Contact Information

For general certification questions and support on the Michigan Online Educator Certification System (MOECS), please e-mail our support desk at MOECSSUPPORT@MICHIGAN.GOV or call our support desk at: 517-373-3310

Support desk assistance is available Monday - Thursday 8:05 am to noon and 1:05 pm to 4:55 pm.

All State government offices are closed on the following dates during the holiday season:

Friday December 22nd and Monday December 25th

Friday December 29th and Monday January 1st

Please also visit www.michigan.gov/moecs.



Contact: Ms. Leah Breen, Director
E-mail:    BreenL1@michigan.gov  



Contact: Ms. Krista Ried, Manager of Professional Educator Certification and Services Unit (PECS)
E-mail:   RiedK@michigan.gov 


Contact:  Mr. Alex Clark
E-mail:    ClarkA21@michigan.gov

Out of state evaluations


Contact:  Ms. Beatrice Harrison
E-mail:    HarrisonB@michigan.gov

Out of state evaluations and School Guidance Counselor License/Endorsement


Contact:  Mr. Jim Sory
E-mail:    SoryJ@michigan.gov

Out of state evaluations


Contact: Ms. Debbie LaManna
E-mail:   LaMannaD@michigan.gov 

Certificate Renewals
Certificate Audits
 


Contact:  Ms. Linda Campbell
E-mail:    CampbellL6@michigan.gov

Occupational /Temporary Occupational Authorization, School Nurse Certificate


Contact:  Ms. Faye Shepler
E-mail:    SheplerF@michigan.gov

Administrator Certificates


Contact:  Ms. Terri Assaf
E-mail:    AssafT@michigan.gov

Permits; Full Year and Substitute



Contact: Mr. Phil Chase, Manager of Professional Accountability Unit (PAU)
Phone:   517-241-3960
E-mail:   ChaseP2@michigan.gov


Contact:  Ms. Claudia Nicol
Phone:    517-241-4928
E-mail:    NicolC@michigan.gov 

State Continuing Education Clock Hours (SCECHs, formerly known as SB-CEUs)



Contact: Mrs. Stephanie Whiteside
Phone:   517-335-1167
E-mail:   WhitesideS@michigan.gov 

Revocations/Suspensions of Certification, Criminal Convictions, and Fingerprinting for K-12 Employment 


Contact: Ms. Dana Utterback
E-mail:   UtterbackD@michigan.gov 

MTTC data questions 



 
Contact:
  Dr. Sarah-Kate LaVan, Manager of Professional Preparation and Learning Unit (PPL)
Phone:    517-335-0874
E-mail:    LaVanS@michigan.gov
 
For All Experimental Programs, and coordinates the review of applications from institutions that wish to offer teacher preparation programs in Michigan.


Contact:  Ms. Donna Hamilton
Phone:    517-241-4546
E-mail:    HamiltonD3@michigan.gov 

New Teacher Mentoring and Induction Program and Standards Oversees the development of state standards and guidelines for the induction and mentoring of new teachers in response to Section 1526 of the Revised School Code.
Professional Development Oversees the development of state standards and guidelines for the professional development of all teachers in response to Section 1527 of the Revised School Code and Part 388.1701, Section 101 (11) of the State School Act (2000).
Improving Teacher Quality Competitive Grant Program Oversees the application process, disbursement of funds, and program development.


Contact:  Dr. Sean Kottke

Phone:    517-373-7861
E-mail:    KottkeS@michigan.gov

For Specialty Programs: Elementary Education; Language Arts; Bilingual Education; English as a Second Language; World Languages; Fine Arts, and Visual Arts Education; Music Education; Library Media; School Psychology; School Counselor



Contact:  Ms. Edwardeen Jones
Phone:    517-373-9732
E-mail:    JonesE9@michigan.gov 

Troops to Teachers
Military and Peace Corps Extensions on Certificates 
 


Updated 4/11/2017