Skip Navigation
LARA: Department of Licensing and Regulatory AffairsPORTAL_HEADER_LOGO
Michigan.gov Home
close print view

What is the Michigan Minimum Wage?

Contact: Wage & Hour Division 517-322-1825

Michigan's Workforce Opportunity Wage Act, Public Act 138 of 2014

Michigan's Minimum Wage:

Effective May 27, 2014, Public Act 138 of 2014, the Workforce Opportunity Wage Act, repealed and replaced Public Act 154 of 1964, as amended, the Minimum Wage Law.

Tipped employees may be paid $2.65 per hour May 27, 2014 through August 31, 2014; effective September 1, 2014, tipped employees may be paid 38% of the Section 4 Minimum Hourly Wage Rate.  If the gratuities plus the tipped employee minimum hourly wage rate under subsection 4d do not equal or exceed the minimum hourly wage otherwise established under section 4, the employer pays any shortfall to the employee.

A training wage of $4.25 per hour may be paid to employees 16-19 years of age for the first 90 days of their employment.

Minors 16-17 years of age may be paid 85% of the minimum hourly wage rate.

The rates are as follows:
 

 Effective Date 

 Minimum
Hourly
Wage Rate
 

 Tipped Employee 
 Hourly Wage Rate

 85% of Minimum
Hourly Wage Rate
 

 Before September 1, 2014

$7.40

$2.65

 $7.25*

September 1, 2014

$8.15

 $3.10

  $7.25* 

 January 1, 2016

$8.50

 $3.23

 $7.25*

 January 1, 2017

$8.90

 $3.38

$7.57 

 January 1, 2018

$9.25 

 $3.52

$7.86 

 *The state 85% rate of $6.29 per hour from 5/27/2014 through 8/31/2014, and the $6.93 from 9/1/2014 through 1/1/2016, and the $7.23 from 1/1/2016 through 1/1/2017; is lower than the federal minimum wage of $7.25. Section 10(1) of Public Act 138 of 2014, as amended, states: “. . . This act does not apply to an employer that is subject to the minimum wage provisions of the fair labor standards act of 1938, 29 USC 201 to 219, unless those federal minimum wage provisions would result in a lower minimum hourly wage than provided in this act..”

Questions regarding Federal Minimum Wage information can be directed to: 1-866-487-9243 (1-866-4US-WAGE).

The answers provided are not meant to be a substitute for legal advice.

     

Related Content
 •  If my pay period starts prior to September 1, 2014 and ends sometime after September 1, 2014, is my employer required to pay me the new minimum wage rate for the entire pay period?
 •  What wage, hour or fringe benefit posters are required to be posted at our business?
 •  Enforcement of Youth Employment Standards Act moves to the Michigan Department of Education
 •  My cash drawer came up short, my supervisor makes me pay for it, is this legal?
 •  If an employee punches in late, can the employer dock their pay to the next quarter hour?
 •  Can an employer withhold wages for disciplinary action?
 •  Can my employer pay me 'Comp Time' instead of paying me overtime?
 •  Do I have to work 40 hours to be considered a full-time employee?
 •  I have been told by my employer that I will have to use a week of vacation time for a planned summer shutdown, can my employer make me use my vacation time for this?
 •  Are employees required by law to have a meal or break period?
 •  Your Employer's Bankruptcy: How Will It Affect Your Employee Benefits?
 •  I work in a restaurant, when a patron walks out without paying for their meal my supervisor makes me pay for it, is this legal?
 •  I broke a piece of inventory, my supervisor makes me pay for it, is this legal?
 •  My employer provided a retirement plan (401k, pension, etc.) as a benefit, I was let go from my job, is there anything I can do to claim that money?
 •  My employer deducts premiums for health insurance from my paycheck, how can I find out if the premiums are being paid to the health insurance provider?
 •  My employer deducts premiums for health insurance from my paycheck, my insurance provider has informed me that my premium has not been paid, who do I contact?
 •  Can my employer withhold my paycheck from me?
 •  Can my employer change my rate of pay?
 •  Is there a law that I get paid double time or triple time when I work a holiday?
 •  What deductions from my paycheck are considered legal?
QR code

Michigan.gov Home
PoliciesMichigan NewsMichigan.gov Survey


Copyright © 2014 State of Michigan