
To determine an employer’s yearly unemployment tax, the wages of each covered 
worker, up to the “taxable wage base,” is multiplied by the employer’s annual 
unemployment tax rate. 
 
Before the amendment, the first $9,000 of each covered worker’s wage in a year was 
subject to the unemployment tax.  The amendment increased that amount to the 
first $9,500 of each covered worker’s wage in the year, until the Unemployment 
Compensation Fund reaches $2.5 billion, at which time the taxable wage base will 
revert to the former $9,000 amount.   
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An employer’s state unemployment tax rate is generally based the employer’s 
“experience” in having unemployment compensation claims of its former workers 
charged to the employer’s account, and in paying unemployment taxes.  The size of 
the employer’s taxable and total payrolls are also factored in.  It takes a few years 
after an employer first becomes a “liable” employer in Michigan for the employer’s 
own unemployment experience to be fully used in calculating the employer’s state 
unemployment tax rate. 
 
For employers that became “liable” before 2012, it took 5 years for an employer’s 
own experience to be fully used in the calculation.  In the first two years, the “new 
employer” rate of 2.7% was assigned to the employer, and gradually, over the next 3 
years, the employer’s own experience was used in calculating the rate. 
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Under the amendment, for employers that first became liable in 2012, it takes 4 years 
for the employer’s own experience to fully be considered in calculating the tax rate, 
and for employers first becoming liable in 2013 and thereafter, it will take 3 years.  
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The largest component of the state unemployment tax rate is called the “Chargeable 
Benefits Component.”  It, alone, can be as high as 6.3% of the overall tax rate.  It is 
calculated based on the ratio of prior years’ benefit charges to prior years’ taxable 
wages.  Before the amendment, the prior 5 years of benefit charges and taxable 
wages were included in the calculation.     
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Under the amendment, in 2012 the prior 4 years of benefit charges and taxable 
wages are included in the calculation, and in 2013 and thereafter, the prior 3 years of 
benefit charges and taxable wages are included. 
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Because Michigan and about 30 other states borrowed from the federal government 
to pay state unemployment benefits in the past several years, employers in those 
states saw an increase each year in their FUTA (Federal Unemployment Tax Act) taxes 
to repay the loan.  In addition, negative-balance employers in Michigan have been 
assessed a “solvency tax” to pay off the interest on those loans.  With private 
bonding, Michigan has now paid off the loans and interest, and employer’s FUTA 
taxes will go back to 0.6% beginning next year.  The solvency tax will no longer be 
assessed on that interest.  To pay off the bonds, an “obligation assessment” will be 
added to each employer’s tax rate, starting in 2012. 
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Over the next few years, Michigan employers will be required to file quarterly tax and 
wage reports on-line, through the Agency’s secure website.   
 
Beginning in 2013, an employer with more than 25 employees will be required to file 
on-line.  Beginning in 2014, that requirement will extend to employers having more 
than 5 employees, and beginning in 2015, all remaining employers will be required to 
begin filing on-line.  However, an employer with 5 or fewer employees can be granted 
a limited extension by the UIA Director on a showing of hardship.   
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The current $25 penalty for late filing of a late, incomplete, or erroneous quarterly 
wage detail report has been increased to $50, and if the report is filed after the due 
date for the next quarter, a $250 penalty applies for that and each succeeding 
quarter.  However, if the UIA discovers and error in a report and notifies the 
employer, and the employer corrects the error within 14 days, no penalty will apply. 
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Penalties applied to a business entity can now be applied as well to owners, directors, 
officers, and agents of the entity. 
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The two quarterly reports, (Form UIA 1020, Quarterly Tax Report, and Form UIA 1017, 
Quarterly Wage Detail Report) are being combined into a single Form beginning with 
the 3rd calendar quarter of 2012.  

10 



Beginning in 2013, the amendments also offer an employer who has 25 or fewer 
employees, and who, the prior year, incurred 50% or more of its annual 
unemployment tax liability in the first calendar quarter, to spread out its first quarter 
liability equally over all 4 quarters, without incurring penalties or interest by doing 
that.   
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If an employer is a liable employer solely on the basis of employing domestic 
(household) employees, the employer may elect, after notification to the Agency, to 
pay the state unemployment tax annually, although quarterly reports must still be 
filed.  
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The amendments provide for an “amnesty” program for employers that believe they 
might have misclassified employees as “independent contractors” (that is, “1099” 
workers).  The amendment allows the employer to request the Agency to determine 
whether the workers in question are properly classified as independent contractors, 
or whether they should in fact be classified as employees.  If the Agency concludes 
they should have been classified as employees, then only benefits paid based on 
wages after the date of the Determination will be charged to the employer.  No 
penalties or interest will apply on the previously misclassified wages. 
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Beginning in  2013, the UIA will abandon the “economic reality test” for classifying a 
worker as an “independent contractor” versus an “employee,” and the Agency will 
adopt the 20-factor IRS test, which is much more familiar to employers. 
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Under the amendments, an employer may request and receive designation as a 
“seasonal” employer if the employer employs 1 or more workers to work regularly-
recurring periods of not more than 26 weeks within any 52-week period.   
 
Previously, the employer had to either operate during not more than 26 weeks in a 
52-week period, or half or more of the employer’s employees had to be limited to 
working 26 weeks or less within a 52-week period.  Also, the employer’s industry had 
to be seasonal using that test.   
 
If an employer receives the “seasonal” designation, and gives reasonable assurance 
to its seasonal workers that they will return the following season, the seasonal 
workers will be denied unemployment benefits between seasons, chargeable to the 
seasonal employer.  Employers in the construction industry are still excluded from 
being designated as “seasonal.”   
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