Skip Navigation
Michigan Department of TransportationVisit! Home
close print view

About the State Transportation Commission

The State Transportation Commission is the policy-making body for all state transportation programs. It is comprised of six members appointed by the Governor with the advice and consent of the State Senate. Commissioners serve three-year terms, staggered so that the terms of two commissioners expire each year. No more than three Commissioners are from the same political party as required by the State Constitution.

The Commission establishes policy for the Michigan Department of Transportation in relation to transportation programs and facilities and other such works as related to transportation development, as provided by law. Responsibilities of the Commission include the development and implementation of comprehensive transportation plans for the entire state, including aeronautics, bus and rail transit, providing professional and technical assistance, and overseeing the administration of state and federal funds allocated for these programs.

The Office of Commission Audit reports directly to the Commission. The Office of Commission Audit is charged with the overall responsibility to supervise and conduct auditing activities for the Michigan Department of Transportation. The Auditor submits to the Commission reports of financial and operational audits and investigations performed by staff for acceptance.

Related Documents
Article IV, Section 28 of the State Constitution PDF icon
Public Act 286 of 1964 - 39255 bytes PDF icon
Related Content
 •  CSAC Final Transmittal of local Policies PDF icon
 •  State Transportation Commission approves Complete Streets policy
 •  Complete Streets Policy PDF icon
QR code Home
PoliciesMichigan Survey

Copyright © 2001-2014 State of Michigan