Child Labor Law
Youth Employment in Michigan
In the fulfillment of the requirements of Section 2 of Article V of the Michigan Constitution of 1963, the provisions of Executive Order 2011-4 became Effective 60 days after the filing on February 23, 2011 transferring Youth Employment Standards Act 90 of 1978, MCL 409.101 to 409.124, from the Wage Hour Division, Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA) to the Department of Education.
Phone - (517) 335-6041
Fax - (517) 373-8776
Youth Employment Standards Act 90 of 1978 defines a minor who is less than 18 years of age, including but not limited to employees, volunteers, independent contractors and performing artists.
Minors under 18 years of age must obtain a work permit or have their school complete a training agreement before starting work. Work permits can be obtained from the school the minor attends or the school district where the minor will be employed. If the minor changes jobs, a new work permit is required for the new employer. A work permit may be revoked for poor academic performance. A work permit is required even if the minor does not attend school.
Work permits are no longer available for bulk purchase from Michigan Center for Career & Technical Education; work permits are available for printing or download from the 'Youth Employment Forms Packet' section below. Note: CA-6 work permits must be printed on pink paper and CA-7 work permits must be printed on yellow paper. To be valid both CA-6 and CA-7 must have the front and back pages of the work permit printed.
Youth Employment Forms Packet
Youth Employment Standards Act
Standards for Issuance of Work Permits
Legislative link to the Youth Employment Standards Act 90
Legislative link to the Youth Employment Standards Rules
CA-6 Work Permit (must be printed pink and front to back)
CA-7 Work Permit (must be printed yellow and front to back)
Work Permit Fact Sheet
WHO NEEDS A WORK PERMIT
Minors under the age of 18 cannot be employed or permitted to work, with or without compensation, until the person, company, business, firm or corporation proposing to employ the minor obtains and keeps a valid work permit on file, at the minor's place of employment, which has been issued by an issuing officer of the school district, intermediate school district, public school academy or nonpublic school prior to starting work.
Minors under the age of 18 are required to have a work permit prior to starting work regardless if the minor does not attend school, has dropped out of school, home-school, on-line school, virtual-school, cyber-school or comes from another state (out-of-state) resident to work in Michigan.
If a minor comes from another state to work in Michigan, the minor should bring an unofficial transcript from the previous school attended which includes the complete name, address, city, state, zip code, county and telephone number of the school.
HOW TO OBTAIN WORK PERMIT
The minor first must go in person to a school district, intermediate school district, public school academy or nonpublic school official designated as an issuing officer and provide one of the following acceptable forms of evidence of age:
A certified copy of birth record or other proof of age showing the place and date of birth
A certified copy of valid operator's license issued by this state showing date of birth
The school record or the school census record
The sworn statement of minor's parent/guardian and statement from physician
The minor and parent/guardian must complete Section I of the work permit in its entirety (all areas must be completed).
The minor takes the work permit to the employer and the employer must complete Section II of the work permit, in its entirety (all areas must be completed including listing all work the minor will be performing, equipment and/or tools minor will use, starting and ending hours to be worked, number of days per week to be worked and number of hours per days to be worked, etc).
The minor must take the work permit back, in person to a school district, intermediate school district, public school academy or nonpublic school official designated as an issuing officer for review and to complete section III.
The issuing officer must copy the work permit and place the work permit in the minor's permanent school file and return the original work permit to the minor.
The minor must give the original work permit (after the designed official issuing officer has reviewed and approved by signing and dating) to the person, company, business, firm or corporation prior to start of work which is kept on file at the minor's place of employment.