
Generally, all fiduciaries of trusts must report on a calendar 
year. Report the same year that is being reported for federal 
estimated payments.
Fiscal-year returns must be adjusted so all dates correspond 
with the fiscal year.  The first estimate payment is due on 
the 15th day of the fourth month after the fiscal year ends.

Reminder notices will not be sent. Save this set of forms 
for all 2016 payments.

Where to Mail Payments

Make the check payable to “State of Michigan.” Write 
the FEIN of the estate or trust and “2016 MI-1041ES” 
on the front of the check. To ensure accurate processing of 
the return, send one check for each return type.  Mail check 
with the MI-1041ES form for that installment. Do not staple 
the check to the form.

Send check and voucher to:

Michigan Department of Treasury
P.O. Box 30774
Lansing, MI 48909-8274

Late Payments or Underpayments

If a fiduciary fails to make required estimated payments, 
pays late or underpays in any quarter, Treasury may charge 
penalty and interest. Penalty is 25 percent of the tax due 
(minimum $25) for failing to file estimated payments or 
10 percent (minimum $10) for failing to pay enough with 
estimates or paying late. If payment is late, penalty and 
interest must be added to the amount due. The interest rate 
is 1 percent above the prime rate and is computed daily. The 
rate is adjusted on July 1 and January 1.

Who Must File Estimated Tax Payments

Fiduciaries of an estate or trust (resident or nonresident), 
generally must pay estimated tax if the estate or trust 
is expected to owe more than $500 after subtracting 
withholding and credits.
If the estate or trust owes more than $500, estimated 
payments may not have to be made if the estate or trust 
expects the 2016 withholding to be at least:
• 	 90 percent of the total tax for 2016, OR
• 	 100 percent of the total tax shown on the 2015 return, 

OR
•	 110 percent of the total 2015 tax if the estate’s or trust’s 

taxable income for 2015 is more than $150,000. To 
figure the estate or trust’s federal taxable income, see the 
instructions for line 22 of the U.S. Form 1041.

Financial institutions that act as a fiduciary for 200 or 
more trusts shall submit Michigan estimated payments 
on magnetic tape. Institutions acting as fiduciary for more 
than 49 and fewer than 200 trusts may make an irrevocable 
agreement to file magnetically. For more information, 
refer to the Transmittal for Magnetic Media Reporting  
(Form 447) at www.michigan.gov/treasuryforms.

Exceptions: 
•	 Generally, no estimated tax is due if the estate or trust is 

due a refund or has a balance due of $500 or less.
•	 There is no estimated tax due on an estate or a trust that 	

had no tax liability for the full 12 months preceding the 
tax year.

•	 Estates do not have to pay estimated tax for the first two 
years.

Payment Due Dates

Fiduciaries may pay in full with the first voucher, due 
April 18, 2016. Fiduciaries may also pay in equal 
installments due on or before April 18, 2016, June 15, 2016, 
September 15, 2016, and January 17, 2017.

2016 MI-1041ES, Michigan Estimated Income Tax for Fiduciaries
Michigan Department of Treasury (Rev. 08-15)

Issued under authority of Public Act 281 of 1967. See instructions for filing guidelines.

DETACH HERE AND MAIL THE RETURN WITH YOUR PAYMENT. DO NOT FOLD OR STAPLE THE RETURN.

2016 MICHIGAN
MI-1041ES Fiduciary Voucher for Estimated Income Tax

Due Date for Calendar Year Filers

Name of Estate or Trust and Fiduciary Name, Title and Address Estate or Trust Federal Employer Identification No. (FEIN)

WRITE PAYMENT
AMOUNT HERE $                              .00

MAIL TO:
Michigan Department of Treasury
P.O. Box 30774
Lansing, MI 48909-8274

Make check payable to “State of 
Michigan.”  Enclose your check 
(do not fold or staple). Write the 
estate’s or trust’s FEIN and 
“2016 MI-1041ES” on your check.

 DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SPACE                                                      



When Income Changes During the Year

If estimated payments for the estate or trust have already 
been made, amend the estimate on the next installment 
voucher. Apply the increase or decrease equally over the 
remaining installments. To avoid amending the fourth 
installment voucher, file the 2016 income tax return before 
February 2, 2017. With this option, it is not necessary to 
file the fourth installment voucher (due January 17, 2017).

If no estimated payments have been made, use the chart 
below to see which period the tax is due.

       If the change occurs:	    Pay on or before:
Jan. 1 through March 31................. April 18, 2016
April 1 through May 31................... June 15, 2016
June 1 through Aug. 31................... Sept. 15, 2016
Sept. 1 through Dec. 31.................... Jan. 17, 2017

Estimate the estate’s or trust’s 2016 income. Use the 
2015 Michigan and U.S. fiduciary income tax returns 
for the estate or trust for reference (even if not yet 
completed). Michigan uses federal taxable income 
of the fiduciary to figure tax. See form MI-1041 
for allowable additions and subtractions. Enter the 
estimated taxable income on line 1.
After completing lines 1 and 2, finish the worksheet 
by following the instructions on each line. Refer 
to the corresponding sections in the tax instruction 
booklets for additional guidance.
After completing the worksheet, if additional 
assistance is needed to determine the required 
estimates, if any, call 517-636-4486. Assistance is 
available using TTY through the Michigan Relay 
Service by calling 1-800-649-3777 or 711.
Visit Treasury’s Web site at www.michigan.gov/taxes

Tax Paid

Date

Check No.

1st Installment 2nd Installment 3rd Installment 4th Installment
Payment Record

1.	 Enter estimated 2016 income subject to tax (from U.S. Form 1041)...............................	 1._______________	
2.	 Tax. Multiply line 1 by 4.25% (0.0425)...........................................................................	 2._______________
3.	 Enter all estimated credits.................................................................................................	 3._______________
4.	 Estimated tax due. Subtract line 3 from line 2.................................................................	 4._______________
5.	 Estimated payment due. Divide the amount on line 4 by 4, or by the number of 
      estimated vouchers to be filed (see instructions). Enter here and on each voucher.......... 	 5._______________

NOTE:  Apply the 2015 overpayment credit to the first voucher. Any unused credit must then be applied to the second 
voucher and following vouchers, until the entire credit is used.

Estimated Tax Computation Worksheet
Keep for Your Records
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