Skip Navigation
MI News Wire - Michigan News and Information from all State agencies | SOM Michigan News and Information from all State agencies | SOM
Michigan News and Information from all State agencies | SOM
Email this Page
Share this Link on Facebook
Tweet this page on Twitter!

45 communities receive water protection grants

Oct. 3, 2013

For More Information:

Jason Berndt, 517-284-6513,
Brad Wurfel, 517-284-6713,

The DEQ today announced 45 communities will receive nearly $500,000 through the Wellhead Protection Grant Program to safeguard public water supply systems.

Groundwater is the sole source of drinking water for nearly half of Michigan’s households. The grants are an important part of protecting public groundwater supply systems.

The program provides financial assistance to help communities protect groundwater supplies from contamination. Local Wellhead Protection Programs work to delineate the land area contributing drinking water to public wells, identifying potential contaminants within that area, and implementing management strategies and educational activities to protect the water supply.

The list of communities earning grant awards is below. The next round of grant applications will be announced in May 2014. To learn more about the Wellhead Protection Program, visit the DEQ website or call Jason Berndt in DEQ’s Office of Drinking Water and Municipal Assistance at 517-284-6513.

Grant recipients include:

Community  Amount 
Battle Creek  $70,000.00
Belding  $3,000.00
Benzonia  $3,000.00
Cadillac  $10,000.00
Charleston Township  $4,500.00
Charlotte  $1,275.00
Colon  $3,375.00
Davison  $6,479.54
Edwardsburg  $5,500.00
East Lansing Meridian Water & Sewer Authority $70,000.00
Evart $15,369.00
Fowlerville $5,000.00
Frankfort $4,540.00
Gladwin $2,050.00
Grant $3,000.00
Gun Plain Township $3,000.00
Harrison $4150.00
Hartland Township $13,600.00
Hillsdale $5,000.00
Holly $2,500.00
Kalamazoo $49,000.00
Lansing Board of Water & Light $70,000.00
Leoni Township $1,550.00
Lyons $3,000.00
Marcellus $5,500.00
Marshall $1,439.49
McBain $5,000.00
Milan $2,400.00
Milford $5,000.00
Muir $1,575.00
Newago $20,000.00
Niles $7,400.00
Paw Paw $5,225.00
Plainfield Charter Township $6,250.00
Plainwell $4,000.00
Portland $3,000.00
Quincy $3,375.00
Ravenna $15,000.00
Rogers City $2,575.00
Saline $1,950.00
Vassar $2,000.00
Vicksburg $4,000.00
Waterford Township $10,000.00
Webberville $10,000.00
White Lake Township $7,100.00
Total grants requested $481.678.03

Copyright © 2014 State of Michigan