Professional Development and Mentoring Legislation

Michigan Requirements for Professional Development

 

There are two references in the Michigan School Code that specify requirements for the professional development of teachers. They are Sections 1526 and 1527:

 

 

Section 1526 states: "For the first 3 years of his or her employment in classroom teaching, a teacher shall be assigned by the school in which he or she teaches to 1 or more master teachers, or college professors or retired master teachers, who shall act as a mentor or mentors to the teacher. During the 3-year period, the teacher shall also receive intensive professional development induction into teaching, based on a professional development plan that is consistent with the requirements of Section 3a of article II of Act No. 4 of the Public Acts of the Extra Session of 1937, being Section 38.83a of the Michigan Compiled Laws, including classroom management and instructional delivery. During the 3 ­year period, the intensive professional development induction into teaching shall consist of at least 15 days of professional development, the experiencing of effective practices in university-linked professional development schools, and regional seminars conducted by master teachers and other mentors."

 

 

Section 1527 states: "The board of each school district, intermediate school district, or public school academy shall provide:

at least 1 day of teacher professional development in the 1997-98 school year,

at least 2 days of teacher professional development in the 1998-99 school year,

at least 3 days of teacher professional development in the 1999-2000 school year,

at least 4 days of teacher professional development in the 2000-2001 school year,

at least 5 days of teacher professional development in the 2001-2002 school year, and each school year after the 2001-2002 school year. Professional development days provided under this Section shall not be counted toward the professional development required under Section 1526."