Skip Navigation
LARA: Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory AffairsMichigan.gov: Official Web Site for the State of Michigan
Michigan.gov Home
close print view

How long are the Pharmacist/Pharmacy licenses issued for? Can I renew my license early? How will I know when I need to renew?

Your initial Pharmacist/Pharmacy license is only good until the next expiration date of your profession (anywhere from 4 months to 1 year). After your first renewal, your license will be valid for 2 years. You will receive a renewal application 45-60 days prior to the expiration date of your license and it will state the renewal fee required. 

You cannot renew your license early. Our system is not set up to receive renewal information until the renewal time for your profession. We will mail you renewal information approximately 45-60 days before the expiration date of your current license. Remember to notify the Department in writing of any address changes you have. It is your responsibility to renew your license on time. Failure to notify us of an address change does not exempt you from renewing your license on time. You can renew online at www.michigan.gov/elicense. Online renewal payments require you to pay with a credit card. 

Related Content
 •  How do I verify my Michigan license to another state?
 •  I know that I have to do continuing education to renew my pharmacist license. Since this is my first initial license and it's not for a full licensing period, do I need to complete CE's for my first ...
 •  If I have been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor, will this stop me from obtaining a Michigan license?
 •  How can I change my name or address?
 •  I need to verify whether someone has a license. How can I do that?
 •  What happens if my license or registration expires?
 •  How long will you keep my licensure application on file?
 •  The application asks for the state(s) I have been licensed in and asks for the basis of licensure. What does that mean? What if I'm licensed in more than one state? Do you need verification from all ...
 •  Is everything in my file complete? How can I find out what is missing?
 •  How long does it take to process my application?
 •  How long does it take for your office to receive my correspondence?
 •  What is the purpose of the different types of applications?
 •  I want to have Educational Testing Service (ETS) submit my TOEFL scores directly to the Board. What is the institutional code I need?
 •  I work in more than one location. How can I have my license on display in all of my work areas?
 •  Can I submit the renewal application for my controlled substance license before submitting the renewal for my professional license?
 •  Do I have to renew my controlled substance (CS) license if I am not currently living in Michigan and my professional license is active? Can I renew the CS license later if I move back to Michigan?
 •  Can you give me information on my DEA license or how to get a DEA license?
 •  My renewal date is coming up soon. I know that the license/registration will be valid until the expiration date after I renew. Since I will be moving next year, I only want to renew it for 1 year. Can I ...
 •  Can I use any additional hours I earned over the required hours for the next renewal period?
 •  Do I need to submit proof of my continuing education?
QR code

Michigan.gov Home
PoliciesMichigan NewsMichigan.gov Survey


Copyright © 2014 State of Michigan