Line 15: Renaissance zone deductior
To be eligible you must meet all the
following requirements:

Be a permanent resident of a
renaissance zone for at least 183
days.

Must not be delinquent for any stat
or local taxes abated by the
Renaissance Zone Act.

Must file an MI-1040 each year.

$1 million.

If you were a full-year resident of a
renaissance zone you may subtract &
earned income. Unearned income su
as capital gains may have to be
prorated. If you lived in the zone at
least 183 days during 1999, you may|
subtract the portion of income earned

1. charity games to the extent included
in AGI.
* Amount of salary and wage expens
that cannot be deducted on your
federal return because you are
claiming a work opportunity credit,

e clinical testing (orphan drug) credit
or research credit. Attach a copy of
U.S.Work Opportunity Credifform
5884),Credit for Increasing Researc
Activities(form 6765), oiOrphan

Have gross income of not more than Drug Credit(form 8820) to

substantiate this subtraction.
* Losses from the disposal of property
Il reported in the Michigan column of
chMichigan form MI-1040D, line 18, of
MI-4797, line 18b.

« Amount used to determine the credi

for elderly or totally and permanent!
disabled from U.SSchedule Rline

while a resident of the zone. Complete 19, or U.S1040A Schedule, 3

and attach a Schedule NR to your
MI-1040.

(See "Special Note" on the back of
Schedule NR, page 32.) For addition
information regarding qualifications
for the renaissance zone deducjj}
I cquest the
Renaissance Zone Information for
Individualsbrochure (form 3292).

You may also call the Michigan Tele-
Help System (1-800-827-4000) and
listen to topic #293.

Line 16: You may subtradvlichigan
state and city income tax refunds and
homestead property tax credit refund
that were included in AGI.

Note to farmers: You may subtract (to
the extent included in AGI) the amou
that your state or city tax refund and
homestead property tax credit excee
the business portion of your homeste
property tax credit.

Line 17: Allowable miscellaneous
subtractions include:

« Contributions to national or Michiga
political parties or candidates. The
maximum deduction is $50 on a
single return and $100 on a joint
return.

* Benefits from a discriminatory self-
insured medical expense
reimbursement plan, to the extent
these reimbursements are included
AGI.

 Proceeds and prizes won in State o
Michigan regulated bingo, raffle or

line 19.
» Michigan net operating loss deduc-
tion. Attach MI-1045. See page 10.
ale Net income included in AGI from
Michigan gas and oil royalty interest
or working interest.

« If you purchased a Michigan
Education Trust (MET) contract
during 1999, you may deduct the
total contract price (including
application and processing fees).

« If you purchased a MET payroll
deduction or monthly purchase
contract, you may deduct the amou
paid on that contract during 1999 (n

S including fees for late payments or

insufficient funds). You should

receive an annual statement from
1t MET specifying this amount.

« If you purchased a MET contract

4 between 1988 and 1990 with a MET

,gSecured loan and have not previous
deducted the total contract price pai
you may deduct the principle amour
paid on the secured loan during 199

* Amount of taxable benefits the
purchaserreceived and included in
AGI during 1999 because the MET
contract was terminated to attend a
private schoobr out-of-state school,
or the beneficiary (student) did not
attend school. The beneficiary cann
claim this subtraction.

You may not subtract:

il Itemized deductions from U.S.
Schedule A.
« Sick pay, disability benefits and
wage continuation benefits paid to

n

f

you by your employer or by an
insurance company under contract
with your employer.

Unemployment benefits included in
AGI, except railroad unemployment
benefits.

Distributions from a deferred
compensation plan received while a
resident of Michigan.

Lottery winnings. (Exception:
installment payments from prizes
won on or before December 30,
1988 may be subtracted.)

General Information
for Homeowners
and Renters

t About the Homestead
/ Property Tax Credit
(MI-1040CR)

Who may claim a property tax
credit

You may claim a property tax credit if
all of these apply:

Your homestead is located in
Michigan.

You were a Michigan resident at
least six months of 1999.

You pay property taxes or rent on
your Michigan homestead.

You can have only ongomesteadat a
time, and you must be the occupant as
Liwell as the owner or renter. Your
ohomestead can be a rented apartment,
or a mobile home and a lot in a mobile
home park. A vacation home or income
property isnot considered your
homestead.

Your homestead is in your state of
Iydomicile. Domicile is the place where
qyou have your permanent home. It is
ltthe place you plan to return to
gwhenever you go away. Even if you
spend the winter in a southern state,
your domicile is still Michigan.
College students and others whose
permanent homes are not in Michigan
arenot Michigan residents. Domicile
continues until you establish a new
Chermanent home.

Property tax credit claims manpt be
submitted on behalf of minor children.
Any public assistance benefits paid to
a minor must be included in the
household income of the parents when
computing their credits.

e
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You may not claim a property tax
credit if your household income is
over $82,650The computed credit is
reduced by 10 percent for every $1,0
(or part of $1,000) that household
income exceeds $73,650. If filing a
part-year return, you must annualize
household income to determine if the|
income limitation applies. See instruc
tions for annualizing on page 22.

Which form to file
Use form MI-1040CR in this book. If

on the county in which you live and
your income levelContact your local
or county treasurer for more
Dihformation about delaying payment
of your property taxes.

Household income

Household income is the total income
_(taxable and nontaxable) of both
spouses or of a single person
maintaining a household. It is your
AGI, plus all income exempt or
excluded from AGI. See "Married,

you are blind and own your homesteadiling separately" and "Single adults

are in the active military, are an
eligible veteran or an eligible veteran
surviving spouse, request form
MI-1040CR-2 and complete both
forms.Use the form that gives you a
larger credit. If you are blind and rent
your homestead, you cannot use the
MI-1040CR-2. Claim your credit on
form MI-1040CR and check box 7b.

The request for your Social Security
number is authorized under USC
Section 42. Social Security numbers
are used by the Michigan Departmen

sharing a home" on page 20.

SHousehold income doeslOT
include:

« Stipends received by an enrolled
participant in théoster grandparent
or senior companion program
pursuant to the Domestic Volunteer
Service Act of 1973.

Energy assistance grants or energy
assistance tax credits.
Government payments to a third

N party (i.e., a doctor).

of Treasury to conduct matches against Note: If payment is made from

benefit income provided by the Socia
Security Administration and other
sources to verify the accuracy of the
home heating credit and property tax
credit claims filed and to deter
fraudulent filing(s).

When to file

If you do not have to file a Michigan
income tax return (form MI-1040), yo
may file your credit claim as soon as
you know your 1999 household
income and property taxes levied in
1999. If you file a Michigan income

tax return, your credit claim should be

attached to your MI-1040 return whic
is due April 17, 2000.

Amending your claim

Use the MI-1040X form and attach a
copy of your corrected credit claim.
You must do this within four years of
the date set for filing your original
income tax return.

Delaying payment of your
property taxes

Some senior citizens, disabled peopl
veterans, surviving spouses of

veterans, and farmers may be able tg
delay paying property taxes. It depen

| money withheld from your benefit,
the paymenis part of household
income. (For example, the Family

rent directly to the landowner.)
Money received from a governmen
unit to repair or improve your
homestead.

Surplus food.

State and local income tax refunds

Chore service payments. (These
payments are income to the provids
. but not the person receiving the
service.)

The first $300 from gambling, bingc
lottery, awards or prizes. For
example, if you win $500 in a churg
raffle, you must include $200 of thig
in your household income.

The first $300 in gifts, cash or
expenses paid on your behalf by a
family member or friend.

Amounts deducted from Social
Security or railroad retirement
benefits for Medicare premiums.
Life, health and accident insurance
premiums paid by your employer.
However, if you pay medical
insurance or health maintenance

18
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Independence Agency may pay your

and homestead property tax credits.

organization (HMO) premiums for
you or your family, you may deduct
the cost from household income.
The gain postponed on the sale of
your personal residence. (Exception:
see instructions for line 18 on page
21)

Property taxes that can be claimed
for credit

Ad valorem property taxes that were
levied on your homestead in 1999,
including collection fees up to

1 percent of the taxes, can be claimed
no matter when you pay them. You
mayadd to your 1999 taxes the amount
of property taxes billed in 1999 from a
corrected or supplemental tax bill. You
mustdeduct from your 1999 property
taxes any refund of property taxes
received in 1999 that was a result of a
corrected tax bill from a previous year.

Do not include:

Delinquent property taxes (e.qg.,
1998 property taxes paid in 1999)
Penalty and interest on late
payments of property tax
Delinquent water or sewer bills
Property taxes on cottages or second
homes

Special assessments (for drains,
sewers, etc.) that are not based on
taxable value or are not applied to
the entire taxing jurisdiction.

t Home used for businesdf you use

part of your home for business, you
may claim the property taxes on the
living area of your homestead, gt
the property taxes on the portion used
for business. This applies whether or
not you claim the property taxes on a
federal business schedule.

flOwner-occupied duplexesWhen

both units are equal, you are limited to
50 percent of the tax on both units.

, This is true even if 20 percent of the

rent paid on the rental is less than 50

ppercent of the property taxes.

Owner-occupied income property.
This section applies to apartment
building owners who live in one of the
units and to single family home-
owners who rent a room(s) to a
tenant(s). Owners must do two
calculations to figure the tax that can
be claimed and base their credit on the
lower amount. The first calculation
subtracts 20 percent of the rent
collected from the tax eligible for
credit. The second calculation reduces
the tax eligible for credit by the



amount of tax claimed as a business
deduction on your U.9.040.

For example, your home has an
upstairs apartment that is rented to a
tenant for $395 a month.

Total property taxes on your home ar
$2,150. The calculations are as
follows:

Step 1: $395 x 12 = $4,740 annual ren
$4,740 x .20 = $948 taxes
attributable to the apartment
$2,150 total taxes - $948 =
$1,202 taxes attributable to
owner's homestead

$2,150 total taxes - $858 taxes
claimed as a business
deduction = $1,292 taxes
attributable to homestead

The owner's taxes that can be claime
for credit are $1,202, the smaller of t
two computations.

Farmers. You may include farmland
taxes in your property tax credit clain
if any of the following conditions
apply:

« If your gross receipts from farming
are greater than your household
income, you may claim all of your
farmland taxes including taxes on
unoccupied farmland. Dot include
taxes on farmland that is not adjace
or contiguous to your home and tha
you rent or lease to another person

If gross receipts from farming are
less than your household income a|
you have lived in your hommore
than 10 years, you may claim the
taxes on your home and the farmla
adjacent and contiguous to your
home.

If gross receipts from farming are

Step 2:

less than your household income a| @

you have lived in your homless
than 10 years, you may claim the
taxes on your home and five acres

farmland adjacent and contiguous to

your home.

You maynot claimrent paid for vacant
farmland when computing your
property tax credit claim.

Include any farmland preservation taj
credit in your household income. Ent¢
the amount of credit you received in
1999 on line 19 or include it in net
farm income on line 17.

Homestead property tax credits aw
included in household income. If you
included this amount in your taxable
farm income, you may subtract it fron
household income.

Rent that can be claimed for credit

Twenty percent of rent paid is
considered property tax that can be
claimed for credit, except as explaing
below. See “ALTERNATE
PROPERTY TAX CREDIT FOR
RENTERS AGE 65 OR OLDER” on
page 22.

¢ If you live in housing on whickervice
feesare paid instead of taxes,
10 percent of your rent can be claime
for credit. If the landowner says your
tax share is less than 10 percent, use
the amount the landowner gives you.

If your housing issxemptfrom

property tax and no service fee is pa

you arenot eligible for credit. This

includes university or college-owned
ghousing.

df your housing costs are subsidized
base your claim on the amount you
pay. Do not include the federal subsi
amount.

Mobile home park residents claim
the $3 per month specific tax on line
plus 20 percent of the balance of ren
paid on line 10.

If you are acooperative housing
corporation resident member, claim
your share of the property taxes on tk
2"Building. If you are one of the few wh
tlives in a cooperative where resident
- pay rent on the land where the buildi
sets, residents may also claim 20
ngercent of that land rent. (Dmt take
20 percent of your total monthly
payment.)

r‘Q}Vhen you payoom and board in
one feethe landowner should be ablé
to exclude the board portion of your
payment and tell you the amount tha

e

NGoes toward your room. You may

taxes.

ou may also determine your tax tha
can be claimed for credit based on

@]

$750 a month for room and board. Yc

occupy 600 square feet of a 62,000

square foot apartment building. The

landowner pays $54,000 in taxes pet|
sryear.

Step 1: 600/62,000 = .0097

Step 2: $54,000 x .0097 = $524 taxes
you can claim for credit.

=]

claim 20 percent of your room rent as

square footage. For example, you pay

Special Situations

If you moved in 1999

Residentswho lived temporarily
outside Michigan may qualify for a
credit as long as Michigan remained
their state of domicile. However,
personal belongings and furnishings
must have remained in the Michigan
homestead AND the homestead must
not have been rented or sublet during
dthe temporary absence. (See the
definitions of resident on page 9 and
> domicile on page 17.)

If you bought or sold your home,you
must prorate your taxes. Complete
dform MI-1040CR, lines 37-43, to
determine the taxes that can be claimed
for credit. Use only the taxes levied in
1999 on each Michigan homestead,
then prorate taxes based on days of
occupancy. Dmot include taxes on
jyout-of-state property.

If you married during 1999, combine
each spouse's share of taxes or rent for
Othe period of time he or she lived in

I separate homesteads. Then add the
prorated share of taxes or rent for the
time you lived together in your marital
home. This only applies to homes
ndocated in Michigan and to couples
owho married during 1999.

> Part-year residentswho lived in
19\/Iichigan at least six months during
the year may be entitled to a partial
credit. If you are a part-year resident,
you must include all income received
as a Michigan resident in household
income (line 30). Complete
MI-1040CR, lines 37-43, to determine
the taxes to claim for credit on your
Michigan homestead.

Residents of nursing homes and
other adult care homes
If you are a resident of a nursing home,
adult foster care home or home for the
aged, that facility is considered your
yhomestead. If the facility pays local
property taxes (many do not), you may
claim your portion of those taxes for
credit. You maynot claim rent. Ask the
manager what your share is. If you
would rather figure it yourself, divide
the amount of property tax levied on
the facility in 1999 by the number of
residents the facility is licensed for.
This is your share. If both you and
your spouse live in the facility, add
your shares together. If you lived in the
facility only part of the year, multiply

D
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this amount by the portion of the yed
you lived at the facility.

(Exception: Credit is not allowed if
your facility care charges are paid
directly to the facility by a governme
agency.)

If you maintain a homestead and yo
spouse lives in an adult care home,
you may file a joint credit claim.

Combine the tax for your homestead
and your spouse’s share of the
facility’s property tax to compute you
claim. If you are single and maintain
homestead (that isot rented to
someone else) while living in an adu

r must be based on the tax or rent for 1
months on only one home. The hous
hold income must be the combined
income of both you and your spouse

ntfor the entire year.

If you file separate federal and state
urreturns and maintain separate
homesteadsyou may each claim a
credit. Each credit is based on the
individual taxes or rent and individual
income for each person.

r If you separated or divorced in 1999,
afigure your credit based on the taxes

you paid together before your separa
[t tion plus whatever taxes you paid

care home, you may claim either yourindividually after your separation.

homestead or your share of the
facility’s property tax, but not both.
Use the one that gives you the large
credit.

Deceased claimant’s credit

The estate of a taxpayer who died in
1999 (or 2000 before filing a claim)
may be entitled to a credit for 1999.
The surviving spouse or personal
representative can claim this credit.

The surviving spousemay file a joint
claim with the deceased. Enter both
names and Social Security numbers
the form, and write “deceased” after

the decedent’s name. Sign the return

and write “Filing as a surviving
spouse” and the decedent’s date of
death in the decedent’s signature

block. Include the decedent's income

in household income.

The personal representativanust
prorate taxes to the date of death.
Complete lines 39-43 of the
MI-1040CR, to help prorate the
property taxes. Annualize household
income. See instructions for lines 31
and 36 on page 22. Attach a copy of
the tax bills or rent receipts. Also
submit a copy of U.SL310or an
MI-1310.

Enter on line 1 of the decedent's cla
the names of the decedent and per-
sonal representative in the following
order:

Joe Lane, Estate of
Mary Jones, Rep.

Use the decedent’s Social Security
number and the personal
representative's address. Enter the ¢
of death in the signature block.

If you are separated and file a joint
return with your spouse, your claim

Attach a schedule showing your
computation. The brochuildomestead
Property Tax Credit for Separated or
Divorced Taxpayeréform C-4354)
contains a worksheet to help you
compute your credit.

For example Bob and Susan separat
on October 2, 1999. The annual taxe
on the home they owned were $1,86
Susan continued to live in the home,
and Bob moved to an apartment on
October 2 and paid $350 per month
rent for the rest of the year. Susan

OBarned $20,000 and Bob earned
$25,000. They lived together for 274
days.

Step 1. Determine the prorated incon
for each spouse for the 274 days the)
lived together. Divide each spouse's
total income by 365 days then multip
that figure by 274.

Susan ($20,000/365) x 274 = $15,0]
Bob ($25,000/365) x 274 = $18,76

Step 2: Add both prorated incomes
together to determine the total incom
for the time they lived together.
$15,014 + $18,768 = $33,782
Step 3: Divide each individual's
prorated share of income by the total
income from step 2 to determine the

mpercentage of income attributable to
each.

Susan $15,014/$33,782 = 44%
Bob $18,768/$33,782 = 56%

Step 4: Determine the prorated taxes
eligible for credit for the time they
lived together. Divide the $1,860 by
365 days then multiply by 274 days.

late ($1,860/365) x 274 = $1,396
Step 5: Determine each individual's

share of the prorated taxes. Multiply
the $1,396 by the percentages

r

n )
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|2 Susan $1,396 x 44% = $614
Bob $1,396 x 56% = $782

Enter these amounts on your
MI-1040CR, line 42, column A.

Susan uses lines 39-42, column B, to
determine her share of taxes for the
remaining 91 days.

Bob uses lines 44-45 to determine his
share of rent. Each completes the
remaining lines of the MI-1040CR
according to the line-by-line
instructions.

D

Married, filing separately

Spouses who file separate Michigan
income tax returns and share a
household are entitled to only one
property tax credit. Complete your
property tax credit claim jointly and
include income from both spouses in
household income. You may then
divide the credit as you wish. If each
s§Pouse claims a portion of the credit,
s attach a copy of the claim showing
y.each spouse’s share of the credit to
each income tax return. Enter only
your portion of the credit on MI-1040,
line 32.

Single adults sharing a home

When two or more single people share
a home, each may file a credit claim if
each has contracted to pay rent or owns
ea share of the home. Each should file
an individual claim based on his or her
household income and prorated share
y of taxes or rent paid.

4 Line-by-Line
8 Instructions for Form
MI-1040CR

11°]

Lines not listed are explained on the
form.

IDENTIFICATION

Lines 1, 2 and 3: If you are filing this
form with an income tax return
(MI-1040), you do not need to enter
your address on this form, but you
must enter your name(s) and Social
Security number(s). If you are married
filing separate claims enter both Social
Security numbers, but det enter

your spouse’s name.

Line 5: If you and your spouse had a
different residency status, mark the box
that applies to each spouse.

Line 6: Enter your age. You are a
senior citizen if you or your spouse
was age 65 by December 31, 1999, or

determined in step 3.



if you are the surviving spouse of a

person who was age 65 or older at th
time of death. You are considered ag
65 the day before your 65th birthday.

Line 7: Check box "a" if you or your
spouse is paraplegic, quadriplegic or
hemiplegic as of December 31, 1999

Check box "b" if you or your spouse i
totally and permanently disabled as ¢
December 31, 1999 (as defined unde
Social Security Guidelines 42 USC
416). Donot check box "b" if you or
your spouse is a senior citizen.

PROPERTY TAX
AND HOUSEHOLD INCOME

Include all taxable and nontaxable
income you and your spouse receive
as Michigan residents in 1999. If you
family lived in Michigan while one
spouse earned wages outside
Michigan, include the income earned
out of state in your household income
(See "Household income" and
“Property taxes that can be claimed f
credit” on page 18.)

Line 8: If you own your homestead,
enter the 1999 taxable value from yo
1999 property tax statement. If you d
not know your taxable value, ask you
local treasurer. Farmers should inclu
the taxable value on all land that
qualifies for this credit.

Line 9: Read "Property taxes that car
be claimed for credit" on page 18
before you complete this line.

Line 13: Enter all compensation

received as an employee. Include strjkg,

pay, supplemental unemployment
benefits (SUB pay), deferred compern
sation received, sick pay or long-tern
disability benefits, including income
protection insurance.

Line 15: Enter the sum of the amoun 47

from the following U.S. forms:
Schedule Gbusiness income or loss)
4797 (other gain or loss); anfichedule
E (rents, royalties, partnerships,

S corporations, estates and trusts).
Include amounts from sources outsid
Michigan.Attach these schedules to
your claim.

Line 16: Enter all annuity, pension
and IRA benefits and the name of the
payer. This should be the taxable
amount shown on your U.$099-R If
no taxable amount is shown on your
U.S.1099-R use the gross amount.
Enter zero if all of your distribution is
from your contributions made with
income previously included in adjuste

gross income. The amount you are
ereporting should include reimburse-
e ment payments such as an increase
pension to pay for Medicare charges.
Also include the total amount of any
lump sum distribution including
amounts reported on your U&72

Line 17: Enter the amount from U.S.
S Schedule Hfarm income or loss).
‘;AttachScheduIe F

Line 18: Enter all capital gains. This
is the total of short and long-term
gains, less short and long-term losse
from your U.S.Schedule 1040Dine

17 (for gains) or line 18 (for losses).
Include gains realized on the sale of
your residence regardless of your age
dor whether or not these gains are

" exempt from federal income tax. Do
not include deferred gains from the

| are reinvested in a new home (in
"accordance with IRC section 1034).

otine 19: Enter alimony received and
describe any other taxable income.

This includes:

Ul Awards, prizes, lottery, bingo and
O other gambling winnings over $300

jre (see "Household income" on pg. 18
e Farmland preservation tax credits,

not included in farm income on
line 17.

' Line 20: Enter your Social Security,

Supplemental Security Income (SSI)

and Railroad Retirement benefits.
Include death benefits and amounts

ceived for minor children or other
dependent adults who live with you.

“Report the amount actually received.
Do not include the amount deducted
for Medicare.

¢ ine 21: Enter child support received
Also enter all payments received as &
foster parentNote: If you received a

1999 Child Support Annual Statemen
showing child support payments paid
to the Friend of the Court, enter the

echild support portion here and attach
copy of the statement. Also see line 2

Line 23: Enter other nontaxable

income. This includes:

* Compensation for damages to
character or for personal injury or
sickness;

* An inheritance (exclude an inheri-
tance from your spouse);

* Proceeds of a life insurance policy

»d paid on the death of the insured

sale of a residence when the proceeds

(exclude benefits from a policy on
your spouse);

Ne@Death benefits paid by or on behalf
of an employer;

* The value over $300 in gifts of cash,
merchandise or expenses paid on
your behalf (rent, taxes, utilities,
food, medical care, etc.) from
parents, relatives or friends;

* Minister’s housing allowance;

* Amounts paid directly to you as a
scholarship, stipend, grant or Gl hill
benefits; and

* Reimbursement from dependent care
and/or medical care spending
accounts.

® Also include payments made on your

behalf except government payments

made directly to an educational
institution or subsidized housing

D

project.

Line 24: Enter workers’ compensation
benefits received, service-connected
disability compensation benefits and
pension benefits received from the
Veterans Administration. Veterans
receiving retirement benefits should
enter their benefits on line 16.

~

Line 25: Enter the total payments
made to your household by the Family
Independence Agency (FIA) and all
other public assistance payments. Your
1999 Annual Statement(sjailed by
FIA in January 2000 will show your
total FIA payments. Your statement(s)
may include the following: Family
Independence Program assistance
(FIP), State Disability Assistance
(SDA), State Family Assistance (SFA),
Refugee Assistance, Repatriate
Assistance and vendor payments for
L' shelter, heat and utilitieslote: If you
received d999 Child Support Annual
tStatementsubtract the amount of child
support payments entered on line 21
from the total FIA payments and enter
athe difference here.

=

.ine 27: Enter total adjustments from
your U.S.1040,line 32, or U.S.
1040Aline 17. Describe any
adjustments to income.

These adjustments reduce household

income:

» Payments to an individual retirement
account (IRA); Keogh (HR 10), SEP,
or SIMPLE plans;
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Student loan interest deduction;
Medical savings account deduction
Moving expenses;

Deduction for self-employment tax;
Self-employed health insurance
deduction;

Forfeited interest penalty for
premature withdrawal;

Alimony paid.

Also enter the amount of a net
operating loss (NOL) deduction.
Note: A deduction for a carryback or
carryforward of an NOL cannot excee
federal modified taxable income.
Attach yourApplication for Net
Operating Loss Refun@dorm
MI-1045).

Line 28: Enter medical insurance or
HMO premiums you paid for yourself
and your family (NOT MEDICARE).
Include medical insurance premiums
paid through payroll deduction.
Include the portion of auto insurance
paid for medical coverage. Dt
include insurance premiums deducte
on line 27 or amounts paid for incom
protection insurance.

PROPERTY TAX CREDIT
Line 31: Multiply line 30 by 3.5

percent (.035) or the percentage from

Table 3 belowThis is the amount

that is not refundable. The personal
representative claiming a credit for a
deceased taxpayer with household
income of $6,000 or less must
annualize the decedent’s income and

use the annualized figure to determi
- the nonrefundable percentage from
Table 3 on this page. Then use the
actual household income to compute
the credit. See instructions for
annualizing on this page.

Line 36: Taxpayers with household
income over $82,650 (line 30) amet
eligible for credit in any category. Th
computed credit is reduced by

10 percent for every $1,000 (or part
$1,000) that your household income
exceeds $73,650. If you are filing a
sdpart-year return (for a deceased
taxpayer or a part-year resident), yo
must annualize the household incom
to determine if the credit reduction
applies. If the annualized income is
more than $73,650, use actual
household income to compute the
credit; then reduce the credit 10
percent for every $1,000 (or part of
$1,000) that your annualized income
exceeds $73,650. The surviving
spouse filing a joint claim does not
dhave to annualize the deceased

|, Spouse’s income.

To annualize income (project what
it would have been for a full year):

Step 1. Divide 365 by the number o
days the claimant lived or
was a Michigan resident in
1999.

Multiply the answer from
step 1 by the claimant’s
household income (line 30).
The result is annualized

Step 2:

ne RENTERS

See "Rent that can be claimed for
credit" on page 19.

Line 44 If you rented a Michigan
homestead subject to local property
taxes, enter the street number and
name, city, landowner’s name and
address, number of months rented, rent
Epaid per month and total rent paid. Do
this for each Michigan homestead
Dfented during 1999. If you need more
space, attach an additional sheet. Do
not include more than 12 months' rent.
Do not include amounts paid directly to
dthe landowner on your behalf by a
&overnment agency.

CREDIT PRORATION

If you received Family Independence
Program assistance (FIP) or other FIA
benefits in 1999, your credit must be
prorated to reflect the ratio of income
from other sources to total household
income.

ALTERNATE PROPERTY
TAX CREDIT FOR RENTERS
AGE 65 OR OLDER

Line 56: Enter the rent paid from line
45 or, if you live in service fee housing,
line 47. If you moved from one rental
homestead to another during the last
two years, enter here the smaller of:

e The final month’s rent on your
previous rented homestead multiplied
by 12,0R

e The actual rent paid from line 45 or
47.

income.
4 N
TABLE 3: PERCENT OF TAXES NOT REFUNDABLE
To Qualify for Credit, Your
Claimant Category: Property Tax Must Exceed:
Income % of Income
All General
Claimants $0 - $82,650 .....vvvveieiieieeeeeeiiie 3.5%
Other
Claimants* $3,000 OF €SS ..vvvvieeiieeeee e 0%
$3,001 - $4,000 ...ccevveeeeeeiiiiiiieieeee 1%
$4,001 - $5,000 ...ccevveeeeeeiiiiiieeeeee 2%
$5,001 - $6,000 ....coeeeeeeeeeeiiiiiiireeenen. 3%
More than $6,000 ............ccccveeeeennnene. 3.5%
*Other claimants are senior citizens and people who are paraplegic,
hemiplegic, quadriplegic and totally and permanently disabled.
o %
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