Skip Navigation
Michigan Commission on Law Enforcement StandardsMichigan.gov
Michigan.gov Home
close print view

Physical Fitness Test

The MCOLES physical fitness test consists of four separate events: vertical jump, sit-ups, push-ups, and a ½ mile shuttle run. The cost to take the test will be no more than $45.00. Candidates should contact the test site directly to register for the physical fitness pre-enrollment test. See test site links below.

Official notification of the test results will be given to the candidate on the day of the test. The results will be on an official form and the score will be reported as PASS or FAIL.

The physical fitness test must be taken within 180 days (6 months) of the start of the training academy session. Tests are offered only at training academies which are under Commission supervision. Other forms of fitness testing will not be accepted, although applicants are encouraged to practice the events prior to testing at an official site. Law enforcement agencies are encouraged to use the fitness testing as a pre-screening device prior to sending their applicants to an official MCOLES test.

To sign up for a physical fitness test, you must contact the agency directly. Each agency is responsible for registering its applicants. Click on the "Test Schedule" link below to view contact information, test locations, and dates.

Pre-Enrollment Physical Fitness Test Schedule

To participate in the Pre-Enrollment Physical Fitness Test, candidates must bring the following items:

  • A signed Physician's Health Screening Form 
  • Gym shorts and T-shirt or sweat suit
  • Gym shoes
  • Athletic supporter (males), or bra (females)
  • Driver's license or other government-issued photo ID

Candidates are required to pass all four events of the test. The official results notification may be presented to employing agencies or to recruit academies.

The minimum performance standards for the MCOLES physical fitness test are displayed below. The numbers in the tables represent the "cut score", or pass/fail point for each event. In order to pass the test, candidates must score at least the minimums listed in the tables on each of the four events.

Note how the tables are divided according to age and sex. When looking at the tables, be careful to select your individual performance category.

Male 

Age
Group
 

Vertical 
Jump 

Sit-Ups 

Push-Ups 

½-Mile
Shuttle Run
 

18-29 

17.5 

32 

30 

4:29.6 

30-39 

16.0 

30 

30 

4:38.2 

40 + 

15.0 

30 

28 

4:54.7 

         

Female 

Age
Group
 

Vertical 
Jump 

Sit-Ups 

Push-Ups 

½-Mile
Shuttle Run
 

18-29 

11.0 

28 

7 

5:35.4 

30-39 

9.0 

19 

7 

5.59.1 

40 + 

8.0 

18 

7 

6:13.3 


To view information regarding the physical fitness pre-enrollment test, including advice for preparing for the test, use the links below:  

Related Content
 •  Michigan Law Enforcement Job Opportunities
 •  Reading & Writing Test
 •  Licensing Exam Process
 •  Staff and Services Directory
 •  Frequently Asked Questions
 •  Recognition of Prior Training and Experience Program (RPTEP)
 •  Statutes and Rules
 •  Post Michigan Law Enforcement Job Vacancies
QR code

Michigan.gov Home
PoliciesMichigan NewsMichigan.gov Survey


Copyright © 2014 State of Michigan