Structure Technical Section

Provides region support in the areas of structural fabrication, structural analysis, technical investigations, new material evaluations, monitoring of construction vibrations, construction and traffic noise assessments, miscellaneous structure inspections, coatings evaluations, electronic instrumentation, fabrication and repair of equipment, and metals acceptance testing.

Peter Jansson, Structures Technical Section Engineer
Phone: 517-636-6265
E-Mail: Janssonp@michigan.gov

Joanne Theis, Administrative Assistant
Phone: 517-322-6662
E-Mail: Theisj@michigan.gov

Structural Fabrication Unit
Implement the Department's quality assurance program for structural elements required to be accepted based on "Fabrication Inspection" per the MDOT MQAP manual. Perform final inspection of sign, traffic signal, ITS, and lighting supporting structures for the project office. Serve as the Department's structural fabrication expert and provide recommendations to Development/Region/TSG staff regarding plan details, specifications, shop inspection, and field inspection. Perform technical reviews of shop drawings and other shop and field fabrication related documents required to be submitted for review and approval.


Matthew Filcek, Structural Fabrication Engineer
Phone: 517-322-5709
E-Mail: filcekm@michigan.gov

Jeff Weiler, Transportation Engineer
Phone: 517-322-1235
E-Mail: weilerj@michigan.gov

E-Mail Resource: MDOT-StructuralFabrication@michigan.gov

Submit the following documents to the Structural Fabrication Unit's email resource:

  • Fabrication Notification
  • Request for Information*
  • Shop Drawings
  • Nonconformance Reports*
  • Weld Procedure Specifications (WPS)
  • Pile Welding QC Plans
  • Field Welding Plans
  • Heat Straightening Plans
  • Final Highway Structure Inspection Request

*Indicates document submitted directly to Structural Fabrication Unit by Contractor/Fabricator

MDOT Structural Fabrication Quality Assurance Guidance Document

MDOT Structural Fabrication Request for Information Process

MDOT Shop Drawing Review Process

MDOT Structural Fabrication Nonconformance Program

MDOT Elastomeric Bearing Guidance Document


Refer to the Materials Quality Assurance Procedures Manual
for information on Quality Assurance Inspections of:

 

  • Concrete Pipe, Culvert, and Related Items (§ 3.09)
  • Prestressed Concrete Fabrication (§ 4.04)
  • Structural Steel Fabrication (§ 4.05)
  • Lighting, Signal, and Sign Support Fabrication (§ 4.06)
  • Non-Prestressed Structural Precast Concrete Fabrication (§ 4.11)
  • Buy America Requirements for Steel and Iron Products (§ 4.12)


Structural Steel Fabrication
Perform quality assurance inspection for structural steel elements required to be accepted based on "Fabrication Inspection" per the MDOT MQAP. Provide technical support to the project offices for structural bolting, welding, and erection of bridge elements and highway structures. Review and approve shop weld procedures specifications (WPS), pile welding QC plans, heat straightening plans, and structural field welding plans and perform technical review of structural steel shop drawings.


Vacant, Structural Steel Specialist (field employee)
Phone:  
E-Mail:  

MDOT Structural Steel Fabrication Portfolio

MDOT Form 0394 – D1.1 Field Welding Plan

MDOT Form 0395 – D1.5 Field Welding Plan

MDOT Welder Certification Program

MDOT Welder Qualification Program

MDOT Heat Straightening Program

MDOT Pile Welding Program

Structural Precast Concrete Fabrication
Perform quality assurance inspection for structural precast (prestressed and non-prestressed) concrete elements required to be accepted based on "Fabrication Inspection" per the MDOT MQAP. Provide technical support to the project offices for grouting post-tensioned structures and erection of bridge elements and highway structures. Perform technical review of structural precast concrete shop drawings.

Deanna Papanek, Structural Precast Concrete Specialist (field employee)
Phone: 517-204-6689
E-Mail: papanekd@michigan.gov

MDOT Structural Precast Concrete Fabrication Portfolio

MDOT Structural Precast Concrete Standard Repair Program

Metals Laboratory
Perform statewide metals testing as required per the MDOT MQAP Manual. Serve as statewide metals testing expert and provide recommendations to Development/Region/TSG staff regarding specifications and acceptance of metals for their projects.

Joshua Arritt, Metals Lab Testing Specialist
Phone: 517-322-1330
E-Mail: arrittj@michigan.gov

E-Mail Resource: MDOT-MetalsLab@michigan.gov
All Metals Lab inquiries and e-construction notifications must be sent to this email resource.

MDOT Metals Lab Documents

SampleManager Training Videos

Experimental Studies Unit
Provides region support in the areas of vibration monitoring, construction and traffic noise assessments, structural analysis, technical investigations, new material evaluations, evaluation of steel and concrete coatings, miscellaneous structural inspections, electronic instrumentation, and fabrication and repair of equipment.

Steven Kahl, Supervising Engineer
Phone: 517-322-5707
E-Mail: kahls@michigan.gov

Research Reports

Structural Analysis, Structural Monitoring and Technical Investigations

Sudhakar Kulkarni, Transportation Engineer
Phone: 517-322-1979
E-Mail: kulkarnis@michigan.gov

Biniam Aregawi, Transportation Engineer
Phone: 517-322-5655
E-Mail: AregawiB@michigan.gov

Chris Davis, Transportation Technician
Phone: 517-322-1649
E-Mail: davisc4@michigan.gov

Nick Delekta, Transportation Technician
Phone: 517-322-5727
E-Mail: deletkan@michigan.gov

Coatings Evaluations

Bryon Beck, Transportation Technician
Phone: 517-322-5722
E-Mail: beckb@michigan.gov

Noise Evaluations

Tom Zurburg, Transportation Technician
Phone: 517-322-6138
E-Mail: zurburgt@michigan.gov

Noise Abatement Program

Machine Shop

Jon Todd, Machinist
Phone: 517-322-1650
E-Mail: toddj2@michigan.gov

Electronic Instrumentation

Michael Connor, Electrical Engineer
Phone: 517-322-5717
E-Mail: connorm@michigan.gov

Bryan Simon, Equipment Technician
Phone: 517-322-5719
E-Mail: Simonb@michigan.gov

Larry Pope, Equipment Technician
Phone: 517-322-5845
E-Mail: popel@michigan.gov