Skip Navigation
Michigan Department of EducationMichigan.gov, Official Website for the State of Michigan
Michigan.gov Home
close print view

Is there a specified distance that must exist between school bus stops?

The lights on a school bus which are used to notify other traffic of an upcoming stop must, by law, be activated 200 feet from the stop. Thus, the bus stops must be at least 200 feet apart.
Related Content
 •  My child is starting kindergarten. Will the bus pick up my child in front of my house?
 •  What about the safety of my child getting to and from bus stops? There are no sidewalks where we live and it's not very safe walking on the busy road we live on.
 •  My child spends over two hours a day just riding the bus to and from school. Is there a maximum riding time in the law?
 •  I saw a school bus picking up students and the overhead lights were not flashing, just the emergency flashers. Is that legal?
 •  Is there a law about how far my child has to walk to a bus?
 •  Why aren't seat belts required to be used on school buses?
 •  How many students are transported on buses in Michigan?
 •  Is the school district I live in required to transport my child?
 •  Do I have to stop when I see a bus that has its overhead yellow lights on?
QR code


Michigan.gov Home
PoliciesMichigan NewsMichigan.gov Survey

Copyright © 2014 State of Michigan