Skip Navigation
LARA: Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory AffairsMichigan.gov: Official Web Site for the State of Michigan
Michigan.gov Home
close print view

Salesperson License & Requirements

Contact: Board of Real Estate Brokers & Salespersons (517) 373-7353
Agency: Licensing and Regulatory Affairs

 Qualifying Education 

 Exams 

 Experience 

Continuing Education 

40 clock hours of approved real estate fundamentals  Examination
(administered by PSI Services, LLC)
 

None 

2 clock hours every year of legal updates, 18 total per 3 year cycle 


An applicant for a real estate salesperson license must be 18 years of age and have successfully completed education and examination requirements required by the Occupational Code, PA 299 of 1980, as amended.

1)  COMPLETE YOUR REAL ESTATE FUNDAMENTALS (PRELICENSURE) COURSE
Your school will submit your certificate of completion to the State of Michigan.  Always keep a copy of completion certificates for your records.  You must apply for licensure within 36 months of completing your prelicensure course.

2)  COMPLETE AND SUBMIT YOUR REAL ESTATE SALESPERSON LICENSE APPLICATION
Log into www.michigan.gov/icola to apply for a license. Upon accessing iCOLA you will be asked to create an account, pay your license fee and submit your license application electronically. If you list your employing broker's 10-digit number when applying, please inform your employer that you have submitted your license application. Your employing broker should then access his or her iCOLA account and confirm sponsorship. You do not neet to have a broker at the time you submit the license application; broker information may be supplied to the State of Michigan at a later time using the Employing Broker Notification form. Your license application will remain in a "pending" status in our system until broker sponsorship is confirmed, or for 1 year from the date of your application.

Relicensure Requirement Information 

Related Content
 •  Employing Broker Notification Form PDF icon
 •  Steps to obtain a New Salesperson License PDF icon
 •  Fees PDF icon
 •  Broker License & Requirements
 •  Revised iCola FAQ's for Salespersons and General Information PDF icon
 •  Approved Real Estate Prelicensing Courses
 •  Real Estate - Directory of State Licensing Boards PDF icon
 •  List of Approved Real Estate Continuing Education Courses PDF icon
 •  List of Approved Real Estate Prelicensure Courses PDF icon
 •  Licensing Examinations
QR code

Michigan.gov Home
Michigan NewsMichigan.gov Survey


Copyright © 2001-2014 State of Michigan