Additional Resources

Websites, Trainings and Guidelines

 

Infant Safe Sleep Observances

March: Parenting Awareness Month

First Full Week of March: National Sleep Awareness Week

April:  Child Abuse and Neglect Prevention Month

May:  Mother’s Day

June:  Father’s Day

June 9:  National Children’s Day

August: National Breastfeeding Awareness Month

September: Infant Safe Sleep Awareness Month, Infant Mortality Awareness Month, Baby Safety Awareness Month

October: National Pregnancy & Infant Loss Awareness Month, Healthy Babies Month, National Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) Awareness Month

October 15: National Day of Remembrance

November – December: The Holiday Season is time for education/reminder about safe sleep while traveling

 

Additional Contact Information

 

Michigan Department of Health and Human Services

Colleen Nelson

Infant Safe Sleep Program Coordinator

Phone: 517-335-1954

Email:  nelsonc7@michigan.gov

 

Patti Kelly

Infant Safe Sleep Program Consultant

Phone: 517-335-5911

Email: kellyp2@michigan.gov

 

Colin Parks

Manager, Children’s Protective Services and Family Preservation Program

Phone: 517-333-5125

Email:   parkssc@michigan.gov

 

 

Michigan Department of Education

Kelly Hurshe

Early On Consultant, Office of Great Start

Phone: 517-241-8309

Email: hurshek@michigan.gov

 

Inter-Tribal Council of Michigan

Raeanne Madison, MPH

Program Manager

Phone: 906-632-6896

Email: rmadison@itcmi.org

 

Michigan Children’s Trust Fund

Emily S. Wachsberger, MA, LPC 

Local Council Coordinator

Phone: 517-335-0671

Email: wachsbergere@michigan.gov

 

Michigan Public Health Institute

Katie Parker

Project Coordinator,

Center for Child and Family Health

Phone: 517-324-8397

Email: kparker@mphi.org

 



Related Documents
2016 Infant Safe Sleep Focus Groups with Professionals PDF icon