Skip Navigation
MI.gov
MDE - Michigan Department of Education | MDE Michigan Department of Education | MDE
Michigan Department of Education | MDE
Email this Page
Share this Link on Facebook
Tweet this page on Twitter!

Contact Information

For general certification questions and support on the Michigan Online Educator Certification System (MOECS), please e-mail our support desk at MOECSSUPPORT@MICHIGAN.GOV or call our support desk at: 517-373-3310.  Assistance is available during normal business hours.

Please also visit www.michigan.gov/moecs.



Contact: Ms. Leah Breen, Interim Director
Phone:   517-241-1392
E-mail:    BreenL1@michigan.gov  



Contact: Ms. Krista Ried, Manager of Professional Educator Certification and Services Unit (PECS)
Phone:   517-373-3310
E-mail:   RiedK@michigan.gov 


Contact:  Mr. Alex Clark
E-mail:    ClarkA21@michigan.gov

Out of state evaluations:
Provisional Certificates and Renewals, Professional Certificates


Contact:  Ms. Beatrice Harrison
E-mail:    HarrisonB@michigan.gov

Out of state evaluations:
Provisional Certificates and Renewals, Professional Certificates , and School Guidance Counselor License/Endorsement


Contact:  Mr. Jim Sory
E-mail:    SoryJ@michigan.gov

Out of state evaluations:
Provisional Certificates and Renewals, Professional Certificates


Contact:  Ms. Debbie Ryan
E-mail:    RyanD@michigan.gov

Occupational /Temporary Occupational Authorization, School Nurse Certificate


Contact:  Ms. Faye Shepler
E-mail:    SheplerF@michigan.gov

Two Year Provisional Certificate Extensions, Administrator Certificates


Contact:  Ms. Terri Assaf
E-mail:    AssafT@michigan.gov

Permits; Full Year, Emergency, 1233b, Substitute



Contact: Mr. Phil Chase, Manager of Professional Accountability Unit (PAU)
Phone:   517-241-3960
E-mail:   ChaseP2@michigan.gov


Contact: Dr. Steven Stegink
Phone:   517-241-4945
E-mail:    SteginkS@michigan.gov 

Michigan Test for Teacher Certification; a mandated testing program requiring candidates for teacher certification to pass the Professional Readiness Exam (PRE) (reading, writing, and mathematics) and in each subject-area for which candidates seek an endorsement to teach.

National Council for the Accreditation of Teacher Education (NCATE)

Teacher Education Accreditation Council (TEAC)


Contact: Mrs. Stephanie Whiteside
Phone:   517-335-1167
E-mail:   WhitesideS@michigan.gov 

Revocations/Supensions of Certification, Criminal Convictions, and Fingerprinting for K-12 Employment
 


Contact: Ms. Debbie LaManna
E-mail:   LaMannaD@michigan.gov 

Certificate Renewals
Certificate Audits
 


Contact: Ms. Cheryl Lombard
E-mail:   LombardC1@michigan.gov 

Billing Questions
Certificate Audits
 


Contact: Ms. Dana Utterback
E-mail:   UtterbackD@michigan.gov 

MTTC data questions 



 
Contact:
  Dr. Sarah-Kate LaVan, Manager of Professional Preparation and Learning Unit (PPL)
Phone:    517-335-0874
E-mail:    LaVanS@michigan.gov
 
For All Experimental Programs, and coordinates the review of applications from institutions that wish to offer teacher preparation programs in Michigan.


Contact:  Ms. Donna Hamilton
Phone:    517-241-4546
E-mail:    HamiltonD3@michigan.gov 

New Teacher Mentoring and Induction Program and Standards Oversees the development of state standards and guidelines for the induction and mentoring of new teachers in response to Section 1526 of the Revised School Code.
Professional Development Oversees the development of state standards and guidelines for the professional development of all teachers in response to Section 1527 of the Revised School Code and Part 388.1701, Section 101 (11) of the State School Act (2000).
Improving Teacher Quality Competitive Grant Program Oversees the application process, disbursement of funds, and program development.


Contact:  Dr. Catherine Wigent
Phone:    517-241-0172
E-mail:    WigentC@michigan.gov

For Specialty Programs: Elementary Education; Mathematics; Science; Special Education; Early Childhood (General and Special Education); Career and Technical Education; Business Education; Family and Consumer Sciences; Agricultural and Natural Resources; Reading Diagnostic Courses


Contact:  Dr. Sean Kottke
Phone:    517-373-7861
E-mail:    KottkeS@michigan.gov

For Specialty Programs: Elementary Education; Language Arts; Bilingual Education; English as a Second Language; World Languages; Fine Arts, and Visual Arts Education; Music Education; Library Media; School Psychology


Contact:  Mr. Rajah Smart
Phone:    517-335-6615
E-mail:    SmartR@michigan.gov 

For Specialty Programs: Elementary Education; Teacher Leadership; School Counselor; Social Studies and Social Sciences; Health, Physical Education, Recreation, and Dance; all Tech Education
School Administrator Program and Standards
Certification Alternate Route Program Review


Contact:  Ms. Claudia Nicol
Phone:    517-241-4928
E-mail:    NicolC@michigan.gov 

State Continuing Education Clock Hours (SCECHs, formerly known as SB-CEUs)
Secure Central Registry 
  


Contact:  Ms. Edwardeen Jones
Phone:    517-373-9732
E-mail:    JonesE9@michigan.gov 

Troops to Teachers
Military and Peace Corps Extensions on Certificates 
 



Updated 12/04/2014

 

 




Copyright © 2014 State of Michigan