
MBT Estimated Tax Payments 
All business taxpayers, regardless of business type, may use 
Form 4548 to make their required estimated tax payments. 
Follow general instructions for all business types and specific 
instructions as identified for Standard Taxpayers, Financial 
Institutions, and Insurance Companies.

The MBT consists of a franchise tax for financial institutions, a 
premiums tax for insurance companies, and a Business Income 
and Modified Gross Receipts Tax for standard taxpayers 
(all taxpayers other than financial institutions and insurance 
companies). In addition, every standard and financial taxpayer 
(except financial institutions authorized to exercise only trust 
powers) is subject to an annual surcharge equal to a percentage 
of their MBT liability after apportionment or allocation. 
Insurance companies are not subject to a surcharge.

Taxpayers with an annual combined MBT liability (including 
surcharge, if applicable) reasonably expected to exceed $800 
must make quarterly estimated tax payments. If the tax year 
was less than 12 months (e.g., the business was opened or 
closed during the year), annualize the tax to see if estimates 
must be filed.

The sum of estimated tax payments must equal at least 
85 percent of total liability and the amount of each payment 
must reasonably approximate the tax liability incurred during 
the period.

If the preceding year’s tax liability under the MBT Act, 
including surcharge, if applicable, was $20,000 or less, the 
taxpayer can submit four equal installments, the sum of which 
equals the immediately preceding tax year’s tax liability. If 
the prior tax year was less than 12 months, annualize the prior 
year’s tax liability for purposes of both the $20,000 ceiling 
and calculating the quarterly payments due under this method. 
Reliance on the prior year’s tax liability as a means to avoid 
interest and penalty charges is only allowed if you had business 
activity in Michigan in that prior year. In addition, if your 
business was not in existence in the preceding year, no safe 
harbor exists. In such a case, estimates must be based on 85 
percent of the MBT liability for the current year.

MBT estimated tax payments are not required for taxpayers 
with a short year of less than four calendar months.

Special Instructions for Unitary Business Groups
Taxpayers include a single Individual, an entity, or a Unitary 
Business Group (UBG). A UBG is a group of United States 
persons, other than a foreign operating entity, one of which 
owns or controls (directly or indirectly) more than 50 percent 
of the ownership interests with voting or comparable rights of 
the other United States persons and that has business activities 
resulting in a flow of value between or among persons in the 
group, or has business activities that are integrated with, are 
dependent upon, or contribute to each other. All MBT estimated 

tax payments for a UBG should be made by the Designated 
Member.

An MBT return is due if the taxpayer’s gross receipts before 
intercompany eliminations are $350,000 or greater for the 
tax year (annualized if a short period). For more information 
on the control and relationship tests for UBGs, see Revenue 
Administrative Bulletin (RAB) 2010-1, Michigan Business 
Tax-Unitary Business Group Control Test, and RAB 2010-2, 
Michigan Business Tax-Unitary Business Group Relationship 
Tests, on the Michigan Department of Treasury (Treasury) 
Web site at www.michigan.gov/taxes. Click on the “Reference 
Library” link on the left side of the page.

When to File MBT Quarterly Tax Returns
For a calendar year taxpayer, quarterly returns are due the 
15th day of April, July, October, and January. For a fiscal year 
taxpayer, quarterly returns are due the 15th day of the first 
month following the end of the quarter. For any tax year that 
includes an estimated tax payment period of less than three 
months, the quarterly return for that period is due on the 15th 
day of the month immediately following the final month of the 
estimated tax payment period. 

NOTE: Insurance companies must file on a calendar year basis.

How Much to Pay
Standard Taxpayers and Financial Institutions. Compute 
quarterly estimated tax payments for MBT based on the tax 
liability for the period, plus the applicable annual surcharge.

Insurance Companies. Compute quarterly estimated tax 
payments on the greater of the amount of tax imposed under 
Chapter 2A of the MBT Act (MCL 208.1101 et seq.) or under 
Section 476a of the Insurance Code of 1956 (MCL 500.476a). 

All Taxpayers. Penalty and interest for underpaid estimated 
tax payments will not be charged if payments are made on time 
and meet the requirements for the amount per quarter as stated 
under the heading MBT Estimated Tax Payments in these 
instructions.

NOTE: For a taxpayer that calculates and pays estimated tax 
payments for federal income tax purposes pursuant to section 
6655(e) of the Internal Revenue Code (IRC), that taxpayer may 
use the same methodology used to calculate the annualized 
income installment or the adjusted seasonal installment, 
whichever is used as the basis for the federal estimated tax 
payment, to calculate the estimated tax payments required each 
quarter for MBT.

Estimating Tax Liability
Standard Taxpayers
MBT is due only if a taxpayer’s apportioned or allocated gross 
receipts are $350,000 or greater for the tax year (annualized, if 
a short period).
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For standard taxpayers with apportioned or allocated gross 
receipts of $350,000 or more (annualized, if a short period), 
MBT is comprised of a 4.95 percent tax on the Business 
Income Tax base and a 0.8 percent tax on the Modified Gross 
Receipts Tax base. In addition, an annual surcharge is imposed 
on each taxpayer equal to 21.99 percent of its MBT liability 
after allocation or apportionment to Michigan, but before 
the calculation of credits available under the MBT Act. The 
amount of the surcharge levied against a standard taxpayer is 
capped at $6,000,000 in any single tax year. A credit is used 
to phase in the tax liability for taxpayers with apportioned or 
allocated gross receipts between $350,000 and $700,000. The 
apportionment for standard taxpayers is based on a sales factor, 
utilizing rules set in statute.

For most standard taxpayers, the Business Income Tax base 
is that part of federal taxable income derived from business 
activity, with certain adjustments. Federal taxable income 
means taxable income as defined in IRC § 63, except that 
federal taxable income shall be calculated as if IRC § 168(k) 
and IRC § 199 were not in effect.

Additions (to the extent deducted or excluded from federal 
taxable income) include:

Interest income and dividends derived from obligations or •	
securities of states other than Michigan.

Taxes on or measured by net income and the tax imposed •	
under MBT.

Any net operating loss carryback or carryover.•	
Loss attributable to another taxable entity.•	
Royalty, interest, or other expense paid to a person related to •	

the taxpayer by ownership or control for the use of an intangible 
asset if the person is not included in the taxpayer’s UBG.

Subtractions (to the extent included in federal taxable income) 
include:

Dividends and royalties received from persons other than •	
United States persons and foreign operating entities.

Income attributable to another taxable entity,.•	
Interest income derived from United States obligations.•	
Net earnings from self-employment, as defined under IRC § •	

1402, of the taxpayer or a partner or Limited Liability Company 
member of the taxpayer except to the extent that those net 
earnings represent a reasonable return on capital.

The Modified Gross Receipts Tax base for standard taxpayers 
consists of gross receipts less purchases from other firms and 
other limited subtractions. Gross receipts means the entire 
amount received by the taxpayer, as determined by using 
the taxpayer’s method of accounting for federal income tax 
purposes, from any activity, whether in intrastate, interstate, 
or foreign commerce, carried out for direct or indirect gain, 
benefit, or advantage to the taxpayer or to others, with certain 
exceptions. Use the Gross Receipts Worksheet (Worksheet 
4700) to calculate gross receipts.

Purchases from other firms and other limited subtractions 
include:

Inventory acquired during the tax year. •	
Depreciable assets acquired during the tax year.•	
To the extent not included in inventory or depreciable •	

assets, materials and supplies (tangible personal property), 
including repair parts and fuel, acquired during the tax year 
directly connected to and used or consumed in the production 
or management of inventory or the operation or maintenance of 
depreciable assets. 

Compensation for personnel of staffing companies, certain •	
construction contractors, and certain real estate brokers and 
appraisers.

100 percent of film rental or royalty payments paid by a •	
theater owner to a film distributor and/or producer.

Qualified Affordable Housing Project Buyer’s Deduction.•	

Some standard taxpayers may find that business income, gross 
receipts, and purchases from other firms may be approximated 
using monthly profit and loss statements. 

Insurance Companies
Under MBT, insurance companies are subject to a 1.25 percent 
tax on gross direct premiums written, with no minimum filing 
threshold, on property or risk located or residing in Michigan 
with certain exclusions, including: 

Premiums on policies not taken.•	
Returned premiums on canceled policies.•	
Receipts on sales of annuities.•	
Receipts on reinsurance premiums assumed if the tax has •	

been paid on the original premiums.
The first $190,000,000 of disability insurance premiums •	

written in Michigan, other than credit insurance and disability 
income insurance premiums, reduced by two dollars for each 
dollar by which the gross direct premiums from insurance 
carrier services, both within and without Michigan, exceeds 
$280,000,000.

Credits may be claimed against the tax for amounts paid to 
the following, using the assessments from the immediately 
preceding tax year:

Michigan Workers’ Compensation Placement Facility•	
Michigan Basic Property Insurance Association •	
Michigan Automobile Insurance Placement Facility•	
Property and Casualty Guaranty Association•	
Michigan Life and Health Guaranty Association.•	

In addition, credits are available for 50 percent of examination 
fees paid during the tax year, and 100 percent of the amount 
paid during the tax year pursuant to Section 352 of the Workers’ 
Disability Compensation Act of 1969, as certified by the 
director of the Bureau of Workers’ Disability Compensation. 

Foreign and alien insurers may be liable for the Retaliatory Tax 
under Section 476a of the Insurance Code and must look to the 
laws of their state of incorporation (or port of entry) to make 
the appropriate calculation. Insurance companies must pay the 
greater of the MBT or the Retaliatory Tax.
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Financial Institutions
In lieu of other taxes imposed by MBT, every financial 
institution with nexus in Michigan is subject to a franchise tax 
imposed on its tax base, after allocation or apportionment, at 
the rate of 0.235 percent, with no minimum filing threshold. 
In addition, an annual surcharge is imposed on each financial 
institution equal to 23.4 percent of its MBT liability after 
allocation or apportionment to Michigan, but before the 
calculation of credits available under the MBT Act.

A financial institution that is authorized to exercise only trust 
powers is not subject to this surcharge. 

A financial institution is defined as:

A bank holding company, a national bank, a state chartered •	
bank, an office of thrift supervision chartered bank or thrift 
institution, a savings and loan holding company other than a 
diversified savings and loan holding company as defined in 12 
USC 1467a(a)(F), or a federally chartered Farm Credit System 
institution.

Any person, other than an insurance company subject to the •	
tax imposed under Chapter 2A of the MBT Act, who is directly 
or indirectly owned by an entity described in the preceding 
instruction and is a member of the UBG.

A UBG made up of the entities described above.•	

The tax base of a financial institution is the financial 
institution’s net capital, which is equity capital, as computed 
in accordance with generally accepted accounting principles, 
with certain adjustments. An addition to the Net Capital Tax 
base is required for the amount in excess of 125 percent of 
the minimum regulatory capitalization requirements of an 
insurance company subsidiary. (The amount capitalized would 
be carried on the books of the insurance company subsidiary as 
an asset.) Deductions are allowed for goodwill and the average 
daily book value of United States and Michigan obligations. 

Note: If a financial institution does not maintain its books 
and records in accordance with generally accepted accounting 
principles, net capital may be computed in accordance with the 
books and records used by the financial institution, so long as 
the method fairly reflects the financial institution’s net capital 
for purposes of MBT.

Net capital is determined by averaging the financial institution’s 
net capital as of the close of the current tax year with the 
preceding four tax years. This calculation is modified if a 
financial institution has been in existence for less than five tax 
years. The statute also provides additional guidance for mergers 
and acquisitions. 

The tax base of financial institutions whose business activities 
are subject to tax both within and outside Michigan is 
apportioned by the gross business factor, utilizing rules set in 
statute. Gross business means the sum of the following:

Fees, commissions, or other compensation for financial •	
services.

Net gains, not less than zero, from the sale of loans and other •	
intangibles.

Net gains, not less than zero, from trading in stocks, bonds, •	
or other securities.

Interest charged to customers for carrying debit balances of •	
margin accounts.

Interest and dividends received.•	
Any other gross proceeds resulting from the operation as a •	

financial institution.

All Taxpayers

Additional details regarding the calculation of the tax may be 
found in the forms and instructions provided on the Treasury 
Web site at www.michigan.gov/MBT. The Web site contains 
information taxpayers may find helpful in determining their 
estimated tax liability. 

Using Personalized Estimate Returns
If you previously made estimated returns, Treasury will send 
you personalized estimate returns. Subsequently, Treasury will 
continue to send them to you if you make estimated tax payments.

File the original returns and keep copies for your file. (The •	
personalized returns are read by an optical scanner which can 
process only these original returns.)

Use the personalized returns whether you fill them out •	
yourself or get help from a tax preparer.

Personalized returns shorten the processing time of your •	
payment and reduce the chance of an error in your account. 

Do not use personalized returns if information on the •	
return is incorrect and DO NOT USE OTHER TAXPAYERS’ 
RETURNS OR PHOTOCOPY THEIR FORMS. If you do, 
your payments could be applied to the wrong account. 

If you use software to prepare your return, the software may •	
create a personalized return for you. 

If you lose a return or have not made estimated tax payments 
before, visit www.michigan.gov/taxes to obtain a form. 

Combined Sales, Use, Withholding, and 
Michigan Business Tax Payments
You may make MBT monthly estimated tax payments with 
your Sales, Use, and Withholding Taxes return. If you choose 
this convenient option, you only need to file one form and 
write one check for all the taxes you pay. If filing monthly 
using the Combined Return for Michigan Taxes (Form 160), 
monthly payments may be filed on the 20th day of the month. 
For example, a calendar year taxpayer may file monthly MBT 
estimated tax payments using Form 160 on February 20,  
March 20, and April 20 rather than a single quarterly payment 
on April 15 provided the combined estimated tax payments for 
those months are calculated using the instructions provided with 
the form. For taxpayers electing to make monthly remittances 
by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT) where the requirement 
to file a paper Form 160 has been waived, MBT estimated tax 
payments  remain due by the 20th day of the month following 
the month’s end. The estimated MBT for the quarter must also 
reasonably approximate the liability for the quarter. 

4548, Page 3



NOTE: Your debit transaction will be ineligible for EFT 
if the bank account used for the electronic debit is funded or 
otherwise associated with a foreign account to the extent that 
the payment transaction would qualify as an International ACH 
Transaction (IAT) under NACHA Rules. Contact your financial 
institution for questions about the status of your account.  
Contact Treasury’s Electronic Funds Transfer Unit at (517) 636-
4730 for alternate payment methods.

Reporting Payments
Regardless of which form is used to file estimated MBT 
payments, report all MBT estimated tax payments on the 
annual MBT return. 

NOTE: An annual return must be filed to claim a refund. 

Penalty and Interest
Penalty is 5 percent of tax due for the first two months. Penalty 
increases by an additional 5 percent per month, or fraction 
thereof, after the second month to a maximum of 25 percent. 

Unless the safe harbor based on the prior year’s tax liability is 
available and satisfied, if the sum of the estimated tax payments 
is less than 85 percent of the annual liability or the amount of 
the estimated tax payment doesn’t equal the quarter’s liability, 
interest will accrue.

The interest rate is adjusted by Treasury on January 1 and July 
1 of each year to 1 percent above the adjusted prime rate. For a 
complete list of interest rates, see RAB 2010-6 on the Treasury 
Web site at www.michigan.gov/taxes.

Filing Quarterly Tax Returns
Make your check payable to “State of Michigan” and write 
your Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN) or the 
Michigan Treasury (TR) assigned number, the tax year, and 
“MBT Q” on the front of the check. Mail your check with the 
MBT Quarterly Return for that installment. Do NOT staple the 
check to the return. Mail the check and return to:

Michigan Department of Treasury
P.O. Box 30774
Lansing, MI 48909-8274
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