Work Comp Performance Measures
To judiciously service Michigan's employees, employers and insurers by expeditiously addressing and impartially resolving claims for review (appeals) of decisions involving the award of worker's compensation benefits, and by serving as a buffer to the Court of Appeals.
Established in 1987 by Act 103 of the Public Acts of 1985 (Act), the Michigan Compensation Appellate Commission (Commission) serves Michigan's employees and employers by addressing and resolving their worker's compensation appeals expeditiously, impartially and in a judicious manner. Up to nine attorneys, appointed by the governor to serve as commissioners, constitute the Commission. One commissioner is designated by the governor as chairperson and has general supervisory control over staff and operations. Classified employees provide support for the commissioners.
After a decision and order has been made and an order written (by a member of the Board of Magistrates or the director of the Workers' Compensation Agency) regarding a claim for disability benefits, vocational rehabilitation or a redemption agreement, any party disagreeing with the written order has 30 days from the mailed date (15 days from the mailed date of a redemption order) to file an appeal with the Commission. After all required filings on appeal have been received by the Commission an appeal is considered "perfected." Perfected appeals are then taken under active review with the Commission focusing on only those issues raised by the appealing party or parties. Written opinions/orders are published that provide a qualitative and quantitative analysis of the evidence presented to support the magistrate's findings of fact and/or whether the conclusions of law need to be corrected or clarified.
Any party in disagreement with the Commission's findings has 30 days from the mailed date, stamped on the opinion/order, to request that the record be certified to the Michigan Court of Appeals. The request must be made in writing and submitted to the Commission along with the $50.00 filing fee, payable to the State of Michigan. Upon expiration of the 30-day appellate window, the Commission's opinion/order is final and binding on all parties.
Commission staff assists commissioners by:
Facilitating prompt resolution of claims between parties
Providing top quality and timely customer service
Efficiently processing assigned caseloads
Ensuring excellence in the final published product
The Commission assists consumers by:
Ensuring just and prompt resolution of all appeals
Applying strict adherence to statutorily-set filing time lines and requirements
Continuing to decrease and maintain decreased caseload
Meeting or exceeding annual productivity standards
Maintaining its web site to accommodate consumer needs
The primary legal basis for the Commission is found in Act No. 317 of the Public Acts of 1969, as amended, also known as the Worker's Disability Compensation Act of 1969 (MCL 418.101 et seq.; specifically MCL 418.274 and MCL 418.861). The Act provides general policies for administration, gives the chairperson appointing and work assignment authority, grants rule-making authority to the Commission as a body, sets out the scope of review, and provides procedures for employers, insurance carriers, attorneys and employees seeking review.
Claim Activity: 2006-2016