e. An act of assault and battery connected with your
work; or

f. The use or possession of an illegal substance at
work, refusing to submit to a drug test, or testing
positive on a drug test.

g. Theft connected with your work.

h. Deliberate destruction of property connected with
your work.

3. Were originally separated from employment under non-
disqualifying circumstances and it is later established
that you committed a theft against your employer
between the notice of your layoff or discharge
and the effective date of your separation.

4. Without good cause, refuse, or fail to report for a job
interview, fail to apply for a job, or fail to accept an offer
of suitable work.

5. Are unemployed due to a labor dispute (strike or
employer lockout).

6. Work for a temporary help firm (THF), file a claim, and
fail to notify the firm within seven days that
a work assignment ended.

If disqualified for these reasons,you may be required to serve
a 13- or 26- week requalification period.You may be subject
toarework,requalification,have benefits reduced by 13 weeks,
or have benefits reduced to zero with the involved employer.
(Refer to your UIA 1901, Unemployment Benefits In Michigan,
handbook, for more detailed information.)

5. YOUR UCX BENEFITS — HOW MUCH FOR HOW LONG?

The Michigan unemployment compensation payable to
you depends upon your military pay grade at the time of
separation from Federal service, and the amount of high
quarter wages in your base period. The maximum weekly
benefit amount is $362, and payment weeks range from 14
to 20.

SeeyourUIA 1901 handbookto estimate your weekly benefit
amount and number of payment weeks.

6. EFFECT OF RETIREMENT BENEFIT

TheFederal governmentcontributes 100 percent ofall military
and veterans' retirement and pension payments, including
fleet naval reserve retainer pay. Therefore, if you are retired
from Federal military service, any retirement benefit or dis-
ability pension you receive from your branch of service must
be subtracted from unemployment benefits you receive.
Your gross monthly retirement benefit will be prorated to
a weekly amount. The weekly amount of your retirement

benefit will be subtracted from the weekly unemployment
benefit amount you would otherwise receive. If the weekly
amount of your retirement benefit is equal to, or more than,
your weekly unemployment benefit amount, you cannot
receive any unemployment benefits.

Disability compensation may be paid by the Department of
Veterans Affairs to ex-service personnel who are disabled by
injury or disease incurred in, or aggravated by active service,
in line of duty during war time or peace time service. Any
disability compensation paid by the Department of Veterans
Affairs is NOT deductible from unemployment benefits payable
under the UCX program.

7. PENALTIES

The law provides severe penalties for anyone who intention-
ally gives incorrect information to obtain or increase benefits.
Always give correct and complete information when answering
questions about your claim.

8. HOWTO FILE

You can create your own online account with the Michigan
Web Account Manager (MiWAM) at www.michigan.gov/uia.
The directions can be found in the MiWAM Toolkit for Claim-
ants on the website. MiWAM is available 24 hours a day, six
days a week to file a claim. You can also file your claim by tele-
phone at 1-866-500-0017. Customer service representatives
are available to help, Monday - Friday, 8:00 a.m to 4:30 p.m. ET.

If you are a Veteran and have any questions, you can call
about your UCX claim at 1 (855) 707-8387. This line is
available 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Veterans can leave
a message and staff will contact them within 48 hours.
This line is for Veterans only.

This pamphlet is issued for general information only. It
does not have the effect of law, regulation, or ruling. If you
have any additional questions concerning this program,
visit our website at www.michigan.gov/uia or call our
toll-free Inquiry Line at 1-866-500-0017 (TTY customers
use 1-866-366-0004).

State of Michigan
Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
Unemployment Insurance Agency
3024 W. Grand Boulevard
Detroit, Michigan 48202
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Finding jobs for workers is
one of the chief goals of each
Michigan Works! Agency

The Michigan Works! Agency (MWA) works in cooperation
with the Unemployment Insurance Agency (UIA) in regis-
tering individuals for work, but you do not have to collect
unemployment benefits to use the MWA. Anyone may use
this service at any time, without cost.

If you want or need assistance with your career change to
civilian employment, the MWA can help. A full range of pri-
ority services can be provided to veterans, and qualifying
spouses. Various tests can be given to help you decide on
the best kind of work for you.The MWA also has information
onretraining programs and occupations that are in demand,
as well as information on job openings in your community,
in Michigan, and in other parts of the country.

You can find the address of an MWA Service Center nearest
you by calling:

1-800-285-WORK

1. THE UNEMPLOYMENT COMPENSATION FOR
EX-SERVICE PERSONNEL (UCX) PROGRAM

The UCX program provides unemploymentinsurance protec-
tion to ex-service personnel of all ranks who served in the
Armed Forces of the United States and who meet various
Federal and State requirements outlined in this pamphlet.
Employees of the Commissioned Corps of the National
Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration are also covered
under this program.

2. YOUR RESPONSIBILITIES UNDER THE UCX PROGRAM

Upon separation from Federal service, you may file a claim
for unemployment benefits. The claim may be filed in any
of the 50 states, the District of Columbia, the Virgin Islands,
Canada or Puerto Rico. You should have the following
records with you when you file your claim:

a. A clear, legible copy of the Member 4 copy of your
DD Form 214, Certificate of Release or
Discharge from Active Duty. If any other Member
number is used (2 thru 8), the copy must be certified.
You cannot submit a Member 1 copy.

b. Your Social Security card and one piece of identification
with your picture on it, such as a driver license.

c. Yourrecord ofemployment,ifany,beforeand after military
service if such employment occurred within the last 18
months.

3. FEDERAL REQUIREMENTS FOR BENEFITS

You must meet certain Federal qualifying requirements to be
eligible for benefits under the UCX program. To file an unem-
ployment claim, you must be separated from military service.
Your filing date must be on or after the date shown in Item 12(b)
on your DD Form 214.You must also have been discharged or
released under honorable conditions (or, if an officer, you must
not have resigned for the good of the service) after completing
your first full term of service.

If you were discharged or released before completing your first
full term of service, you may still be eligible for benefits if the
narrative reason for separation on your DD Form 214 is one
of those provided by your branch of service as acceptable for
UCX eligibility.

NOTE: UCX benefits are also payable based upon active duty in
areserve status if:

* You were released under honorable conditions,and

* You completed the full term of service for which you
enlisted.If you were discharged/released prior to comple-
tion of your full term, you must be released under honor-
able conditions,and

* You have been on continuous active duty for 90 days or
more, and

» Your narrative reason for separation must be one of those
provided by your branch of service as acceptable for
UCX eligibility.

Federal law prohibits you from receiving any unemployment
benefits during the same period you claim/receive either
Subsistence Allowances for Vocational Rehabilitation Training,
or War Orphans'/Widows' Educational Assistance from the De-
partment of Veterans Affairs.Federal law permits you to receive
other educational assistance allowances with no effect on your
unemployment benefits, but the UIA must determine if the
educational program you are under will affect your availability/
ability to work in suitable full-time employment.

4. REQUIREMENTS OF THE MICHIGAN EMPLOYMENT
SECURITY (MES) ACT

If Michigan law applies to your claim, to be eligible for benefits
you must meet the following conditions of the MES Act, in
addition to the Federal requirements already outlined in Item 3:

a. You must register for work, and certify that you are
unemployed (or underemployed) for any week(s) you
claim benefits;

b. You must have active service in the Armed Forces
within the first 4 of the last 5 completed calendar
quarters (thebase period of your claim) which precede
the effective date (benefityearbeginning—BYB) of your
claim.This period is called the Standard Base Period; or

c. Ifyoudonothave sufficientwagesinthe Standard Base
Period, we will check your wages in an Alternate Base
Period (the last 4 completed calendar quarters).

Regardless of the base period used, the wage requirements
are the same, and benefits are payable during the 52-week
period (benefit year) after you file your new claim.

Wage Requirements:

* Youmusthaveatleastonequarterinwhichyouearned

a minimum of:
Amount Effective Date

$2,871

January 4,2009, to present; and later
* You must have earnings in at least 2 quarters; and

» Your total base period wages must equal 1.5 times
your high quarter wages.

Your base period earnings may consist entirely of Federal
military service or a combination of military service, Federal
civilian service, and/or work with employers covered by a
state unemployment compensation law.

d. You must be able to work, be available for suitable
full-time work, and be seeking work (unless
that requirement has been waived by the UIA).

You may be disqualified and lose some or all of your benefits
if after separation from military service,you began work with
a state employer and:

1. Quit your job without good cause attributable to your
employer, or if you voluntarily retire.

2. Were discharged for:
a. Misconduct connected with work; or
b. Intoxication while at work; or
c. Absence due to conviction and imprisonment; or

d. Participation in a strike or dther concerted action
contrary to a labor contract or in a wildcat strike
or other concerted action not authorized by the
bargaining unit; or



