Skip Navigation
MI.gov
MI News Wire - Michigan News and Information from all State agencies | SOM Michigan News and Information from all State agencies | SOM
Michigan News and Information from all State agencies | SOM
Email this Page
Share this Link on Facebook
Tweet this page on Twitter!

Changes to Verification Requirements for Registered Sex Offenders

Contact: Sgt. Bruce Payne, MSP Sex Offender Registry Unit (517) 241-3871

LANSING. The Michigan State Police (MSP) is announcing that effective April 1, 2014, as a result of Public Act 149 of 2013, verification schedules will change for all registered sex offenders. Verification schedules will now be based on the offender’s birth month and offenders will have the full month to verify their address rather than only the first 15 days of the month.

Tier I offenders must report once per year during the month of their birth.

Tier II offenders must report twice per year, according to the schedule below:

Birth Month

Reporting Months

Birth Month

Reporting Months

January

January and July

July

January and July

February

February and August

August

February and August

March

March and September

September

March and September

April

April and October

October

April and October

May

May and November

November

May and November

June

June and December

December

June and December

Tier III offenders must report four times each year according to the schedule below:

Birth Month

Reporting Months

Birth Month

Reporting Months

January

January, April, July, and October

July

January, April, July, and October

February

February, May, August, and November

August

February, May, August, and November

March

March, June, September, and December

September

March, June, September, and December

April

January, April, July, and October

October

January, April, July, and October

May

February, May, August, and November

November

February, May, August, and November

June

March, June, September, and December

December

March, June, September, and December

Failure to verify an address is a misdemeanor and may result in criminal prosecution.

In addition to the change in the verification schedule, sex offenders are now required to pay an annual registration fee of $50 each year after their initial registration. The annual registration fee must be paid during the first verification reporting month, unless the annual registration fee is prepaid for any future year. Failure to pay the registration fee is a misdemeanor and may result in criminal prosecution.

Registered sex offenders, who are not currently incarcerated, will receive written notice of these changes.

The Michigan Sex Offenders Registration Act, Public Act 295 of 1994, requires all registered sex offenders to regularly report to the local law enforcement agency or county sheriff’s office having jurisdiction over their residence, or the nearest state police post, to verify their address.




Copyright © 2014 State of Michigan