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State Tax Commission Assumption of Jurisdiction of Assessment Rolls: 
 

1. Why does the STC take jurisdiction of an assessment roll: 
 

Specifically, MCL 211.10f indicates:  If a local assessing district does not have an 
assessment roll that has been certified by a qualified certified assessing officer, or if a 
certified assessor or a board of review for a local tax collecting unit is not in substantial 
compliance with the provisions of the GPTA, the State Tax Commission shall assume 
jurisdiction over the assessment roll and provide for the preparation of a certified roll. 

 
2. How will we know if the Commission is going to assume jurisdiction over our 

assessment roll? 
 

Assumption of jurisdiction is always done at a State Tax Commission public meeting.   
The Commission will issue a formal order assuming jurisdiction and the local unit will be 
provided a copy of that order within a week after the assumption of jurisdiction.   

 
3. What does assumption of jurisdiction really mean to the local unit? 
 

While the State Tax Commission has jurisdiction of the Assessment Unit Assessment 
Roll, the pre-existing property tax administrative duties of the Township remain 
essentially unchanged. For example:  
 

• The Township Board of Review is to convene as required by statute  
• Tax billing continues as required  
• The appeal process before the Michigan Tax Tribunal continues (although at the 

discretion of the Tribunal).   
 
Some differences resulting from the State Tax Commission jurisdiction include: 

• Values are subject to review and at its discretion, can be changed by the State Tax 
Commission (individual value appeals are still under the jurisdiction of the 
Tribunal), 

• Actions of the Board of Review are subject to review and at its discretion, can be 
changed by the State Tax Commission, 

 
5. Are there any notifications that have to be provided to our taxpayers? 
 

Because the State Tax Commission has determined that your local unit does not have a 
current, certified assessment roll, the following provisions of Michigan Compiled Law 
211.10f would apply:  
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(2) If a certified assessment roll cannot be provided in sufficient time for a summer tax 
levy, or for the annual levy on December 1, the commission shall order the levy of 
interim taxes based on the tentative taxable value of individual properties as determined 
by the commission… 
 
(3) Within 30 days after the final determination by the commission of the assessed 
valuation and taxable value for each individual property listed on the assessment roll, the 
commission shall cause to be mailed a notice of the new assessment and new taxable 
value to each owner. An owner has the right to petition the tax tribunal directly for a 
hearing on the assessed valuation or taxable value within 30 days after the date of the 
notice… 
 
The notice shall specify: 
• each parcel of property  
• the assessed valuation for the current year,  
• the assessed valuation for the immediately preceding year,  
• the tentative taxable value for the current year,  
• the taxable value for the immediately preceding year,  
• the state equalized valuation for the immediately preceding year, the tentative state 

equalized valuation for the current year,  
• the net change in the assessed valuation,  
• the net change in the tentative taxable value,  
• and the net change between the tentative state equalized valuation for the current 

year,  
• and the state equalized valuation for the immediately preceding year.  
• a statement informing the owner that an appeal of the assessment or taxable value 

must be made within 30 days of the date of the assessment notice directly to the tax 
tribunal, and shall also include information on how and where an appeal can be made. 

 
6. When will the assessment roll be returned to the local unit? 

 
The assessment roll cannot be returned until the local unit is in compliance with the 
General Property Tax Act and State Tax Commission Rules. In order to determine 
compliance, each local unit must undergo an Audit of Minimum Assessing 
Requirements (AMAR) review before the roll can be returned to the local unit.  Once 
the AMAR is complete and any required corrective actions taken, the roll will be 
certified in an Order from the Commission and the Local Unit will be billed for the cost 
of the assumption of jurisdiction.  Once the local unit pays for the cost of assumption of 
jurisdiction, the roll will be returned to the local unit in an order from the Commission. 

 
7. How much does a “typical” assumption of jurisdiction cost? 

 
Unfortunately there are no “typical” assumptions of jurisdiction and therefore, no 
“typical” cost for an assumption. You will be billed for all of the staff time involved in 
the assumption of jurisdiction including any monitoring of any reappraisal work and the 
AMAR review.   
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211.10f Preparation of certified assessment roll; costs; quality of tax maps and 
appraisal records; levy of interim taxes; substitution of latest complete 
assessment roll; effect and labeling of interim tax levy; notice of new 
assessment; petition for hearing; contents of notice; final levy; reporting 
difference in tax; sharing additional taxes or credits against tax liability; technical 
assistance; certified copy of orders; copy of final determination. 
 
Sec. 10f. (1) If a local assessing district does not have an assessment roll that has been certified 
by a qualified certified assessing officer, or if a certified assessor or a board of review for a local 
tax collecting unit is not in substantial compliance with the provisions of this act, the state tax 
commission shall assume jurisdiction over the assessment roll and provide for the preparation of 
a certified roll. The commission may order the county tax or equalization department to prepare 
the roll; may provide for the use of state employees to prepare the roll; or may order the local 
assessing unit to contract with a commercial appraisal firm to conduct an appraisal of the 
property in the assessing unit under the supervision of the county tax or equalization department 
and the commission. The costs of an appraisal and the preparation of the roll by the county tax or 
equalization department or by the commission shall be paid by the local assessing district as 
provided by section 10d. The commission shall consider the quality of the tax maps and appraisal 
records required by section 10e as part of its investigation of the facts before ordering the local 
assessing unit to contract for an appraisal. 
(2) If a certified assessment roll cannot be provided in sufficient time for a summer tax levy, or 
for the annual levy on December 1, the commission shall order the levy of interim taxes based on 
the tentative taxable value of individual properties as determined by the commission. Tentative 
taxable values shall be calculated pursuant to section 27a. State equalized values necessary to 
determine tentative taxable values shall be determined by the commission, sitting as the state 
board of equalization, apportioned to the local assessing unit by the county board of 
commissioners, and apportioned to each property in proportion to the assessed valuation entered 
in the current uncertified assessment roll. If there is no current assessment roll, the commission 
shall substitute the latest complete assessment roll for the current roll for the interim tax levy. 
The payment of a tax levied as an interim tax levy does not constitute a final and ultimate 
discharge of the taxpayer's liability for the tax levied against that property. An interim tax levy 
made under this subsection shall be clearly labeled as an “interim tax levy subject to adjustment 
after an assessment roll is certified”. 
(3) Within 30 days after the final determination by the commission of the assessed valuation and 
taxable value for each individual property listed on the assessment roll, the commission shall 
cause to be mailed a notice of the new assessment and new taxable value to each owner. An 
owner has the right to petition the tax tribunal directly for a hearing on the assessed valuation or 
taxable value within 30 days after the date of the notice in the same manner as provided under 
section 35 of the tax tribunal act, Act No. 186 of the Public Acts of 1973, being section 205.735 
of the Michigan Compiled Laws. The notice shall specify each parcel of property, the assessed 
valuation for the current year, the assessed valuation for the immediately preceding year, the 
tentative taxable value for the current year, the taxable value for the immediately preceding year, 
the state equalized valuation for the immediately preceding year, the tentative state equalized 
valuation for the current year, the net change in the assessed valuation, the net change in the 
tentative taxable value, and the net change between the tentative state equalized valuation for the 
current year and the state equalized valuation for the immediately preceding year. The notice 
shall include a statement informing the owner that an appeal of the assessment or taxable value 
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must be made within 30 days of the date of the assessment notice directly to the tax tribunal and 
shall also include information on how and where an appeal can be made. 
(4) After the final determination of the state equalized valuations and taxable values by the 
commission, the assessing officer or, if there is no assessing officer, an agent designated by the 
commission shall determine the difference in tax, if any, between the interim levy and a levy 
made on the final taxable values as finally determined by the commission, which may be referred 
to as the “final levy”. The final levy shall be at the rates that were approved and ordered spread 
for the year in which there was not a certified assessment roll. 
(5) A difference in the tax determined in subsection (4) shall be reported to the county board of 
commissioners, which shall order that additional taxes or credits against individual properties be 
added to or subtracted from the next succeeding annual tax roll, together with a proportionate 
share of the property tax administration fee, if a fee is charged, applicable to the difference. 
(6) Additional taxes collected or credits against the tax liability made under this section shall be 
shared by taxing units in the respective proportions that they share the revenue received from the 
final levy. 
(7) The commission shall render technical assistance if necessary to implement this section. 
(8) The commission shall provide the tax tribunal with a certified copy of its orders and a copy of 
each final determination made under this section. 
 
  
 


