Skip Navigation
LARA: Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory AffairsMichigan.gov: Official Web Site for the State of Michigan
Michigan.gov Home
close print view

Renew my Corporation

Agency: Licensing and Regulatory Affairs

PROFIT AND PROFESSIONAL SERVICE CORPORATIONS

The Business Corporation Act, P.A. 284 of 1972, section 925 provides that a domestic corporation that has been automatically dissolved under section 922 and a foreign corporation whose certificate of authority has been revoked under section 922 or section 1042, may renew its corporate existence or certificate of authority by filing the reports and paying the required fees for the years for which they were not filed and for every subsequent intervening year, together with the penalties provided by section 921.  Upon filing the reports and payment of the fees and penalties, the corporate existence or the certificate of authority is renewed.

Fees and penalties for reports due prior to February 24, 1978, are subject to the penalties and interest in effect on the statutory filing date.  Interest accrues at such rates until the filing is completed.  For automatic dissolutions/withdrawals that occurred after February 24, 1978, the fee for each prior year profit report is $75.00.  If renewal is received May 15 or later, the current year report is also required with the $25.00 filing fee and the penalty fee is $10.00 per month or portion thereof, beginning May 16 (see section 921).  Foreign profit corporations may owe additional fees if shares attributable to Michigan have increased.

NONPROFIT CORPORATIONS 

The Nonprofit Corporation Act, P.A. 162 of 1982, section 925 provides that a domestic corporation that has been automatically dissolved unders section 922 and a foreign corporation whose certificate of authority has been revoked under section 922 or section 1042, may renew its corporate existence or certificate of authority by filing the reports for the last 5 years or any lesser number of years and paying the required fees for all the years for which they were not filed together with the penalty of $5.00 for each report.  Upon filing the reports and payment of the fees and penalties, the corporate existence or the certificate of authority is renewed.  The fee for each prior year nonprofit report is $25.00.   If renewal is received October 1 or later, the current year report is also required with $25.00.

STEPS TO DETERMINE AMOUNT OWED AND OBTAIN PREPRINTED REPORTS 

1.  VIEW IMAGES AND ESTIMATE FEES OWED
For corporations automatically dissolved/withdrawn 1993 or later, you can view images of all filed documents and reports using the Business Entity Search to determine which reports are delinquent and estimate what fees may be owed before proceeding with your renewal request.  You can also use the Name Availability to determine if the corporation name is still available for use. 

  • For profit corporations, the report is not required to be filed in the year of incorporation or authorization.
  • For nonprofit corporations formed or qualified 1996 or later, the report is not required to be filed in the year of incorporation or authorization.

2.  REQUEST PREPRINTED FORMS TO RENEW
To request the preprinted reports required and fees owed to renew corporate existence, send an email to corprenew@michigan.gov.  Include the corporation name, six-digit ID number assigned by this office, how you want your reports sent (email, fax, or mail) and an email address, fax number, or mailing address.  You may also call the Business Services section at (517) 241-6470 to request the reports.

Renewals may be submitted electronically through MICH-ELF, by mail, or in person at our Okemos office.

Related Content
 •  Restore my LLC
QR code

Michigan.gov Home
Michigan NewsMichigan.gov Survey


Copyright © 2001-2014 State of Michigan