Skip Navigation
Library of - Official Website for the State of Michigan Home
close print view

Acclaimed children's author Gary Schmidt Wins 2011 Michigan Author Award

Contact: Martin Ackley, Director of Communications, (517) 241-4395
Agency: Education

August 23, 2011
LANSING - Michigan Center for the Book today announced Gary Schmidt - author of award-winning and critically-acclaimed children and young adult fiction - as the winner of the 2011 Michigan Author Award.  
Sponsored jointly by the Michigan Center for the Book (a program of the Library of Michigan) and the Michigan Library Association, this annual award is in its 20th year of honoring Michigan writers for their contributions to literature based on an outstanding published body of work.
Schmidt is among the select group of children's authors who have won prestigious Newbery Award Honors from the American Library Association. His novel Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy was both a Newbery Honor Book and a Printz Honor Book in 2005 and three years later he received yet another Newbery Honor Book designation for The Wednesday Wars.
He has been a resident of Michigan for over 20 years, first moving to here in 1985 to join the faculty of Calvin College. He still is a member of the English Department at Calvin and over his years there has published a steady stream of fiction and nonfiction children's books.
Booklist notes that Schmidt "makes the implausible believable and the everyday momentous" in its review of The Wednesday Wars. In Kirkus Reviews' look at Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy, a book loosely based on an historical event, the reviewer says: "Schmidt takes his time with his tale, spinning gloriously figurative language that brilliantly evokes both place and emotion."
Schmidt's published children's fiction includes Okay for Now, Trouble, The Wednesday Wars, Lizzie Bright and the Buckminster Boy, and First Boy as well as inclusion in literary criticism works such as The Emmaus Readers. In addition to his prolific children's and young adult fiction, he has published an eclectic and diverse body of scholarly work.
Schmidt received both his M.A. and Ph.D. from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. He currently lives with his wife, author Elizabeth Stickney, and their six children on a farm in Alto, Michigan.
This year's award will be presented this fall at the Michigan Library Association's "Common Goals, Uncommon Good" conference at the Radisson Hotel in Kalamazoo on Oct. 26-28, 2011.  Tickets are available to hear Gary Schmidt speak at the award-presentation luncheon on Friday, October 28th at 12:45 pm.  For more information and to access the conference registration, visit the Michigan Library Association website at
Previous winners of the Michigan Author Award include John Smolens (2010), Dave Dempsey (2009), Tom Stanton (2008), Sarah Stewart (2007), Steve Hamilton (2006), Christopher Paul Curtis (2005), Patricia Polacco (2004), Diane Wakoski (2003), Nicholas Delbanco (2002), Thomas Lynch (2001), Janie Lynn Panagopoulos (2000), Jerry Dennis (1999), Gloria Whelan (1998), Loren Estleman (1997), Elmore Leonard (1996), Janet Kauffman (1995), Nancy Willard (1994), Charles Baxter (1993) and Dan Gerber (1992).
The Michigan Center for the Book, a program of the Library of Michigan and the center's affiliates, aims to promote an awareness of books, reading, literacy, authors and Michigan's rich literary heritage.  New affiliates are welcome.  
For more information about the Michigan Center for the Book and its programs, visit  The Library of Michigan is part of the Department of Education (MDE).
Related Content
 •  State Library Hosts World War I Symposium Marking the Centennial of the War's Start
 •  Improved Michigan eLibrary Offers More for Adults and Kids to Access Information
 •  Three Michigan Students are ‘Letters About Literature' Winners
 •  Flanagan Urges Students to Keep Reading this Summer
 •  Veteran Librarian Randy Riley Selected as the Next State Librarian of Michigan
 •  Library of Michigan to Open the Second Saturday of Each Month
 •  Library of Michigan is Hosting African-American History Month Events
 •  Michigan Notable Books for 2014 Help Build a Culture of Reading
 •  Michigan eLibrary Adds Early Literacy Resources
 •  Snyder makes appointments, reappointment to Library of Michigan board of trustees
 •  Litchfield District Library Wins 2013 State Librarian's Excellence Award
 •  Library of Michigan to Host 2013 Michigan Rails Conference PDF icon
 •  Johnson and library officials announce partnership to better serve customers - Sterling Heights
 •  Michigan Youth Write about Literature Changing Their Lives!
 •  2013 Michigan Notable Books Announced PDF icon
 •  Parker Middle School Library of Howell Public Schools Is First School Library to Win Annual State Librarian's Excellence Award
 •  MeL Celebrates Its 20th Anniversary PDF icon
 •  Come read with a "Moose on the Loose" during Library of Michigan's 2012 Michigan Reads! program
 •  Library of Michigan Plinkit Program Reaches 100th Library Mile Marker
 •  Eleven Libraries Across Michigan Receive Literary Grants from the Center for the Book
QR code Home
PoliciesMichigan Survey

Copyright © 2014 State of Michigan