Skip Navigation
Michigan Department of TransportationVisit! Home
close print view

Stanley M. Powell (1898-1988)

Stanley M. Powell

For more than 50 years, Powell was chief spokesman for Michigan's agricultural community in its continuing efforts to develop and maintain a modern system of farm-to-market roads. He served as legislative counsel and public affairs director for Michigan Farm Bureau (1921-1927 and 1938-1964), member of the Michigan Legislature (1931-1932 and 1964-1978), delegate to the Michigan Constitutional Convention (1961-1962), and leader of the Michigan State Grange (1928-1966). In all those positions, and as a lifelong farmer in Ionia County, he worked unstintingly for good roads and a solid, equitable system of highway user funding to support them. He was a founder of the highway Users Conference and president of the Michigan Good Roads Federation in 1957.

Michigan Transportation Hall of Honor, 1982
Related Content
 •  Talbert Abrams (1895-1990)
 •  R. J. Alexander
 •  Charles E. Ash (1906-1985)
 •  Richard H. Austin (1913-2001)
 •  William B. Bachman, Sr. (1884-1967)
 •  John H. Barr (1897-1974)
 •  Al Berarducci (1906-1975)
 •  Prentiss M. Brown (1889-1973)
 •  John H. Burdakin
 •  A.L. (Lew) Burridge (1882-1969)
 •  Charles J. Carroll (1900-1964)
 •  Roy D. Chapin, Sr. (1880-1936)
 •  Mortimer E. Cooley (1855-1944)
 •  Harry C. Coons (1886-1955)
 •  Mary Rawlinson Creason
 •  John P. Cushman (1919-1993)
 •  James M. Davey
 •  Grover C. Dillman (1889-1979)
 •  Horatio S. Earle (1855-1935)
 •  Edward C. Eckert (1902-1966)
QR code Home
PoliciesMichigan Survey

Copyright © 2001-2014 State of Michigan