How is My Tax Rate
Calculated?




4"“ Michigan's

‘ Unemployment System
= Michigan has an experienced-rated tax
system that uses the employer's payroll,
unemployment Taxes the employer paid
and unemployment benefits charged tio

the employer's account fo calculate the
employer's annual tax rate.

= Benefits paid, unpaid/underpaid faxes
and a fluctuating payroll can all cause a
fax rate fol increase.




@ New Employer
‘1 Tax Rates

= Generally, in the first two years of
liability The tax rate is set by Michigan
law: at 2.7 7.

= The exception is for new employers in
the construction industry whose rate
for the first two years is/ the average
constiruction confiractor ratie as
determined by the Unemployment:
Lnsurance Agency each year:.




Tax Rate in the

Third & Fourth
Years of Liability

" Tax rates in the third & fourth
years of liability are based on the
employer's own history of benefit;
charges and taxable payroll
(Chargeable Benefits Component or
CBC) and a base rate.

= The Chargeable Benefits Component:
(CBC)\is pro-rated to phase in the
employerisiexperience.

" The third year base rate is 1.87%.
" The fourth year base rate is 1.0%.



Tax Rate in the

Fifth Year of
Liability and
Beyond

Beginning in the fifth year of liability, the tax
rate is comprised of three components that
are computed separately and then added
together o deftermine the yearly tax rate.

The tihree components are:
Chargeable Benefits Component (CBC)
Account Building Component (ABC)
INon-chargeable Benefits Component (NBC)



Unemployment;
Experience

" The Chargeable Benefits Component
(CBC) and the Account Building
Component (ABC) are affected by the
employer's payroll, the unemployment
benefit chargesi o their account, and
the tax payments received. Since these
components reflect each company's own
experience, fihey are known as the
experience components.




- Chargeable Benefits
Component

=" This component takes into consideration
the amount of unemployment benefits
charged to an employer s account over a
60-montih (5-year) period, ending the
previous June 30.

CBC = 60 months of benefits paid
60 months oft faxable payroll

The result isirounded fo the next higher 0.17



Account Building
Component

= Unemployment insurance, like any insurance system, uses
past experience to try to achieve solvency for the
insurance system. In the case of unemployment
insurance, the Account Building Component (ABC) serves
this purpose by comparing the balance in an employer’s
individual ULA employer account (actual reserve) with a
calculated optimal balance for the employer (required
reserve).

" The calculation uses each employer’s total payroll for the
12-month period ending the previous June 30*h

ARC = [(Required Reserve) - (Actual Reserve)] X 0.5
12 months of total payroll

The result is rounded up to the next higher one tenth of one percent (0.1%)



Nonchargeable Benefits
Component

= This component is the on? one of the three
that does not entirely reflect an employer's
owh experience.

= This comgonen’r is generally a flat 1.0% for
all contiributing employers withi five or more
years in business and unemployment benefit
charges.

=" For employers with no or very few benefit

charges, the NBC can range frrom 0.5% tio as
low as 0.06 7.



Computation Period

= A computation period is the four
calendar quarters (12 months) used to
determine a fax rate. A computation
period begins July 15" of one year and
ends the June 30™ of the following
year. The financial' information that
fialls in this "period” is used to
defiermine the unemployment fax rate
fior the next calendar year.




Computation Period

= For the 2009 tax rate, these are the quarters that were used in the
computiation:

9/30/2007
12/31/2007
3/31/2008
6/30/2008

" For 2010, these are the quarters that will be used'in the computation:

9/30/2008
127/31/2008
3/31/2009
6/30/2009



Acquisition of a
Business

= Tf a new or existing business acquires the
organization, frade, business or 75% or more
of the assets of an existing business, there is
a mandatory transfer of unemployment
experience account of the predecessor
employer. This is termed "successorship.”

= If the taxable payroll attributable to the
transferred portion of the business is less
than 100%, then the transfer of experience is
termed a partial transfer.

For additional information, please refer to Section 22(a) of the MES Act.



Acquisition of
Business with

same Controlling
Interest

= Tf an employer transfers its trade or
business, in full or in part, to another
employer and there is common ownership,
management or control of the two employers
at the time of the transfer, there is a
mandatory transfer of unemployment
experience.



Effects of Missing Tlax Reports

= If at least 1, but fewer than 4, quarterly tax
reports are filed, the employer will receive a
computed tax rate plus a 3.07 non-reporting
penalty added to their fax rate.

= If none of the required tax reports are filed,
the rate will be set at the highest rate
applicable for the number of years in business
plus the 3.07 non-reporiting penalty.

= For experienced employers, the rate could be
10.3% pIUS 3.0% = 13.3%.

= If the missing reports are filed within 30 days
of the tax rate determination, the non-
reporting penalty can be removed.

= Beyond the 30 days but up fio one year, iihe
non-reporting can be reduced 1o 2.0%.



Notification of Unemployment
Tax Rate

The UIA is required to notify each employer, no later
than 6 months after the computation date (06/30),
of their fax rate for the upcoming year.

Tax raties are computed annually and are mailed on
the last business day of the year for the upcoming

calendar year. For example, tax rate defterminations
for 2009 were mailed 12/29/2008.

Lf, subsequently, a tax rate isimodified, a tax rate
redefermination is issued.

Form ULA 1771 is a determinationiand like all
determinations issued by ULA, it canibe proiiested.
Protestis must be submitted iniwriting and received
within 30 daysiof the mail datie.




Contact Information

" Tax Status: liability, transfer of business
Phone: 313.456.2080
FAX: 313.456.2131

Email:

" Tax Maintenance: tax rates, missing tax
reports

Phone: 313.456.2010
FAX: 313.456.2131

Email:



mailto:EmployerLiability@michigan.gov
mailto:TaxSupport@michigan.gov
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