Commission Overview and Members

Certificate of Need Commission is governed by Part 222 of PA 368 of the Public Acts of 1978, as amended. 

An eleven member Commission, appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the Senate, has the responsibility to develop, approve, disapprove, or revise CON Review Standards.  The Review Standards are used by the CON Program Section to issue decisions on CON applications.  The Commission evaluates the Review Standards for modification on a three-year rotating schedule as identified on the Commission Workplan.  The Commission also has the authority to make recommendations to revise the list of covered clinical services subject to CON review.  All CON Commission meetings are posted on the Meetings Page and are open to the public.  

The CON Commission members are as follows:

Suresh Mukherji, M.D.
Republican - Term Expires: April 9, 2017

Represents Schools of Medicine
Michigan State University
846 Service Rd.
East Lansing, MI 48824

Office: (517) 884-3234

Thomas Mittlebrun, III
Democrat- Term Expires: January 1, 2018
Represents Organized Labor Unions

Southeastern Michigan Chapter National Electrical
Contractors Association

Office: 248-720-2727

Denise Brooks-Williams
Democrat - Term Expires: April 9, 2019
Represents Hospitals

Henry Ford Wyandotte Hospital
Chief Executive Officer
2333 Biddle Ave.
Wyandotte, MI   48192

Office: (734) 246-6004

Gail J. Clarkson, RN and NHA
Democrat - Term Expires: April 9, 2018
Represents Nursing Homes


Office: (586) 752-5008

Kathleen Cowling, D.O.
Republican - Term Expires: April 9, 2017
Represents Individuals Licensed Under
Part 175 to engage in the
Practice of Osteopathic Medicine

Covenant Healthcare
1447 North Harrison
Saginaw, MI 48602

Office: (989) 860-9859

James Falahee
Republican - Term Expires: April 9, 2019
Represents Hospitals

Bronson Healthcare System
301 John St.
Kalamazoo, MI 49007

Office: (269) 341-8907

Marc D. Keshishian, M.D.
Democrat - Term Expires: January 1, 2018
Represents Nonprofit Health Care Corp.

Blue Care Network
20500 Civic Center Drive
Southfield, MI 48076

Office: (248) 799-6802

Robert L. Hughes
Republican - Term Expires: January 1, 2020
Represents Company that is not Self-Insured
for Health Coverage

Advantage Benefits Group
89 Monroe Center, NW Suite 200
Grand Rapids, MI 49503

Office: (616) 458-3597

Jessica A. Kochin
Republican - Term Expires: Jan. 1, 2019
Represents Companies who are Self-Insured      
for Health Coverage

Ford Motor Company
One American Road
Dearborn, MI 48126

Office: (313) 621-0919

Debra Guido-Allen, RN
Democrat - Term Expires: January 1, 2019
Represents Nurses

Beaumont Hospital, Troy
44201 Dequindre Road
Troy, MI 48085

Office: (248) 964-8802

Luis A. Tomatis, M.D.
Republican - Term Expires: April 9, 2018
Represents Individuals Licensed Under Part
170 to engage in the Practice of Medicine

Office: (616) 643-4768



Department of Health and Human Services - Certificate of Need Policy Section
5th Floor South Grand Building, 333 S. Grand Ave.
Lansing, MI 48933
Your questions and comments regarding our website are welcome.
Send them to us via
CON WebTeam