Michigan Department of Treasury
4563 (Rev. 11-07)

Insurance Company Quarterly Return for MBT and Retaliatory Tax

Michigan Business Tax Estimates

Michigan Business Tax (MBT) is a tax on Michigan
business activity and replaces the Single Business
Tax (SBT) effective January 1, 2008.

In lieu of other taxes imposed by the MBT, insurance
companies are subject to a 1.25 percent tax on gross
direct premiums written on property or risk located
or residing in this state with certain exclusions listed
in MCL 208.1235. There is no filing threshold for
insurance companies. Insurance companies will
continue to pay the greater of the 1.25 percent MBT
insurance company premium tax or the retaliatory tax
in section 476a of the insurance code on a calendar
year basis.

Taxpayers with an annual MBT/Retaliatory Tax
liability expected to exceed $800 must make
estimated payments. The sum of your estimated
payments must equal at least 85 percent of your
liability and the amount of each payment must
reasonably approximate the tax liability incurred
during the period. If your tax year was less than 12
months (e.g., you opened or closed a business during
the year) annualize the tax to see if you must file
estimates.

When to File MBT Quarterly Tax Returns

Quarterly returns are due the 15th day of April, July,
October and January. For any tax year that includes
an estimate period of less than 3 months, the return
is due on the 15th day of the month immediately
following the final month of the taxpayer’s tax year.
However, estimated payments are not required for a
taxpayer with a short year of less than four calendar
months.

How Much to Pay

Your quarterly estimated MBT/Retaliatory Tax
payment must be calculated on the greater of the
amount of tax imposed under chapter 2A of the MBT
or under section 476a of the insurance code of 1956,
1956 PA 218, MCL 500.476a.

No penalty or interest will be charged if payments
are made on time and the sum of the estimated
payments equals at least 85 percent of your annual
liability, and the amount of each payment reasonably

approximates the tax liability incurred during the
period. Estimates cannot be based on the prior
year’s SBT/Retaliatory Tax liability and cannot be
based on 1 percent of gross receipts.

Estimating Tax Liability

Under the MBT, Insurance companies are subject to
a 1.25 percent tax on gross direct premiums written
on property or risk located or residing in this state
with certain exclusions, including:

e Premiums on policies not taken.

e Return premiums on canceled policies.

* Receipts from sales of annuities.

* Receipts on reinsurance premiums if the tax has
been paid on the original premiums.

* The first $190,000,000 of disability insurance
premiums written in this state, other than
credit insurance and disability income insurance
premiums, reduced by $2 for each $1 by which
the gross direct premiums from insurance carrier
services, both within and without this state,
exceeds $280,000,000.

Credits may be claimed against the tax for amounts
paid to the following, using the assessments from the
immediately preceding tax year.

*  Michigan Worker’s Compensation Placement
Facility

* Michigan Basic Property Insurance Association

*  Michigan Automobile Insurance Placement
Facility

* Property and Casualty Guaranty Association

* Michigan Life and Health Guaranty Association

An insurance company that does not make any of
the first four payments described above may claim
the compensation credit provided under section
MCL 208.1403(2), not to exceed 65 percent of the
insurance company’s tax liability for the tax year
after claiming the other credits allowed.

In addition, credits are available for 50 percent

of examination fees paid during the tax year, and

100 percent of the amount paid during the tax year
pursuant to section 352 of the worker’s disability
compensation act of 19609, as certified by the director
of the Bureau of Worker’s Disability Compensation.



Foreign and alien insurers may be liable for the
retaliatory tax in section 476a of the insurance
code and must look to the laws of their state of
incorporation to make the appropriate calculation.
Insurance companies must pay the greater of the
MBT or the retaliatory tax.

For more comprehensive information regarding the
MBT, please refer to the Michigan Business Tax
Act (MCL 208.1101 et seq.) or visit the MBT Web
site at www.michigan.gov/MBT. The Web site
contains information taxpayers may find helpful in
determining their estimated tax liability.

Penalty and Interest

Penalty is 5 percent of tax due, for the first two
months. Penalty increases by an additional 5 percent
per month, or fraction thereof, after the second
month, to a maximum of 25 percent.

If the sum of the estimated payments is less than
85 percent of the annual liability, or the amount of
the estimated payment doesn’t equal the quarter’s
liability, interest will accrue. The interest rate

is adjusted by Treasury January 1 and July 1 of
each year, to 1 percent above the prime rate. For a
complete list of interest rates, see RAB 2007-4 on
Treasury’s Web site at www.michigan.gov/taxes.

Filing Quarterly Tax Returns

Make your check payable to “State of Michigan”
and write your account number and “2008 MBT
Insurance Quarterly” on the front of the check. Mail
your check with the MBT quarterly return for that
installment. Do NOT staple your check to the return.
Mail your check and return to:

Michigan Department of Treasury
Department 77229
Detroit, MI 48277-0229





