Skip Navigation
MI.gov
MiCSC - MI Civil Service Commission | MiCSC MI Civil Service Commission | MiCSC
MI Civil Service Commission | MiCSC
Email this Page
Share this Link on Facebook
Tweet this page on Twitter!

Family and Medical Leave Act

entitles eligible employees to take up to 12 workweeks of unpaid, job-protected leave in a 12-month period for specified family and medical reasons. Employees may elect to use other accumulated paid leave credits for the leave, consistent with normal requirements for receiving approval for such leave. If paid leave is used, the FMLA leave is paid with the employee receiving pay, service credit, and fringe benefits.

Use the Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) when ...

you or a loved one suffers a serious health condition that requires you to take time off work, the Family and Medical Leave Act provides a job protected leave to help you cope with the situation.

You are Eligible for FMLA if...

  • you have worked for the State of Michigan for at least 12 months, that does not have to be consecutive, in the last seven years, and

  • you have worked 1250 hours in the last 12 months, and

  • you must not have exhausted your FMLA entitlement for the year.

You can use FMLA...

  • for the birth and care of a newborn child of the employee;

  • for placement with the employee of a child for adoption or foster care;

  • to take care of a spouse, child, or parent with a serious health condition;

  • to take medical leave when the employee is unable to work due to a serious health condition;

  • for any qualifying exigency arising out of the fact that an employee's spouse, child, or parent is on covered active duty, or has been notified of an impending call or order to covered active duty, in the Armed Forces.

How Do I Request an FMLA Leave?





Copyright © 2014 State of Michigan