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Re:
Vehicle Fund Coverage

We receive many inquiries regarding the State of Michigan's Vehicle Self-Insurance Fund (the "Fund"), the coverage levels it provides, and circumstances that may or may not be covered by the Fund.  The purpose of this memo is to address the most frequently asked questions.

As way of background, all vehicle owners, including the state, are mandated to provide no-fault insurance pursuant to Section 500.3101 of the Michigan Compiled Laws.  Until 1992, the state purchased a commercial auto liability insurance policy. A decision was then made to self-insure and to state fund the no-fault liability coverage required by law whereby actuarially determined dollar amounts are set aside in a reserve to pay claims. 

The maximum loss payable by the Fund for any single covered accident is an aggregate amount of $1 million.  Any loss due and payable over the $1 million limit is payable by the department at fault.  This coverage limit will be applied as an aggregate amount for all payments including liability, PIP and PPI per accident.  Allocated loss adjustment expenses, expenses attributable to a particular loss, would not be included as part of the coverage limit.

Pertinent circumstances and coverage for a vehicle are defined as follows:

· Coverage will only be extended to state owned or leased vehicles acquired through the state contracted vehicle lessor (currently, Wheels, Inc.) and registered with DMB's Vehicle & Travel Services.  The vehicle is assigned either on a short or long-term basis to a state agency.  

· Included are employee personal vehicles used on official state business.  Fund coverage on employee personal vehicles used on official state business shall be excess over any other valid and collectible insurance already covering the employee vehicle. 

· Temporary rental vehicles from third parties (e.g. Avis, Hertz) are not covered by the Fund.

· Vehicles assigned to colleges and universities through the state or VTS are not covered by the Fund.

· Department of Natural Resources federal excess property vehicles loaned out to rural fire departments are not covered by the Fund.

· The Fund will pay those costs required by Michigan's No-Fault law: Personal Injury Protection (PIP), Property Protection Insurance (PPI), Residual Liability (bodily injury and property damage).  Collision damage to the state vehicle is not covered by the Fund.

· PIP includes medical benefits, wage loss, and replacement services.

· PPI pays damage to other people's property, such as buildings and fences that may have been caused by the state covered vehicle.  It also pays for damage done to another person's properly parked car.  

· The fund will not pay "property damage" to state owned property caused by a state covered vehicle.  The department at fault will be responsible for any such payment.

· Residual Liability (bodily injury and property damage) includes payment when the state is sued as a result of an accident.  The circumstances under which the state can be sued are defined by Public Act 218 of 1956, as amended.  The Fund will pay all allocated loss adjustment expenses (ALAE).  ALAE are those expenses attributable to a particular loss.  (Examples of ALAE are expert witnesses, medical payments, fees for obtaining reports, etc.)

· The Fund will not provide coverage for intentional acts by state employees or agents driving state provided vehicles, e.g. a state employee or agent intentionally damages another's parked vehicle or intentionally harms someone using the state vehicle.

As an example to help clarify amounts covered by the Fund, assume an accident resulting in a total state payout of $150,000 of medical expenses, $20,000 of P.P.I., $4,000 of ALAE and a liability judgement of $1 million.  The Fund would pay out a total of $1,004,000 for this claim.  The agency causing the accident would pay $170,000 for this claim. 

Certificates of self-insurance should be placed in the glovebox of all state owned and leased vehicles. If one is missing from a state vehicle a replacement may be obtained by calling or writing Vehicle and Travel Services.

All accidents involving state owned or leased vehicles should be reported regardless of fault or damage to the state owned or leased vehicle to Wheels, Inc. by calling 1-800-937-8149 and Crawford & Company, the state's third-party administrator at 1 -800-777-0962 or 1-248-357-2500.



If you have any questions regarding the Fund or any other risk management questions please contact me at 517 373-3806.

