RECENT MAJOR
CHANGES TO MICHIGAN
EMPLOYMENT SECURITY

ACT:

BENEFIT PROVISIONS

I'll begin by providing you a brief overview of the many provisions that have
recently amended the Michigan Employment Security Act related to how
unemployment benefits are paid, including the number of weeks paid, and
some new provisions relating to eligibility for benefits and qualification for
benefits. I'll go into greater detail about these amendments as we get to that
part of the presentation.



RECENT MAJOR CHANGES TO
MICHIGAN EMPLOYMENT
SECURITY ACT

B Benefit duration has been reduced from
a maximum of 26 weeks to a maximum

of 20 weeks for a “benefit year.”

Despite the calculation for the number of weeks of benefits payable on a claim,
the maximum has been capped at 20 weeks. Formerly, the maximum was 26
weeks.
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B Benefit eligibility requirements have
been strengthened:

#* Work search must be “active”

#* Beginning in 2013 the claimant must
show a “systematic and sustained”
work search

#* Work search is subject to audit

The law has been amended to require that a claimant must engage in an
“active” search for work. And, beginning in 2013, the claimant must show that
the active search for work was “systematic and sustained.” The claimant must
present evidence that the work search was systematic and sustained, and that
evidence is subject to audit by the UIA.
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B The claimant must report the details of
the “systematic and sustained” work

search:

#* Name of employer where work was
sought

#* Physical or on-line location of
employer

Evidence of the “systematic and sustained” work search must include the

name of the employer where work was sought in a week, the physical or on-
line location of the employer...
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B The claimant must report the details of
the “systematic and sustained” work

search:

#* Date of work search with the named
employer

#* Method by which work was sought
with the named employer

...the date the work was sought with that employer, and the method by which
work was sought with that employer.
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B The claimant must report the details of
the “systematic and sustained” work

search;:

#* By mail or fax to UIA; or
¥ On-line to UIA; or

#* |n person at an MW!A Office

The claimant must present a report with the Agency, at least monthly, either by
mail or fax, or online, providing the indicated particulars of the work search.
Or, the claimant must appear in person at least monthly at an office of the

Michigan Works! Agency to provide a report of the systematic and sustained
work search.
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B After claimant has received half of
his/her benefits on a claim, the claimant

must accept any job, regardless of
his/her past work experience or training,
if the job pays at least:

Once a claimant has collected half the number of weeks of benefits allowed on
a claim, the claimant must accept any job, regardless of whether the claimant
had performed similar work in the past or been trained to perform that work, if
the job pays at least:
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#* The state minimum wage of
$7.40 per hour, and

#* The average wage for that job in the
locality, and

#* 120% or more of the claimant’s
weekly unemployment benefit
amount.

The state minimum hourly wage of $7.40 an hour; the average wage for similar
work in the claimant’s locality; and 120% of the claimant’s weekly
unemployment benefit rate.
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B \When a worker negligently loses a
requirement for the job (like a driver

license), the worker will be considered to
have “voluntarily left” the work and will
be disqualified.

Among the changes in disqualifications, the statute now codifies previous case
law and provides that a claimant who negligently loses a requirement of the job
(such as a driver license if the claimant is a cab driver) will be regarded as
having voluntarily left the work, under disqualifying circumstances.
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B \When a worker is a no-call/no-show for 3
days or more, and the employer notified

the worker at the time of hire how to
contact the employer for an absence, the
worker will be considered to have quit
the job and will be disqualified.

Another change is a new provision that requires a disqualification for
voluntarily leaving work if an individual was informed at the time of hire of how
to contact the employer in the event of an absence, and then is absent for 3
days without contacting the employer. Under prior case law, this situation was
considered a discharge for misconduct connected with the work, and the
claimant was disqualified under that provision.



RECENT MAJOR CHANGES TO
MICHIGAN EMPLOYMENT
SECURITY ACT

B \When the “Monetary Determination”
shows that the claimant “QUIT” a Base

Period employer, the employer no longer
needs to respond and request a
‘Redetermination of Charges.” The quit
will be presumed to be disqualifying and
the employer’s account will automatically
be “noncharged.”

This is an important change for employers. Previously, if the Monetary
Determination showed a “Quit,” but the claimant had already requalified by
‘rework” with a subsequent employer, the claimant was payable and the UIA
did not request information from the employer about the quit. The employer
had to notify the UIA that the circumstances of the quit would have been
disqualifying (had the claimant not already requalified). Under the
amendment, it is presumed that the quit was disqualifying, and the employer’s
account will automatically be “noncharged” without the need for the employer
to provide information to the UIA about the quit.
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State of Michigan
Deparment of Labor & Economic Growth
'UNEMPLOYMENT INSURARCE AGENCY

Monetary Determination

”Separation Reason”
from Base Period

Employer shows a QUIT.
It will be presumed QUIT
was disqualifying, and

s e e 4 S - the employer’s account
el will be automatically
“non-charged”

This shows the place on the Monetary Determination where the reason for
separation from a base period employer is shown. If “quit” is shown, the
employer need no longer respond as to the circumstances for the quit.
However, if “fired” is shown, the employer still has to respond with the details
in order to avoid a charge to its account.
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B \When an employer hires a person for
part-time work but the worker also had

another, maybe full-time job, was laid off
from that other job, and files a claim, the
part-time employer is in the base period
of the claim and is chargeable for a
portion of the benefits.

Another amendment solves a long-standing problem for employers. If a
worker is working part-time for an employer, but also happens to be working
part-time or full-time concurrently for another employer which then lays off the
claimant, the claimant may file a claim and be entitled to benefits as an
“‘underemployed” person, even though he or she is continuing to work for the
part-time employer for the same part-time hours. The continuing part-time
employer, being an employer during the “base period” of the claim, is therefore
a chargeable employer on the claim.
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If the part-time employer is a “contributing
employer” they have always been able to

request to be “noncharged” if they pay the
worker gross wages in a week at least
equal to the employer’s benefit charge for
that worker for that week. But the

employer would have to make the request
each time there was a benefit charge.

The prior law permitted a “contributing” employer in that situation to request to
be “noncharged” if the employer was paying the worker, each week, and
amount in gross wages at least equal to the amount of that employer’s benefit
charge for the week. But the employer would have to do that for each week.
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The new law allows the employer to
notify the UIA only once of this

circumstance, and the employer’s account
will be “noncharged” for the remainder of
that claimant’s Benefit Year. And, in 2014,
the claimant will be able to notify the UIA of
that fact, and the employer won'’t need to.

This amendment requires the employer to report that situation and request
noncharge only once. For all subsequent weeks of the claim, the employer will
automatically be noncharged. Beginning in 2014, the online “MARVIN”
reporting system for claimants will allow the claimant not only to report their
weekly earnings, as they do now, but will also allow them to tell the UIA which
employer they are receiving the wages from. If it is a chargeable base period
employer, that employer’s account will automatically be noncharged if the
claimant’s weekly earnings with that employer equal or exceed that employer’s
weekly benefit charge for that claimant.
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If an employer has failed to provide
quarterly wage information for a

claimant, the UIA will, as before, take a
Wage Affidavit from the claimant, but the
law now requires that the claimant
provide evidence of those wages, such
as W-2 forms or check stubs.

If an employer has not reported wages for a claimant, the claimant is asked to
provide the UIA with an Affidavit of quarterly wages. Under the amendment,
the claimant will be required to provide evidence of those wages, such as
check stubs or W-2 forms.
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Until 10/1/15, earnings in a week will
reduce benefits by 40%, and benefits +

wages cannot exceed 1.6 times the
worker’s weekly benefit amount.
Beginning 10/1/15, earnings will reduce
benefits by 50%, and benefits + wages
cannot exceed 1.5 times the worker’s
weekly benefit amount.

Prior to the amendment, a claimant’s gross earnings in a week would reduce
his or her unemployment benefits for the week by 50¢ for every dollar in
earnings, and the combination of benefits and earnings could not exceed 1.5
times the claimant’s weekly benefit rate.

As a result of the amendment, benefits will be reduced by 40¢ for every dollar
earned, and the combination of benefits and earnings in a week cannot exceed
1.6 times the claimant’s weekly benefit rate.

The prior formula goes back into effect on October 1, 2015.



RECENT MAJOR CHANGES TO
MICHIGAN EMPLOYMENT
SECURITY ACT

An employer can request and receive
designation as a “seasonal employer” if it

hires workers for regularly recurring
periods of 26 weeks or less within any
52-week period.

Under the previous law, an employer could receive designation as a “seasonal
employer” only if it either (1) operated 26 weeks or less within a 52-week
period, or (2) half or more of its workers worked for not more than 26 weeks
within a 52-week period. Also, the industry of which the employer was a part
had to satisfy the same test.

The amendment expanded the number of employers that can receive
“seasonal” designation because now all the employer must show is that one or
more of its workers are hired to work 26 weeks or less within any 52-week
period.

The effect of gaining “seasonal” designation is that the employer’s seasonal
workers who are given “reasonable assurance” of returning to work the
following season are subject to a “denial period” between seasons and no
unemployment benefits chargeable to the account of the seasonal employer
can be paid to the worker between seasons. This reduces benefit charges to
the employer’s account, even though unemployment taxes must still be paid
on the wages of the seasonal workers.
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The school “denial period” (denying
benefits to school employees who have

reasonable assurance of returning) will
also apply, between terms, to employees
of employers that contract with lower- and
higher-education schools to provide
services to those schools.

A “denial period” has applied for many years to employees of school districts
who are given reasonable assurance of returning to work after a recess period
or after the period between terms. The recent amendment extended the
denial period to employees who work in schools but who work for a third-party
contractor for the school district or institution of higher education, rather than
directly for the school.



