Skip Navigation
Michigan Commission on Law Enforcement StandardsMichigan.gov
Michigan.gov Home
  • MCOLES Home
  • Site Map
  • Contact MCOLES
  • close print view

    Overview of the Public Safety Officer Benefit Program

    The Public Safety Officer Benefit Act provides for a one-time payment of $25,000 for the care of a public safety officer permanently and totally disabled in the line of duty. 

    In the event the public safety officer was killed in the line of duty, the spouse, children, or estate of the officer may be eligible for the one-time payment of $25,000. 

    Image of Public Safety Workers 

    Covered Public Safety Officers 

    "Public safety officer" means an individual serving a public agency in an official capacity, with or without compensation, as a law enforcement officer, firefighter, rescue squad member, or ambulance crew member.  "Law enforcement officer" means an individual involved in crime and juvenile delinquency control or reduction or the enforcement of the criminal law.  It includes police, corrections, probation, parole, bailiffs, or other similar court officers.  "Firefighter" means a volunteer or employed member of a fire department of a city, county, township, village, state university, community college, or a member of the Department of Natural Resources employed to fight fires.

    Eligibility 

    The one-time $25,000 benefit is paid to an eligible beneficiary(ies) in the following order:

    • If the public safety officer is permanently and totally disabled, the one-time benefit will be paid to the spouse; if there is no spouse, then to the dependents of the officer.  If there are no dependents, then the benefit will be paid to the entity providing care to the officer.

    • If the officer is killed in the line of duty, the benefit will be paid to the spouse.  If there is no surviving spouse, then to dependents of the officer.  If there is no surviving spouse or surviving dependents, then the benefit will be paid to the estate of the deceased officer.

    For more Detailed Information and an Application 

    Applications are available on the MCOLES Web site. To receive additional information on the Public Safety Officer Benefit Act, please e-mail Joyce Nelson at nelsonj20@michigan.gov, call Ms. Nelson at 517-322-5627, or write to her at:

    Public Safety Officer Benefit Program
    Michigan Commission on Law Enforcement Standards
    Attention:  Joyce Nelson
    106 W. Allegan, Suite 600
    Lansing, MI  48909
    Phone:  (517) 322-5627

    Notice:  The payment of benefits under the Act is subject to an appropriation by the Legislature of money necessary to make the payment. 

    Related Content
     •  Eyewitness Identification Model Policy and Procedures Developed by the Innocence Project PDF icon
     •  MCOLES Law Enforcement and Eye Witness Identifications: A Policy Writing Guide PDF icon
     •  Free Domestic Violence In-Service Training Available to All Law Enforcement Agencies PDF icon
     •  MCOLES Law Enforcement Response to Persons with Mental Disorders ~ A Policy Writing Guide PDF icon
     •  Public Safety Officer Benefit Program Rules PDF icon
     •  Public Safety Officers Benefit Act PDF icon
     •  PSOB Death Benefit Application Instructions PDF icon
     •  Domestic Violence Officer Manual & Model Policy
     •  PSOB Death Benefit Application  PDF icon
     •  Public Safety Officer Benefit Disability Claim Instructions PDF icon
     •  PSOB Disability Application  PDF icon
     •  Licensed Private Security Police Officers Act
     •  MCOLES and the CPL Law
    QR code

    Michigan.gov Home
  • MCOLES Home
  • Contact MCOLES

  • Accessibility PolicyLink PolicySecurity PolicyPrivacy PolicyMichigan NewsMichigan.gov Survey


    Copyright © 2001-2014 State of Michigan