
aa E-file your Michigan Home Heating Credit Claim (MI-1040CR-7) with or without a 
Michigan Individual Income Tax Return (MI-1040) and get your home heating credit faster. 

aa E-file eliminates many of the errors that lengthen processing times.  E-file returns are 
usually processed within 14 business days. Please allow 14 days before checking the status 
of your e-filed return.

aa Visit the Michigan Department of Treasury Web site at www.MIfastfile.org for a list of 
e-file resources, how to find an e-file provider, and more information on free e-file services.

Filing Deadline. The deadline for filing your 2015 home heating credit is 
September 30, 2016. The filing of an extension for income taxes does not extend the due date 
for the home heating credit. 

Important Information. Michigan’s home heating credit is funded by federal 
Low-Income Home Energy Assistance Program Grants. Your credit may be larger or smaller 
than the credit you received last year because the amount of money Michigan receives from this 
grant varies every year. For general information visit www.michigan.gov/heatingassistance.  

Direct Deposit. If you are eligible to receive a check for your home heating credit 
claim, you may request that it be deposited directly into your account at a financial institution 
by filing a Direct Deposit of Refund (Form 3174). See page 17 of this booklet. Claimants 
receiving heat drafts are not eligible for Direct Deposit.  

Issued under Public Act 281 of 1967. This booklet is intended as a guide to help 
you prepare your credit claim. It does not take the place of the law.

Home Heating  
Credit Claim

Filing Due Date:  SEPTEMBER 30,  2016
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Tax Information and Assistance

Tax Information and Assistance
Self Service Options
The Michigan Department of Treasury (Treasury) offers 
a variety of services designed to assist you, and most are 
available 24 hours a day, seven days a week.

IMPORTANT: To obtain information about your 
account using the Internet and Telephone Options listed 
below, you will need the following information from 
your return:
•	 �Social Security number (SSN) of the primary filer 

(the filer listed first on the return)
•	 Tax year of the return
•	 �Adjusted gross income (AGI) or total household 

resources
•	 �Filing status (single, married filing jointly, married 

filing separately).
Internet Options
www.michigan.gov/incometax
Find the following information on this Web site: 
•	 Current year forms and instructions
•	 Answers to many tax preparation questions
•	 Most commonly used tax forms
•	 Free assistance in preparing your return
•	 Other tax resources.
Select “Check My Income Tax Info” to access the 
Individual Income Tax Self Service Web site where you 
can:
•	 Check the status of your return
•	 Check estimated payments you made during the year
•	 Check the status of letters you have sent to Treasury
•	 Change your address
•	 Ask a specific question about your account.
Telephone Options
517-636-4486 
Automated Information Service
With Treasury’s automated phone system, you can:  
•	 Request the status of your refund
•	 Check the status of letters you have sent to Treasury
•	 Request information on estimated payments
•	 Order current tax year forms.
While most questions can be answered by the Automated 
Information Service, customer service representatives 
are available from 8 a.m. to 4:45 p.m., Monday through 
Friday.
Assistance is available using TTY through the Michigan 
Relay Service by calling 1-800-649-3777 or 711. Printed 
material in an alternate format may be obtained by 
calling 517-636-4486.

Forms
Find tax forms using the Internet and Telephone Options 
listed on this page.  Commonly used forms are also 
available at Treasury offices (see back cover), most 
public libraries, Northern Michigan post offices, and 
Michigan Department of Health and Human Services 
(MDHHS) county offices.
Additional Help 
If you need help completing your credit form, contact 
your local community service agency or senior citizen 
center to find out if a volunteer tax assistance program is 
available in your area.
When You Have Finished 
Review your claim for the following common errors that 
may delay your refund:
•	 �The MI-1040CR-7 is a two-page form; both pages 

must be completed and filed to be processed
•	 Illegible writing
•	 Transposing numbers in the SSN
•	 Entering figures on wrong lines
•	 Math errors
•	 �Filling in lines if they do not apply to you or if the 

amount is zero
•	 �Missing, incomplete, or applied for Social Security 

number. If you don’t have an SSN or an Individual 
Taxpayer Identification Number (ITIN) for your 
dependent, apply for one through the IRS. Do not 
claim them on your MI-1040CR-7, line 14, until you 
have received their SSN or ITIN.�

•	 �Failing to report total household resources from all 
sources, both taxable and nontaxable

•	 �Failing to reduce the heating credit by 50 percent 
when heat is included in your rent.

Before you mail your claim, review it carefully and 
make sure it is complete.  Keep a copy of your claim and 
all schedules for six years.   
Mail your claim to: Michigan Department of Treasury
		            Lansing, MI  48956

You can file a home heating credit for the      
current tax year only.

E-filing your return is 
easy, fast, and secure!

www.MIfastfile.org
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Important Information for All Claimants
This booklet contains forms and instructions to file 
and calculate your home heating credit. Please read 
these instructions carefully. The request for your Social 
Security number is authorized under United States Code 
(USC) Section 42. Social Security numbers are used 
by Treasury to conduct matches against benefit income 
provided by the Social Security Administration and other 
sources to verify the accuracy of the home heating and 
property tax credit claims filed and to deter fraudulent 
filings. 
The filer, spouse and dependent(s) Social Security 
numbers must be completed for all household members.  
When Social Security numbers are not provided, the 
credit will be denied.
If you currently receive Family Independence Program 
(FIP) assistance or other public assistance, you may 
claim a home heating credit if you owned or rented a 
homestead in 2015. If you owned or rented only part of 
the year, you must prorate your credit. See instructions 
for a part-year owner or renter on page 5.
If you receive FIP assistance, State Disability Assistance 
(SDA), or you are enrolled with the MDHHS for direct 
payment, by law Treasury must send your credit directly 
to your heat provider.
If your heat is provided by DTE Energy, Consumers 
Energy, or SEMCO Energy Gas, your home heating 
credit may be sent directly to your heat provider.  (See 
instructions for line 15 on page 7.)
If, at the time you file this claim, your heating costs are 
included in your rent, your credit must be reduced by 50 
percent. Your credit will be issued as a check, rather than 
an energy draft (see MI-1040CR-7, lines 7 and 38).
If you file an income tax return (MI-1040), do not staple 
your home heating credit claim to the MI-1040. Fold it 
and leave it loose in the envelope. You cannot apply your 
home heating credit to your income tax liability.
If you file a property tax credit claim (Michigan 
Homestead Property Tax Credit Claim (MI-1040CR) or 
Michigan Homestead Property Tax Credit for Veterans 
and Blind People (MI‑1040CR-2)) without an MI‑1040, 
you should include your home heating credit claim with 
the property tax credit claim form.
Who May Claim a Credit
This credit helps low income families pay their home 
heating costs.  To see if you may claim a credit, answer 
the following questions:
•	 �Are you a full-time student who is claimed as a 

dependent on another person’s income tax return? 
•	 �Did you live in a licensed care facility for the entire 

year? (See “Licensed Care Facilities” on page 5.)

General Information

If you answered yes to either of these questions, you 
cannot claim a home heating credit. If you answered no 
to both questions, in order to be eligible for a credit:
•	 Your homestead must be in Michigan, and 
•	 �You must own a home or have a lease agreement to 

pay rent for the home where you live.
•	 �You cannot live in college- or university-operated 

housing (including dormitories, residence halls, or 
apartments)

•	 �Your income must be within the income limits listed 
in Tables A and B on page 19.

You can have only one homestead at a time and you 
must be the occupant as well as the owner or renter. 
Your homestead can be a rented apartment or a mobile 
home on a lot in a mobile home park. A vacation home or 
income property is not considered your homestead.
Your homestead is in your state of domicile. Domicile is 
the place where you have your permanent home. It is the 
place to which you plan to return whenever you go away. 
College students and others whose permanent homes are 
not in Michigan are not Michigan residents.  Domicile 
continues until you establish a new permanent home.
Spouses who share a home are entitled to only one 
home heating credit based upon the number of allowable 
exemptions in the household or the heating costs for the 
home, and joint total household resources. 
If you were separated for all or part of the year and file 
a joint federal or Michigan income tax return with your 
spouse, your credit claim is based upon either the heating 
costs of only one home or the number of exemptions in 
each household. The total household resources must be 
the combined income of both spouses for the entire year
Spouses who maintain separate homes for the entire 
year and do not file joint federal or Michigan income 
tax returns may each claim a credit based upon 
their separate heating costs or exemptions and total 
household resources. Attach Married Filing Separately 
and Divorced or Separated Claimants Schedule  
(Form 5049), which can be found on Treasury’s Web site.
If you were separated or divorced during 2015 and do not 
file joint income tax returns, your credit must be based 
on your share of the heating costs or exemptions before 
separation, plus your exemptions and individual heating 
costs after separation. Attach a schedule showing your 
computation and Form 5049.
When to File
The final date for filing a 2015 home heating credit is 
September 30, 2016.  (Your claim must be postmarked 
by September 30, 2016.) The filing of an extension 
for income taxes does not extend the due date for the 
home heating credit. File early to receive priority 
processing. 
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Exemptions
You may claim one exemption for each of the following:
•	 �Yourself, unless you are eligible to be claimed as a 

dependent on someone else’s return
•	 Your spouse
•	 �Your children who live with you, even if their support 

comes from FIP assistance or someone else.  If you do 
not have custody of your children, you cannot claim 
them on your MI-1040CR-7, even if you can claim 
them on your MI-1040

•	 �Any other dependent who lives with you and for 
whom you provided more than half their support.

You may not claim an exemption for someone who 
is claiming themselves. You can claim additional 
exemptions for each special condition that applies to you, 
your spouse, or your dependents. If one spouse qualifies, 
claim 1; if both qualify, claim 2. Special exemptions are 
for deaf, disabled or blind, and qualified disabled veteran. 
See instructions for line 13 on page 7.
Deceased Claimants
If the taxpayer died during 2015, the personal 
representative may claim the standard heating credit but 
may not claim the alternate heating credit. If your spouse 
died in 2015, use the same number of exemptions you 
would have used had your spouse lived all year.
The surviving spouse may file a joint claim for 2015. 
Write your name and the deceased’s name and both Social 
Security numbers on the MI‑1040CR-7. Write “DECD” 
after the deceased’s name.
You must report the deceased’s income. Sign the claim on 
the deceased’s signature line, write “Filing as surviving 
spouse.” Enter the deceased’s date of death in the 
“Deceased Taxpayers” box on the bottom of page 2 of the 
form.
If filing as a personal representative or claimant for 
a single deceased taxpayer or when both taxpayers are 
deceased:
•	 �You must attach a U.S. Form 1310 or Michigan Claim 

for Refund Due a Deceased Taxpayer (Form MI-1310) 
and a death certificate

•	 �Enter the name of the deceased person(s) in the Filer 
and Spouse name fields with “DECD” next to the 
name(s) and the representative’s or claimant’s name, 
title and address in the home address field

•	 �Use the deceased’s Social Security number on the 
form

•	 �Enter the date(s) of death in the designated boxes on 
the bottom of page 2

•	 �You must prorate for the number of days from  
January 1 until the date of death.  See page 5 for more 
information on prorating the credit.

Total Household Resources
Total household resources are the total income (taxable 
and nontaxable) of both spouses or of a single person 
maintaining a household. They are AGI, excluding net 
business and farm losses, net rent and royalty losses, and 
any carryover of a net operating loss, plus all income 
exempt or excluded from AGI. 
Total household resources include the following items 
not listed on the form:
•	 �Capital gains on sales of your residence regardless of 

them being exempt from federal income tax
•	 �Nongovernmental scholarship, stipend or grant 

payments paid directly to an educational institution
•	 �Compensation for damages to character or for 

personal injury or sickness
•	 �An inheritance (except an inheritance from your 

spouse)
•	 �Proceeds of a life insurance policy paid on the death of 

the insured (except benefits from a policy on your 
spouse)

•	 Death benefits paid by or on behalf of an employer
•	 Minister’s housing allowance
•	 �Forgiveness of debt, even if excluded from AGI  

(e.g., mortgage foreclosure)
•	 �Reimbursement from dependent care and/or medical 

care spending accounts
•	 �Payments made on your behalf, except government 

payments, paid directly to third parties such as an 
educational institution or subsidized housing project.

Total household resources do NOT include:
•	 �Net operating loss deductions taken on your federal 

return
•	 �Payments received by participants in the foster 

grandparent or senior companion program
•	 Energy assistance grants
•	 �Government payments made directly to a third party 

(e.g., payments to a doctor, GI Bill benefits and 
payments from a PELL grant).

NOTE: If payment is made from money withheld from 
your benefit, the payment is part of total household 
resources. (For example, the MDHHS may pay your rent 
directly to the landlord.)
•	 �Money received from a government unit to repair or 

improve your homestead
•	 Surplus food or food assistance program benefits
•	 �State and city income tax refunds and homestead 

property tax credits
•	 �Chore service payments (these payments are income 

to the provider of the service)
•	 �The first $300 from gambling, bingo, lottery, awards, 

or prizes
•	 �The first $300 in gifts of cash or merchandise 

received, or expenses paid on your behalf (rent, taxes, 
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utilities, food, medical care, etc.) by parents, relatives, 
or friends

•	 �Amounts deducted from Social Security or Railroad 
Retirement benefits for Medicare premiums

•	 �Life, health, and accidental insurance premiums paid 
by your employer

•	 Loan proceeds
•	 Inheritance from a spouse
•	 Life insurance benefits from a spouse
•	 �Payments from a long-term care policy made to a 

nursing home or other care facility
•	 �Most payments from The Step Forward Michigan 

program.
For more information on Total Household Resources, 
visit www.michigan.gov/taxtotalhouseholdresources.
Special Provisions for Farmers
If you received a farmland preservation tax credit in 
2015, you must include it in total household resources. 
You may subtract the business portion of your homestead 
property tax credit if you included it in taxable farm 
income.
Licensed Care Facilities
If you live in a licensed care facility, generally you 
do not qualify for the home heating credit. Licensed 
care facilities include adult foster care homes, licensed 
homes for the aged, nursing homes, and substance abuse 
treatment centers. If you lived in a licensed care facility 
only part of the year, you could qualify for a partial 
credit for the period you lived outside the facility. (See 
prorating instructions for a part-year owner or renter on 
this page.)
If your spouse lives in a licensed care facility and you 
live in the family homestead, you may still qualify for a 
credit.  File a joint credit claim and do not check a box 
on line 12.
Subsidized senior citizen apartments are not licensed 
care facilities. If you live in a subsidized senior citizen 
apartment, you may apply for a credit.

Standard Credit
The standard credit computation uses standard 
allowances established by law.  Use Table A on  
page 19 to find the standard allowance for the number of 
exemptions you claimed.
Shared Housing Standard Allowance
If you share a home but are not the owner or you do 
not have a contract to pay rent, you cannot claim a 
credit.

When two or more single adults share a home, each may 
claim a credit if each has contracted to pay rent or owns a 
share of the home. Each should file a home heating credit 
based on his or her total household resources and his or 

her share of the standard allowance. First, determine the 
standard allowance from Table A on page 19 by adding 
the personal exemptions of all the claimants sharing a 
home.  Divide this standard allowance by the number of 
claimants in the home.
Example:  Three men share an apartment.  Each has 
a signed lease and pays 1/3 of the rent.  The standard 
allowance for three exemptions is $774. Each person 
must use a standard allowance of $258 ($774 ÷ 3 = $258) 
to compute his credit.

If you are eligible for a special exemption, compute 
your standard allowance following this example:

Example:  Gertrude and Betty share a home and each 
pays one half of the rent. Gertrude is age 59, and Betty 
is age 65 and totally and permanently disabled. They file 
separate MI-1040CR-7 claims. They must first divide 
$614 (the standard allowance for two exemptions) by 
two. Gertrude’s allowance is $307 ($614 ÷ 2 = $307). 
Because Betty qualifies for a special exemption for being 
disabled (as she is entitled to a disabled exemption until 
she is eligible for full Social Security at age 66), she may 
add the difference between the standard allowance for 
three ($774) and the standard allowance for two ($614) to 
$307.	
	 $774 - $614 = $160 + $307 = $467

	 $467 is the standard allowance for Betty. 

If you are eligible for a dependent exemption, 
compute your standard allowance following this 
example:
Example: Marlin and Brody share an apartment. 
Each person has signed the lease agreement and pays  
one-half of the rent in 2015. The standard allowance for 
two exemptions is $614. Each person must use a standard 
allowance of $307 ($614 ÷ 2 = $307) to compute the 
credit.
Brody is eligible for a dependent exemption for his son, 
Logan, so he would then compute his credit as follows:
The standard allowance as computed above is $307. Then 
add the difference between the standard allowance for 
three ($774) and the standard allowance for two ($614) to 
$307.
	 $774 - $614 = $160 + $307 = $467

	 $467 is the standard allowance for Brody. 

Part-Year Resident or Occupied Homestead Less 
Than 12 Months 
You must prorate your standard allowance for the 
number of days you owned or rented and occupied 
your Michigan homestead. For example, you moved to 
Michigan on September 1. It is 122 days from September 1 
to December 31.  Divide 122 by 365 days and multiply 
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Lines not listed are explained on the form.
Lines  1,  2 and  3:  Enter your name(s), current address, 
and Social Security number(s).  If you are married filing 
separately, enter both Social Security numbers but do not 
enter your spouse’s name.
Line  4:  Enter your two-digit county code from the 
County Code Table on page 19.
Line  5:  Filing Status. Check the box to identify your 
filing status. All couples who are married under the laws 
of the State of Michigan, or under the laws of another 
state, and are treated as married for federal tax purposes 
must claim either married filing jointly or married filing 
separately status on the home heating credit. If you file 
a joint federal return, you must file a joint home heating 
credit. Married couples who live together all year and 
file returns as married filing separately must check the 
box for joint filing status and include the total household 
resources of both spouses. An individual who became 
separated from their spouse during the tax year but is 
still married as of December 31 and who filed a return 
as married filing separately should check the married 
filing separately box and attach Form 5049. If you filed 
your federal return as head of household or qualifying 
widow(er), you must file the home heating credit as 
single.
Line  6:  Residency. Check the box that describes your 
Michigan residency for 2015. If you and your spouse had 
a different residency status during the year, check a box 
for each of you. If you checked box c, enter the dates of 
Michigan residency in 2015. You must then prorate your 

standard allowance following the instructions on page 5 
under “Part-Year Resident or Occupied Homestead Less 
Than 12 Months”. If you are a nonresident, you are not 
eligible for the home heating credit; do not file this form. 
College students and others whose permanent homes are 
not in Michigan are not Michigan residents.
Line  7:  If your heating costs are included in your rent, 
you must check the box on line 7 and complete line 38 of 
the form to receive a check. Failure to do so will result in 
your credit being issued as a draft. You will then have to 
return the draft with a note of explanation to Treasury. It 
may take 120 days or more to issue a check to replace the 
draft.
Line  11:  If you checked the box on line 7 or the 
taxpayer died during the tax year and the credit is being 
claimed by a personal representative or claimant, skip 
this line.  If you were not a full-year Michigan resident 
and/or were not billed for 12 months’ heating costs 
between November 1, 2014 and October 31, 2015, skip 
this line.  Otherwise, enter the heating costs you were 
billed from November 1, 2014 to October 31, 2015 on 
your Michigan homestead.  Many fuel companies include 
the total heating cost for those 12 months on the October 
bill. If you cannot find your bills or the information is not 
on your October bill, contact your heat provider.
Line  12:  If you lived in one of the care facilities listed 
on line 12 for all of 2015, you are not eligible for a home 
heating credit and should not file this form. If you are 
married and your spouse lived in a licensed care facility 
while you lived in your homestead, do not check a box. 

Line-by-Line Instructions for MI-1040CR-7

the result by your standard allowance. Enter the prorated 
standard allowance on line 35 of your claim.
If you are a part-year resident, you must include all 
income received from any sources while a Michigan 
resident in total household resources. 
Alternate Credit
The alternate credit uses heating costs to compute 
a home heating credit.  Add the amounts you were 
billed for heat from November 1, 2014 through  
October 31, 2015 (see instructions for line 11 below).  If 
you buy bulk fuel (oil, coal, wood, or bottled gas), add 
your receipts to get your total heating cost.  Treasury 
may request receipts to verify your heating costs.  If 
your claim is for less than 12 months or your heating 
costs are currently included in your rent, you cannot 
claim an alternate credit. You may claim heating costs 
on your Michigan homestead only.  You may not claim 
heating costs on a vacation home or a home outside of 
Michigan.
For assistance in determining the credit for which you 
may qualify, visit www.michigan.gov/heatingassistance.

Credit Payments
If you are responsible for paying your heating bills, State 
law requires Treasury to issue your credit in the form of 
a State of Michigan Energy Draft.  You can only use the 
draft to pay heat bills.  Give the draft to your enrolled 
heat provider who will apply it to current or future 
heating bills for your home.  If the amount of your draft 
is more than you owe, you may request a refund of the 
difference by checking the box on line 15.  Your heat 
provider has 14 days to pay your refund, without interest.
If you receive a draft and your heat provider is not 
enrolled in Michigan’s energy assistance program, 
or if you use bulk fuel and have already bought your 
energy supply for the year, return the draft with a note 
of explanation to Treasury. Treasury will review your 
explanation and, if appropriate, reissue your credit in the 
form of a check.  If you are notified of denial, you have 
the right to a hearing.
If you receive FIP assistance or other MDHHS benefits 
or you are enrolled with MDHHS for direct payment, the 
law requires your credit to be sent directly to your heat 
provider, who will then apply it to your account.  
If your heat is provided by DTE Energy, Consumers 
Energy, or SEMCO Energy Gas, your home heating 
credit may be sent directly to your heat provider.  (See 
instructions for line 15 on page 7.)
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Also, do not check the “Licensed Home for the Aged” 
box if you live in subsidized senior citizen housing.  See 
“Licensed Care Facilities” on page 5.
Line  13:  Exemptions. Enter the number that applies to 
you, your spouse, and your dependents.
a)  Personal Exemption.  Enter “1” if you are single or 
married filing separately; “2” if you are married filing 
jointly.
b)  Deaf, disabled or blind. You qualify for the deaf 
exemption if the primary way you receive messages 
is through a sense other than hearing (for example, lip 
reading or sign language). 
You qualify for the disabled exemption if you are 
hemiplegic, paraplegic, quadriplegic, or totally and 
permanently disabled. Blind means your better eye 
permanently has 20/200 vision or less with corrective 
lenses, or your peripheral field of vision is 20 degrees 
or less. Totally and permanently disabled means 
disabled as defined under Social Security Guidelines 42  
USC 416. If you are age 66 or older, you may not claim 
an exemption as totally and permanently disabled. 
You may claim only one exemption per person in this 
category. 
c) Qualified disabled veteran. Taxpayers may claim an 
extra exemption if the taxpayer or spouse is a qualified 
disabled veteran, or a dependent of the taxpayer is 
a qualified disabled veteran. To be eligible for the 
additional exemption an individual must be a veteran 
of the active military, naval, marine, coast guard, or air 
service who received an honorable or general discharge 
and has a disability incurred or aggravated in the line of 
duty as described in 38 USC 101(16). 
g)  Include dependents over age 18 who live with you. 
See “Exemptions” on page 4 for further information.
Line  14:  If you claimed exemptions for children 
or dependent adults other than your spouse on  
lines 13d through 13g, enter the following information 
for each person claimed: name, relationship to you, 
Social Security number, and age in years. For children 
12 months and under, enter one year. If the SSN is left 
blank the credit will be denied. If more space is needed, 
complete the Michigan Home Heating Credit Claim MI-
1040CR-7 Supplemental (Form 4976)             on page 15.
Line  15:  If your heat is provided by DTE Energy, 
Consumers Energy, or SEMCO Energy Gas, your home 
heating credit may be sent directly to your heat provider. 
If the credit amount exceeds your heat account balance, 
check this box to receive a refund from your heat 
provider for the overpayment, when eligible.
If you received heating assistance from MDHHS, a 
governmental agency, or a nonprofit organization in 
the 12 months prior to the receipt of your home heating 
credit, your heat provider will apply your credit to any 
outstanding balance still remaining on your account. 
If, after nine months, a refund balance still remains on 
account with your heat provider, your heat provider will 
issue a refund to you. If you have not received heating 
assistance in the past 12 months, your heat provider will 

first apply your credit to any outstanding balance on your 
account and then issue any remaining balance to you 
as a refund. The home heating credit is not considered 
heating assistance for determining when you may receive 
a refund.
Heat Provider Contact Information
Consumers Energy.....................................1-800-477-5050

www.consumersenergy.com
DTE Energy...............................................1-800-477-4747

www.dteenergy.com
SEMCO Energy Gas..................................1-800-624-2019

www.semcoenergygas.com

Total Household Resources
You must complete lines 16 through 34 on MI‑1040CR‑7  
even if you filed a homestead property tax credit claim 
(MI-1040CR or MI-1040CR-2). Include all taxable and 
nontaxable income you and your spouse received in 2015. 
If your family lived in Michigan and one spouse earned 
wages outside Michigan, include the income earned both 
in and out-of-state in your total household resources. 
Line  16: Enter all compensation received as an employee. 
Include strike pay, supplemental unemployment benefits 
(SUB pay), sick pay, or long-term disability benefits, 
including income protection insurance and any other 
amounts reported to you on Form W-2.
Line 17: Do not include business dividend and interest 
income reported as a distributable share on Form K-1.  
See line 18 instructions.
Line  18: Add the amounts from:
•	 U.S. Schedule C (Profit or Loss from Business)
•	 Part II (Ordinary Gains and Losses) of the  

U.S. Form 4797
•	 Part II (Income or Loss from Partnerships and  

S Corporations) and Part III (Income or Loss from 
Estates and Trusts) of the U.S. Schedule E

•	 U.S. Schedule F (Profit or Loss from Farming)
•	 Include income items reported as a distributive share.
If the total is negative enter “0.” Include amounts 
from sources outside Michigan. Attach the above 
federal schedules to your claim.
Line  19: Add the amounts from:
•	 Part I (Income or Loss from Rental Real Estate and 

Royalties) of the U.S. Schedule E
•	 Part IV (Income or Loss from Real Estate Mortgage  

Investment Conduits (REMIC)) of the U.S. Schedule E 
(rents, royalties)

•	 Part V (Net farm rental income or (loss) from       
Form 4835) of the U.S. Schedule E.

If the total is negative enter “0.” Include amounts 
from sources outside Michigan. Attach the above 
federal schedules to your claim.
Line  20:  Enter all annuity, retirement pension, and 
individual retirement account (IRA) benefits. This should 
be the taxable amount shown on your U.S. Form 1099-R.  
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If no taxable amount is shown on your U.S. Form 1099-R, 
use the amount required to be included in AGI. Enter 
zero if all of your distribution is from your contributions 
made with income previously included in AGI. Include 
reimbursement payments such as an increase in a 
pension to pay for Medicare charges.  Also include the 
total amount of any lump sum distribution including 
amounts reported on your U.S. Form 4972. Do not 
include recoveries of after-tax contributions or amounts 
rolled over into another plan (amounts rolled over into a 
Roth IRA must be included to the extent included in AGI).
You must include any part of a distribution from a Roth 
IRA that exceeds your total contributions to the Roth 
IRA regardless of whether this amount is included in 
AGI.  Assume that all contributions to the Roth IRA are 
withdrawn first.  NOTE: Losses from Roth IRAs cannot 
be deducted.
Line  21:  Enter net capital gains and losses. This is the 
total of short-term and long-term gains less short-term 
and long-term losses from your U.S. Schedule D (losses 
cannot exceed $3,000 if single or married filing jointly 
or $1,500 if married filing separately). Include gains 
realized on the sale of your residence whether or not 
these gains are exempt from federal income tax. 
Line  22:  Enter alimony received and other taxable 
income. Describe other taxable income. This includes: 
awards, prizes, lottery, bingo, and other gambling 
winnings over $300; farmland preservation tax credits 
if not included in net farm income on line 18; and 
forgiveness of debt to the extent included in federal AGI 
(e.g., mortgage foreclosure).
Line  23:  Enter your Social Security, Supplemental 
Security Income (SSI), and/or Railroad Retirement 
benefits. Include death benefits and amounts received 
for minor children or other dependent adults who live 
with you. Report the amount actually received. Medicare 
premiums reported on your Social Security or Railroad 
Retirement statement should be deducted.
Line  24:  Enter child support and all payments received 
as a foster parent. NOTE: If you received a 2015 
Custodial Party (CP) End of Year Statement (FEN-851) 
showing child support payments paid to the Friend of the 
Court, enter the child support portion here and attach a 
copy of the statement. Also see line 29 instructions.
Line 25:  Enter all unemployment compensation received 
during 2015.
Line  26: Enter the value over $300 in gifts of cash 
or merchandise received, or expenses paid on your 
behalf (rent, taxes, utilities, food, medical care, etc.) by 
parents, relatives, or friends. This includes the amount 
of financial support you received if you are claimed as 
a dependent on someone else’s return. Do not include 
government payments made directly to third parties 
such as an educational institution or subsidized housing 
project.
Line  27:  Enter other nontaxable income. This includes: 
•	 �Nongovernmental scholarship, stipend or grant 

payments paid directly to an educational institution

•	 �Compensation for damages to character or for 
personal injury or sickness

•	 Adoption subsidies
•	 �An inheritance (except an inheritance from your 

spouse)
•	 �Proceeds of a life insurance policy paid on the death of 

the insured (except benefits from a policy on your 
spouse)

•	 Death benefits paid by or on behalf of an employer
•	 Minister’s housing allowance
•	 �Forgiveness of debt to the extent not included in 

federal AGI (e.g., mortgage foreclosure)
•	 �Reimbursement from dependent care and/or medical 

care spending accounts.
For more information, see “Total Household Resources” 
on page 4.
Line  28:  Enter workers’ compensation, service-
connected disability compensation and pension benefits 
from the Veterans Administration. Veterans receiving 
retirement benefits should enter the benefits on line 20.
Line  29:  Enter the total payments made to your 
household by MDHHS and all other public assistance 
payments. Your 2015 Client Annual Statement 
(DHS-1241) mailed by MDHHS in January 2016 will 
show your total MDHHS payments. Your statement(s) 
may include the following: FIP assistance, State 
Disability Assistance (SDA), Refugee Assistance, 
Repatriate Assistance, and vendor payments for shelter, 
heat, and utilities. 
NOTE: If you received a Form FEN-851, subtract 
the amount of child support payments entered on line 
24 from the total MDHHS payments and enter the 
difference here.
Line  31:  Enter total adjustments from your 
U.S. Form 1040 or U.S. Form 1040A. Describe  
adjustments to income. These adjustments reduce total 
household resources and include some of the following: 
•	 Payments to IRAs, SEP, SIMPLE, or qualified plans
•	 Student loan interest deduction
•	 �Moving expenses into or within Michigan can be 

included in “Other Adjustments” to reduce total 
household resources. Moving expenses when moving 
out of Michigan cannot be included in “Other 
Adjustments” to reduce total household resources

•	 Deduction for self-employment tax
•	 Self-employed health insurance deduction
•	 Penalty on early withdrawal of savings
•	 Alimony paid
•	 Jury duty pay you gave to your employer
•	 Archer Medical Savings Account (MSA) deduction
•	 �Health Savings Account (HSA) deduction 
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•	 �Any other adjustments to gross income included on 
your 2015 U.S. Form 1040.

Line  32:  Enter health insurance premiums, Health 
Maintenance Organization (HMO) premiums, or other 
insurance premiums you paid for yourself and your 
family. Include the following premiums:
•	 Medical insurance 
•	 Dental insurance
•	 Vision insurance
•	 Prescription drug plan
•	 Automobile insurance (medical care portion only).
Do not include any insurance premiums deducted on 
line 23 or line 31, amounts paid for income protection 
insurance (long-term disability), long‑term care 
insurance, or amounts paid by an employer with pre‑tax 
payroll contributions. 
You must reduce an insurance premium by the federal 
premium tax credit received under the Patient Protection 
and Affordable Care Act. Use the 2015 U.S. Premium 
Tax Credit Form 8962 to calculate the net insurance 
premium. The annual total insurance premium           
(line 11A of U.S. Form 8962 or the sum of lines 12A 
through 23A of U.S. Form 8962) less the total premium 
tax credit  (line 24 of U.S. Form 8962) may be claimed.
Your Credit
There are two ways to compute a home heating credit:  
the standard credit and the alternate credit. If you are 
eligible to claim either credit, figure your credit both 
ways and claim the larger amount. 
Lines 35 through 37:  Standard credit.  See Table A on 
page 19.  Find the number of exemptions you are allowed 
and the corresponding income ceiling amount.  If your 
total household resources are less than this amount, you 
are eligible to use this method to calculate your credit.
Example:  You and your spouse have three dependent 
children, so you are allowed five exemptions. Your total 
household resources are $15,000. This is less than the 
$31,270 income ceiling for five exemptions. Complete 
the form using the standard credit method.

If you are a part-year resident or occupied your 
homestead  less than 12 months, see page 5 to prorate 
your standard allowance.
Line  38:  If your heat is included in your rent at the 
time you file this claim, you must reduce your computed 
standard credit by 50 percent (0.50).  Multiply line 37 by 
0.50.  Enter this amount on lines 38 and 43.
Lines  39  through  42:  Alternate credit.  If your 
claim is for less than 12 months or your heat cost is 
included with your rent, you are not eligible to use this 
method. If your total household resources are less than 
the maximum income for your number of Michigan 
exemptions, you may claim this credit. See Table B on 
page 19.
Example:  You are single, have one dependent child and 
your 70-year old father is also your dependent. You are 
allowed three exemptions. Your annual heat costs were 
$1,100 and your total household resources are $5,500. 
This is less than $23,222 the maximum income for three 
exemptions.
Line  43:  If you completed line 38, you must enter that 
amount here. Otherwise, enter the larger amount from 
line 37 or line 42. 
Line  44:  Multiply the amount on line 43 by  
50 percent (0.50) (the percentage of federal home heating 
assistance funds available for this year) and enter here. 
This is the amount of your 2015 home heating credit.
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Michigan Department of Treasury (Rev. 09-15), Page 1 of 2 Issued under authority of Public Act 281 of 1967, as amended.

2015 MICHIGAN Home Heating Credit Claim MI-1040CR-7
Type or print in blue or black ink. Print numbers like this :  0123456789 - NOT like this:  1 4 Attachment 08

1. Filer’s First Name M.I. Last Name 2. Filer’s Full Social Security No. (Example: 123-45-6789)

If a Joint Return, Spouse’s First Name M.I. Last Name

3. Spouse’s Full Social Security No. (Example: 123-45-6789)

Home Address (Number, Street or P.O. Box)

City or Town State ZIP Code 4. County Code (see instr.)

5. 2015 FILING STATUS: 6.  2015 RESIDENCY STATUS: *If you checked box “c,” enter dates of Michigan residency in 2015. 
Enter dates as MM-DD-YYYY (Example: 04-15-2015).Check one. Check all that apply.

FILER SPOUSE
a. Single a. Resident 2015 2015

FROM:
b. Married filing jointly b. Nonresident 2015 2015

TO:
c. Married filing separately

(Attach Form 5049) c. Part-Year Resident*

7. Check the box if your heating costs are currently included in your
rent (see instructions).........................................................................

13. Exemptions. Enter the number that applies to you, 
your spouse, or your dependents and complete line 14 
below. See instructions if you are over age 66.

8. Check the box if you want your name and address referred to 
other government assistance programs for which you may qualify.	

Personal Exemption 
(You and your spouse only)........................... a.

Deaf, Disabled or Blind.................... b.9. Check the box if you or your spouse now receive
Supplemental Security Income (SSI)........................................

Qualified Disabled Veteran ............. c.
Filer Spouse

Number of children living with you:
= Ages 2 and under........................ d.10. ENTER YOUR AGE if you are age 60 or older....

= Ages 3-5...................................... e.11. Amount you were billed for
heat between 11/1/2014 and 10/31/2015.......... 00

= Ages 6-18.................................... f.12. If you lived in one of these CARE facilities (not a senior apartment 
complex) for all of 2015, check the box and STOP here, see instructions.

Dependent adults, other than
your spouse, who live with you........ g.a. Nursing Home b. Adult Foster Care Home

Add lines 13a through 13g.............. h.c. Licensed Home for the Aged d. Substance Abuse Center

14. You MUST enter below the name, relationship, Social Security number, and age of all dependents you claimed in lines 13d - 13g above.
A. Dependent’s Name B. Dependent’s Relationship to You C. Social Security Number D. Age in Years

If you have more than six (6) dependents, complete Home Heating Credit Claim MI-1040CR-7 Supplemental (Form 4976).
15. You must check this box to receive a refund from your heat provider for 

any overpayment to your heat account, if eligible (see instructions).
+ 0000 2015 37 01 27 2



2015 MI-1040CR-7, Page 2 of 2
Filer’s Full Social Security Number

TOTAL HOUSEHOLD RESOURCES. If filing a joint return, include income from both spouses.  If married filing 
separately, you must attach Form 5049 available on Treasury’s Web site.

16. Wages, salaries, tips, sick, strike 
and SUB pay, etc............................. 16. 00

23. Social Security, SSI, and/or 
railroad retirement benefits..... 23. 00

17. All interest and dividend income 
(including nontaxable interest)........ 17. 00

24. Child support and foster 
parent payments..................... 24. 00

18. Net business income (including net 
farm income). If negative, enter “0”... 18. 00

25. Unemployment 
compensation......................... 25. 00

19. Net royalty or rent income. If 
negative, enter “0”......................... 19. 00

26. Gifts or expenses paid on 
your behalf.............................. 26. 00

20. Retirement pension, annuity, and 
IRA benefits..................................... 20. 00

27. Other nontaxable income. 
Describe:_______________ 27. 00

21. Capital gains less capital losses 
(see instructions)............................. 21. 00

28. Workers’/veterans’ disability 
compensation/pension benefits.... 28. 00

22. Alimony and other taxable income. 
Describe:____________________ 22. 00

29. FIP and other MDHHS benefits
(Do not include food assistance) 29. 00

30. Add lines 16 through 29.....................................................................................................SUBTOTAL 30. 00
31. Other adjustments. 

Describe:________________________________________________ 31. 00

32. Medical insurance or HMO premiums paid........................................... 32. 00
33. Add lines 31 and 32.............................................................................................................................. 33. 00

34. Subtract line 33 from line 30...............................................TOTAL HOUSEHOLD RESOURCES. 34. 00

Standard and Alternate Home Heating Credit Computations
35. STANDARD  CREDIT. Standard allowance from Table A (see instr.)...... 35. 00
36. Multiply line 34 by 3.5% (0.035) (if negative, enter “0”)............................. 36. 00
37. Subtract line 36 from line 35 for standard credit amount. If line 36 is 

greater than line 35, enter “0”................................................................... 37. 00
38. If you checked the box on line 7, multiply the amount on line 37 by 50% (0.50). Enter here

and on line 43. (If approved, the final amount as shown on line 44 is issued as a check.)................. 38. 00
39. ALTERNATE CREDIT. Total heating costs from 

line 11 or $2,642 (whichever is less).................................................. 39. 00
40. Multiply line 34 by 11% (0.11) (if negative, enter “0”).......................... 40. 00
41. Subtract line 40 from line 39. If line 40 is greater than line 39, enter “0”.. 41. 00
42. Multiply line 41 by 70% (0.70) for alternate credit amount....................... 42. 00
43. If you completed line 38 enter that amount here. Otherwise enter the larger of lines 37 or 42 here... 43. 00

44. HOME HEATING CREDIT.  Multiply line 43 by 50% (0.50) ............................................................... 44. 00
Deceased Taxpayer.  If Filer and/or Spouse died after December 31, 2014, enter dates below. 
ENTER DATE OF DEATH ONLY. Example: 04-15-2015 (MM-DD-YYYY)

Preparer Certification.  I declare under penalty of perjury that this 
return is based on all information of which I have any knowledge.

Filer Spouse
Preparer’s  PTIN, FEIN or SSN

Taxpayer Certification.  I declare under penalty of perjury that the information in this return 
and attachments is true and complete to the best of my knowledge.

Preparer’s Name (print or type)

Filer’s Signature Date Preparer’s Business Name, Address and Telephone Number

Spouse’s Signature Date

By checking this box, I authorize Treasury to discuss my return with my preparer.

File (postmark) your claim by September 30, 2016.  Mail your claim to: Michigan Department of Treasury
Lansing, MI  48956

+ 0000 2015 37 02 27 0



Michigan Department of Treasury (Rev. 09-15), Page 1 of 2 Issued under authority of Public Act 281 of 1967, as amended.

2015 MICHIGAN Home Heating Credit Claim MI-1040CR-7
Type or print in blue or black ink. Print numbers like this :  0123456789 - NOT like this:  1 4 Attachment 08

1. Filer’s First Name M.I. Last Name 2. Filer’s Full Social Security No. (Example: 123-45-6789)

If a Joint Return, Spouse’s First Name M.I. Last Name

3. Spouse’s Full Social Security No. (Example: 123-45-6789)

Home Address (Number, Street or P.O. Box)

City or Town State ZIP Code 4. County Code (see instr.)

5. 2015 FILING STATUS: 6.  2015 RESIDENCY STATUS: *If you checked box “c,” enter dates of Michigan residency in 2015. 
Enter dates as MM-DD-YYYY (Example: 04-15-2015).Check one. Check all that apply.

FILER SPOUSE
a. Single a. Resident 2015 2015

FROM:
b. Married filing jointly b. Nonresident 2015 2015

TO:
c. Married filing separately

(Attach Form 5049) c. Part-Year Resident*

7. Check the box if your heating costs are currently included in your
rent (see instructions).........................................................................

13. Exemptions. Enter the number that applies to you, 
your spouse, or your dependents and complete line 14 
below. See instructions if you are over age 66.

8. Check the box if you want your name and address referred to 
other government assistance programs for which you may qualify.	

Personal Exemption 
(You and your spouse only)........................... a.

Deaf, Disabled or Blind.................... b.9. Check the box if you or your spouse now receive
Supplemental Security Income (SSI)........................................

Qualified Disabled Veteran ............. c.
Filer Spouse

Number of children living with you:
= Ages 2 and under........................ d.10. ENTER YOUR AGE if you are age 60 or older....

= Ages 3-5...................................... e.11. Amount you were billed for
heat between 11/1/2014 and 10/31/2015.......... 00

= Ages 6-18.................................... f.12. If you lived in one of these CARE facilities (not a senior apartment 
complex) for all of 2015, check the box and STOP here, see instructions.

Dependent adults, other than
your spouse, who live with you........ g.a. Nursing Home b. Adult Foster Care Home

Add lines 13a through 13g.............. h.c. Licensed Home for the Aged d. Substance Abuse Center

14. You MUST enter below the name, relationship, Social Security number, and age of all dependents you claimed in lines 13d - 13g above.
A. Dependent’s Name B. Dependent’s Relationship to You C. Social Security Number D. Age in Years

If you have more than six (6) dependents, complete Home Heating Credit Claim MI-1040CR-7 Supplemental (Form 4976).
15. You must check this box to receive a refund from your heat provider for 

any overpayment to your heat account, if eligible (see instructions).
+ 0000 2015 37 01 27 2



2015 MI-1040CR-7, Page 2 of 2
Filer’s Full Social Security Number

TOTAL HOUSEHOLD RESOURCES. If filing a joint return, include income from both spouses.  If married filing 
separately, you must attach Form 5049 available on Treasury’s Web site.

16. Wages, salaries, tips, sick, strike 
and SUB pay, etc............................. 16. 00

23. Social Security, SSI, and/or 
railroad retirement benefits..... 23. 00

17. All interest and dividend income 
(including nontaxable interest)........ 17. 00

24. Child support and foster 
parent payments..................... 24. 00

18. Net business income (including net 
farm income). If negative, enter “0”... 18. 00

25. Unemployment 
compensation......................... 25. 00

19. Net royalty or rent income. If 
negative, enter “0”......................... 19. 00

26. Gifts or expenses paid on 
your behalf.............................. 26. 00

20. Retirement pension, annuity, and 
IRA benefits..................................... 20. 00

27. Other nontaxable income. 
Describe:_______________ 27. 00

21. Capital gains less capital losses 
(see instructions)............................. 21. 00

28. Workers’/veterans’ disability 
compensation/pension benefits.... 28. 00

22. Alimony and other taxable income. 
Describe:____________________ 22. 00

29. FIP and other MDHHS benefits
(Do not include food assistance) 29. 00

30. Add lines 16 through 29.....................................................................................................SUBTOTAL 30. 00
31. Other adjustments. 

Describe:________________________________________________ 31. 00

32. Medical insurance or HMO premiums paid........................................... 32. 00
33. Add lines 31 and 32.............................................................................................................................. 33. 00

34. Subtract line 33 from line 30...............................................TOTAL HOUSEHOLD RESOURCES. 34. 00

Standard and Alternate Home Heating Credit Computations
35. STANDARD  CREDIT. Standard allowance from Table A (see instr.)...... 35. 00
36. Multiply line 34 by 3.5% (0.035) (if negative, enter “0”)............................. 36. 00
37. Subtract line 36 from line 35 for standard credit amount. If line 36 is 

greater than line 35, enter “0”................................................................... 37. 00
38. If you checked the box on line 7, multiply the amount on line 37 by 50% (0.50). Enter here

and on line 43. (If approved, the final amount as shown on line 44 is issued as a check.)................. 38. 00
39. ALTERNATE CREDIT. Total heating costs from 

line 11 or $2,642 (whichever is less).................................................. 39. 00
40. Multiply line 34 by 11% (0.11) (if negative, enter “0”).......................... 40. 00
41. Subtract line 40 from line 39. If line 40 is greater than line 39, enter “0”.. 41. 00
42. Multiply line 41 by 70% (0.70) for alternate credit amount....................... 42. 00
43. If you completed line 38 enter that amount here. Otherwise enter the larger of lines 37 or 42 here... 43. 00

44. HOME HEATING CREDIT.  Multiply line 43 by 50% (0.50) ............................................................... 44. 00
Deceased Taxpayer.  If Filer and/or Spouse died after December 31, 2014, enter dates below. 
ENTER DATE OF DEATH ONLY. Example: 04-15-2015 (MM-DD-YYYY)

Preparer Certification.  I declare under penalty of perjury that this 
return is based on all information of which I have any knowledge.

Filer Spouse
Preparer’s  PTIN, FEIN or SSN

Taxpayer Certification.  I declare under penalty of perjury that the information in this return 
and attachments is true and complete to the best of my knowledge.

Preparer’s Name (print or type)

Filer’s Signature Date Preparer’s Business Name, Address and Telephone Number

Spouse’s Signature Date

By checking this box, I authorize Treasury to discuss my return with my preparer.

File (postmark) your claim by September 30, 2016.  Mail your claim to: Michigan Department of Treasury
Lansing, MI  48956

+ 0000 2015 37 02 27 0



Michigan Department of Treasury
4976 (Rev. 09-15)

Issued under authority of Public Act 281 of 1967, as amended.

2015 MICHIGAN Home Heating Credit Claim MI-1040CR-7 Supplemental

INSTRUCTIONS: Complete if you are claiming more than six dependents and attach to your Form MI-1040CR-7.

Type or print in blue or black ink. Print numbers like this :  0123456789 - NOT like this:  1 4 Attachment 08A
1. Filer’s First Name M.I. Last Name 2. Filer’s Full Social Security No. (Example: 123-45-6789)

3. You MUST enter below the name, relationship, Social Security number, and age of all dependents you claimed on MI-1040CR-7         
lines 13d through 13g who are not already listed on MI-1040CR-7, line 14.

A. Dependent’s Name B. Dependent’s Relationship to You C. Social Security Number D. Age in Years

+ 0000 2015 08 01 27 3

TABLE  A: 2015 Home Heating Credit Standard Allowance

Your Exemptions
(from line 13h)

Standard
Allowance

Income
Ceiling

0 or 1 	 $454 $12,956
2 	 $614 $17,528
3 	 $774 $22,099
4 	 $935 $26,699
5 	 $1,095 $31,270
6 	 $1,255 $35,842

+ $160 for each 
exemption over 6

+ $4,571 for each 
exemption over 6

TABLE  B
Exemptions and Maximum Income for the Alternate Credit Computation

Your Exemptions
(from line 13h)

Maximum
Income

0 or 1 $13,727
2 $18,472
3 $23,222
4 or more $24,018

NOTE:  If you lived in your homestead for less than 12 months, you must prorate 
your standard allowance (see instructions).
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Michigan Department of Treasury
3174 (Rev. 05-15), Page 1

Issued under authority of Public Act 281 of 1967, as amended.

2015 MICHIGAN Direct Deposit of Refund
Only use this form if filing an MI-1040CR-7 and not receiving an energy draft.  Type or print in blue or black ink and attach to 
your MI-1040CR-7.

Type or print in blue or black ink. Print numbers like this :  0123456789 - NOT like this:  1 4 Attachment 11
1. Filer’s First Name M.I. Last Name 2. Filer’s Full Social Security No. (Example: 123-45-6789)

If a Joint Return, Spouse’s First Name M.I. Last Name

3. Spouse’s Full Social Security No. (Example: 123-45-6789)
4. Name of Financial Institution

The first two numbers of the 
RTN must be 01 through 12 
or 21 through 32.

5. Routing Transit 
Number (RTN)

7. Type of Account

(1) Checking
6. Account

Number (2) Savings

Why Use Direct Deposit?

Convenient:  Your refund is deposited directly 
into your account at the financial institution of 
your choice.

Safe: Direct Deposit eliminates lost or stolen 
refund checks.

Reliable: Direct Deposit is done electronically.  
Your refund is deposited timely, even if you 
are on vacation or traveling on business.

General Instructions

If you file an MI-1040CR-7 and are not 
receiving an energy draft, complete this form 
to have your check directly deposited into your 
financial institution account.

Check with your financial institution to (1) 
make sure it will accept Direct Deposit, 
(2) obtain the correct RTN and account 
number, and (3) if applicable, verify that your 
financial institution will allow a joint refund 
to be deposited into an individual account.

Direct Deposit requests associated with a 
foreign financial institution account are 
classified as International ACH Transactions 
(IAT).  If your income tax refund or credit claim 
Direct Deposit is forwarded or transferred to a 
bank account in a foreign country your Direct 
Deposit will be returned to the Michigan 
Department of Treasury (Treasury). If this 
occurs, your refund will be converted to a check 
(warrant) and mailed to the address on your tax 
return.  Contact your financial institution for 
questions regarding the status of your account.

You may also use Direct Deposit if you file 
an MI-1040, MI-1040CR or MI‑1040CR-2. 
The request for Direct Deposit information is 
contained on these forms.  A separate Direct 
Deposit of Refund (Form 3174), is not required. 

You should NOT file this form if:
•	 You file an MI-1040CR-7 and an  energy 
draft will be issued or a credit will be sent to 
your heat provider.

•	 You are a personal representative filing a 
return on behalf of a deceased taxpayer.

•	 You file electronically. Give your RTN 
and financial institution account number to 
your tax preparer. This information will 
become part of the electronic file.

•	 You completed the Direct Deposit 
information on the MI-1040, MI-1040CR 
or MI-1040CR-2.

Line-by-Line Instructions

Line  4:  Enter the name of the financial 
institution where the Direct Deposit will 
be made.

Line  5:  Enter the 9-digit RTN. The RTN 
is usually found between the symbols |: 
and |:  on the bottom of your check (see 
check sample). The first two digits must be 
01 through 12 or 21 through 32. 

Line  6:  Enter your financial institution 
account number up to 17 characters (both 
numbers and letters). The account number 
is usually found immediately to the right 
of the RTN on the bottom of your check 
(see check sample). Include hyphens but 
omit spaces and special symbols. Do not 
include the check number.

Line 7: Type of Account. Check the box for 
checking or savings.

Richard and Cindy Jones
123 Main Street
Anytown, MI  49111

1800
Date:

$

Dollars

FINANCIAL INSTITUTION
Anytown, MI 49111

Do not include 
check number

Routing Transit Number Account Number The Routing Transit Number and 
Account Number may appear in a 
different location on your check.: 270000065 : 300000915 “ ‘   1800

+ 0000 2015 49 01 27 7

DO NOT ATTACH A CHECK OR 
CHECK COPY TO THIS FORM



2015 3174, Page 2 of 2 Instructions for Form 3174
Direct Deposit of Refund

What If There Is a Problem  
With My Direct Deposit Request
If we are unable to honor your request for Direct Deposit, 
we will send you a check. Your request for Direct 
Deposit may be affected by any of the following: 

•	 Your financial institution account is closed.

•	 Your financial institution rejects the Direct Deposit 
because you entered an incorrect RTN or account 
number, or you did not check the correct box for 
line 8.

•	 You requested that your refund be deposited into a 
foreign financial institution or a foreign branch of 
a U.S. financial institution. The State of Michigan 
can only make Direct Deposits to accounts in U.S. 
financial institutions located in the United States.

You may contact your financial institution or check your 
monthly statement to find out if your Direct Deposit has 
been made. Allow at least eight weeks for the processing 
of your refund before calling your financial institution.     

Help With Your Taxes
Treasury offers a variety of services designed to assist 
you and most are available 24 hours a day, seven days 
a week. 
NOTE: To obtain information about your account 
using the Internet and Telephone Options listed, you 
will need the following information from your return: 

•	 Social Security number of the primary filer (the filer 
listed first on the return)

•	 Year of the return

•	 Adjusted gross income (AGI) or total household 
resources

•	 Filing status (single, married filing jointly, married 
filing separately)

Internet Options
www.michigan.gov/incometax
Find the following information on this Web site: 
•	 Current year tax forms and instructions
•	 Answers to many tax preparation questions
•	 Most commonly used tax forms
•	 Free assistance in preparing your return
•	 �E-file resources
•	 Other tax resources.
Select “Check My Income Tax Info” to access the 
Individual Income Tax Self-Service Web site where you 
can:   
•	 Check the status of your return
•	 Check estimated payments you made during the year
•	 Check the status of letters you have sent to Treasury
•	 Change your address
•	 Ask a specific question about your account.  

Telephone Options
517-636-4486
Automated Information Service
With Treasury’s automated phone system, you can:  
•	 Request the status of your refund
•	 Check the status of letters you have sent to Treasury
•	 Request information on estimated payments
•	 Order current tax year forms.
While most questions can be answered by the 
Automated Information Service, customer service 
representatives are available from 8 a.m. to 4:45 p.m., 
Monday through Friday.
Assistance is available using TTY through the 
Michigan Relay Service by calling 1-800-649-3777 
or 711. Printed material in an alternate format may be 
obtained by calling 517-636-4486.
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01	 Alcona
02	 Alger
03	 Allegan
04	 Alpena
05	 Antrim
06	 Arenac
07	 Baraga
08	 Barry
09	 Bay
10	 Benzie
11	 Berrien
12	 Branch
13	 Calhoun
14	 Cass
15	 Charlevoix
16	 Cheboygan
17	 Chippewa
18	 Clare
19	 Clinton
20	 Crawford
21	 Delta

22	 Dickinson
23	 Eaton
24	 Emmet
25	 Genesee
26	 Gladwin
27	 Gogebic
28	 Grand Traverse
29	 Gratiot
30	 Hillsdale
31	 Houghton
32 	 Huron
33	 Ingham
34	 Ionia
35	 Iosco
36	 Iron
37	 Isabella
38	 Jackson
39	 Kalamazoo
40	 Kalkaska
41	 Kent
42	 Keweenaw

43 	 Lake
44	 Lapeer
45	 Leelanau
46	 Lenawee
47	 Livingston
48	 Luce
49	 Mackinac
50	 Macomb
51	 Manistee
52	 Marquette
53	 Mason
54	 Mecosta
55	 Menominee
56	 Midland
57	 Missaukee
58	 Monroe
59	 Montcalm
60 	 Montmorency
61	 Muskegon
62	 Newaygo
63	 Oakland

64	 Oceana
65	 Ogemaw
66	 Ontonagon
67	 Osceola
68	 Oscoda
69	 Otsego
70	 Ottawa
71	 Presque Isle
72	 Roscommon
73	 Saginaw
74	 St. Clair
75	 St. Joseph
76	 Sanilac
77	 Schoolcraft
78	 Shiawassee
79	 Tuscola
80	 Van Buren
81	 Washtenaw
82	 Wayne
83	 Wexford

COUNTY CODE TABLE

TABLE  A
2015 Home Heating Credit Standard Allowance

Your Exemptions
(from line 13h)

Standard
Allowance

Income
Ceiling

0 or 1 	 $454 $12,956
2 	 $614 $17,528
3 	 $774 $22,099
4 	 $935 $26,699
5 	 $1,095 $31,270
6 	 $1,255 $35,842

+ $160 for each 
exemption over 6

+ $4,571 for each 
exemption over 6

TABLE  B
Exemptions and Maximum Income for the Alternate Credit Computation

Your Exemptions
(from line 13h)

Maximum
Income

0 or 1 $13,727
2 $18,472
3 $23,222
4 or more $24,018
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Treasury Offices
Commonly used forms are available at Treasury offices listed below.  Treasury office staff do not prepare tax returns.

Help With Child Care Costs
If your family income is at or below levels established by the 
Michigan Department of Education, you may be eligible for help 
with child care costs.  For example, a family of three with an income 
of less than $23,880 may qualify for partial payment of child care 
costs.  Contact any local Michigan Department of Health and Human 
Services office or your Great Start to Quality Resource Center for 
assistance in the application process. For more details about the Child 
Development and Care program, visit www.michigan.gov/childcare. 
To find a licensed or registered child care provider in your area, visit 
www.greatstarttoquality.org.

Winter Protection Plan
If you are a low income or senior citizen customer of a natural gas 
or electric utility company, rural electric cooperative, regulated by 
the Michigan Public Service Commission, or an alternative energy 
supplier and would like to participate in the Winter Protection Plan, a 
payment deferral program that provides winter shut off protection from   
November 1 to March 31, contact your local energy supplier or the 
Michigan Public Service Commission at 1-800-292-9555 for details.

Low Interest Home Improvement Loans
Energy bills too high?  The Michigan State Housing Development 
Authority (MSHDA) offers low interest home improvement loans          
(4 percent to 8 percent) to qualified homeowners.  You can borrow up 
to $25,000 without any equity, and add insulation, replace your furnace, 
install energy efficient windows, and pay for other eligible energy 
improvements.  For more details, visit www.michigan.gov/mshda, then 
click on the Home Improvement link.  You may also call 517-373-8017.

Affordable Rental Housing
Looking for affordable rental housing? 
Go to www.MichiganHousingLocator.com. It is the best source 
for affordable rental housing across the State. It’s a free resource for 
property owners and renters with over 240,000 unit listings.

DETROIT
Cadillac Place, Suite L-380
3060 W. Grand Blvd.

DIMONDALE *
7285 Parsons Drive
(*NOT a mailing address)

ESCANABA
State Office Building, 1st Floor
305 Ludington Street
(open 8 - 12 only)

FLINT
State Office Building, 7th Floor
125 E. Union Street

GRAND RAPIDS
State Office Building, 2nd Floor
350 Ottawa Avenue, NW - Unit 17

STERLING HEIGHTS
41300 Dequindre Road, Suite 200

TRAVERSE CITY
701 S. Elmwood Avenue, 4th Floor
(open 8 - 12 only)




