How to Apply for a Motor Fuel Retail Outlet License

Before a person or business transfers, sells, dispenses or offers for sale motor fuel in the state of Michigan, they must obtain a license from the Michigan Department of Agriculture & Rural Development for each retail outlet owned by that person or business. Licenses are non-transferable. A change in ownership or location will require a new license.

A retail outlet is identified as an establishment at which motor fuel is sold or offered for sale to the public.


Type of Application - Motor Fuel Retail Outlet License (A Michigan Motor Fuels Quality Act requirement))

Renew Yearly - New Year License Application Due by 9/1; Current Year License Expires 11/30

Inspections - Inspections are not required prior to licensing. Inspections are performed on a random basis.

Fee  - If applying on-line or postmarked on or before MArch 28, 2017: $100.00. If applying on-line or postmarked on or after March 29, 2017: None  

 

 

For answers to your questions about motor fuel retail outlet licenses contact:

 

Michigan Department of Agriculture & Rural Development
Central Licensing Unit
P.O. Box 30017
Lansing, Michigan 48909
517-284-5771

How to Apply for A Motor Fuel Retail Outlet License

Complete an application (see below) for motor fuel retail outlet license for each retail outlet location.

Mail the application along with your $100.00 check or money order, made out to the State of Michigan to:

Michigan Department of Agriculture & Rural Development
Laboratory Division
P.O. Box 30776
Lansing, Michigan 48909

Do not include a check or money order if applying on or after March 29, 2017.

To get a copy of an application, click either of the following:

Notice: Motor Fuel Licenses Applications are due September 1 of each year; Current Year Licenses Expire November 30 of each year

The Michigan Motor Fuels Quality Act requires that a person engaged in retail motor fuel sales apply by September 1 of each year to obtain a license from the Michigan Department of Agriculture & Rural Development. This license expires November 30 each year and is not transferable from one owner to the next or from one location to the next.