Pavement Operations

Curtis Bleech, Pavement Operations Engineer
Phone: 517-322-5769, e-mail: bleechc@michigan.gov

Allison Harris, Secretary
Phone: 517-322-5181, e-mail: harrisa15@michigan.gov

Capital Preventive Maintenance Engineer
Rob Green, Transportation Engineer
Phone: 517-636-6344, e-mail: Greenr6@michigan.gov

Warranty Administration Engineer
Erin Chelotti, Transportation Engineer
Phone: 517-322-1237, e-mail: ChelottiE@michigan.gov

Laboratory Quality System Engineer
Dave Weber, Transportation Engineer
Phone: 517-322-6935, e-mail: WeberD@michigan.gov

HMA Operations Section
Responsible for bituminous construction materials, mixtures and investigations, bituminous mixtures testing, bituminous materials testing (asphalts, emulsions, tars, fiber joint fillers, hot-poured joint seals, mineral fillers), bituminous mix design verification, bituminous investigations/ coring, bituminous paving operation oversight (plant and street), Reclaimed Asphalt Pavements.

Kevin Kennedy, HMA Operations Engineer
Phone: 517-322-6043 e-mail: KennedyK@michigan.gov

  • Hot Mix Asphalt Technical Services
    John Barak, Bituminous Supervising Engineer
    Phone: 517-322-4967, e-mail: barakj@michigan.gov

    Tim Crook, Asphaltic Materials Specialist
    Phone: 517-322-5668, e-mail: crookt@michigan.gov

    Nathan Maack, Mix Design Engineer
    Phone: 517-322-1184, e-mail: MaackN@michigan.gov
     

    Vicki Theis, Bituminous Office Technician
    Phone: 517-322-1214 e-mail: theisv@michigan.gov

  • Statewide HMA Specialist
    Marc Beyer, Bituminous Materials/Mixtures Specialist
    Phone: 517-322-1020 e-mail: beyerm@michigan.gov
     
  • Hot Mix Asphalt Lab Services
    Eric Oudsema, Transportation Technician Supervisor
    Phone: 517-322-5692, e-mail: oudsemae@michigan.gov
     
  • Bituminous Investigations
    Mark Arritt, Transportation Technician
    Phone: 517-322-5693, e-mail: arrittm@michigan.gov
     
  • Laboratory Testing
    Responsible for asphalt binder certification program; asphalt emulsion certification program; hot-poured joint sealant and pipe sealer acceptance program; liaison - regions, asphalt product suppliers and asphalt refineries; bituminous mixtures - field reject verification; bituminous mixtures - field IAS testing; bituminous mixtures testing - supporting mix design laboratory; recovered binders evaluation; bituminous mixtures - core evaluation support for investigations laboratory; support testing for Testing and Research Section; Responsible for testing asphalt binder, emulsions, hot poured joint sealers; daily mixture samples, reject samples, recovered binder processing, IAT's and bituminous fiber joint testing. Marshall Mix Design verification; Superpave Mix Design verification; write Michigan Test Methods on bituminous related testing procedures, conduct Michigan's yearly bituminous round robin program; maintain the laboratory's AASHTO certification; write and update the procedures manual for Marshall & Superpave Mix Design Processing annually; maintain the Quality Systems Manual, laboratory personnel and laboratory equipment for the Mix Design Laboratory for AASHTO certifications; conduct training of contractors/consultants/college personnel in correct procedures on Marshall and Superpave Mix Designs; conduct IAS testing from Superpave samples; and conduct research testing on asphalt samples on the asphalt pavement analyzer. Responsible for bituminous mix design, materials, and investigations.

Dave Chappel, Transportation Technician
Phone: 517-322-5694, e-mail: chappeld@michigan.gov

Charles LeCureux, Transportation Technician
Phone: 517-322-5694, e-mail: lecureuxc@michigan.gov

Lee Fedewa, Transportation Technician
Phone: 517-322-5694, e-mail: FedewaL1@michigan.gov

  • Mix Design
    Responsible for mix design procedures, testing, training, and submittals. Responsible for investigation of causes for pavement distress, project histories, and pavement coring. Independent assurance testing; acceptance testing for bituminous mix design testing; evaluation of SHRP materials and equipment; pavement investigations to evaluate pavement performance; data analysis - contractor, MDOT field and C&T lab test data; data collection - temperature site state wide; develop sampling, testing, and reporting procedures; LTPP sampling, preparation, and testing of SHRP projects; provide information for region, Design Division, litigation and outside agencies; and liaison - regions, MAPA, research division and various universities.

Grant Carr, Transportation Technician
Phone: 517-322-5691, e-mail: carrg@michigan.gov

Sean Ruis, Transportation Technician
Phone: 517-322-5293, e-mail: RuisS@michigan.gov

Pavement Management Section
Responsible for and provides expertise in pavement management, including design, type selection, and performance trends for specific fix types. The section develops pavement designs and serves as project specialist on various pavement design projects, including oversight of research, the Pavement Demonstration Program and the Pavement Historical Database; conducts, maintains, and enhances the pavement selection process; conducts performance analysis of various pavement fixes to identify performance trends; ensures MDOT compliance with federal and state requirements related to these pavement management areas.

Michael Eacker, Pavement Management Engineer
Phone: 517-322-3474, e-mail: EackerM@michigan.gov

  • Pavement Design/Selection
    Adnan Iftikhar, Pavement Design/Program Engineer
    Phone: 517-322-1228, e-mail: IftikharA@michigan.gov

Ben Krom, Pavement Selection Engineer
Phone: 517-322-6855, e-mail: KromB@michigan.gov

Justin Schenkel, Pavement Design Engineer
Phone: 517-636-6006, e-mail: SchenkelJ@michigan.gov

Candace Rosebrugh, Department Analyst
Phone: 517-322-5732, e-mail: RosebrughC@michigan.gov

  • Pavement Evaluation
    Tom Hynes, Supervising Engineer, Pavement Evaluations
    Phone: 517-322-5711, e-mail: hynest@michigan.gov
  • Rehabilitation Studies
    Dave Weber, Transportation Engineer
    Phone: 517-322-6935, e-mail: WeberD@michigan.gov
  • Field Investigations
    Ritchie Ginther, Transportation Technician
    Phone: 517-322-5673, e-mail: GintherR@michigan.gov

Materials Section
Responsible for aggregate quality control, aggregate wear indexes, aggregate source inventory, aggregate test results, aggregate specifications, aggregate schools, aggregate certification, independent assurance testing, tested stock, certified aggregate technician training. Material applications in design, construction, and maintenance of pavements and structures.

John Staton, Engineer of Materials Section
Phone: 517-322-5701, e-mail: statonj@michigan.gov

Traci Crego, Section Secretary
Phone: 517-322-1498, e-mail: CregoT@michigan.gov

  • Materials Technology
    Responsible for testing and research of materials and products for bridges, pavements, and appurtenant structures. Provide internal services for field trouble shooting, failure analysis, and remediation of structural and materials-related issues.

    Tim Stallard, Engineer of Materials Technology
    Phone: 517-322-6448, e-mail: stallardt@michigan.gov
     
  • Concrete Materials
    Responsible for new materials and procedures evaluations, mix designs, field investigations, and admixtures.

Ethan Bahmer, Transportation Engineer
Phone: 517-322-1222, e-mail: BahmerT1@michigan.gov

  • Materials Investigations
    Responsible for bridge deck overlays, full-depth pavement repair materials, concrete mixtures, and epoxies.

Cameron Minney, Transportation Engineer
Phone: 517-322-5695, e-mail: MinneyC1@michigan.gov

  • Sealants/Maintenance
    Responsible for concrete and bituminous sealants, related maintenance and construction programs.

Andy Bennett, Transportation Technician
Phone: 517-322-5043, e-mail: bennetta@michigan.gov

  • Polymers/Coatings
    Responsible for polymer repair materials, concrete coatings, snowmobile trail/crossing repairs, aggregate wear track operation, and epoxy bridge deck overlays.

    Vacant, Transportation Technician
    Phone: 517-***-****, e-mail: noname@michigan.gov
     
  • Structures/Pavements
    Responsible for structure expansion/modular joint systems, polymeric nosings, and premium pavement aggregate gradations/mix design performance.

    Joe Anderson, Transportation Technician
    Phone: 517-322-6110, e-mail: andersonj@michigan.gov
     
  • Concrete Technology
    Responsible for coarse aggregate freeze-thaw, testing of: Portland cement, fly ash, concrete products, plastic pipe and conduit, concrete mix design, cylinder core testing.
     

    Kendra Barak, Transportation Technician, Supervisor
    Phone: 517-322-1217, e-mail: BarakK@michigan.gov

    Ernst Nelson, Transportation Technician
    Phone: 517-322-1183, e-mail: NelsonE1@michigan.gov

    Ho Nguyen, Transportation Technician
    Phone: 517-322-6928, e-mail: NguyenH7@michigan.gov

  • Equipment Shop
    Responsible for field testing equipment, repair, distribution, inventory, and supplies, shipping and receiving.

    Rob Larios, Transportation Technician
    Phone: 517-322-5662, e-mail: lariosr@michigan.gov
  • Materials Control
    Responsible for certification of materials and manufactures, certification verification of materials, tested stock procedures and tracking of materials. Publication of Materials Source Guide (MSG) and responsible for information in MSG.

    Dennis Warren, Materials Quality Assurance Analyst
    Phone: 517-322-5665, e-mail: WarrenD7@michigan.gov
     
  • Aggregate Quality
    Responsible for petrographic analysis and evaluation of construction aggregates, Michigan Certified Aggregate Technician Program, MDOT Aggregate Supplier Program, and Procedure for Aggregate Inspection Manual.

    Eric Murray, Supervising Geologist
    Phone: 517-322-5674, e-mail: MurrayE4@michigan.gov

    Samara Bartz, Geologist
    Phone: 517-322-5675, e-mail: bartzs@michigan.gov

    Chris Gembel, Transportation Engineer
    Phone: 517-636-0280, e-mail: GembelC@michigan.gov
     

    Brian Szczepanek, Geologist
    Phone: 517-322-1357, e-mail: SzczepanekB@michigan.gov

    Bob Wright, Transportation Technician
    Phone: 517-322-5750, e-mail: WrightR18@michigan.gov

  • Concrete Technical Services
    Joe Tejkl, Statewide Concrete Paving Specialist
    Phone: 517-636-4667, e-mail: TejklJ@michigan.gov