Credit.  Itemized deductions are not part of the calculation of a Michigan NOL.  When 
calculating pre-2012 household income with a federal NOL deduction created in whole or in 
part by federal itemized deductions, include federal Schedule A and any related schedules 
(e.g., federal Casualties and Thefts (Form 4684)) for the year in which the NOL occurred. 

 
GAMBLING INCOME 
Income from gambling activities from Indian or privately held casino’s games of chance, horse 
racing, lottery winnings, etc., is subject to Michigan income tax to the extent the winnings are 
included in federal AGI. 
 
Both professional and casual gamblers must keep records sufficient to verify wagering gains and 
gambling losses claimed on their return.  An accurate diary or other daily record should be 
maintained.  A gambler deducting losses on his or her return must be able to provide receipts, 
tickets, statements or other records showing both the amount of winning and losses.  Statement 
generated by gambling establishments and produced to the gambler are insufficient by themselves 
to document a taxpayer’s total watering gains and gambling losses. 
 
Gambling losses may be deducted as an itemized deduction on federal Schedule A to the extent of 
gambling winnings on the federal income tax return.  However, itemized deductions are deductions 
from AGI and, therefore, are not included in federal AGI.  Because the computation of Michigan 
taxable income begins with federal AGI, gambling losses cannot reduce Michigan taxable income. 
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Casual gamblers may not net their gains and losses throughout the year and report only the net 
amount of gain or loss for the year in AGI.  The Department accepts the session method for 
purposes of computing a casual gambler’s gambling income resulting from slot machine wagering 
transactions.  A session of play begins when a gambler places the first slot machine wager and 
ends when the same gambler completes his or her last slot machine wager before the end of the 
same calendar day at the same gambling establishment.  A casual gambler who plays slot machines 
may net gains and losses at the end of each slot machine session in determining income to report 
in AGI.  Casual gamblers may not subtract gambling losses from AGI in computing Michigan 
taxable income.  Casual gamblers must provide proof of the slot machine sessions according to 
standards set forth in the IRS Publication 529. 
 
Michigan residents who are casual gamblers cannot subtract out-of-state gambling winnings from 
AGI.  However, a credit against the tax may be available. 
 
For tax years before 2012, certain cash prizes or merchandise won in Michigan may be deducted 
in determining Michigan taxable income.  To qualify for the deduction, the prize must have been 
awarded by a Michigan licensed bingo game, millionaire party, or charity game conducted in 
conformity with the Traxler-McCauley-Bowman Bingo Act, PA 382 of 1972, as amended (MCL 
432.101 through MCL 432.120).  The amount of the deduction is limited to the amount of the prize 
included in federal AGI and is limited to years before 2012. 
 
MILITARY PAY 
Pay received by members of the U.S. armed forces is not subject to Michigan income tax.  Eligible 
military pay includes: 
 

• Active duty pay and military retirement pay, including Michigan National Guard 
pension/retirement benefits 

 
• Reserve duty pay 

 
• Michigan National Guard pay only for the following: 

 
• Weeknight and regular weekend drills 
• Summer camp 
• Pay received for riot duty only if nationalized by the President of the U.S. 
• Public Health Officers pay only for those assigned to the Coast Guard or who 

are nonresidents of Michigan.   
• Pension/Retirement benefits (beginning in 2012). 

 
The W-2 form will show if the individual’s pay is active duty military pay.  If the second set of 
digits of the employer identification number begins with 997, 998, or 999, the pay is military pay.  
Military pay may be subtracted on the Michigan return to the extent included in federal AGI. 
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Military pay does not include: 
 

• W-2 forms from an Officer’s Open Mess or similar establishment 
 

• W-2 forms from the military showing an employer number identifying a civilian 
employee 

 
• Wages paid to employees of the United States Property and Fiscal Office (USPFO) 
 
• National Guard pay for the following: 

 
 Riot duty when called to duty by the Governor (paid by the State) 
 Full-time employment for which the taxpayer received a W-2 from the State. 

 
• Resident Public Health Officers (employees of Health and Human Services) for other 

than the Coast Guard. 
 

Note: Residency of military personnel and Public Health Officers remains with the state 
from which they entered the service unless they have filed a declaration with the 
service to change it. 

 
The Military Spouses Relief Act was signed into law on November 11, 2009, effective for tax 
years beginning on or after January 1, 2009.  It may affect the State income tax filing requirements 
for a spouse of an individual in the military. 
 
Under the Act, the spouse of an individual in the military is a nonresident of a state and 
consequently not subject to that state’s taxation if: 
 

• The service member is present in that state due to military orders 
• The spouse is in that state solely to accompany the service member 
• The spouse maintains a domicile in another state. 

 
A military spouse who is a Michigan resident and plans to return to Michigan as their permanent 
home should include income earned in the other state on their Michigan income tax return.  A 
Michigan military spouse may not claim a credit for the income taxes paid to another state.  The 
military spouse must file a nonresident return with the other state to obtain a refund of taxes paid 
to that state. 
 
PRINCIPAL RESIDENCE EXEMPTION 
 
The Principal Residence Exemption (PRE) Program, formerly known as the Exemption Program, 
allows homeowners an exemption from their local School Operating Millage (it lowers their 
property tax bill).  In accordance with PA 237 of 1994, homeowners who occupy their property as 
their principal residence may be exempt from up to 18 mills.  
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To claim a PRE, a homeowner must file a Principal Residence Exemption Affidavit (Form 2368) 
with the township or city assessor.  A homeowner who occupies a property on or before June 1 
and submits Form 2368 to the local tax collecting unit on or before June 1 may qualify for a PRE 
beginning with the summer tax levy.  A homeowner who occupies a property as a principal 
residence at any time from June 2 to November 1 and submits Form 2368 to the local tax collecting 
unit on or before November 1 may qualify for a PRE beginning with the winter tax levy. 
 

Note: This program is separate from the Homestead Property Tax Credit, which is filed 
annually with Michigan income tax returns. 

 
Principal Residence Exemption Records Review 
 
In many cases, the local unit of government performs administrative audits of the PRE records.  
PA 105 of 2003 allows county treasurers and equalization directors who have elected to “opt in” 
with Treasury to perform administrative audits of exemptions within their counties.  Treasury 
performs administrative reviews of records for counties that don’t conduct their own audits.  In 
addition, Treasury may choose to audit “opt in” counties. 
 
Periodically, Treasury may contact the homeowner to request information to verify that the 
property under review was the principal residence for the years in question.   
 
Common reasons for Treasury to request more information are: 
 

• Failure to rescind an exemption when the property is sold (Request to Rescind Principal 
Residence Exemption (Form 2602)). 

 
• The property in question was not a principal residence during the years in question.  

 
• The homeowner is filing annual income tax returns from an address other than the 

address of the principal residence.  
 
If a letter from Treasury requesting more information is received, it is important to respond in 
writing.  The homeowner’s response must be received within 30 calendar days from the date on 
the letter.  Failure to respond may result in a denial of the exemption. 
 
Verifying Documentation 
 
Factors to be considered in determining taxpayers’ domiciles include where they keep their most 
important possessions, house their family, vote, maintain club and lodge memberships, buy 
automobile licenses, maintain a mailing address and bank, operate a business, or sue for divorce. 
However, no one of these factors is controlling. 
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The documentation submitted must show that the property was the homeowner’s principal 
residence for the year(s) in question.  Some examples of verifying documentation are: 
 

• Copy of driver’s license with property address  
 

• Copy of voter’s registration record  
 

• Copy of a cancelled check listing the property address.  Black out any information 
other than the address and the date the check was written.  

 
• Copy of a bank statement, charge account statement, medical billing, etc.  Only the 

portion identifying the address and date need be submitted.  
 

• Copy of the income tax return indicating the mailing address 
 
• Copy of an insurance policy.  Only the portion identifying address and date need be 

submitted.  
 
If the taxpayer never owned the property or if the information on the letter is incorrect, make 
corrections on the letter and return it to Treasury. 
 
Conditional Rescission of Principal Residence Exemption 
 
In accordance with PA 96 of 2008, property owners may be allowed to receive a PRE on their 
current Michigan property and on previously exempted Michigan property simultaneously if the 
previously exempted principal residence is (all must apply): 
 

• Not occupied 
• For sale 
• Not leased 
• Not used for any business or commercial purposes. 

 
The extra exemption may be allowed for up to three years and is requested by submitting 
Conditional Rescission of Principal Residence Exemption (Form 4640) with the assessor for the 
city or township in which the property is located on or before June 1 (beginning with the summer 
tax levy) or November 1 (beginning with the winter tax levy) of the first year of the claim.  Form 
4640 must be filed annually on or before December 31 to verify to the assessor that the property 
for which the principal exemption is retained still meets all the above requirements.  The owner of 
the property must be eligible for and claim an exemption for their new current principal residence.  
A person renting an apartment is not eligible for a PRE.  A person who moves to another state 
would also not qualify for the PRE. 
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Foreclosure Entity Conditional Rescission of a Principal Residence Exemption 
 
In accordance with PA 114 of 2012, a land contract vendor, bank, credit union, or other lending 
institution may retain a PRE on property if the following conditions are met: 
 

• Must be a land contract vendor, bank, credit union, or other lending institution 
 
• Own the property as a result of a foreclosure 
 
• Property must have been subject to a PRE immediately preceding the foreclosure 
 
• Not occupied 
 
• For sale 
 
• Not leased to any person other than the person who claimed the PRE immediately 

preceding the foreclosure 
 
• Not used for any business or commercial purpose 
 
• Must pay to the tax-collecting unit an amount equal to the amount of taxes that the 

foreclosure entity would have paid if the property were not subject to a PRE and must 
pay an administration fee equal to the property tax administration fee imposed under 
Section 44 of the General Property Tax Act. 

 
The extra exemption may be allowed for up to three years and is requested by submitting 
Foreclosure Entity Conditional Rescission of a Principal Residence Exemption (Form 4983) with 
the assessor for the city or township in which the property is located on or before June 1 (beginning 
with the summer tax levy) or November 1 (beginning with the winter tax levy) of the first year of 
the claim.  Form 4983 must be filed annually on or before December 31 to verify to the assessor 
that the property for which the principal exemption is retained still meets all the above 
requirements. 
 
Forms for Principal Residence Exemption 
 
Forms are available on Treasury’s Web site at www.michigan.gov/PRE. 
 

NONREFUNDABLE CREDITS 
Credit for Income Tax Imposed by Qualified Government Units Outside Michigan 
 
A Michigan resident is allowed a credit for income taxes imposed by another state of the U.S., a 
political subdivision (city, county, etc.) of another state, the District of Columbia, or a Canadian 
province.  Tax imposed on income that is also subject to Michigan tax may be claimed for the 
credit.  A copy of the other state, city, or county income tax return must be attached. 
 



79 

The credit cannot exceed the smaller of the amount of tax imposed by another state or the 
percentage of Michigan tax due on salaries, wages, and other income earned and taxed in the other 
state.  Credit is not allowed for taxes paid on income subtracted on the MI-1040. 
 
A Michigan resident who earned wages in a reciprocal state may pay a city or county tax in that 
state.  The city or county income tax paid in that state may be claimed for the credit; however, the 
state income tax paid to the reciprocal state cannot be claimed.  Instead, the Michigan resident 
should claim a refund from the other state. 
 
A Canadian credit is allowed only if provincial tax was paid.  The credit shall be allowed for that 
portion of the provincial tax not claimed as a credit for United States income tax purposes.  Credit 
is not allowed on the Michigan return for that portion of provincial tax that is a carryover from a 
previous year or that is being carried over to a future year on the federal return. 
 
Historic Preservation Income Tax Credit 
 
For plans approved before 2012, a nonrefundable credit may be taken based on 25 percent of 
qualified expenditures for the rehabilitation of a historic resource pursuant to a rehabilitation plan. 
 
The claimant must claim the Historic Preservation Credit in the year the project is certified and 
completed.  
 
Any unused portion of the credit may be carried forward for a maximum of ten years.  For tax 
years beginning after 2008, a taxpayer may elect to receive a refund of 90 percent of the amount 
of the credit that exceeds their tax liability instead of carrying the excess forward for projects for 
which a certificate of completed rehabilitation was issued after 2008 and the credit amount was 
less than $250,000. 
 
The rehabilitation plan and the completed rehabilitation of the historic resource must be certified 
by the State Historic Preservation Office. 
 
REFUNDABLE CREDITS 
Beginning in 2012, the homestead property tax credit was changed in three major ways.  
“Household income” was replaced by “total household resources” which is calculated without 
certain net losses or federal NOLs.  In addition, senior claimants with income over $21,000 have 
their credit reduced on a sliding scale.  Once the senior claimant’s total household resources 
reaches $30,001, their credit is reduced to 60 percent.  Finally, the threshold for phase out of the 
credit has changed.  Claimants lose 10 percent of their credit once total household resources reach 
$41,001 and another 10 percent for each $1,000 of total household resources in excess of $41,001. 
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Total Household Resources 
 
Beginning in 2012, the home heating credit and the homestead property tax credit require the 
computation of total household resources.  MCL 206.508(3) defines a household as “a claimant 
and spouse.”  Total household resources are defined in MCL 206.508(4) as “all income received 
by all persons of a household in a tax year while members of a household,” increased by the 
following deductions from federal gross income: 
 

1. Any net business loss after netting all business income and loss 
2. Any net rental or royalty loss 
3. Any carryback or carryforward of a net operating loss as defined in Section 172(b)(2) 

of the internal revenue code. 
 

MCL 206.510 defines income as “. . . federal adjusted gross income plus income specifically 
excluded or exempt from the computation of federal adjusted gross income.” 
 
Items specifically excluded or exempt from the computation of AGI are generally income that will 
not be subject to tax in the year actually or constructively received or in a subsequent taxable year 
under the IRC or by federal laws other than the IRC.  Excluded or exempt income includes, but is 
not limited to, income described in IRC Sections 101 through 134, exempt interest dividends, 
foreign income exclusion, etc. 
 
Following is a partial list of excluded or exempt income that must be included in a claimant’s 
total household resources: 
 

 1. SS, SSI, or railroad retirement benefits 
 2. Child support 
 3. Workers’ compensation 
 4. Veterans’ disability compensation and pension benefits 
 5. Family Independence Program (FIP) assistance and Department of Health and Human 

Services (DHHS) benefits (do not include Food Assistance Program benefits) 
 6. Nontaxable sick pay or long-term disability benefits 
 7. Lump sum distribution that has been deducted from federal gross income 
 8. Gains realized on sale of principal residence, even if exempt from tax  
 9. Amount over $300 of total awards, prizes, lottery, bingo, and gambling winnings 
10. Farmland preservation tax credit (if not included in farm income on line 16) 
11. Amounts received for minor children or other dependent adults who live with claimant 
12. Inheritance 
13. Compensation for damages to character or for personal injury or sickness 
14. Proceeds of a life insurance policy paid on the death of the insured 
15. Death benefits paid by or on behalf of an employer 
16. Minister’s housing allowance 
17. Scholarships, stipends, grants, or GI benefits 
18. Reimbursement from dependent care and/or medical care spending accounts 
19. Value over $300 in gifts of cash, merchandise, or expenses paid on claimant’s behalf 

(rent, taxes, utilities, food, medical care, etc.) 
20. State Disability Assistance (SDA) and State Family Assistance (SFA) 
21. Repatriate Assistance and Refugee Assistance 
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22. Vendor payments for shelter, heat, and utilities 
23. Conversion amount from an IRA to a Roth IRA to the extent included in AGI 
24. Foreign earned income exclusion 
25. Accumulation distributions received from a trust not previously included in AGI. 

 
Items not included in total household resource (partial list): 
 

 1. Minor child’s income (e.g., wages from employment)  
 2. Loan proceeds 
 3. Refunds of State and local income tax 
 4. Homestead property tax or home heating credits 
 5. Original contributions to pension 
 6. Stipends received under Foster Grandparent Program 
 7. Inheritance from spouse 
 8. Life insurance benefits from a policy on claimant’s spouse 
 9. Nontaxable dividend distributions that represent a return of capital 
10. Relief in kind paid by a government unit to a third party 
11. Losses on the sale of principal residence. 
 

Adjustments to total household resources: 
 

 1. Payments to IRA, Keogh (HR 10), SEP, or SIMPLE plans 
 2. Student loan interest deduction 
 3. Health savings account deduction 
 4. Medical insurance/HMO premiums claimant paid 
 5. Moving expenses when moving into Michigan 
 6. Deduction for self-employment tax 
 7. Self-employment health insurance deduction 
 8. Forfeited interest penalty for premature withdrawal 
 9. Alimony paid 
10. Educator expenses 
11. Tuition and fees deduction. 
12. Add back to AGI: 
 

• Any net business loss after netting all business income and loss 
• Any net rental or royalty loss 
• Any carryback or carryforward of a federal net operating loss. 

 
Total Household Resources Examples: 
 

Example 1: For 2015, Judy has wages of $29,000, nontaxable child support of $6,000, 
and a net loss of $8,000 for the rental of a second home she owns.  The AGI 
reported on her 2015 federal and Michigan returns is $21,000, which is the 
wages of $29,000, less the rental loss of $8,000: 

 
Judy’s 2015 total household resources are calculated as follows: 
 

AGI $21,000 
Add back Net Rental Loss 8,000 
Child Support 6,000 
Total Household Resources $35,000  
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Example 2: For 2015, Bob and Martha have wages of $26,000, business income of 

$10,000 reported on federal Schedule C, a farm loss of $12,000 reported on 
Schedule F, and a rental loss of $4,000 reported on Schedule E.  They had 
no nontaxable income.  The AGI reported on their 2015 federal and 
Michigan return is $20,000 consisting of the wages of $26,000, business 
income of $10,000, and the farm loss of $12,000, and the rental loss of 
$4,000. 

 
Bob and Martha’s 2015 total household resources are calculated as follows: 
 

AGI $20,000 
Add back Net Business Loss 2,000 
Add back Net Rental Loss 4,000 
Total Household Resources $26,000 

 
Property Tax Credit 
 
An individual may claim a property tax credit if they are a resident of Michigan for at least six 
months of 2015, rent or own a homestead located in Michigan as their principal residence, and the 
property is subject to ad valorem property tax or a service fee in lieu of taxes.  An individual can 
have only one principal residence (domicile) at a time and must be the occupant as well as the 
owner or renter.  The maximum credit allowed per claimant cannot exceed $1,200, regardless of 
the amount of property taxes levied or rent paid. 
 
Beginning in 2012, major changes were made to eligibility requirements for the property tax credit.  
As noted previously, household income was replaced with total household resources.  Also, senior 
claimants with income greater than $21,000 will receive less than 100 percent of the property tax 
credit based on a sliding scale. Once the senior claimant’s total household resources reaches 
$30,001, their credit is reduced to 60 percent.  Finally, the phase out range was reduced to a loss 
of 10 percent of the credit once total household resources reaches $41,001 and an additional 10 
percent for each $1,000 of total household resources in excess of $41,001.  The property tax credit 
is completely phased out once total household resources exceed $50,000. 
 
Regardless of a claimant’s total household resources, a homeowner is not eligible for a homestead 
property tax credit on their home if their home has a taxable value of more than $135,000. 
 
Total household resources has three components:   
 
The first component is AGI from the federal return.  This consists of wages and other taxable 
income.   
 
The next component is any nontaxable income a taxpayer receives during the year, such as Social 
Security benefits, workers’ compensation, or public assistance payments.   
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The last component is the elimination of any net rental and royalty losses; any net business loss 
after netting all business income and losses; and any carryback or carryforward of a net operating 
loss that is included or reported in AGI on the Michigan and/or federal returns. 
 
Senior Claimants.  Senior claimants are entitled to a 100 percent credit if their total household 
resources are $21,000 or less.  The credit is reduced by four percent once total household resources 
exceed $21,000.  (See the Senior Credit Reduction Table.) 
 

Senior Credit Reduction 

Total Household Resources Percent of Credit Allowed 
$         0  - $21,000 100% 

 21,001 - 22,000 96 

 22,001 - 23,000 92 

 23,001 - 24,000 88 

 24,001 - 25,000 84 

 25,001 - 26,000 80 

 26,001 - 27,000 76 

 27,001 - 28,000 72 

 28,001 - 29,000 68 

 29,001 - 30,000 64 

 30,001 - 50,000 60 

 
Senior claimants receive a 60 percent property tax credit for total household resources of $30,001 
to $41,000.  The credit phase out applies once a claimant’s total household resources exceed 
$41,000.   
 
Disabled and other special claimants.  Claimants who are permanently disabled, paraplegic, 
hemiplegic, quadriplegic, blind, or deaf will receive a 100 percent credit if household resources 
are $41,000 or less.  The credit phase out applies once total household resources exceeds $41,000.   
 
General claimants.  General claimants receive a 60 percent property tax credit subject to the credit 
phase out once total household resources exceed $41,000.   
 
Credit phase out.  All claimants are subject to the credit phase out.  The credit is reduced by 10 
percent for each $1,000 of total household resources in excess of $41,000. 
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HOMESTEAD PROPERTY TAX CREDIT  
PHASE OUT 

 

Total Household Resources Percent of 
Credit Allowed 

 $41,001 - $42,000 90% 

 42,001 - 43,000 80 

 43,001 - 44,000 70 

 44,001 - 45,000 60 

 45,001 - 46,000 50 

 46,001 - 47,000 40 

 47,001 - 48,000 30 

 48,001 - 49,000 20 

 49,001 - 50,000 10 

 50,001 - above  No Credit 

 

Example 1: A senior citizen has total household resources of $46,000 and property taxes 
of $2,500.  The property taxes exceed 3.5 percent of total household 
resources by $890.  The senior citizen’s total household resources exceed 
$30,000, therefore the credit is reduced from 100 percent to 60 percent or 
$534.  The phase out applies and will further reduce the $534 credit to 50 
percent for a credit of $267. 

 
Example 2: A claimant has total household resources of $48,500 and property taxes of 

$4,000.  The property taxes exceed 3.5 percent of total household resources 
by $2,302.  The credit is first reduced to 60 percent or $1,381.  The credit is 
then limited to $1,200, the maximum allowed.  After the $1,200 limit is 
applied, the phase out to 20 percent further reduces the credit to $240. 

 
Taxable Value.  The property taxes on a homestead with taxable value of more than $135,000 may 
not be included in the calculation of the property tax credit.  If the taxable value of a homestead 
excluding the taxable value of the unoccupied farmland classified as agricultural exceeds 
$135,000, the property taxes may not be included in calculating the property tax credit.  The 2015 
tax bills received from the homeowner’s local government will state the taxable value.  The taxable 
value cap does not apply to renters. 
 
Eligible property taxes.  The property taxes levied on the homestead for 2015 are the only taxes 
that can be claimed for credit regardless of when the taxes are paid.  These include additional taxes 
assessed or refunded that are attributable to a prior year because of a Michigan Tax Tribunal 
decision or the reversal of a homestead affidavit denial.  Collection fees of up to one percent of 
the property taxes and special assessments based on state equalized value and applied to the entire 
taxing jurisdiction may be included.  Beginning in 2003, under the authority of PA 28 of 2003, if 
the special assessment is for police, fire, or advanced life support, the credit may be taken even if 
the assessment does not cover the entire taxing jurisdiction.  However, these special assessments 
must be based on the taxable value using a uniform millage rate. 
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Do not include: 
• Penalty and interest on late payments of property tax. 
• Delinquent property taxes. 
• Delinquent water or sewer bills. 
• Property taxes on cottages or second homes. 
• Special assessments (for drains, sewers, etc.) that are not based on taxable value and 

are not applied to the entire taxing jurisdiction. 
• 2014 winter taxes paid in 2015. 

 
Michigan homestead property tax credit and principal residence exemption (PRE) refunds received 
in 2014 may be taxable on the 2015 federal income tax return.  These are refunds of a portion of 
the property taxes paid.  If the taxpayer claimed an itemized deduction for property taxes on a prior 
federal income tax return, and then received a refund in 2015 from the State or local unit of 
government for a portion of those taxes, a portion of that refund may need to be included as income 
on taxpayer’s 2015 federal income tax return. 
 
For questions about taxability (for federal tax purposes) of these refunds, call the IRS at 
1-800-829-1040. 
 
Reporting Taxable Value (TV) on MI-1040CR Homestead Property Tax Credit 
 
The TV of the property must be reported on the MI-1040CR to process property tax credit claims.  
To avoid possible refund delays, enter the TV on the proper line.  Use the following list to 
determine the correct TV to report in special circumstances. 
 

1. If the taxpayer moves during the year, complete the “Homeowners” section showing the 
TV for each homestead.  If there were more than two homesteads during the year, attach 
an additional sheet.  Property taxes levied on occupied homesteads having TV greater than 
$135,000 may not be included in total property taxes claimed to calculate the credit. 

 
2. If the taxpayer lives in a nursing home and the spouse lives in a homestead, complete 

the “Special Housing” section and combine the taxes for both residences on line 10. 
 
3. If the taxpayer’s homestead is assessed at the non-homestead rate, use the actual TV 

that is being assessed at the non-homestead rate on line 9. 
 
4. If the taxpayer lives in service fee housing, leave line 9 blank.  A schedule of explanation 

need not be attached. 
 

5. If a portion of the homestead is rented out or used for business, show the total 
homestead TV on line 9.  Reduce the property taxes by the greater of 20 percent of the 
gross rent collected or the amount of property taxes claimed as a business deduction on the 
U.S. 1040.  Show the explanation either on the return or an attached schedule. 

 
6. If the property tax claim includes eligible adjacent and contiguous vacant land, 

include on line 9 the sum of the TVs for the homestead and all eligible vacant land.   
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Special Situations 
 
Farmers 
 
Farmers may include farmland taxes in the property tax credit claim if any of the following 
conditions apply: 
 

• If agricultural gross receipts are greater than total household resources, all farmland 
property taxes including taxes on unoccupied farmland are eligible for the credit.  Taxes 
on farmland that is rented by or leased to another person and is not adjacent or 
contiguous to taxpayer’s home is not eligible for the credit. 

 
• If agricultural gross receipts are less than total household resources and taxpayer has 

lived in the home more than ten years, the taxes on the home and the adjacent and 
contiguous farmland are eligible for the property tax credit. 

 
• If agricultural gross receipts are less than total household resources and taxpayer has 

lived in the home less than ten years, the taxes on the home and five contiguous and 
adjacent acres of farmland are eligible for the credit. 

 
• If the taxable value of the homestead excluding the taxable value of the unoccupied 

farmland classified as agricultural exceeds $135,000, the taxpayer is not eligible for the 
homestead property tax credit. 

 
Agricultural Gross Receipts 
 
“Agricultural gross receipts” means income derived from the business of farming.  A taxpayer is 
engaged in the business of farming if they cultivate, operate, or manage a farm for gain or profit.  
A taxpayer who receives a rental which is based upon farm production is also engaged in the 
business of farming.  However, a taxpayer who receives a fixed rental without reference to 
production is engaged in the business of farming only if they participate to a material extent in the 
operation or management of the farm.  (Refer to IRS Reg. 1.175-3.) 
 
The taxpayer has participated to a material extent in the operation or management of the farm if 
any one of the following tests are met.  (Refer to IRS Publication No. 225.) 

 
1. The owner does three of the following: 

 
• Pays, using cash or credit, at least half the direct costs of producing the crops 
 
• Furnishes at least half the tools, equipment, and livestock used in producing the 

crops 
 
• Periodically advises and consults with the tenant 
 
• Periodically inspects the production activities. 
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2. The landowner regularly and frequently makes or takes an important part in making 
management decisions substantially affecting the success of the enterprise. 

 
3. The landowner works 100 hours or more spread over a period of five weeks or more in 

activities connected with producing the crop. 
 

4. The landowner does things which, considered in their total effect, show that they are 
significantly and materially involved in the production of farm commodities. 

 
The following decision table may be used to determine the land eligible to be claimed for 
Homestead Property Tax Credit.  Find the taxpayer column that applies to the particular situation, 
then see corresponding row under “Eligible Property” for the amount of eligible property. 
 

Taxpayer:      
Owns farm 
 

Y Y Y Y Y 

Meets gross receipts test 
(see above) 
 

Y Y N N N 

Lives on farm 
 

Y N Less 
than 

10 yrs. 

10 yrs. 
or  

more 
 

N 

Eligible Property: 
 

     

All farmland (doesn’t have to  
be contiguous unless rented 
to others)* 
 

 
 

X 

 
 

X 

   

Home plus 5 acres*+ 
 

  X   

Home and all contiguous or  
adjacent unoccupied land* 
 

    
X 

 

None     X 
 

 
* Does not qualify if the taxable value of the residential area excluding the taxable of the unoccupied 

farmland classified as agricultural exceeds $135,000. 
+ Renters also qualify under this category. 
 

The definition of “homestead” for the property tax credit was amended in 1990 to exclude 
“unoccupied real property that is leased or rented by the owner to another person . . . .”  [MCL 
206.508(2)].  The renter or lessor of farmland may not claim the rent paid when computing a 
property tax credit. 
 
A Farmland Preservation Tax Credit must be included in total household resources.  It should be 
reported on the schedule of total household resources in net farm income or other taxable income.  
Homestead Property Tax Credits are not included in total household resources.  If the Property 
Tax Credit was included in taxable farm income, it may be subtracted in determining total 
household resources.  Farm losses may not reduce total household resources. 
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Part-Year or Deceased Taxpayers, Annualization of  
Total Household Resources for Phase Out 
 
A property tax credit claim made by a part-year resident or on behalf of a deceased taxpayer 
(unless claimed by surviving spouse) requires annualization of total household resources to 
determine if their annualized total household resources: 
 

1. Exceeds the threshold of $50,000, which phases out a property tax credit, or 
 

2. May require a senior citizen or a totally and permanently disabled person to use a higher 
percentage of total household resources to determine nonrefundable portion of property 
taxes.  (In the final computation, only the claimant’s actual total household resources 
are used.) 

 
Example 1: A property tax credit is filed on behalf of a deceased claimant age 65 with no 

surviving spouse.  Total household resources of $5,230 and two exemptions are 
reported.  Taxpayer owned a home and lived in Michigan for 155 days in 2015.  
Taxes levied for 2015 were $1,865.  The taxable value of the home did not exceed 
$135,000. 

 
Claimant’s annualized total household resources is 365/155 x $5,230  =  $12,316. 

 
Prorated property taxes are 155/365  x  $1,865  =  $792. 

 
Since annualized total household resources is over $6,000, 3.5 percent of actual 
total household resources must be used when computing the property tax credit. 

 
Prorated property taxes $ 792 
Less 3.5% of $5,230     183 

 
Property tax credit amount  $ 609 

 
Example 2: A part-year Michigan resident who lived in Michigan for 266 days received 

Michigan total household resources of $30,425.  Total property taxes of $2,400 
were levied on the Michigan homestead.  The homestead’s taxable value did not 
exceed $135,000. 

 
Claimant’s annualized total household resources is 365/266  x  $30,425  =  
$41,749.  The phase out is 10 percent after reaching $41,001 and then 10 percent 
for every additional $1,000 in total household resources.  The claimant’s property 
tax credit will be reduced by 10 percent. 

 
Prorated property taxes (266/365 x $2,400) $ 1,749 
Less: 3.5% of actual total household resources ($30,425)     1,065 
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Balance   684 
Multiply by 60%   410 
Less: Percentage of credit subject to 

Phase out provision (10% x $410)  -41 
 

Property tax credit $   369 
 
Separated and Divorced Claimants 
 
Spouses who file separate Michigan income tax returns but share a household are entitled to only 
one property tax credit.  Complete the property tax credit claim jointly, including both spouses’ 
incomes, then divide the credit as desired.  If each spouse claims a portion of the credit, attach a 
copy of property tax claim showing the share claimed.  Two homesteads may be used for credit 
only if the couple is separated or divorced, each maintains a separate homestead, and each files 
separate federal and Michigan income tax returns.  If the taxpayers file a joint federal return, 
they must file a joint Michigan return. 
 
Example: Ron and Rosemary were separated March 1, 2015 and divorced December 2, 2015.  

Rosemary stayed in the marital home all year, and Ron rented an apartment 
beginning March 1, 2015.  Ron paid Rosemary $300 (half the house payment) from 
March through December 2015 and 40 weeks of child support at $160 a week.  
Property tax bills for 2015 on the marital home were $2,850.  Ron rented his 
apartment for $500 a month.  Their incomes before and after separation are as 
follows: 

 
Wages: Ron Rosemary 

January 1 - February 29 $ 7,200 $ 5,000 
March 1 - December 31 $36,000 $ 25,000 
 

 First calculate the property taxes that can be claimed for credit by each spouse prior 
to separation.  

 
Income prior to separation: 

 
Wife $  5,000 
Husband    7,200 

 
Total $12,200 

 
 

Percent of income prior to separation: 
 

Wife $5,000/$12,200 = 41% 
Husband $7,200/$12,200 = 59% 

 
2015 taxes prorated for period 
prior to separation $2,850  x  2/12 = $ 475 
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Percent claimed before separation: 
 

Wife $ 475 x 41% = $ 195 
Husband $ 475 x 59% = $ 280 

 
Wife’s total taxes claimed for credit 
(lived in the family home for the entire year): 

 
Before separation  $ 475 x 41% = $ 195 
After separation  100%  x ($2,850-$475) =  2,375 

 
 $2,570 
 

Husband’s total taxes claimed for credit: 
 

Before separation $ 475 x 59% = $ 280 
After separation - Rent paid $5,000 x 20% = $1,000 

 
  $1,280 

 
Note: Rosemary must include both the house payments made by Ron of $3,000, 

as well as the child support of $6,400 in total household resources.  Ron, 
however, may deduct the $3,000 alimony/separate maintenance payments 
in determining his total household resources.  Based on the definition of 
household resources, he may not subtract the $6,400 child support payments 
from his total household resources. 

 
Shared Housing 
 
When two or more single people share a home, each can file a credit claim if each is contracted 
to pay rent or owns a share of the home.  Each should file an individual claim based on his or 
her own total household resources and prorated share of the taxes or rent paid.  If the home is 
owned (not rented) the owners would divide the taxable value of the home accordingly and report 
their portion of the taxable value of the home filing a credit claim. 
 
Example 1:  Adam and Andrew own a home in Grand Rapids.  Both occupy the home and share 

the expenses for upkeep of the home.  The property taxes on the home for 2015 
are $4,000.  Adam and Andrew would each claim $2,000 of property taxes on their 
respective property tax credits.  They would each report one-half the taxable value 
of the home and write on the form “shared housing” and the percent of property 
taxes being claimed. 
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Example 2:  Tim owns and occupies his home in Saginaw.  He fixed up the basement and rents 
it for $400 a month to Linda.  His PRE is greater than 50 percent.  Tim would be 
eligible to claim a property tax credit on the taxes billed on his home for 2015; 
however, he would have to reduce property taxes by the greater of 20 percent of 
the gross rent received or the amount of property tax claimed as a business expense 
on his federal return. 

 
Example 3:  Scott and John rent a home from Renee.  The taxable value of the property exceeds 

$135,000.  Both names are on the contract.  Monthly rental of the home was $950; 
total paid during 2015 was $11,400.  All rent and expenses were split evenly 
between the men.  Scott and John would be eligible to claim a property tax credit 
on their half of the rent paid.  Scott and John would each be able to claim a property 
tax credit even though the taxable value of the home exceeds $135,000 because 
the taxable value limit does not apply to renters. 

 
Nursing Home, Home for the Aged, and Adult Foster Care Claimants 
 
A permanent resident of a nursing home, home for the aged, or foster care home is entitled to a 
homestead property tax credit if the facility bills a lump sum for rent and services.  The resident’s 
allocable share is calculated by dividing the facility’s property tax by the number of licensed 
beds. 
 
If the facility receives a direct payment from a State or federal agency for the care of the resident, 
then the allocable share may be limited.  The resident cannot claim an allocable share that is 
greater than the charges paid by the resident to the facility. 
 
Example: Mrs. Redfern’s nursing home charges were billed in a lump sum of $12,500 (for 

rent, food and other nursing services) to the State of Michigan.  Of that sum $12,000 
was paid directly to the nursing home by the State.  Mrs. Redfern paid the balance 
due of $500. 

 
 Mrs. Redfern’s “allocable share” of property taxes on the nursing home, based on 

100 beds and $60,000 in real property taxes, is $600.  Since Mrs. Redfern’s total 
charges paid by her are less than her “allocable share,” she may use only the lesser 
amount of $500 for calculating a property tax credit. 

 
Room and Board 
 
If the claimant pays room and board in separate billings, the claimant must base the credit on 
the rent.  If the claimant pays room and board in one billing, the credit must be based on a 
prorated share of the property taxes on the facility.  If the landlord does not provide this figure, 
divide the square footage of the claimant’s living space by the total square footage of the facility, 
and multiply the total taxes on the facility by that percentage. 
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Service Fee Housing 
 
If the claimant lives in housing on which service fees are paid instead of property taxes, the credit 
must be computed using 10 percent of the rent, rather than the 20 percent generally used by other 
claimants who rent. 
 

Subsidized Housing 
 
If the claimant lives in subsidized housing, only the rent paid by the claimant can be used to 
compute the property tax credit.  Do not consider amounts paid by a government agency on the 
claimant’s behalf.  If the facility pays service fees in lieu of property taxes, compute the credit 
using 10 percent of the rent, rather than 20 percent. 
 

Special Housing 
 
If the claimant resides in housing where the rent includes meals and other services 
(housekeeping, laundry, transportation, etc.), the credit must be based on the prorated share of 
the taxes on the entire property.  The facility must provide the claimant with the prorated share 
of the property taxes for use in the credit calculation.  Claimants may not calculate the credit by 
using the portion of the monthly payment as rent.   
 
Recipients of DHHS Payments and Child Support Payments 
 
MCL Section 206.520(7) allows recipients of DHHS payments to reduce the amount of DHHS 
benefits reported to them when the amounts include child support payments assigned by the 
Friend of the Court (FOC). 
 
The annual statement from DHHS may include child support payments made through the FOC 
to DHHS.  To determine the child support payments included in the statement, obtain a Fourth 
Quarter Statement from the Office of Child Support.  This statement is mailed to all recipients 
of DHHS payments.  The amount reported as support is child support payments sent to DHHS, 
and the amount reported as rebates paid is direct child support paid to the recipient. 
 
Since the homestead property tax credit is prorated based on the percentage of income from 
DHHS benefits, it is to the recipient’s advantage to reduce the annual DHHS benefits received 
by any child support included in this statement and report them separately in total household 
resources.  The Fourth Quarter Statement from the Office of Child Support (Form FEN851) and, 
if available, a copy of the annual statement from DHHS should be attached to the claim. 
 
Example 1: A claimant received DHHS benefits of $12,000 in 2015, which included child 

support payments of $3,000 assigned by the FOC to the DHHS.  If the claimant’s 
total household resources consisted solely of DHHS benefits, they would not be 
entitled to a homestead property tax credit.  However, since one-quarter of the total 
DHHS benefits were from child support payments assigned to DHHS, they are 
entitled to one-quarter of the homestead property tax credit computed. 
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Example 2: Taxpayer receives the following for 2015: 
 

2015 annual statement from DHHS  $8,165 
 

Letter from Office of Child Support or 
   FOC: 

Support $7,492 
Rebates paid 600 
 

To compute the total household resources: 
 

Annual statement from DHHS  $8,165 
Rebates paid    + 600 

 
 8,765 

Less support paid to DHHS  - 7,492 
 

Annual DHHS benefits actually received 1,273 (FIP/DHHS line) 
 

Child support  +7,492 (Child Support line) 
 

Total household resources $8,765 
 
Farmland Preservation Tax Credit 
 
Eligibility 
 
This credit is provided for under Farmland and Open Space Preservation Act which is part of the 
Natural Resources and Environmental Protection Act PA 451 of 1994.  The Act replaced the 
repealed farmland preservation act known as “PA 116.”  The Act enables a landowner to enter into 
a development rights agreement (for farmland) with the State.  The agreements are designed to 
ensure the land remains in agricultural use for an agreed-upon period.  In return for maintaining 
the land in agricultural use, the landowner is entitled to certain income or property tax benefits. 
 
The Farmland Preservation Tax Credit refunds to farmland owners the taxes in excess of 3.5 
percent of their total household income on property covered by a Farmland Development Rights 
Agreement (FDRA) with the Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development. 
 
Schedule CR-5 must be completed.  Use more than one Schedule CR-5 as needed.  The system 
will not accept a substitute Schedule CR-5 in lieu of the Michigan Schedule CR-5.   
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Tips to Expedite Processing 
 

• The entire TV for each agreement must be entered on the Schedule CR-5 in the space 
provided.  This is required even if the taxpayer is eligible to claim only a portion of the 
property taxes because of joint ownership(s), partnership(s), or multiple shareholders.  
The TV can be found on the property tax statements for each period. 

 
• Ownership indicated on property tax statements must also match ownership in farmland 

development rights agreement(s).  If the claimed agreement does not reflect appropriate 
ownership, the credit may be reduced or denied. 

 
• Multiple names on property tax statements indicate joint ownership.  The taxpayer may 

not claim 100 percent without a signed distribution statement from all other owners.  
The agreement may be reduced or denied without the signed statement. 

 
• The agreement number (or contract) number is found in the lower-right corner of each 

agreement.  Always use the contract number from the most recently recorded agreement.  
The actual contract number retains its original series throughout the term of the 
agreement. 

 
• Farmland agreement numbers consist of three components: 

 
 County Code - indicated by the first two digits of the agreement number. 
 
 Contract Number - indicated by the middle set of characters between the county 

code and expiration date.   
 

 Expiration Date - indicated by the last six digits of the agreement number.  The first 
four digits are always “1231.”  The last two digits are comprised of the year the 
agreement is to expire (e.g., “123115”).  The expiration year may never be earlier 
than the year of the return being prepared. 

 
• A letter of the alphabet may be added to indicate that the agreement was split into 

multiple agreements.  When farmland agreement numbers contain alpha characters, the 
alpha characters belong after the contract number. 

 
• If the expiration year entered is prior to the current tax return year, the agreement is 

expired and may no longer be claimed.  The taxpayer must extend the agreement and 
provide the new expiration year before the agreement may be claimed again. 

 
• It may be beneficial to have the taxpayer provide copies of the agreements being claimed 

for accuracy and to avoid processing delays. 
 

• An MI-1040CR, MI-1040CR-2 or MI-1040CR-7 must be filed to claim a farmland 
preservation tax credit even if it results in a zero credit.  The schedule of total household 
resources provided on these forms is used to verify the total household income used in 
computing the farmland preservation tax credit. 
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• Each agreement should only appear on one line of the Schedule CR-5.  Multiple parcels 
for a single farmland development rights agreement must be combined to determine the 
entire agreement’s eligible taxable value and the eligible property taxes. 

 
Only the portion of the tax bill used for agricultural purposes may be claimed for credit 
regardless of the amount of the parcel that is enrolled in the program.  The qualifying portion 
of the parcel will be indicated on the property tax statement(s) as an agricultural or 
homestead percentage.  Follow the instructions in the MI-1040CR-5 tax booklet under the 
“Property Taxes That Can Be Claimed For Credit” section to compute the eligible taxes if 
the bill indicates less than 100 percent exempt.   

 
Computation of the Value of the Lien Imposed Upon Removal of  
Land From Farmland and Open Space Program 
 
When property is removed from the Farmland and Open Space Program, the State Land Use 
Agency records a lien against the property.  Land may be relinquished from the program for the 
following reasons: 
 

1. Natural expiration of the agreement. 
2. Death or permanent disability of the landowner. 
3. Landowner requests relinquishment of all or a portion of an agreement. 

 
The lien value may be computed differently based on the reason the land was relinquished.  The 
following discussion outlines the computations required by the different ways the FDRA is 
relinquished. 
 

1. Natural termination of agreement. 
 

The value of the lien will be the amount of the farmland preservation tax credits 
attributable to the terminated agreement received by the owner in the final seven years.  
The final seven years shall include the year of termination.  The value is computed as 
follows: 

 
Step 1 

Divide: The ad valorem property tax levied on property subject to the expired 
FDRA that was used in determining the farmland preservation tax 
credit in that year 

 
By: The property taxes levied on property subject to all FDRAs used in 

determining the farmland preservation tax credit in that year. 
 
Step 2 

Multiply: The owner’s total farmland preservation tax credit on all agreements 
paid that year 

 
By: The quotient in Step 1. 
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Step 3 
Sum: The results of Step 2 may or may not be used for each of the last 

seven years, depending on agreement number and property taxes 
assessed. 

 
2. Landowner dies or becomes permanently and totally disabled, and a request has 

been granted for the release of all property covered by the FDRA. 
 

The value of the lien will be the total amount of the farmland preservation tax credit 
received by the owner for the payback period.  The payback period and value of the 
lien is computed as follows: 
 
Payback Period 
Step 1 

Divide: The number of years the land was enrolled in the current FDRA 
 

By: The number of years for which the agreement was written. 
 
Step 2 

Multiply: Seven years 
 

By: The quotient computed in Step 1. 
 
Value of the Lien 
Step 1 

Divide: The ad valorem property tax levied on property subject to the FDRA 
being relinquished that was used in determining the farmland 
preservation tax credit 

 
By: The property taxes levied on property subject to all FDRAs used in 

determining the farmland preservation tax credit in that year. 
 
Step 2 

Multiply: The owner’s total farmland preservation tax credit on all agreements 
claimed that year 

 
By: The quotient computed in Step 1. 

 
3. Landowner dies or becomes permanently and totally disabled, and a request has 

been granted for the release of a portion of land covered by the FDRA. 
 

The value of the lien will be the total amount of the farmland preservation tax credit 
received by the owner for the payback period.  The payback period and value of the 
lien is computed as follows: 
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Payback Period 
Step 1 

Divide: The number of years the land was enrolled in the current FDRA 
 

By: The number of years for which the agreement was written. 
 
Step 2 

Multiply: Seven years 
 

By: The quotient computed in Step 1. 
 
Allocated Credit of Entire Agreement 
Step 1 

Divide: The ad valorem property tax levied in that year on property subject 
to the FDRA that included the property to be removed 

 
By: The total property taxes levied on property subject to all FDRAs used 

in determining the farmland preservation tax credit in that year. 
 
Step 2 

 
Multiply: The owner’s total farmland preservation tax credit in that year on all 

agreements 
 

By: The quotient in Step 1. 
 
Value of the Lien 
Step 1 

Divide: The TV of the property being relinquished from the agreement 
 
By: The total TV of the property subject to the FDRA that included the 

property being removed from the agreement. 
 
Step 2 

Multiply: The “allocated tax credit” of entire agreement 
 
By: The quotient computed in Step 1. 
 

4. Landowner requests relinquishment of all or a portion of an agreement as 
provided by Section 36111(2)(a)(b) and 36111(a). 
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Termination of All Land Covered by an FDRA 
Step 1 

Divide: The ad valorem property tax levied on property subject to the FDRA 
to be relinquished that was used in determining the farmland 
preservation tax credit in that year 

 
By: The property taxes levied on property subject to all FDRAs used in 

determining the farmland preservation tax credit in that year. 
 
Step 2 

Multiply: The owner’s total farmland preservation tax credit on all agreements 
paid that year 

 
By: The quotient in Step 1. 

 
Step 3 

Sum: The results of Step 2 plus 6 percent per annum interest for each of the 
last seven years. 

 
Termination of a Portion of Land Covered by an FDRA 
Step 1 

Divide: The ad valorem property tax levied in that year on property subject 
to the FDRA that included the portion to be relinquished 

 
By: The total property taxes levied on property subject to all FDRAs used 

in determining the farmland preservation tax credit in that year. 
 

Step 2 
Multiply: The owner’s total farmland preservation tax credit in that year on all 

agreements 
 

By: The quotient in Step 1.  This is the “allocated tax credit.” 
 

Value of the Lien 
Step 1 

Divide: The TV of the property being released from the agreement 
 

By: The total TV of the property subject to the FDRA that included the 
property being released from the agreement. 

 

Step 2 
Multiply: The “allocated tax credit” for the agreement 

 
By: The quotient computed Step 1. 
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Step 3 
Sum: The results of Steps 1 and 2 plus 6 percent per annum interest for 

each of the last seven years. 
 

Sale of Land 
 
From January 1 to the day of closing, the seller (and conceivably their predecessor(s) in title) is 
the owner of the farmland. 
 
For the period from January 1 to the day of closing, the seller is the person responsible for the 
ad valorem taxes.  For income tax purposes, the IRS concludes the seller, not the buyer, pays the 
taxes (if the taxes are paid). 
 
The buyer is the owner of the farmland and is responsible for the payment of taxes (if paid) from 
the period of the “closing day” to December 31. 
 
Based on the above, each owner is entitled to claim the credit for that portion of the calendar 
year they held title to the farmland. 
 
Reinstatement of a Development Rights Agreement 
 
If there is a lapse of time between the expiration and reinstatement of an agreement, the 
landowner is not eligible to claim a farmland preservation tax credit for the time the agreement 
had expired.  The lien, which is recorded when an agreement is terminated, is discharged upon 
reinstatement of the development rights agreement.  A subsequent lien will not be less than the 
lien discharged due to reinstatement. 
 
Farmland Preservation Tax Credit When Land Is Inherited 
 
The taxpayer who inherited the land is not eligible for the credit until they are the owner of record 
and the FDRA is transferred to them by the State Land Use Agency. 
 
Taxable Portion of Farmland Preservation Tax Credit 
 
Taxable income for Michigan income tax purposes is defined in ITA, MCL 206.30(1), as AGI 
as determined in the IRC subject to certain adjustments.  To the extent that a farmland 
preservation tax credit is includable in an individual’s AGI, this income is taxable to the State.  
There is no statutory provision to exclude this income from the computation of Michigan taxable 
income. 
 
Income is defined in Michigan’s ITA, MCL 206.510(1) as the sum of federal AGI, as established 
in the IRC, plus all income specifically excluded or exempt from the computation of the federal 
AGI.   
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Income does not include payments or credits under MCL 206.510(1).  A farmland preservation 
tax credit is provided for in the Farmland and Open Space Preservation Act, not the ITA. 
 
The part of the homestead property tax credit that applies to farm buildings and land is business 
related.  To determine the portion that is business income, multiply the credit by the percentage 
that the TV of the buildings and land is to the total TV of the property (see example). 
 
The local assessor can provide a breakdown showing how total TV was determined. 
 

TV of Farmland 
Portion of Homestead Homestead Property  
and Buildings              x Credit Amounts = Property Tax Credit 
Total TV Received This Year That Is Business Income 

 
The farmland preservation tax credit amount and the business portion of the homestead property 
tax credit received during the year must be included in taxable income. 
 
If the MI-1040 tax refund was greater than the amount of farmland preservation tax credit plus 
the business portion of the homestead property tax credit, subtract the excess refund amount 
received during the year to the extent that it was included in federal AGI. 
 
Attaching Property Tax Statement(s) When Claiming an MI-1040CR-5 
 

For All E-Filers: Indicate in the space provided on Schedule CR-5 if the property taxes are paid 
for the year of the return or for the immediately preceding year.  No property tax statements are 
required at this time.  Some e-file products may allow you to attach images of your property tax 
statements which may reduce correspondence with Treasury and expedite the processing of your 
return.  Keep the statements with the tax records, as there may be a need in the future for Treasury 
to request them. 
 
For All Paper Filers: Indicate in the space provided on Schedule CR-5 if the property taxes are 
paid for the year of the return or for the immediately preceding year.  Property tax statements for 
the year of the return must be included.  These statements must include the TV, property taxes 
levied by millage rate, and the corresponding agreement number(s).  If the tax statements do not 
indicate payment of property taxes and the Paid box is checked on the Schedule CR-5, a copy of 
the previous year’s property tax receipt(s) indicating payment is also required. 
 

Note:  The Paid box is checked if the property taxes are paid for either the year of the 
return or for the immediately preceding year.  If the box is not checked, it will 
be assumed the property taxes are not paid.  This will result in the farmland 
preservation tax credit being issued jointly payable to the taxpayer and the 
appropriate county treasurer. 
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Farmland Taxes Eligibility Chart 
 

The following chart describes who may claim the farmland preservation tax credit and what taxes 
are to be used in computing the farmland credit based on ownership of the land. 
 

Type of 
Ownership 

 

Taxes 
Based On 

Must 
Attach 

Effective 
Date 

Partnership 1. Percent of Income or ownership, or 
 
2. Statement signed by all partners 

listing allowable percent for each 
partner 

1. Federal 1065, K-1, and Schedule K, or 
 
2. Partnership agreement, or 
3. Signed statement, or 
4. Completed part 2 of  
 MI-1040CR-5 
 

1/1/84 

S Corporation 1. Percent of stock ownership 1. Federal 1120S and Schedule K 
 

1/1/88 

*MET filers do not qualify. 
 
Joint (Other 
Than Spouse) 
 

1. Equal apportionment among owners, 
or 

 
2. Statements signed by owners 

apportioning taxes the same way the 
revenues and expenses are divided 

 

1. Signed statement, or 
 
2. Completed part 2 of MI-1040CR-5 

1/1/84 

Life Estate or 
Life Lease 

1. Possession, or apportionment 
between owner and life estate holder 

 

1. Signed statement, or  
2. Completed Part 2 of  
 MI-1040CR-5, or 
3. Copy of Life Lease Agreement 
 

1/1/86 

Grantor Trust 1. Ownership (if treated as an owner 
under IRC Sections 671 through 
679) 

 

1. Portion of trust that shows owner 1/1/84 

Trust Created by 
Death of Spouse 
 

1. Ownership 1. Portion of trust that shows owner, 
or the deed 

 

1/1/84 

Limited Liability 
Company 

1. Based on member’s share of 
ownership or distributive share of 
ordinary income as reported by 
company to IRS 

1. Limited liability company’s 
federal return and schedules 

1/1/96 

 

Repayments Under the Claim of Right Doctrine 
 
Section 265 of the ITA allows taxpayers to claim a credit against the Michigan income tax equal 
to the amount of tax paid on amounts included in taxable income in a prior tax year and repaid 
in the current tax year.   
 
The credit is allowed on amounts which qualify under IRC Section 1341, and are not deducted 
in arriving at federal AGI for the tax year. 
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Example: Included in Roy’s 2010 AGI was $18,000 in Supplemental Unemployment Benefits 
(SUB pay) from ABC, Inc.  In 2015, Roy repaid the $18,000, as it was determined 
he did not have the right to receive the SUB pay.  The 2015 repayment qualified 
under IRC Section 1341 and was taken as an itemized deduction by Roy on his 2015 
federal Schedule A.  For the 2015 tax year, Roy is allowed a $783 ($18,000 x .0435) 
credit against his Michigan income tax.  Calculate the credit using the tax rate in 
effect for the year the amount was included in Michigan taxable income (4.35 
percent), not the rate (4.25 percent) in effect for 2015, the year of the repayment.  
Report the credit on the line for reporting withholding taxes.  Write “Claim of 
Right/Repayment” next to the withholding line.  Attach a copy of Roy’s federal 
Form 1040 pages 1 and 2, Schedule A, documentation of the repayment, and a 
calculation showing how the credit was determined on his 2015 MI-1040. 

 
Earned Income Tax Credit 
 
For 2015, a taxpayer may claim a refundable credit against the income tax for an amount equal to 
6 percent of the credit the taxpayer is allowed to claim as a credit under IRC Section 32 (i.e., the 
Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC)) for a tax year on a return filed under the act for the same year.  
 

Home Heating Credit 
 
PA 335 of 2004 amended Section 527(a) of the ITA allowing Treasury to establish a program for 
direct payments of energy drafts to enrolled heating providers.  If a claimant’s name has been 
submitted by the provider (Consumers Energy, DTE Energy Company, or SEMCO Energy Gas) 
and meets the requirements established by Treasury, the energy draft will be paid directly to the 
provider. 
 
PA 169 of 2001 allows a Home Heating Credit only if there has been a federal appropriation for 
the federal fiscal year beginning in the tax year of federal low income home energy assistance 
program block grant funds of any amount.  Also under PA 169 of 2001, no portion of the credit 
allowed shall be applied as an offset to any liability of the claimant. 
 
The Home Heating Credit form must be filed and postmarked no later than September 30 of 
the following year.  The amount of the credit may be prorated depending on the amount of federal 
funds appropriated. 
 
An eligible claimant for a heating credit is defined as a renter or owner of a home.  The claimant’s 
income must be within the income limits listed on the eligibility charts in the MI-1040CR-7 
instruction booklet.  An ineligible claimant is a person who lives in a home and does not pay rent 
or is not an owner.  The standard allowance of heating costs is prorated for eligible claimants if the 
home is occupied by ineligible claimants.  Ineligible claimants include: 
 

1. Full-time students claimed as dependents by another person 
 
2. Residents of a congregate care facility (i.e., nursing home, foster care home, home for 

the aged, substance abuse center, etc.) who resided in the care facility for the entire 
year. 

 
  



103 

For individuals who rent their homestead, if at the time of filing their heating costs are included in 
their rent or if the heat is in someone else’s name, the credit must be reduced by 50 percent. 
 
Example: A Michigan resident whose heat is included in their rent claimed a 2015 home heating 

credit.  Two federal exemptions were reported.  The claimant’s total household 
resources of $7,475 included wages of $3,025, DHHS benefits of $1,500, and child 
support of $2,950.  The claimant may claim a home heating credit of $176. 

 
To compute the home heating credit: 

 
Standard allowance $  614 
Less THR multiplied by 3.5% -  262 
 
Standard credit  352 
 
Renters reduce credit by 50% -  176 
 
Home Heating Credit $  176 (subject to possible proration) 

 
When two or more taxpayers who are not married to each other share a home, each can claim a 
home heating credit if each has contracted to pay rent or owns a share of the house.  If they share 
a home but are not the owners or have not contracted to pay rent, then they cannot claim a home 
heating credit. 
 
To claim a credit, each eligible claimant should file a Home Heating Credit based on their total 
household resources and their share of the standard allowance.  The standard allowance is 
determined from Table A in the MI-1040CR-7 instruction booklet by adding the personal 
exemptions of all the claimants sharing the home. 
 

Example 1: Two women share an apartment.  Each person has signed a lease and pays one-
half of the rent in 2015.  The standard allowance for two exemptions is $614.  
Each person must use a standard allowance of $307 ($614/2 = $307) to 
compute the credit. 

 
 If one of the individuals sharing the home is eligible for a special exemption 

or a dependent exemption, then she would compute her credit as follows: 
  
 The standard allowance as computed above is $307.  Then add the difference 

between the standard allowance for three ($774) and the standard allowance 
for two ($614) to $307 ($774 - $614 = $160 + $307 = $467).  $467 is the 
standard allowance for the individual with the dependent exemption. 

 
Part-year residents must prorate the standard allowance based on the number of days they were a 
Michigan resident.  Claimants filing on behalf of deceased individuals must prorate the standard 
allowance based on the date of death.  The decedent is not eligible for the alternate credit 
computation if they died during the tax year. 
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Example 2: A Home Heating Credit* claim is filed by a part-year Michigan resident who 
resided in Michigan for 198 days.  The claim is based on Michigan total 
household resources of $3,600 and one exemption. 

 
Prorated standard allowance   
 (198/365 x $454) $  246 
Less:  3.5% of actual total household resources 
 ($3,600)   - 126 
 
Home Heating Credit $  120 (subject to possible proration) 
 

*No annualizing of total household resources is required when computing a Home Heating 
Credit. 
 

CANCELLATION OF DEBT 
If a debt owed by an individual is cancelled or forgiven, other than as a gift, the amount of the 
cancelled debt must be included in gross income of the individual.  Therefore, any income arising 
from cancellation of debt (COD) included in federal AGI is subject to Michigan income tax.  
Forgiveness of debts owed to a seller/creditor are considered reductions to the purchase price and 
generally are not classified as cancellation of debt. 
 

1. Q. How does a taxpayer know when a lender has forgiven a mortgage debt? 
 

A. The following may be received from the lender: 
 

• 1099-A:  Acquisition or Abandonment of Secured Property.  This is used 
to compute federal gain or loss if the home is transferred in a foreclosure. 

 
• 1099-C:  Cancellation of Debt.  This reports any debt cancelled by the lender.  

The amount of debt cancelled is shown in box 2. 
 

2. Q. Is COD included in federal AGI? 
 

A. Yes.  However, there are some exceptions (see item 5). 
 

3. Q. If COD is included in AGI, can it be subtracted on an MI-1040? 
 

A. No. 
 

4. Q. If COD is included in AGI must it be included in total household resources? 
 

A. Yes. 
 

5. Q. When, under federal law, can COD be excluded from AGI? 
 

A. Discharge in bankruptcy, insolvency, or mortgage on a principal residence. 
 

6. Q. When a COD is excluded from AGI, must it be added back on the MI-1040? 
 

A. No.  
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7. Q. When a COD is excluded from AGI, must it be included in total household 
resources? 

 
A. Yes. (see the exception in item 8). 

 
8. Q. When can a COD on a mortgage be excluded from total household resources? 

 
A. When the lender does not foreclose, but agrees to reduce the amount owed.  In 

this case, ownership of the house does not change.  This is sometimes known as 
a “workout.”  The owner would probably receive a 1099-C but not a 1099-A. 

 
9. Q. Why isn’t the COD part of total household resources in the case of a workout? 

 
A. Because any gain or loss on the sale of the house is put off until the owner sells.  

The basis – a value used to compute gain or loss on a sale – is adjusted by the 
COD.  When the owner eventually sells the house they will recognize more gain 
(assuming it is sold for a gain) which will be included in total household resources 
at that time. 

 
10. Q. What is a “Redemption Period?” 

 
A. This is the phase of the foreclosure process which starts with a sheriff’s sale and 

ends when ownership actually changes.  It is usually six months. 
 

11. Q. May the owner take a property tax credit for the time the owner lived in the home 
during the redemptions period?   

 
A. Yes, even though the owner may never pay the property taxes. 

 
12. Q. What if the (ex) owner remains in the home after the redemption period expires? 

 
A. They may not claim property taxes for time after the redemption period expires.  

They may, however, take credit for any rent paid to remain living there. 
 
RELIEF FROM TAX LIABILITY 
Nonobligated Spouse Allocation 
 
MCL Chapter 205, Section 30a, permits spouses to apportion a joint refund as though they had 
filed separate returns when one spouse has a liability.  A nonobligated spouse’s share of the 
refund will not, under certain conditions, be used to offset an obligated spouse’s debt. 
 
A spouse not responsible for the liability may obtain their share of the refund by completing and 
filing Income Allocation for Non-Obligated Spouse (Form 743).  Form 743 is used to determine 
an overpayment based on separate reporting of income, credits and exemptions.   
 

Form 743 is issued after the processing of the income tax return and  
CANNOT be obtained in advance. 
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Form 743 must be signed by both spouses and returned within 30 days from the date Form 743 
was mailed by Treasury.  If it is not filed within this period, a portion or all of the joint refund 
will be used to offset the obligated spouse’s liability.  If Form 743 is returned to Treasury but is 
incomplete, the entire refund may be offset.  Once Form 743 is filed it cannot be amended.  A 
nonobligated spouse will not be permitted to commence an action to recover any amount 
withheld to satisfy the debt if the form is improperly filed.  Form 743 should be filled out even 
if the taxpayer is unsure of the debt or is contesting the debt. 
 
If the obligated spouse’s signature cannot be obtained, Form 743 may still be filed but must list 
the reason why the obligated spouse’s signature is missing. 
 
Complete Form 743 using the figures from the original return even if you discover that the 
Michigan income tax return needs to be amended.  Do not attach Form 743 to an amended return 
as the processing of the original refund will be delayed.  The taxpayer may later file an amended 
return taking into consideration the refund requested on the original return. 
 
Falsely reporting any information on Form 743 will result in a penalty of $25 or 25 percent of 
the excessive amount claimed, whichever is greater. 
 
Relief From Joint and Several Liability on Joint Returns 
 
Innocent spouse relief, separation of liability, and equitable relief may be granted by Treasury 
for the portion of the tax liability that is attributable to the understatement of tax or the 
underpayment of tax.  Treasury shall use the standards set forth in IRC Section 6015 and related 
federal interpretation in matters regarding relief from joint and several liability. 
 
Individuals requesting relief shall provide information regarding spousal relief that has been 
granted for federal income tax liability or other documentation or information to support the 
individual’s request.   
 

FIDUCIARY INFORMATION 
PA 38 of 2011 and several other public acts contained extensive changes to Michigan’s individual 
income tax that affects fiduciary income tax returns filed for the 2012 tax year and later.  The 
income tax rate for 2015 calendar and fiscal year filers is 4.25 percent.  Beginning in 2012, the 
following credits are no longer available: 
 

• City Income Tax Credit 
• Community Foundation Credit 
• Homeless Shelter/Food Bank Credit 
• Individual or Family Development Account Credit 
• Public Contribution Credit 
• Renewable Energy Surcharge Credit 
• Vehicle Donation Credit 
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General Information 
 
A copy of the U.S. 1041 must be filed with Fiduciary Income Tax Return (Form MI-1041), and 
Schedules 1, 2, and 3 must be completed, if applicable.  Schedule 4 must be completed if the 
estate or trust is filing as a nonresident. 
 
A MI-1041 estate return must be filed on behalf of the estate of the deceased to report any income 
received after the date of death.  An estate return is only entitled to the federal exemption 
allowance of $600. 
 
Resident Estate or Trust  
 
A MI-1041 must be filed if a U.S. 1041 return was filed or if there was income taxable to 
Michigan that was not included on the U.S. 1041 (such as interest and dividends income from 
obligations of states other than Michigan). 
 
Nonresident Estate or Trust 
 
An MI-1041 must be filed if income or gain from Michigan sources exceeds federal fiduciary 
exemptions.  (This would include income or gain from real or tangible personal property located 
in Michigan; income from business, trade, profession, or occupation conducted in Michigan; 
income from services performed in Michigan; or income earned, received, or acquired in 
Michigan.) 
 
Grantor Trust 
 
Michigan does not require a grantor trust to file a MI-1041 when the grantor is a trustee and is 
treated as the owner of the trust’s assets per the IRC.  Instead, report the trust’s income, 
deductions, and credits on the grantor’s MI-1040.  (Refer to IRC Reg 1.671-4.)  The fiduciary, 
in addition to not being required to file a MI-1041, would not be required to provide copies of 
federal returns or federal Schedule K-1s for the grantor trust. 
 
A grantor trust is a separate legal entity under state law but it is not recognized as a separate 
taxable entity for income tax purposes, because the grantor or other substantial owner has not 
relinquished complete dominion and control over the trust. 
 
See IRC Sections 671 through 678 for more information on the characteristics of grantor trusts. 
 
Allocation of Michigan Net Adjustments to Trust Beneficiaries 
 
A beneficiary must attach Schedule K-1 or a letter from the fiduciary to their MI-1040 return.  
The Schedule K-1 or the letter must show the name of the trust, federal identification number, 
and the income and Michigan adjustments to be included on the beneficiary’s MI-1040 and 
MI-1040D. 
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The allocation of Michigan net adjustments must be in proportion to the beneficiary’s respective 
share of distributable net income of the estate or trust as defined in the IRC. 
 
If the estate or trust has no distributable net income for the taxable year, refer to MCL 206.36(2) 
which states: 
 
“The respective shares of an estate or trust and its beneficiaries, including, solely for the purpose 
of this allocation, nonresident beneficiaries, in the additions and subtractions to taxable income 
shall be in proportion to their respective shares of distributable net income of the estate or trust 
as defined in the internal revenue code.  If the estate or trust has no distributable net income for 
the taxable year, the share of each beneficiary in the additions and subtractions shall be in 
proportion to his share of the estate or trust income for the year, under local law or the terms of 
the instrument, which is required to be distributed currently and any other amounts of such 
income distributed in the year.  Any balance of the additions and subtractions shall be allocated 
to the estate or trust.  If capital gains and losses are distributed or distributable to a beneficiary 
or beneficiaries under the internal revenue code, the fiduciary shall advise each beneficiary of 
his share of the adjustment under section 271.  The election or failure to elect under section 271 
with respect to capital gains and losses taxable to the estate or trust shall not affect the 
beneficiary’s right to elect or not elect under section 271.” 
 
There will be occasions where the additions or subtractions would be attributable to capital gains 
that were not distributed.  The taxpayer should identify any additions or subtractions attributable 
to the capital gains or losses that were not distributed according to the same percentage as the 
distributable net income. 
 
Taxable Income of Nonresident Beneficiary of Michigan Trust 
 

A nonresident beneficiary’s taxable income is subject to the allocation and apportionment rules 
of the Michigan Income Tax Act (ITA). There is no exclusion for the income passed through to 
a nonresident beneficiary from a Michigan trust if the income is allocable or apportionable to the 
State under the provisions of Chapter 3 of the ITA. 
 
In 2013, the Michigan Supreme Court held that combined apportionment under the unitary 
business principle may be used to calculate taxable income at the election of the taxpayer.  
Malpass v Department of Treasury, 494 Mich 237 (2013).  This may also apply to a nonresident 
beneficiary’s taxable income.  Treasury previously only applied the unitary business principle to 
each discrete legal entity’s business operations.  See Apportionment of Flow Through Entities 
Under the Unitary Business Principle in this chapter. 
 

IRS MATCH 
The IRS provides Treasury with information regarding taxpayers’ federal tax returns in 
accordance with IRC Section 6103(d).  Following is a summary of the IRS match programs. 
 
The delinquent match program identifies taxpayers who filed their federal income tax returns 
from a Michigan address, but did not file Michigan returns.  Treasury sends these taxpayers a 
letter of inquiry requesting that a Michigan income tax return be filed.  The letter indicates the 
amount of tax that is due based on the reported federal AGI and federal exemption allowances. 
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The AGI match program identifies taxpayers who reported a different amount of AGI on their 
federal income tax returns than on their State income tax returns.  Treasury sends a letter of 
inquiry to the taxpayers indicating the amount of AGI reported on their federal return and the 
Michigan return.  Tax due is computed on the difference between the federal and State return.  
Since total household resources is affected, the property tax credit and home heating credit (if 
applicable) are recomputed adding the difference to the amount due. 
 
The CP 2000 program identifies taxpayers who failed to report income that was reported to the 
IRS by third parties.  Treasury sends a letter of inquiry to the taxpayers indicating the source and 
the amount of the unreported income, as well as the amount of income tax and interest due on 
that income. 
 
The IRS reports the results of all audits conducted on individuals who are Michigan residents.  
This information is then matched against amended returns filed by the taxpayers.  If 
discrepancies exist or if amended returns are not filed, the taxpayers will receive a letter of 
proposed income tax adjustments and the amount due.  If the IRS made a determination, 
taxpayers need to submit that information to the State of Michigan. 
 
If taxpayers disagree with the information in the letter of inquiry, they should write to Treasury 
within the specified time.  If they received a redetermination or any other documentation from 
the IRS, they should submit a copy of it attached to their letter. 
 
TAXABILITY OF FEDERAL OBLIGATIONS 
 
Income from certain U.S. Obligations, reduced by any expenses in carrying the obligation used 
in arriving at federal AGI, can be subtracted on the Michigan return. 
 
The following U.S. Obligations are exempt from Michigan Individual Income Tax: 
 

U.S. Government Bonds U.S. Saving Bonds - Series E, F, G, and H 
U.S. Government Certificates U.S. Treasury Bills and Notes 
 

Obligations issued by the following U.S. Agencies are exempt: 
 

Banks for Cooperatives Federal Intermediate Credit Banks 
Central Banks for Cooperatives Federal Intermediate Credit Corp. 
Commodity Credit Corp. Federal Land Banks 
Consolidated Bonds Federal Land Banks Association 
Consolidated Discount Notes Federal Savings and Loan Insurance 
Consolidated System Bond, Series L  Corporation 
Consolidated Systemwide Home Owner’s Loan Corp. 
Discount Notes Joint Stock Land Banks 
District of Columbia Maritime Administration 
Farm Credit Banks Production Credit Association 
Farmers Home Corp. Small Business Administration 
Federal Deposit Insurance Corp. Student Loan Marketing Association 
Federal Farm Credit Bank  (Sallie Mae) 
Federal Farm Loan Corp. Tennessee Valley Authority (bonds only) 
Federal Farm Mortgage Corp. U.S. Housing Authority 
Federal Financing Banks U.S. Maritime Commission 
Federal Home Loan Banks U.S. Possessions (obligations Puerto 
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Federal Housing Administration  Rico, Virgin Islands, etc.) 
 (General Insurance Fund Debentures) U.S. Postal Service (bonds) 

 
The following debentures issued under the General Insurance Fund are exempt: 
 

Interest from Armed Services Housing Mortgage Debentures 
Interest from debentures issued under War Housing Insurance Law 
Interest from debentures to acquire rental housing projects 

 
The following General Services Administration Public Building Trust Participation 
Certificates are exempt: 
 

1st series A through E 
2nd series F 
3rd series G 
4th series H and I 

 
The Guam Obligations issued by Government of Guam are exempt. 
 

Notes: Income from exempt U.S. Obligations received by the taxpayer through Money 
Market Funds, Money Market Certificates, Mutual Funds, Trusts, etc., generally 
qualifies for a subtraction. 

 
 Treasury Bill Futures are not U.S. obligations. 

 
The following U.S. Obligations are taxable: 
 
 Building and Loan Associations 

Credit Union Share Accounts 
District of Columbia Armory Board 

 Export/Import Bank of Washington, D.C. 
 Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation (Freddie Mac) mortgages and other securities 

Federal Housing Administration (debentures, notes, and participation certificates) 
 Federal National Mortgage Association (Fannie Mae) participation and other instruments 

Federal Savings and Loan Associations 
Government National Mortgage Association (Ginnie Mae) (debentures, notes, and  
    participation certificates) 
International Bank for Reconstruction and Development (World Bank) 
Panama Canal Bonds 

 Participation Certificates issued by the Federal National Mortgage Association 
Philippine Bonds 

 U.S. Department of Agriculture Farmers Home Administration Insured Notes 
U.S. Government Insured Merchant Marine Bonds 
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Other examples of taxable interest from federal obligations: 
 

Debentures issued to mortgages or mortgages foreclosed under the provisions of the  
    National Housing Act 
Farmer’s Home Administration 
Federal Home Loan time deposits 
FSLIC secondary reserve prepayments  
Government National Mortgage Association participation certificates and on Federal  
   Home Loan Mortgage Corporation participation certificates in mortgage pools 
Interest-bearing certificates issued in lieu of tax exempt securities, such income losing its 
   identity when merged with other funds 
Participating loans in the Federal Reserve System for member banks (Federal Funds) 
Promissory notes of a federal instrumentality 
Refunds of federal income tax 
U.S. Postal Service certificates and savings deposits 

 
INCOME ALLOCATION CHART 
The following chart may be used to determine which types or sources of income are taxable to 
Michigan.  This chart is not inclusive of all types of income, but reflects the most common. 

 
Type of Income Allocate To 

Salaries, wages, tips, director fees, commissions, etc. State where earned and state of residence.  A Michigan resident 
may be entitled to a credit if income also taxed by another state. 
 
Exception: Residents of reciprocal states are not taxed by 

Michigan on this type of income and vice versa. 
 

Deferred compensation: 
 

1. Principal portion 
 
 
2. Interest portion 

 
 
State of residence when received.  (See RAB 1997-2 for tax 
years prior to 1996.) 
 
State of residence when received. 
 

Dividends and interest State of residence. 
 
Exception: If earned by a partnership or S corporation, 

allocate or apportion to the state of the business 
activity if business income. 

 
Business income or loss (Schedule C) State where business activity takes place.  Business income 

attributable to Michigan and one or more states must be 
apportioned.  (Form MI-1040H.) 
 

Partnerships, S corporations, or other flow-through 
entities income or loss: 

 
1. Ordinary business income or loss (Schedule 

E) 
 
2. All other business income or 
 loss 
 
3. Nonbusiness income or loss 

 
 
 
State where business activity takes place. 
 
 
State where business activity takes place. 
 
State of residence. 
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Type of Income Allocate To 
Capital gain or loss (Schedule D or 4797): 
 

1. Intangible personal property such as stocks, 
bonds, commodities, futures, etc. 

 
2. Section 1231 
 
3. Real property 

 

 
 
State of residence unless business income. 
 
 
State where property is located unless business income. 
 
State where real property is located unless business income. 
 

Pension, retirement, annuity, qualifying IRA 
distributions, and Social Security benefits 
 

State of residence when received. 
 

Rent and royalty income or loss (Schedule E): 
 

1. Tangible and intangible personal property 
 

 
 
Michigan if used in this State, or if a resident and not taxable in 
the state where property is used. 
 

2. Real property (includes royalties for minerals 
which came from real property such as oil 
and coal) 

 

State where real property is located unless business income. 
 
 

Estate or trust income or loss Look to type and source of income and apply guidelines in this 
chart. 
 

Farm income or loss (Schedule F) 
 

State where farm is located. 

Unemployment compensation State of residence. 
 

Alimony and state and local refunds  State of residence when received. 
 

Gambling winnings from casinos and licensed 
horse tracks located in Michigan, and winnings 
from raffle, bingo, and prizes won in Michigan 
 

State where earned and state of residence.  (Michigan lottery 
won by nonresidents is taxable in Michigan.) 
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INCOME AND DEDUCTIBLE ITEMS, SUMMARY CHART 
 

Notes: N = Not included 
 Y  = Included 
 AGI = Adjusted Gross Income 
 THR = Total Household Resources 
 

 
 

Income Items 
 

 
 

AGI 

Michigan 
Taxable 
Income 

 
 

THR 

Alimony received 
 
Awards, prizes (in excess of $300 for THR) 
 

Y 
 

Y 

Y 
 

Y 

Y 
 

Y 

Bingo: 
 First $300  
 In excess of $300  

 
Y 
Y 
 

 
Y 
Y 
 

 
N 
Y 
 

Bonuses Y Y Y 
 

Business (Schedule C) income or loss: 
In Michigan (except income and related expenses from oil and gas royalties 
and mineral extraction subject to severance tax) 
 
From another state and/or income and related expenses from oil and gas 
royalties and metallic minerals extraction subject to severance tax 

 

 
 

Y 
 
 
 

Y 

 
 

Y 
 
 
 

N 

 
 

Y* 
 
 
 

Y* 
Capital gains: 
 100% taxable 
 Note: Senior citizen born before 1946 may subtract interest, dividends, 

and capital gains included in AGI.  The maximum deduction must 
be reduced by the pension subtraction.  Allowable deduction is 
the smaller of the calculation or actual total interest, dividends, 
and capital gains. 

 

 
Y 

 
Y 

 
Y 

  This subtraction is adjusted by the percentage increase in the U.S. 
Consumer Price Index for the preceding calendar year.  See 
MI-1040 instruction booklet for the year being reviewed. 

 

   

 Gains on sale of principal residence 
 

N N Y 

Casualty loss reimbursement in excess of loss of property 
 

Y 
 

Y 
 

Y 
 

Child support payments: 
 Payer  
 Receiver 
 

 
Y 
N 
 

 
Y 
N 
 

 
Y 
Y 
 

* All business income and loss must be netted before considering the effect on THR.  If the netting results in a loss, this cannot 
be used to reduce THR.  Exception:  Farmland Preservation Tax Credit continues to be based on household income and not 
THR. Business losses and NOL deductions are allowed in household income.  (See MI-1040CR-5 instructions.) 
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Income Items 
 

 
 

AGI 

Michigan 
Taxable 
Income 

 
 

THR 

Chore service payments: 
 Provider of service 
 Receiver of service 
 
Commissions 
 
Compensation for personal services rendered 

 
Y 
N 
 

Y 
 

Y 

 
Y 
N 
 

Y 
 

Y 

 
Y 
N 
 

Y 
 

Y 
 

Damages for personal injury or sickness 
 
Deferred compensation 
 
Director’s fees 
 
Disability income (limited) 
 Policeman and Fireman On-Duty “J-Days” 
 
Dividends received (see Note under “Capital gains”)  
 

N 
 

Y 
 

Y 
 

Y 
N 
 

Y 

N 
 

Y 
 

Y 
 

Y 
N 
 

Y 

Y 
 

Y 
 

Y 
 

Y 
Y 
 

Y 

Educational expenses paid by employer 
 
Employee business expenses: cash allowance or 
 reimbursement 
 
Energy assistance grants or tax credit 
 
Estates or trusts income or loss 
 

N 
 
 

Y 
 

N 
 

Y 

N 
 
 

Y 
 

N 
 

Y 

Y 
 
 

Y 
 

N 
 

Y* 

FIP benefits (see “Public assistance . . .”) 
 

   

Farm income or loss from: 
 Michigan 
 Another state 
 

 
Y 
Y 

 
Y 
N 

 
Y* 
Y* 

Farm portion of homestead property tax credit 
 

Y Y N 

Farmland preservation tax credits 
 

Y 
 

Y 
 

Y 
 

Foreign earned income exclusion 
 

N N Y 

Foster care payments 
 

N N Y 

* All business income and loss must be netted before considering the effect on THR.  If the netting results in a loss, this cannot 
be used to reduce THR.  Exception:  Farmland Preservation Tax Credit continues to be based on household income and not 
THR.  Business losses and NOL deductions are allowed in household income.  (See MI-1040CR-5 instructions.) 
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Income Items 
 

 
 

AGI 

Michigan 
Taxable 
Income 

 
 

THR 

Gambling: 
Winnings (in excess of $300 for THR) 
Losses: 

Professional gamblers (Net losses) 
All others 

 

 
Y 
 

Y 
N 

 
Y 
 

Y 
N 

 
Y 
 

N* 
N 

Gifts - cash: 
First $300 
Excess over $300 

 
Government grant for home repair or improvement 
 

 
N 
N 
 

N 

 
N 
N 
 

N 

 
N 
Y 
 

N 

Government payments made directly to educational  
 institutions or housing projects 
 

 
N 

 
N 

 
N 

Health, life (unless benefits exceed $50,000), and 
 accident insurance premiums paid by employer 
 
Homestead property tax credits 
 
Housing allowance for clergy 
 

 
N 
 

Y 
 

N 

 
N 
 

N 
 

N 

 
N 
 

N 
 

Y 

Inheritance bequest or devise from: 
Nonspouse 
Spouse 

 

 
N 
N 

 
N 
N 

 
Y 
N 

Interest received on: 
Banking, savings and loan assoc., etc., accounts 
Insurance dividends 
Land contracts 
Money market and savings certificates 
Municipal bonds issued by another state 
Municipal bonds issued by Michigan 
Tax refunds 
U.S. Obligations (only specific agencies exempt) 
 

 
Y 
Y 
Y 
Y 
N 
N 
Y 
Y 

 
Y 
Y 
Y 
Y 
Y 
N 
Y 
N 

 
Y 
Y 
Y 
Y 
Y 
Y 
Y 
Y 

Interest taxable to Michigan (see Note under “Capital gains”) 
 

   

Life insurance proceeds paid to: 
Nonspouse 
Spouse 

 

 
N 
N 

 
N 
N 

 
Y 
N 

Life insurance - cash in amount in excess of premiums 
 

Y 
 

Y 
 

Y 
 

Living expenses of claimant paid by another person 
 

N N Y 

* All business income and loss must be netted before considering the effect on THR.  If the netting results in a loss, this cannot 
be used to reduce THR.  Exception:  Farmland Preservation Tax Credit continues to be based on household income and not 
THR.  Business losses and NOL deductions are allowed in household income.  (See MI-1040CR-5 instructions.) 
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Income Items 
 

 
 

AGI 

Michigan 
Taxable 
Income 

 
 

THR 

Loans received or paid 
 

N N N 

Long-term disability payments received 
 (if all or part of premium paid by employer) 
 

 
Y 

 
Y 
 

 
Y 

Lottery: 
 100% taxable (in excess of $300 for THR) 
 Installment winners of Michigan lottery who 
    won prior to 12-30-88 
 

 
Y 
 

Y 
 

 
Y 
 

N 
 

 
Y 
 

Y 
 

Lump sum distribution included in 10-year averaging 
    (for individuals born before 1936) 
 

 
N 

 
N 

 
Y 

Medicare payments 
 
Military wages or retirements 
 Combat pay not excluded from taxable on federal return 
 Combat pay excluded from taxable on federal return 
 
Moving expenses, reimbursement: 
  Moving into Michigan 
  Moving out of Michigan 
 

N 
 

Y 
Y 
N 
 
 

Y 
Y 

N 
 

N 
N 
N 
 
 

Y 
N 

N 
 

Y 
Y 
Y 
 
 

Y 
N 

Net operating loss deduction (the NOL is allowed in household 
 income when computing the Farmland Preservation Tax Credit) 
 

 
Y 

 
Y 

 
N 

Partnership income or loss: 
  In Michigan (except income and related expenses from  
     oil and gas royalties and metallic minerals extraction subject  
     to Michigan severance tax) 
  From another state and/or income and related expenses from  
     oil and gas royalties and metallic minerals extraction subject  
     to Michigan severance tax 
 

 
 
 

Y 
 
 

Y 

 
 
 

Y 
 
 

N 

 
 
 

Y* 
 
 

Y* 

Pension and retirement benefits for persons born after 1945.  (Refer to Pension and 
Retirement Benefits section of this manual.) 
 

 
Y 

 
Y/N 

 
Y 

Private pensions (e.g., qualified annuity plans) up to amount allowed as subtraction 
for claimed year for persons born before 1946 

 

 
Y 

 
N** 

 
Y 

Private pensions or qualified annuity plans in excess of amount allowed as 
subtraction for claimed year for persons born before 1946 
 

 
Y 

 
Y 

 
Y 

Public Pensions (federal, state, or municipal governments) for persons 
born before 1946 

 
Y 

 
N 

 
Y 

 
* All business income and loss must be netted before considering the effect on THR.  If the netting results in a loss, this cannot 

be used to reduce THR.  Exception:  Farmland Preservation Tax Credit continues to be based on household income and not 
THR.  Business losses and NOL deductions are allowed in household income. (See MI-1040CR-5 instructions.)

** This subtraction is adjusted by the percentage increase in the U.S. Consumer Price Index for the preceding calendar year.  (See 
the MI 1040 instruction book for the year being reviewed.)
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Income Items 
 

 
 

AGI 

Michigan 
Taxable 
Income 

 
 

THR 

Public assistance payments from DHHS  
  FIP paid to grandparents for care of grandchildren 
  FIP paid to parents for children 
 

 
N 
N 

 
N 
N 

 
Y 
Y 

Public health officer’s income: 
  Michigan resident 
  Nonresident 

 
Y 
Y 

 
Y 
N 

 
Y 
N 

 
Railroad sick pay  
 
Railroad Tier 1 retirement benefits: 
  Taxable amount for persons born before 1946 
  Nontaxable portion 
 
Railroad Tier 2 retirement benefits for persons born before 1946 
 

Y 
 
 

Y 
N 
 

Y 

Y 
 
 

N 
N 
 

N 

Y 
 
 

Y 
Y 
 

Y 
 

Railroad unemployment benefits N N Y 
 

Refunds - Michigan state and local income tax 
 
Relief in kind 
 

Y 
 

N 

N 
 

N 

N 
 

N 

Rents and royalties income or loss: 
  In Michigan (except income and related expenses from  
   oil and gas royalties and metallic minerals extraction subject  
   to Michigan severance tax) 
  From another state and/or income and related expenses from  
   oil and gas royalties and metallic minerals extraction subject  
   to Michigan severance tax 
 

Note: All rent and royalty income and loss must be netted before 
considering the effect on THR.  If the netting results in a loss, this 
cannot be used to reduce THR. 

 

 
 
 

Y 
 
 

Y 

 
 
 

Y 
 
 

N 

 
 
 

Y 
 
 

Y 

Retirement benefits (see “Private and Public pensions . . .”) 
 

Y N/Y Y 

S corporation business activity: 
 In Michigan (except income and related expenses from oil and  
  gas royalties and metallic minerals extraction subject  
  to Michigan severance tax) 
 In another state and/or income and related expenses from  
  oil and gas royalties and metallic minerals extraction subject  
  to Michigan severance tax 
 

 
 
 

Y 
 
 

Y 

 
 
 

Y 
 
 

N 

 
 
 

Y* 
 
 

Y* 

    
* All business income and loss must be netted before considering the effect on THR.  If the netting results in a loss, this cannot 

be used to reduce THR.  Exception:  Farmland Preservation Tax Credit continues to be based on household income and not 
THR.  Business losses and NOL deductions are allowed in household income.  (See MI-1040CR-5 instructions.) 
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Income Items 
 

 
 

AGI 

Michigan 
Taxable 
Income 

 
 

THR 

Scholarships, stipends, education grants, GI bill benefits 
 

Note: Scholarships must be received and used for qualified tuition and 
related expenses such as fees, books, supplies, and equipment 
required for courses of instruction at a qualified organization. 

 

N 
 
 

N 
 
 

Y 
 
 

Scholarships or grants received and used for nonqualified expenses that are 
included in federal AGI such as room and board 
 

 
Y 

 
Y 

 
Y 

Severance pay 
 

Y 
 

Y 
 

Y 
 

Sick pay 
 

Y 
 

Y 
 

Y 
 

Social Security benefits: 
  Taxable amount 
  Nontaxable portion 
 

 
Y 
N 
 

 
N 
N 
 

 
Y 
Y 
 

Stipends received for benefit of grantor (interns,  
 resident doctors) 
 

 
Y 
 

 
Y 
 

 
Y 
 

Strike pay 
 

Y Y Y 

Supplemental gain (Form 4797) 
 

Y 
 

Y 
 

Y 
 

Supplemental unemployment benefits 
 
Surplus foods 
 

Y 
 

N 
 

Y 
 

N 
 

Y 
 

N 
 

Unemployment compensation 
 
Unemployment compensation from railroad 
 

Y 
 

N 

Y 
 

N 

Y 
 

Y 

Vacation allowance 
 
Veterans Administration benefits 
 

Y 
 

N 

Y 
 

N 

Y 
 

Y 

Wages, salaries, tips 
 
Workers’ Compensation 
 

Y 
 

N 

Y 
 

N 

Y 
 

Y 
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Deductible Items 
 

 
 

AGI 

Michigan 
Taxable 
Income 

 
 

THR 

Alimony paid 
 

Y Y Y 

Capital losses: 
  Short-term, maximum $3,000 (THR, maximum $3,000) 
  Long-term, maximum $3,000 (THR, maximum $3,000) 
 

 
Y 
Y 

 
Y 
Y 

 
Y 
Y 

Casualty Loss: 
  Claimed as itemized deduction 
 Claimed as business deduction 
 

 
N 
Y 

 
N 
Y 

 
N 
Y 

“Claim of Right” (repayment of items previously included in 
 income) taken as: 
  Itemized deduction (taken as Michigan credit) 
  Federal tax credit (taken as Michigan credit) 
  Deduction reflected in AGI 
 

 
 

N 
N 
Y 

 
 

N 
N 
Y 

 
 

N 
N 
Y 

Health and accident insurance paid by taxpayer for self and  
family (not including pre-tax payroll deductions) 
 

 
N 

 
N 

 
Y 

IRA or Keogh, (payments to)  
 

Y 
 

Y 
 

Y 
 

Moving Expenses: 
  Moving to Michigan 
  Moving out of Michigan 
 

 
Y 
Y 

 
Y 
N 

 
Y 
N 

Penalty on early withdrawal of savings 
 

Y Y Y 

Self-employment tax deduction 
 

Y N Y 

Venture Capital deduction 
 

Y N N 
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MICHIGAN CITIES LEVYING AN INCOME TAX 
 
The following Michigan cities levy an income tax of 1 percent on residents and 0.5 percent on 
nonresidents except those cities where rates are indicated: 
 

Albion 
Battle Creek 
Big Rapids 
Detroit (2.4% on residents, 1.2% on 

nonresidents) 
Flint 
Grand Rapids (1.5% on residents, 0.75% 

on nonresidents) 
Grayling 
Hamtramck 
Highland Park (2% on residents, 1% on 

nonresidents) 
Hudson 
 

Ionia 
Jackson 
Lansing 
Lapeer 
Muskegon 
Muskegon Heights 
Pontiac 
Port Huron 
Portland 
Saginaw (1.5% on residents, 0.75% on 

nonresidents) 
Springfield 
Walker 
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CORPORATE INCOME TAX 

  
OVERVIEW 
 
CIT applies to C corporations, entities taxed as C corporations for federal income tax purposes, 
insurance companies except those authorized under chapter 46 or 47 of the insurance code of 1956, 
and financial institutions.  Individuals and flow-through entities (FTEs), including S Corporations, 
partnerships, and trusts, generally are not taxpayers under CIT unless the FTE elects or is required 
to file as a C Corporation for federal income tax purposes or otherwise constitutes an insurance 
company or financial institution.  FTEs, however, may be subject to withholding.  The tax rate 
levied on C corporations is 6 percent of the tax base after allocation or apportionment. 
 
Insurance companies and financial institutions are taxed separately under the CIT and are taxed 
regardless of entity type.  Insurance companies are taxed at the rate of 1.25 percent of gross direct 
premiums written on property or risk located or residing in Michigan or the retaliatory tax under 
MCL 500.476(a), whichever is greater.  Financial institutions are subject to a tax equal to 0.29 
percent of apportioned net capital.  Due to the distinct treatment under CIT, insurance companies 
and financial institutions are addressed separately in this chapter.  A CIT taxpayer that is not an 
insurance company or a financial institution will be referred to as a standard taxpayer. 
 
Definitions 
 
Business Income means federal taxable income.  For a tax-exempt taxpayer, business income 
means that part of federal taxable income derived from unrelated business activity. 

 
Corporation means a person that is required or has elected to file as a C corporation at the federal 
level.  An entity that has elected to file as a corporation at the federal level will be subject to this 
tax along with traditional C corporations.  Corporation does not include a financial institution or 
insurance company, as those regulated industries are taxed separately. 
 
Federal Taxable Income means taxable income is defined in section 63 of the internal revenue 
code, except that federal taxable income shall be calculated as if section 168(k) and section 199 of 
the internal revenue code were not in effect. 
 
Flow-through entity (FTE) means an S corporation, general partnership, limited partnership, 
trust, limited liability partnership, or a limited liability company which is not taxed as a corporation 
at the federal level for the tax year. An FTE does not include a disregarded entity.  
 
Gross receipts means the entire amount received by the taxpayer from any activity whether in 
intrastate, interstate, or foreign commerce carried on for direct or indirect gain, benefit, or 
advantage to the taxpayer or to others, with certain exclusions.  For purposes of the filing threshold, 
gross receipts includes the taxpayer’s proportionate share of apportioned or allocated gross receipts 
attributable to an ownership interest in an FTE.    
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Taxpayer means a corporation, insurance company, financial institution, or UBG that is liable for 
tax, interest, or penalty under CIT. 
 
Unitary Business Group (UBG) means a group of United States persons that are corporations, 
insurance companies, or financial institutions, other than a foreign operating entity, one of which 
owns or controls, directly or indirectly, more than 50 percent of the ownership interest with voting 
rights or ownership interests that confer comparable rights to voting rights of the other members, 
and that has business activities or operations which result in a flow of value between or among 
members included in the UBG or has business activities or operations that are integrated with, are 
dependent upon, or contribute to each other.  UBG includes an affiliated group that makes an 
election to be treated, and to file, as a UBG.  
 
Filing Requirements 
 
Filing Thresholds 
 
Any standard taxpayer engaged in business activity in Michigan whose apportioned or allocated 
gross receipts are $350,000 or more in a tax year is required to file a tax return.  For tax years of 
less than 12 months, a taxpayer’s gross receipts filing threshold is annualized by multiplying 
$350,000 by a fraction, the numerator of which is the number of months in the taxpayer’s tax year 
and the denominator of which is 12.  Filing threshold for a UBG is determined after intercompany 
eliminations.  
 
In calculating the filing threshold of a C corporation, the apportioned or allocated gross receipts of 
an FTE shall be imputed to each of its members based upon the same percentage that each 
member’s proportionate share of distributive income is to the total distributive income of the FTE.  
Imputed gross receipts from an FTE in which the taxpayer is a non-unitary owner are not included 
if the FTE has a valid Michigan Business Tax (MBT) election for a tax year that ends with or 
within the taxpayer’s tax year.  See the MBT chapter of this text for more information on the MBT 
election.  
 
Any taxpayer with an annual liability of less than or equal to $100 is not required to file or pay.  A 
taxpayer that wishes to claim a refund or to carry forward a credit or business loss must file a 
return.  
 
Special rules apply for a UBG.  The filing requirement for a UBG is determined on a group basis; 
therefore, if the filing threshold is met for the group, every member of the group that is a CIT 
taxpayer will be included on the UBG’s return regardless of the member’s gross receipts.  A UBG 
is required to eliminate all intercompany transactions from gross receipts. 
 

Example 1: A UBG is comprised of members A, B, C, D, and E, each with $80,000 in gross 
receipts.  Assuming allocation to Michigan, the gross receipts of the UBG are 
$400,000.  Since $400,000 exceeds the $350,000 filing threshold, the taxpayer 
is required to file a return and pay the tax.  The fact that no member of the UBG 
would meet the filing threshold if considered individually is immaterial. 
Members A, B, C, D, and E are all included in the UBG return.  If the calculated 
tax liability is $100 or less, there would be no filing requirement. 
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Example 2: Same facts as in Example 1 except $60,000 of member A’s gross receipts are 
from transactions with member B.  The group must eliminate intercompany 
transactions from gross receipts, meaning that $60,000 is removed from total 
gross receipts of $400,000.  Since $340,000 does not meet or exceed the filing 
threshold of $350,000, the UBG is not required to file a return. 

 
The gross receipts filing threshold does not apply to insurance companies and financial institutions.  
However, these taxpayers are not required to file or pay if annual liability is less than or equal to 
$100. 
 
Tax Year 
 
A CIT taxpayer’s tax year is the calendar year, or the fiscal year ending during that calendar year.  
If a return is made for a fractional part of a year, tax year means the period for which the return is 
made.   Generally, a taxpayer’s tax year is for the same period covered by its federal income tax 
return.   
 
A taxpayer that has a 52 or 53 week tax year beginning not more than seven days before the end 
of any month is considered to have a tax year beginning on the first day of the subsequent month. 
 
For a UBG, the unitary return will include all members with tax years ending with or within the 
designated member’s tax year (see more on designated member in the “Unitary Business Groups” 
section of this chapter).  A person included in a UBG that joins or departs the UBG other than at 
the end of that person’s federal tax year shall have a tax year beginning at the start of its federal 
tax year and ending on the date of joining or departing the UBG and another tax year beginning 
on the date immediately after joining or departing the unitary business group and ending with the 
conclusion of its federal tax year, even as there if no federal tax year change. 
 
Due Dates and Extensions 
 
Generally, an annual or final return must be filed with the Michigan Department of Treasury 
(Treasury) by the last day of the fourth month after the end of the taxpayer’s tax year.  Thus, a 
return for calendar year 2015 is due April 30, 2016.   
 
Taxpayers seeking an extension must file an Application for Extension of Time to File Michigan 
Tax Return (Form 4) by the due date of the CIT annual return.  If the taxpayer received a federal 
extension and indicates that information on Form 4 and sends the necessary payment, then the 
taxpayer will receive an automatic extension to the last day of the eighth month following the 
original due date.  An extension for good cause may be sought by writing to Treasury.  An 
extension of time to file is not an extension of time to pay.  An extension of time to file will also 
extend the statute of limitations. 
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Estimated Returns and Payments 
 
Corporate, financial institution, and insurance company taxpayers that reasonably expect to have 
a tax liability of more than $800 for the tax year must make quarterly estimated payments and 
returns.  Each payment must approximate the taxpayer’s tax liability for the quarter or 25 percent 
of the estimated annual liability.  Second, third, and fourth quarter payments should include any 
necessary adjustments for overpayments or underpayments from a previous quarter.  For the 
taxpayer’s first year under CIT of less than 12 months, the amounts paid with each quarterly return 
shall be proportional to the number of payments required.  A taxpayer with a tax year of less than 
four months is not required to file an estimated tax return or remit estimated payments. 
 

Note: Taxpayers that calculate and pay estimates pursuant to internal revenue code 
(IRC) 6655(e) may use the same methodology to make CIT estimated payments. 

 
In order to avoid interest and penalty, the sum of all estimated payments made must be at least 85 
percent of the annual liability and each quarterly payment must reasonably approximate the 
liability incurred in the quarter.  For all subsequent tax years after the initial 2012 CIT tax year, a 
taxpayer may qualify for the safe harbor provision if the previous year’s liability was $20,000 or 
less.  The taxpayer must have business activity in Michigan in the preceding year to qualify for the 
safe harbor.  An entity that was not in existence or that was without business activity in Michigan 
in the preceding year, would not have a “preceding year’s tax liability under CIT” to qualify for 
the safe harbor provided by Section 681(3)(b) and would not be able to avail itself of the statutory 
provision. The safe harbor is available to a taxpayer with a previous year’s CIT liability of zero as 
long as the taxpayer had business activity in Michigan in the prior year. The taxpayer must file a 
return to establish a zero liability to take advantage of the safe harbor.   Under the safe harbor, a 
taxpayer must timely submit four equal estimated payments, the sum of which equals the previous 
tax year’s liability.  A taxpayer may choose to make larger payments, including full payment, 
earlier in the current tax year so the total amount paid equals the immediately preceding the tax 
year’s tax liability before the fourth quarter.  However, making larger payments on later quarters 
will not satisfy the safe harbor provision. 
 

Example 1: A taxpayer has a prior year tax liability of $10,000.  The taxpayer makes a 
timely first quarter estimate of $5,000 and a timely second quarter estimate 
of $5,000.  The taxpayer makes no estimated payments for the remainder of 
the year.  The taxpayer will have satisfied the safe harbor based on the prior 
year tax liability. 

 
Example 2: A taxpayer has a prior year tax liability of $10,000.  The taxpayer does not 

make a first quarter estimate, but makes a timely second quarter estimate of 
$10,000.  The taxpayer makes no estimated payments for the remainder of 
the year.  The taxpayer will not have satisfied the safe harbor based on the 
prior year’s tax liability because there was no first quarter estimated 
payment. 
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When the prior CIT tax year is a period of less than 12 months, the $20,000 threshold test will be 
applied to the annualized liability of the short year.  To annualize the short-year liability, take the 
tax liability for the year, multiply by 12, then divide that result by the number of months in the 
short tax year.  The estimated payments made in four equal installments must equal the annualized 
prior year’s tax liability.   
 

Example 1: The taxpayer’s prior CIT return was for a period of six months, with a tax 
liability of $5,000.  To satisfy the safe harbor provision, the taxpayer must 
make four equal estimated payments for the current year totaling $10,000 
(($5,000 x 12) /6 = $10,000). 

 
Example 2: The taxpayer’s prior CIT return was for a period of six months, with a tax 

liability of $15,000.  This taxpayer would not be able to use the safe harbor 
based on the prior year’s tax liability because the annualized tax liability in 
the prior year is $30,000.  (($15,000 x 12) / 6 = $30,000).  Therefore, to avoid 
penalty and interest charges, the taxpayer must make total estimated 
payments equal to at least 85 percent of the total liability for the tax year and 
the amount of each estimated payment must reasonably approximate the tax 
liability for the quarter. 

 
A taxpayer may remit quarterly estimated payments by check with the Corporate Income Tax 
Quarterly Return (Form 4913) or may remit monthly or quarterly estimated payments 
electronically by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT).  When payments are made by EFT, Form 4913 
is not required. 
 
Estimated returns and payments for calendar year taxpayers are due by April 15, July 15, October 
15, and January 15 of the following year.  Fiscal year taxpayers should make returns and payments 
by the appropriate due date which is 15 days after the end of each fiscal quarter.   
 
Completing Forms  
 
Before beginning with the Corporate Income Tax Annual Return (Form 4891), all appropriate 
federal forms should be completed. 
 
Before proceeding to the list below, an entity should first determine whether a UBG exists.  If 
preparing a UBG return for a standard taxpayer, complete the Corporate Income Tax Data on 
Unitary Business Group Members (Form 4897) for each member first, as this form provides the 
data that is required on Form 4891. 
 
To determine whether Form 4891 is required to be filed for the tax year, the following steps are 
suggested: 
 

1. Determine whether the taxpayer had nexus with Michigan.  If one or more entities in a 
UBG had nexus with Michigan, the UBG had nexus with Michigan. 
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2. Determine whether the taxpayer had $350,000 or more in gross receipts that are 
allocated or apportioned to Michigan.  Allocated or apportioned gross receipts after 
intercompany eliminations should be used if the taxpayer is a UBG. 

 
3. Determine whether liability will be less than or equal to $100, in which case a return is 

not required to be filed.  Determine liability at the UBG level if the taxpayer is a UBG. 
 
4. If steps 1 through 3 determine that filing Form 4891 is not required, consider whether 

Form 4891 should be filed to seek a refund or to preserve certain credits and  
carryforwards. 

 
Insurance companies and financial institutions should review general instructions for the annual 
returns, Insurance Company Annual Return for Corporate Income and Retaliatory Taxes (Form 
4905) and Corporate Income Tax Annual Return for Financial Institutions (Form 4908). 
 
Amending a Return 
 
Taxpayers will file a separate form to amend returns. 
 

• Standard taxpayers will use the Corporate Income Tax Amended Return (Form 4892) 
 

• Insurance companies will use the Insurance Company Amended  Return for Corporate 
Income and Retaliatory Taxes (Form 4906) 

 
• Financial institutions will use the Michigan Corporate Income Tax Amended Return for 

Financial Institutions (Form 4909). 
 
To amend a return to claim a refund, the taxpayer must file within four years of the due date of the 
original return, including valid extensions, with certain statutory exceptions.  See Section 27a of 
the Revenue Act, MCL 205.27a, for more information on extensions of the statute of limitations.  
Interest will be paid beginning 45 days after the claim is filed or the due date of the return, 
whichever is later.  If a taxpayer is amending a return to report a deficiency, penalty and interest 
may apply from the due date of the original return. 
 
If changes are made to the federal income tax return that affect the CIT tax base, filing an amended 
return is required.  If an amended return is filed within 120 days after a final determination by the 
IRS, penalty will be avoided. 
 
Tax Base 

 
CIT is levied on corporations with nexus with Michigan at a rate of 6 percent of the CIT base after 
allocation or apportionment.  The CIT base is business income with certain additions and 
subtractions before apportionment and a business loss deduction after apportionment.  Business 
income is federal taxable income.  Federal taxable income is calculated as if IRC 168(k) (bonus 
depreciation) and IRC 199 (domestic production activities deduction) were not in effect. The 
business loss deduction is only available for a business loss incurred under CIT after December 
31, 2011.  A taxpayer that acquires the assets of another corporation through an IRC 381(a)(1) or 
381(a)(2) transaction may use any available CIT business loss attributable to the transferor 
corporation. 
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For a UBG, the tax base includes business income and loss and additions and subtractions of all 
standard members included in the UBG, without regard to whether that member has nexus.  If an 
FTE is unitary with the taxpayer, the taxpayer does not include business income, business loss, 
additions, and subtractions of the unitary FTE in its tax base.  Please note that this same exclusion 
does not pertain to a taxpayer’s distributive income or loss directly attributable to an FTE, to the 
extent included in federal taxable income of the taxpayer.  Transactions between members of the 
UBG will be eliminated in calculating the tax base.  See the “Unitary Business Groups” section 
later for more on UBGs’ tax base and eliminations. 
 
A taxpayer is unitary with an FTE if the taxpayer owns or controls, directly or indirectly, more 
than 50 percent of the ownership interests with voting rights (or ownership interests that confer 
comparable rights to voting rights) of the FTE, and the taxpayer and the FTE: 
 

• have activities or operations which result in a flow of value between the taxpayer and the 
FTE or between the FTE and another FTE unitary with the taxpayer, or 

 
• have business activities or operations that are integrated with, are dependent upon, or 

contribute to each other. 
 
The determination of whether a taxpayer is unitary with an FTE is made at the taxpayer level.  If 
the taxpayer at issue is a UBG, the ownership requirement will be made at the UBG level. A UBG 
through Affiliated Group election is discussed later in the chapter. 
 
Exemptions  
 
Exemptions from tax under the CIT are provided for the following entities: 
 

 Most entities exempt from federal income tax. 
 

 A foreign person domiciled in a subnational jurisdiction of a North American Free Trade 
Agreement member country that does not impose a business tax on a similarly situated 
taxpayer domiciled in Michigan.  For purposes of this provision, foreign person is 
defined in MCL 206.625(1)(c). 

 
 A Domestic International Sales Corporation (DISC) as defined in IRC 992 for the tax 

year that it has in effect a valid election to be treated as a DISC. 
 
If a taxpayer is exempt under the first bullet above, but has unrelated business taxable income as 
defined in the IRC, that business activity is subject to CIT and a return will be required if the 
apportioned or allocated gross receipts are $350,000 or more from the unrelated business activity.  
 
Foreign persons that are not exempt from CIT must calculate business income, gross receipts, CIT 
tax base, and the sales factor differently than domestic taxpayers.  Refer to MCL 206.625(2)-(4) 
for details. 
 
If a taxpayer is exempt and has no unrelated business taxable income, filing a CIT return is not 
required. 
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Nexus 
 

A person has nexus with Michigan if the person: 
 

 is physically present in the State for more than one day, 
 
 actively solicits sales in Michigan and has gross receipts of $350,000 or more sourced 

to Michigan, or 
 
 has an ownership or beneficial interest in an FTE (directly or indirectly through one or 

more FTEs) which has nexus. 
 

Physical presence means any activity conducted by the taxpayer or someone acting in a 
representative capacity for the taxpayer.  Physical presence does not include the activities of 
professionals providing services in a professional capacity if that activity is not associated with the 
taxpayer’s ability to establish and maintain a market. 
 
Actively solicits means: 
 

 Speech, conduct, or activity that is purposefully directed at or intended to reach persons 
in Michigan and that explicitly or implicitly invites an order for a purchase or sale, or 

 
 Speech, conduct, or activity that is purposefully directed at or intended to reach persons 

in Michigan that neither explicitly nor implicitly invites an order for a purchase or sale, 
but is entirely ancillary to requests for an order for a purchase or sale. 

 
Apportionment 
 
For a taxpayer whose business activities are confined solely to Michigan, the tax base is allocated 
wholly to Michigan.  A taxpayer that has business activities subject to tax within and without 
Michigan will apportion its tax base using the sales factor.  Business activity is subject to tax 
outside Michigan if the taxpayer is subject to a business privilege tax, a net income tax, a franchise 
tax measured by net income, a franchise tax for the privilege of doing business, or a corporate 
stock tax, or if the other state has jurisdiction to tax the taxpayer, whether or not that state does 
subject the taxpayer to a tax. 
 
The sales factor is a fraction, the numerator of which is total sales of the taxpayer in Michigan 
during the tax year and the denominator of which is total sales everywhere.    
 
Sales is broadly defined to include the sale of tangible personal property, intangible property, 
services, and the rental, lease, licensing, or use of tangible or intangible property including interest 
that constitutes business activity.   
 
Sales of tangible personal property are sourced based on the ultimate destination at the point that 
the property comes to rest.  Property stored in transit for 60 days or more, or in the case of a dock 
sale not picked up for 60 days or more, is deemed to have come to rest.  Sales from the lease/rental 
of tangible personal property and royalties or other income received for the use of intangible 
property are sourced based on where the property is used.  Sales of services are sourced according 
to where the benefit of the service is received.   
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Additional sourcing rules exist for securities brokerage services, regulated investment companies, 
mortgages, other loans, credit card receivables, loan servicing fees, investment and trading 
activities, transportation services, telecommunications service, and private communication 
services.  See MCL 206.665 for more on sourcing of sales. 
 
For a UBG, “sales” includes sales in Michigan of every person included in the UBG without regard 
to whether the person has nexus.  However, sales between persons included in a UBG must be 
eliminated in calculating the sales factor. 
 
If a taxpayer has a direct or indirect ownership or beneficial interest in an FTE, the distributive 
share of business income directly attributable to the business activity of that FTE is apportioned 
using the sales factor of the FTE, unless the FTE is unitary with the taxpayer.  If an FTE is unitary 
with the taxpayer, the taxpayer’s sales factor includes its proportionate share of the sales of the 
FTE.  Sales between the taxpayer and FTEs unitary with the taxpayer, and sales between FTEs 
unitary with the taxpayer, must be eliminated to the extent of the taxpayer’s interest in the FTE. 
  
Credits 

 
Small Business Alternative Credit  
 
The small business alternative credit is the only credit offered under the CIT.  The credit is 
available to a taxpayer, other than an insurance company and a financial institution, with gross 
receipts that do not exceed $20,000,000 and with adjusted business income minus the loss 
adjustment that does not exceed $1,300,000 as adjusted annually for inflation using the Detroit 
consumer price index (2014: $1,346,800; 2015: $1,361,100).  Adjusted business income is 
defined in MCL 206.671(9)(b). 
 
The taxpayer will be disqualified if an officer or shareholder receives more than $180,000 in 
compensation and directors’ fees (compensation disqualifier), or if compensation and directors’ 
fees plus share of business income after loss adjustment exceeds that amount (allocated income 
disqualifier). 
 
The credit will be reduced by 20 percent for every $5,000 that an officer’s or a shareholder’s total 
of compensation, director’s fees, and share of business income after loss adjustment exceeds 
$160,000.  The credit is also phased out by a fraction based on the amount by which the taxpayer’s 
gross receipts exceed $19 million. 
 
A UBG may qualify for the credit, but a disqualifier or reduction percentage applies to the entire 
group if it applies to any one member of the group.  For example, the entire UBG is disqualified 
from taking the credit if the UBG includes a member that is an LLC taxed as a corporation (for 
purposes of this example, “member LLC”) and any one owner of member LLC receives more than 
$180,000 in shareholder compensation. 
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The gross receipts and adjusted business income used in determining disqualifiers are those of the 
UBG and are calculated at the group level.  The compensation and allocated income disqualifiers 
are calculated for an officer or shareholder using all amounts paid or allocable to the officer or 
shareholder by all members of the UBG.  The reduction percentages of the credit are calculated in 
the same manner.  Intercompany eliminations are required in the calculation of the gross receipts 
and adjusted business income credit disqualifiers, as well as the loss adjustment. 
 

Example 1: UBG XY is comprised of an LLC taxed a corporation X, and a C corporation 
Y.  Shareholder 1 is a shareholder of Y whose compensation, director’s fees, 
and share of business income from Y total $150,000.  Shareholder 1 is also 
an owner of X with compensation, director’s fees, and share of business 
income from X totaling $12,000.  There is no loss adjustment for the period.  
Shareholder 1 has the largest allocated income of all shareholders/officers of 
UBG XY.  For purposes of the allocated income disqualifier, the total 
amount of allocated income to Shareholder 1 by all members of the UBG is 
$162,000.  The UBG may claim 80% of the total credit because total 
allocated income is more than $160,000 and less than $165,000. 

 
Example 2: Assume in the above example that the combined gross receipts of UBG XY 

total $19,500,000.  Intercompany transactions between X and Y generated 
$600,000 of gross receipts that must be eliminated for purposes of the gross 
receipts reduction percentage.  Total gross receipts net of eliminations equals 
$18,900,000; therefore, the credit is not subject to reduction. 

 
Credit Recapture 
 
A taxpayer that has claimed a credit under either Single Business Tax (SBT) or MBT which had a 
recapture provision will have to recapture under the CIT if the taxpayer fails to comply with any 
terms of the credit agreement or if the taxpayer sells or otherwise moves the property for which 
the credit was claimed fewer than five years after the year in which the credit was originally 
claimed.  In the case of recapture, a taxpayer must add back to its tax liability under CIT the amount 
of the credit or a percentage of the amount of the credit claimed in the tax year the taxpayer failed 
to satisfy or breached the conditions of the credit agreement. 
 
For a taxpayer that claimed an Investment Tax Credit under the SBT or MBT, recapture will occur 
under CIT and at the rate and to the extent the credit was used under either of the previous taxes.  
Recapture will be required when the tangible asset for which the credit was claimed is sold, 
transferred out-of-state, or otherwise disposed of during the tax year.  The recapture amount will 
be added back to the taxpayer’s CIT liability. 
A taxpayer is required to file and report recapture even if the taxpayer is below the filing threshold. 
 
Certificated MBT Credits 
 
A taxpayer that has been approved to receive, has received, or has been assigned a certificated 
credit under the MBT before January 1, 2012, but has not fully claimed or exhausted the credit 
before that date, may make an election to continue paying tax under MBT and claim that credit.  
(See the MBT chapter of this text for more information regarding the MBT election.)     
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Unitary Business Groups 
 
Entities who meet the definition of a UBG under MCL 206.611(6) are required to file a combined 
return under CIT.  A UBG will be found to exist when two or more qualifying United States 
persons satisfy both a control test and relationship test.  The control and relationship tests are 
explained in detail in Revenue Administrative Bulletin (RAB) 2013-1.  If a UBG exists, the group 
is treated as a single taxpayer and individual members do not file separate returns. 
 
The Designated Member 
 
Every UBG must appoint a Designated Member (DM) that will be responsible for filing the return 
on behalf of the group.  Only the DM will be responsible for registering for CIT with Michigan 
and all CIT returns will be filed under the DM’s taxpayer identification number.  Only the DM 
may file a valid extension request for the UBG.  Treasury maintains the UBG’s CIT tax data under 
the DM’s name and account number.  Each member of the UBG will be listed on the group’s 
annual return. 
 
If the member that owns or controls the other members of the UBG has nexus with Michigan, the 
controlling member must be the DM.  Otherwise, the controlling member must appoint any group 
member with nexus to serve as the DM.  The DM must remain the same every year unless the DM 
ceases to be a member of the UBG or the controlling member engages in activity in Michigan that 
creates nexus for the controlling member. 
 
Calculation of Liability  
 
UBGs are treated as a single taxpayer.  Unitary returns are filed by taxpayer type: either standard 
(not owned by and unitary with a financial institution) or financial institution.  Insurance 
companies do not file combined returns.  Transactions between members of the group are 
eliminated from calculation of the filing threshold, tax base, apportionment factor, and small 
business alternative credit disqualifiers.  In general, components used to determine tax liability 
relate to the group as a single taxpayer, not to the individual members that comprise the group.  
 
The tax base of a UBG is the sum of the business income of each group member minus any income 
and related deductions arising from inter-group transactions.  Certain additions and subtractions to 
business income are outlined in MCL 206.623(2) and must be made before allocation or 
apportionment to arrive at the unitary group’s income tax base.  After the tax base is allocated or 
apportioned, the tax base is adjusted by available business loss.  There are specific rules for 
calculation of a UBG’s available business loss when a member to whom a business loss is 
attributable joins or leaves the group mid-year, which can be found within the instructions for 
Form 4891.  The business income of each member should reflect the accounting method that 
member used to compute its federal taxable income. 
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Eliminations 
 
Eliminations apply to transactions between any members of the UBG.  If the UBG includes 
standard taxpayers, an insurance company, and a financial institution, transactions between a 
standard taxpayer member and an insurance or financial member are eliminated whenever 
elimination is required, despite the fact that the insurance and financial members are not reported 
on the combined return filed by standard taxpayer members.   
 

Example 1: A UBG is comprised of members A, B, and C. Members A and B are both 
standard taxpayers, and member C is an insurance company.  Even though 
member C files a separate tax return for insurance companies, the 
intercompany transactions between all three entities would be eliminated in 
preparing the standard tax return. 

 
Eliminations are not required for transactions with an otherwise-related entity if the related entity 
is not included in the UBG.  However, if a taxpayer is unitary with an FTE, sales between the 
taxpayer and that FTE must be eliminated from the apportionment factor to the extent of the 
taxpayer’s ownership percentage in the FTE.  Sales between an FTE unitary with the taxpayer and 
another FTE unitary with that same taxpayer must be eliminated to the extent of the taxpayer’s 
ownership interest in the selling FTE. 
 
Timing differences can arise from differing year-ends or differing accounting methods of UBG 
members.  If a transaction between two members of a UBG is reported on the group’s current 
return by one member but reported on the preceding or succeeding group return by the other 
member, the group is required to eliminate the side of the transaction included on the group’s 
current return.  The other side of the same transaction will be eliminated on the group return for 
the filing period in which the other member reports the transaction.   
 

Example 2: A UBG is comprised of members A and B.  Member A has a calendar year-
end of December 31, 2012, and B has a fiscal year-end of June 30, 2012. 
Member A is the designated member.  Member A pays member B rent in the 
amount of $2,000 per month for the 2011 calendar year and $4,000 per month 
for the 2012 calendar year.  For the 2012 tax filing, member B would 
eliminate from gross receipts six months’ rent at $2,000 and six months’ rent 
at $4,000 for a total of $36,000. 

 
 Member B would also eliminate $36,000 from business income.  Member A 

would eliminate from business income 12 months of rental expense at $4,000 
for a total of $48,000.  This will cause a timing difference for intercompany 
elimination that will reverse when a member ceases to exist or is no longer a 
part of the UBG. 
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Affiliated Group Election 
 
Under the affiliated group election created by 2013 PA 266, a group of persons may elect to be 
treated as a UBG for purposes of filing CIT even if those persons do not satisfy the relationship 
test of MCL 206.611(6).  The group must meet the statutory definition of an “affiliated group” to 
qualify for the election.  Affiliated group means that term as defined in IRC 1504 except that the 
term includes all United States persons that are corporations, insurance companies, or financial 
institutions, other than a foreign operating entity, that are commonly owned, directly or indirectly, 
by any member of such affiliated group and other members of which more than 50 percent of the 
ownership interests with voting rights or ownership interests that confer comparable rights to 
voting rights of the member is directly or indirectly owned by a common owner or owners. 
 
The group of persons need not request permission from Treasury to make the election but must 
provide information on its annual return—standard filers, in box 7b on the Corporate Income Tax 
Annual Return (Form 4891) and financial institutions, in box 8a of Michigan Corporate Income 
Tax Annual Return for Financial Institutions (Form 4908).  Each person in the affiliated group is 
deemed to have agreed to be bound by the election and any person who subsequently enters the 
affiliated group during the period of the election is deemed to have consented and is bound by the 
election.  The election is irrevocable and binding for the tax year for which it is made and the 
subsequent nine tax years.  The election may be renewed at the expiration of the ten year period; 
however, if the group chooses not to renew the election at that time, it will be prohibited from 
creating a new election for three tax years.  
 
Insurance Companies  

 
An insurance company is an insurer authorized by a certificate of authority from the Department 
of Insurance and Financial Services (DIFS) to engage in the business of making insurance or surety 
contracts in Michigan.  Insurance companies are subject to a premiums tax under CIT and file the 
Insurance Company Annual Return for Corporate Income and Retaliatory Taxes (Form 4905) 
 
The premiums tax is calculated at 1.25 percent of gross direct premiums written on property or 
risk located or residing in Michigan.  Direct premiums do not include premiums on policies not 
taken, returned premiums on canceled policies, receipts from the sale of annuities, and receipts on 
reinsurance premiums if the tax has been paid on the original premiums.  Direct premiums also do 
not include the first $190,000,000 of disability insurance premiums written in Michigan, other than 
credit insurance and disability income insurance premiums, of each insurance company subject to 
the tax.  The exemption is reduced by $2.00 for each $1.00 by which the insurance company’s 
gross direct premiums everywhere (in Michigan and outside Michigan) exceed $280,000,000. 
 
Insurance companies are permitted a limited number of insurance-specific credits.  Under MCL 
206.637(1) an insurance company may claim a credit against amounts paid to the: 
 

 Michigan worker’s compensation placement facility pursuant to the insurance code of 
1956.  [Reference: PA 218, MCL 500.2301 to 500.2352] 

 
 Michigan basic property insurance association pursuant to the insurance code of 1956.  

[Reference: PA 218, MCL 500.2901 to 500.2954] 
 

 Michigan automobile insurance placement facility pursuant to the insurance code of 
1956.  [Reference:  PA 218, MCL 500.3301 to 500.3390]  
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 Property and casualty guaranty association pursuant to the insurance code of 1956.  
[Reference:  PA 218, MCL 500.7901 to 500.7949] 

 
 Michigan life and health guaranty association pursuant to the insurance code of 1956.  

[Reference: PA 218, MCL 500.7701 to 500.1180] 
 

Insurance companies are allowed a credit up to 50 percent of the examination fees paid by an 
insurance company during the tax year pursuant to Section 224 of the insurance code 1956.  
[Reference:  PA 218, MCL 500.224].  An insurance company may also claim a credit against the 
tax imposed in an amount equal to the amount paid during that tax year by the insurance company 
pursuant to Section 352 of the worker’s disability compensation act of 1969 [Reference: PA 317, 
MCL 418.352], as certified by the director of the Bureau of Worker’s Disability Compensation.  
If the amount of this particular credit exceeds the tax liability of the insurance company, the excess 
shall be refunded, without interest, to the insurance company within 60 calendar days of receipt of 
a properly completed Form 4905. 

 
The tax year for an insurance company is the calendar year.  The annual return for calendar year 
2015 is due before March 2, 2016.  An insurance company does not qualify for an automatic 
extension of time to file.   
 
An insurance company is subject to tax under the gross direct premiums tax or the retaliatory tax 
under MCL 500.476(a), whichever is greater. 
 
Financial Institutions 
 
Financial Institution is generally defined as a bank holding company, national bank, state 
chartered bank, state chartered savings bank, federally chartered savings association, or a federally 
chartered farm credit system institution.  Any entity that is directly or indirectly owned by and 
unitary with any of the entities listed above is considered a “Financial Institution.”  Financial 
institutions that have nexus with Michigan are subject to a franchise tax.  Nexus standards for 
financial institutions are identical to those of a standard taxpayer, but the statute calls them 
“substantial nexus.” 
 
A financial institution is taxed at the rate of 0.29 percent of its tax base after allocation or 
apportionment to the State and files Corporate Income Tax Annual Return for Financial 
Institutions (Form 4908). 
 
For a financial institution tax base is the financial institution’s net capital. 
 
Net capital means equity capital as computed in accordance with generally accepted accounting 
principles (GAAP), less the average daily book value of United States obligations and Michigan 
obligations.  To determine net capital, the financial institution adds net capital at the close of the 
current tax year and preceding four tax years and divides the resulting sum by five.   For financial 
institutions that have not been in existence for a period of five tax years, net capital shall be 
determined by adding together the financial institution’s net capital for the number of tax years the 
financial institution has been in existence and dividing the resulting sum by the number of years 
the financial institution has been in existence.  While beginning with negative equity capital is not 
permitted, it is possible to end up with negative net equity capital as an end result. 
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For a UBG of financial institutions, net capital includes the net capital of each member of the group 
minus the investment of one member of a group in another member of the group.  To complete the 
combined return, a member of a UBG of financial institutions eliminates its investment in the 
positive equity capital of other members of the same group.  Eliminations occur to equity capital 
at the member level.  Because each member of the group must compute the net capital tax base in 
accordance with GAAP, each member should present a positive or zero equity capital before 
eliminations.  For additional information and examples on reporting eliminations, see “Notice to 
Taxpayers Regarding Financial Institution Unitary Filing and Reporting of Eliminations for the 
MBT and CIT,” located at www.michigan.gov/taxes. 
 
Contacting Treasury 
 
For general CIT questions: 
Phone:  517-636-6925 
Web site:  www.michigan.gov/taxes 
 
For the Technical Services Section: 
Phone: 517-636-4230, option 2 
Fax: 517-636-4254 
 
Correspondence may be mailed to: 
Michigan Department of Treasury 
Customer Contact Division, CIT Unit 
P.O. Box 30059 
Lansing, MI 48909 
 
For Business Registration questions: 
Phone:  517-636-6925 
Fax:  517-636-4520 
E-mail:  treasReg@michigan.gov 
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MICHIGAN BUSINESS TAX 
 
What’s New  
 
Public Act (PA) 282 of 2014 resulted in the following changes to the Michigan Business Tax 
(MBT), retroactive to tax years beginning on or after January 1, 2010: 
 

 Exclusion of cancelation of debt income (CODI) from gross receipts.  Amounts attributed 
to the taxpayer pursuant to a discharge of indebtedness under IRC 61(a)(12), including 
forgiveness of nonrecourse debt, are excluded.  

 
 A change to the Investment Tax Credit (ITC) recapture.  For assets purchased, acquired, or 

transferred into Michigan in a tax year beginning after December 31, 2007, that were sold 
or otherwise disposed of, or transferred outside Michigan during the tax year, recapture is 
now required to the extent and at the rate the credit was used under the MBT. 

 
 A change to the calculation of the Renaissance Zone Credit for taxpayers located in a 

Renaissance Zone before December 1, 2002. 
 
PA 282 prescribes a particular process within which taxpayers may amend a return to claim a 
refund as a result of these amendments. Amended claims for refund attributable to these 
amendments are limited to any tax year beginning after December 31, 2009, through the tax year 
beginning after December 31, 2013. A taxpayer may only file a claim for refund resulting from 
these amendments starting on January 1, 2015, and no later than December 31, 2015. A claim for 
refund filed under this process is limited to the determination of any tax liability and overpayment 
resulting from these amendments, and the refund is required to be paid out in equal annual 
payments over six years beginning in 2016, inclusive of interest accrued during the six year period. 
 
If a taxpayer has not yet filed an original return for a tax year beginning on or after January 1, 
2010, the taxpayer should implement in the original return the three changes listed above. 
 
An original return is not necessarily bound by the PA 282 filing requirement. Traditional due date 
and statute of limitations restrictions still apply.  An overpayment on an original return will not be 
subject to the six-year payout provision and may be credited forward, if available and if desired. 
 
PA 282 repealed the Multistate Tax Compact retroactively to January 1, 2008.  MBT taxpayers 
are not permitted to apply 3-factor apportionment to their MBT returns, neither to the Modified 
Gross Receipt Tax nor Business Income Tax; MBT taxpayers must use a single factor- sales- to 
apportion.  
 
For tax years ending after December 31, 2014, the MEGA Advanced Battery Engineering Credit 
and the MEGA Plug-In Traction Battery Manufacturing Credit are no longer available. However, 
unused credit carryforward from the immediately preceding tax year may still be claimed, if 
available. 
 
For tax years ending after December 31, 2015, the Hybrid Technology Research and Development 
Credit for taxpayers engaged in research and development of a qualified technology will no longer 
be available.  
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Overview 
 
Beginning January 1, 2012, the MBT is an election.  A taxpayer, including a Unitary Business 
Group (UBG), that has been approved to receive, has received, or has been assigned a certificated 
credit, as defined in MCL 208.1107(1), may elect to be subject to the MBT in lieu of no liability 
(since the person may not be  subject to the Corporate Income Tax (CIT)) or in lieu of CIT.  
Throughout the CIT and MBT chapter, this election is referred to as the MBT election. 
 
For purposes of the election, a taxpayer is either of the following: 
 

a person or UBG that has been approved to receive, has received, or has been assigned 
a certificated credit but is not subject to the CIT, and that elects under section 500 of 
the MBT Act to file a return and pay the tax imposed under the MBT, if any, or 
 
a person or UBG that has been approved to receive, has received, or has been assigned 
a certificated credit and that elected under section 680 of the CIT to file a return and 
pay the tax imposed under the MBT, if any. 
 

In other words, a taxpayer or assignee holding a certificated credit, as defined by MCL 
208.1107(1), may elect to remain taxable under the MBT if it would not otherwise be subject to 
the MBT or CIT after December 31, 2011 or if it would be subject to CIT.   
 

Note: The election must be made for the taxpayer’s first tax year ending after December 
31, 2011, with certain exceptions for qualifying traditional brownfield and historic 
preservation certificated credits.  

 
Once a taxpayer that has been approved to receive, has received, or has been assigned a certificated 
credit files an MBT return, the taxpayer has made the election and must continue to file and pay 
under the MBT until the certificated credit and any carryforward of the credit is used up.  The 
election is made by filing an annual MBT return (Form 4567) or by filing Request for Accelerated 
Payment (Form 4889) to request a refund of an accelerated credit.  Filing an estimate or extension 
will not make the election.  A taxpayer must make the election in accordance with the particular 
certificated credit, but an annual return is required regardless of the type of certificated credit 
claimed.  Once a taxpayer elects to be subject to the MBT, it is subject to all provisions and 
requirements of the tax 
 
A Flow-through Entity (FTE) that makes the MBT election will be exempt from flow-through 
withholding (FTW) requirements in relation to its non-unitary corporate members. 
 
Filing Requirements 
 
Quarterly Estimates 
 
If the reasonably estimated combined MBT liability for the year (including surcharge, when 
applicable) is over $800, a taxpayer that made the election to remain in the MBT must file 
estimated returns quarterly.   
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In order to avoid interest and penalty, the sum of all estimated payments must equal at least 85 
percent of the total liability for the tax year and each quarterly payment must reasonably 
approximate the tax liability incurred in the quarter.  If the prior year’s tax was $20,000 or less 
under the MBT, estimated tax payments may be based on the prior year’s total tax liability paid in 
four equal payments.  The taxpayer must have business activity in Michigan in the preceding year 
to qualify for the safe harbor.  The safe harbor is available to a taxpayer with a previous year’s 
MBT liability of zero as long as the taxpayer had business activity in Michigan in the prior year.  
The taxpayer must file a return to establish a zero liability to take advantage of the safe harbor.  
The safe harbor remains available to a taxpayer electing to continue under the MBT. 
 
If the prior MBT tax year was less than 12 months (e.g., the business was opened or closed during 
the year), the taxpayer will need to annualize the tax to see if estimates need to be filed.  For more 
information on annualizing the tax, see the Estimated Return and Payments Section under the CIT 
chapter. 
 
A taxpayer may remit quarterly estimated payments by check with the Corporate Income Tax 
Quarterly Return (Form 4913) or may remit monthly or quarterly estimated payments 
electronically by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT).  When payments are made by EFT, Form 4913 
is not required.   
 
Estimated returns and payments for calendar year taxpayers are due by April 15, July 15, October 
15, and January 15 of the following year.  Fiscal year taxpayers should make returns and payments 
by the appropriate due date which is fifteen days after the end of each fiscal quarter.  The sum of 
estimated payments for each quarter must always reasonably approximate the liability for the 
quarter. 
 
For an FTE that makes the MBT election, Public Act (PA) 233 of 2013 creates an exemption from 
the requirement to remit FTW on behalf of corporate members.  The act is effective for tax years 
beginning after December 31, 2011. 
 
Completing Forms 
 
Before beginning with the Michigan Business Tax Annual Return (Form 4567), all appropriate 
federal forms should be completed. 
 
Before proceeding to the list below, an entity should first determine whether a UBG exists.  If 
preparing a UBG return for a standard taxpayer, complete the Michigan Business Tax Unitary 
Business Group Combined Filing Schedule (Form 4580), as this form provides the data that is 
required on Form 4567. 
 
To determine whether Form 4567 is required to be filed for the tax year, the following steps are 
suggested: 
 

1. Determine whether the taxpayer had nexus with Michigan.  If one or more entities in a 
UBG had nexus with Michigan, the UBG had nexus with Michigan. 

 
2. Determine whether the taxpayer had $350,000 or more in gross receipts that are 

allocated or apportioned to Michigan.  Allocated or apportioned gross receipts after 
intercompany eliminations should be used if the taxpayer is a UBG. 
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4. If steps 1 and 2 determine that filing Form 4567 is not required, consider whether Form 
4567 should be filed to seek a refund or to preserve certain credits or carryforwards. 

 
Insurance companies and financial institutions should review general instructions for the annual 
returns, Insurance Company Annual Return for Michigan Business and Retaliatory Taxes (Form 
4588) and Michigan Business Tax Annual Return for Financial Institutions (Form 4590). 
 
Due Dates and Extensions 
 
Annual returns are due on or before the last day of the fourth month after the end of the taxpayer’s 
tax year.  Thus, a return for calendar year 2015 is due April 30, 2016.  A taxpayer must remit any 
liability by the due date of the return. 
 
A taxpayer may request an extension of time to file an annual return by filing an Application For 
Extension Of Time To File Michigan Tax Returns (Form 4) by the due date of the return along with 
payment of estimated tax.  If a federal extension is filed and granted and noted on Form 4, Treasury 
will grant an extension to the last day of the eighth month following the original due date of the 
return.  Even if the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) has approved a federal extension, a Michigan 
application for extension must be filed if state extension of time to file is sought.  An extension of 
time to file will extend the statute of limitations.  An extension of time to file is not an extension 
of time to pay.  An extension application will not be processed unless a payment is included 
or estimated payments have been made and are listed on the form. 
 
Amending a Return 
 
A taxpayer may not amend the MBT return to revoke the election to remain in the MBT.  A 
taxpayer may amend its MBT return for other reasons, subject to the statute of limitations. 
 
Taxpayers do not use separate forms for amending MBT returns.  To amend an MBT return, 
complete the lead annual return appropriate for the taxpayer type and check the box indicating an 
amended return in the upper-right corner of the return.  To properly file an amended return, the 
entire return must be filed again including all attachments and schedules - not just the form or 
schedule that changed. 
 

• Standard taxpayers will use the Michigan Business Tax Annual Return (Form 4567).  
 

• Insurance companies will use the Insurance Company Annual Return for Michigan 
Business and Retaliatory Taxes (Form 4588). 

 
• Financial institutions will use the Michigan Business Tax Annual Return for Financial 

Institutions (Form 4590). 
 
To amend a return to claim a refund, the taxpayer must file within four years of the due date, 
including valid extensions, of the original return.  Interest will be paid beginning 45 days after the 
claim is filed or the due date of the return, whichever is later.  If a taxpayer is amending a return 
to report a deficiency, penalty and interest may apply from the due date of the original return. 
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If changes are made to the federal income tax return that affect the MBT tax bases, filing an 
amended return is required.  If an amended return is filed within 120 days after a final 
determination by the IRS, penalty will be avoided. 
 
Tax Liability 
 
While subject to the MBT, a taxpayer calculates liability as the greater of: 

 
 The taxpayer’s MBT liability after application of all credits, deductions, and exemptions 

and any carryforward of any unused credit as prescribed in the MBT. 
 

 The taxpayer’s liability computed under the CIT, after application of all credits, 
deductions, and exemptions under the CIT, as if the taxpayer were subject to the CIT, 
less the amount of the taxpayer’s certificated credits, including any unused carryforward 
of a certificated credit, that the taxpayer was allowed to claim for the tax year under the 
MBT. 

 
An MBT taxpayer will calculate MBT liability and hypothetical CIT liability less certificated 
credits determined as part of its MBT liability and pay the greater of the two.   
 
For step one of the calculation, a taxpayer calculates the business income and modified gross 
receipts tax bases and applies all credits, including certificated credits, deductions, and exemptions 
available under the MBT.  
 
For step two, a taxpayer calculates the business income tax base under the CIT, applies all credits 
and deductions available under the CIT and the amount of certificated credit allowed in step one 
of the calculation.  
 
The amount of certificated credit allowed in step one is the amount of nonrefundable credit needed 
to offset MBT liability and the entire amount of a refundable credit.  
 
If the result of both steps of the calculation is a negative number, the taxpayer will receive a refund 
of the lower negative; however, a nonrefundable credit cannot be used to reduce liability below 
zero. Remaining nonrefundable certificated credit may be carried forward to succeeding tax years 
if the nonrefundable credit has a carryforward provision.  
 
For a partnership or S corporation, business income includes payments and items of income and 
expense attributable to the business activity of the partnership or S corporation, and separately 
reported to the partners or shareholders. 
 
A taxpayer may not use a CIT business loss in the calculation of MBT liability, and vice versa.  
Once the taxpayer is no longer an eligible MBT taxpayer, it will lose any remaining business loss—
both an MBT business loss and a hypothetical CIT loss as a result of the comparison calculation–
upon becoming a CIT taxpayer (or no longer a taxpayer). 
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Example 1: Taxpayer Partnership calculates MBT liability of $500 and a hypothetical CIT 
liability of $750 before credit.  Partnership holds a nonrefundable tool and die 
renaissance zone credit of $1,000.   

 
 Step 1:  Partnership will apply $500 of the certificated credit amount to the 

$500 liability, resulting in an MBT liability of zero 
 
 Step 2:  Partnership will apply $500 of credit to the CIT liability of $750, 

resulting in a CIT liability after credit of $250.  Because Partnership must pay 
the higher of the two, its tax liability is $250.   

 
Example 2: Corporation calculates MBT liability of $500 and hypothetical CIT liability of 

$750 before credit.  Corporation has a refundable credit of $2,000.   
 
 Applying the credit to the MBT liability produces a liability of negative 

$1,500.   
 
 Applying the same amount to the hypothetical CIT liability creates a liability 

of negative $1,250.   
 
 Corporation owes the higher liability and thus receives a refund of $1,250. 

 
Credits  
 
A taxpayer that has been approved to receive, has received, or has been assigned a certificated 
credit under MBT before January 1, 2012, but has not fully claimed or exhausted the credit before 
that date, may make an election to continue paying tax under MBT and claim that credit. See the 
Overview section of this chapter for more information about the MBT election.  
 
The certificated credits that qualify are: 
 

• Anchor Company Credits  
• Brownfield Redevelopment Credit  
• Farmland Preservation Credit 
• Film Production and Film Infrastructure Credits  
• Historic Preservation Credit 
• Hybrid Technology Research and Development Credit  
• NASCAR Speedway Credits 
• MEGA Battery Pack Credits  
• MEGA Employment Tax Credit 
• MEGA Federal Contract Credit  
• MEGA Photovoltaic Technology Credit 
• MEGA Polysilicon Energy Cost Credit 
• Select Renaissance Zone Credits  
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o The agricultural processing facility, border crossing facility, forest products 
processing facility, Michigan Strategic Fund (MSF) designated and renewable 
energy renaissance zones for which a taxpayer has entered into a development 
agreement, or tool and die renaissance zones for which the taxpayer has a 
collaborative agreement with the MSF by January 1, 2012. 

 
• Tax vouchers for the Michigan Early Stage Venture Investment Act. 

 
Once a taxpayer makes the MBT election, it may claim all other MBT credits for which it qualifies.  
Refer to the “Calculation of Liability” section for additional information. 
 
The MBT election must be made for most certificated credits for the taxpayer’s first tax year 
ending after December 31, 2011.  However, a taxpayer with a qualifying traditional brownfield or 
historic preservation credit may make the election for the year in which a credit is available and is 
permitted to remain in the election for the life of the brownfield or historic preservation credit, but 
must remain in the election for the years in which credit is available.  A taxpayer with a multiphase 
brownfield credit under MCL 208.1437(10) that makes the election is required to continue to file 
and pay the MBT until the project is complete and the credit is used up. 
 
A taxpayer with a qualifying brownfield or historic preservation credit that makes the election in 
a year in which credit is available may also elect to claim any other certificated credit for which 
the taxpayer is eligible in the same year, as long as eligibility for the other credit begins no earlier 
than the year of the claim.  However, once the brownfield or historic credit is exhausted, the 
taxpayer may no longer remain in the MBT and loses the remainder of any other credit elected in 
this manner.  
 
A taxpayer may claim a brownfield or historic preservation credit as an accelerated credit where a 
taxpayer is approved to receive or has received a certificated credit before January 1, 2012, and 
for which the certificate of completion or assignment certificate is issued for a credit for tax year 
beginning after December 31, 2011.  The accelerated credits are claimed on a special purpose 
Form 4889 available on Treasury’s Web site.  A taxpayer may claim an accelerated credit at any 
point in the tax year, but must also file Form 4567 for the tax period in which the claim is made.  
Accelerated credits are required to be paid to the taxpayer within 60 days of Treasury receiving 
the request. 
 
If a certificated credit is awarded to a member of a UBG, then the group and not the individual 
member must file any necessary returns under MBT.  If a UBG makes the election, the return filed 
by the group must include all members of the group regardless of whether a member is a 
corporation or an FTE.  The election should be made by the DM of the UBG by filing an MBT 
return.  However, if a member of the group other than the DM files a return and makes the election, 
such filing will be treated as if the group made the election and all members of the group will be 
required to file and pay the MBT. 
 
Assignees of Certificated Credits  
 
Assignees holding a certificated credit may also make the election to remain in the MBT.  Both 
the assignment and election to remain in the MBT must be completed in accordance with the 
requirements of the particular credit.  
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If a taxpayer had a preapproval letter for a brownfield credit by January 1, 2012, and a certificate 
of completion, assignment certificate, or component completion certificate is issued for a tax 
year beginning after December 31, 2011, the taxpayer may assign the credit in the tax year in 
which the certificate of completion is issued and the assignee may make the election to remain in 
the MBT based on the assignment.  The assignee must make the election for the tax year in 
which the assignment is made.  
 
Unitary Business Group 
 
Filing Requirements 
 
If a member of a UBG has a qualifying certificated credit, the group, and not the member, must 
make the election to file under the MBT.  The election should be made by the DM of the UBG by 
filing an MBT return.  However, if a member of the group other than the DM files a return and 
makes the election, such filing will be treated as if the group made the election and all members 
of the group will be required to file and pay the MBT.  Note that the entire group is required to 
remain in the MBT for the time period required for the claimed certificated credit(s).  
 
Except for a group with a brownfield or historic preservation certificated credit, the election must 
be made “for the taxpayer’s first tax year ending after December 31, 2011.”  Because the group’s 
tax year is the tax year of the DM, the election must be made for the DM’s first tax year ending 
after December 31, 2011.  For taxpayers with a traditional qualifying brownfield or historic credit, 
the DM may make the election in the year in which a credit is available.  The DM may claim an 
accelerated credit beginning on or after January 1, 2012.  
 
The Designated Member 
 
The “Designated Member” is a member of a UBG that has nexus with Michigan under MCL 
208.1200 and will file the combined return required under MCL 208.1511 for the UBG.  As noted, 
the DM makes the election to continue under the MBT on behalf of the group.    
 
If the member that owns or controls the other members of the UBG has nexus with Michigan, the 
controlling member must be the DM.  Otherwise, the controlling member must appoint any group 
member with nexus to serve as the DM.  The DM must remain the same every year unless the DM 
ceases to be a member of the UBG or the controlling member engages in activity in Michigan that 
creates nexus for the controlling member. 
 
Calculation of Liability 
 
All members of a UBG making the election must be included on the combined return. The FTE 
members of the UBG will remain in the UBG and subject to the MBT if the credit election is made.  
The group calculates liability using all members for both steps of the comparison calculation. 
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Example 1: For the 2011 tax year, UBG A has three members; member one is a 
corporation and is the DM, member two is an S Corporation, and member 
three is an LLC taxed as a partnership.  On December 1, 2011, member one 
is awarded a qualifying renaissance zone credit.  In order to use that credit, 
member one must file an MBT return for the group’s first tax year ending 
after December 31, 2011.  Assuming no change in ownership or control for 
this example, members one, two, and three must be included on the MBT 
return.   

 
Example 2: UBG A has three members; member one is a corporation, member two is an 

S Corporation, and member three is an LLC taxed as a partnership.  Member 
one has a certificated Michigan Economic Growth Authority credit of $2,000.  
The group, meaning all three members, calculates total MBT liability under 
step one of the comparison calculation as $900 before credits.  The group may 
use $900 of credit for an MBT liability of zero.  The group calculates 
hypothetical CIT of $1,000 before credits.  The group offsets the liability with 
$900 of certificated credit and reaches total liability of $100.  The group will 
pay the higher liability and carry forward $1,000 in certificated credit to the 
next tax year.   

Eliminations  
 
Eliminations apply to transactions between any members of the UBG.  If the UBG includes 
standard taxpayers, an insurance company, and a financial institution, transactions between a 
standard taxpayer member and an insurance or financial member are eliminated whenever 
elimination is required, despite the fact that the insurance and financial members are not reported 
on the combined return with standard taxpayer members. 
 

Example 1: A UBG is comprised of members A, B, and C.  Members A and B are both 
standard taxpayers, and member C is an insurance company. Even though 
member C files a separate tax return for insurance companies, the 
intercompany transactions between all three entities would be eliminated in 
preparing the standard tax return. 

 
Eliminations are not required for transactions with an otherwise-related entity if the related entity 
is not included in the UBG. For example, consider a group with a U.S. parent, a U.S. subsidiary, 
and a foreign operating entity subsidiary that would otherwise be a UBG, but the foreign operating 
entity is excluded from the UBG by definition. The U.S. parent filing a UBG return may not 
eliminate intercompany transactions between itself and the foreign operating entity. 
 
Timing differences can arise from differing year-ends or differing accounting methods of UBG 
members.  If a transaction between two members of a UBG is reported on the group’s current 
return by one member but reported on the preceding or succeeding group return by the other 
member, the group is required to eliminate the side of the transaction included on the group’s 
current return.  The other side of the same transaction will be eliminated on the group return for 
the filing period in which the other member reports the transaction.   
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Example 2: A UBG is comprised of members A and B. Member A has a calendar year-
end of December 31, 2012, and member B has a fiscal year-end of June 30, 
2012. A is the designated member. A pays B rent in the amount of $2,000 per 
month for the 2011 calendar year and $4,000 per month for the 2012 calendar 
year. For the 2012 tax filing, Company B would eliminate from gross receipts 
six months’ rent at $2,000 and six months’ rent at $4,000 for a total of 
$36,000. 

 
 Company B would also eliminate $36,000 from business income. Company 

A would eliminate from business income 12 months of rental expense at 
$4,000 for a total of $48,000. This will cause a timing difference for 
intercompany eliminations that will reverse when a member ceases to exist or 
is no longer a part of the UBG. 

 
Helpful Hints for Filing the MBT Return 
 
1. The election to remain in the MBT is made by a person or the DM of a UBG by filing either 

an MBT Form 4567 or Form 4889.  Form 4889 may be filed by a taxpayer seeking to claim an 
accelerated refundable brownfield or historic preservation credit payment pursuant to MCL 
208.1510.  The certificate which substantiates the certificated credit must be attached to Form 
4567 or the accelerated credit form.  If a valid agreement with which a taxpayer may make an 
election is in place, but the credit certificate has not yet been issued and will not be claimed 
until a future year, substantiation of that agreement must be attached to MBT returns filed in 
years before the certificated credit is claimed. Once a taxpayer files Form 4567 or Form 4889 
claiming an accelerated credit, the taxpayer must remain in the MBT until certificated credits 
are exhausted. 

 
2. All estimated payments, extension payments, and tax returns must be filed under the UBG’s 

designated member. 
 
3. If making monthly or quarterly estimated payments by EFT, Form 4913 is not required to be 

submitted. 
 
Contacting Treasury 
 
For general MBT questions: 
Phone:  517-636-6925 
E-mail:  treasMBT@michigan.gov 
Web site:  www.michigan.gov/taxes 
 
Correspondence may be mailed to: 
Michigan Department of Treasury 
Customer Contact Division, MBT Unit 
P.O. Box 30059 
Lansing, MI 48909 
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For Business Registration questions: 
Phone:  517-636-6925 
Fax:  517-636-4520 
E-mail:  treasReg@michigan.gov 
 
For Technical Services: 
Phone:  517-636-4230 
Fax:  517-636-4254 
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ORDER OF CREDITS AS CLAIMED ON RETURN 
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UNITARY BUSINESS GROUP-CREDIT INFORMATION 

Credit MCL Form A B C D E 
 Arts and Culture 208.1422 4572 G G N G G 
Bonus Depreciation Carryforward 208.1461 4573 E E N G G 
Bottle Deposit Administration 208.1451 4573 E E N G G 
Brownfield Redevelopment 208.1437 4584 E E N G G 
Community or Education Foundation 208.1425 4572 G G N G G 
Compensation 208.1403(2) 4570 G G N G G 
Farmland Preservation 324.36109(2) 4594 E E N G E 
Film Infrastructure 208.1457 4573 E E N G G 
Film Job Training 208.1459 4573 E E N G G 
Film Production 208.1455 4574 E E N G G 
Gross Receipts Filing Threshold 208.1411 4571 G G N G G 
Historic Preservation 208.1435 4573 E E N G G 
Homeless Shelter/Food Bank 208.1427 4572 G G N G G 
Hybrid Technology Research & Development 208.1450 4574 E E N G G 

Individual or Family Development Credit 208.1426 4573 G G N G G 
International Auto Show Credit 208.1446 4573 E E N G G 
Investment Tax 208.1403(3) 4570 G G * G G 
Large Food Retailer 208.1447 4573 G G N G G 
Low grade Hematite 208.1439 4573 G G N G G 
MEGA Advanced Battery Engineering Carryforward 208.1434(4) 4584 E E N G G 
MEGA Advanced Lithium Ion Battery 208.1434(7) 4584 E E N G G 
MEGA Anchor Company Payroll 208.1431a 4584 E E N G G 
MEGA Anchor Company Taxable Value 208.1431c 4584 E E N G G 
MEGA Battery Manufacturing Facility 208.1434(5) 4584 E E N G G 
MEGA Employment Tax 208.1431 4574 E E N G G 
MEGA Federal Contract 208.1431b 4584 E E N G G 
MEGA Large Scale Battery 208.1434(6) 4584 E E N G G 
MEGA Photovoltaic Technology 208.1430 4574 E E N G G 
MEGA Plug-In Traction Battery Integration 208.1434(3) 4584 E E N G G 
MEGA Plug-In Traction Battery Manufacturing Carryforward 208.1434(2) 4584 E E N G G 
MEGA Poly-Silicon Energy Cost 208.1432 4584 E E N G G 
Mid Size Food Retailer 208.1449 4573 G G N G G 
NASCAR Speedway Infrastructure 208.1409(2) 4573 E E N G G 
New Motor Vehicle Inventory 208.1445 4573 E E N G G 
Next Energy Business Activity 208.1429(2) 4573 E E N G G 
Next Energy Payroll 208.1429(5) 4574 E E N G G 
Personal Property Tax 208.1413 4574 G G N G G 
Private Equity Fund 208.1453 4573 E E N G G 
Public Contributions 208.1421 4572 G G N G G 
Renaissance Zone 208.1433 4595 E E N G E 
Research and Development 208.1405 4570 G G N G G 
SBT Carryforward 208.1401 4569    G G 
      SBT Investment Tax        
      SBT Historic Preservation        
      Low-grade Hematite Pellet        
      SBT Pharmaceutical        

       SBT Credit Job        
      SBT "Old" Brownfield        
      SBT " New" Brownfield        

       SBT MEGA Business Activity        
Small Business Alternative 208.1417 4571 G G N G G 
Start-up Business 208.1415 4573 E E N G G 
Worker's Disability Supplemental Benefit 208.1423 4574 G G N G G 
* - Assets transferred between members of a UBG are not capital investments in qualifying assets for purposes of the ITC and intercompany 
eliminations are irrelevant to the calculation of the ITC.  

A - The test or criteria to qualify for the credit should be applied on a group basis (G) or a separate entity basis (E) 
B - If the qualification test is satisfied, the calculation of the credit amount should be on a group basis (G) or a separate entity basis (E). 
C - Calculation of the credit should be done after elimination of intercompany transactions (Y or N). 
D - Credit should be applied against the tax liability or the group (G) or the entity (E).  
E - The credit form is completed on a group basis (G) or a separate entity basis (E). 
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CIT AND MBT ELECTRONIC FILING 
General Information 
 
Treasury and the IRS continue to work together to provide tax preparers with an efficient method 
of filing their clients’ business tax returns electronically. 
 
Michigan has an enforced e-file mandate for CIT and MBT.  Software developers producing tax 
preparation software and computer-generated forms must support e-file for all eligible Michigan 
forms that are included in their software package.  All eligible returns prepared using tax 
preparation software or computer-generated forms must be e-filed. 
 
Treasury will be enforcing the e-file mandate.  The enforcement includes not processing computer-
generated paper returns that are eligible to be e-filed.  A notice will be mailed to the taxpayer, 
indicating that the taxpayer’s return was not filed in the proper form and content, and must be e-
filed.  Payment received with a paper return will be processed and credited to the taxpayer’s 
account even when the return is not processed. 
 
To participate in CIT and MBT Fed/State e-file programs, e-filers must use software that has 
successfully completed the Michigan and IRS testing process; confirm that the software chosen 
was approved for Michigan, and that the Michigan e-file program is operational before 
transmitting returns.  A list of approved software companies is available on Treasury’s Web site 
at www.MIfastfile.org. 
 
An organization or individual interested in participating as a software developer is required to file 
test returns with Michigan.  Tax preparers are not required to file test returns with Michigan. 
 
If, after acceptance, a tax preparer, transmitter, or software company has production problems, 
Treasury reserves the right to disapprove the tax preparer, transmitter, or software company for 
part or all of the remainder of the filing season. 
 
To avoid posting duplicate returns, a taxpayer filing electronically should not mail copies of federal 
and State returns and schedules to Treasury unless requested. 
 
When the following forms are included in a filing, the return can be e-filed, but the forms listed 
below must be mailed. 
 
CIT Forms: 
 

• Application for Extension of Time to File Michigan Tax Returns (Form 4) 
 
MBT Forms: 
 

• Application for Extension of Time to File Michigan Tax Returns (Form 4) 
• Historic Preservation Credit Assignment (Form 3614)  
• Film Credit Assignment (Form 4589). 
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If tax is due on an e-file return, payments may be mailed along with MBT e-File Annual Return 
Payment Voucher (MBT-V) (Form 4576) or CIT e-file Annual Return Payment Voucher (CIT-V) 
(Form 4901) by the due date.  Taxpayers may also make payments by Electronic Funds Transfer 
(EFT).  Application forms for EFT Debit and Credit are available on Treasury’s Web site at 
www.michigan.gov/biztaxpayments. 
 
Treasury recognizes that there are conditions which make a return ineligible for e-file.  When the 
computer-generated business tax return meets one or more of the Treasury-recognized e-file 
exceptions, the taxpayer may have to complete and attach E-file Exceptions for Business Taxes 
(Form 4833) to the front of the return or the paper filing will not be processed.  Form 4833 will be 
generated by the software. 
 
Attach Form 4833 to a computer-generated paper return that meets one or more of the Treasury-
recognized e-file mandate exceptions.  Treasury-recognized exceptions at the time of this printing 
include, but are not limited to: 
 

• MBT taxpayer is filing one or more of the following forms: 
 

 Qualified Affordable Housing Seller’s Deduction (Form 4579) 
 Business Tax Tribal Agreement Ownership Schedule (Form 4597) 
 Tribal Agreement Apportionment (Form 4598) 

 
• Return was prepared by a preparer who has been suspended or denied acceptance to 

participate in the IRS e-file program or does not have an Electronic Filing Identification 
Number (EFIN). 

 
• Return was rejected by Michigan or IRS and there is no way to correct and resubmit the 

return electronically and software does not support State Standalone. 
 

• Taxpayer federal return contains a form that is not eligible for e-file and the software 
does not support State Standalone e-file. 

 
The following are also Treasury-recognized exceptions.  However, do not attach Form 4833 to a 
paper return that meets one or more of the following conditions: 
 

• The taxpayer has an organization type of individual or fiduciary 
• The taxpayer does not have a Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) 
• The return is completed by hand (with pen or pencil) 
• The return is completed using forms from Treasury’s Web site or Michigan tax 

instruction books. 
 
The following forms and schedules may be e-filed using the CIT Fed/State e-file program for tax 
year 2015. 
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CIT Forms and Schedules 
 

• Annual Return (Form 4891) 
• Amended Return (From 4892) 
• Small Business Alternative Credit (Form 4893) 
• Schedule of Shareholders and Officers (For all Corporations Claiming the Small Business 

Alternative Credit) (Form 4894) 
• Loss Adjustment for the Small Business Alternative Credit (Form 4895) 
• Unitary Business Group Affiliates Excluded From the Return of Standard Taxpayers 

(Form 4896) 
• Data on Unitary Business Group Members (Form 4897) 
• Non-Unitary Relationships With Flow-Through Entities (Form 4898) 
• Penalty and Interest Computation of Underpaid Estimated Tax (Form 4899) 
• Unitary Relationships With Flow-Through Entities (Form 4900) 
• Schedule of Recapture of Certain Business Tax Credits and Deductions (Form 4902) 
• Withholding Opt-Out Schedule (Form 4903) 
• Insurance Company Annual Return for Corporate Income and Retaliatory Taxes (Form 

4905) 
• Insurance Company Amended Return for Corporate Income and Retaliatory Taxes (From 

4906) 
• Annual Return for Financial Institutions (Form 4908) 
• Amended Return for Financial Institutions (Form 4909) 
• Unitary Business Group Combined Filing Schedule for Financial Institutions (Form 

4910) 
• Schedule of Flow-Through Withholding (Form 4911) 

 
The following forms and schedules may be e-filed using the MBT Fed/State e-file program for tax 
year 2015. 
 
MBT Forms and Schedules 
 

• Historic Preservation Tax Credit (Form 3581) 
• Annual Return (Form 4567) 
• Nonrefundable Credits Summary (Form 4568) 
• Single Business Tax (SBT) Credit Carryforwards (Form 4569) 
• Credits for Compensation, Investment and Research and Development (Form 4570) 
• Common Credits for Small Businesses (Form 4571) 
• Charitable Contribution Credits (Form 4572) 
• Miscellaneous Nonrefundable Credits (Form 4573) 
• Refundable Credits (Form 4574) 
• Loss Adjustment Worksheet for the Small Business Alternative Credit (Form 4575) 
• Schedule of Shareholders and Officers (Form 4577) 
• Schedule of Partners (Form 4578) 
• Unitary Business Group Combined Filing Schedule for Standard Members (Form 4580) 
• Penalty and Interest Computation for Underpaid Estimated Tax (Form 4582) 
• Election of Refund or Carryforward of Credits, and Calculation of Historic Preservation 

and Brownfield Redevelopment Carryforward (Form 4584) 
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• Investment Tax Credit Recapture From Sale of Assets Acquired Under Single Business 
Tax (Form 4585) 

• Schedule of Business Activity Protected Under Public Law 86-272 (Form 4586) 
• Schedule of Recapture of Certain Business Tax Credits and Deductions (Form 4587) 
• Insurance Company Annual Return for Michigan Business and Retaliatory Taxes (Form 

4588) 
• Annual Return for Financial Institutions (Form 4590) 
• Farmland Preservation Tax Credit (Form 4594) 
• Renaissance Zone Credit Schedule (Form 4595) 
• Miscellaneous Credits for Insurance Companies (Form 4596) 
• Unitary Business Group Combined Filing Schedule For Financial Institutions (Form 

4752) 
• Schedule of Corporate Income Tax Liability for a MBT Filer (Form 4946) 
• Schedule of Certificated Credits (Form 4947) 
• Schedule of Flow-Through Withholding (Form 4966) 
• Schedule of CIT Liability for an MBT Insurance Filer (Form 4974) 
• Schedule of CIT Liability for an MBT Financial Filer (Form 4975) 

 
Michigan will continue to accept certain binary Portable Document Format (PDF) attachments 
with the e-filed returns for tax year 2015 (as supported by software).  A listing of the attachments 
will be posted to the Treasury Web site at www.MIfastfile.org. 
 
Attachments to CIT and MBT Returns 
 
Corporations.  U.S. 1120 (pages 1 through 4) or U.S. 1120-A (pages 1 and 2), Schedule D, Forms 
851, 4562, and 4797.  If filing as part of a consolidated federal return, attach a pro forma or 
consolidated schedule. 
 
UBGs.  For more information on federal return attachments see Form 4580 for MBT and Form 
4897 for CIT. 
 
Do not send copies of K-1s.  Treasury will request them, if necessary. 
 
Attachments to MBT Returns 
 
S Corporations.  U.S. 1120S (pages 1 through 4), Schedule D, Forms 851, 4562, 4797, and 8825. 
 
Partnerships.  U.S. 1065 (pages 1 through 5), Schedule D, Form 4797, and Form 8825. 
 
Individuals.  U.S. 1040 (pages 1 and 2), Schedules C, C-EZ, D, E, and Form 4797 (only when a 
member of a UBG). 
 
Fiduciaries.  U.S. 1041 (pages 1 through 4), Schedule D, and Form 4797 (only when a member 
of a UBG). 
LLCs.  Attach appropriate schedules shown above based on federal return filed. 
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CIT and MBT Fed/State E-file Program 
 
Tax preparers and transmitters accepted in the IRS e-file program may participate in the Fed/State 
e-file programs and e-file returns through the IRS MeF program.  (See www.irs.gov for more 
information.)  A list of software developers supporting e-file is available on Treasury’s Web site 
at www.MIfastfile.org. 
 
Michigan accepts two kinds of submissions:  
 

1. Fed/State (linked) 
2. State Standalone (unlinked). 

 
How Fed/State (Linked) E-file Works 
 
A State submission can be linked to the IRS submission by including the Submission ID of the 
federal return with the State return filing.  If the State submission is linked to an IRS submission 
(also referred to as a Fed/State return), the IRS will check to see if there is an accepted IRS 
submission under the Submission ID.  If there is not an accepted federal return for that tax type, 
the IRS will deny the State submission and an acknowledgment will be sent to the transmitter.  The 
State has no knowledge that the State return was denied (rejected) by the IRS.  If there is an 
accepted federal return under that Submission ID, MeF will perform minimal validation on the 
State submission.  The validation includes verifying that the State is a participating State in the 
Fed/State Program.  MeF will then pass along to the State what the Electronic Return Originator 
(ERO)/taxpayer sends in the State submission. 
 

Note: If a State submission is linked to an IRS submission, the IRS recommends sending 
the IRS submission first, and after it has been accepted, sending in the State 
submission. 

 
How State Standalone (Unlinked) E-file Works 
 
If the ERO does not link the State return to a previously accepted federal return (also referred to 
as State Standalone return), Modernized e-file (MeF) will perform minimal validation as stated 
above (that will include verifying that the State allows State Standalone returns), and then pass 
along the entire State submission that was sent in by the ERO/taxpayer. 
 

Note: The State return is made up of a State and federal portion.  The taxpayer provides 
both components based on what is required by the State.  The IRS passes to the 
State just the information that has been provided by the taxpayer. 
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The workflow for State returns is as follows: 
 

1. Transmitter sends State returns to IRS. 
 

2. IRS validates the State return. 
 

A. If linked return, validates IRS submission and State Participation. 
B. If unlinked, validates State Participation. 

 
3. If valid, IRS makes the State return available to the State. 

 
4. The State retrieves State return from IRS. 
 
5. The State sends receipt for State return to IRS. 

 
6. The State will process the State return and send State acknowledgment to IRS. 

 
7. Transmitter will retrieve the State acknowledgment from IRS. 

 
8. The State will retrieve the Acknowledgment Notification (acknowledging Transmitter 

retrieved the State acknowledgment). 
 
Application Process 
 
To participate, applicants must first apply to the IRS and be accepted.  Individuals must register 
with IRS e-Services and create a new (or revised) IRS application.  Individuals can contact e-Help 
toll-free at 1-866-255-0654 for assistance with the IRS e-file Application or if unable to register 
for e-Services.   
 
The definitions used by the IRS for the various categories of e-filers, EROs, transmitters, or 
software developers also apply for Michigan e-filing purposes. 
 
Upon acceptance, the IRS Service Center assigns an EFIN and, if applicable, an Electronic 
Transmitter Identification Number (ETIN) to the applicant. 
 
After receiving the federal acceptance information, applicants are automatically accepted into the 
CIT and MBT MeF programs. 
 
IRS regulations require paid tax preparers to use Preparer Tax Identification Numbers (PTINs) for 
all tax returns and refund claims filed after December 31, 2010.  Visit the IRS Web site at 
www.irs.gov for more information. 
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Acceptance Process 
 
Treasury may conduct a suitability check on applicants who have been accepted in the MBT and 
CIT Fed/State e-file programs.  Participation in the program may be denied if a company is not 
registered to conduct business in Michigan or if there is an outstanding tax liability with Michigan. 
Treasury will use the EFIN assigned by the IRS in the CIT and MBT Fed/State e-file programs.  
Michigan does not assign any additional identification numbers for the Fed/State e-file programs. 
 
Signature Process for Fed/State (Linked) Returns 
 
Michigan will accept the federal signature (8453-C, 8453-S, 8453-P, or Personal Identification 
Number (PIN)).  The State return may be transmitted with the federal return or at a separate time.  
As long as there is an IRS Submission ID included with the State submission the two returns are 
linked together, and it is considered a Fed/State filing.  Michigan does not require any additional 
signature documentation. 
 
Signature Process for State Standalone (Unlinked) Returns 
 
State Standalone returns must be signed by entering a taxpayer PIN and completing E-file 
Authorization for Business Taxes (Form MI-8879).  The taxpayer may authorize the tax preparer 
to enter the PIN on their behalf.  The MI-8879 should be retained by the tax preparer and/or 
taxpayer, and included in the printed copy of the return that is provided to the taxpayer. 
 
For More Information 
 
Visit www.irs.gov and www.MIfastfile.org for more information on the Fed/State e-file programs. 
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FLOW-THROUGH WITHHOLDING 

  
WHAT’S NEW 
 
2014 Public Act (PA) 295 amended MCL 206.703 in Part 3 of the Income Tax Act (ITA) to provide 
FTEs with an exemption from FTW where the withholding would violate distribution restrictions 
under certain federal and state housing programs.  The Act is prospective only.  That is, it applies 
only to withholding payments that are due on or after September 30, 2014. 
 
Overview 
 
Flow-through entities (FTEs) meeting the filing threshold are required to withhold on the 
distributive share of business income of members that are C corporations or other FTEs.  
Additionally, FTEs are required to withhold on the distributive share of taxable income of 
members, partners, or shareholders that are nonresident individuals without regard to a filing 
threshold.  These withholding requirements are similar to employer requirements to report and 
remit withholding taxes on employee wages.  There are several exemptions to Flow-Through 
Withholding (FTW), which are explained in this chapter. 
 
For purposes of FTW, the following definitions apply: 
 

• Corporation: an entity that is required to or has elected to file as a C corporation for federal 
income tax purposes. 

 
• Flow-through entity: an entity that for the tax year is treated as an S corporation, a general 

partnership, a limited partnership, a limited liability partnership, or a limited liability 
company that is not taxed as a C corporation for the tax year.  FTE does not include any 
entity that is disregarded for federal income tax purposes and does not include a trust. 

 
• Member: a shareholder of an S corporation; a partner in a general partnership, a limited 

partnership, or a limited liability partnership; or a member of a limited liability company.  
 

• Nonresident: an individual who is not a resident of or domiciled in Michigan. 
 
Collectively, these withholding requirements are known as Flow-Through Withholding (FTW). 
 
Forms 
 

• Certification of Exemption for Flow-Through Withholding Payments (Form 4912) 
• Flow-Through Withholding Quarterly Return (Form 4917) 
• Annual Flow-Through Withholding Reconciliation Return (Form 4918) 
• Schedule of Unitary Apportionment for Flow-Through Withholding (Form 4919) 
• Flow-Through Withholding Opt-Out Schedule (Form 4920). 
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Mailing Addresses 
 
Annual returns should be mailed to: 
 

With payment: 
 
Michigan Department of Treasury 
P.O. Box 30806 
Lansing, MI  48909 
 
Without payment: 
 
Michigan Department of Treasury 
P.O. Box 30805 
Lansing, MI  48909 
 

Quarterly returns should be mailed to: 
 

Michigan Department of Treasury 
P.O. Box 30800 
Lansing, MI  48909-8300 
 

Correspondence should be mailed to: 
 

Michigan Department of Treasury 
Customer Contact Division-FTW Unit 
P.O. Box 30769 
Lansing, MI  48909 

 
Withholding Requirements 
 
Withholding on nonresident individual members.  Every FTE with business activity in 
Michigan is required to withhold on every member that is a nonresident individual.  Withholding 
is done at the Individual Income Tax (IIT) rate on the distributive share of taxable income 
reasonably expected to accrue, after allocation or apportionment, to the nonresident.  The IIT rate 
is 4.25 percent for tax years that end in 2015 or 2016.  FTW for nonresident individual members 
is required without regard to the $200,000 business income threshold that applies to other types of 
members if the distributive share of business income exceeds in the same proportion the total 
amount of personal and dependency exemptions of the individual.   
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If available, personal and dependency exemptions may be applied to offset a member’s distributive 
share subject to withholding.  Personal exemptions may be considered if the necessary W-4 
information is provided to the FTE by the member.  A nonresident’s personal and dependency 
exemptions are based on the number of his or her number of allowable federal exemptions and 
must be prorated by the amount of the individual’s Michigan income to total adjusted gross 
income.  If a nonresident individual’s distributive share does not exceed his or her allowable 
exemption, the FTE is not required to withhold on that member.  If an FTE receives no instructions 
from a nonresident individual about personal and dependency exemptions, the FTE should 
withhold without regard to exemptions. 
 
Withholding on corporate members.  An FTE with business activity in Michigan that 
reasonably expects to accrue more than $200,000 in apportioned or allocated business income for 
the tax year must withhold on the distributive share of each member that is a corporation at the 
Corporate Income Tax (CIT) rate of 6 percent. 
 
Withholding on intermediate-tier FTE members.  A source FTE with business activity in 
Michigan that reasonably expects to accrue more than $200,000 in apportioned or allocated 
business income for the tax year must withhold on the distributive share of each member that is an 
FTE (intermediate FTE) at the CIT rate of 6 percent.  However, the source FTE may withhold at 
the IIT rate instead of the CIT rate if it is able to identify the ultimate member of the intermediate-
tier FTE as a nonresident individual and include the individual’s identifying information on Form 
4918.  The source FTE is not required to withhold if it is able to identify the ultimate member of 
the intermediate FTE as a resident individual.  The IIT rate is 4.25 percent for tax years that end 
in 2015 or in 2016.   
 
An intermediate-tier FTE member that has no business income sourced to Michigan other than 
business income received from a source FTE will not have to pay additional withholding and will 
be credited with FTW payments made on its behalf by the source FTE.  The intermediate-tier FTE 
will be required to file Form 4918 to distribute the FTW payments received from the source FTE 
to its members. 
 
Filing and Payment Requirements 

 
An FTE that is required to withhold on its members must file Form 4917 and pay withholding due 
on a quarterly basis.  An FTE that is required to withhold must also file, in addition to the four 
quarterly returns, Form 4918.  An FTE that is an intermediate-tier member of a source FTE must 
file Form 4918 to distribute the amounts that have been withheld on its behalf unless the source 
FTE has already distributed the withholding by disclosing the ultimate taxpayers on its own Form 
4918.  An FTE that remits FTW or files Form 4918 must be registered with the Michigan 
Department of Treasury (Treasury) for FTW under its Federal Employer Identification Number 
(FEIN) in order for payments to be properly applied and for its returns to be properly processed. 
 
Quarterly Payments 
 
FTW quarterly payments are reported and paid to Treasury using Form 4917.  For a calendar year 
end taxpayer, these quarterly returns and quarterly payments are due by April 15, July 15, and 
October 15 of the FTE’s tax year and January 15 of the following year.  If the FTE is not a calendar 
year taxpayer, then it will substitute the appropriate due dates in the FTE’s fiscal year that 
correspond to the due dates of a calendar year FTE.  A quarterly return is not required to be filed 
if there is no amount due.  
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Annual Reconciliation Form 
 

An FTE that will distribute withholding or, if it withheld in error, claim a refund, must file Form 
4918.  Form 4918 is due no later than February 28 following the end of the calendar year for 
calendar year filers, or the last day of the second month following the end of a fiscal year filer’s 
federal tax year. 

 
Reporting Withholding to Members 
 

Each FTE must report several things to the members it has withheld on to allow each member to 
accurately file their CIT or IIT return.  Treasury recommends that the FTE provide this information 
as a supplemental attachment to the member’s federal Schedule K-1.  However, any method is 
acceptable so long as the following information is conveyed to the member: 
 

• FEIN of the FTE 
• Tax year of the FTE 
• FTW paid on behalf of the member 
• Member’s tentative distributive share of the FTE’s business income 
• FTE’s sales that have been sourced to Michigan 
• FTE’s total sales. 

 
If the FTE is filing a Composite Individual Income Tax Return (Form 807) on behalf of its 
nonresident individual members, then it must report to each nonresident individual that participates 
in the composite filing the: 
 

• FEIN of the FTE 
• Tax year of the FTE 
• That member’s share of tax liability on the composite return filed by the FTE (not the 

amount withheld on behalf of the member) 
• Member’s tentative distributive share of FTE’s business income 
• FTE’s sales that have been sourced in Michigan 
• FTE’s total sales. 

 

Note: The FTE may have different amounts of sales to report for corporate and other FTE 
members than for individual members.  See the explanation of apportionment for 
the different types of members below. 
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Flow-Through Withholding for Members That Are  
Corporations or Other Flow-Through Entities 
 
Business Income 

 
Business income for purposes of withholding on a member that is a corporation or an intermediate-
tier FTE will be governed by the same rules as those applicable to the CIT.  However, because 
FTW is concerned with business income of FTEs and not corporations, business income for FTEs 
is further defined to include payments and items of income and expense that are attributable to 
business activity of the FTE and separately reported to members.  The distributive share of business 
income of an FTE is subject to FTW even if it is not actually distributed or paid to the member. 
 
Business Income Threshold 
 
To be required to withhold on members that are corporations or other FTEs, the FTE must 
reasonably expect to have more than $200,000 of business income in the tax year after allocation 
and apportionment.  For purposes of calculating the threshold, the FTE will apportion its business 
income using its sales factor.  
 
Apportionment 
 

An FTE is only required to withhold on a member’s distributive share of business income after 
allocation and apportionment.  To apportion business income for a member that is a corporation 
or an intermediate-tier FTE, the FTE will use the apportionment rules applicable to the CIT.  The 
CIT includes two apportionment rules that are relevant to FTW. 
 
The general rule provides that the filing FTE will apportion business income distributed to its 
members using the separate sales factor of the filer.  The FTE’s sales factor is a fraction, the 
numerator of which is the FTE’s sales that have been sourced to Michigan and the denominator is 
the FTE’s sales everywhere.  “Sale” or “sales” means the term as defined within the CIT, in MCL 
206.609(4).  The FTE will use the sales sourcing provisions included within the CIT. 

 
A different apportionment rule applies if the FTE is unitary with a CIT taxpayer.  If the FTE is 
unitary with a CIT taxpayer then the numerator of the sales factor used by the FTE must include 
Michigan sales of the unitary CIT taxpayer and a proportionate share of the total sales in Michigan 
of the FTE.  The denominator of the sales factor must include the total sales of the unitary CIT 
taxpayer everywhere and a proportionate share of the total sales everywhere of the FTE.  Sales 
between the CIT taxpayer and the FTEs unitary with the CIT taxpayer, as well as sales between 
FTEs unitary with the CIT taxpayer, must be eliminated when calculating the combined sales 
factor for these entities. 

 
The FTE is unitary with a CIT taxpayer if: 
 

• The CIT taxpayer owns or controls, directly or indirectly, more than 50 percent of the 
ownership interest of the FTE with voting rights or ownership interests that confer 
comparable rights to voting rights. 
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• The CIT taxpayer and FTE have business activities or operations which result in a flow of 
value between the CIT taxpayer and the FTE, or between the FTE and another FTE unitary 
with the taxpayer, or have business activities or operations that are integrated with, are 
dependent upon, or contribute to each other. 

 
The sales factor of an FTE unitary with a corporation used to apportion the distributive share of 
business income received by its corporate member will be the same as that used by the corporation 
when computing its CIT liability.  If the FTE is owned by two corporations, only one of which is 
unitary with the withholding FTE, the FTE will use separate apportionment percentages for each 
of those corporations. 
 
The sales factor in the CIT does not include throwback sales. 
 
If the source FTE is able to ascertain that the ultimate member of an intermediate-tier FTE is a 
nonresident individual, then the source FTE may withhold directly on the distributive share of that 
individual member.  To do this, the FTE must know the name and Social Security Number (SSN) 
of the nonresident individual.  This information will be listed when the FTE files Form 4918.  To 
calculate the distributive share of business income of ultimate nonresident individual members and 
apportion that amount, the FTE will use the provisions included in IIT, as explained below.  The 
source FTE is not required to withhold if it can identify the ultimate owner of the intermediate 
FTE to be a resident individual. 
 
Flow-Through Withholding for Members That Are Nonresident Individuals 
 
Business Income 

 
Income flowing through to a nonresident individual member of an FTE is business income and is 
subject to the allocation and apportionment provisions of the IIT.  This income is referred to as the 
member’s distributive share of business income.  The distributive share of business income of an 
FTE is subject to FTW even if it is not actually distributed or paid to the member. 
 
Portfolio income is business income and is subject to allocation or apportionment.  Portfolio 
income includes interest income, dividend income, royalty income, and net short-term and long-
term capital gain (loss) from federal Schedule D Capital Gains and Losses.  Resident or nonresident 
individual taxpayers having portfolio income from an FTE with business activity in multiple states 
must allocate or apportion this income in the same manner as all other business income. 
 
Apportionment 
 

The FTE’s distributive share of business income shall be allocated or apportioned to the state 
where the business activity takes place using a single-factor sales apportionment formula.  Income 
not allocated or apportioned to Michigan is not subject to FTW.  To apportion business income for 
a member that is a nonresident individual, the FTE will use the apportionment rules included in 
the IIT.  The IIT includes two apportionment rules that are relevant to FTW. 
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The general rule provides that the filing FTE will apportion business income distributed to 
individual members using the separate sales factor of the filer.  The FTE’s sales factor is a fraction, 
the numerator of which is the FTE’s sales that have been sourced to Michigan and the denominator 
is the FTE’s sales everywhere.  “Sale” or “sales” means the term as defined within the ITA, in 
MCL 206.20(1).  When determining which sales are to be included in the sales factor for 
nonresident individual members, the FTE will use the sales sourcing provisions within the IIT. 
 
A different apportionment rule may apply if the FTE withholds on an individual who will report 
income using combined apportionment for unitary FTEs.  If the individual member elects to report 
income using the combined apportionment method, the FTE will calculate that member’s 
distributive share of income and withholding based on the combined apportionment factors of all 
entities that are unitary with the FTE. 
 
The individual may elect combined apportionment when the business operations of the FTEs 
evidence a unitary relationship; which is determined by: 
 

• Economic realities 
• Functional integration 
• Centralized management 
• Economies of scale 
• Substantial mutual interdependence. 

 
These factors are not exhaustive or exclusive, and the ability to elect combined apportionment 
will depend on the totality of the circumstances. 
 
In summation, the sales factor of an FTE used to apportion the distributive share of business 
income attributable to an individual member will be the same as that used by that individual when 
computing their IIT liability.  For example, if the FTE is owned by two individuals, one of which 
is electing to combine apportionment factors with other entities unitary with the withholding FTE, 
and the other of which is not, then the FTE will use separate apportionment percentages for each 
of those individuals. 
 
The computation of the sales factor is not the same for IIT as it is for the Michigan Business Tax 
(MBT) or the CIT; the IIT requires throwback sales to be included in the numerator and the MBT 
and CIT do not.  Throwback sales for IIT follow Public Law (PL) 86-272.  Foreign sales can be 
included in the numerator for IIT purposes.  The IIT standard for determining if the taxpayer is 
taxable in another state, including a foreign country, uses the PL 86-272 criteria.  In general, a 
taxpayer’s business must have property in another state or activity that goes beyond solicitation of 
sales to be taxable in that state.   
 
Composite Tax Return for Nonresident Individual Members 
 
An FTE may file a Composite Individual Income Tax Return (Form 807), for its nonresident 
individual and nonresident trust members.  The composite return is an elective filing used to file 
and pay the member-level IIT, and is not a tax on the FTE.  If participating members have no other 
income subject to Michigan’s IIT, the composite return will satisfy the members’ IIT filing 
requirement.  To file a composite return, the FTE must have two or more nonresident individual 
members participating in the return.  Members who are spouses and who file a joint return together 
may each be considered a participant. 
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Participants may include other FTEs, nonresident trusts that would otherwise be liable for tax on 
the distributive share on a Fiduciary Income Tax Return (Form MI-1041), or nonresident 
individuals.  Corporate members are not eligible to participate in a composite return.  A 
nonresident individual participant who has other Michigan income must also file an Individual 
Income Tax Return (Form MI-1040).  When filing the MI-1040, the taxpayer may not subtract the 
income reported on the composite return, but may claim a credit for his or her share of tax paid on 
the composite return.  A nonresident individual who has participated in a composite return is not 
eligible to claim a credit on the MI-1040, of the FTW payment made on his or her behalf. 
 
Exemptions From Flow-Through Withholding 
 
Flow-Through Entities That Are Exempt 
 
Publicly Traded Partnerships and disregarded entities are not required to withhold on their 
members under FTW.  For purposes of FTW, “publicly traded partnerships” means that term as 
defined under Section 7704 of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC).  The exemption from the 
requirements of FTW applies to publicly traded partnerships that are treated as corporations as 
well as those that are treated as partnerships under IRC 7704(c).  An entity is disregarded for 
purposes of FTW if it is a disregarded entity for federal income tax purposes. 
 
Nonresident Individual Exemptions 
 
An FTE is not required to withhold on a nonresident individual member if: 
 

• The income available for distribution consists entirely of income exempt from IIT, or 
 

• The aggregated income available for distribution of all nonresident individual members is 
less than $1,000 for the quarter. 
 

FTE Michigan Business Tax Election Exemption 
 
An FTE is not required to withhold on its corporate members that are not unitary with the FTE if 
the FTE has made a valid election under MBT Act, under MCL 208.1500, to continue to file a 
return and pay the tax imposed by the MBT. 

 
Member Michigan Business Tax Election Exemption 
 
An FTE is not required to withhold on a member that elects to file and pay the MBT. 
 
Opt Out Exemption 
 
Corporate members of an FTE or members that are other FTEs are also able to exempt the FTE 
from FTW requirements.  The exemption is accomplished by the member filing an exemption 
certificate Form 4912 with the FTE.  Any comparable document containing the same information 
as Form 4912 may be used in its place.  If an exemption certificate is received by the FTE then the 
FTE is entirely exempt from the FTW requirements pertaining to that member for the entire tax 
year.  This is true no matter when the FTE receives the exemption certificate, as long as the FTE 
receives the certificate within the tax year.  A nonresident individual is not eligible to exempt his 
or her FTE from withholding. 
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To qualify for the exemption, the member must: 
 

• Complete the exemption certificate in the form and manner prescribed by Treasury 
 

• Provide a copy of the exemption certificate to the FTE.  A new certificate is required for 
each tax year that the member opts out of withholding. 

 
• Certify that it will: 

 
o File the returns required under the CIT or FTW, whichever is applicable. 
o Pay or withhold the tax due under the CIT or FTW on the distributive share of the 

taxable income received from any FTE in which the corporation or FTE is a member. 
o Submit to the taxing jurisdiction of Michigan for purposes of collecting the tax due 

under the CIT or FTW, and the associated penalty and interest with respect to the 
distributive share of the business income of that member. 

 
The opt-out exemption requires the member and the FTE to retain copies of the exemption 
certificate.  Do not file the exemption certificate with Treasury.  Treasury maintains the right 
to revoke an exemption certificate if the member or the exempted FTE is not abiding by the terms 
of the certificate or the exemption requirements as explained above.  If an exemption certificate is 
revoked, Treasury will notify the FTE that it must begin to withhold on the member’s distributive 
share of business income beginning 60 days after notice of revocation is received. 
 
Federal and State Housing Programs Exemption 
 
An FTE is not required to comply with FTW requirements to the extent that the withholding would 
violate distribution restrictions under certain federal and state housing programs. 
 
Contacting Treasury 
 

For General FTW Questions: 
Phone 517-636-6925 
www.michigan.gov/taxes 
 
For Business Registration Questions: 
Phone 517-636-6925 
Fax 517-636-4520 
E-mail treasReg@michigan.gov 
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SALES, USE, AND WITHHOLDING TAXES 

  

SALES TAX 
The General Sales Tax Act was enacted as Public Act (PA) 167 in 1933.  The tax is imposed on 
the seller for the privilege of making a “sale at retail” in Michigan.  The tax rate has increased over 
the years to its current 6 percent level.  Tax increases are currently restricted to authorization by 
amendment to the Michigan Constitution by a vote of the people.  
 
Sales of electricity, natural or artificial gas, and home heating fuel for residential use are taxed at 
a rate of 4 percent. 
 
All sales of tangible personal property at retail in Michigan are subject to the tax unless a specific 
exemption applies and is claimed by the purchaser. 
 
Certain sales transactions are subject to a prepaid sales tax in Michigan.  Purchasers or receivers 
of “fuel” in Michigan are required to “prepay” a portion of the sales tax to the refiner, pipeline 
terminal operator, or marine terminal operator at the time of purchase or shipment.  If the purchase 
or receipt of “fuel” is made outside Michigan for shipment into and subsequent sale within 
Michigan, the purchaser or receiver (excluding a refiner, pipeline terminal operator, or marine 
terminal operator) must make the prepayment of sales tax directly to Michigan Department of 
Treasury (Treasury).  For purposes of the prepaid sales tax, the term “fuel” refers to “gasoline” 
and “diesel fuel” as those terms are defined by statute.  The rates of prepayment for each of these 
fuel types are set by Treasury every month and are published by Treasury no later than the 10th 
day of the month immediately preceding the month in which the new prepayment rates will be in 
effect. 
 

USE TAX 
The Use Tax Act was enacted as PA 94 in 1937.  Shortly after the sales tax was enacted, it became 
apparent that sales tax revenue was being lost by purchases of tangible personal property being 
made in neighboring states for consumption in Michigan.  This was also recognized as a 
competitive disadvantage for Michigan sellers.  
 
The tax was enacted as a tax for the privilege of storing, using, or consuming tangible personal 
property in Michigan.  The impact of the tax is felt most by remote sellers such as mail order 
sellers, Internet sellers, and other similar direct marketers.  To a limited extent the use tax statute 
also supplements the sales tax statute by taxing transactions that the sales tax does not reach (e.g., 
telecommunications). 
 
“Use” is defined as the exercise of a right or power over tangible personal property incident to 
ownership of the property, including, but is not limited to, transactions in which possession is 
given.  This includes leases of tangible personal property.  A lessor has the option of paying sales 
or use tax on the full cost of tangible personal property acquired for lease or paying use tax on the 
stream of lease/rental receipts.  However, the lessor must first be registered for use tax to have the 
option available. 
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Certain services are also taxed “in the same manner as tangible personal property” under PA 94.  
These services are: intrastate telecommunications, interstate telecommunications that either 
originate or terminate in Michigan when billed to a Michigan address, ancillary services, 
conference bridging services, 900 services, pay telephone services other than coin-operated 
telephone services, paging services, value added nonvoice data services, accommodations (hotel, 
motel, bed and breakfasts, vacation home, cottage rental, etc.) of up to 30 continuous days, and the 
laundering or cleaning of textiles under a rental agreement with a term of at least five days. 
 
The rate has increased along with the sales tax rate over the years until reaching its current rate of 
six percent.  As with the sales tax, the use tax rate is also restricted to authorization by amendment 
to the Michigan Constitution by a vote of the people. 
 
The Individual Income Tax Return (MI-1040) has a separate line for individuals to report and pay 
their use tax liability for purchases on which they have not paid sales tax.  This includes mail order 
and Internet purchases made from out-of-state sellers that do not collect and remit Michigan sales 
or use tax, as well as purchases in foreign countries, or states that do not impose a sales tax.  
Purchases where six percent or more sales tax is paid in another state are exempt from Michigan 
use tax.  However, if a purchase is made in a state that imposes a sales tax of less than six percent 
the individual owes use tax on the difference between the sales tax rate it paid to the state of 
purchase and Michigan’s rate of six percent.  Unlike purchases in other states, credit for sales, use, 
or other excise taxes paid in a foreign country and not available. 
 

EXEMPTIONS 
In general, sales and use tax exemptions are based on what the item is, who purchases the item, 
and how the item is used.  Frequently, a qualifying exemption from the tax will be based on a 
combination of these three basic exemption types. 
 
There are currently over 100 distinct exemptions provided in the sales and use tax statutes.  
Generally, exemptions in one law are mirrored in the other, but there are instances when an 
exemption is not provided for in both laws.  Taxpayers bear the burden of proving they are entitled 
to an exemption. 
 

ADMINISTRATIVE 
Michigan began offering free electronic filing (e-file) of sales, use and withholding (SUW) returns 
through its own secure site, which includes a simple and safe electronic payment option.  The free 
e-File option is a fast and secure method for submitting monthly, quarterly, and/or annual returns 
and payments.  Some printable forms will still be available on Treasury’s Web site. 
 
As a result of the electronic filing option, Treasury will no longer mail pre-identified returns. 
 
E-file is not a requirement for most accounts, however, it is required for businesses that report 
sales collected at the four percent tax rate using Sales, Use and Withholding Taxes 4% and 6% 
Annual Return (Form 5091), completes early payment of tax on vehicle sales using Vehicle Dealer 
Supplemental Schedule (Form 5086, and ) and are fuel suppliers and wholesalers that claim credits 
for prepaid sales tax charged on their gasoline and diesel purchases using Fuel Supplier and 
Wholesaler Prepaid Sales Tax Schedule (Form 5083) or Fuel Retailer Supplemental Schedule 
(Form 5085). 
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Treasury encourages using the e-File option when available.  Visit www.mifastfile.org for a listing 
of e-file resources and information on how to find an e-file provider to assist with filing SUW 
taxes. 
 
Visit Treasury’s Web site for additional on-line services and further updates.  
 
MICHIGAN TREASURY ONLINE (MTO) 
Registration Information 
 
When a taxpayer registers their business with Michigan to obtain a sales tax license, a use tax 
registration, or to register as an employer for withholding, he or she is assigned a filing status, 
either monthly, quarterly or annually.  If their business was assigned a Federal Employer 
Identification Number (FEIN), they may register for business taxes online at 
www.michigan.gov/business.  It is imperative for the taxpayer to file and pay their taxes based on 
the filing frequency assigned.  Failure to file returns or remit payments based on the frequency 
assigned will result in a letter of inquiry being issued.  Additional action, including the issuance 
of computed assessments may result if payments and/or returns are not received.   
 
Changes to Accounts 
 
MTO is a new self-service tool which allows registered businesses the ability to access, view, and 
make changes to information that Treasury has captured from their application specific to their 
account. 
 
The goal of the MTO self-service tool is to improve the convenience and efficiency for a registered 
business tax account.  A registered business can now access their account information and submit 
account specific changes via MTO in lieu of sending a form.  MTO is easy to access, easy to 
navigate, and is available 24/7 at www.michigan.gov/business.   
 
In addition to completing the registration process for Michigan taxes on-line, using MTO services 
provides automatic notification to Treasury when the following changes are requested. 
 

 Notice of Change or Discontinuance (Form 163)  
- Update an address  
- Add or delete a tax type (exception: payroll/pension withholding tax)  
- Change months of business operation  
- Discontinue a business  
- Change a business name 
 

 Authorized Representative Declaration/Power of Attorney (Form 151)  
- Add a new representative/or delete an existing representative  
 

 Payroll Service Provider (PSP) Combined Power of Attorney & Corporate Officer 
Liability Certificate (Form 3683)  
- Add or delete a Payroll Service Provider  
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Filing Returns 
 
Monthly/Quarterly filers should complete Sales, Use and Withholding Taxes Monthly/Quarterly 
Return (Form 5080).  Form 5080 and any associated payment must be received by the due date 
and a return must be submitted even if no tax is due.  All filers will complete Sales, Use and 
Withholding Taxes Annual Return (Form 5081) which is due by February 28 to reconcile the 
account each year.  If the taxpayer needs to amend their monthly/quarterly return they will 
complete a Sales, Use and Withholding Taxes Amended Monthly/Quarterly Return (Form 5092) 
or to amend their annual return they will complete Sales, Use and Withholding Taxes Amended 
Annual Return (Form 5082).  These forms are available for e-file using MTO at 
www.michigan.gov/business. 
 
Refiners, pipeline terminal operators, and marine terminal operators in Michigan that are required 
to collect and remit prepaid sales tax (and persons purchasing or receiving fuel outside Michigan 
for shipment into and subsequent sale within Michigan which remit directly to Treasury) are 
required to file a Report of Fuel Sales Tax Prepayment and Environmental Protection Regulatory 
Fee for Refiners, Terminal Operators and Importers (Form 173) along with any associated 
payments by the due dates specified in the instructions.  Fuel retailers may claim a credit for 
prepaid sales tax charged on their gasoline and diesel purchases from suppliers or wholesalers by 
filing a Fuel Retailer Supplemental Schedule (Form 5085).  Likewise, fuel wholesalers may claim 
a credit for prepaid sales tax charged on their gasoline and diesel purchases from suppliers by filing 
Fuel Supplier and Wholesaler Prepaid Sales Tax Schedule (Form 5083).  These forms are only 
accessible when filing Form 5080 or Form 5092 electronically.  Paper filing is no longer available. 
 
Payments received after the due date are subject to statutory penalty and interest. 
 
Amending Returns  
 
Use Form 5092 to amend monthly/quarterly returns or Form 5082 to amend annual returns.  
 
Annual returns may not be amended when the withholding on a corrected Wage and Tax Statement 
(W-2) is for less than on the original W-2.  Corrections must be handled between the employer 
and the employee or by the employee on the MI-1040.  Refund requests submitted on an amended 
Form 5082 for a W-2 adjustment will not be honored. 
 
International Automated Clearing House (ACH) Transaction (IAT) 
 
Due to changes in National Automated Clearing House Association (NACHA) rules, ACH Debit 
transactions are ineligible for EFT if the financial institution account used for the electronic debit 
is funded or otherwise associated with a foreign financial institution account to the extent that the 
payment transaction would qualify as an International ACH IAT under NACHA rules.  Taxpayers 
should contact their financial institutions for questions about the status of their bank account.   
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STREAMLINED SALES AND USE TAX AGREEMENT 
Representatives from 43 states, local governments, and the business community worked for several 
years to implement the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement (Agreement).  The Agreement 
is a multi-state pact providing for a system that simplifies sales and use tax collection and 
administration by retailers and states.  Among other things, the Agreement addresses and provides 
for state-level administration of sales and use taxes, uniform definitions, rate simplification, 
uniform determination of where sales occur (sourcing), simplified exemption administration, and 
uniform audit and registration. 
  
The approval of the Agreement by the Streamlined delegates did not modify the laws of any state.  
The determination as to whether and how to implement the terms of the Agreement rests with each 
state.  Since approval of the Agreement, over 25 states have introduced or enacted legislation 
intended to conform to the provisions of the Agreement. 
 
Michigan law does not allow for local jurisdictions, such as cities or counties, to impose sales or 
use taxes.  Further, administration of sales and use tax is centralized at the state level in Treasury.  
Accordingly, Michigan law prior to Streamlined was already in compliance with the Agreement 
provisions addressing two major simplification issues.  Prior Michigan law diverged from the 
Agreement in some of its definitions and administrative provisions.  These issues included product 
definitions such as food and medical goods, administrative definitions such as what was included 
in “sales price,” and administrative provisions such as the time for filing returns.  
  
Under its terms, the Agreement would become binding and effective when at least ten states 
comprising at least 20 percent of the total population of states with a sales tax approved the 
Agreement.  That threshold was achieved on July 1, 2005 with an affirmative vote on 18 states 
that had petitioned to become members of the Agreement. 
 
Full members (states whose sales tax laws and policies are in substantial compliance with each of 
the provisions of the Agreement) include: Arkansas, Georgia, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, 
Michigan, Minnesota, Nebraska, Nevada, New Jersey, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, 
Oklahoma, Rhode Island, South Dakota, Utah, Vermont, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, 
and Wyoming.  Tennessee is an associate member state.  An associate member state will become 
a full member when certain amendments to its sales tax laws have been approved by its legislature 
become effective or following the passage of certain amendments to its conforming legislation. 
  
The Agreement became effective on October 1, 2005.  The effective date of the Agreement 
triggered a Web-based centralized point of sales tax registration for the member states, an amnesty 
period for qualified sellers, and the process for certification of software and service providers that 
will assist in sales tax collection responsibilities.  The simplified system reduces the number of 
sales tax rates, brings uniformity to definitions of items in the sales tax base, reduces the paperwork 
burden on retailers, and incorporates new technology to modernize many administrative 
procedures. 
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The Agreement is administered by the Streamlined Sales Tax Governing Board, Inc. (Governing 
Board).  The Governing Board has certified six service providers (CSPs) and three automated 
systems (CASs).  The Governing Board’s contracts with CSPs provide for compensation of the 
CSPs by the states for taxes remitted on behalf of “volunteer” sellers.  Michigan now has two 
methods to electronically receive Simplified Electronic Returns (SERs) and/or payment 
information.  Automated systems (CSPs, CASs, or proprietary systems) can upload an Extensible 
Markup Language (XML) file that includes the SER and/or payment information.  Other sellers 
who don’t utilize an automated system can complete and submit an online fillable form that 
includes the SER and/or payment information.  While current law does not require e-commerce 
and direct mail companies to collect and remit sales taxes on transactions that occur in states where 
they do not have a physical presence, it is expected that some of these companies will come 
forward and volunteer to collect taxes under the simplified system. 
 
Various bills have been introduced in Congress (e.g., Main Street Fairness Act, the Marketplace 
Fairness Act, and the Marketplace Equity Act) in the past several years that would, if passed, 
require sellers without nexus, (i.e. physical presence) in Michigan to collect and remit sales and 
use taxes on sales to Michigan customers. 
 
Information on the Streamlined Sales and Use Tax Agreement and the new simplified system can 
be found at www.streamlinedsalestax.org. 
 

LEGISLATION 
2012 PA 509 and 2013 PA 1 amended 1933 PA 167 by amending section 6a (MCL 205.56a) which 
is the statute that established the prepaid sales tax.  These acts expanded the scope of Michigan’s 
prepaid sales tax from applying only to the purchase or receipt of “gasoline” to a broader range of 
“fuel,” which includes both “gasoline” and “diesel fuel” as those terms are defined by statute.  
Taxpayers should closely examine these definitions to determine whether the fuel purchased or 
received is subject to the prepaid sales tax.  These acts also changed the frequency of Treasury’s 
prepaid sales tax rate determinations from a quarterly to a monthly basis.  Accordingly, Treasury 
will now issue new prepaid sales tax rates applicable to “gasoline” and “diesel fuel” purchases and 
receipts every month.  These changes are effective for prepayment rates in effect on and after April 
1, 2013. 
 
More detailed information regarding the impact of these acts can be found in a Notice of Prepaid 
Sales Tax Collection and Reporting Requirements Following the Enactment of Public Act 509 of 
2012 and Public Act 1 of 2013 issued by Treasury on March 20, 2013 available on Treasury’s Web 
site at www.michigan.gov/taxes. 
 
2013 PA 211, effective March 14, 2014, exempts from sales tax the sale of over-the-counter drugs 
for human use pursuant to a prescription.  The exemption also incorporates the definition of 
“prescription” and “prescription drug” as provided by the Public Health Code, MCL 
333.177708(3)-4).  However, no corresponding exemption was made to the Use Tax Act; 
therefore, vendors with nexus in Michigan are required to collect and remit use tax on sales of over 
the counter drugs even if they are sold pursuant to a prescription.  Furthermore, the definitions in 
MCL 333.17708 do not apply for use tax purposes of prescription drugs. 
 
2013 PA 160 and 234 of 2013 changed the definitions of “sales price” in the General Sales Tax 
Act and “purchase price” the Use Tax Act.  The Acts remove some or all of the trade-in allowance 
for specific-titled watercraft and vehicles from the tax base. 
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Specifically, the Acts provide that as of December 15, 2013, credit given for eligible motor 
vehicles used as partial payment for another eligible motor vehicle will not be subject to tax on the 
agreed upon value of the trade-in up to $2,000.  This deduction amount increases by $500 each 
January 1 beginning 2015, and continuing through 2030, at which point the entire agreed upon 
trade-in value will be eligible for the deduction. 
 
The deduction for motor vehicles is only available for vehicles that are required to be registered 
and titled under the Michigan Vehicle Code (MVC) pursuant to MCL 257.216 or vehicles that 
meet the MVC definition of “recreational vehicle.” The deduction only applies when the trade-in 
is to a dealer licensed in Michigan as a new or used vehicle dealership; it is not available when the 
vehicle is purchased from an out-of-state dealer not licensed as a dealer in Michigan. 
 
The Acts also provide that as of November 15, 2013, credit for the agreed-upon value of eligible 
titled watercraft used as partial payment for the purchase of a new or used titled watercraft from a 
watercraft dealer is not subject to tax up to the full value of the trade-in (no limit and no phase-in).  
To qualify for the deduction, both the trade-in watercraft and the newly purchased watercraft must 
be titled.  Titled watercraft trade-ins to out-of-state dealers do qualify for the deduction.  
 
The dealer must separately state the agreed-upon trade-in value of the motor vehicle or titled 
watercraft on the sales invoice. Motor vehicles used as partial payment for titled watercraft or titled 
watercraft used as partial payment for a motor vehicle do not qualify for the deduction. 1 MCL   
 

REVENUE ADMINISTRATIVE BULLETINS 
Revenue Administrative Bulletins (RABs) can be found on Treasury’s Web site at 
www.michigan.gov/treasury.  On Treasury’s Web page, click on Reference Library and Revenue 
Administrative Bulletins. 
 
RAB 2013-4 Exemption for Foreign Diplomatic Personnel 
 
This bulletin explains the exemption for foreign diplomatic personnel as it relates to Michigan 
sales tax, use tax, airport parking tax, and convention facility development tax, and reflects the 
changes to the appearance of personal and mission tax exemption cards issued by the U.S. 
Department of State. 
 
Notice of Prepaid Sales Tax Rates on Fuel 
 
2013 PA 1 also changed the frequency of Treasury’s prepaid sales tax rate determinations from a 
quarterly to a monthly basis.  Therefore, the bulletin will be published by the 10th of the month, 
every month, on Treasury’s Web site. 
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SPECIAL TAXES, FEES AND ASSESSMENTS 

  
OVERVIEW 
 
The Special Taxes Division is responsible for overseeing the administration of the Motor Fuel Tax, 
Tobacco Tax, International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA), Motor Fuel Tax, Severance Tax, Tobacco 
Tax, MSA/NPM escrow accounts and Equity Assessments, Airport Parking, Bottle Deposit, 
Convention Facility, Health Insurance Claims Act (HICA), HMO Use Tax, State 911 County 
Payments, and State Real Estate Transfer Tax (SRETT).  The purpose of this section is to provide 
tax preparers with instructions concerning licensing, taxable or nontaxable transactions, special 
reporting and tax payment procedures, and the rights and responsibilities of the parties involved in 
motor fuel, motor carrier, tobacco, state real estate transfer tax, and health insurance claims 
assessment transactions.  This section is not intended to be all-inclusive, but rather to provide 
general information concerning the taxes, fees, and assessments administered by the Special Taxes 
Division. 
 
Specific questions concerning motor fuel, motor carrier, oil and gas severance, tobacco tax 
licensing, and tax reporting requirements should be directed to: 
 

Michigan Department of Treasury 
Special Taxes Division 

Lansing, Michigan 48909-7974 
 

Taxing Unit Telephone Fax 
International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) Motor Carrier 517-636-4580 517-636-4593 

Motor Fuel/Severance 517-636-4600 517-636-4593 

Tobacco 517-636-4630 517-636-4631 

Misc. Taxes and Fees 517-636-0515 517-636-4593 

 
Frequently asked questions and other information can be found on Treasury’s Web site at 
www.michigan.gov/taxes.  Click on the Special Taxes and Fees link.  
 
MOTOR FUEL  
MOTOR LICENSING INFORMATION 
Application 
 
Applicants must file forms Motor Fuel Tax License Application (Form 3712), Trading Partner 
Agreement (Form 3999), and Motor Fuel Electronic Filing Application (Form 4099).  Financial 
statements are required for Terminal Operator, Supplier, Permissive Supplier, and Bonded or 
Occasional Importer licenses.  License fees are listed on the license application.  Once issued, a 
license remains in effect unless or until it is discontinued by the licensee, or revoked, canceled, or 
suspended for cause by Treasury.  Although the license does not need to be renewed annually 
Treasury may, at any time, request that a licensee provide updated information including, but not 
limited to, financial statements. 
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Account Number 
 
The licensee’s account number is the licensee’s Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN).  
If a licensee does not have an FEIN, Treasury will issue a Treasury (TR) number.  A Michigan 
Establishment (ME) number will be issued if the licensee is filing tax returns or receiving mail at 
more than one location. 
 
Bonding 
 
All Licensees must submit surety bonds unless they provide proof of financial responsibility and 
there are no indications of risk to the State of Michigan. 
 
If bonding is required, Treasury will notify the licensee in writing and will specify the amount of 
the bond required.  A bonding company licensed to do business in Michigan must issue the bond.  
It is the responsibility of the licensee to locate a bonding company.  In lieu of a surety bond, 
Treasury may accept a cash bond.  Any questions on bonding should be directed to the Special 
Taxes Division, Motor Fuel Unit, at 517-636-4600. 
 
Licenses 
 
Licenses are not transferable.  Written notice must be provided to Treasury within 30 days if there 
is a change of at least 20 percent of beneficial ownership.  Treasury will advise if a new license is 
required. 
 
If a business is sold, discontinued, or transferred, written notification must be provided to Treasury 
within three business days. 
 
Within 15 days after the discontinuance, sale, or transfer of a business, or the cancellation, 
revocation, or termination of a license, the licensee shall provide Treasury with a final return and 
shall include with the return a payment of all motor fuel taxes, penalties, and interest due. 
 

MOTOR FUEL LICENSING TYPES 
Aviation Fuel Registrant.  A person who purchases aviation fuel for resale must be registered 
with Treasury.  An Aviation Fuel Registrant is required to pay the aviation fuel tax at the time of 
purchase.  No tax return is required. 
 
Blender.  Produces blended motor fuel outside of the bulk transfer/terminal system in Michigan.  
A person must be licensed as a Blender if they blend a taxable product with a non-taxable product 
below the rack.  A person must also be licensed as a blender if they blend diesel fuel and biodiesel 
or ethanol and gasoline below the rack.  Blenders must file monthly tax returns. 
 
Bonded or Occasional Importer.  Imports motor fuel from outside the United States by transport 
truck, tank wagon, pipeline, or marine vessel for delivery into a storage facility other than a 
qualified terminal.  The Importer must be licensed or in a Canadian Province or Territory, or 
foreign country from which the fuel is imported.  Importers must also be licensed in Michigan and 
file quarterly tax returns. 
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Carrier.  Operates a pipeline or marine vessel engaged in the business of transporting motor fuel 
above the terminal rack.  While Treasury does not issue a physical document (license) to these 
accounts, they must be registered with Treasury and file monthly tax returns. 
 
Exporter.  Exports motor fuel from Michigan to another state or country.  The Exporter may be 
required to be licensed in the other state or province.  Exporters must be licensed in Michigan and 
file quarterly tax returns. 
 
Liquefied Petroleum Gas (LPG) Dealer.  Is a person who sells or delivers LPG into a 
permanently attached fuel supply tank of a motor vehicle, exchanges or replaces the fuel supply 
tank of a motor vehicle, or who delivers LPG into storage that is devoted exclusively to the storage 
of LPG to be consumed in motor vehicles on public roads or highways, or withdraws LPG from 
the cargo tank of a truck trailer or semi-trailer for the operation of a motor vehicle on public roads 
or highways of the State, whether used in vapor or liquid form.  LPG Dealers must be licensed and 
file quarterly tax returns. 
 
Permissive Supplier.  Is a position holder in a terminal outside of Michigan, or one who acquires 
fuel from a position holder in a terminal outside of Michigan in a two-party exchange and is 
registered under Internal Revenue Code (IRC) Section 4101.  A Permissive Supplier must be 
licensed and file monthly tax returns. 
 
Position Holder.  Is a person who has a contract with a terminal operator for the use of storage 
facilities and other terminal services for motor fuel at the terminal.  A Position Holder is the owner 
of the fuel in the terminal and may or may not be the terminal operator.  A Position Holder must 
be licensed and file monthly tax returns. 
 
Retail Marine Diesel Dealer.  Sells or distributes diesel fuel to an end user in Michigan for use 
in boats or other marine vessels.  Retail Marine Diesel Dealers must be licensed and file 
quarterly tax returns. 
 
Supplier.  Is a position holder in a terminal or refinery in Michigan and is registered under IRC 
Section 4101 for motor fuel transactions in the bulk transfer/terminal system; is a position holder 
in a terminal or refinery outside of Michigan from which fuel is removed and delivered to 
Michigan; is a person who acquires fuel at a terminal or refinery in Michigan from a position 
holder in a two-party exchange; or is a person who imports fuel grade ethanol or produces alcohol 
or alcohol derivative substances in Michigan or outside of Michigan for delivery to a terminal in 
Michigan, or acquires alcohol or alcohol derivative substances upon importation.   
 
Biodiesel producers must license as Suppliers.  Suppliers must license and file monthly tax 
returns. 
 
Tank Wagon Operator - Importer.  Imports motor fuel from a bulk plant in another state by tank 
wagon (or transport truck).  A Tank Wagon Operator - Importer must be licensed and file quarterly 
tax returns. 
 

Note: A person may purchase fuel from a Michigan licensed Supplier or Permissive 
Supplier outside of the State for delivery to Michigan and pre-pay the Michigan 
motor fuel tax to that Supplier or Permissive Supplier without an Importer license. 
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Terminal Operator.  Owns, operates, or controls a terminal.  All facilities in the State that produce 
motor fuel and distribute the fuel from a rack, for purposes of Public Act (PA) 403 of 2000, are 
considered a terminal and shall obtain a Terminal Operator license and file monthly tax returns 
and an annual reconciliation return. 
 
Transporter.  Is an operator of a railroad or rail car, tank wagon, transport truck, or other fuel 
transportation vehicle engaged in the business of transporting motor fuel for another person into 
or out of Michigan below the terminal rack.  A Transporter must be licensed and file quarterly tax 
returns. 

 
MOTOR FUEL TAX REPORTING INFORMATION 
Most motor fuel returns must be filed electronically.  Returns filed electronically must be 
transmitted by the due date.  Electronic payments must generally be initiated the day prior to the 
due date to be received timely.  For licensees who are not required to file electronically, returns 
with full payment, are due on the 20th of the month following the close of the reporting period.  If 
a quarterly return reporting period is from January 1 through March 31, the return is due on April 
20.  If the 20th falls on a weekend or a legal holiday, the return is due on the next business day.  If 
the U.S. Postal Service postmark is dated on or before the due date of the return, the return is 
considered timely.   
 
Tax returns must be filed even if no tax is due.  Failure to file will result in Treasury issuing 
computed assessments against a licensee’s account. 
 
Detailed instructions are provided with all tax returns and schedules.  The instructions should be 
read carefully prior to filling out the returns and schedules.  When preparing returns and 
schedules, it is imperative that the appropriate product codes be used, including codes for fuel 
grade ethanol, methanol, gasohol, biodiesel, biodiesel blends, and dyed diesel/biodiesel fuels. 
 

Suppliers, Permissive Suppliers, and Terminal Operators are required to file returns 
electronically.  Suppliers and Permissive Suppliers are required to pay the tax due on their returns 
by either Automated Clearing House (ACH) debit or credit.  Applications are available on the 
Motor Fuel Web site.  Other licensees may be required to file fuel tax returns electronically if they 
have received timely notice as required by Michigan Compiled Law (MCL) 207.1068(4). 
Additional electronic filing information can be found at www.michigan.gov/motorfuelefile. 
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Tax Return Filing Schedule 
 
Carriers 
Terminal Operators* 
Suppliers 
Permissive Suppliers 
Blenders 
Bonded Importers** 
Occasional Importers*** 
Tank Wagon Operator Importers 
Retail Marine Diesel Dealers 
Transporters 
Exporters 
LPG 

Monthly 
Monthly and Annually 
Monthly 
Monthly 
Monthly 
Quarterly 
Quarterly 
Quarterly 
Quarterly 
Quarterly 
Quarterly 
Quarterly 

 
* Monthly informational reports are filed by terminal operators.  The annual 

report is a reconciliation report and payment is due on any discrepancies. 
 
** Bonded Importers file monthly estimated payments with Motor Fuel Tax 

Payment/Proposed Adjustments Coupon (Form 4020) and then file a 
quarterly return to reconcile all activity for the reporting quarter. 

 
*** Occasional Importers must remit tax on each load imported from outside 

the United States within three business days after either the date the 
taxable fuel was delivered into Michigan or the date that a valid import 
verification number was obtained from Treasury, whichever is earlier.  
Three Day Payment Voucher (Form 3778) must accompany the payments.  
The quarterly return is filed to reconcile all activity for the reporting 
quarter. 

 
An original or amended return resulting in a refund due the licensee must be filed within four years 
from the due date of the original return. Refunds for motor fuel used in an exempt manner as 
described in MCL 207.1032 – 207.1045 must be filed within 18 months of the date of purchase 
and meet the requirements in MCL 207.1048. 
 
A return resulting in a deficiency will be assessed for a period of four years from the due date of 
the return or the date the return was filed, whichever is later. 
 
Penalty and Interest 
 
PA 403 provides for both civil and criminal penalties for violations of the Act.  Penalty and interest 
for late payment of the tax are charged per the provisions in PA 122 of 1941, as amended. 
 
GENERAL INFORMATION 
Alcohol 
 
Alcohol means fuel grade ethanol or a mixture of fuel grade ethanol and another product.  Alcohol 
is included in the definition of gasoline and is to be reported and taxed in the same manner and at 
the same time as gasoline.  Alcohol is subject to tax regardless of whether or not it has been blended 
with gasoline or other gasoline products unless an exception has been provided for in the Motor 
Fuel Tax Act.  If alcohol upon which tax has been paid is used for a nontaxable purpose, the end 
user may file a claim for refund.  Specific information related to the filing of refund claims can be 
found on Treasury’s Web site at www.michigan.gov/businesstaxes.  Click on the Motor Fuel Tax 
link, then the Motor Fuel Tax Refund link. 
  



178 

Amendments to PA 403 of 2000, effective April 1, 2003, remove methanol from the definition of 
alcohol.  The definition of gasoline includes alcohol, and methanol that is sold for blending with 
gasoline or for use on the road. 
 
Bad Debt Deduction for Licensed Suppliers 
 
Licensed Suppliers are entitled to a credit against the tax due on their return when they have 
remitted tax that was not ultimately collected from an eligible purchaser, presuming the tax has 
remained uncollected for 90 days after the date the eligible purchaser should have paid the tax. 
 
The Supplier must advise Treasury in writing of a failure to collect the tax within ten days of the 
date the eligible purchaser should have paid the tax to the Supplier. 
 
Credit must be claimed on the first return filed by the Supplier after the 90-day period has expired.  
The claim must identify the defaulting eligible purchaser and be accompanied by any 
documentation Treasury requires. 
 
If the Supplier subsequently collects any tax from the eligible purchaser for which credit has been 
claimed, the Supplier is required to remit the tax on the return filed for the period during which 
the payment was received.  The Supplier must provide a statement of explanation that identifies 
the period for which the tax was paid and any other information or documentation Treasury 
requires. 
 
Dyed Diesel/Biodiesel Fuel 
 
Dyed diesel/biodiesel fuel is exempt from the motor fuel tax unless it is used for taxable purposes. 
 
Persons licensed as Terminal Operators, Suppliers, Permissive Suppliers, Occasional, Bonded or 
Tank Wagon Operator Importers, Exporters, Transporters,  or Carriers are required to report the 
removal, importation, or exportation of dyed diesel/biodiesel fuel even though it is not taxable in 
most cases.  
 
Retail Marine Diesel Dealers must be licensed and file quarterly fuel tax reports.  Dyed 
diesel/biodiesel fuel can be used in marine vessels; however, the tax must be collected and reported 
on transactions which are not exempt. 
 

Note: It is against both State and federal law to operate a motor vehicle on public roads of 
the State using dyed diesel fuel. 

 
Eligible Purchaser 
 
An eligible purchaser meeting the requirements in MCL 207.1075 may delay payment of the motor 
fuel tax to the Supplier to one business day before the tax is due to Treasury as described in MCL 
207.1074. 
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Exports 
 
Although PA 403 imposes tax on motor fuel upon importation or upon removal across a terminal 
rack, there are some situations in which the fuel is exported where the tax does not apply. 
 
Licensed Suppliers are not required to remit Michigan motor fuel tax when they remove fuel across 
a terminal rack in Michigan for delivery to a location outside of Michigan if they are licensed for 
motor fuel tax in the destination state.  Licensed Suppliers who sell fuel at a rack in Michigan 
to other licensed Suppliers for immediate export are not required to collect tax from the licensed 
Supplier to whom they are selling if the Supplier purchasing the fuel is licensed for motor fuel 
tax in the destination state. 
 
Suppliers who sell motor fuel to Exporters licensed with Treasury or to other persons for 
immediate export are not required to collect the Michigan motor fuel tax if proof of export is 
available in the form of a terminal-issued shipping paper, and the Supplier has pre-collected the 
destination state tax. 
 
Not all states have the statutory provisions to allow pre-collection of their tax by Suppliers.  If 
motor fuel is sold by Michigan Suppliers to licensed Exporters or other persons for delivery to a 
state that does not allow pre-collection, the Michigan tax must be charged.  Suppliers are 
required to issue, or instruct the terminal operator to issue, shipping papers that meet the 
requirements listed in MCL 207.1103(d) indicating the state to which the fuel is to be delivered 
and specifying that Michigan tax has been paid or accrued by the Supplier.  If the purchaser 
subsequently pays tax to the destination state, the purchaser may submit proof to Treasury and 
request refunds of the Michigan motor fuel tax using the refund claims process. 
 
There are also instances where the destination states do not impose tax on a particular type of fuel 
that is being purchased for export to their state.  When this occurs, Suppliers will not charge the 
Michigan motor fuel tax if the purchaser is a licensed Exporter.  The Suppliers must issue, or 
instruct the terminal operators to issue, shipping papers that meet the requirements listed in MCL 
207.1103(d) indicating the state to which the fuel is to be delivered, specifying the delivery is 
subject to the statutory requirements of the destination state, and Michigan tax has not been paid 
or accrued.   
 

Note: If the purchaser is not licensed with Treasury as an Exporter, the Suppliers must 
charge the Michigan tax. 

 
Fuel Diversions 
 
PA 403 requires payment of the tax when fuel is diverted to Michigan from its original state of 
destination.  The Act further provides for refunds under certain circumstances when fuel is diverted 
from Michigan to a location outside of the State.  In either instance, specific requirements must be 
met. 
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Fuel Diversion Numbers 
 
When fuel is diverted from its original state of destination, the owner of the fuel, or the shipper if 
other than the owner, must obtain a fuel diversion number no later than the next business day after 
the diversion takes place.  An owner can register to report future diversions of Michigan tax-paid 
fuel to another state or Canada or fuel diverted to Michigan by visiting www.trac3.net, clicking on 
Registration, and entering the required company information.  The company identification 
information only has to be entered once.  Information can be verified by clicking on the Confirm 
option. 
 
Because Internet access may be limited at certain times, Treasury can be called for a diversion 
number at 517-636-4600, Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. 
 
Diversions-In 
 
Importers are required to report and pay tax on fuel diverted to Michigan when the shipping paper 
indicates a different state of destination. 
 
Licensed Bonded Importers must remit tax on fuel diverted from an original state of destination 
other than Michigan to a location in Michigan on Motor Fuel Tax Payment/Proposed Adjustments 
Coupon (Form 4020).  The transactions are then reported quarterly on Fuel Importer Return (Form 
3992). 
 
Licensed Occasional Importers must remit tax on diverted fuel within three business days on Three 
Day Payment Voucher (Form 3778).  The transactions are then reported quarterly on Form 3992. 
 
Licensed Tank Wagon Operator-Importers must report the transactions on Fuel Importer Return 
Form 3992 and remit tax. 
 
When unlicensed importers divert fuel to Michigan from the original state of destination, payment 
is required within three business days after the date taxable fuel is delivered into Michigan.  The 
collection cost allowance is not available. 
 
Licensed Exporters who divert fuel from its original state of destination to Michigan must also pay 
the tax within three business days after the date the taxable fuel is delivered into Michigan.  Again, 
the collection cost allowance is not available. 
 
If an Importer or licensed Exporter purchased the diverted fuel from a Michigan licensed Supplier, 
the Importer or licensed Exporter may enter into an agreement with the Supplier to have the 
Supplier collect and remit the tax.  The agreement must include, at a minimum, the names of the 
parties to the agreement, the date the agreement was made, the fuel type, and the number of gallons 
of fuel.  The Supplier must fax or mail a copy of the agreement to Special Taxes Division, Motor 
Fuel Unit, by the due date of the return period in which the diversion took place. 
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Diversions-Out 
 
Exporters may seek a refund of the Michigan motor fuel tax, less the collection cost allowance, 
when tax-paid fuel originally destined for Michigan is diverted to a location outside of the State.  
Licensed and unlicensed exporters must submit a written request for refund along with a copy of 
the diversion, invoice, bill of lading, and proof of destination state tax paid. 
 
The Exporter is required to obtain a fuel diversion number by the next business day after the 
diversion takes place. 
 
Fuel Imported From Outside the United States 
 
If motor fuel upon which tax was not prepaid to a Michigan licensed Supplier or Permissive 
Supplier is to be imported from another country, an import verification number must be obtained 
from Treasury within 24 hours before entering Michigan for each load imported.  The person 
bringing the fuel into Michigan from another country must call the toll-free line at 1-888-213-0676 
to obtain the import verification number.  The line is available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. 
 

Note: If a person diverting fuel into Michigan has obtained the required fuel diversion 
number, they do not need to contact Treasury for an import verification number.  
Bonded Importers are required to remit monthly estimated tax payments with Form 
4020 or by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) on or before the 20th day of the month 
following the close of the previous month.  A quarterly return must then be filed to 
reconcile activity for the full reporting quarter.  The estimated payments are 
deducted from the calculated tax due on the return.  The quarterly return is due on 
the 20th of the month following the close of the reporting quarter. 

 
Occasional Importers are required to remit tax on fuel imported from outside the United States 
on Form 3778 within three business days after the date taxable fuel is delivered into Michigan or 
after the date the valid import verification number is obtained from Treasury, whichever is earlier.  
A quarterly return is then filed to reconcile all activity for the full reporting quarter.  Payments are 
deducted from the calculated tax due on the return.  The quarterly return is due on the 20th of the 
month following the close of the reporting quarter. 
 
Invoicing 
 
Motor fuel retailers should properly invoice the sales of motor fuel.  Proper invoicing facilitates 
the customers’ ability to file refund claims and prepare any fuel tax returns that may be due. 
 
A properly prepared invoice should contain the following information: 
 

1. Seller’s name, address, and account number (FEIN, TR, or ME);  
 
2. Date of sale;  
 
3. Name of purchaser.  For motor carrier fuel tax purposes, if the purchaser is in a lease 

agreement, a receipt will be accepted in either name (lessor or lessee), provided a legal 
connection can be made between the parties;  
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4. Type of fuel sold;  
 
5. Number of gallons sold;  
 
6. Motor fuel tax rate charged to the customer;  
 
7. Signature of the purchaser or purchaser’s agent and the seller or seller’s agent; and  
 
8. Invoices must be prepared in duplicate, with the original invoice furnished to the 

purchaser and the copy kept by the seller for four years. 
 
Invoicing Tax-Exempt Undyed Diesel Fuel Sales 
 
Undyed tax-exempt diesel retail fuel sales are limited to 100 gallons or less per transaction.  If 
more than 100 gallons are purchased, the tax must be charged and the purchaser must file a claim 
for refund if the fuel is consumed in a nontaxable manner.  It is important to note the claim for 
refund must be filed within 18 months from the date of purchase of the motor fuel. 
 
A properly prepared invoice for tax-exempt sales of diesel fuel in quantities of 100 gallons or less 
must include the following: 
 

1. Seller’s name, address, and account number (FEIN, TR, or ME);  
 
2. Date of sale;  
 
3. Name of purchaser;  
 
4. Descriptions of tax-exempt sale (e.g., home heating, nonhighway equipment, etc.);  
 
5. Type of fuel sold;  
 
6. Number of gallons sold;  
 
7. Price per gallon, including the full tax rate;  
 
8. A separate line showing a credit for the Michigan motor fuel tax charged in item 7 or 

a statement that no Michigan motor fuel tax is included in the price per gallon;  
 
9. Signature of the purchaser or purchaser’s agent and the seller or seller’s agent; and 
 

10. Invoices must be prepared in duplicate, with the original invoice furnished to the 
purchaser and the copy kept by the seller for four years. 
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Record Keeping 
 
Shipping Papers 
 
Refineries, terminal operators, and operators of bulk plants, with the exception of bulk plant 
operators who deliver into tank wagons, must issue automated machine-generated shipping 
papers.  The papers are to be provided to the driver of the fuel transportation vehicle or operator 
of a train pulling a rail car transporting fuel, and must include all of the following: 
 

1. Address and terminal number of the facility from which the fuel is removed or the 
address of the bulk plant from which the fuel is withdrawn;  

 
2. Date the fuel is removed or withdrawn;  

 
3. Gross and net gallons removed or withdrawn;  
 
4. State of destination as represented by the transporter, shipper, or shipper’s agent; and  

 
5. Notices required by PA 403.  MCL 207.1103, 1112, and 1113 impose requirements 

for the placement of notices on shipping papers (e.g., Dyed Diesel Fuel, Nontaxable 
Use Only, Penalty for Taxable Use). 

 
When unforeseen circumstances prevent the issuance of automated machine-generated shipping 
papers, the refinery, terminal, or bulk plant operator may issue a manually prepared shipping paper 
provided the following requirements are met: 
 

• The refinery, terminal, or bulk plant operator is required to contact Treasury to obtain 
a Service Interruption Authorization Number, which will be valid for a period of not 
more than 24 hours.  If the cause of the service interruption is not corrected within 24 
hours, the refinery, terminal, or bulk plant operator must contact Treasury for another 
number at 1-888-213-0676.  The automated telephone system is available 24 hours a 
day, 7 days a week. 

 
• The Service Interruption Authorization Number must be included on the shipping 

papers. 
 
Shipping papers must be maintained at the delivery location for a 30-day period. 
 
All records must be kept for a period of four years from the due date of the return or the date the 
return was filed, whichever is later.  These records may be kept at the delivery location or another 
business location of the licensee.   
 
Accurate and complete records of all transactions must be maintained for no less than four years.  
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Right to Examine Records 
 
Treasury has the authority to audit and examine records, books, papers, and equipment of any 
person including, but not limited to, licensees and bulk end users to ensure that the tax imposed by 
PA 403 has been paid. 
 
At the request of Treasury, the person is required to make the records, books, or papers available 
at the person’s place of business in Michigan, or at Treasury’s location if the records are 
maintained at a location outside of the State, within three business days. 
 
Failure to comply may result in civil and/or criminal penalties. 
 

RETAIL MARINE DIESEL DEALERS 
Retail Marine Diesel Dealers are required to license and file quarterly fuel tax returns.  Retail 
Marine Diesel Dealers can purchase undyed diesel/biodiesel fuel tax paid.  Dyed diesel/biodiesel 
fuel can be purchased tax free but tax is due on the quarterly returns for all fuel sold to nonexempt 
entities. 
 
The Natural Resources and Environmental Protection Act (PA 451 of 1994) imposes a privilege 
tax on all gasoline and diesel fuel sold in Michigan which is used to generate power for the 
operation or propulsion of vessels on the waterways of the State. 
 
Diesel fuel consumed in the watercraft cited below is exempt from the marine waterways tax: 
  

• Watercraft used for commercial fishing;  
• Watercraft used by Sea Scouts;  
• Watercraft used in interstate or foreign commerce;  
• Watercraft used by the Federal, State, or Local Government;  
• Watercraft owned by a railroad or railroad car ferry company; or 
• Watercraft used in trade, including watercraft used in connection with an activity 

which constitutes a person’s chief business or livelihood. 
 

Note: It is the responsibility of the Retail Marine Diesel Dealer to collect the marine 
diesel/biodiesel fuel tax from any vessel that is not exempt from the tax, whether 
the fuel is dyed or undyed diesel/biodiesel fuel. 

 
 Please see above reference to Dyed Diesel/Biodiesel Fuel for additional 

clarification. 

 
Who Must Be Licensed as a Retail Marine Diesel Dealer 
 
A licensed Retail Marine Diesel Dealer is any person who engages in the business of selling or 
distributing diesel/biodiesel motor fuel into boats or other marine vessels or into the bulk storage 
of an unlicensed end user of marine fuel. 
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General Information on Marine Retail Sales of Motor Fuel 
 
PA 451 imposes tax on fuel used in vessels on the waterways of the State at the same rate as the 
tax imposed under PA 403.  PA 451 further requires that the tax be collected in the same manner 
and at the same time as PA 403. 
 
PA 403 prohibits the use of dyed diesel/biodiesel fuel on public roads and highways of the State; 
however, it does not prohibit the use of dyed diesel/biodiesel fuel in marine vessels. 
 
Dyed diesel/biodiesel fuel is exempt from the tax under PA 403 so Retail Marine Diesel Dealers 
can acquire dyed diesel/biodiesel fuel without payment of the tax to their fuel supply source.  If 
untaxed dyed diesel/biodiesel fuel is sold for a taxable purpose, Retail Marine Diesel Dealers must 
collect the marine fuel tax from the customer and remit the tax with the return. 
 
A Retail Marine Diesel Dealer cannot take credit for dyed diesel/biodiesel fuel acquisitions on the 
returns, as the fuel supply source should not have charged the tax.  
 
A Retail Marine Diesel Dealer can also acquire undyed diesel/biodiesel fuel.  If undyed 
diesel/biodiesel fuel is acquired, the Retail Marine Diesel Dealer must pay the full tax rate to the 
fuel supply source. 
 
When sales of undyed diesel/biodiesel fuel are made, the Retail Marine Diesel Dealer will receive 
a credit on the return for the tax paid to the fuel supply source. 
 
Tax-free sales of undyed diesel/biodiesel fuel into marine vessels are limited to 100 gallons 
per sale.  If more than 100 gallons of undyed diesel/biodiesel fuel is delivered into a vessel, the 
tax must be charged. The purchaser, if eligible, may file a claim for refund of the motor fuel tax. 
 
Invoicing Tax-Exempt Sales of Marine Diesel/Biodiesel Fuel 
 
A properly prepared invoice for tax-free sales of marine diesel/biodiesel fuel, whether dyed or 
undyed, must contain the following information: 

 
1. Seller’s name, address, and account number (FEIN, TR, or ME) 
 
2. Date of sale 
 
3. Name of purchaser 
 
4. Type of tax-exempt sale (e.g., Sea Scouts, commercial fisherman, etc.) 
 
5. Type of fuel sold (dyed or undyed diesel or biodiesel) 
 
6. Number of gallons sold 
 
7. Price per gallon including tax 
 
8. A separate line showing a credit for the waterways tax charged in item 7 or a statement 

that no Michigan motor fuel tax is included in the price per gallon 
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9. Signature of the purchaser or purchaser’s agent and the seller or seller’s agent  
 
10. Invoices must be prepared in duplicate, with the original invoice furnished to the 

purchaser and the copy kept by the seller for four years. 
 
Returns and Schedules 
 
A licensed Retail Marine Diesel Dealer may file the following forms electronically using Web 
direct fillable forms or on paper: 
 

Retail Marine Diesel Dealer Schedule of Receipts (Form 3767) 
Retail Marine Diesel Dealer Tax Return (Form 3769) 
Retail Marine Diesel Dealer Schedule of Disbursements (Form 4429) 
 

LPG  
The use of LPG in a highway vehicle upon Michigan roads and highways is taxable under the 
provisions of PA 403. 
 
Definitions of Terms Used  
 
LPG.  Gases derived from petroleum or natural gases which are in the gaseous state at normal 
atmospheric temperature and pressure, but may be maintained in the liquid state at normal 
atmospheric temperature by suitable pressure.  LPG includes those products predominately 
composed of propane, propylene, butylene, butane, and similar products. 
 
LPG Dealer.  A person who is licensed under the requirements listed in MCL 207.1153 to use 
LPG.   
 
Use, Used, or Uses.  Means any of the following: 
 

1. Selling or delivering LPG not otherwise subject to tax under the Act, either by placing 
it into a permanently attached fuel supply tank of a motor vehicle or exchanging or 
replacing of the fuel supply tank of a motor vehicle. 

 
2. Delivery of LPG into storage devoted exclusively to the storage of LPG to be 

consumed in motor vehicles on public roads or highways. 
 
3. Withdrawing LPG from the cargo tank of a truck, trailer, or semi-trailer for the 

operation of a motor vehicle upon public roads and highways, whether used in vapor 
or liquid form. 

 
Who Must Be Licensed as an LPG Dealer 
 
Persons who must be licensed as LPG Dealers are those who perform any of the operations as 
outlined in the “Definition of Terms Used” section under the terms “Use, Used, or Uses.” 
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Returns and Schedules 
 
A licensed LPG Dealer must file the following form electronically using a Web direct fillable form 
or on paper: 
 

Dealer’s Liquid Petroleum Gas Tax Return (Form 577) 
 

IFTA MOTOR CARRIER TAX GENERAL INFORMATION 
Interstate motor carriers are regulated under the Motor Carrier Fuel Tax Act (PA 119) and the 
International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA). 
 
Intrastate motor carriers are not required to license or report for fuel tax purposes. 
 
The IFTA is an agreement between all of the contiguous states in the U.S. and most Canadian 
provinces. 
 
Under the IFTA, motor carriers file a fuel tax license application with their base jurisdiction and 
the base jurisdiction issues the motor carrier credentials.  Credentials consist of a license and a set 
of decals for each power unit.  Credentials are valid for licensing purposes in all participating IFTA 
jurisdictions through the end of the calendar year in which they are issued.  Credentials must be 
renewed annually. 
 
The IFTA motor carrier files quarterly returns with the base jurisdiction, reporting fuel purchases 
and miles traveled in all jurisdictions. 
 
The tax on diesel fuel is set quarterly.  
 

HIGHLIGHTS 
The U.S. Customs Service granted Class 9 Customs Bonded Warehouse status effective September 
5, 2000, to the Ammex, Inc. facility adjacent to the Ambassador Bridge at 3400 W. Lafayette, 
Detroit, Michigan. 
 
Recent court decisions granted the Ammex, Inc. facility the right to sell gasoline and diesel fuel 
tax free, effective September 5, 2000, when they were granted their current status. 
 
Diesel fuel purchased at the Ammex, Inc. facility does not include the Michigan fuel tax and may 
not be claimed as a tax-paid purchase on the IFTA return.  
 
Dyed Diesel Fuel 
 
The use of dyed diesel fuel in vehicles on the public roads and highways is prohibited and violators 
are subject to severe penalties. 
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A motor carrier may designate a bulk storage tank for dyed diesel fuel for use in off-road 
equipment.  The motor carrier is required to keep a log of fuel disbursements from this tank.  This 
log must have the date of the disbursement, gallons disbursed, and the identification of the 
equipment being fueled. 
 
Refunds for Certain Attached Equipment 
 
MCL 207.1045 provides for a refund of fuel tax paid on undyed diesel fuel consumed in attached 
equipment.  The statute defines attached equipment as equipment used by the end user in the 
regular course of their business that is powered by diesel fuel from the common fuel supply tank.  
Attached equipment includes, but is not limited to, certain pumping, spraying, seeding, spreading, 
shredding, lifting, winching, dumping, cleaning, mixing, processing, and refrigeration equipment.  
Attached equipment does not include a heater, air conditioner, radio, or any other equipment that 
is used in the cab of the motor vehicle and does not include any other equipment that Treasury 
determines does not meet this definition. 
 
To qualify for the attached equipment refund, vehicles must be exclusively used for business or 
commercial purposes.  The refund does not apply to automobiles even if they are used for business 
or commercial purposes. 
 
The attached equipment refund is limited to 15 percent of the tax paid on fuel consumed in highway 
vehicles that qualify for the refund.  If claimants believe that a different percentage should be 
allowed, they should contact Special Taxes Division, Motor Fuel, for instructions. 
 
The refund must be claimed within 18 months from the date of the fuel purchase. 
 

Notes: There are no provisions in the Motor Carrier Fuel Tax Act or the IFTA Articles of 
Agreement for the nonhighway use of motor fuel in a highway vehicle.  The attached 
equipment refund provisions are found in Michigan’s Motor Fuel Tax Act (PA 403 
of 2000).  The attached equipment claim for refund is strictly a Michigan provision 
and consideration for certain attached equipment cannot be taken on the IFTA fuel 
tax return. 

 
 A motor carrier cannot adjust the IFTA fuel tax returns for fuel consumed in 

attached equipment.  This includes, but is not limited to, the “Taxable Miles” and 
“Taxable Gallons” columns on the IFTA fuel tax return. 

 
Questions concerning motor carrier licensing and tax reporting requirements can be e-mailed to 
IFTA_licensing@michigan.gov, or write to Treasury at: 
 

Michigan Department of Treasury 
Special Taxes Division – IFTA Tax Unit 

P.O. Box 30474 
Lansing, Michigan  48909-7974 

 
The Special Taxes Division, IFTA Tax Unit, may also be contacted at 517-636-4580. 
 



189 

Who Must Be Licensed as an IFTA Motor Carrier 

Persons operating interstate “qualified motor vehicles” must be licensed as IFTA motor carriers.  
IFTA defines a “qualified motor vehicle” as a motor vehicle used, designed, or maintained for 
transportation of persons or property and: 
 

• Having two axles and a gross vehicle weight or registered gross vehicle weight 
exceeding 26,000 pounds or 11,797 kilograms; or  

 
• Having three or more axles regardless of weight; or 

 
• Is used in combination when the weight of such combination exceeds 26,000 pounds or 

11,797 kilograms gross vehicle or registered gross vehicle weight.   
 
When counting the axles to determine if a vehicle or combination of vehicles qualify for licensing, 
the axles on the trailing unit are not counted, only the axles on the power unit are counted. 
 
In order for recreational vehicles to qualify for IFTA purposes, they must meet the above 
requirements and be used in connection with a business endeavor. 
 
IFTA Base Jurisdiction 
 
R212 of the IFTA Articles of Agreement defines base jurisdiction as “the jurisdiction where 
qualified motor vehicles are based for vehicle registration purposes” and: 
 

.100 Where the operational control and operational records of the licensee’s qualified 
motor vehicles are maintained or can be made available; and 

 
.200 Where some travel is accrued by qualified motor vehicles within the fleet.  The 

commissioners of two or more affected jurisdictions may allow a person to 
consolidate several fleets that would otherwise be based in two or more 
jurisdictions 

 
IFTA Account Number 
 
The account number for an IFTA motor carrier is the FEIN.  If the IFTA carrier does not have an 
FEIN, the IFTA Articles of Agreement require that the motor carrier use an owner’s, partner’s, or 
corporate officer’s Social Security number (SSN) for identification purposes.  The account number 
printed on the license and returns will be the FEIN or SSN preceded by “MI” and followed by a 
fleet designator (usually “00”).  If several fleets are involved, the last two-digits may be “01,” 
“02,” “03,” etc. 
 
If an interstate motor carrier does not have an FEIN, Treasury will issue a TR number for general 
tax purposes; however, this number will not be printed on the license or as the IFTA account 
number on the tax return.  A TR number will only be used for refunds or tax assessments. 
 
  



190 

IFTA carriers are encouraged to contact the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) to obtain an FEIN if 
they do not already have one.  The IRS can be reached at 800-829-4933 or at www.irs.gov. 
 
IFTA New and Renewal Applications 
 
Michigan IFTA Fuel Tax License Application must be completed by a new applicant, or a prior 
licensee who has been discontinued for more than one quarter.  To ensure prompt processing of 
the IFTA application, applicants must complete all sections, including the corporate officer 
information.  Applications with missing information cannot be processed. 
 
Renewal Application for Michigan IFTA Fuel Tax License for the upcoming year is available 
online beginning November 1 of the current year to all IFTA carriers who are currently licensed.  
The IFTA license year is January 1 through December 31.  Renewal applications should be filed 
as soon as possible to ensure credentials will be received by the carrier on time.  There is no fee 
associated with renewal.   
 

Note: Renewal applications will not be processed unless all required IFTA tax returns 
have been filed and outstanding IFTA tax liabilities have been paid or payment 
arrangements have been made. 

 
Carriers that do not leave the State or file zero reports for three consecutive quarters may not be 
renewed.  Vehicles that qualify for IFTA licensing cannot legally leave the State without valid 
IFTA credentials or trip permits. 
 
IFTA Temporary Decal Permits 
 
A licensed IFTA Motor Carrier can obtain a temporary decal permit for a qualified motor 
vehicle(s).  Temporary decal permits are valid for a period of 30 days.  This allows enough time 
for Treasury to process the motor carrier’s request for additional decals and for the motor carrier 
to affix decals to the vehicle(s).  Temporary decal permits are vehicle-specific and temporarily 
take the place of the motor carrier’s additional decals.  To qualify for a temporary decal permit, 
the motor carrier must already be licensed for the tax year.  Temporary permits are not issued 
to applicants who are filing their first application or first renewal application for the tax year. 
 
Trip Permits 
 
A motor carrier located outside of the State can get a five-day fuel tax trip permit which allows the 
motor carrier to operate a “qualified motor vehicle” in Michigan that has not been licensed for 
IFTA fuel tax purposes.  These permits are vehicle-specific and valid for five consecutive days.  
Permits can be obtained from the various permitting services and the fee is $20 per permit plus 
any fees the permitting service may charge.  Michigan limits the purchase of fuel tax trip permits 
to three per calendar year. 
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IFTA Grace Period for Licensing 

The IFTA license year runs from January 1 through December 31.  Renewal applications are due 
by December 31 each year. A licensed IFTA carrier has until the last day in February of the new 
license year to display that year’s decals.  While this gives motor carriers who have applied a two-
month grace period after the license year ends, they are encouraged to apply for the next year’s 
license and decals as soon as possible.  IFTA carriers waiting until December 31 to apply for their 
next year’s license run the risk of not receiving their credentials prior to the expiration of the grace 
period.  This lapse in licensing may result in the motor carrier being cited by law enforcement 
agencies for not having a current fuel tax license.  All activity conducted under the prior year 
decals must be reported. 
 
Bonding 
 
Treasury may require bonding as a condition of licensing.  If bonding is required, Treasury will 
notify the IFTA carrier in writing and will specify the amount of the required bond.  A bonding 
company licensed to do business in Michigan must issue the bond.  It is the responsibility of the 
motor carrier to locate a bonding company.  In lieu of a surety bond, Treasury may accept a cash 
bond.  Any questions on bonding should be directed to the Special Taxes Division, IFTA Tax Unit, 
at 517-636-4580. 
 
License Revocation 
 
IFTA carriers may have their licenses revoked if they fail to file IFTA fuel tax returns and pay the 
tax when due.  If an IFTA carrier’s license is being reviewed for revocation, Treasury will notify 
the motor carrier in writing of the time and place for a “show cause” hearing.  At the hearing, the 
IFTA carrier will have the opportunity to discuss the delinquency with Treasury and arrange for 
corrective action.  Failure to appear at the “show cause” hearing or failure to comply with 
conditions set forth in the hearing will result in the immediate revocation of the IFTA carrier’s fuel 
tax license.  Once an IFTA carrier’s fuel tax license is revoked, the IFTA carrier, or the IFTA 
carrier’s representative, may not operate the “qualified vehicles” until the reason for the revocation 
has been remedied.  If an IFTA carrier does operate a qualified vehicle with a revoked fuel tax 
license, law enforcement agencies may impound the vehicle.  This can become costly for the IFTA 
carrier as they will be held liable for storage fees and any other fees involved in impounding the 
vehicle. 

 
IFTA Fuel Tax Returns and Schedules 
 
The following returns and schedules must be filed by licensed IFTA carriers: 

 
• IFTA Quarterly Fuel Use Tax Return (Form IFTA-100) 
• IFTA Quarterly Fuel Use Tax Schedule (Form IFTA-101) 

 
The following forms are used in preparing the IFTA fuel tax return: 

• IFTA Final Fuel Use Tax Rate and Rate Code Table (Form IFTA-105)  
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Note: This form is revised quarterly because of tax rate changes in the 
participating jurisdictions.   

 
• Continuation of The IFTA-105 - IFTA Final Fuel Use Tax Rate and Rate Code Table 

(Form IFTA-105.1) 
 

Note: This form is revised quarterly because of tax rate changes in the 
participating jurisdictions.   

 
Be sure to use the correct rate code tables for the quarterly return being filed.  Updated rate 
codes are available on Treasury’s Web site at www.michigan.gov/ifta 
 
Electronic Filing of IFTA Returns 
 
IFTA carriers are encouraged to file their IFTA returns electronically.  Beginning with the 4th 
quarter 2014 returns (due January 31, 2015), Michigan is requiring all IFTA quarterly tax returns 
to be filed electronically.  Credit and debit electronic EFTs can also be made after an application 
has been completed and approved.  Information is available on Treasury’s Web site at 
www.michigan.gov/ifta 
 
IFTA Record Keeping Requirements 
 
IFTA carriers must keep records of all fuel purchases and mileage.  IFTA carriers must report fuel 
purchases and miles traveled in each jurisdiction.  The motor carrier is required to keep a log of 
fuel disbursements from bulk storage tanks into IFTA qualified vehicles.  This log must have the 
date of the disbursement, gallons disbursed, and the identification of the equipment being fueled.  
Records must be kept for a minimum of four years from the due date of the return or the date the 
return was filed, whichever is later. 
 
Farm plated vehicles have special reporting requirements.  See the notice on Treasury’s Web site 
at www.michigan.gov/taxes (click on the Fuel and Tobacco Tax link). 
 
Inadequate record keeping is a primary reason why fuel tax deficiencies are discovered in a field 
audit.  If an IFTA carrier fails to keep adequate fuel purchase and mileage records, the statute 
requires that Treasury adjust the fleet average mileage to four miles per gallon. 
 
Due Date of Return 

IFTA returns are due quarterly on January 31, April 30, July 31, and October 31.  If the due date 
of the return falls on a weekend or legal holiday, the return is due on the next business day.  If the 
U.S. Postal Service postmark date is on or before the due date of the return, the return is considered 
timely. 
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Penalty and Interest Provisions 
 
Penalty is charged pursuant to the IFTA Articles of Agreement R1220.  The penalty charge is $50 or 
ten percent of the tax due, whichever is greater.  IFTA carriers are also subject to the penalty provisions 
in MCL 205.23 or 205.24 for failure to pay taxes in a timely manner when assessed.   
 
In addition, Treasury, on a case-by-case basis, may charge discretionary penalties as provided for in  
MCL 205.23. 
 
Interest is also charged for late payment of tax on a return.  R1230 of the IFTA Articles of Agreement 
provide an annual interest rate of two percentage points above the underpayment rate established under 
Section 6621(a)(2) of the IRC, adjusted on an annual basis on January 1 of each year for carriers based 
in U.S. jurisdictions.  Canadian IFTA carriers pay a rate equal to the Canadian Federal Treasury Bill 
rate plus two percent and the rate is adjusted every calendar quarter. 
 
Interest for IFTA carriers is calculated separately for each jurisdiction.  An overpayment in one 
jurisdiction shall not affect the interest calculation for any other jurisdiction.  Because interest is 
charged on an individual jurisdictional basis and not on the net amount of tax due, the interest can 
sometimes exceed the amount of tax due. 
 
Lease Agreements 
 
Lease agreements are a common practice in the motor carrier industry.  This practice can and does 
complicate the filing and processing of fuel tax returns.  Many IFTA carriers have found 
themselves facing large tax liabilities because they failed to understand who has the tax reporting 
responsibility under a lease agreement.  The following may assist IFTA carriers in lease situations: 
 

• Before signing a lease agreement, be sure the fuel tax licensing and reporting 
requirements for both the lessor and the lessee are acknowledged in writing.  

 
• Lessors should not assume the other party is filing the fuel tax returns on their behalf. 

 
• Lessors should cancel their IFTA fuel tax license if they are in a lease agreement where 

all of the following conditions have been met: 
 

 Lessee has provided the fuel decals and a copy of the license for the vehicle and the 
license and decals are in the lessee’s name.   
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Note: If the license and decals are not in lessee’s name, contact the Special 
Taxes Division, IFTA Tax Unit, at 517-636-4580 for instructions.  
Lessee has agreed, in writing, to file for the activity of the lessor on the 
lessee’s fuel tax returns. 

 
 Lessee has exclusive use of the equipment. 

 
• IFTA licensees are required to file quarterly returns as long as they maintain an active 

account.  This is true even if the licensee is in a lease agreement where another party 
has provided the credentials and agreed to report all activity.  If the licensee is in a 
long-term lease agreement, the licensee’s individual account should be canceled. 

 
• If a licensee decides to maintain an individual account while in a lease agreement, a 

“no activity” return must be filed.  A legible copy of the lease agreement should be 
attached to the return. 

 
• If no return is filed, estimated assessments will be issued against the licensee. 
 
• The lease agreement should clearly state who has the fuel tax licensing and tax 

reporting responsibility.  If the lessee does not have exclusive use of the equipment, the 
lessor must account for the use of the equipment when the lessee is not using it.  
Sometimes equipment has multiple lessees and the lessor must account for the activity 
of each lessee. 

 
• It is important to remember the lessor and lessee may be held jointly and severally 

liable for any liability created by the operation of the leased vehicle. 
 
Discontinuance of Business 
 
If a motor carrier ceases to engage in business in Michigan, the motor carrier shall notify Treasury 
in writing within 15 days after discontinuance.  When filing a final fuel tax return, the motor carrier 
should check the box marked “Cancel License.”  If the motor carrier fails to check the box, 
Treasury may issue estimated tax assessments for failure to file fuel tax returns as it is presumed 
the motor carrier is still operating. 
 
OIL AND GAS SEVERANCE 
General Information 
 
The oil and gas severance tax is levied upon each producer engaged in the business of severing oil 
or gas from the soil.  The Michigan Oil and Gas Severance Tax Act, MCL 205.303, places the 
responsibility of reporting and paying the severance tax on the producer of Michigan oil and gas.  
The Act also requires that if the common purchaser deducts the tax from payments paid to the 
producer, the common purchaser is required to remit the tax to Treasury. 
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Definition of Key Terms  
 
Producer.  A person who owns or is entitled to delivery of a share in kind or a share of the 
monetary proceeds from the sale of gas or oil at the time of its production or severance. 
 
Taxpayers are not required to be licensed, but additional information may be required to determine 
the reporting responsibility for each well. 
 
Monthly tax returns are due on the 25th of each month following the preceding month of production 
of the severed product.  Returns not filed by the 25th are subject to the late filing penalty and 
interest provisions of the Michigan Revenue Act MCL 205.1 et. seq. 
 
Due to the nature of the industry of severing gas and oil from the soil, a taxpayer may elect to file 
an estimated liability and payment.  For more information concerning estimated tax payments, see 
Revenue Administrative Bulletin (RAB) 1989-14. 
 
Tax Rates 
 
Severance tax rates are: 
 

• Oil:  6.6 percent of gross cash market value 
• Oil - Marginal or stripper wells:  4 percent of gross cash market value 
• Gas:  5 percent of gross cash market value. 

 
Oil and Gas Fee 
 
There is a maximum fee of 1 percent of the gross cash market value on gas and oil.  This fee may 
vary annually.  For the latest fee information, visit Treasury’s Web site at www.michigan.gov/taxes 
or call the Special Taxes Division, Severance Tax Unit, at 517-636-4600. 
 
Tax Returns and Schedules 
 
Severance tax returns and schedules are also available on Treasury’s Web site.   

• Oil Severance Tax Return (Form 381)  
• Gas Severance Tax Return (Form 382)  
• Production Report - Gross Production By Well Schedule (Form 383) 
• Exempt Production and Value Report By Well Schedule (Form 384)  
• Gas Storage Field Report (Form 385). 
 

TOBACCO PRODUCTS TAX 
General Information 
 
PA 327 of 1993, as amended, imposes tax upon the consumer of tobacco products; requires certain 
persons to collect and remit the tax for the consumer; and sets specific requirements for licensing, 
stamping, collecting, and remitting tax.  The Act also provides for both civil and criminal penalties 
for violations. 
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Tax Rates 
 
Effective July 1, 2004, the tax rate for cigarettes is 100 mills per cigarette.  A deduction of 1.50 
percent is provided for Wholesalers and Unclassified Acquirers to allow for the cost of remitting 
the tax on cigarettes. 
 
The tax rate for other tobacco products is 32 percent of the wholesale price.  A deduction of one 
percent is provided for Wholesalers and Unclassified Acquirers to allow for the cost of remitting 
the tax on tobacco products other than cigarettes. 
 

Note: Effective November 1, 2012 and continuing until October 31, 2016, the tax rate on 
cigars shall not exceed 50 cents per individual cigar (PA 325, MCL 
205.427(1)(G)). 

 

Definition of Key Terms Used 
 
Cigarette.  A roll for smoking made wholly or in part of tobacco, irrespective of size or shape and 
irrespective of the tobacco being flavored, adulterated, or mixed with any ingredient, which roll 
has a wrapper or cover made of paper or any other material. 
 
Manufacturer.  A business that produces or manufactures cigarettes or other tobacco products 
and sells the tobacco to a Michigan licensed wholesaler or unclassified acquirer. A person who 
operates or who permits any other person to operate a cigarette making machine in Michigan for 
the purpose of producing, filing, rolling, dispensing, or otherwise generating cigarettes. A person 
meeting this description shall constitute a non-participating manufacturer.  
 
Noncigarette Smoking Tobacco.  Tobacco sold in loose or bulk form that is intended for 
consumption by smoking. 
 
Secondary Wholesaler.  A person who sells a tobacco product for resale, who purchases a tobacco 
product from a wholesaler or unclassified acquirer licensed under the act, and who maintains a 
nonresidential, secured established place of business in the State where a substantial portion of the 
business is the sale of tobacco products and related merchandise at wholesale, and where at all 
times a substantial stock of tobacco products and related merchandise is available to retailers for 
resale. 
 

Note: Secondary Wholesalers may only purchase and sell tax-paid, pre-stamped 
products. 

 
Smokeless Tobacco.  Snuff, chewing tobacco, and any other tobacco that is intended to be 
consumed by means other than by smoking. 
 
Stamp.  A distinctive character, indication, or mark, as determined by Treasury, attached or affixed 
to an individual package of cigarettes by mechanical device or other means authorized by Treasury 
to indicate that the tax imposed under the Act has been paid. 
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Stamping Agent.  A licensed Wholesaler or Unclassified Acquirer other than a manufacturer who 
is authorized by Treasury to affix stamps to individual packages of cigarettes on their own behalf, 
or on behalf of another licensed Wholesaler or Unclassified Acquirer other than a manufacturer. 
 
Tobacco Products.  Cigarettes, cigars, non-cigarette smoking tobacco, or smokeless tobacco. 
 
Unclassified Acquirer.  A person other than a transportation company or purchaser at retail from 
a retailer who imports or acquires tobacco products from a source other than a licensed Wholesaler 
or Secondary Wholesaler for use, sale, or distribution.  Also includes a person who receives cigars, 
non-cigarette smoking tobacco, or smokeless tobacco directly from a manufacturer licensed under 
the Tobacco Products Tax Act, or from another source outside Michigan who is not licensed under 
the Act.  A Wholesaler is not an Unclassified Acquirer.   
 

Note: An Unclassified Acquirer, including a Direct Buy Vendor, is responsible for affixing 
stamps to individual packages of cigarettes or placing the prescribed marking on 
shipping containers of tobacco products other than cigarettes, prior to delivery, 
sale, or distribution, and for remitting tax. 

 
 Direct Buy Vendors purchase some or all of the tobacco products to be placed in 

their vending machines from manufacturers. 

 
Wholesale Price.  The actual price paid for a tobacco product by a Wholesaler to a manufacturer, 
including any tax, but excluding any discounts or reductions. 
 
Wholesaler.  A person who purchases all or part of the tobacco products from the manufacturer, 
sells 75 percent or more to others for resale, and is required to maintain inventory of Michigan 
tobacco products at all times.  The inventory of tobacco products may be stored in a licensed 
facility in any state, provided the tobacco products are designated for Michigan inventory at the 
time of purchase, are segregated from inventory for other states, and written records are 
maintained.  A Wholesaler may also be a chain store retailing tobacco products to consumers if 75 
percent of their tobacco products are purchased from manufacturers.   
 

Note: A Wholesaler is responsible for affixing stamps to individual packages of cigarettes 
or placing the prescribed marking on shipping containers of tobacco products 
other than cigarettes, prior to delivery, sale, or distribution, and for remitting tax. 

 
Licensing 
 
Wholesalers, Secondary Wholesalers, Transporters, Transportation Companies, and Unclassified 
Acquirers, including Direct Buy Vendors and manufacturers, must be licensed to report and remit 
tax, if applicable, directly to the State. 
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Secondary Wholesalers and Vending Machine Operators, other than Direct Buy Vendors, must be 
licensed, and may only purchase tax paid tobacco products.  Vending Machine Operators do not 
file tobacco products tax returns and must obtain vending machine markers to be placed on all 
machines from which tobacco products are dispensed. The markers need to be updated annually.  
The license year for tobacco products tax is July 1 through June 30.  Licenses must be renewed 
annually.  Tobacco Tax License Application (Form 336) must be filed to either obtain a new license 
or to renew a license.   
 
Applicants for new or renewed Wholesaler, Secondary Wholesaler, and Unclassified Acquirer 
licenses must submit current financial statements, including the balance sheet, income statement, 
and accountant’s notes with their applications.  Wholesalers and Unclassified Acquirers may be 
required to provide surety bonds in amounts to be determined by Treasury. 
 
Applicants for vending machine operator’s licenses, either new or renewed, must attach vending 
machine location lists to their license applications. 
 
First-time applicants are required to submit evidence of a minimum net worth of $25,000, proof 
that the applicant owns or leases a secure nonresidential facility for the purpose of receiving and 
selling tobacco products, proof of United States citizenship or eligibility to obtain employment, 
and any other information Treasury may deem necessary. 
 
First-time applicants must also submit the following forms: 
 

• Application For Non-Cigarette Tobacco Products Stamp (Form 323) (Wholesalers and 
Unclassified Acquirers of tobacco products other than cigarettes). 

 
• Stamping Agent Agreement (Form 3371) (Wholesalers and Unclassified Acquirers of 

cigarettes who wish to have an agent affix stamps for them, if license application is 
approved). 

 
• Trading Partner Agreement (Form 3999) (Wholesalers, Secondary Wholesalers,  and 

Unclassified Acquirers of Cigarettes and Other Tobacco Products (OTP) who choose to 
submit the monthly tobacco tax return via ASCII file, if license application is approved). 

 
• Tobacco Products Electronic Filing Application (Form 4154) (All Wholesalers, Secondary 

Wholesalers, and Unclassified Acquirers of Cigarettes and OTP must complete to become 
authorized to file electronically, if license application is approved). 

 
• Tobacco Products Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) Credit Application (Form 4239).  (All 

Wholesalers and Unclassified Acquirers of Cigarettes and OTP who choose to submit the 
monthly tobacco tax payment via ACH Credit, if license application is approved).  (A fee 
may be assessed by the applicant’s financial institution.) 

 
• Tobacco Products Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) Debit Application (Form 4240).  (All 

Wholesalers and Unclassified Acquirers of Cigarettes and OTP who choose to submit the 
monthly tobacco tax payment via ACH Debit, if license application is approved).  (No fee 
is assessed for this service.) 
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License Fees 
 

Wholesaler $100 
Secondary  25 
Unclassified Acquirer*  

Manufacturer 100 
Retail importer/mail order buyer - OTP 10 
Retail importer - cigarettes 100 
Direct buy vendor   100 
Michigan retailer buying OTP  
    from out-of-state distributors not licensed in Michigan  
    or manufacturers licensed in Michigan* 10 
Transportation Company  5 
Transporter  50 
Vending Machine Operator (other than direct buy vendor) 25 
 

*The Act requires importers to be licensed as Unclassified Acquirers and to pay the tax 
upon importation.  Many of the tobacco products other than cigarettes are specialty 
items for which there is no distributor in Michigan.  Retailers are only able to purchase 
these products from supply sources located outside Michigan.  To ensure that tax is 
remitted, Treasury will license retailers who wish to purchase tobacco products other 
than cigarettes from unlicensed out-of-state distributors or licensed manufacturers as 
Unclassified Acquirers. 

 
Stamping Packages of Cigarettes and  
Shipping Containers of Non-Cigarette Tobacco Products 
 
Licensed Wholesalers and Unclassified Acquirers (or their authorized Stamping Agents) of 
cigarettes are required to place stamps obtained from Treasury on the bottom of individual 
packages of cigarettes to be sold within Michigan.  The stamp must be in an aggregate 
denomination equal to the amount of tax applicable to the contents of each package. 
 
Michigan has implemented a digital stamp program authorized by the Legislature in 2012.  Instead 
of stamping cigarette packages with thermal paper stamps, the new stamps are pressure applied 
and contain a hologram with imbedded security features.  The new digital stamps will provide 
better enforcement tools and tracking information to ensure cigarette sales are being reported 
accurately and the proper amount of tax is being paid. 
 
Licensed Wholesalers and Unclassified Acquirers (or their authorized Stamping Agents) of non-
cigarette tobacco products are required to place a stamped marking on all shipping containers of 
non-cigarette tobacco products to be sold within Michigan.  The stamp must be obtained from 
Treasury. 
 
The Act provides for civil and criminal penalties for noncompliance.  Treasury and its authorized 
agents may seize tobacco products that are not stamped in accordance with the Act.  
 
Stamping Agents, who must be licensed Wholesalers or Unclassified Acquirers under the Act, 
may be appointed by licensed Wholesalers or Unclassified Acquirers who do not choose to 
stamp their own tobacco products.  Form 3371 must be approved   with Treasury by the person 
wishing to assign an agent.  
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Reporting 
 

Treasury has an electronic reporting system.  Taxpayers prepare and file their returns online and 
make payment electronically.   
 
Wholesalers, Secondary Wholesalers, Unclassified Acquirers, and Direct Buy Vendors are 
required to file monthly tax returns electronically, with full payment of the tax due, if applicable, 
for sales of tobacco products.  The report must account for all tobacco products and stamping 
activity for each reporting period.  Returns are due on the 20th of the month following the close of 
the report month and must be filed even if no tax is due.  Filing instructions are provided with the 
return forms and schedules or can be obtained by contacting the Special Taxes Division, Tobacco 
Tax Unit, at 517-636-4630. 
 
Manufacturers who are only responsible for tax on promotional products for which their customers 
have not been charged, must be licensed as Unclassified Acquirers and must file a monthly return 
even if no tax is due.  A manufacturer’s report, listing all sales to Michigan licensees, must also be 
filed monthly. 
 
Tobacco Master Settlement Agreement 
 
On November 23, 1998, Michigan signed the Master Settlement Agreement (MSA) along with 45 
other states, the District of Columbia, several territories, and a number of tobacco product 
manufacturers. 
 
Under the MSA, tobacco product manufacturers who signed the MSA agree to deposit funds into 
an escrow account for subsequent distribution to the settling states.  The purpose of the funds is to 
settle existing and potential suits filed by the states against the tobacco product manufacturers. 
 
On December 28, 1999, the Michigan Legislature enacted PA 244.  This act requires tobacco 
product manufacturers either participate in the MSA or, as a nonparticipating manufacturer 
(NPM), deposit funds into an escrow account based on the number of cigarettes sold in each 
calendar year. 
 
For purposes of PA 244, the definition of “cigarette” includes “roll-your-own” (RYO) tobacco 
(0.09 ounces of RYO tobacco equals one cigarette). 
 
The definition of “tobacco product manufacturer” under PA 244 includes the manufacturer of 
cigarettes (including RYO tobacco) intended to be sold in the United States, and the first purchaser 
for sale within the United States of cigarettes (including RYO tobacco) that were not intended for 
United States sale. 
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To determine accurately the number of units of cigarettes (including RYO tobacco) manufactured 
by NPMs and sold within Michigan, Treasury requires that licensed Wholesalers and Unclassified 
Acquirers file a monthly Schedule K with their Tobacco Products Tax Return.  The Schedule K is 
used to report the number of cigarette sticks and volume of RYO tobacco acquired or imported, 
name of the NPM, brand code, and brands of products acquired or imported.  Returns to the NPM 
or exports to other states are also reported and deducted from acquisitions and imports to arrive at 
the units subject to escrow by the NPM. 
 
Treasury has developed a Web site that provides, directly or by reference to other sites, the names 
of participating manufacturers and NPMs who have complied with the requirements, as well as 
other pertinent information related to PA 244 and the MSA.  The Web address is 
www.michigan.gov/tobaccotaxes. 
 
Direct questions about the filing of Schedule K to Special Taxes Division, Tobacco Tax Unit, at 
517-636-4630.  Technical questions concerning the MSA and PA 244 should be directed to Bureau 
of Tax Policy at 517-373-9600. 
 

THE EQUITY ASSESSMENT PRE-PAYMENT REQUIREMENT 
PA 327 of 1993 was amended on January 8, 2004.  The amendment required all NPMs who 
anticipate selling their cigarettes and RYO products in Michigan to pre-pay an equity assessment 
by February 9, 2004, for 2004 sales.  The bill also requires NPMs to make additional annual pre-
payments by March 1 of each year, based on the anticipated cigarette and RYO tobacco sales for 
that calendar year.  Treasury will perform a reconciliation of the pre-payment to actual sales by 
April 15 of each year. 
 
The equity assessment is based on the estimated tobacco sales for the current year or a minimum 
payment of $10,000 to be paid prior to commencing selling cigarette and RYO tobacco products 
into the State.  
 
The amendment to PA 327 states that a Stamping Agent shall not affix a State stamp to any package 
of cigarettes or shipping container of RYO tobacco of an NPM unless the manufacturer is listed 
on Treasury’s Web site at www.michigan.gov/tobaccotaxes. 
 
Treasury may seize or confiscate from any person an NPM’s cigarettes or RYO tobacco products 
in that person’s possession which are in violation of the Act. 

 

ELECTRONIC FILING OF TOBACCO TAX RETURNS 
The State offers electronic filing of tobacco tax returns.  All current tobacco tax returns have been 
updated to accommodate electronic filing. 
 
To obtain current forms, applications to register for electronic filing and/or payment, and to get 
information regarding electronic filing, visit Treasury’s Web site at www.michigan.gov/ 
tobaccotaxes. 
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STATE REAL ESTATE TRANSFER TAX 
PA 330 of 1993 enacted the State Real Estate Transfer Tax (SRETT).  SRETT applies to written 
instruments executed within the State, or written instruments executed outside of the State if the 
contract or transfer evidenced by the written instrument concerns property wholly located within 
the State.  The SRETT Act covers contracts for the sale or exchange of property, interest in the 
property, combination of sales or exchanges, assignment or transfer of property, or any interest in 
the property.  “Property” includes land, tenements, real estate, real property and all rights to and 
interests in land, tenements, real estate, or real property. 
 
PA 473 of 2008 amended SRETT to include the contracts for the transfer or acquisition of a 
controlling interest in any entity only if the real property owned by that entity comprises 90 percent 
or more of the fair market value of the assets of the entity determined in accordance with generally 
accepted accounting principles.  “Controlling interest” means more than 80 percent of the total 
value of all classes of stock of a corporation; more than 80 percent of the total interest in capital 
and profits of a partnership, association, limited liability company, or other incorporated form of 
doing business; or more than 80 percent of the beneficial interest in a trust.  Recording in this case 
is mandatory. 
 
The person who is the seller or grantor of the property is liable for the tax imposed under the 
SRETT Act.  “Person” means an individual, partnership, corporation, limited liability company, 
association, governmental entity, or other legal entity.  The tax imposed under SRETT is payable 
to the county treasurer where the real property is located not later than 15 days after the delivery 
of the instrument effecting the conveyance by the seller or grantor to the buyer or grantee or not 
later than 15 days after the transfer of a controlling interest in any entity with an interest in real 
property.  The date of the instrument effecting the transfer is presumed to be the date of delivery 
of the instrument. 
 
Tax imposed under SRETT is at the rate of $3.75 for each $500 or fraction of $500 of the total 
value of the property being transferred.  “Value” means the current or fair market worth in terms 
of legal monetary exchange at the time of the transfer.  The tax shall be based on the value of the 
real property transferred and shall be collected at the time the instrument of conveyance is 
submitted for recording.  In the case of controlling interest in any entity that owns real property, 
value shall mean the value of the real property or interest in the real property, apportioned based 
on the percentage of the ownership interest transferred or acquired in the entity. 
 
A written instrument subject to the SRETT must state on its face the total value of the real property 
being transferred unless an affidavit is attached to the written instrument on a form prescribed by 
Treasury declaring the total value of the real property being transferred.  If the sale or transfer is a 
combination of real and personal property, the tax is applicable only to the transfer of the real 
property if the values of the real and personal property are stated separately on the face of the 
written instrument or an affidavit is attached to the written instrument setting forth the respective 
values of the real and personal property. 
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HEALTH INSURANCE CLAIMS ASSESSMENT 
PA 142 of 2011, created the HICA Act.  Beginning January 1, 2012, certain third party 
administrators, carriers, and self-insured entities are required to pay an assessment on certain paid 
health care claims.  HICA is a successor to the Health Maintenance Organization (HMO) use tax.  
It is intended to generate funds that will be used to leverage federal Medicaid matching funds.  For 
the majority of filers, the assessment is levied at the rate of one percent of the “paid claims” of the 
covered carrier, third party administrator, or self-insured entity.  
 
Beginning July 1, 2014 the assessment rate will be reduced from one percent to three quarters of 
one percent.  The new rate should be used for claims with dates of service on or after July 1, 2014.  
The old rate will continue to apply for dates of service prior to July 1, 2014. 
 
HICA is levied upon: 
 

• Certain insurance carriers 
• Self-insured entities 
• Employers 
• Employee organizations 
• Third party administrators that pay health insurance claims for residents for health-related 

services performed in Michigan. 
 
The assessment is levied upon the “paid claims” of those entities.  (See MCL 550.1732(s).)  An 
organization will be subject to the one percent assessment if they meet the definition of “carrier” 
or “third party administrator” under the Act.  (See MCL 550.1732(s), 550.1732(v).) 
 
The assessment is only owed once with respect to any single “paid claim” where more than one 
entity may be subject to the assessment; such as, an employer and their third party administrator.  
The statute provides a hierarchy to determine which entity is liable for paying the assessment.  (See 
MCL 550.1733(3).)  HICA does not contain an exemption for filers owing assessment amounts 
below a certain de minimis threshold. 
 
The Act uses the terms “insured individual” and “covered life” (see MCL 550.1733(4)).  While 
these terms are not defined in the Act, an individual person can be an “insured individual” or a 
“covered life” only with respect to a specific policy or program of insurance coverage.  Treasury 
has interpreted the provision to mean the $10,000 cap will be applicable per insurer or third party 
administrator. 
 
For purposes of HICA, a Michigan “resident” is an individual who is domiciled in the State of 
Michigan on the date that the service in question is performed.  “Domicile” means a place where 
an individual has their fixed, permanent and principal home to which, whenever absent there from, 
they return or intend to return.  An individual’s domicile in one place continues until a different 
domicile is established.  A rebuttable presumption shall exist that an individual’s home address, 
as maintained in the ordinary business records of a carrier or third party administrator, indicates 
the domicile of that individual under this definition.  An individual who is domiciled in Michigan, 
but attends college in another state, is a Michigan resident for purposes of the HICA Act.  If that 
individual obtains health services in Michigan while home between semesters, a “paid claim” for 
the performance of those services will be subject to the assessment under the HICA Act. 
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All HICA payments are required to be remitted using EFT.  Filers must register for either EFT 
Debit or Credit by completing the Electronic Funds Transfer Application – Health Insurance 
Claims Assessment (Form 4926) available on Treasury’s Web site at 
www.michigan.gov/biztaxpayments.   
 
Quarterly payments are due April 30, July 30, October 30, and January 30 of each year and must 
be made by EFT.  Quarterly Worksheet for Health Insurance Claims Assessment (HICA) (Form 
4930) is available on Treasury’s Web site to assist in determining the quarterly liability.  The 
worksheet is not submitted to Treasury, but should be retained in the filer’s records for a period 
of four years.  If no assessment is owed for the period, a $0.00 EFT transmission may be sent to 
complete the filing information for the quarter, but is not required. 
 
Annual Return for Health Insurance Claims Assessment (HICA) (Form 4931) is required to be 
filed for each entity registered to make HICA payments, even if no payment is due or no refund is 
requested.  Form 4931 is due February 28 for the previous assessment year.  Form 4931 can be 
e-filed using Treasury’s secure Web site www.treas-secure.state.mi.us/HICA. 
 
If a due date falls on a weekend, State holiday for Michigan, or legal banking holiday, the payments 
and returns are due on the next succeeding business day. 
 
“Paid claims” subject to the assessment are defined, in part, as payments “made to a health and 
medical services provider.”  (See MCL 550.1732(s).)  “Health and medical services” is separately 
and very broadly defined under the Act.  (See MCL 550.1732(j).)  All of the following are included 
in the definition of “health and medical services,” and claims based on these services will be 
subject to the HICA Act assessment: 
 

• Services included in furnishing medical care, dental care, pharmaceutical benefits, or 
hospitalization 

 
• Ancillary services including, but not limited to, ambulatory services and emergency and 

nonemergency transportation 
 

• Services provided by physicians (including both M.D.s and D.O.s), nurses, dentists, 
chiropractors, acupuncturists, audiologists, optometrists, speech-language therapists, 
pharmacists, physical therapists, podiatrists, psychologist, occupational therapists, 
dietitians and nutritionists, social workers, and respiratory care therapists 

 
• Behavioral health services, including, but not limited to, mental health and substance abuse 

services. 
 
Additionally, the term “health and medical services” specifically excludes services provided by 
veterinarians, marriage and family therapists, athletic trainers, massage therapists, licensed 
professional counselors and sanitarians.  (See MCL 550.1732(j)(iii).)   
 
The one percent HICA assessment does not apply to: 
 

1. Payments for services provided before January 1, 2012 
 
2. Claims paid for services provided to persons who are not residents of Michigan 
 
3. Claims paid for services provided outside of Michigan to Michigan residents
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4. Claims-related expenses 
 
5. Claims paid under specified accident or accident-only coverage, credit, disability 

income, long-term care, automobile insurance, homeowners’ insurance, farm owners’ 
insurance, commercial multi-peril coverage, workers’ compensation, and coverage 
issued as a supplement to liability insurance 

 
6. Claims paid under a federal employee health benefit program, Medicare, Medicare 

Advantage, Medicare Part D, Tricare by the U.S. Veterans Administration and for 
certain risk pools, and 

 
7. Reimbursements to individuals under a flexible spending arrangement, a health 

savings account, an Archer medical savings account, a Medicare Advantage medical 
savings account, or other health reimbursement arrangements authorized under federal 
law. 

 
HICA does not address the relationship between an employer and their employees.  Other laws, 
such as contract law and labor law, may govern the relationship.  HICA neither permits nor 
prohibits an employer from passing the cost of the HICA on to their employees. 
 
HICA defines “carrier” to include an employer or employee organization that establishes or 
maintains a group health plan.  (See MCL 550.1732(a).)  However, if a self-insured employer uses 
a third party administrator to pay its health care claims, under the hierarchy provided under the 
statute, the third party administrator would be responsible for paying the HICA to Treasury.  (See 
MCL 550.1733(3).) 
 
Under the statute, third party administrators are required to pay the one percent HICA on covered 
claims that they pay or process, even if the claims are not paid from the assets or bank account of 
the third party administrator, and instead are funded directly by the third party administrator’s 
client.  The definition of “paid claims” under the statute includes payments that are made under a 
service contract for administrative services only.  (See MCL 550.1732(s).)   
 

Note: There is nothing in the language of the HICA Act that would specifically exempt 
nontaxable entities from the assessment, as long as they are otherwise a carrier, 
third party administrator, or self-insured entity under the terms of the Act. 

 
The assessment levied under HICA should be paid by the third party administrator.  Both the 
organization, as a self-insured entity, and the third party administrator are potentially subject to 
the assessment under the HICA.  However, the assessment is only owed once with respect to any 
single “paid claim.”  The statute provides a hierarchy to determine which entity must pay the 
assessment. 
 

The statute provides that “[a] group health plan sponsor is not responsible for assessment 
. . . for a paid claim where the assessment on that claim has been paid by a third party 
administrator . . .”  (Section 3(2)(a).)  The statute further provides that the third party 
administrator “shall be responsible for all assessments on claims paid by the third party 
administrator.”  (Section 3(2)(b).) 
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When two entities are subject to the HICA for the same claim, the statute provides a hierarchy to 
determine which entity must actually pay the one percent assessment.  In the case of a third party 
administrator and a stop loss or excess loss insurer, the statute provides: 
 

“If there is both a third party administrator and an excess loss or stop loss insurer 
servicing the group health plan, the third party administrator shall be responsible for all 
assessments for paid claims that are not reimbursed by the excess loss or stop loss insurer 
and the excess loss or stop loss insurer shall be responsible for all assessments for paid 
claims that are reimbursable to the excess loss or stop loss insurer.”  (See MCL 
550.1733(3)(d).) 
 

Under this provision, the third party administrator will be responsible for the HICA on “paid 
claims” up to the attachment point (the point at which the stop loss or excess loss coverage begins 
to apply), and the stop loss or excess loss carrier will be responsible for the assessment on the 
amount of each “paid claim” that exceeds the attachment point. 
 
While both a health plan sponsor and their third party administrator may be subject to the HICA 
the assessment is only owed once with respect to any single “paid claim.”  The statute provides a 
hierarchy to determine which entity must pay the assessment.  The statute provides: 
 

“[a] group health plan sponsor shall not be responsible for an assessment . . . for a paid 
claim where the assessment on that claim has been paid by a third party administrator . 
. .”  (See MCL 550.1733(2)(a).)  The statute further provides that the third party 
administrator “shall be responsible for all assessments on claims paid by the third party 
administrator.”  (See MCL 550.1733(2)(b).)  

 
The third party administrator is responsible for paying the HICA with respect to claims they pay 
on behalf of a group health plan sponsor.  Michigan law prohibits Treasury from disclosing 
taxpayer information to third parties, except in certain specific situations.  (See MCL 205.28(1)(f).)  
Treasury is unable to provide information or confirmation to clients of third party administrators 
regarding assessments that have been paid on the third party administrator’s “paid claims.”  
Although Treasury will be unable to provide this type of information, employers, group health 
plan sponsors, and others using third party administrators should check with their third party 
administrators, who should be able to provide confirmation that the HICA assessment was properly 
paid. 

Carriers of Medicare supplemental insurance will be subject to the HICA if they meet the definition 
of “carrier” in the statute and they do not fall under any of the statute’s specific exemptions.  (See 
MCL 550.1732(a).)  There is no specific statutory exemption for carriers of Medicare supplemental 
insurance.  These carriers, and claims paid pursuant to their coverage, are included in the 
assessment. 
 

Note: HICA is repealed effective January 1, 2018. 

 
PA 161 of 2014 reinstates HICA’s partner tax, the Health Maintenance Organizations (HMO) Use 
Tax.  The HMO Use Tax is a six percent tax on medical services provided by Medicaid HMO and 
Prepaid Impatient Health Plans. 
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Payments made for HMO Use Tax must be made monthly by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) 
Credit method and are due on or before the 20th day of the following month.  
 
PA 458 of 2012 requires that taxpayers with a Use Tax liability greater than $720,000 or more in 
the immediately preceding calendar year remit their payments on an accelerated schedule.  
Treasury will begin requiring accelerated payments in 2015. 
 
All HMO Use Tax filers must file an annual reconciliation return by February 28 for the previous 
calendar year. 
  




