Training Academies & Programs

2016 Basic Training Academy Schedule 
 
MCOLES Approved Basic Training Schools 
Print Training Academy Schools  
Last update: 9/20/2016

Delta College 
Delta Police Academy 
Galvann Smith, Director

grsmith@delta.edu
1961 Delta Road, Room F043
University Center, MI 48710
989-686-9287
PET: 989-686-9108
FAX: 989-667-2211

(RTS) 

Grand Rapids Community College 
Jodi Richhart, Director

DeVoss Campus, White Hall
143 Bostwick NE
Grand Rapids, MI 49503
616-234-3568
FAX:  616-234-3741

(PTS) 

Kellogg Community College 
Robert Miller, Director

millerro@kellogg.edu
450 North Avenue
OITC 202a
Battle Creek, MI 49017
269-965-3931 x 2216
FAX: 269-565-2060
(PTS)  

Lansing Community College  
Andy Lindeman, Director

lindea@lcc.edu 
3500W Mid-Michigan
Police Academy
P.O. Box 40010
Lansing, MI 48901-7210
517-483-1964
FAX: 517-483-9766

(RTS) 

Department of Natural Resources
Law Enforcement Division
Sgt. John Meka

mekaj@michigan.gov
4th Floor Mason Building

PO Box 30031
Lansing, MI  48909

517-284-5998
FAX: 517-373-6816

(ATS)

Northern Michigan University
Kenneth Love, Director

klove@nmu.edu
Public Safety & Police Services
1401 Presque Isle Avenue
Marquette, MI  49855-5335
906-227-1408
FAX: 906-227-1178

(RTS)

Washtenaw Community College 
Joyce Nelson, Director
joenelson@wccnet.edu
4800 E. Huron River Drive
Ann Arbor, MI  48105-4800
734-677-5024
FAX: 734-677-5407

(RTS)

Detroit Metropolitan Police Academy 
Lt. Keeth Williams, Director
williamsk307@detroitmi.gov

6050 Linwood
Detroit, MI 48208
313-596-2700
FAX: 313-596-1572

(RTS) 

Grand Valley State University 
Billy Wallace, Director

wallacew@gvsu.edu
Criminal Justice Training
One Campus Drive
A-1-140 Mackinaw Hall
Allendale, MI 49401
616-331-8515
FAX: 616-331-7155

(RTS) 

Kirtland Community College 
Thomas M. Grace, Director

gracet@kirtland.edu
10775 N. St. Helen Road
Roscommon, MI 48653
989-275-5000 ext 283
FAX: 989-275-6776

(RTS / WTS)  

Macomb Community College 
Raymund A. Macksoud, Director

macksoudr@macomb.edu
Criminal
 Justice Center
21901 Dunham
Clinton Twp., MI 48036
586-226-4811
FAX: 586-498-4068

(RTS / WTS) 

Michigan State Police Training Academy   
Lt. Kevin Rod
rodk@michigan.gov

Training Division Commander
7426 North Canal Road
Lansing, MI 48913
517-322-5596
FAX: 517-322-6363

(ATS) 

Oakland Police Academy 
Richard Tillman, Director
ratillman@oaklandcc.edu

2900 Featherstone Road
Auburn Hills, MI 48326
248-232-4222
Advanced Police Training:
248-232-4220
PET: 248-232-4221
FAX: 248-232-4225

(RTS)

Wayne County Regional Police Training Academy
Greg Brighton, Director
gbrighton@schoolcraft.edu
Schoolcraft College
31777 Industrial Road
Livonia, MI 48150
734-462-4306
FAX: 734-462-4742

(RTS) 

 

 

Ferris State University Law Enforcement Programs 
Cecil R. Queen, Director

queenc@ferris.edu
539 Bishop Hall
1349 Cramer Circle
Big Rapids, MI 49307
231-591-5865
FAX: 231-591-3792

(PTS)  

Kalamazoo Law Enforcement Training Center  
Paul Bianco, Director

7107 Elm Valley Drive
Kalamazoo, MI 49009
careeracademies@kvcc.edu
269-353-1260
PET: 269-353-1260
FAX: 269-353-1266

(RTS) 

Lake Superior State University  
Herbert Henderson, Director

hhenderson@llsu.edu
Criminal Justice
Norris Center, Room 210
Sault Ste. Marie, MI 49783
906-635-2384
FAX: 906-635-2127

(PTS) 

Mott Community College 
Law Enforcement Regional Training Academy
Lt. David Livingston, Training Director

david.livingston@mcc.edu
2100 West Thompson Road,
Room 1301
Fenton, MI 48430
810-235-5667
FAX:  810-768-4023

(RTS)

Northwestern Michigan College 
Brian Hefner, Director

bheffner@nmc.edu
Social Sciences Division
1701 E. Front Street
Traverse City, MI 49686
231-995-1283
FAX: 231-995-1299

(PTS)

West Shore Community College 
Dan Dellar, Director

dgdellar@westshore.edu 
P.O. Box 277
Scottville, MI 49454
231-843-5831
FAX: 231-845-7227

(PTS) 

 

ATS - Agency Training School
PTS - Pre-Service Track
RTS - Regional Training School
WTS - RPTE Training School