Skip Navigation
LARA: Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory AffairsMichigan.gov: Official Web Site for the State of Michigan
Michigan.gov Home
close print view

How do I verify my Michigan license to another state?

We can provide written verification of your licensure status to another state within 20-30 business days. This document may also be referred to as a "letter of good standing". You need to send a written request for license verification that provides this office with the name and address of the Board you wish to receive the documentation. This request should include your name, license number and your signature and must be accompanied by the required $15.00 fee made payable to the State of Michigan. The verification process generally takes 20-30 business business days from the time the request is received by the Department. The request should be mailed to:

Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs
Bureau of Health Care Services
Health Professions Licensing Division
Attention: Verifications
PO Box 30670
Lansing, MI 48909

Related Content
 •  How long are the Physical Therapist/Physical Therapist Assistant licenses issued for? Can I renew my license early? How will I know when I need to renew?
 •  Are the physical therapy services received in a physician's office comparable to the therapy received in a physical therapist's clinic?
 •  As a physical therapist who has earned a DPT degree, can I present myself to clients or the general public as "Dr."?
 •  What is the legal duration of a physical therapy prescription?
 •  Is there a graduate physical therapist category between graduation and licensure?
 •  What is the difference in the quality of physical therapy offered by a therapist who uses the letters: DPT, LPT, MPT, PTA, RPT or just PT?
 •  Since the Public Health Code does not list many specifics on how to handle various practice issues, how do I know what standards to use?
 •  How can I change my name or address?
 •  I need to verify whether someone has a license. How can I do that?
 •  What happens if my license or registration expires?
 •  How long will you keep my licensure application on file?
 •  If I have been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor, will this stop me from obtaining a Michigan license?
 •  The application asks for the state(s) I have been licensed in and asks for the basis of licensure. What does that mean? What if I'm licensed in more than one state? Do you need verification from all ...
 •  Is everything in my file complete? How can I find out what is missing?
 •  How long does it take to process my application?
 •  How long does it take for your office to receive my correspondence?
 •  What is the purpose of the different types of applications?
 •  I want to have Educational Testing Service (ETS) submit my TOEFL scores directly to the Board. What is the institutional code I need?
 •  What licenses are available?
 •  Do I need to complete continuing education?
QR code

Michigan.gov Home
Michigan NewsMichigan.gov Survey


Copyright © 2001-2014 State of Michigan