close print view
Michigan Medical Marihuana Program
The Michigan Medical Marihuana Program (MMMP) is a state registry program within the Health Professions Division in the Bureau of Health Care Services at the Michigan Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs. The program administers the Michigan Medical Marihuana Act as approved by Michigan voters on November 4, 2008. The program implements the statutory tenets of this act in such a manner that protects the public and assures the confidentiality of its participants.
NEW! Legislation passed amendments to the Michigan Medical Marihuana Act that are effective April 1, 2013. The Application, Minor Application, Physician Certification and Change Form have been revised to reflect these changes. Click here for forms.
The Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) have also been updated to answer the many questions that you may have rearding the changes that will be effective April 1, 2013. Click here for FAQs.
Click on the links below to read the new legislation:
Public Act 460 of 2012 (House Bill 4856)
Public Act 512 of 2012 (House Bill 4851)
Public Act 514 of 2012 (House Bill 4834)
Do not send duplicate applications. This slows down the application process and creates problems for our staff.
If you submitted your application prior to the end of November 2012 and have not received your registry ID card, please call 517-373-0395 and select option #3.
Program Statistics as of 4/30/2013:
- 391,131 original and renewal applications received since April 6, 2009.
- 135,267 active registered qualified patients.
- 27,788 active registered primary caregivers.
- 36,737 applications denied -- most due to incomplete application or missing documentation.
- Applications are reviewed within 15 days of receipt. Incomplete applications are denied and applicants are then notified of denial by certified and regular mail.
- Complete applications, change forms and reapplications for previous denials are then processed in the date order in which they are received. If a denial letter is not received then the application is deemed valid. The statute currently allows for a copy of a valid application submitted to serve as a valid registry identification if the card is not issued within 20 days of its submission to the department.
- The Notice of Approval will be sent only with the registry ID card. If the registry ID card is not received within 12 weeks of the department's receipt of a valid application, please call 517-373-0395 and select option #3.
- There is a reduced registration fee. For information on what documents must be submitted with the application click here for the Reduced Fee Eligibility Information.