THE APPEAL
PROCESS




Protesting a Determination

m  “Protest” of Determination
(requesting Redetermination)
must be in writing and

by the UIA within 30

days of mailing of the “Determin-
ation”

“Protest” should be specific
about what the party disagrees
with, and why

If either party (claimant or employer) disagrees with a benefit Determination, or
if the employer disagrees with a tax Determination, the party can file a
“Protest” and request a Redetermination. It is helpful to provide reasons for
the disagreement with the Determination that the Agency can take into
consideration in deciding whether to affirm, modify, or reverse the original
Determination.



UIA issues Redetermination

* |n response to “protest’, the
UIA issues a “Redetermination”

= The Redetermination will either
affirm, reverse, or modify the
Determination.

If the protest letter is received within the 30-day protest period, the UIA will
consider the information it presents and issue a new document called a
“‘Redetermination.” The Redetermination will either agree with, disagree with,
or modify the Determination.



Appealing a Redetermination

= “Appeal” for hearing must be in
writing, signed, and
by the UIA within 30 days of

mailing of the “Redetermin-
ation”

= “Appeal” should be specific
about what the party disagrees
with, and why

Whichever party (claimant or employer) is dissatisfied with the
“‘Redetermination” can send the UIA a paper called an “appeal.” Like the
protest of a Determination, an appeal from a Redetermination must be
received by the UIA within the 30-day period | just described. The appeal
should be specific as to what the appealing party disagrees with and why. The
appeal must be signed in order to be accepted.



HEARING BEFORE
ADMINISTRATIVE
LAW JUDGE (ALJ)




Hearing before
Administrative Law Judge (ALJ)

= The hearing may be in person, or
by telephone.

= The hearing is not just a meeting; it

Is similar to a court proceeding; the
parties and their withesses are
sworn in; documents presented are
marked as exhibits; “hearsay”
testimony is generally not
permitted.

When an appeal from a Redetermination is filed on time, the UIA will send the
case to the Michigan Administrative Hearing System for scheduling a “hearing”
before an Administrative Law Judge. The hearing will be held either at the
office of the Judge, or by telephone with the claimant and the employer each
being at their own locations. A Notice of Hearing will be mailed by the Judge
to both the claimant and the employer (that is, to the “parties” to the appeal),
describing the issue that will be discussed at the hearing, and giving the date,
time, and location of the hearing.

The hearing is not just a meeting. It is a formal proceeding where information
is presented under oath, and where any documents either side wishes to
present are marked as exhibits. Hearsay statements will generally not be
accepted at a hearing. A “hearsay” statement is one where a claimant or
employer quotes what someone else would have said if they were at the
hearing. If a party needs to present the statement of another person at the
hearing, they should have that person present at the hearing as a witness.
The claimant and the employer have the right to obtain a subpoena through
the Michigan Administrative Hearing System to compel the attendance of a
witness.



Hearing before
Administrative Law Judge (ALJ)

= The Judge will not rely on documents in the
UIA’s file. Anything a party wants the Judge
to consider must be presented at the

hearing.

= The claimant and employer will have the
chance to give their statements of the facts,
and will be subject to “cross-examination” by
the other party.

= A party may have a lawyer, Advocate, or
other representative present at the hearing.

Even though both the claimant and the employer sent letters and other
documents to the UIA previously, none of those documents can be considered
by the Judge until they have been properly introduced at the hearing. To be
properly introduced, the claimant and employer must swear to the accuracy of
the documents they wish to introduce. The Judge will then decide whether the
documents can be introduced at the hearing as exhibits.

At the hearing, both the claimant and the employer will have a chance to give
their side of the story. The other party will have the chance to ask questions
(this process is called “cross-examination”).

Although it is not necessary, the parties may be represented at the hearing by
a lawyer or other Advocate.



Hearing before

Administrative Law Judge (ALJ)

= |f the appealing party is not
present, the Judge will dismiss the
case.

= The party with the “burden of proof”
will start; the other party will then
have the chance to cross-examine,
and later to present their own side.

If the party that appealed the case is not present at the hearing (in person or
by telephone), the Judge will dismiss the appeal for “lack of prosecution.” If
the appealing party is present, then the hearing can proceed. The first party to
be called to give their case will be the party with the “Burden of Proof.” The
other party will then have the chance to ask questions, and later to present
their own side of the story.



Appeal to
Michigan Compensation Appellate
Commission (MCAC)

= A party can request “rehearing” of the case
before the Judge, or can appeal the Judge’s

decision to the Michigan Compensation
Appellate Commission (MCAC)

= The “rehearing request” or the “appeal’ to
the MCAC must be in writing, signed, and
by the UIA or the MCAC within
30 days of the date the ALJ’s decision was
mailed.

The decision of the Judge could either agree with (“affirm”) the
Redetermination, or totally disagree with (reverse) the Redetermination, or
could partly agree and partly disagree with (modify) the Redetermination.
Whichever party disagrees with the Judge’s decision can ask for rehearing of
the case before the Judge, or can appeal the Judge’s decision to the Michigan
Compensation Appellate Commission. Generally, the only time a Judge will
permit a rehearing is if the party has NEW information that was not available at
the time of the original hearing. In most cases, that won'’t be true, and it
usually makes more sense to appeal the Judge’s decision to the Michigan
Compensation Appellate Commission. The appeal (or the rehearing request)
must be received by the UIA, in writing, within 30 days of the mailing of the
Judge’s decision, as | described before.



Appeal to Circuit Court and Beyond

= A decision of the MCAC can be appealed
to the circuit court

= A decision of the circuit court can be
appealed, with permission, to the
Michigan Court of Appeals.

= A decision of the Court of Appeals can be
appealed, with permission, to the
Michigan Supreme Court.

The Michigan Compensation Appellate Commission reviews the audio
recording of the hearing held before the Judge, and may request a written
transcript of the recording. The Commission decides whether the Judge was
correct in the facts he or she found, based on the testimony and exhibits, and
whether the Judge reached a reasonable conclusion in applying the law to
those facts. The Commission will sometimes hold a hearing if requested by
the claimant or employer, but the hearing will be for the presentation of
arguments about the law, not for the presentation of new or additional facts in
the case.

The Commission can affirm, modify, or reverse the decision of the Judge. The
decision of the Commission can be appealed to the county circuit court. The
circuit court decision can be appealed, by permission, to the Michigan Court of
Appeals; a decision of the Court of Appeals can be appealed, by permission,
to the Michigan Supreme Court.
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For more information:

Visit the Unemployment
Insurance Agency’s website at:

www.michigan.gov/uia

For more information on the appeal and hearing process, go to the UIA’s
website.
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For more information:

-
LAﬂA Unemployment Insurance Agency

Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs

Michigan.gov Home m ntact UIA | FAQ | Online Services
B Printer Friendty T

|

|ute on Line services

% m
Those who are newly unemplojed may have questions regarding the state's regular unemployment benefts

C I i k n Click here to review some general questions and answers regarding Michigan's unemployment insurance
C 0 program

+ 10395 Will Be Avaiable Oniine Beginning February 1, 2012

Publ ications Individuals who received unemplojment benefits in 2010 can print their year-end tax statements, called 1099-G,
[ oy (UIA)

only asked questions regarding changes made fo Michigan's Unemployment
Insurance Agency's (UIA) monthly unemployment benefit notices. These questions provide general information
yments, interest accruals and payment options. Questions re inemployment
pavment shoul 2

Click on “Publications.”
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For more information:

Click on “Publications” at the left
Scroll down to “UIA Publications”

and click on A Guide to
Unemployment Insurance
Appeals Hearings.

Then scroll down the page until you see the heading “UIA Publications” and
click on the PDF file for the publication called “UIA 1800, A Guide to
Unemployment Insurance Appeals Hearings.”
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For more information:

A Guide To
Unemployment Insurance
Appeals Hearings

This booklet will provide more in-depth information about the hearing process.
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For more information:

Or, to watch a mock hearing, go to
www.michigan.gov/uia

‘ - \
LAHA Unemployment Insurance A Agena y

Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs §

e

soo A-AtText Size EShare
|UIA On Line sarvu:es

-
Click on : =
Those e newly unempioyed may have qui te's reguiar unemployment benefts
ﬁ Clid review Some general questions & higan's unemployment insurance

Or to see a 20-minute “Mock Hearing,” click on “Webcasts” and then scroll
down the page until you see the webcast of the mock hearing.



# For more help preparing for the
hearing:

Cadillac Place - 3024 W. Grand Blvd., Suite 13-175 - Detroit, Ml 48202

The UIA maintains a listing of individuals who have passed an examination
and can represent employers in all areas of the state, at no cost to the
employer. These individuals are not employees of the UIA or of the State of

Michigan. An Advocate represents either claimants or employers, but not both.
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For questions about Advocacy

Call, toll-free,
1-800-638-3994

and choose menu item 2

To obtain an Advocate after an appeal has been filed, the employer can call 1-
800-638-3994, and connect to the Advocacy Program by pressing menu item
no. 2. The employer is sent a listing of employer Advocates in their area of the
State, with a brief description of each Advocate’s background, and the
employer then contacts the Advocate of their choosing.
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