Skip Navigation
LARA: Department of Licensing and Regulatory AffairsPORTAL_HEADER_LOGO Home
close print view

Clean Cities Program

Clean CityClean Cities is a locally-based government and industry partnership, coordinated by the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) to expand the use of alternatives to gasoline and diesel fuel. It combines local decision making with voluntary action by partners in a grass roots approach designed to build a sustainable alternative fuels market. Nationwide, more than 80 cities and regions have been designated as Clean Cities. The Clean Cities Program has the following goals:
  • Create new jobs & commercial opportunities
  • Develop "Clean Corridors"
  • Facilitate alternative fuel vehicle production and conversion
  • Provide greater fuel choices
  • Support regulated fleets
  • Expand refueling infrastructure
  • Increase public awareness
  • Advance Clean Air objectives

Michigan Clean Cities Coalitions There are currently three areas of the state which have obtained Clean Cities designation by U.S. DOE.

Clean Energy Coalition 
The Clean Energy Coalition administers the Ann Arbor Area Clean Cities Program.  The Ann Arbor area was designated a Clean Cities Coalition in April 1999. It includes all of Washtenaw County.  For more information, email Mark Rabinsky, Coordinator, or by phone at (734) 585-5720 ext. 24. 

Detroit Area Clean Cities Coalition 
The Detroit area was designated a Clean Cities Coalition in December 1996 as part of the Detroit-Toronto Clean Cities Corridor. It includes Livingston, Macomb, Monroe, Oakland, St. Clair, and Wayne Counties. For more information, email Matt Sandstrom, Coordinator, or call (734) 585-5720 ext. 27. 

Greater Lansing Area Clean Cities 
The Greater Lansing area was designated a Clean Cities Coalition in September 2003. It includes Clinton, Eaton, and Ingham Counties. For more information, email Maggie Striz Calnin, Programs Coordinator, or call (517) 290-2298.  

West Michigan Clean Cities Coalition 
The West Michigan Clean Cities Coalition is sponsered by the Michigan Energy Office and administered by Clean Energy Coalition. It includes Allegan, Barry, Berrien, Ionia, Kalamzaoo, Kent Montcalm, Muskegon, Newaygo, Ottawa and Van Buren Counties. For more information, email 
 Arron Champion, Coordinator, or call (734) 585-5720 ext. 23.

For more information, please visit the U.S. DOE's Clean Cities site  or contact: 

Tim Shireman, Program Manager
Michigan Energy Office
300 N. Washington Square
Lansing, MI 48913
Phone: (517) 241-6281 
Fax: (517) 241-6229 

QR code Home
PoliciesMichigan Survey

Copyright © 2014 State of Michigan