close print view
Cranbrook (Cranbrook Educational Community)
Cranbrook had its beginnings in 1904, when George Gough Booth, publisher of the Detroit News, and his wife, Ellen Warren Scripps Booth, bought a large farm in the rolling countryside of Bloomfield Hills and named it after the English village of Cranbrook, the Booth family ancestral home. Taking up residence in 1907, the Booths gradually transformed their farm estate into a remarkable cultural and educational complex consisting of their home, Cranbrook House; the Meeting House, which was expanded into the elementary Brookside School; Christ Church Cranbrook; Cranbrook School for Boys; Cranbrook Academy of Art; Kingswood School for Girls; and Cranbrook Institute of Science.
A superb integration of architectural and landscape design elements, the Cranbrook complex represents a unique masterpiece in the history of American architecture. It embodies the belief shared by its founder, George G. Booth, and its principal architect, Eliel Saarinen, that art should permeate every aspect of life.
DESIGNATION AND DESIGNATION DATE
- 1972, State Register of Historic Sites
- 1973, National Register of Historic Places
- 1989, National Historic Landmark
ARCHITECT, BUILDER, OR DESIGNER(S)
- Eliel Saarinen, architect
- Albert Kahn, architect
- Bertram G. Goodhue Associates, architect
- O. C. Simonds, landscape architect
- 1926-1943, major components of Cranbrook designed and constructed
LINKS AND FURTHER READING