- Eligibility Requirements
- Certified Copies
A certified copy is printed on special security paper and contains a raised, embossed seal. Eligibility rules for certified copies of birth records under 100 years old and Affidavit of Parentage records apply. Death, marriage, divorce and birth records over 100 years old are not restricted. Michigan began official record keeping for birth, death and marriage events since 1867 and 1897 for divorce events. Affidavit of Parentage records are available from the Central Paternity Registry since June 1, 1997. Current, valid photo identification is required for restricted records (or alternative documents can be used) with supervisor approval.
- Authenticated Copies
An authenticated (exemplified or containing an apostille) record is typically required by a foreign government for an international adoption, work visas, or establishing dual citizenship.
NOT NEEDED FOR FOREIGN TRAVEL
- Veteran's Benefits Copies
Upon making a written request, a veteran is entitled to one certified copy of a Michigan vital record at no charge, for the purpose of securing a veteran's bonus, pension or compensation. The Department of Veteran's Affairs is not eligible to request a no-fee vital record. Photo identification is required if the veteran is applying for his/her own birth record, or an eligible heir requesting a veteran's birth record to apply for benefits.
- Verification of Vital Record Facts
Key facts on any Michigan Vital Record can be verified. Anyone is eligible to request a verification of a Michigan vital record, as long as the information to be verified can be supplied by the applicant. A verification does not include a copy of the vital record being verified, a state file number or signature. The Michigan Vital Records verification form must be used in order to be processed. A military verification form cannot be accommodated.